Prospect Place Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
98 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect Place

4.6 on July 11, 2014

1) Perfect location - close to subway, great restaurants, Boston 2) Wonderful Accommodations - Eric & Judy great Hosts 3) Tasty fresh breakfast and coffee 4)Comfortable Room - Home away from Home


Great!

4.8 on April 28, 2014

Very convenient, ideally located minutes away from the subway and from Central square. Staff was very friendly and the atmosphere with Eric and the other guests over the delicious breakfast was a wonderful way to start the day. Very nice room with beautiful decor and very nice details -- not only in the room but in the entire house. Will be coming back! Carmen


Great location at a great price!

5 on October 21, 2013

We just returned after a 10 day stay at the Prospect Place B&B and it was wonderful. Only 2 blocks from the subway and buses. Eric was so helpful to my wife and I with everything. We will be back in the future. Ken O


Excellent Inn; Excellent Innkeeper

4.6 on October 11, 2012

Location is fantastic. Eric the innkeeper was friendly, knowledgeable and professional. If/when we return to Boston, we will absolutely stay at Prospect Place.

Innkeeper Response
We do hear comments almost every week about how convenient our location is to getting around Cambridge and Boston with the subway and bus just a 5 minute walk down the street. We also have a lot of loyal returning guests year-after-year. We sometimes wish we had more rooms to accept all the requests for rooms that we get, but can't possibly accommodate. It's always great to see familiar faces returning.


Nice Inn

3.4 on July 03, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and location very much! The owner and staff were very nice. Steve & Laudi A.


Prospect Place

3.0 on June 01, 2012

Charming old home that is very well located in Cambridge. Good service and lovely breakfast. The furnishings are getting a little tired. No sitting area outside (no porch or patio; backyard inaccessible). Would return for this value.

Innkeeper Response
Glad this guest enjoyed our period bed and breakfast. Being furnished in antiques, things will not look like a modern hotel. For instance, some semi-antique orientals may actually show some wear and patina here and there, but they are the real thing. Also, it should be noted that we, in fact, do have a back porch with table and chairs off the kitchen, which guests are welcome to use for relaxing or eating. Just ask us and we'll be happy to show you.


lovely place, with people who wellcome you by heart

4.4 on April 28, 2012

This is a place that shows you the heart of the owners. You feel imediately wellcomed, they are very wellcoming you. The room is very clean, an old english style as you can find in Great Britain. rooms are reasonable big, in spite of not huge. The facilities work well. The best is the mavolous breakfast, with all what you want including freshly baked cake from the owner. Greatl


Great stay! Not a better deal in Boston!

5 on April 26, 2012

Clean, central location to T and Squares. Quiet, friendly. can't say enough good things. Will stay there each time in Boston.


A very good place to visit Boston and near Harvard

4.4 on April 25, 2012

Un bel endroit, fort partique, à proximité immédiate de Boston (bus direct. 10 mn max) et de Harvard. Chambre confortable avec un grand lit king et une salle de bain très bien équipée. La chambe que nous occupions est en demi sous-sol. La bibliothèque/séjour attenante, est une belle pièce, mais sans ouverture extérieure et nous ne l'avons guère utilisée de ce fait. Mais les autres chambres proposées ne me semblent pas avoir ce défaut Petit déjeuner d'excellente qualité et un hote vraiment sympathique. Le rapport qualité prix est bon et il est difficile de trouver mieux à proximité immédiate de Boston.


A Lovely and Convenient Place to Stay

4.0 on February 20, 2012

While visiting our daughter we stayed for three nights at this lovely B&B in Cambridge. It was only 2 blocks from Central Square T and 8 blocks or so from the Harvard campus so we were able to leave our rental car parked (they give you a residential parking permit) most of the time. The inn keepers were gracious and helpful (more about that below) and provided a most scrumptious breakfast. Our room was comfortable, warm and cozy and it was a very cold end of January. There is a Whole Foods across the street that we shopped at before going to our daughters apt. so if the weather is nice you can get great snacks We left in mid afternoon getting to the airport in about 15 minutes (what a surprise that was). A day later we received an e-mail from Eric that I had apparently left a camera memory card in the room. He asked if he could mail it to me and when we arrived home from the next leg of our vacation there it was. Would we stay here again? In a moment.


Prospect Place is excellent!

4.0 on January 08, 2012

I'm reviewing our stay at Prospect Place some years ago. The house is a beautifully restored Victorian and our hosts showed us pictures of the restoration process. We stayed in the Madeline room in back, away from the street. The bed was comfortable and we had a private bath. The hosts gave us a generous and delicious breakfast. I highly recommend Prospect Place and give it five stars in all categories.


Excellent place to stay

5 on December 06, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Prospect Place. Eric was pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully served. The table had a lace table cloth and the breakfast was served on fine china. There was fresh fruit and a choice of other items. The room was clean and had everything one could need. The location is a couple of blocs from the T. An easy walk. I would highly recommend staying at Prospect Place!


Comfortable, Welcoming Inn

5 on December 01, 2011

Our stay was delightful. Nice, clean comfortable room. Hosts very attentive. Location very convenient (one block from "T" station). Breakfast was elegant. Offered eggs that were served very hot from the frying pan and fresh cut fruit plus pasteries & homemade granola. Also enjoyed pleasant breakfast conversation with other guests. I will stay again whenever I need to be in Cambridge.


Prospect Place

4.4 on November 22, 2011

Great place. Our room smelled a bit funny/stuffy - probably due to the humidity from the shower (which was amazingly designed in marble with dual heads!). Nice staff, easy to come and go as we pleased. Whole Foods nearby and walking distance to Central Square made it very convenient for our stay.


