Gray House Cambridge Accommodations Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.1
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Excellent accomodations!

4.8 on June 29, 2014

I attended a conference at Harvard Law School. The conference hotels were $100/night more expensive than my apartment at Gray House, and they offered less. I had a comfortable bed in its own bedroom, full kitchen, a desk with work area, and a living room. The internet was even more reliable than Harvard's. It was fantastic. The only thing that could improve the room itself would be to put the TV in the living area instead of the bedroom. My one complaint is that other tenants below me had a get together outside on my last night. It got a bit loud and lasted until 1 or 2 am. I finally had to turn on the AC unit just to drown them out. I wish the innkeeper would have said something to them.


Lovely B+B in Cambridge

4.4 on November 17, 2013

Lovely sun-filled accommodation near Porter Square. Close to public transport, safe + quiet surrounds at night time. Some construction work during the week days, starting reasonably early, but as I was up and about for work this was not a problem for me. Lovely generous host who will do everything she can to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable! A lovely place to come home to each day, I only wish I could have spent more time at home enjoying the light, airy apartment.


Comfortable, Convenient, Affordable, Attractive

4.0 on November 07, 2013

Positives: very clean and attractive room; close to mass transit and Harvard Square; quiet area; great sun with trees outside of windows; friendly host; great value. Negatives: a little noise from foot traffic on stairs; room a little on the small side; no breakfast provided. But notice that the negatives are minor ones. I did not expect breakfast.


Be sure to take a yoga class

4.4 on October 29, 2013

We would definitely stay here again due to the great yoga classes offered, convenient location, and cleanliness.


We enjoyed staying at the 5 Frost St.

4.0 on October 22, 2013

We stayed at this place last week. I was little concerned reading a recent review on Trip Adviser. However, pleasantly found out all the concerns were addressed adequately. You can't beat the location considering the rent. The place is very close to Porter Square. A shopping area is near by, within 5 mins walking distance. They have coffee shop, sandwich places, pharmacy and a Shaws (super market) in there. There are so many restaurants on Mass Ave. to chose from. A liquor store and another supermarket (on Beacon St.), a nice play ground for kids (on Oxford St) are all within walking distance. Harvard Sq. is also not that far. The apt. (unit# 3) was in the 3rd floor. The staircase from 2nd to 3rd is a narrow one but it was really not a big deal considering that I'm 7 month pregnant. the unit itself was very clean, has everything essential for a small family (remember you are not renting a resort). The flat screen TV with cable was nice. We could watch some of the Red Sox playoff games at home. The apt was very quiet. We never heard anybody else...or no disturbance from the yoga class if it was going on. The biggest advantage was to have an assigned parking spot. I used to live in Boston for many years. I know how difficult and expensive it is to find parking in that area. So we were very happy. Only thing bothered us little bit was the wifi connection. It never really worked. We solely depended on our 3G/4G network. But it wasn't a big deal for us either. Renting through the agency was also totally painless. We reached the place after 10 PM. Tenji was waiting there for us to hand over the apt. He also responded to all my calls prior to arriving and also during the stay (as I could not initially find the hair dryer- by the way, there's a plug next to the mirror in the bathroom for electric equipment). We will definitely stay here next time if it is available.


Aptm 3 wonderful but could be cleaner

3.0 on October 17, 2013

I agree with the reviews. Really ideal location, very reasonable price and the parking great. Lots of like home conveniences and the coin op laundry was a big plus. A few things that nobody else addressed, the stairway is a bit steep and narrow but fine if you are careful. We did have to put a tablecloth over the bedroom window, the curtains did not darken the room at all. I also had to put the bevel edged floor mirror in the closet because it had chips out of it and I didn't want my toddler to get hurt. Lastly the cleanliness could have been better... there were details that I felt were overlooked. I felt I had more cleaning to do before I was comfortable than I really should have. Also, there were no paper towels but there was a note saying to please wipe up any spills or messes.... there is a Walgreens nearby so I just picked up some cleaning supplies. The apartment itself is really very nice, interesting angles, great natural light, lots of character... if the place were a little cleaner, the stay would have been just wonderful.


Small but good

4.2 on October 09, 2013

Our room was small for two people but it was clean and tidy and suited our needs. We were walking distance to everything so the location was fantastic and definitely worth the money. We also had wifi and cable (which I didn't expect). The only negative was that at times it was a little loud because we could hear people talking or walking up and down the stairs since it is part of a wellness center. Other than thank I was pretty satisfied with our stay.


