Carruth House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful stay

3.2 on November 30, 2009

I stayed 2 nights in October 2009 and had a wonderful stay. Heidi was lovely and friendly. The house was beautiful and a nice place to stay. My room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable. It was a little out of Boston but a easy walk to the train station and a 10 minute ride into Boston.


November stay

4.6 on March 01, 2009

A truly lovely house run by a truly lovely host. Heidi was very helpful with planning our outings in Boston, and she has an extensive library of books, maps and brochures that she makes available to all of her guests. Be sure to spend some time in the Great Room!


A lovely house and an even more lovely Innkeeper !

4.4 on February 10, 2009

We travelled as a couple to Boston in Sept.2008 and stayed for two nights. The Carruth House is absolutely beautiful and easy to reach ! The house has got an atmosphere that makes you not wanting to leave. Heidi - you have been a wonderful host !! we miss your French toast - the best in the world !!! We recommended you to a bunch of friends, a group wants to visit Boston in Sept.09 and would love to stay at your house !! We wish you only the best - and will return !!!


Great stay at Carruth House!

4.4 on October 28, 2008

A great historic home, about :11 walk from Ashmont T station (subway, red line, south of downtown). Heidi is a great host and this house (and n'hood) have GREAT history. A warning: The reason the rates are so very, very low is that the house is under renovation. Everything works but the bathroom is under remodeling. Our bedroom and adjacent sitting area are finished and lovely, and the drawing room (gorgeous paneling and overhead beams--a real treasure) is original and doesn't need work. Another warning if you happen to come from a Caucasian-centric environment: This immediate n'hood is white gentry, but it's much more ethnically diverse at Ashmont. But we felt it was safe to walk there and to ride the train. So, go for the value and good food and history, and don't complain! You've been fully informed! KLE, Portland OR


Great place to stay in Boston

5 on October 21, 2008

We recently stayed three nights at the Carruth House in Boston! It was an easy walk to the subway which made renting a car unnecessary. Breakfast was great each morning and our hostess, Heidi, supplied everything we needed. While she made it clear to us before we came that the house is a work in progress, nothing we needed was unavailable and the things she was working on were unobtrusive. We had a comfortable and fun stay and met people from all over the world while there!


October stay

3.6 on October 11, 2008

My family and I recently stayed with Heidi at Carruth House and had a wonderful time - a true B&B experience. It's located within walking distance of restaurants and the "T". Heidi and her family were warm and welcoming. The house itself is a "work in progress" and there is still a lot of renovating yet to do - but I highly recommend staying at Carruth House.


A super experience

4.4 on July 28, 2008

Being in Carruth House is like being in a friendly family with Heidi looking for everything. We were very pleased by our stay and it played a premium role in our Boston experience. Thank you Heidi. Ronald, Suzanne and Justine.


Warm, Friendly, Comfortable

4.8 on June 29, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at Carruth house and would gladly stay there again.


CARRUTH HOUSE IS GOOD

4.0 on May 20, 2008

GOOD.


Small room here is among the least expensive in Boston!

3.6 on May 14, 2008

Positives: Heidi is a very hospitable and nice hostess. The breakfast was absolutely great, with croissants, different breads and jams, honey, butter, yogurt, cream cheese, real cheese, fruits, tea, coffee and whatnot! Criticisms: The bed mattress was a little uncomfortable (felt like a futon and was squeaking on every movement). The room temperature was not stable (getting too warm when the hot air was blowing, and then cooling down).


Excellent B&B

5 on December 30, 2007

Lovely House, very cosy and welcoming atmosphere, house owner is nice, helpful and always friendly - I only can recommend a stay


What a great experience!

5 on October 22, 2007

My mom and I recently spent six days at the Carruth House in the Amelia Room. Heidi was so welcoming and helpful, and by the end of the stay we felt like Heidi was a dear friend. Our room was darling, clean, comfortable, and charming. On the third floor we had a nice sitting area with a television, computer, and telephone. Breakfast and the coffee were delicious, and we had several options to choose from every morning...yogurt, fruit, toast, muffins, and croissants. We so enjoyed the beautiful neighborhood and the easy walk to the T. All in all, it was a wonderful stay, and we'd be thrilled to visit the Carruth House and our friend Heidi again.


Great Home Away from Home

5 on August 04, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights and felt like we were in our own home. Heidi is a wonderful host. Unfortunately for her, her dogs have gone to Doggy Heaven, so there are no longer any dogs in residence. Heidi will be part of our family as long as she owns the Carruth House for all of us to come and visit.


Carruth House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $145
  • Reviews (13) 4.4
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6174368260
  • Toll free 1-8888388900
Top