A great find in core Cambridge

4.6 on November 16, 2011

For those looking to turn down the corporate climate control each night, opting for a heritage style stay in Cambridge, this is the right ticket. We were looking for a quiet place, close to transit, to get to the action whenever we wanted. This place worked out great for both business and pleasure. The building is a heritage style classic, with solid wood doors. We stayed in the Florence room, which was much larger than a hotel room in the same price range. There was a community feel to our whole stay, because the clientele were friendly at the breakfast table, and our hosts were gracious, polite and attentive. My girlfriend commented on the freshness of the fruit, patries and eggs each morning. For those not familiar with Boston, the city is technically separate from Cambridge, but transit and the subway system straddle both. This property is in Cambridge, about two blocks from the Red Line, one stop from Harvard and only a few in the other direction to downtown. At checkout, we took the Red Line to South Station and switched to the Silver Line airport bus, which only took 10 minutes longer than a cab.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your so thoughtful review of your stay in the Florence Room. It was fun getting to know you two a bit and so glad you had an enjoyable time with us and exploring all Cambridge and Boston have to offer.


Great stay near Harvard!

5 on November 11, 2011

Stayed 2 nights... Comfortable rooms, easy to find, convenient to T, a safe area and a Whole Foods right across the street. What's not to like? Eric is a wonderful host, breakfasts are top-notch and you'll love the warmth and history of the place. A 5-star recommendation from me.


Funky Victorian elegance in the middle of everything

3.6 on November 09, 2011

This is a charming, comfortable, relaxed place to stay right near Central Square. It's run by a warm and welcoming couple of musicians who are fun to talk to and who go out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. Breakfast includes fresh baked goodies and fresh fruit; I've also had eggs,and French toast all superb. My wife and I have stayed there off and on for the past 3 or 4 years and never been disappointed. When my review says "met expectations" it is accurate because my expectations for this place are high based on multiple good experiences. Highly recommended!

Innkeeper Response
It's always nice to see familiar happy faces returning every year - and sometimes even every few months. Thanks for your continued good will in staying with us!


Oh! What a lovely Victorian B&B!!!

4.8 on November 07, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the "Charles Suite" at the Prospect Place B&B for one week this past October. Eric and his wife are the best! Gracious, helpful, knowledgeable hosts; delicious, healthy food served each morning, the fresh fruit is to die for; beautiful Victorian decor, yet very comfortable; relaxed atmosphere; interesting guests and conversations; clean towels every day; great transportation, only a couple of blocks from the "T" Red Line; and a Whole Foods Market is just across the street! We only wish we could have stayed another week! We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.


A Finer B&B in Cambridge Shan't Be Found

5 on November 04, 2011

Stayed at Prospect Place in October as part of our anniversary vacation. Location is great and just a short walk from Boston's Red Line Central Station. Rooms were comfortable, hospality was great, and the breakfast was perfect. A great location to explore Boston, Harvard, and beyond. If we can book a room at Prospect, we won't stay anywhere else!


Prospect Place

4.2 on November 01, 2011

The innkeeper and his wife were very hospitable and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent. Be aware that the rooms on the second floor, though quite large, do not have en suite bathroom facilities of any kind. The common room on the first floor is a pleasant place to chat with friends or sit and read. Poor selection of channels and reception on older television with too small a screen.

Innkeeper Response
This guest was one of many academics we have stay with us. Always interesting and stimulating conversation going on. We all had a good time that week. He was happy in the spacious Florence Room (no private bathroom when booked separately from the suite), but the smaller TV was a hold over from the previous guest's request, mainly to use its built-in DVD player. We've decided to remove it from that room as a regular spot. It's note-worthy that we are primarily a TV-free B&B. If you especially want/need a television we recommend booking the Charles Suite, which does have a good-sized flat screen TV in its large sitting room. It's also worth noting that actually the Madeline Room, which is on the same floor as the Florence & Emma Suite, does have an en suite bathroom.


Prospect Place Feedback

3.8 on October 30, 2011

The Innkeeper was a great host and created a warm environment. I will definitely stay there again.


Comfort and class in Cambridge

4.4 on October 28, 2011

We needed a place close to relatives living in Cambridge and Prospect Place not only provided this with amazing convenience, right down the street from the T, but also gave us a romantic, comfortable and friendly place to spend time with our family and rest after a wonderful long day of traveling and touring. Eric is an awesome host. We hope to return and highly recommend this charming comfortable home away from home.


More than pleased!

4.6 on October 27, 2011

While this quaint B & B has a bit of an older feel to it, the longer we stayed the more it grew on us. Eric the proprietor could not have been more gracious or helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic and the location is optimal. I highly recommend it!


Elegant B&B with perfect location in Cambridge

4.0 on October 22, 2011

We stayed in Prospect two nights. The biggest advantage of it is the location. It's just in the middle of MIT and Harvard, metro can easily bring you to Boston downtown, or you can take bus #1 with few stops to Newbury street, Boston. If the weather is good, you can walk from Prospect to Boston downtown. Actually we spent one day almost only by walking, passing through MIT, cross the bridge, walking all the way in Boston even to the north end! Until late night, we took metro back. Just opposite Prospect, it is a big supermarket called sth. like Wholefood, you can buy almost everything there, like Salad, fast food. Becides the good location, the owner Eric is a pianist. So you can imagine the unique style of this B&B, elegant and very Victoria. Eric is a sort of person not very warm from the 1st sight, but he can really handle everything just in the right level. When he learnt we were in a hurry to Harward for the 10am free tour, he very politely told us that he's about to Harward soon, if we don't mind, he can drop us there. Of course, we then sit in his car and catch up the schedule. If you want to stay in Cambridge, definitely I will recommand you stay there.


Great Stay at Prospect Place

4.6 on October 22, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Prospect Place. The very gracious hosts, Eric and Judy, treated us with utmost kindness. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast delicious, and the antiques were gorgeous - not to mention that the location was very convenient to both MIT and Harvard. We would definitely stay at Prospect Place again.


