Penrose Victorian Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
70 Reviews

Write A Review

Penrose Victorian Inn

5 on December 20, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Beautiful Inn & fantastic food.


Penrose Victorian Inn

4.2 on December 19, 2013

Lovely Inn, Wonderful, Welcoming Hosts- Outstanding Breakfasts, Would Definitely Recommend and Stay Again.


Penrose Victorian Inn

4.8 on December 19, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Penrose Inn. Everything was superior as was our other stays.


Penrose Victorian Inn

4.6 on December 16, 2013

Excellent rooms, great food, such lovely people, friendly.


Penrose Victorian Inn

4.0 on December 12, 2013

It was fabulous.


Penrose Victorian Inn

5 on December 10, 2013

Love this Inn- Great people, food & conversations are great!! Warm & comfortable place to stay! Would do it again in the future!!


Penrose Victorian Inn

5 on December 10, 2013

Fantastic stay- Great hospitality. Like being with family (but got along better!)


Fair Getaway

5 on September 30, 2013

Nancy and dick were terrific hosts. We had a great breakfast with wonderful food and conversation. Nancy and Dick went out of their way to supply us with area information and directions. Rooms were staged well with various antiques and historic pictures of the Inn and surrounding area. A very good value and close to all that North Hampton has to offer. We highly recommend the Penrose to all those who don't mind going without TVs.


Comfortable, Charming and Roomy

5 on September 04, 2013

We stayed one night and felt we had a weekend away. Clean,comfortable, cozy and wonderful hosts - warm, friendly and interesting world-travelers - we'll be back!


Great stay

4.2 on September 03, 2013

Great people, great place


Excellent

4.6 on August 26, 2013

As always!


Peaceful and refeshing

5 on August 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Dick and Nancy Zimmer. In the past we steered away from B&Bs for fear of feeling intruded upon or feeling with we were intruding. Not the case here. Our stay was peaceful and refreshing.


All the rooms were charming!

3.0 on August 20, 2013

The hosts were very accommodating. Although there was some confusion about the room we booked, all the rooms were charming.


A great get-away!

4.4 on August 11, 2013

Uniquely furnished (if you don't mind not having a TV) and impeccably clean! Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are large, and our breakfast was delicious. Nancy and Dick are delightfully warm and friendly.


I Loved It

4.6 on July 25, 2013

Great B&B. Very friendly hosts. Wonderful breakfast


The Brides Room!

5 on June 16, 2013

Dick and Nancy were extremely gracious. Their inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas- very nice. Breakfast was great- a very fun time!


Penrose Victorian Inn

5 on June 14, 2013

My stay at Penrose Inn could not have been nicer. Dick and Nancy, owners & operators, could not have been nicer! Wonderful Place!!


A Relaxing Retreat

3.6 on February 28, 2013

A stay at the Penrose set the stage for a comfortable and relaxing weekend visit. Enjoyed the comfortable room with large private bathroom. The inn was a throwback to another era. Even though it was on a main thoroughfare, you got the flavor of staying at someone's estate way out in the country. The innkeepers are very welcoming and seem to want to visit with their guests. although not in an intrusive way. They are there for suggestions on what to do in the area, as well as provide dining options. Enjoyed time at breakfast with innkeepers and other guests.


Penrose Victorian Inn

4.8 on February 24, 2013

A lovely couple and quaint B&B! Definitely true to the theme, and the breakfasts were delicious! I really loved the bathroom, of all things.


Extraordinary hosts!

4.6 on December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Penrose Victorian Inn this summer on short notice. Dick and Nancy were incredibly accommodating and friendly. We were made to feel right at home. Weather allowed for breakfast on the porch which was comfortable and so relaxing! The only drawback was that there was a bit of dog scent wafting throughout the house. If you're a dog person - no problem! If you have allergies, check with the hosts. Overall, it's a wonderful place for a laid back break.


