Berkshire's Chambery Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
43 Reviews

Write A Review

Fine place, over priced

3.6 on January 10, 2014

This is a fine place to stay for a get away. The service is outstanding. The room was large and comfortable. It would help if the overhead lights were on dimmers. The fireplace was a little odd and not fully functioning.


Our Favorite Spot

4.2 on January 03, 2014

The Chambery Inn is a great B&B that has become our go to spot for a mini vacation. The rooms are unique, huge and always spotless. The fresh baked breakfast that is delivered to your door in a picnic basket is exquisite. It is located 5 minutes from the Lee outlets. All the little extras the owners and staff put into making your stay unforgettable is priceless. We have stayed here 4 times in the last couple of years and we are never disappointed. We highly recommend the Chambery Inn.


Highly Recommend A+++++

5 on September 29, 2013

Stayed here this September 2013. Was much nicer that the photos ! wonderful breakfast and room, fabulous location. Very sweet innkeeper and associates so helpful. Was much nicer than I could have ever dreamed. Will return. Location is awesome! Walk to most shops and restaurants and very short drive to the outlet mall. Highly recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


OK room, but not a B&B experence

2.8 on August 19, 2013

We stayed in the Chambrette (102), a nice but unexceptional basement room. The furnishings were OK and the whirlpool was nice. This property has no common room or breakfast room, and only a small sparse seating area out front. The primary reason we choose a B&B over a hotel is for the breakfast experience. We love trying specialties and meeting the other guests. The Chambery offers none of this. You fill out a breakfast request the night before and it is delivered in a basket. The choices are quite standard, with nothing more exotic than a generic quiche. My oatmeal seemed to be instant. Breakfast in bed may be nice, but it is not why we come to a B&B.


Romantic Getaway For Two

5 on August 16, 2013

My husband and I moved into a new home in July and did not have any vacation time due to the move so we just wanted to getaway for a night to "rekindle" our relationship. We had always wanted to stay at the Chambery Inn and just never had the opportunity to do so. We were very pleased and so glad that we did. Our room was charming, to include an original blackboard from back when the room was a classroom. Previous couples, as well as us, took advantage of the blackboard to proclaim our/their love for each other....very clever idea to leave it in tact. It was chilly that night so after walking back from dinner at Chez Nous (awesome restaurant by the way) we utilized the gas fireplace which completed the evening. The king-size canopy bed was inviting and very comfortable. We enjoyed waking up to our breakfast basket with our selections of croissants, bagels w/ cream cheese, james, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee. Just a wonderful stay and the service at the front desk was nice as well. We enjoyed our time at the Chambery and we are bringing friends with us for a stay in October.


Fantastic stay at the Chambery Inn

5 on July 21, 2013

The inn was warm and inviting. The room was spacious and ever so quiet. The spa tub was wonderful. Our breakfast basket was delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much we are planning a trip in the fall. I highly reccomend this inn. Great value.


Charming room; breakfast menu needs revision

3.6 on May 22, 2013

I arrived half and hour early, and was allowed to check in. The room was spacious and nicely furnished with comfortable furniture in keeping with the period of this old parochial school turned into an inn. Breakfast was brought to the room in a basket; guests fill out a menu card and indicate a time frame for the breakfast to arrive. I think, however, that the menu needs some revision. It has three sections--the first two instruct the guest to choose one item--however, this results, for example, in being able to choose a hard boiled egg, but not an English muffin and butter to go with it. The quiche slice I ordered was small and too salty, and because of the way the menu was set up, I couldn't order a croissant to go with it. I suspect that the proprietors don't really mean that you can get a scone but no butter or jam, but that is the way the menu reads as currently constructed. One other caveat--my room had feather pillows, which could be a problem if one is allergic. The price was very reasonable for the location and the spaciousness of the rooms. Laura Kracke, Chicago


Perfect stay!

5 on April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chambery Inn for our two year wedding anniversary. We were so delighted by our experience. When we walked in, fresh choc chip cookies had just been made and were awaiting us in the lobby. They were delicious. Nancy was so sweet, and took us to our room. It was so romantic, clean, and was equipped with so many lovely details. We were surprised with a bottle of wine, cheese and crackers (on the house), and found our stay to be perfect for us. The Jacuzzi was so fun, and we utilized all the features of the room. We really appreciated the fabulous little coffee machine, spa in the bathroom, towel warmer, and incredible breakfast that was delivered to our door in a beautiful basket! We will absolutely be going back! Thank you.