Nice place

4.6 on October 18, 2011

Eric was a great hostess. Very accommodating and helpful. The food was delicious. My room was very comfortable.


Great stay at Prospect Place!

5 on October 16, 2011

Great location in Cambridge, walking distance to Harvard or close to the T station. Breakfasts were delicious, and Judy shared her granola recipe. The bed was very comfortable and the room clean. Eric gave great recommendations for local restaurants. Would definitely recommend!


A Great B&B in the heart of Cambridge

4.4 on October 07, 2011

This is a great B&B in the heart of Cambridge. The owners were very courteous and accommodating. The room we stayed in, the Charles Suite, was clean and well maintained for the age of the home. The suite is in the basement, but does come with a nice seating area. The place was clean in general. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The location of the B&B is perfect if you have business in Cambridge or want to enjoy Cambridge. There is a whole-foods shop right opposite the B&B and lots of good restaurants around it. Eric's breakfast Omelet was gourmet quality and I really loved the cereal mix he serves. Being in the middle of the city, parking can be a bit of a hassle, but the owners allow you to park in the driveway if there is place.


great find in Cambridge

5 on October 07, 2011

We stayed in a lovely suite, in the basement! Deluxe bath and large bedroom. Very private. Breakfast was delicious and accommodated several different tastes and diets. Location is great. We'll stay there whenever we are in Cambridge.


Lovely home, great location

4.6 on October 03, 2011

I recently stayed 2 nights in the Madeleine room while on a business trip. The value and location cannot be beat -- it's just a couple of blocks from Massachusetts Avenue for a fraction of the price charged by local traditional hotels. The room itself is cozy and airy (three windows) in a quiet part of the house. There is a comfortable reading chair with its own lamp, two drawers and a hanging rack for storage, and a dressing/bath area separated from the sleeping area by a curtain. The house itself is amazing. The owners have lovingly restored this beautiful Victorian, preserving the past (vintage mouldings, doorknobs, light fixtures) while adding modern conveniences (air conditioning, Wifi, decent water pressure). Pride in ownership is quite evident throughout the home, and the hosts obviously enjoy interacting with their guests -- they are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was a treat! If you are a fan of antiques, historic homes (with all the quirks), and some peace and quiet, you will feel right at home. Plus you are walking distance to Central Square, Harvard, the Charles River, and a number of great dining options. Whole Foods is directly across the street.


A great place to stay

4.6 on October 02, 2011

Loved the charming and homely environment, the attentive host and a great cook for the delicious breakfasts. Will highly recommend it to friends visiting Boston.


Madeline Room

4.2 on October 02, 2011

We enjoyed our welcomed stay at Prospect Place very much. Eric was very kind and supplied us with everything we asked from him. When we visit Boston next time, we will definitely consider his house again :-)


Labour Day Weekend in Cambridge

4.0 on September 19, 2011

This was our second time staying at the Prospect Place. Once again, the accomodations were great, the food was wonderful and you can't beat the Prospect Place for its location!


Very convenient and pleasant

4.2 on September 14, 2011

I enjoyed my visit to Cambridge and to Prospect Place. The owner and staff were very accommodating with regard to things like being able to leave luggage well after check out time and also printing a boarding pass. The breakfast was excellent. The lighting in the room could be improved with regard to strength and convenience. I also did not care for the partially exposed electrical outlets. But overall, a very nice place. I paid $152 cash, which seemed on the high side to me, but Cambridge in general is on the high side for lodging.


a lovely place to stay

4.6 on September 12, 2011

A lovely place to stay. The room was an amazing value for the price; for $175 you got a bedroom with antique furniture and a comfortable king size bed, a sitting room, and an all marble bathroom with a double shower. Breakfast was perfectly good, and Eric was very helpful. It was a great haven to come back to after each day sightseeing out in the rain :) I would definitely come back again.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your thoughtful comments about the Charles Suite. An exceptional value for likely one of the nicest B&B suites in Cambridge. Thanks again for staying with us!


We'll be back!

4.6 on September 11, 2011

Fabulous location; helpful staff. Great stay!


review of my stay at Prospect Place B&B

3.2 on September 05, 2011

Room and bathroom were clean. There was an odd electronic sound in my room that was continuous during my entire stay. Otherwise, the b&b met my needs.

Innkeeper Response
The electronic sound this guest heard was a small Prozone air cleaner, which we have in each room. They have a switch on the side that can be turned off if you prefer complete silence.


Prospect Place, Cambridge, MA

5 on September 04, 2011

Victorian home renovated faithfully to the period. Bathroom fitted with beautiful modern fixtures, granite tile, counters and shower. Comfortable room. Gracious and civilized decor. Excellent service. Breakfast was complete: eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit & juice, yogurt, granola, croissants & muffins, coffee, tea, milk. Central location close to public transportation and major roads. We expected a lot, and Prospect Place delivered. We will visit again and recommend it to friends.


Great for 1st time bed and breakfast experience

4.2 on August 31, 2011

Prospect Place is very convenient as it's near a subway station and right in front of a grocery store. The place was so lovely and cozy, especially the bedrooms.Eric (the owner) was so nice and even let us use the joining room for free since no one was using it. We had good breakfast every morning as well. No negative comment. Definitely worth the price. I would definitely recommend this and would stay here again for future visits in Boston.


Best place to adjust to academic life in Cambridge

4.6 on August 22, 2011

Prospect Place is a very nice bed-and-breakfast hotel. The staff are really very nice, the food was great, and the rooms are superb! I would not hesitate booking another reservation in Prospect Place in the future.


