Recent Reviews in Maryville, Tennessee

Anniversary Trip to Butterfly Gap at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2016

We had an amazing stay for our anniversary weekend. There are many options of activities to do onsite (hiking, fishing, swimming, kayaking or paddleboarding-if you bring your own) or other outdoor activities not too far away offsite. We chose to only leave the retreat once for dinner and to stay there the rest of the time. We brought in our own food to prepare for lunches and dinner, but the breakfast provided by the staff is amazing. It is definitely one of the best parts of the stay, and is usually large enough to be your breakfast and lunch! We will definitely be back for another special weekend!

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden gem at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

4.6 reviewed on July 16, 2016

So peaceful and relaxing. Nice accommodations and amazing breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous! at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

The perfect place for rest and relaxation. The owners are so sweet and the breakfast is great. I plan on going back at least twice a year.

View more reviews for this inn


Trust me, Butterfly Gap Retreat is worth it. at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

4.6 reviewed on July 12, 2016

My wife and I have been staying in bed and breakfast for about 10 years. We have stayed in North Carolina Virginia Tennessee in Charleston South Carolina. Butterfly get retreat just went to the top.

View more reviews for this inn


Best little romantic getaway!! at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2016

This is the place to go if you ever want to get away, to disconnect and reconnect!! Total privacy and seclusion! No wifi or cell service!! We stayed in the tree house for our anniversary and it was just perfect!!! The views were gorgeous. We napped in a hammock, showered outside, had the most delicious homemade breakfast delivered to us every morning. And homemade ice cream waiting for us when we arrived. The host were extremely nice and helpful!! Will most definitely come back.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden gem at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

4.8 reviewed on July 05, 2016

This place is a hidden gem.It is so peaceful and relaxing. The food is amazing

View more reviews for this inn


Butterfly gap anniversary get away at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

4.8 reviewed on June 30, 2016

Butterfly will be a staple in our getaways. We needed a place that we could reconnect with each other and disconnect with the outside world. If you are a lover of small things, this is a place for you. From the home made pint of ice cream waiting on you in the freezer, to the to-die for breakfasts that are delivered to your bungalow each morning, to the seating at the top of the mountain so you can watch the sun set. We already have reservations in January for my birthday. The owners are so nice and genuinely kind. You won't regret this trip!

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite B&B at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

4.6 reviewed on June 27, 2016

This is our second visit to Butterfly Gap. It is THE place to go to get away from the world for a bit and relax. The breakfasts are superb...always beyond satisfied with the variety. The rooms/spaces are one of a kind and so private. This time around wasn't as clean as I'd like (I'm probably pickier than most as far as that goes). The owners/staff are so friendly, but not intrusive in any way. Love this place....absolutely beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and relaxing at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

4.6 reviewed on June 20, 2016

This was a lovely anniversary get away. Gorgeous property and cabins that are truly private. Huge tasty breakfast in the morning. They even got turkey bacon for us since we don't eat pork. Staff was so nice. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Blissful Relaxation at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

4.8 reviewed on June 19, 2016

Perfect stillness and comfort. Complete privacy while surrounded by nature's beauty! Loved every second!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend getaway. at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

4.8 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Beautiful place. Friendly staff. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Full moon weekend at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

Outstanding place.. Will be back! Hidden gem... Amazing service by owners.. Don't miss it:))))

View more reviews for this inn


Smokies Best Kept Secret at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on May 12, 2016

15th Wedding Anniversary trip and our second time at Butterfly Gap. What an amazing place; nothing can be improved upon. The ladies make you feel like part of the their family and Maryville makes you feel like part of their town. But it's close enough to the Park, Townsend, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg if you want to get a way for a few hours. The breakfast delivered every morning is wonderful and there is always enough leftover for later for a late night snack. If you need a place to unwind and reconnect, make Butterfly Gap your next destination.

View more reviews for this inn


Best kept secret at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for a short getaway. It was just what we needed to disconnect from everything and reconnect to each other. The space was fantastic and food was amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing getaway in our own backyard at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2016

We are locals and are so thankful we have Butterfly Gap Retreat right in our backyard! This is an amazing place with fantastic owners who go the extra mile to make sure your stay is superb. Our last stay was at the end of March, before the leaves were on the trees. That gave us a chance to see some of the other cabins that we had not seen before. We stayed in unit 142, the Glass House, our second time there. This is exactly what it sounds like - a round house with floor to ceiling windows all the way around. Even without the leaves, it is so secluded, you have no concerns over privacy. It is a great place to kick back and just take in nature. We had a wild turkey walk right up to the bedroom windows. Everything was great about this stay. The only possible negative was that there was smoke in the area from a controlled burn in Cades Cove. I personally, love that smell, so it didn't bother me. As others have noted, the breakfasts are huge and decadent. Plan on a nap if you eat it all! We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best! at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on April 13, 2016

Great getaway. Quiet, clean, cool cabins, delicious breakfasts, relaxing. It's the best. We have been for 5 years in a row. You won't regret it. Try the treehouse! Love all the decks!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Honeymoon was Perfect! at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on April 05, 2016

My husband and I booked a few days at Butterfly Gap for our Honeymoon in August and it was exactly what you see in the pictures, only better! It is the perfect romantic getaway, secluded and serene. The breakfast is fabulous and it was all we could do to eat it all each morning! The owners are so helpful and extremely pleasant. The cabins and surrounding are literally like something out of a story book. We enjoyed the paddle boards on the lake and hiking the property, I would definitely recommend the lookout at sunset. We can't wait to go back for our anniversary!

