Pepper House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.0
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Authentic Cape Cod BnB

3.8 on September 20, 2014

The owner is a perfectly friendly and helpful host. She gives very good suggestion what to do on the Cape and is always eager to care about the guests. We enjoyed the chats with her and the other guests at the breakfast table. The room and the bathroom are very clean and decorated in an historic style. The location directly on route 6A is perfect for exploring the Cape. We enjoyed staying in the Pepper House Inn very much and we defiantly recommend that BnB.


nice location with a great host..

3.4 on August 22, 2014

We spent a couple of relaxing days there. Debby is a very helpful sympathic host. We loved to stay in her house


This Inn is great!

4.0 on October 21, 2011

The inn-keeper, Debbie, takes pride in caring for her guests. My mother and I have stayed at The Peeper House MANY times and Debbie always remembers "the little things": which room we favor; what we like for breakfast. The Inn is located in Brewster on the main drag -- walking distance to the Brewster General Store and nearby restaurants; plenty of parking. There's even a lovely deck to enjoy when the weather is good.


Lovely quiet spot on the Cape

4.4 on August 26, 2011

The Pepper House is a lovingly maintained late 18th century house furnished creatively with an eclectic mix of antiques. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. We had a the deck to ourselves for a late afternoon picnic of wine and cheese with a great view. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order by our hostess, Debby, who was so helpful about where we might kayak on the Cape. When we next visit Cape Cod this is where we shall stay!


Charming and well located

4.4 on June 15, 2011

We loved our visit over Memorial Day weekend. Debbie is charming and very knowledgeable and helpful with planning your day. The Inn is located within walking distance to the Brewster Gerneral Store! A must when on the cape and to several beaches and a hip bar. We had a fabulous time.


A lovely B&B

4.6 on October 12, 2010

This is a lovely B&B, originally built in the Federal style. It is convenient for the North Shore shops, restaurants, and beaches and only short drive to the outer Cape beaches and towns. We stayed 3 nights in September. Our room (the Cherry Room) was large, bright, and cheerful with a fireplace. Furniture in the room included a 4 poster bed, lovely bureaus and a sofa. We enjoyed a large, private bathroom with lots of towels. The B&B is well kept and very clean. The innkeeper, Debbie, is exceptionally nice and, if asked, will provide a great deal of information regarding sights, restaurants, activities, etc. Each morning she cooks a custom breakfast for each guest. Our one suggestion for her is to provide better lighting for the sign and parking area. It is difficult to find at night. Our only regret? Leaving!


Very helpful!

3.6 on August 28, 2010

My husband and I are from the UK and we were visiting the Cape for the first time with no idea of what there was to see and do. Debby's knowledge of Cape Cod is exceptional, every morning at breakfast she would advise us on what we could do, telling us the best places to go to and what to avoid, even down to the best routes to take to avoid traffic jams. Our rooms were cleaned every day providing us with fresh towels, I don't think we would have got better service if we had stayed in a hotel. Thanks Debby and family for making our stay a very pleasant one!


Down right awful

1.4 on July 28, 2010

I hold the opinion that a B&B is as good as it's host and this is exactly what made this stay so unenjoyable. From the minute we arrived two hours before the scheduled check in to inquire if we could change after our drive we were treated rudely and shown the door. We booked our room on line through Travelocity requesting a room for 2 adults and one child (B&B.com lables as child friendly) listing the age of our child. The Pepper house has rooms with a queen and one twin bed perfect for a small family like ours even though there was an extra charge for a third person. When showed up with a child we were first sized up and down in a rude manner by the owner (Debbie) and later told by her mother that the "internet, not Debbie made a mistake by accepting a child", after being read the riot act about an adult only environment and all white bed sheets we (mostly our son) were so closely watched we found avoiding going back to our room, at 200 + a night this is unacceptable. When we showed up during the breakfast hours listed on their web site (7a-9a) we were rudely told the actual hours and sent away. When coming to breakfast the next day during the hours we were informed of the day before we were rudely told she was waiting for us early and then demanded we pick a time for the next morning. Anyone with a child on vacation knows that if he or she sleeps in - you gladly let them; therefore, I was not going to wake him him to eat Cheerios with Debbie standing over his shoulder something (literally standing behind him watching him). This is not my idea of a warm friendly home environment as described on the wed site. I strongly recommend looking elsewhere if you want a relaxing home like atmosphere. Unless your definition of homelike is STRESS STRESS and more STRESS on your vacation.

