Harbor Light Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
35 Reviews

Write A Review

What a great inn!

4.6 on December 07, 2012

We traveled 3000 miles, from a farm in North Idaho to Marblehead!! We were tired and looking forward to jumping in bed in a cozy room. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years and some are cold with drafty breezes...........but not at the Harbor Light Inn!! It was nice and warm when we arrived. The bed was very comfortable and the staff very informative. We absolutely loved this place and would recommend it any time. The next morning we went to the Town Hall and saw the original painting depicting the Revolutionary War. We then happened onto an old cemetery from 1629. Go to the top of the hill and read about the brave Marblehead patriots who said good bye to their wives and children and confronted the British Navy off shore.....what great men!! Larry and Margie Cooke Forever Green Tree Farm St. Maries, Idaho www.forevergreentree.com


Lovely Place!!!

3.6 on November 01, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary and had a great visit! The place was charming and cozy in a really nice town, very clean, nice employees. We loved the homemade breakfast of casseroles, quiches, muffins, etc. Such a perfect weekend getaway, hope to return soon!


First vacation to to Marblehead

5 on September 28, 2012

Thank you so very much for helping make our first trip to your lovely part of the country unforgettable. My brother and his wife visited Marblehead a couple of years ago and are still praising your beautiful inn. Harbor Light Inn is certainly worthy of that praise. We are looking forward to our next visit.


Beautiful days in Habour Light Inn

4.6 on September 01, 2012

I had really great days in this wonderful cozy hotel. The rooms were lovely furnished.The breakfast exzellent and the people absolutly polite and attenti ve. The location of this hotel is great. Not far away from Boston and it was a highlight coming back from a amazing city into a quite and beautifl world.


Best Hotel or Inn we've stayed at.

5 on April 02, 2012

Recent trip to the north shore of Boston and we happened upon this delightful intimate hotel. Great hostesses, beautiful room and wonderful complimentary breakfast. Met lots of fun and interesting people in the tavern. Can't wait to come back when pool is open!


Summer in New England

4.6 on November 02, 2010

My husband suprised me with a 2 week vacation to New England, and a seven night stay at the Harbor Light Inn. The east coast is so different than our home in Lynden, Washington. We had a wonderful time in the third floor room with private balcony. We watched thunderstorms, wedding fireworks and enjoyed breakfast in the morning sun. The food was abundant and delicious. I found myself wondering when the staff had time to do "all that baking"? Darryl and Susan helped us plan excursions to out of the way places, Parker River Bird Sactuary, Rockport for shopping and the beach and the apple farm where we enjoyed apple donuts and a variety of fruit wines. It was a short drive to the subway station for our excursions into Boston, Lexington and Concord. After a day on the Freedom Trail, in the heat, i was great to come back to our quiet "home". Marblehead did not feel like a tourist destination, we actually became a part of the town for those seven days. It was so sad to leave, we have great pictures and some wonderful memories. Thank you to the staff for making our time so enjoyable.


Quaint Elegance in Marblehead MA

4.8 on October 17, 2010

For almost a decade--the season of fall has come to be equated with The Harbor Light Inn---elegant-historic-ambiance---the essence of relaxation in a first class environment---the inn is furnished in Traditional-Federal and Georgian Court antiques---pristene and well-kept---additionally--a cordial staff-the grounds are well-manicured---the dining room never disappoints--location is essential and provides a landscape of local New England color---


Big on service

4.2 on October 12, 2010

Big house on a narrow street in Marblehead,MA is where you will find this not to out of the way Inn. Harbor Light has much to offer when in the Boston area. Wait staff is both friendly and knowledgeable of the area, and very accurate as to where you might find some good eats. Great walking town with some interesting shops to browse and a short drive to Salem and ferry to downtown Boston. Clean rooms, great views and quiet nights make for a sweet stay whenever!