Romantic Weekend in Berkshires

4.4 on March 14, 2013

Nice location. Beautiful scenery.


Wonderful Place

4.8 on January 25, 2013

This is a beautiful little spot for a quick getaway as we planned. The staff was tip top and the room, on lower level was better than anticipated. We are looking forward to returning the next time we need to take a break and relax with all conveniences nearby. The breakfast basket just capped off a romantic getaway.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on January 24, 2013

Had a great time room was wonderful. The breakfast just perfect and left at your door what could be better. Can't wait to go back.


A very pleasant stay

4.4 on November 06, 2012

While on a holiday we stayed at the Berkshire's Chambery Inn and found it to be very comfortable. We had a great room (enjoyed the chalkboard) You have to go there to know what that comment means - but it is good. Enjoyed breakfast and the Innkeepers were friendly. A place to return to.


Never disappointed!

4.2 on October 20, 2012

This was our third time at Chambery Inn and it was wonderful as always. When we arrived in our room there was a wonderful cheese/fruit basket and bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our Anniversary. What a nice surprise! We will definitely return since its never a disappointment.


I highly recommend this lovely Inn.

5 on October 11, 2012

The Chambery is so beautiful! The first time I stayed there I knew that I would have to go back anytime I was in Lee because no other Inn or motel even comes close to how you feel when staying at the Chambery!


Our wonderful October 2012 stay

4.6 on October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed a the Chambery Inn for the second time in early October 2012. The rooms are spacious, charming and fire-place cozy. The beds are actually comfortable; the towels nice and thick. Since the inn is a renovated old schoolhouse, part of the decor on two of the walls in our room were chalkboards, complete with chalk. Past visitors had made comments about their stays; there were poems, drawings, initials in hearts; and lists of things like, "I will not talk in school" on the chalkboards. Loved that! Jacuzzi spa rooms are available - our first stay, a few years ago, we had one of those rooms (VERY nice) - this latest stay we had a regular spa tub. The fee per room per night was a little pricey, but my husband and I felt it was well worth it to go back again to enjoy the caring, courteous, helpful staff and the sweet charm of the place. We would go back again in a heartbeat!! Thank you Chambery Inn!


Great Place to Visit! - Even if you never see anyone

4.6 on June 21, 2012

I chose the Chambery Inn because I was in the Berkshires for one night and I needed a place to crash. I wasn't looking for anything special, I just needed a bed for the night. It was the cheapest available room in the area, so I chose it and WOW did I get a surprise. I walked into the room late at night, so there was no one around to check in, but they had left the key out for me. I went straight to the room, put out the breakfast request for the morning, and fell asleep quickly on the very comfortable bed, wishing that I could actually spend time there instead of just having a place to crash. I woke early and had breakfast waiting for me at the door. After I ate breakfast (a little disappointing, but I think I filled out the sheet wrong) I left the hotel- apparently I was leaving too early because there was still no one there. However, later on I got a call because I had left my cell phone charger in the room, and they quickly mailed it to me. Fantastic stay, wish I had had more time to be there!


Great place in the Berkshires

5 on May 05, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the setting and the charm of the old schoolhouse. A perfect weekend away. Highly recommend.


The Best Room and Breakfast Ever!!!

5 on April 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Chambery Inn for 3 nights and was thrilled that we found this great inn. The breakfast delivered to the room in the morning was great, since we didn't have to rush to get dressed to get out for breakfast. It was so nice to be relaxed in the room watching TV and enjoying our breakfast. The room was spotless and large and we enjoyed the jacuzzi after hiking during the day. The employees go out of their way to help you , especially Tonya, who actually made cookies one night and put them out for the guests. I am telling everyone I meet what a nice place it is and they should not stay anywhere else in the area. I have stayed in several other hotels and inns in the area over the past 15 years, but will only stay here from now on. Can't wait till I can return!!!!!


What a gem!

5 on April 11, 2012

I stayed mid week in off season here. It is located in Lee, which is a little off the Tanglewood path, but a 15 minute drive to Stockbridge or Lenox. The inn itself is charming, the rooms are very very large, the breakfasts was delivered in a sweet picnic type basket to our door at the appointed time. The people who greeted us were helpful and lovely. I couldn't recommend this place enough.


