Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
100 Reviews

Write A Review

dissapointed

2.4 on August 25, 2014

purchased a package for our anniversary. called ahead as planned so the room could be set up. no one got the message. As a result nothing was done. I went to the front desk to inquire. The attendant was unaware of our package, did not listen to the voice mail that was left. The result was him handing me what should have been in our room and saying sorry, but I did not have the chance to listen to the message that was left. I can get the same this at a La Quinta hotel. I expected a little more for the price of the room. On a whole the Inn was OK, but the cost and below average service does not equal a return visit.


Quaint B & B.

2.8 on July 13, 2014

Our room had very interesting decor! Didn't see a rose garden as talked about in other reviews and online site. Exterior needs a little sprucing up. Loved all the little common area sitting rooms. Hot water in carafe was a little brown. I think I might return.


Elk Forge B&B

3.6 on June 10, 2014

Mid week stay was just what my spouse needed as a break from her work routine. For me a real plus was the putting green just beyond the parking area.


Nice get away.

4.0 on June 02, 2014

Was a really nice place to go to get away.


May 2014

4.2 on May 22, 2014

Staff was very accomodating to our late check-in time. Property is BEAUTIFUL!!


very nice quiet relaxing getaway

5 on April 15, 2014

I had a lovely massage breakfast in the morning was lovely sitting in the nice sunny conservatory ... everything so nicely decorated it was interesting just look around


The Non B&B

2.4 on February 05, 2014

Regretfully, we were never greeted by the innkeepers or if they were the same people who checked us in, they never introduced themselves as such. Most importantly, the "breakfast' as NOT what a B&B is. You had to make your own waffle, get your own coffee, the eggs which were cold were in a burner, it didn't start when specified, and NO ONE ever came out of the kitchen to greet us or even assist you with anything you may have needed. I could have stayed at the Hampton Inn! What were they thinking???


Very pleasant stay

4.6 on January 01, 2014

An excellent B+B, very nice room, and so close to many great restaurants and attractions


Romantic, Charming , a Must See

4.4 on June 14, 2013

We stayed for too short of a time in the Longwood suite. We booked the suite as a retreat after a 18 work day. What a wonderful stay! The sheets felt like satin, there are two fireplaces in the room. It was super clean. There were so many small personal touches. You could tell a great deal of thought went into providing care for each guest. The whirlpool tub was wonderful and the shower was hot. Really one of the only rooms that was worth the money! This is a must see!


Elk Lodge

4.6 on April 30, 2013

We chose this lodge because it was a halfway mark between two destinations. We loved the hot tub and the lodge is very pretty. Our room was amazing for the price, and very private. The vending machines didn't work well and the convention room looked like it was storing some Christmas stuff--not sure what was up with that. I will come here again. The hosts were friendly and accomodating. The breakfast was good, too.


cozy getaway

4.0 on April 13, 2013

It was a nice stay minivacation awayfrom the real world.


Fantastic Getaway!

5 on April 11, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay at Elk Forge B&B. We originally booked a room and much to our surprise were upgraded to a suite upon our check in! The suite was fantastic, the bed you could just melt into and the grounds were beautiful to walk. We also indulged in tandem massages in the spa and truly enjoyed ourselves. We highly recommend the Elk Forge whether you are needing a night away or more the service and friendly staff were top notch!


Elk Forge was excellent!

5 on March 25, 2013

The room was lovely and quiet, the breakfast buffet was very nice, and the hosts are delightful - very helpful.


Baltimore Room

5 on March 12, 2013

Delighted that we stayed here.Hopitality spectacular, the spa treatment was great ! the breakfast was hot,homemade,various choices in food and adequate seating..our host servers were professional in which I take delight in the most ! clean rooms, quiet off the main stream path from city life, fireplaces were serene with a massage...great company if I were an author or accomplished painter ,one could accomplish many thoughts-idea for a young marriage or honeymoon.


We had a wonderful stay!

5 on February 02, 2013

We loved the excellent and extremely tasty breakfast, access to coffee and tea in the evening, especially the extra touch of cookies. We couldn't be more pleased. Thank you very much. -- BT


Birthday Celebration at the Inn

5 on January 07, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at the Elk Forge B&B and Retreat. Our room was cozy and we enjoyed soaking in the Jacuzzi while watching television!!! The breakfast buffet was outstanding. The dining room and living room were so beautifully decorated, but above all, the warmth of the inn keepers was memorable. P.S. Please give Dubbs (dog) a KISS for us!!!


