Wades Point Inn On The Bay Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.1
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Great place (as long as nothing happens to you) ...

1.8 on December 03, 2014

Although the view is amazing and the (senior) lady/hostess is a wonderful person who's very thoughtful and welcoming, I can't be positive. The main home is wonderful to look at and the interior has many great details. I was staying on my own in an older room that needed renovation. Unfortunately I had an accident and fell when I left the (leaking) shower. The reason I can't be positive, to my regret, is that the daughter of the older lady didn't offer me any help when I needed to get to a doctor. She runs the business and just assumed I was able to drive myself. Very dissapointing and unprofessional.


relaxing 2 day stay

4.6 on October 01, 2013

What a beautiful and relaxing place on the water. 5 miles from St. Michaels. Took a walk, road a bike, paddled a kayak, took a nap in a hammock. A wonderful place to relax and refresh one's soul and spirit. Wonderful for a getaway, a reunion or even a wedding since they have 26 rooms and 120 acres (they had a wedding the day after I left). Great B&B - I would know -- since I own one. Thanks Karen at Streams & Dreams : )


Wonderful Weekend

5 on August 05, 2013

This is a great B and B. My wife and I have stayed here several times and like the Bay view, beautiful mansion and miles of biking on the wide berm roads. There are large spaces for lounging inside and out. The breakfast is the best. Looking forward to returning


Mom's Getaway Weekend

4.6 on October 22, 2012

My friends and I have been doing a "Girl's Weekend Away" which turned into a "Mom's Getaway Weekend" for the past 27 years. We recently stayed at your lovely B&B for the perfect St. Michael's/October weekend. We have just discovered St. Michael's and this is the perfect place to balance both world's of the town and getaway. The food was great and the scenery just encouraged us to stay on the lawn for most of the weekend. But I have to say that as we checked out I heard my three favorite words to complete the weekend- "Lingering is Encouraged". And so we did- eating snacks and completing our annual scrabble tournament on the lawn after checking out of our rooms. Thank you for your place and hospitality.


Labor Day 2012 weekend visit

4.6 on September 04, 2012

We stayed in the Duck Room in the 1890 portion of the main house. The room was in the corner and had great views of the bay out two sides of the room. Bed was comfy and bedroom was period decor. Bathroom had fiberglass stand-up shower stall and vinyl flooring. I personally thought ceramic tile flooring and shower stall would be a more to period choice. Our room and the house in whole was clean & neat. There were a few places that would need a scrap and repaint soon, but no holes in screens on porches as other suggested. The main house reminds me of grandmothers house or any older home - not always square or perfectly built as our current building standards require. Do pack some suntan lotion and bug spray since you are near the water. We are planning another relaxing visit to Wades Point again soon.


A Relaxing Stay

5 on August 03, 2012

My cousin and I have been on a few trips together. Recently we stayed at Wades Point Inn, the most beautiful Bed and Breakfast that we've ever been too. It's located right on a peninsula, so it's surrounded by gorgeous bay views. It's only a few miles from the quaint little town of St. Michaels. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast. There was a variety of food, and it was different each day. One morning we had an egg, sausage and cheese pie that was to die for, the next morning we had a french toast casserole. There was always fresh fruit, muffins, croissants, home-made granola and local fresh yogurt. I could go on and on, it was delicious! The views from the breakfast room were spectacular and very relaxing. The sunsets, I could watch them forever. The hammocks are located in the perfect place to watch the sun go down for the night. Betsy is a gracious hostess and my cousin and I had such a wonderful experience at her inn. She knows a lot about the history of St. Michaels and her Inn (which was built in the early 1800s). If you ever have a chance to visit and stay at Wades Point, you won't be disappointed. I can't wait to go back, and I will be back soon! Thank you for the wonderful stay Betsy!


great time

4.6 on June 25, 2012

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it very much we're looking to stay again .They even had a place where I could play my bagpipes.


Peace

5 on March 28, 2011

The combination of the "Wade's Point Inn on the Bay" location on the water and the service of the staff ushers in a beautiful presence that has to be experienced. If you want to get away, be pampered, and relax, this is the place to come. You will not be disappointed!