September 2010

4.4 on September 25, 2010

We had a lovely time at the inn. We were visiting Marblehead for a family function which included bringing our elderly parents. In fact they went out of their way to place us in convient locations since we wanted to avoid the stairs because of our parents.They will quite thrilled with the rooms. The service was wonderful, the breakfast was quite filling and with plenty of delicious choices. We loved the deck and the pool was very pleasant to sit by. I would recommend this hotel to any one who appreciates service. It was a little expensive but what place in Marblehead isn't?


Freezing in Room, Felt Unsafe, and Commercialized

3.0 on July 17, 2010

This place was highly recommended and I was excited about staying here but much to my dismay, it was a let down. DO NOT STAY HERE if you want a non-commercialized place to rest your head. They have a tavern that is open to the public and the place was quite loud past Midnight. I paid much more for my room because I made an advance reservation. The guy that came in off the street paid $30 cheaper than me. I was not happy. There was no in-room control of the air so we were given towels and a pillow to cover our floor vent. This didn't work and we were freezing along with listening to the drunkards falling in the pool and partying it up all night. It is a nice place, but not a "home away from home". I did like the all day coffee and the pool. The manager did offer to upgrade us to the suite the following day, but we really didn't feel safe in this BnB due to anyone off the street being allowed in to drink and party in the tavern. Great charming town, just pick a different place to stay than Harbor Lights.

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry to hear of this guest's unpleasant experience at the inn. We do have a small tavern that is open only to 11:30PM. In the state of Massachusetts, any establishment that has a liquor license must be also open to the public. Our small tavern seats only 8 people and no one is allowed out at the "guest only pool" other than inn guests. The pool area is closed after 10PM. The guest could have simply closed the air conditioning vent in their room if it was too cold. We did offer them a suite upgrade. Any noise complaint made by a guest to our night manager is taken very seriously and dealt with immediately. There was no call to the night person or tavern about any noise complaint. If they had called the night manager, any noise issue would have been dealt with at that moment. If you are staying at a hotel or inn that has a restaurant or taverm, then the public does have access to the property. We make the enjoyment of our guests our priority and have never allowed partying or access to our pool area after 10PM. That area is exclusive to inn guests only. We regret that the guest did not bring this complaint to our attention earlier, so we could continue to strive to make their stay as pleasant as possible.


Repeat Customer!

4.6 on November 03, 2009

I stayed at the Harbor light before, 10 years ago...and decided to book a room again for our trip to Salem over Halloween. The rooms are clean and well furnished. The service from the staff.....over and above what would be expected. (Hugs to Susan....I miss you already!) Centrally located...easily walking distance for all ages to dining, stores, attractions and the harbor. Fantastic location- felt like a step back in time just looking out your room window. The only negative I can think of was how dang expensive it was. But, the staff accommodated us even on that...they allowed me to pay it little by little over several months time. I cannot recommend this B&B enough...you wont be disappointed and when you pack up to go, you'll be thinking about when you will be back! lol


Halloween Fun and a restful retreat!

5 on November 02, 2009

This was the first of many future stays at Harbor Light Inn! We came up for Halloween in Salem and it was so nice to be able to unwind in Marblehead! In fact, once we checked in, we almost didn't care if we went to Salem at all... We loved every minute of our stay and really felt welcome by all the locals we met. A gem of a trip!


A place where diversity of elegance is mated with 1st class New England charm and hospitality!

4.8 on October 07, 2009

I have been visiting the Harbor Light over the last couple of years. It is a place that, whatever the season, will truly be an integral part of the kind of memories that one wishes to create when traveling. There’s a wonderful blend of formal furnishings with classic fireplaces while addressing the current needs of WIFI internet access and HD TV’s - all within a quaint and inviting atmosphere. I’m not big on breakfast, however, I actually look forward to the buffet breakfast which has something for everyone and never disappoints. The fellow guests are friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is first-rate, however, among the staff, Susan rates first! I’m glad I found the Harbor Light Inn - it is the best place to stay on the north shore!