Nice stay

4.6 on July 05, 2012

We found Elk Forge to be delightful place to stay as we celebrated our anniversary. It was clean and quiet and very well decorated. Breakfast is served at dfferent times on different days. We were unable to eat on Monday since it was late (8:30-10) and we were driving 2 hours to the Kutztown Folklife Festival. It was 7-8:30 on Tuesday, which is more to our liking. There was a good variety of items to choose from (waffles, quiche, bread pudding, fruit, homemade granola). I have special dietary needs and they were able to accomodate my needs with almond milk and the offer to fix me some eggs.


What a treat!!

4.4 on June 26, 2012

Really lovely! Our room (Wimington)was great, the staff was friendly, and breakfast was amazing! Went for a romantic weekend getaway. Will definitely return again.


Charming B&B.

4.8 on June 23, 2012

Easy to get to. Lovely accommodations. Delicious coffee!!! wonderful breakfast. Will definitely return.


Nice B&B

5 on June 21, 2012

My husband and I had a very good time. The service was excellent and the staff was great. The cleanliness was very impressive. We would definitely come back. Thank you.


exceptional staff

4.0 on June 20, 2012

My husband and I "get away" occassionally and we always book a B&B. We were very impreesed with the staff at Elk Forge. The accomadations were lovely and the nature trail was a nice bonus. It is conviently located near anything you may want to do (dining, shopping, movies).


Unexpected treasure on Fletchwood Road

4.4 on June 18, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend getaway at Elk Forge B & B. Breakfast was lovely with delicious homemade casseroles, bread pudding, muffins, cookies etc. We strolled the lush grounds and sat on the deck outside of our comfortable suite. We had a relaxing massage and then we spent the day at nearby North East and Elk Neck State Park.


Looking for a peaceful layed back vacation, Elk Forge Bed&Bkfast is the place for a tranquil experience !!

3.8 on June 10, 2012

The Surrey Suite, 2 bdrm. bongalow layed back at the end of property was exactly what we looked for, peacful & quiet! Coming from the excitment & movement of the boardwalk in Atl.City to this tranquial setting of clamness was a sure bet to end our vacation time!! The Grounds are simply beautiful, my favorite is the picture perfect view of the rolling road over the Elk River, beautiful ! The trails are nice too. The dining experience with tranquil water flowing from the lovely fountain in the middle of the salarium,peaceful music enlighten the setting! Compliments to the Chef, bkfast with our stay was great!. Elk Forge exceeded our expections. Thanks, Harry & LeAnn. We will be returning for our August Anniversary, just the setting we love! God Bless you both.


wonderful and relaxing

5 on May 22, 2012

Great atmosphere, friendly and relaxing. Spa was an excellent end to the weekend. Tea service was great, food delicious and beautifully served on the balcony. Would love to do it again.


Gorgeous Place to get away!

5 on May 01, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Elk Forge this past weekend and it was worth the travel and expense. We stayed in the Fairhill Suite which is so cozy and well kept. The house is decorated very nicely and smells wonderful! Every flower that was there was real which was one of my favorites! We got the romance package which came with couple massages at the spa on-site, a gift certificate to Caffe Gelato a fantastic Italian restaurant in the town of Delaware, a basket of goodies that was left on the bed for us, fresh roses sprinkled over over the room and a whirl pool tub for two! There is so much more to say about this place but this is a review, we highly recommend this B&B!


Anniversary gift from our children!

3.2 on April 16, 2012

The inn is beautiful. There were several things that we liked. The room (Country Club Suite) was beautiful. Very spacious. The grounds were beautiful. It was so nice after a busy day of sightseeing to relax in the double chaise lounge on the deck outside our room and listen to the water in the pond and the birds. It was so relaxing. The breakfast was very good. And the best part was the couples massage that we had!!! The people are very friendly and it is definitely a place that we would return too. What a great anniversary weekend! Thanks!


Great Weekend Getaway

5 on April 16, 2012

My husband and I took our first mini vacation and had an amazing experience. We absolutely loved the room and the hospitality. Breakfast was also amazing!! We are definitely going back again some time soon!


Elk Forge weekend

4.6 on March 29, 2012

The house was beautiful! We had a Living Social deal that had expired but they took the money I had paid for it, we got the fall special and it was a good value. We stayed for 2 nights. Everyone was friendly and service was fast if we needed anything. This was our first bed and breakfast and it exceeded our expectations. We also had a couple's massage and she was wonderful, very relaxing. I've read reviews that the breakfast was bad, I thought it was a nice spread and the food was good. If I have the opportunity I will definitely go back!


Relaxing stay at Elk Forge

5 on March 19, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Elk Forge. The grounds are lovely, the tea room is warm and inviting. The massages so relaxing. We really enjoyed all the variety of teas to try. The meals were terrific, our breakfast favorites were blueberry and strawberry waffles, and the Irish quiche. The staff were all friendly, attentive, and made us feel very welcome. We truly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to visit again:)


We could have used another day or two...