WONDERFUL VACATION

4.0 on August 20, 2011

Prospect Place b and b is everything you want in a b and b ...excellent location, good breakfasts, gracious, helpful host. My only small complaint, very small, is that there was no closet in our room (the Madeline), only a dresser and coat/clothes rack. Bathroom also did not have a door, only a drape separation.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind comments. We're sorry that there isn't more clothes hanging space in the Madeline Room, but in antique houses sometimes choices have to be made as to how spaces are utilized. We'd like to think the large marble shower and generous counter space in the bathroom area are a fair trade-off for not having a closet in that cozy and quiet room. Thanks again for staying!


A Wonderful Stay!

4.0 on August 16, 2011

Very well situated just a block and a half from Central Square subway. Very nice house. Very Clean. Tastefully decorated. Eric the owner very helpful. Breakfasts are delicious and filling. Wifi. Whole foods across the street. A great place from which to see Boston. Very Highly Recommended.


Prospect Place: Excellent place and excellent host

4.2 on August 12, 2011

I strongly recommend the Prospect Place. It is a very nice place in a good location in Cambridge. The host, Eric, is very nice, helpful and cooks excellent breakfasts.


Highly recommended

4.2 on August 02, 2011

B&B hosted in a beautiful 3 floors house. Clean, quiet, comfortable, 2 mins walk to the Central Metro station, and a 15 minutes walk to Harvard Square. The owner runs the place in a professional yet amicable way. Highly recommended.


Great location for visiting MIT and Harvard

3.6 on July 31, 2011

Perfect spot for visiting NIT and Harvard. Easy access to downtown via Subway (10 min walking to nearest station). Kind host and nice breakfast.


Beautiful victorian with easy transit access

3.8 on July 24, 2011

good service, had to leave early so I got a breakfast to go left for me. able to check in early. Friendly.


A PERFECT SPOT IN CAMBRIDGE

4.0 on July 08, 2011

Every detail was perfect. Friendly innkeeper, cozy, sunny room with comfortable reading chair. Great breakfast. Totally peaceful...and yet just two blocks from the hustle and bustle


Just what we were looking for

5 on July 05, 2011

Stayed at this B&B for a family visit to the area and couldn't have been more pleased. Great location, lovely old home, excellent breakfast, clean and well maintained. Host is as friendly or discreet as you wish. We had the Emma room and shared a bathroom down the hall. Not a problem at all, though one morning there was a young lady who took 45 minutes showering in the am. If you want to get off to an early start get the room with a bathroom or shower at night! A great value and worth every penny. Would stay there again.


Boston's Prospect Place is a wonderful prospect for travellers!

3.8 on June 25, 2011

Eric was a very gracious host. I loved how particular he was about the quality of the foods he served. He provided some great advice and information about the neighborhood - eateries and what to do. It was clear to me that he puts much thought and attention into taking care of his guests. We had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend Prospect Place to folks visiting Boston/Cambridge!


Comfortable & quiet

3.8 on June 24, 2011

A convenient place to stay in the Boston/Cambridge area. A good work area if you are here on business.


Prospect place – The first choice while in Cambridge.

5 on June 18, 2011

We booked 7 nights at this lovely Victorian nicely decorated house and got a discount. The price is very resonable. It is an excellent place to stay at and many guests that we met there were not staying there for the first time. This is a place you choose to go to over and over again. We recommend it highly. We were staying in the Florence suite, which is certaily a suite. Spacious clean and comfortable room (see prospectpl.com) We greatly appreciated the courtecy and hospitality of Eric Hunneke the owner of this adventurous house. Eric went out of the ordinary to please us. We had to have some parcels/ packages delivered to his house and one of them was especially huge but he did not want to accept anyting extra for receiving them and it was not a problem for him at all. He is very helpful and good to turn to for advice on restaurants for example and he provides you with a map. The breakfast is served in a very nice dining room Victorian style. Fruits, yougurt, muffins, homemade granole ( I forgot to ask him for the recipe, it was very good), freshly made juice, scrabled eggs, fryed bred and so on. With a relaxing low music in the background. The location is superb. Steps away from the subway (T) - red line. Close to many restaurants and buissnesses on Massachusetts Avenue. In walking distance from Harward Square ( or one stop on the subway). Inman Square with taverns and more restaurants are close by. MIT is in a walking distance. Boston across the river is 3 subway stops away. So if you want to visit Boston or Cambridge you know where to sleep now.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you two with us for the week you were vacationing from Iceland.


Prospect Place

5 on June 12, 2011

Our stay at Prospect Place was a delight. Eric gave us a very individualized experience. He greeted us, carried our bags to our room which was very comfortable, a brass bed in a very large room decorated with antiques. He also drove us to the MIT graduation--above and beyond the job description for a host of a B&B!! The breakfasts were fun--not only the food was excellent but the company of Eric and the other folks staying at the B&B was enjoyable. I recommend Prospect Place highly.


A great host

4.8 on June 12, 2011

We had a wonderful four night stay and felt like family from the beginning. Eric is a wonderful host, and seems to know what makes everyone happy. Prospect Place is very well located for walking Cambridge and catching the T to get to downtown Boston. The breakfasts were plentiful and varied AND delicious. Thanks to Eric and Judy for a wonderful stay. The Luthers


Prospect Place an awesome place

5 on May 21, 2011

After staying for two nights (may 16-18, 2011), I can say that, If you are planning to take a trip to Cambridge or Boston, and avoid the same chain hotel routines, then Prospect Place is the place. At a very lower rates than any other hotels, and ranking the number one B&B in Cambridge, you'll find a very clean rooms, a very quiet, respectful and nice B&B crew, lead by Eric, I guess he is the owner, and very good breakfast, that includes pastries, fresh fruit, bread, cheese, tea, coffee and others. The Charles Suite, where I stayed, next to a home media and library room, has a king bed, and the bathroom was awesome, featuring a granite and marble shower, with dual shower heads. Prospect Place is surrounded by architectural history, so a walk by the neighborhood is a very beautiful experience, little shops, coffee shops, MIT and Harvard in 10 minutes, the red line subway station one and a half blocks away, and a express "whole foods" supermarket almost in front of the B&D, for those munchies, buffett take out food, will close the deal.