Step Back in Time

3.6 on November 10, 2012

This lovely B&B is filled with period pieces. It could be a museum! Our host & hostess were gracious and friendly. The four-poster bed in the Eleanor Purrington Room definitely needs a new mattress. We were not distracted by traffic noise, but some may be. Still, we enjoyed our night of "time travel."


Happy Anniversary

5 on September 12, 2012

Absolutely delightful. We had a wonderful stay. We felt like we were staying with dear friends.


Penrose Victorian Inn

5 on September 04, 2012

We had the best time at Penrose. Both Dick & Nancy were very accommodating & the breakfast was delicious.


Penrose Victorian Inn

5 on August 12, 2012

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Penrose Inn -- just lovely. Very pretty surroundings, breakfast was delicious and innkeepers were so accommodating and pleasant. Wonderful weekend.


B&B Delight

5 on August 10, 2012

Excellent and fun!


Lovely inn, friendly owners

4.4 on July 24, 2012

A charming inn, with wonderful bric-a-brac (including interesting antique instruments). Comfortable rooms, good food, and very friendly owners -- we felt like family.


Perfect Victorian Getaway

4.8 on July 17, 2012

Penrose is a Victorian delight -- so much imagination by the owners, Dick and Nancy, has gone into it. Large bedrooms with huge bathrooms, good a/c, very comfortable bed, inviting covered porch where the delicious, full breakfast is served (weather permitting), and very friendly and helpful hosts. We spent 3 nights there mid-week; it was well located since we took day trips in different directions. I'd love to stay there again.


Home away from home

4.2 on February 02, 2012

This is where we go when we don't want to stay with family. Much more comfortable. The beds are great as well as furnishings.


Home away from home

5 on November 01, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Penrose Victorian Inn. The rooms were very comfy, the food delicious and the innkeepers very helpful. Will definitely go back. We loved it.


A quaint stay with fantastic innkeepers

4.0 on October 04, 2011

The Penrose owners were very hospitable, the breakfast was yummy and the decor and surroundings were wonderful. Nancy and Dick clearly love what they do and it reflects in the way they treat their guests and their property. This was a great value stay and we would definitely visit again.


A convenient place to stay.

3.6 on August 08, 2011

Nancy & Dick are very engaged with their guests -- sitting down to visit and tell stories. I'd recommend Penrose -- but not if you're looking for privacy.


Escape in time

4.8 on July 26, 2011

Stay in a truly Victorian home, with furnishings of a long time ago era. Eat by candlelight. Enjoy modern conveniences in an old world charm


Wonderful stay, wonderful hosts!

5 on July 08, 2011

The home was simply beautiful, in a relaxing location with wonderful hosts. Our rooms and bathrooms were perfectly clean and Nancy and Dick Zimmer are so welcoming, they make you feel like you've known them forever. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! A very peaceful estate and the location was very quiet and down the road you'll find a general store & tavern serving delicious food as well. The Victorian home is SO beautiful and even bigger than in the pictures. The beauty of the antiques and paintings are a delight for the eyes. You will enjoy your stay and definitely the breakfast! I had a great time during my stay on a warm summer evening. I can't imagine how beautiful it must be during the holidays. The home and hosts will truly make you feel like you are on a REAL vacation.


Great option in the Northampton, MA area

4.4 on March 01, 2011

A lovely Victorian inn. The innkeepers were tremendously gracious and welcoming. The breakfast in general wasn't anything to write home about, but the homemade preserves were definitely delicious and overall, a wonderful stay.


Quintessential hosts

4.8 on November 28, 2010

Nancy & Dick Zimmer obviously love their Victorian home and love to share it with guests. You immediately feel welcome.


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

5 on November 14, 2010

This was my third year staying at the Penrose Inn. Nancy and Dick,the hosts, are very welcoming and helpful. They made delicious breaksfasts. I'm vegan and they were happy to accomodate any dietary needs I had. The room and bathroom were beautiful and the pillows and bed were very comfortable. My daughter ane I look forward to our stay there every year. I can't recommend it highly enough.