4.6 on March 15, 2012

...because there are so many relaxing things to do. Our group spent the day at Longwood Gardens, could have used another day for the Wyeth Museum (?) in Chadds Ford. The Inn is in Maryland, but minutes away from attractions in Delaware and Pennsylvania also. If you are visiting the University of Delaware (parents weekend, homecoming, etc) this would be a great place to stay. We would definitely go back and highly recommend it. Harry, LeAnn and Andrew really put themselves out for their guests. We did not experience the high tea or the spa, but the breakfasts were fabulous.


Christmas Getaway

4.4 on February 02, 2012

Spending time away from home on Christmas can be a challenge. Will the location be home-like, cheerful and family focused? Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast exceeded our expectations. The environment was warm and friendly from the start. We enjoyed the room which was clean and welcoming. The breakfast, especially the sausage used on Christmas day, was super. Finally the family members that own the Elk Forge are just plain nice people.


Wonderful break from "typical" places!

4.8 on January 30, 2012

Stayed January 2012 on a business trip going from Baltimore to Philly. Beautiful location, wonderful "at home" feel. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for something a little different than the standard hotel or B&B. The owners did a great job with the little touches that made me feel right at home. Can't wait to go back and say again with my wife.


Wonderful Stay!

4.2 on January 04, 2012

I had never been to a Bed and Breakfast before so I was unsure of what to expect. I found this one for a great deal on groupon and it could not have been more perfect. Elk Forge is in a lovely location, the whole property was so quaint and cozy. My boyfriend and I loved our room (which was huge) and its amenities. We were thrilled they have such a great dog policy. It was a perfect way to spend New Years, we will definitely be back. I highly recommend this location for anyone who wants a quiet getaway.


Luxurious Getaway

4.8 on January 04, 2012

We stayed at the Elk Forge B&B to celebrate my birthday in November. Our room was absolutely beautiful. We loved the jacuzzi and the gas fireplace. The sitting room was a perfect place to relax and unwind. The bed was so comfortable we never wanted to get up. We enjoyed the breakfast in the solarium. The staff were very helpful and friendly, making sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The grounds were beautiful. The surrounding area has a lot of very interesting towns and historic sites, which we enjoyed visiting. We are really looking forward to a return visit to this Inn.


A wonderful getaway

4.6 on January 03, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Elk Forge B&B for three nights in late December, and we had a wonderful time. The rooms were great, and the whole Bed and Breakfast was charming, unique, and very nice. The food was good, and there were plenty of resources to help us plan our days. The staff was very helpful at helping us find places to eat and make us feel comfortable. It was a relaxing vacation and I would recommend Elk Forge Lodge to anyone looking for a cute relaxing getaway.


A relaxing and restful get-away.

4.4 on January 03, 2012

Our two night stay at this beautiful B adn B was so relaxing. It is very pretty and very clean. We will return in the future.


Elegant, but relaxed

4.0 on December 08, 2011

Friendly staff, enchanting suite, abundant breakfast made for a much-needed stay. Want to return for a longer stay.


great getaway

3.8 on December 06, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our overnight stay at Elk Forge. The room was quite comfortable, and especially enjoyed relaxing in our own whirlpool. Harry and LeAnn thought of everything from internet access, movies and games to any toiletry which may have been forgotten. Look forward to visiting again soon.


Elk Forge B&B fall 2011

3.8 on November 23, 2011

Nice place, wonderfull staff, convenient location. Brought back memories of younger days.


45th anniversary weekend

5 on November 17, 2011

It was perfect. We added the Romance package and it was worth every penny. It is difficult for us to get away very often and we looked forward to it for a long time. It was everything we hoped for.


Beautiful Respite!

4.0 on November 17, 2011

Our recent stay at Elk Forge was everything we were looking for. The Country Club suite was gorgeous. The view outstanding. Andrew was friendly and most helpful. Had a most relaxing massage in the spa too. If there was anything I would change it would be to include some hot items such as bacon, sausage, etc to the breakfast buffet. However there was ample food for all to enjoy. Loved listening to the doves laugh and coo as we enjoyed our breakfast!


Relaxing stay

5 on November 15, 2011

I had been working long hours and needed a restful getaway. Elk Forge was excellent and the staff members were charming. My massage and facial added to the "decompressing" that I needed. Thanks Elk Forge!