Prospect Place-Cambridge MA

5 on April 25, 2011

We appreciated the courtesy and hospitality and Victorian charm; the room(s) that were recommended were appropriate and spacious. A totally successful stay for two nights after a week of college touring. Thank you for the opportunity to compliment our hosts.


A good place to stay

4.2 on April 11, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Prospect Place. I was warmly welcomed by Eric, my room was pleasant and comfortable and the breakfasts were outstanding. The house is meticulously furnished and a real pleasure to come back to. Plus it is an easy walk from Harvard Square


A nice to stay in Cambridge

3.4 on March 01, 2011

I had very warm and memorable stay in Prospect Place B&B in late Feb. 2011. Innkeeper Eric was very friendly and so kind. He let me check in at 8:00 AM because I took red-eye flight from California. The rooms are very quite and my stay in Madeline room was cozy and warm. The breakfast was adequate and joyful. Perhaps the best about this B&B is it's location. You can go to anywhere is Boston Metropolitan area by taking the Redline subway which Central Square Station is only two blocks away on Massachusetts Ave. Many shops and restaurants can also be found on this busy street. Not to mention the Whole Food Supermarket is right on Prospect St. across the B&B. I'm sure Eric will let you use his kitchen if you buy your own food from the Whole Food or other nearby supermarkets.


A great B&B in an excellent location

4.8 on January 29, 2011

I was in Cambridge for work. I chose this place for the good reviews and for the Central Square location -- there are a number of excellent low-key restaurants cafes, and music venues, and the MBTA red line is 2 blocks from the B&B; for those who like to run (when the weather is better) the Charles River is perhaps 3/4 of a mile away; and Inman Square is not far up Prospect street. The room I stayed in was huge and very nice; nicely decorated and arranged without being gaudy (a risk in B&Bs), and quite private when I needed it. I'm a very light sleeper and the room was quiet even though it faced Prospect Street; and the house was kept nice and warm during a brutal cold snap. The breakfasts were ample and superb, and Eric (a professional musician) was a lot of fun to talk to. Internet, for those who need it, was quite fast. The price was quite reasonable. I highly recommend it.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks very much for your very generous comments about our B&B inn. It was a pleasure having you with us. Look forward to seeing you soon on your next trip in town!


Prospect Place

4.0 on December 19, 2010

The host was very friendly. The breakfasts were top notch. It was very close to our son's apartment and not far from the subway. Great location.


Prospect Place - a great place to stay when in Cambridge, MA!

4.6 on December 16, 2010

We just returned from our third stay this year at Prospect Place in Cambridge, MA. We loved the location - we could walk everywhere that we wanted to go. A small deli was down the street with good teas and selections. A Whole Foods store was across the street - we visited it several times. But, the highlight of our stays was the morning breakfasts - homemade granola, fresh pastries, eggs, hot bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, hot coffee or tea - a nice variety each morning. Plus we enjoyed meeting the other guests who joined our table. The hosts, Eric and Judy, were most helpful in answering our questions and greeting us late when our plane was delayed. Prospect Place is tastefully decorated with antiques, comfortable beds, and a grand piano. We highly recommend staying at Prospect Place. We plan to return! Sue and Ron

Innkeeper Response
Thanks, Sue & Ron. It's always a pleasure to have you with us.


Prospect Place, Cambridge, MA

5 on December 13, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Prospect Place. The room was extremely comfortable & exceeded our expectations. The inn is lovely & we had delicious breakfasts in the grand dining room. We became very friendly with the innkeepers & they even gave us a present of beautiful vintage dinner plates, that we had admired... The best part of our stay was meeting Eric & Judy Huenneke, the innkeepers, who were so charming, warm, & hospitable. We recommend this inn to anyone who is visiting Cambridge & Boston...

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Charles Suite. It is certainly unique and most guests who stay there do request it when making reservations to return. Wish we could say we offer gifts to all our guests, but not quite. We're delighted the plates will have such an appreciative home and thanks again for your gracious hospitality of dinner and conversation when passing through your beautiful town.


Breakfast?

3.0 on November 24, 2010

The innkeeper was more than helpful with providing information about Cambridge and even drove us into the Square. However, the breakfast was lacking with only one cereal choice, everything from a bakery (others I have stayed at had homemade items). We had to ask for eggs and they were served very plain without toast, bacon, ham,or sausage. Breakfast both days were similar...rather uninteresting. B&B's usually have french toast, pancakes, and omelettes. All in all breakfast was disappointing.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your high rating for cleanliness. We have always maintained a totally green bed and breakfast using only environmentally and ecologically safe cleaning products and methods. We are, however, very sorry that our breakfast was not to your liking. The main strength of our breakfasts is in quality, freshness and uniqueness rather than elaborate main dishes. The fresh baked breads and pastries or scones each morning come alternately from one of the three finest and unique bakeries we know of anywhere. They are all within a few blocks of our house. Many of these items actually exceed typical "homemade" baked goods in quality. This also allows us to provide a much greater variety of baked goods than if we were to make one type of baked item each morning, while also hopefully having less waste at the end of the day. We do not serve any kind of meat at our breakfasts and always advise guests of this if and when they ask. We do make our own special recipe of honey roasted granola quite unlike that served elsewhere and it's a favorite of many of our guests. The ingredients in all items we serve are centered on the highest natural quality available. We do alternate dishes such as french toast in place of scones and pastries or eggs served a specific way on some mornings and are sorry our variety was not different enough the two mornings you were here. We've found it is more efficient for us when full to make the eggs or hot dish the same for all the table on any particular day rather than trying to take individual orders for every guest, yet we still try to accommodate special requests within our ability and time to do so. We've also found it is better to err on the side of subtle in terms of spices when it comes to keeping the majority of guests happy at breakfast.


