The Mary Prentiss Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

Delightful Stay!

5 on October 20, 2014

The laid back welcome, great breakfasts, yummy tea time treats, lovely room and easy access to public transportation made my visit to Boston easy and fun.


Cambridge at its best

5 on January 24, 2014

We spent 3 wonderful days in the Longfellow room. It felt like we were visiting a family friend or relative. We might even have felt Henry's presence. Jean and Doug


Thanks for a wonderful stay!

4.4 on March 14, 2013

We had a wonderful experience! The staff was exceptional and helped out whenever we had questions or needs!


perfect!

4.6 on February 08, 2013

The hotel was well situated for our Boston trip. The staff were friendly, and helpfull. Our room was clean and spacious. A perfect stay from beginning to end. We will never stay anywhere else.


Enjoyed our one nice stay

5 on July 17, 2012

great room with separate entrance. Nice having parking available. Great location for visiting our son, daughter-in-law and new gradson. Staff was very helpful.


Perfect!

5 on November 15, 2011

Everything was quite wonderful for our recent stay. The rooms were spacious and the food delicious. The only drawback is that a guest checked out quite early (4 a.m. or so) and slammed the door quite hard and woke us up! That was not the fault of the Inn, but rather a guest who doesn't know his own strength. I would definitely recommend this B & B!


Georgians visit Harvard

4.6 on August 29, 2010

Though our room was a bit small, the garden terrace and quaint dining rooms extended our space nicely. The walk to Harvard Square to see our son was easy; the location is great!


Great for a Harvard visit

3.2 on June 11, 2010

We have stayed here before and it more than met our expectations but this time we had a small room. Loved the cookies in the afternoon and the tea and coffee.


Great place to stay!

5 on March 03, 2010

Homey and comfortable B&B for a great price. The staff was helpful and friendly. When I needed to stay an extra night, they gave me a great price. The room was spacious and beautiful. It was in a great neighborhood that was convenient to restaurants,and other attractions. The breakfast was great. I'll be happy to return to this B&B.


cozy comfort in the New England freeze

3.8 on January 15, 2010

we stayed at the Mary Prentiss Inn just for an overnight. The rooms were clean and really cozy. it was nice to arrive in the evening to a fire roaring in the living area fireplace. The breakfast was really tasty and the staff was friendly. I've recommended the inn to my friend who lives nearby for her relatives that come to visit.


could be exceptional

3.6 on December 27, 2009

Beautiful architecture, lovely furnishings, fantastic location for a visit to Boston! Loved the cookies and coffee/tea in the afternoon, and the coffee available in the morning before breakfast was served. No breakfast earlier that 7:30 was not "client friendly" for early risers like us. Front desk personnel were not engaging (some spoke only limited English). The room was nice but arranged awkwardly with a head banger post alongside the bed and TV off to the side so it was hard to view. The holiday decorations were beautiful, but a fire was lit and soft music was on only once in a three day stay. With a bit more effort on the part of the staff to be more welcoming and attention to little details (like keep the fire going in winter with soft music), this would be a standout.


Very friendly innkeepers, great location, comfortable.

4.0 on December 24, 2009

This is a lovely inn. Everyone that works there is very nice. Clean. Nice breakfast. Tea and cookies in the late afternoon. Comfortable sitting room. In the winter, remember it's an old house, so bring a warm partner and/or warm pj's. There are heaters in each room. Mine was loud but did the trick. I asked for what appeared to be the only portable heater and my life was perfect. Comfortable bed. Located 5 minute walk from a subway station and the buses go by the main street. You can see Mass Avenue from the front steps. Within the block. 10 - 15 minute walk to Harvard Square. Nice shops and restaurants along the way. Loved the Temple Bar restaurant a block away! I will stay here again!


excellent value and location!

5 on December 12, 2009

The breakfast was amazing - worth getting up for even if you are on vacation. The rooms were cute and cozy. Just a 5 min walk from the subway makes it very convenient!


Convenient and welcoming

4.0 on December 12, 2009

We were welcomed with open arms. Off street parking is a plus. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. And breakfast was great. We even got to meet the resident cat. We would definitely stay there again and have already recommended the Inn to others.


excellent

4.2 on December 10, 2009

I made the wise choice to stay at the Mary Prentiss Inn for the 2 days that I was in Cambridge, Mass. Not only is this adorable B&B well-furnished, cozy, and clean, it serves a mean breakfast platter. The homemade granola I had for breakfast at the Mary Prentiss Inn is easily the best I have ever had. Staff was friendly and respectful. My only complaint would be the extremely noisy floorboards (to be expected in an old, restored home) in my room and the lack of soundproofing between rooms. Otherwise, this is a top-notch place to stay in Cambridge.


The Best

5 on November 05, 2009

We have just returned from our second stay at The Mary Prentiss Inn and this visit was as wonderful as our last stay. As well as a lovely building, breakfast, afternoon cookies and tea the staff is delightful - especially the terrific young man at the desk (wish I knew his name) who is incredibly friendly and helpful and gives a wonderful vibe to the whole place. Hope we get to visit a third time!


finding prentiss inn

4.6 on March 30, 2009

had some difficulty finiding this b&b so i arrived with an attitude that i was not going to like this place.--not sure if the difficulty in finding it was the location or the navigator-- the taxi driver seemed to have no difficulty finding it the following evening sooo-- the rooms were warm and welcoming--the afternoon tea was very nice and the staff was wonderful and very helpful. Parking was kind of tight but isnt that true anywhere in the boston area. The bed was very comfortable and the room was terriffic. Breakfast found us at a table with a guest from switzerland researching and writing at the local law school and a mom on a little r and r from the young uns who had traveled less that ten blocks to be with us. converstaion was light and lively breakfast banter which was a great way to begin the day. i would recommend the Mary Prentiss inn to all who have cause to be in the Cambridge/Boston area.