Cozy and Quiet

4.4 on October 25, 2011

Elk Forge is a great place for a quiet retreat from the world. The Chesapeake room that we stayed in was quaint and comfortable. Our couple massage was a totally relaxing experience. The Inn is within a short distance of many Chesapeake bay attractions and some great restaurants. I highly recommend Elk Forge and plan to return.


And a good time was had by we 2.

3.8 on October 23, 2011

We were celebrating our 60th Wedding Anniversary, by staying here for the first time last week. This was only our second exposure to the B & B scene. Everyone was pleasant, obliging and very attentative to our needs, even changed our room assignment to the first floor due to my problem with the stairs. Our "Chats" with Harry were really enjoyable. Loved the doves and their "good morning" greetings during breakfast. Their close proximity to the Chesapeake made it a good "homebase" for sightseeing. Can't wait to return. Nancy & Al


A Romantic and Very Relaxing Getaway

5 on October 08, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 days/3 nights. It was the most relaxing getaway we have ever had. We loved the whirlpool tubs and spent time in them each day. Breakfast was wonderful-a plentiful assortment of fruit, breads, cakes, waffles, yogurt, eggs, etc. The Lendermans are wonderful - they are there when you need them and out of sight when you are enjoying the lodge and grounds. We recommend ordering the romance package for the first evening to enjoy the flowers and goodies for your whole stay. We look forward to many returns.


Great B & B

4.6 on September 28, 2011

Was pleasantly surprised with our weekend away. Fantastic service thoughout. Great value


Fantastic!

5 on September 28, 2011

I recieved this B & B stay as a gift from my daughter and son-in-law who are very discerning people. From the time we arrived until the time we departed the hospitality was incredible. There is a feel to the place unmatched by any B & B we have ever stayed at. Good Job, Elk Forge!


Elk Forge B&B is one of the best

4.8 on September 22, 2011

Elk Forge is amazing. Rooms are absolutely beautifull, everything has a feel of luxury and is very well maintained. The grounds are immaculate and the hot tub we used after midnight and till 2:30 am... speechless. Come, you won't regret it.


A Retreat in the Woods

4.0 on September 17, 2011

A great, quiet and relaxing get-away, pleasant owners, VERY accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were VERY clean, quaint and comfortable. The price was right, especially with the on-line special. The Continental Breakfast was less appetizing than we expected, but the owners are "open" to suggestions. My guess is that, it will be up-graded. The old, but well maintained house has a VERY bright Great Room with very large windows, cooing Doves and a wonder view. It is a three-story structure, with basement facilities, but there is no elevator for Handicap persons. That can be a problem, if stairs are a problem for any guest.


What a great getaway !!!!

5 on September 04, 2011

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay. Simple breakfast, which consisted of toast, bagels, muffins, waffles and fresh fruit. The lodge was very relaxing and everyone was exceptionally nice and helpful. They made you feel very comfortable. Good location and close to many restaurants, malls and sites to see. My family also had a great time horseback riding at the Painted Horse Ranch stables which were right down the road. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again. The Florio Family. :)


Elk Forge Review

4.2 on September 04, 2011

The service and everything I requested was outstanding. The price are a little high, but other than that they do a great job on everything else. The nature trails are very nice as well but could use some work in marking them and maybe having places to sit and enjoy the nature. All around it is a very nice enviroment to relax and get away.


Business Trip

5 on August 22, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at every turn. Every room was well appointed and clean. Staff was helpful, but not underfoot. Decorating was pleasing to the eye and restful to the senses. Even the doves cooed and giggled with us. A very nice respite during a grueling business trip. I will certainly recommend this establishment and will considering staying again.


A Caring Place to Stay

4.2 on July 30, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful anniversary get away at the Elk Forge Inn. Although while at the Inn you feel like you are in the middle of no where, you are close to many attractions and urban areas. The thing we liked best was breakfast in the bright sun room with the sound of the fountain and the view of the garden. To top it all though, was the caring concern the innkeepers had for us. While there, our car was towed to a shop in Delaware leaving us feeling quite helpless. Harry drove me to the shop, waited to make sure everything was ready, and lead me back to the Inn. He turned a bad day for us into a wonderful one. Now that's a great place to stay!!


A relaxing getaway

4.2 on July 29, 2011

This charming B&B had lovely rooms. Having massages and facials right downstairs just added to the relaxation we felt. Breakfast was a bit disappointing for a B&B but the inn has character, everyone was extremely pleasant and helpful. Would definitely go again.


Lovely inn, delightful weekend

4.2 on July 22, 2011

In addition to nice rooms, there are lovely areas to relax and read or play games (many are provided). The breakfast room is spacious and well appointed, with hot tea (and coffee, I presume) always available. Continental breakfast is good, with plenty of assorted fresh fruit.