Great stay

4.8 on November 19, 2010

The room was great with great breakfast. Location is very convenient within walking distance from MIT and Harvard. This place is more affordable than most other B&B in Cambridge.


Very nice, but minor reservations...

3.2 on November 17, 2010

I stayed there for two nights. The place is very clean, each room having it's own private bath which is really nice. They were up-front about not breakfast included - which is absolutely fine. The location is nice, walkable to many small shops, restaurants and MIT/Harvard. The only reservation I've got is that the intake vent for in the 3rd room make very loud noise, and the bed is right up against it. I woke up in the middle of the night when the van kicked on, it was pretty difficult to go back to sleep - I had to cover my head with my pillow. I had the cheaper of the rooms, and again, if it weren't for the load air intake noise it would have been fine. Also, for longer stay apparently you have to launder your own linens? Not sure how that makes it a B&B?

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write in with your comments about your stay with us. We're sorry that you found your room uncomfortable. We're rather puzzled about some items you mention: namely, "no breakfast", a noisy "air intake vent," and having "to wash your own bed linens." As is evidenced by most all reviews we have on the web, our breakfast is quite complete and consistently receives high marks from nearly all guests. We're sorry that you weren't able to partake of that. The only time there would be little to nothing available is if you were leaving very early (i.e. before 7 a.m.) in the morning. Even then, we would offer to leave something light out for you to help yourself if you'd like. None of our rooms have air intake vents in them, although some do have vents for the heat and central A/C near the ceiling. None of those vents are next to a bed and the only reason a vent would make any noise is if it was shut closed. Simply opening the vent a little would eliminate any air noise. No guest has ever washed their own bed linens or towels at our bed and breakfast. Rooms are serviced daily with clean bed linens every 2-3 days on average for longer stays.


beautifull house

4.2 on November 09, 2010

The house breathes the atmosphere of the early 20th century, quit relaxing. The service very friendly, like everything else in the house. The breakfast was exelent, just as the beds. And we enjoyed the good wifi connection.


A great place to stay in a really convenient location!

4.6 on October 18, 2010

Eric is a gracious host who warmly welcomed us into his house. The morning breakfasts were not only excellent, but the seatings around the large table in the diningroom contributed to the warm communications with the other interesting guests. Each morning, experiences from the previous day and plans for that day were discussed by all, and information shared as to what were must do's. Eric would participate giving us his local take while never missing a beat in the service of his wonderful food. The location of the Prospect Place is great for exploring not only Cambridge, but is convenient to the Boston Historic areas. We truly enjoyed our stay and will do so again when we next visit Boston.


Very Gracious Host and Home

4.8 on October 17, 2010

I felt at home and very welcomed when I first entered Prospect Place. Eric is a very gracious and kind host. While we had briefly discussed my early morning departure and he offered to carry my bag down the stairs, I was amazed that he remembered. He was aware of my coming out of my upstairs room with my suitcase and next thing I knew he was at the top of the stairs to help me. I found my room very quiet and comfortable with all the ammenities I wanted. Prospect Place is a beautiful home that has been updated in such a way that it still retains the charm and beauty of its history. As I told Eric before I left, I have found my "home" in Boston.


A great place to stay!

5 on October 08, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Prospect Place. The breakfast was delicious and elegantly served on beautiful china. The rooms and bathroom are very clean. Eric is a most gracious host and gave great directions to various places. My husband and I look forward to staying at Prospect Place again when we visit Boston. Whole Foods is located across the street.


Human beings, Comfort, And Location

5 on October 01, 2010

For a reasonable rate you get to stay in a comfortable place, in the center of Cambridge Mass, with human beings running the place. This is not a hotel where some person behind a desk greets you as they are supposed to, as taught in the training video. The hospitality is purely based on what you need. I was finished with my room by a certain time, but had other needs. My flight was that night, so I left my bags throughout the day. It rained, so I needed to shower and change. I needed to charge my devices before I left for the airport. All was 100% ok, even though my 'official' room checkout had occurred. Breakfast was excellent. Fresh fruit, yogurt with granola, eggs made to order, orange juice, tea, pastries, all were delicious. I left with a very relaxed light feeling and plenty of energy for the day. I also made a few friends around the table. The location can't be beat. A few blocks from Massechussets avenue where everything is. A convenience store nearby, Whole Foods across the street... Etc. When leaving for the airport I took one road, straight over the bridge and then the turnpike and i was there. It took about 15 minutes. Three are plenty of T stops nearby as well. I'd describe the service as exceeding all requests. If I asked for one thing, Eric offered the details that would make it even better. In a world where so many things are inhuman. Where so many people are cordial in the way they are supposed to be. This is precisely the opposite. I plan to take more trips to Boston to visit friends, specifically because this B and B was so affordable and comfortable. It is great for any short working vacation for me and helped me recharge to get back into things.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your very kind comments. It is truly a pleasure serving those who express and show their true appreciation for what we do offer. You made our day! When coming in soaked from a rain storm at the end of a day to retrieve your bags, offering you a place to shower and clean up was an opportunity to extend the same hospitality that a wonderful innkeeper in Maine gave to us a few years back. Best wishes,


Great Hospitality

3.6 on August 25, 2010

The room was lovely and comfortable. The bed was a little small but fine. Would have loved a bath in the room, but understand that not every old house can accommodate that. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed conversation with our host and the other guests.


Welcoming & convevient

4.2 on August 12, 2010

The stay at Prospect Place was very welcoming and made us feel very at home. It is walking distance from public transport (the T/bus stops) and is particularly convenient for those who want to be near Harvard or MIT. Grocery stores and coffee shops are also located on the same street.


what we were looking for

4.0 on July 08, 2010

After 3 days searching the internet for a place to stay in Boston we found prospect place. It fit the bill for just what we were looking for. Affordable price, location near a T stop, good reviews. Once we got there ,we were still happy and remained so during our stay. The rooms were clean,comfortable bed, nice bathroom, good food, Eric is a friendly and helpful host.