Family wedding weekend

4.2 on October 06, 2010

Our wonderful hosts, Nancy & Dick, welcomed & pampered us throughout our stay. Conversations were delightful & our candlelight breakfasts on the beautiful porch and indoors were truly enjoyable. Hope to return soon!


My home away from home!

5 on October 04, 2010

This is the 4th time I've stayed at the Penrose Victorian Inn. It has become my "go to" place -- my home away from home when I am visiting my friends in MA. Comfortable, elegant, friendly!


Kara's Graduation

4.6 on September 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. Very accommodating, private yet friendly environment.


Hospitality Plus

4.0 on August 11, 2010

Bucolic grounds, gracious hosts, a very nice respite.... and there were reports of a bear inspecting the neighbor's trash!


Radical hospitality in Haydenville

4.2 on July 26, 2010

The Penrose Inn was a last-minute reservation, so I was delighted to find the place and the innkeepers so friendly and welcoming. It was very hot and I was with my somewhat grumpy son; the Zimmers invited us to use the pool, relax on the porch, meet the family pets and recline in our air-conditioned room. It was divine! Although Victoriana is not my favorite style, the rooms were whimsical and spotlessly clean. A great visit to a place I would otherwise never have seen.


A+++ stay at Penrose Victorian Inn

5 on July 19, 2010

I stayed at Penrose for two nights with my daughter and it was a truly wonderful experience. Everything from the room (we stayed in the Eleanor Purrington), to the service, to the food was excellent. Dick and Nancy were really great hosts and they made our stay very comfortable and relaxing. We'll definitely be returning to Penrose in the near future!


A Wonderful Getaway

4.0 on June 21, 2010

We had a great weekend at the Penrose. The house was gorgeous and Nancy and Dick wre warm and very interesting to talk with. Great pancakes!


Penrose Victorian

4.0 on June 14, 2010

Breakfast is incredible, decor beautiful. But the wedding gowns need to be cleaned and gotten out of the sun, which is ruining them.


A Plus of B&B's

5 on June 02, 2010

Lovely Victorian - beautiful decorated, comfortable, delicious hearty breakfast - peaceful - cordial welcoming hosts - will certainly be returning!


Our Stay at PVI

5 on May 04, 2010

Could not have been better. The owners are friendly. The inn is quaint and clean. No issues.


All Around Wonderful!

5 on April 20, 2010

Fantastic stay - Nancy and Dick were very welcoming and helpful in our search for housing. They also provided an amazing breakfast!


An Unexpected Pleasure

3.8 on March 29, 2010

The Inn is lovely - wonderful antiques and ambiance. Bed very comfy! Loved my clawfoot bath and innkeeper friendly and very accomodating.


Saving the Highlands

5 on March 24, 2010

Nancy and Dick treated me as a special guest - they are the reason Mass is a wonderful place to live!


A spectacular setting

4.4 on February 22, 2010

What a gorgeous selection of antiques, dolls and other accesories! True luxury in bedding and baths.


Lovely inn, lovely couple

4.6 on February 15, 2010

We stayed on a chilly night in January and we couldn't have been cozier than at the Penrose Victorian Inn. Our room was enormous, the bathroom was nearly as big, and both were charming in a Victorian way and fully functional in a completely modern way--great shower, windows that kept the drafts out. Breakfast (grapefruit, french toast, juice, coffee) was satisfying. The only thing I'd change is the coffee which could have been a lot stronger. But the best part was the lively conversation we shared with Dick and Nancy all during breakfast. They are an adventurous couple (they were just about to go on safari) and have lots to chat about and truly seem to love having guests.


Outstanding

5 on December 30, 2009

It is the 3rd time I've stayed at this wonderful inn - it is a home away from home!


I'm tough to please!

4.8 on December 30, 2009

Friendly innkeepers without being intrusive. Adorable and comfortable B&B. A relaxing, enjoyable weekend.