Great hideaway in Cambridge

3.6 on January 15, 2009

Spacious inn with great rooms and excellent breakfast. Very convenient location, parking a huge plus. Wood supplied for rooms with fireplaces was a wonderful bonus!


Great place to stay

3.6 on October 03, 2008

Our room was spacious, clean, and very charming. (no old house smell) The bed was extremely comfortable! Our window over-looking the street was great for fresh air and light during an afternoon nap. The frontdesk was very helpful and will let you store your bags for you both before and after checkout. Breakfast is included and it was plentiful. The outdoor patio is great for breakfast or afternoon tea and cookies. Location. It is a 10 min walk from the Porter Sq and 15+min to Harvard Sq however both are completely flat and rather quick(no cobblestones) If you tire of walking there are two bus lines that run both ways on Mass Ave just a few steps from the inn. There are a lot of good restaurants and interesting shops along this section of Mass Ave just outside your door. Overall it was a great choice and we will definitely stay here again. Small note: The stairs to the third floor are very short which can be tricky to navigate so if that is a problem for you, request the second floor.


Great Place if You Have a Car

3.6 on September 12, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Inn. The price was over $200 a night and was a bit high, especially considering the walk to Harvard is a bit of a hike and was not convenient. That said, the service was outstanding, and the full breakfast was wonderful. The hotel has a beautiful deck and outside garden that is just lovely. It was quiet and a nice respite from the bustle of Harvard Square. Parking was free which was a nice perk. I would stay here again if I had a car but would not if I had to walk. I think the price should be around $150 a night.


Nice Location

3.0 on August 22, 2008

We spent 2 nights at the Inn. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It is very well located and walking distance to Harvard Square and Porter Square. The bedroom was very spacious with a nice bed and nice bathroom but was a bit stuffy and we could not open the window to aerate the room. We have two issues to point out - (1) there is a grey cat which keeps roaming around inside and as my husband is allergic to cats, he fell sick, (2) we were allocated room No. 4, and there is a generator which keeps going on and off all day and all night which is very noisy especially during the night. We had to use ear plugs. There are a few suggestions that I would like to make to the management. The carpet in the bedroom needs to be changed as it looks old, the rooms should be well aerated as it is very stuffy. I would also suggest that breakfast could have been in the open buffet style, so that the residents could feel free to serve themselves. Otherwise, for the price everything was okay. And would recommend .


Great Cambridge Inn!

4.0 on August 20, 2008

This is the first time we stayed here. It was a great location, close to transportation, dining and shopping. The Inn is beautiful, comfortable and clean. The guest service was attentive and always present. I will definitely stay here again!


A delightful place to stay!

4.4 on August 05, 2008

My husband and I stayed here in November 2007. It was our first trip to Boston, and we were very pleased with the accommodations. We would choose this bed & breakfast over most any hotel. It was quiet and in a quaint neighborhood but within walking distance of Harvard Square.


Great option to business hotels

3.4 on June 10, 2008

I recently stayed at the Mary Prentiss Inn, overall a pleasant stay, and would definitely return. Couple of suggestions though: - Location is more difficult to find - print directions on the Inn's business card, so that cab drivers can find it. Otherwise be prepared to Mapquest your routes. - Breakfast would be nice to start at 7:00 versus 7:30 (does not need to be a warm breakfast - Continental would do).


Renovation alarm clock

4.0 on April 23, 2008

We arrived in early spring ,it was our first here. It looked like a nice building but the surrounding buildings weren't so charming. The floors creaked and our room was stuffy . The parking and breakfast was nice, but the wi-fi was down. The decor was intresting but old . During the time of our stay their were renovations being done on the building so it was a little annoying to hear hammers and see people running around with ladders in and out the hotel. This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast so I can't say if it's good or bad.


Mary Prentiss

3.8 on October 17, 2007

Most congenial, understanding and thoughtful service I have encountered at a B & B!


No Tea ....

2.8 on January 13, 2007

We stayed here on January 11th for one night having stayed here before. We arrived for afternoon tea to find they only had fruit tea. This was not accpetable especially in Boston! Our room was cleanish but could have done with a more thorough dust as I found the bed had not been moved for months and dust was visible. We slept in room 7 which was quiet & comfortable. Breakfast the next morning (you select a time and option the night before) was simple but tasty, but again there was no simple unadulterated black tea. In a bed & breakfast of this standing that is unacceptable. The staff tired to be helpful but no one actually went out and bought any tea. The best we got was "that an order had recently been put in". Thus we had to drink coffee!! The free parking and Wi-Fi are impressive but we felt the building and running of it was a little tired. The location is neat the "T" and good local restaurants.


The Mary Prentiss Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $289
  • Reviews (27) 4.2
  • Rooms 20
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6176612929
  • Fax 1-6176615989

Visit Website »

View details

Top