I love Prospect Place

4.6 on June 23, 2010

I stayed at Prospect Place every time I visited my son at Harvard over a four year period. I love the location--easy walking distance to Harvard or MIT, and just off the Central Square T stop. The house is charming, the rooms comfortable, the breakfasts simple yet wonderful, and the innkeeper is kind and generous--he made every one of my stays perfect! I will miss my visits there now that my son has graduated, but if I go back, I will stay at Prospect Place again.


Great location, very friendly, very good value

4.4 on June 14, 2010

Repeat customer. Excellent location (including Whole Foods across the street and close to the "T"), very friendly staff (thanks Eric!!), and a very good value for Boston. We've got to meet very friendly and interesting guests every time we've stayed here.


Friendly, pleasant, convenient

4.8 on April 29, 2010

A beautifully restored home well located in Cambridge. Easy walk to T stop and bus lines in Central Square. Terrific breakfast in lovely dining room. Friendly and helpful hosts. Have thoroughly enjoyed 6+ stays. You won't be dissappointed.


Superb accommodations and location!

4.4 on February 08, 2010

Very nice accommodations with modern bathroom! Very close to the T and the innkeeper was very hospitable and made our stay very enjoyable. Good breakfasts every morning in a beautiful dinning room. Would recommend highly!


An oasis from the hubbub

5 on February 04, 2010

I have just completed my 9th stay at Prospect Place. I have had the pleasure of experiencing a stay in all of the rooms offered. Each room has it's own charm. Lovely bed linens & plush towels are important to me. Prospect Place does not disappoint me in this regard. Comfortable mattresses give you a very restful night's sleep. A variety of pillows allows you to "pick your firmness." The location is superior. A short walk to excellent restaurants, shops & public transportation on Massachusetts Avenue. I always drive when working in the Boston area. Street parking is available around the corner from the B & B. (Read the parking signs carefully.) Don't miss breakfast! Always a bowl of fresh melon & berries & exceptional fresh baked goodies & bread from the bakery 4 doors down the street. Eggs any way you prefer, yogurt & fresh made granola round out the menu. Juice & your choice of coffee & various teas are also served. I have always found the entire house to be extremely clean & the service to be superior. It is always a pleasure to stay here!


Princess finds no pea under Mattress

5 on December 30, 2009

Granted, I stayed in "Florence", which is almost the size of my entire apartment in LA, so my pleasure at the size and luxury of the room may be somewhat rose colored. But also, Eric was lovely, his homemade granola could make me fat in no time...and Whole Foods is across the street. Because my son's in school, I visit Cambridge a lot, and this was the best place I've stayed.


A disappointment

2.0 on December 13, 2009

We arrived to find the room tiny with no closets or drawers in which to put our clothes. We would have to live out of our suitcases for an extended stay, and there wasn't even anyplace to put the suitcases. The toilet was totally not functioning, which our host was apparently not aware of. He said he wasn't sure he'd be able to get the plumber there until the next day because he was off working somewhere else. We found another place to stay and explained it to our host. I probably would not have bothered to write this review except that when we got our charge card statement we found that we were charged $160, even though we didn't stay there.

Innkeeper Response
We are very sorry that you did not find the particular room you had reserved with us to your liking. While the Madeline Room is not large, nor does it say that in the room description on our website, it is a favorite of many guests with the generous shower and beautiful bathroom area. There are two good sized drawers in the dresser/vanity for clothes and we would have been happy to store suitcases in another area for you if you had asked us. After carrying your luggage up to your room and helping to get the car parked in a good spot, we were disheartened to learn that the toilet was not flushing and quickly determined that the fill valve had apparently just broken and needed to be replaced. We did reach our plumber, who left the major construction he was in the middle of, and was here within an hour installing a new valve upon your return from taking a walk. We would have offered you the possibility of exchanging for another room with a guest who was not arriving until late evening, but you made it clear you had made other arrangements and wanted to leave since the room was not what you had expected. We do regret that you were not aware of our cancellation policy. We do try to be clear about that on the online reservations page of our website. There is a cancellation charge plus a charge for one night for late notice cancellations.


Great place, nice hosts, convenient neadby facilities¿

4.8 on November 26, 2009

Thoughtful canopy on a quiet street, warm welcome in the chilling winds, ancient decorations in the beautiful house, together with the meticulous concerns in the hosts' tender hearts, build up a genial home far away from my own home. I enjoyed their harmonious family member relationships, drinking in their whispers from everyone's soul. Surely I am willing to stay with them again and again if I have chances to come to Cambridge in the future.


best B&b in cambridge. pat & mary anne from sydney australia

4.4 on July 24, 2009

Pat and Mary Anne from Sydney Australia stayed at Prospect Place for 7 days. We loved it immediately and had the best time staying there. The accommodation was Victorian old world decpr and the breakfast was fresh, delicious and we met so many interesting people from all over the world and would chat to them over breakfast. The innkeeper and his wife were so sweet and kind to us. We would highly recommend this B & B and will stay there next time we come to Boston for a holiday. We wish Eric and Judy happy days in the future for making our stay so memorable. Pat and Mary Anne Sydney Australia


super duper

4.2 on June 01, 2009

gee whiz gang, what a swell B&B!


romantic place to stay

4.6 on April 12, 2009

I intended anyway to write a proper thank-you /bread-and-butter note for such a wonderful cultural feast morning-noon-and-night! My husband was overjoyed by the pianos and the scones and fellow guests --I reveled in it all, living past-present-future all in one space capsule-- As for the almond pastries from the bakery a couple of doors away, and the French toast--a rare treat--And I don't normally drink coffee but enjoyed it thoroughly-- And the tea set out of Grandmama's cupboard--and polished (mine, inherited, I pass off as Early American pewter)-- And it was wonderful having you not only chauffeur/escort us to Pickman Hall, but you as a fellow musician able to share our joy from inside out -- And so much work for you, focusing on all the details from ironed sheets to lace tablecloths--and I thank you for letting me sit at the dining table off hours and work.


wonderful experience

4.0 on April 12, 2009

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed your great b&b. With those two pianos, all the art works and the violin and violin stand, it was like walking into a grand home maybe a century ago. And I must admit I don't normally get treated to such super breakfasts. The conversation was the jam on the scones.