A true escape

4.6 on November 04, 2010

How nice to find a place where one can simply relax and recuperate from daily life in a water side retreat on 120 acres, devoid of today's electronic interferences - phone or TV to disturb you - in the hands of a charming landlady, with home-made breakfast, stunning water views, and all within only 2 hours of Washington DC. 48 hours at the Wades Point Inn felt like 4 days, to be recommended to anyone who wants to find themselves again.


not for me

1.8 on September 27, 2010

i have stayed at numerous b&b's and was not impressed with this one at all. Although the view was spectacular the service and amenities left us with our mouths hanging open. You can get a better continental breakfast at the holiday inn!!!! the portions were were for a 2 year old and the originally of the food was not up the the b&b's i have visited over the past 5 years! Even the pretty view cannot make me come back!

Innkeeper Response
Our breakfast has taken a drastic change over the last year or two. It is now a full breakfast, with locally grown products. We use local eggs, yogurt, milk and vegetables. We make our own granola. We have a mushroom and sausage egg casserole that guests love. As for amenities, we have bicycles and kayaks on the property that guests may use. We also have hammocks, lawn chairs and fishing. During the afternoon, cookies and tea can be found in the Bay Room.


Nice and relaxing place to stay, breakfast so-so

3.2 on August 28, 2009

8/21/09 - 8/23/09 Stayed in the Mildred Kemp House, Room 412. The location of this B&B was remote and very serene. It was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the bay. The room itself was very nice and cleanly kept. The location was a few miles outside of St. Michaels. We were not impressed with the breakfast as others have mentioned. It was fairly mediocre and we were hoping for something more expansive and gourmet. We would not return to this B&B for this reason but it was a nice stay. We just think a B&B should have an awesome breakfast. If you don't care about the breakfast then we highly recommend the Wades Point Inn.

Innkeeper Response
In the last year or two we have focused on drastically changing our breakfast. It is now a full breakfast, with homemade granola, local yogurt, fresh fruit. The hot dishes are different every day, such as a sausage and mushroom egg casserole, or a french toast casserole. Some days there are pancakes and scrapple. The muffins are baked fresh each morning. During the afternoon cookies and tea can be found in the Bay Room.


Great Stay

3.8 on August 26, 2009

We had a great stay at the Wades Point Inn the weekend of August 14-16. The grounds are amazing and the house is very nice. We stayed in the sunrise room and it was great with an amazing view. What others write about the breakfast is true, if you are looking for a gourmet breakfast this is not the place to stay. If you are looking for a great property with amazing views of the Chesapeake than this is probably better than the other B&Bs that are located in the heart of St. Michaels and the rates are much better.


Relaxing with Friends

4.8 on June 12, 2009

For some years a group of friends have met here for several days in early June. This is only my second year joining them and I love the time we get to spend together in this wonderful spot. The grounds, the setting, are so beautiful. I arrived this year to greet friends under the cool shade trees with a welcoming breeze blowing. At anytime the views across the bay, where the sea meets sky in the ever-changing weather is a fine way to underscore the time spent with friends. In the summer, yes, this area is hot, humid, the beginning of the south...so it is just a pleasure to relax, settle into slowing down in the common rooms, the porches, enjoy the flowers, walk along the farm fields, watch the skates off the pier, talk a lot, laugh a lot and then enjoy the a.c. in your room. Oh, the inn is quite close to St Michaels, which is a very interesting town and one of these times I will get in to explore it a bit more...and then again, maybe not!


20th Anniversary Getaway

4.0 on June 08, 2009

Everything about the Wades Point Inn is beautiful... the location, the rooms, even the storms when they come across the bay! We loved kayaking, sailing, watching the ospreys and bald eagles. We had a perfect trip.


A wonderful experience

4.8 on June 07, 2009

Having just returned from a stay at Wades Point, I must say that I will return there as soon as possible. It was heaven. Gene T.


doug & janet

3.4 on July 20, 2008

Just returned from three nights,pricing better than other B&B's in area,weather was a bit hot but sleeping area was air conditioned.Screened porches so you can escape mosquitos at night.Beautiful area directly on eastern area of Chespeake Bay.There is historical house as well as modern building on same property,will definitely return.Relaxation extrodinaire.


Wades Point Inn On The Bay

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4107452500
  • Fax 1-4107453443
  • Toll free 1-8889233466

Visit Website »

View details

Top