View more reviews for this inn


Sleeping in the trees at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on April 05, 2016

Today is our one year anniversary and I can't help but think back with nothing but smiles. We had our wedding onsite, and it was the most beautiful day and so much more than we could have imagined. We stayed the night in the Treehouse and were blown away! Such a wonderful room and the breakfast was delish! Have I mentioned how amazing the family is that runs this gorgeous property? Those ladies rock! Seriously, such a gem of a place to make memories! ¿¿¿¿¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Butterfly Gap - Amazing!! at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2016

Butterfly Gap is more than a Bed and Breakfast. It is a unique, secluded mountain retreat. While most Bed and Breakfast venues provide a single dwelling for their guests with multiple rooms, this property provides 7 individual houses...each with a different view, theme and distinctive personality. And each of the houses is set on 5 private acres giving you privacy while still providing accessibility. The breakfast is beyond what is served in most 5 star hotels. Every morning's offering is different and served directly to your doorstep at your designated time. But the most important offering at this retreat are the owners. Their graciousness and attention to detail is what sets Butterful Gap Retreat apart from any other bed and breakfast. While I would like to keep this little secret gem to myself, do yourself a favor and try a week or weekend at Butterfly Gap. Your first visit will not be your last!

View more reviews for this inn


Love Butterfly Gap at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on April 03, 2016

We have visited Butterfly Gap for the last 5 or 6 years. The cabins are charming, the breakfasts are delicious and it is so peaceful! The owners are delightful. We will return again next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Best place ever at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on April 03, 2016

My husband and I were needing a short getaway for just the two of us. When I happened upon this while doing research, I knew it would be the perfect place....and it was. From the moment we arrived to the serene setting to the best breakfast brought to our door, we couldn't have been more pleased. They are so nice and accommodating to anything we needed. We can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Treehouse Getaway at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2016

We stayed in the Treehouse at BGR, and it was amazing! Waking up in the woods is a treat and the breakfast was delicious! We had a wonderful and relaxing stay.

View more reviews for this inn


FANTASTIC RETREAT at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2016

My wife and I try to escape to this wonderful place as often as possible. We have stayed in three of the cottages and have never been disappointed. We simply love this place and adore Laura and Becky. This place is truly a retreat and an escape from our "connected" society. If you need high speed internet and 4G phone service to stay connected, then this is not the place for you. If you want a place to escape with your significant other, I cannot think of a better place to do it.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on February 29, 2016

Truly a hidden gem in the Maryville area! If you haven't been, you have to experience this property.

View more reviews for this inn


Butterfly Gap at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2016

Brooke

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2016

Just what we needed for a weekend getaway. These guys do it right!! Have been to several retreat spots across the country and this place is leaps and bounds better than places twice the cost. If you are looking for a private and relaxing weekend then this is your place. Pre order extra ice cream...... trust me.......

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2016

The Butterfly Gap a Retreat is absolutely excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Doing it right at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on January 24, 2016

The staff at Butterfly Gap have excelled in all aspects. The design/style of each cottage; the layout of the premises; the breakfast (wow!); the friendliness; the seclusion; the amenities.... I have no suggestions for improvement! Perfect relaxing getaway weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous getaway at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on January 17, 2016

We booked Butterfly Gap as a last-minute winter getaway, based on a Southerb Living online review and pictures on the website. It far exceeded our expectations and we have already booked another trip for our anniversary in March. The cabin was perfect, the owners were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were delicious and hearty. One morning included cinnamon rolls just like my Grandma used to make and though I've been sugar-free for months I ate mine and my husband's! Cannot wait to go back to BGR and will return often. Perfect Getaway locale!

View more reviews for this inn


Treehouse 134 Will Probably Always Be Our Favorite!! at Butterfly Gap Retreat (Maryville, Tennessee)

5 reviewed on December 26, 2015

This was our second stay at BGR, first time stayed in guesthouse 320 (also awesome), this time stayed in the treehouse 134. The treehouse will probably always be our favorite, but we plan to try some other guesthouses! We were there in the fall, so the leaves were on the trees for more privacy and they were beautiful in color. The treehouse is so modern (like the others) and unique with it's different levels and multiple outdoor spaces. It was so awesome to wake up feeling like we were in the trees! The breakfasts were again so amazing, for us there was enough left over for lunch. Suggest bringing paper plates and a couple over-the-door hooks. This guesthouse doesn't have a dishwasher or a guest closet for clothes, but these were only minor inconveniences. The kitchen and living room areas are on the first level, then you go up 6 steps to the bathroom area, then up 11 more steps to the bedroom. Small lighting illuminates these steps at night. There are additional exterior steps from this point going up to the screened-in covered deck that includes a hammock! We also enjoyed hiking the trails and driving up to the overlook. This will probably always be our favorite bed and breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Butterfly Gap Retreat (4.87)
  2. Chilhowee Inn (4.53)
Top
}