Nolan House Reviews

Overall
3.8

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Services3.7
  • Value3.7
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
9 Reviews

Write A Review

Nolan House Fall 2012 Visit

4.6 on June 02, 2013

We stay at the Nolan house in the fall of 2012. The Inn Keeper was extremely personable and provide us with tips on the best way to travel the city and suggested local restaurant to dine at our first evening. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean. Breakfast consisted of assorted cereal and yogurt, fresh baked pastries and cakes, eggs and freshly brewed coffee and tea. The level of service provided was above and beyond expectations.


Charming B & B

4.0 on October 29, 2011

A Very quaint and charming place to stay. Innkeeper was very helpful in sending us on a wonderful sight seeing trip into Boston. Enjoyed our stay very much, hope to go back soon!


From two Australians

5 on July 03, 2011

John and Kathryn made our stay in Boston just fantastic. Kathryn was ill but John did a fantastic job breakfast was wholesome and beautifully presented and kept us going all day. He delivered us our night time cuppa. Nothing was too much trouble the room and house was a taste of history and John's knowlege was such a great help for two aussie's first time visit. Thankyou for taking us into your home.


Disapointing

1.8 on August 23, 2010

This is the first bed and breakfast that I have stayed at that I felt like I was imposing. Set up of the rooms was less than ideal. No where to hang out. No offer to sit in the famiy room and every time I turned around there was a closed sign on the dining room. I never found out when the cookies were available, The breakfast was just ok, No real effort to make a special meal. Only the toast and coffee were hot. No eggs, french toast or any of those special items normally offered at bed and breakfast's. Stayed August 2010


everything absolutely OK with Nolan House

4.0 on August 08, 2009

I found the house a perfect location for a visit to Boston: easy to reach, located close to the city center: very comfortable, nice atmosphere, beautiful rooms, quiet sorroundings, excellent cleanliness, rich breakfast and interesting morning conversations with mr. and mrs. nolan (very important for an european willing to learn more about u.s.a.); also, the owners helped us a lot to find subsequent accomodation for the continuation of our journey.


AVOID!

1.4 on June 09, 2009

It is not a place where you feel welcome and at home at all. The owners are just interested in money and they let you know about it in a very direct and terribly rude manner. Much too expensive for a crumbling house (do not consider the photo!) and a poor breakfast (you have the impression everything you put in your mouth is counted). On top of that it is far away from the center (20 minutes walking from the nearest metro station, Broadway). The bus that brings you to the metro station does not pass that frequently. In a word: AVOID!


Never judge a book (or house in this case) by its cover

4.2 on May 19, 2008

It was very easy to arrive at Nolan House by taxi from the train station. However, the suspense dawned on us when we were unable to single out the house due to inconspicuous signage and perhaps due to the facade of the house (which, John & Kathy - please excuse us for writing this, may need a little make-over such as re-painting). However, as soon as we entered, it was a beautifully set-up house with lots of wonderful memories from the family pictures, nice and sturdy wooden furniture some of which are passed down from generations, a huge collection of bears (Kathy's hobby), country-styled room with large and comfortable bed, etc. John who is really helpful and nice, offered to carry our luggage up three floors upon arrival and did not forget that we might need his help on our way out (but we didn't trouble him as we came up with a strategy for that). Kathy was also helpful in giving us tips on getting around the city. Overall, Nolan House exceeded our expectations - it is comfortable, clean, at a friendly and safe residential location (being away from the city center yet within proximity) and friendly owners who were willing to get up before 7am to prepare breakfast and book taxi for us as we were leaving Boston early morning. The only and minor “discomfort” that we experienced was the squeaky sound that our shoes (note: not us!) created from landing on the flooring whenever we walked in the bedroom. But this is definitely bearable as often, we were tired and it was bed time by then. In essence, don't judge a book or house by its cover when you're near it. Feel and experience it, and you will have different perspective. Thanks John and Kathy for your hospitality, we enjoyed our stay.


A true Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on September 10, 2007

Our stay was for the AARP Convention... Walking distance to the Convention Center was pleasant stroll through South Boston. The Edwardian Room was very neat and comfortable with a separate 3/4 bath. Breakfast was very good and more than a business breakfast. We needed an early breakfast which was brown bagged for us with yogart, fruit, granola bar and juice. We pick-up a coffee later. Mr. & Mrs. Nolan were a true delight. I recommend this establishment very highly. We hope to come back soon. We had dinner around the corner at the Junction recommended by the Nolans. It is a must try. Several Mom and Pop restaurants in the area. Mark this is your book for a future stay. Remember this is a neighborhood in transition you really want to be a part of this transformation.


Really a home away from home!

5 on May 10, 2007

We stayed in Nolan House for 6 days in April 2007. It is located a quite and safe, neighborhood in South Boston and 10 minutes to the Broadway Red Line Station by walk. It’s also very near to the beach and Dorchester Heights monument. The house is very clean and comfortable. There are TVs with VHS players in every room and you can watch movies from the Nolan collection including box office hits. The breakfast is served at 8.30 and is very delicious. The house is run by Kathy and John Nolan, who are very kind and friendly people with funny stories! You can spend hours after breakfast by just listening to them! We enjoyed our time in Nolan House very much; it was one of the best places we stayed, really a home away from home!


Nolan House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6172691550
  • Toll free 1-8003831550

Visit Website »

View details

Top