Innkeeper Response
This is the type of guest that makes people stop running inns. We list on our website and on our on-line listings on Expedia & Hotels.com that we accept well behaved children over 6. She checked in with a 2 year old! She booked herself in a room with all white quilts with a 2 year old. Some people think the rules do not apply to them. We tried our best to accomodate this situation, but this woman wasn't interested if any of the other guests were inconvenienced. It is not appropriate to let a 2 year old slop his mother's coffee all over the cloth tablecloth or push his food off the plate & all around the table when you are inside in a dining room with other guests who are expecting a nice quiet bed and breakfast experience. She emailed me after her stay, and I replied back in a thoughtful manner. I suggested that in the future she contact the innkeeper in advance to discuss whether or not the inn can accomodate a toddler.


Beautiful & quiet inn

3.8 on July 11, 2010

We had a great stay in this charming inn. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful.


Pepper House

5 on November 17, 2009

Pepper House is a historical place, a 200 years old building, clean and cozy. The location is prime: closed to downtown, to restaurants, to highways, etc. This Inn is deliciously quiet, you can enjoy the get-away, and feel almost home, specially eating the home style full breakfast. Furthermore, the owner is knowledgeable regarding the Cape Cod area+ she pleasantly helps you with places you want to visit. We fully recommend the Pepper House to anyone, and yes, we will visit again. Ronaldo & Renata


a wonderful inn

4.0 on June 25, 2009

Debbie was a fantastic hostess, the breakfasts were amazinf and tge atmosphere was a true New England feel. The rooms were charming, and we felt that we had the house to ourselves with little elves cleaning up after us. We will definately go back. Thanks, Debbie. Joanie and Jim Neviackas


very elegant and quaint B & B

5 on June 04, 2009

We had a great stay at the Pepper House Inn. The rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was great! we really enjoyed the location too. I would def. recommend this place if you are looking to get away from the typical hotel routine.


Not the Best

2.4 on December 30, 2008

Overall, the room was nice - clean, good bedding, average bathroom, good working TV, nice furniture. Overall, would say it is quiet but is on a main street. Breakfast was good - room you eat in is very small. We asked for bacon - told they had no meat (forgot to buy it or something). Common rooms below average - small and cluttered and a bit musty. Some stringent rules about where you could go - no coffee in room which seemed weird. We have been to friendlier places. Unlikely I would go back as I have extensive B&B experience and this is in the bottom 10%.


Recommend a stay

4.0 on September 19, 2008

It's a lovely inn with very comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, and a friendly family who guide you to the best places. It was beautiful, relaxing, and close to everything. I highly recommend staying there.


Very good place to stay

3.4 on August 19, 2008

First time there and i'll return! Very clean, pretty, good services and located in a beautiful city in the middle of Cape Cod. Recommanded!


Second Chance

4.2 on July 29, 2008

Debbie was good enough to allow my wife and I to rebook our stay as I had arrived to her B&B very ill. She held our reservation open - not something most inn keepers do. The breakfasts and well worth waking up for. Deb's mom and her have great knowledge of things to do in the area. The rooms are historic and comfortable.


Charming and wonderful innkeepers

4.0 on June 21, 2008

We just stayed at the Pepper House Inn and had a very good experience. The rooms are lovely and the beds excellent. For those who understand the B & B concept, you will not be disappointed. This is a family operation and they aim to please.l


absolutely charming

5 on June 17, 2008

This year is our second year my husband and I stayed at the Pepper House, and we will continue to come back for every year for our annual Cape Cod trip. Debby, Bill, and Bea were so hospitable. Everything abou the inn was old world and very charming!


Lovely place to stay

4.0 on May 04, 2008

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Pepper House Inn. The breakfasts were outstanding! Our room was very cozy and it was very easy for us to feel right at home. I would recommend this B&B to anyone interested in staying in the Cape Cod area.


Our stay at the Pepper House Inn

4.8 on September 14, 2007

We were visiting Brewster for a wedding qver a weekend in September. We enjoyed our stay at the Pepper House--the rooms were delightful, the service exceptional and the breadfasts were wonderful. We ate outside on the patio and enjoyed the food and the atmosphere as well.


Pepper House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $200
  • Reviews (20) 4.0
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5088962062
  • Fax 1-5088962061
  • Toll free 1-8888962062

Visit Website »

View details

Top