Lovely Berkshire Getaway

4.6 on January 28, 2012

We stayed in the Fire Spa room which included a fireplace and a jacuzzi. It was a lovely romantic stay right on Main Street in Lee. The room was large and had a fairly nice TV. We used the Jacuzzi and Fireplace every night we were there and had the fireplace on every morning while eating the complimentary breakfast they brought right to our room. The service was wonderful, inviting and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back and highly recommend the Chambery Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.


Great!

5 on November 04, 2011

The wife and I stayed at this B+B during the Halloween nor'easter and we had a blast! The beds were so comfortable, there was a jetted bathtub, a fireplace, cable TV, afternoon cookies, breakfast delivered to our door in a picnic basket, etc... Compared to other B+B's in the area, The Chambery Inn is dirt cheap. It is centrally located in Lee, MA, which was my favorite small town out of all the neighboring communities. When the wife and I return to The Berkshires, this is where we will be staying.


Wonderful place

4.8 on October 25, 2011

We stayed a night at the Chambery and liked it so much that the following week we were on our way home and stayed again. Great service, wonderfull small place. Breakfast is delivered to each room. Would stay here again any time we are in the area.


I loved having breakfast delivered in a basket

4.6 on October 11, 2011

It's not every day you get to eat breakfast in your 'jammies while on the road -- and a good breakfast at that! It's charming to receive breakfast at a pre-arranged time in a lovely basket, and it was perfect for us since we had to be up and out and back on the road (unfortunately) on a tight schedule after our stay here. We would return gladly.


Labor Day Weekend

5 on September 10, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at the Chambery Inn. It is outstanding and so quiet. We did not have the best of weather, but found the bed and breakfast to be so relaxing, had time to read my kindle and just relax. The breakfast was wonderful each morning and the whirlpool tub so relaxing also. I will be returning again.


best stay ever

4.8 on April 20, 2011

The room are huge and comfortable the help is outstanding the location is greet this place is greet for a little getaway


Best B&B stay ever!

4.8 on March 03, 2011

Room was huge, breakfast exquisite, staff very helpful and friendly. Service was superb. My wife and I will definitely return again and again.


lovely!

4.6 on January 21, 2011

Our stay at the Chambery Inn was absolutely lovely. The room was VERY clean, the bed was comfortable, and we loved sitting by the fire. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful - we felt welcomed from the second we stepped through the door. Breakfast was delicious and delivered to our door in a sweet little basket, but the portions were a little small. Overall, would highly recommend!


Chambery Inn is outstanding

5 on December 01, 2010

We recently stayed at the chambery inn In Lee Ma. and found everything from the room to the cleanliness to the food to be outstanding. We did not have anything negative to say. You must try it!


Why pay more for less at other area B&Bs?

4.0 on October 01, 2010

We planned a brief stay in Western MA in order to see a current exhibit at the Norman Rockwell Museum. Most of the hotels in the Stockbridge area were much more expensive. The 7 mile drive from the Chambery Inn on Main Street in Lee, MA to the Norman Rockwell Museum saved us at least $100 AND left us with lovely memories of this charming inn, as well as Lee, MA. Tonya welcomed us warmly, showing us around the historic building as we made our way to our room. How nice to find a clean, well-lit kitchen available to guests! Our reserved room was very nice, but we were delighted when Tonya offered a complimentary across-the-hall upgrade to a larger 'king' room. How thoughtful and generous! The room was clean, comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, clean, and well-maintained. Did I mention that it was clean? Everything was in good working order, including the bathroom components. The shower was clean, spacious, had nice strong water pressure and a removable hand-held shower head. Extra towels, toilet tissue,and kleenex were readily available in the under-sink cabinet if needed.The free WiFi was easy to connect to. The parking is convenient and free. There is a restaurant steps away (not connected to the inn), and many businesses a short walk away on Main Street to fulfill any needs/desires. The lovely picnic-hamper breakfast was delightful to look at and delicious! The only suggestion that I have is to offer a more diverse pillow selection - I'm not a fan of feather pillows, preferring foam. Because foam was not available, my sleep was not as restful as it could have been. Other than that, everything about the Chambery Inn tells guests that the innkeepers understand travelers and want them to be comfortable.


Great place to stay

4.8 on September 09, 2010

The room was really spacious and charming & breakfast in the room was a plus. Staff was really nice too. Great location near everything.


charming Berkshires inn

3.8 on August 12, 2010

Cute, converted schoolhouse with nice big rooms. Good location for walking around Lee and getting to Tanglewood, Williamstown. Breakfast brought to room in picnic basket. No easy way to meet other guests or owners.