Quaint B&B in excellent location

3.4 on October 09, 2013

We loved this spacious apartment in a leafy and quiet location, yet well located for travel, transport and sightseeing. A delightful owner who made us very welcome. A wonderful alternative to a hotel, and cheaper too!


Characterful rental very near subway

3.2 on September 06, 2013

We stayed in the top-floor apartment at Gray House, which is an attractive clapboard building on a very quiet street. The location is excellent, just a couple of minutes walk from Porter Square subway as well as a large supermarket and several places to eat affordably. The kitchen, bedroom and bathroom are a reasonable size while the main room is spacious, although the dining table would be very small for 4 people (we were 3). There's also access to a small roof-top deck and a washing machine and tumble-dryer in the basement ($1.50 each). Since the apartment is directly under the roof it can get quite warm, but the air-conditioning units are effective. The kitchen equipment is adequate for simple cooking. The art objects in the apartment are varied and interesting and give it a lot of character. We'd certainly stay there again. PS: There isn't any dining, but the website forced me to provide a rating...


A Gem in Cambridge

4.6 on September 04, 2013

This third floor apartment is incredibly cute and comfortable. It's in the attic with sloped walls and lots of charm. The decorating is very thoughtful and well done. The back stairs over the roof and down to the parking area are a wonderful adventure- not handicapped accessible but lots of fun for the rest of us. The location is perfect for those wanting to venture in to Boston-the Porter Square station is a few blocks away or for those wanting to discover Cambridge- Harvard museums and campus is a short walk away. This is so much better than a hotel room and so much less expensive. p.s. this is an apartment not a B&B.


Convenient, easy, and comfy

4.2 on August 19, 2013

We stayed at this location for a week in August 2013. The location is incredible and makes getting around the city very easy. It only took me 40 minutes on the Red and Silver lines to get to the airport. It was very handy to have a great coffee shop, restaurants and a grocery store within two blocks. Even though the apartment was close to a lot of activity, it was nice and quiet. It's a roomy apartment and the bed was very comfortable. The building has laundry in the basement ($1.50 per wash and per dry). The wi-fi was strong and easy to use. Karin was very helpful and responded quickly to any questions we had (about parking, check out, etc). I would definitely stay there again.


Good value near Harvard

4.2 on May 03, 2013

Very pleasant apartment just two blocks from the Red Line, and a short walk to Harvard Square. Quiet location 1 block off Mass. Ave. Plus a free parking spot. Portrer Square Mall is two blocks away for food shopping, etc. And lots of restaurant options nearby. I would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful stay

4.2 on May 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Frost House and will definitely make reservations there every time we visit the Cambridge/Boston area. Thank you for a wonderful place.


visiting family in Cambridge

4.0 on November 03, 2008

The Frost House is very comfortable, perfectly located (a block from our daughter and son-in-law) and clean. We stayed in the studio room one time and that was not comfortable, but the apartments are super. The kitchen on the third floor apartment is much better equipped than the kitchen in 7A. We definitely will stay again. This past stay was our third. A great place and Karin is a wonderful host, very concerned that we are comfortable. We highly recommend this B&B.


So convenient

4.6 on June 25, 2008

My husband and I needed a place to stay for a long weekend while visiting Cambridge. I couldn't believe how easy going the B&B was! We had no problem..no noise..it was so comfortable..and very close to the T. We will definitely return to the B&B on our next visit to the city! Thanks for the great stay Karin, we really appreciate it! The Bogatays


A wonderful place to stay in Cambridge

4.4 on June 03, 2008

In pricey Cambridge, Frost House is a great inexpensive alternative place to stay. The location, two blocks south of Porter Square and 1 subway stop from Harvard Square is convenient and quiet, with many restaurants and shops within minutes. The third floor apartment is spacious, bright, neat and sunny. It is well equipped for a short or long stay. It has a separate bedroom, living room, kitchen and bath and laundry facilities in the basement. Karin is a kind and helpful hostess. There is no breakfast, but she lets you know that in advance and there are bakeries and cafes near by (as well as a full kitchen). I'd happily stay there again. It is on the third floor, so that might be a concerrn to some with bad knees.


Gray House Cambridge Accommodations

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7814495302
  • Fax 1-7814556745
  • Toll free 1-8003475088

Visit Website »

View details

Top