Last Minute Plans

4.8 on August 25, 2009

My husband and I decided to travel to Marblehead on the spur of the moment in early August 2009. The Harbor Light Inn was on my "favorites" list and after a few emails with Susan, we were all set in the "Honeymoon Suite". Arriving early, Susan gave us a map with directions to a great seaside park to have our picnic lunch and shopping suggestions, all within walking distance. Upon our return, the room was ready and it was even more beautiful than the pictures. The spacious, light-filled bathroom was also incredible. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers poolside for the remainder of the afternoon. Susan had made dinner reservations for us at the nearby Landing, which was an excellent choice. After walking back to the Inn, we enjoyed a comfortable evening in one of the most charming rooms we have ever stayed in. Up early to a delicious hot/cold breakfast and home to Marshfield by 10AM. Susan catered to our every need and made our quick overnight so memorable. We will be back in the winter to use the fireplace and enjoy the holiday festivities of such a lovely, historic seaside town!


Excellent!

5 on July 31, 2009

We love Susan!


Wedding Week-end 7/18/09

5 on July 28, 2009

As the parents of the bride, we couldn't have been happier with our accommodations at the Harbor Light Inn. Family and friends, including the groom's relatives from the UK, were all very pleased with everything. We took up half the rooms and it felt like home away from home. The full breakfast was outstanding and it made it special that we could all sit down and enjoy it together. The pool and garden area made a convenient place to gather during the day and early evening. Special thanks to Susan and Ron for making it such a perfect week-end for all of us! The Starzyks


great place

4.4 on May 20, 2009

Will use this place in the future.


outstanding accommodation

5 on May 13, 2009

Total customer focus for service and comfort. Relaxed, warm, homey setting, staff extremely personable.


great place

4.8 on March 03, 2009

Best inn I have ever stayed at!


romantic anniversary

4.0 on November 03, 2008

This inn was perfect for a romantic anniversary. Our room was large with a wonderful bath. It was quiet and private. nice breakfast.


harbor Light Inn

4.0 on November 03, 2008

great food, clean cozy rooms. great hosts


Harbor Light Inn

4.0 on October 27, 2008

friendly, comfortable, very enjoyable.


PERFECT!!!

5 on October 22, 2008

From the time we arrived, until the time we check out, all of our needs were met! Rob really took care of us. Great location.


Harbor Light Inn

4.4 on October 14, 2008

Nice ambiance, friendly staff, good location.


What a delightful surprise

5 on October 10, 2008

Impeccably done and the manager was outstanding in her service.


Harbor Light Inn

4.4 on September 09, 2008

Outstanding and also exceeded my expectations.


Excellent

4.0 on August 20, 2008

My parents really enjoyed their stay at the harbor light. Everyone was friendly and accomidating. Susan, the manager, was extremely welcoming.


Awesome Place

4.2 on June 09, 2008

the manager, susan george was just awesome


Last minute find, yet one of the best inns I have ever stayed at

5 on June 06, 2008

The inn manager and owner was cheerful and accommodating. The inn was within walking distance of shopping and dining. The room was elegantly furnished with a bath(private).


Harbor Light Inn

4.8 on June 03, 2008

Beautiful historic looking decorated rooms. Fabulous breakfast, no repeats. Staff very friendly, attentive and made you feel comfortable.


Outstanding

5 on June 02, 2008

Outstanding stay.


Fun and informative

4.4 on May 30, 2008

THe food was great and the staff very professional. It was so much fun and informative.


Outstanding

5 on May 30, 2008

Outstanding


Excellelnt service

3.8 on May 30, 2008

Clean, quaint, and comfortable room. Would definitely stay here again. Very quiet. Great breakfasts.


A night to remember

4.0 on March 28, 2008

The room was absolutely amazing. Everything from the furniture, the fireplace and the linens make you feel you truly are 'away' for the evening. We had champaine and chocolates delivered from Teasers. The staff set it all up for when we arrived beautifully. Would be nice to have breakfast match the place!!


Harbor Light Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $369
  • Reviews (35) 4.5
  • Rooms 20
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7816312186
  • Fax 1-7816312216

Visit Website »

View details

Top