A B&B dream come true!

5 on April 05, 2009

I traveled from Los Angeles and hadn't been to Boston since I was a teenager. The rates were the best I could find, and my room was amazing! This house is well maintained, central to everything, and the metro is right down the street--the neighborhood is safe to walk at night, and there is a whole foods across the street! This B&B is a dream come true! And I haven't even described how kind and helpful Eric and his wife were in helping me navigate Boston--plus included in the breakfast are eggs in addition to fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, etc..I have already reserved a room for my next trip! I may never stay anywhere else in Boston!


My favorite B&B

5 on March 18, 2009

This is now my second visit at Prospect Place. Eric is welcoming and helpful. I have had the same room both times. It looks out on the garden in back. It is absolutely the best location for me when I am visiting my family in Cambridge. I can park my car(with a parking pass) and walk anywhere. And...I save money over other hotels that I have previously stayed(Doubletree, MIT,etc). This is my choice of place to stay at in the future. Great coffee in the morning! Wonderful artwork on the walls by Eric's father.


"Perfect"

5 on February 28, 2009

We are two middle aged high school classmates who traveled to Boston to re-connect with and watch another classmate perform with the BSO. The location was perfect (in walking distance to the Subway). Eric was very helpful with directions and sites. Breakfast was delicious (especially the homemade granola), the beds were comfortable, and the facilities were very clean. On the plane going home, we recommended this gem to a gentleman who travels to the Boston area frequently on business.


Welcoming, comfortable, convenient

4.4 on November 10, 2008

Eric runs a truly outstanding B&B--a comfortable, fun, refreshing place to stay that is also very conveniently located. Eric and his wife were both extremely helpful with information and advice about things to do (including how to get reasonably priced same-day Red Sox playoff game tickets!) and places to eat based on what we told them of our preferences. This was our first visit to Prospect Place but it won't be our last!


Affordable Romantic Getaway

5 on November 07, 2008

My boyfriend and I were visiting the Boston area to check out the universities as we're both looking at graduate schools. We got a great deal at Prospect Place and the stay was wonderful. Breakfasts were served on Victorian china and there were fluffy towels in the bathroom. Eric was a wonderful host and made sure that we had everything we needed. The B&B is in a fantastic location; right across the street is a Whole Foods and a few blocks away there's a T stop. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a special stay in Cambridge.


Great stay in a great location

4.8 on October 30, 2008

After being on the road for several weeks and staying at the usual ho-hum chain hotels, what a treat it was to find ourselves at Prospect Place! Eric was very helpful in helping us first time visitors to the Boston area, find our way around. The subway and bus lines are close and convenient. The home cooked breakfast shared with other guests also added to the positive experience. The Charles Suite was spacious and comfortable - although there was some creaking from footfall from above. There was no TV in the suite but we were for the most part too exhausted to have watched anyway.


Great Value in the Heart of Cambridge

4.8 on August 30, 2008

My wife and I were fortunate to find such a geat host and B&B right in the heart of Cambridge and recommend it to any travellers


great visit

4.4 on August 13, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B. Very close to both Harvard Square, MIT and bridges over to Boston. Clean, comfy with an excellent breakfast offering.


Prospect for Pleasureable Stay

4.2 on July 08, 2008

A step off the busy streets of Cambridge, through the heavy hardwood doors was a pleasant and surprising step into Victorian grace. the lovely dining room set with an elegance of China was welcoming. The atmosphere was calming and accommodations more than comfortable.


First Trip to Boston

4.8 on June 29, 2008

Great location. Clean and quiet - beautiful old house. We really enjoyed the personal touch from the owner. We loved the breakfasts - cooked and served by the owner with a wonderful chance to meet the other guests, all very interesting people. He went out of his way to help us. Many thanks!


Great Stay

5 on May 21, 2008

The owner was very kind and helpful in giving suggestions to make our stay in Boston memorable. Location of B&B was wonderful. Close to subway line and many good restaurants to choose from in the area.


Great place to stay!

5 on April 25, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at Prospect Place. It's everything you want in a B&B and it's in walking distance to Harvard Square. Great value!


Prospect Place.

3.6 on November 29, 2007

Great place, convienant, very comfortable - will be back.


Pleasant & Comfortable

4.2 on September 14, 2007

This well located, clean and tidy B&B offers comfortable surroundings and large accommodations for a fraction of the cost of hotels in the area. Breakfast is cooked and served by the owner with cereal, fresh cut seasonal fruit, pastries, eggs and french toast being some of the offerings made available to us during our 4 day stay. The shared hallway bathroom was delightful with strong water pressure and good hot water. I had a bit of an issue with the ancient bed in the Florence suite which woke me up occasionally when I rolled over but the mattress was really comfortable. I also would have liked access to my own coffee maker because it felt too intrusive to use the kitchen. But, there is a WholeFoods right across the road with coffee and all drinks and food available. The TV had limited stations but considering we didn't come home until late this wasn't a problem. Overall this was a wonderful place to stay and it was lovely to come home to a room with plenty of character, charm and space.


Prospect Place

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6178647500
  • Fax 1-6175761159
  • Toll free 1-8007695303

Visit Website »

View details

Top