A great, Quaint place to stay in the Berkshires

4.6 on July 17, 2010

We've stayed at the Chambery Inn twice now and found it to be first-class both times. Charming decor and ambiance, helpful and friendly staff, nice location. Convenient to Tanglewood, and a short walk from several good restaurants in downtown Lee. One minor difference from your average B&B: they have no dining room so your breakfast is served in a basket delivered to your room in the French Country Inn style. We will definitely stay there again. And again...


Very roomy well appointed rooms

4.2 on June 18, 2010

Stopped over on the way to Nova Scotia. Room was an old classroom so was very large. Moreover, it was excellently appointed and contained everything one could hope for--even a blackboard and chalk. Very very nice


June11-13

4.6 on June 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The bed was very comfortable and we liked that you had robes available for us to use. The room was really nice and very clean. We appreciated that we were given a tour of the room and 'operating instructions' for the temperature control and for the whirlpool tub. I loved the floor-to-ceiling tub enclosure but my husband is 6'7" and he had to bend his head to take a shower (something that he is used to having to do at his height) and the whirlpool tub was also small for him, but I enjoyed it. The only suggestion that I would make is that the alarm should be shut off on the alarm clock when a new guest is checking in. We were awakened at 7 am on our first morning because we had not noticed that the alarm was set.Since it took us a while to figure out how to turn it off, you should probably include instructions on setting the alarm in the room tour.


TERRIFIC!

4.8 on June 11, 2010

As a woman traveling alone, I found this B&B to be great! Huge room, friendly staff, great value, and I loved having breakfast delivered to my room in a pretty basket. :0) I highly recommend this property. I would definitely stay there again!


Best of Past and Present

3.6 on March 05, 2010

A lovely inn that combines all the best of past and present. A historic building with many original details preserved, updated to include whirlpool tubs, cable television and wireless internet. The in-room gas fireplaces and room service breakfasts also make it special. Recommended.


Birthday Weekend in Berkshires

4.6 on February 15, 2010

This inn was just delightful and a great value. Our room was cozy with a fireplace and very comfortable bed. The accomodations were impecably clean. Breakfast was quite yummy and filling and delivered to the room each morning. We ate in comfy chairs by the fireplace; Sunday's basket included the local newspaper. The staff members were wonderful and provided some great recommendations for local dining. We will certainly return.


wonderful place to stay again and again

4.6 on October 20, 2009

This is our second time at the Chambery Inn and we will return. Rooms are huge with comfortable beds and we love eating breakfast by the fireplace. Very romantic. Staff is amazing.


Amazing rooms Great staff

5 on October 03, 2009

me and my wife stayed here last week for the fall foliage and we could not ask for a better deal the rooms were large and spacious staff was friendly and accomidating and the rates were much lower than other in the area when we called. not sure why it shows so high on this site will definatly be back


A Great Getaway

5 on October 02, 2009

I recently spent two nights here and was very pleased with my choice. I stayed in the Fire/Spa room and was impressed with the space and amenities. I enjoyed the breakfast served in a basket at the door with the morning paper. There were some great restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.


Beautiful Historic Gem

5 on October 01, 2009

Absolutly loved this inn, Very quite and relaxing atmosphere, huge rooms, walking distance to many nice shops and resturants, friendly staff, and wonderful breakfast


Nice, but not great

3.8 on August 27, 2009

Spent 2 nights at the inn- enjoyed the comfy bed, gas fireplace, and the spacious room with sitting area. Breakfast was disappointing- choice of cereal or bagel, etc...was hoping for more choices. They do deliver it to your room- so plenty of privacy and ability to sleep in. Good location- close to town and some great restaurants and easy to get to from Mass Pike, but not as secluded as we thought- next to hardware store and lumber yard. Staff was very nice- never saw them unless you needed them, which we appreciated.


Loved the spacious rooms

4.6 on June 30, 2008

The story of this B&B is fascinating. It was actually moved from a block away to its present location in Lee. I really loved the spacious rooms and how they've preserved the classrooms with blackboards, high ceilings and windows. Breakfast is delivered each morning to your room in a basket - that's neat too. Hallways are large and serve as gathering spots for guests too.


Berkshire's Chambery Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $289
  • Reviews (43) 4.6
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4132432221
  • Toll free 1-8005374321

Visit Website »

View details

Top