We will be back

3.8 on December 18, 2009

We stayed during Thanksgiving, and lucky for us all the Christmas decorations were up. The inn is lovely. We enjoyed our breakfast and the conversation with the innkeepers. The rooms are large. I did not notice excessive noise from Route 9.


Very victorian and friendly

4.8 on December 10, 2009

Warm and very friendly, and impeccably victorian down to the smallest detail. Beds are warm and very plush. breakfast was delicious. the Zimmers are great hosts.


lovely inn

3.6 on November 14, 2009

love that they had wireless


Penrose Victorian Inn

4.2 on November 13, 2009

I return regularly to Penrose. We love it! Great hosts & even greater accommodations!


Wonderful B&B experience near Northampton

5 on November 03, 2009

The Penrose Victorian Inn contained many special and memorable surprises from the moment we arrived. Nancy & Dick, the owners, made our stay truly welcoming & unique with their friendliness, helpful suggestions, and excellent cooking. The house was filled with thoughtful charm, especially the third floor.


A reward for a reservation

5 on October 28, 2009

A night at penrose is a great night's sleep, an old-fashioned breakfast, all-day hospitality, and the pleasure of family-style decoration.


Penrose hospitality

4.8 on October 22, 2009

The hosts were warm, interesting and helpful. The food was excellent, creatively presented and plentiful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We would definitely stay there again!


Penrose Victorian Inn

5 on October 16, 2009

Everything was excellent! The rooms, the breakfast and the personal attention!


Penrose is the Ultimate

5 on September 18, 2009

Victorian to the most minute detail--except for plenty of outlets and hot water! Beautiful, Dick and Nancy Zimmer were so attentive and charming; we feel as if they were newly discovered relatives but the end of the stay. Candelight breakfasts were superb and served in the gazebo porch when weather permitted.


One in a million!

5 on September 11, 2009

It was a joy staing at Penrose. The innkeepers took so much pride in making my stay enjoyable. They are certainly a "prize winning" B&B. Their hospitality was top notch in my book. AA++++


Wonderful host & hostess

5 on September 09, 2009

Nancy & Dick Zimmer were great from beginning to end. They ended up being like old friends with us. They made us feel right at home & a tastefully decorated & clean place for us to stay. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast too in a nice atmosphere on their porch.


Penrose is a good choice

4.6 on August 26, 2009

Very enjoyable & comfrotable stay. innkeepers very friendly & helpful. Each room has own bathroom, a real plus. Only drawback is proximity to Rt 9, but this is not a big problem.


Brief but wonderful.

5 on August 26, 2009

Although only one night, our stay at Penrose was terrific! Our room was charming and our bath big enough to dance in. Nancy & Dick are very attentive and interesting -- the perfect B&B hosts!


home away from home

5 on August 10, 2009

This lovely Victorian inn could not be prettier or more welcoming! The innkeepers, Nancy and Dick, could not be more gracious or hospitable. And breakfast was superb!


Penrose Victorian Inn

4.6 on August 03, 2009

Beautiful B&B with large rooms that are nicely decorated, excellent breakfast,and the nicest owners you will ever meet, they (Nancy & Dick) were extremely kind & friendly.


Penrose Inn- delightful time

3.6 on June 30, 2009

My stay was very comfortable. The hosts were lovely with a beautiful Victorian inn, gardens, and animals (dogs, cat, parrot).


Nice People

2.8 on August 26, 2008

The Innkeepers are friendly people, and the room was carefully decorated with many beautiful pieces of furniture. Also, the bathroom was very nice. However, the breakfast was underwhelming: it was too sweet. Also, the innkeepers were determined to chat. There was a lack of privacy: the bathroom was separate from the room, and there was another guest on the same floor. There is almost constant traffic on the road in front of the Inn. Also, there were personal photos all over the house and the innkeepers' laundry was hanging prominently on a clothesline. It felt like a private residence rather than an Inn.


Penrose Victorian Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $165
  • Reviews (70) 4.6
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4132683014
  • Fax 1-4132689232
  • Toll free 1-8882687711
Top