Wonderful Stay

4.4 on July 19, 2011

This place is so cozy and peaceful. A wonderful place to go when you need escape the madness of everyday life to get away for some rest and relaxation.


Relax but lacking Breakfast

3.4 on July 08, 2011

I really enjoyed myself here. The room that we had was very nice and clean. We spent most of our time in the room and didn't venture out too much. I had a massage while there and it was even more relaxing. The only downside was the breakfast. I was looking for a homemade breastfast spread and was really disappointed upon arriving for breakfast. They breakfast was kinda buffet style with hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, apple and orange juice, muffins, make your own waffles, yogurt, and hot coffee and tea I may come back again but will not eat breakfast here. The second morning we ate at the waffle house.


Great Stay

5 on July 07, 2011

The front booth was very helpful as well as very neat and tidy rooms. Breakfast was GREAT!! The grounds are peaceful and great if you want a break from the city. Things are very slow paced and perfect if you just want to soak in a jacuzzi and melt your troubles away for a weekend.


nice surprise

4.0 on July 02, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Elk Forge. I loved the old world style of the room, the big comfy bed and most of all the lovely grounds. After a long work day I felt I had escaped to a country retreat, even though I was only 15 minutes away from my client in Newark DE. The grounds include walking trails and a putting green and there is a large deck with ample tables to sit and contemplate or take your breakfast outside. The common areas were spacious and lovely and the buffet breakfast was very good. My only complaint and it is a small one is the wireless internet access is not secure. I will certainly be back & recommend it to friends!


Delightful host; facilities lacking

2.6 on July 01, 2011

Our host was delightful and very accommodating. Things I would have preferred to make the room better: two ply toilet paper instead of single ply; a full length mirror in the room; better in room lighting for reading; better mattress. Breakfast not as good as some B&B's; was sort of like Hampton Inn breakfast. There is absolutely nothing going on nearby so you have to really want to get away and stay away. Closest real attraction is Longwood Gardens which is 30 minutes away.


Outstanding visit...

5 on June 21, 2011

Just loved the set up of the whole place. The rooms were roomy and I loved the conservatory where breakfast was served. The grounds were great too. I can't wait till they get their tea room and kitchen up and running and can serve full breakfasts. And we loved the gift shop...


Elk Forge B&B

3.4 on June 18, 2011

The room (Elkton on third floor) was very nice, though chilly and a bit crowded. Bed was very comfortable. Getting enough hot water to fill the jacuzzi was a challenge. Enjoyed the hot tub outside however. Grounds were beautiful with walking trails, but being beside a busy road with construction was a drawback. Overall enjoyed our stay and would come back.


A pleasant surprise!

4.6 on June 08, 2011

But for the internet listing, I'd never have found this beautiful creekside haven. The main house dates to circa 1760; Washington must have slept there! Breakfasts are great in a lovely room (or outside on the deck) overlooking the grounds and shared with cooing doves in the corner. Highly recommended.


Lovely get-away

4.6 on May 28, 2011

Very pretty place, room very clean. Good service when needed. This is in a lovely area of Maryland.


Elkforge B&B - must stay

5 on May 27, 2011

My wife and I have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast until this past week. We were not sure what to expect. However, once we arrived and saw the beautiful scenery, gracious and helpful hosts, we were immediately satisfied with our decision. The atmosphere is so laid back an peaceful, it is almost impossible not to relax and enjoy yourself. We loved how the staff was there when you needed them and not pushy or in your face. We were also given many good tips on places to go and see. I will definitely bring my wife back here for another stay, it is very rare to receive such great customer service.


B & B Great Weekend

4.6 on May 18, 2011

Excellent experience. Beautiful B&B. Suite was perfect. The continental breakfast was more than satisfying. Great massage and facial. Loved that it was pet friendly and enjoyed spending some time exploring the B&B's woods with my dogs. You really will feel that you have escaped the hustle and bustle of everyday life when you stay here - it is like a trip back in time. Eclectic but charming. For the number of people staying there, it was very quiet. I recommend this B&B for a relaxing stay.


Great Experience

3.8 on May 06, 2011

My fiance and I truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again maube after we get married. The grounds were wonderful and the room decor was nice. The only problem was that it was too warm for my fiance and the window in the room did not have screens and hard to keep opened. The staff was friendly and we hope to come again to experience the spa treatments. We used the "Livingsocial" coupon so the value was excellent. Thanks again for a wonderful retreat experience. We will come back.


A Great Stay

4.8 on May 04, 2011

We loved our time at Elk Forge. Our room was very clean, the breakfasts were quite the spread, and the place was very welcoming. We enjoyed spending some time exploring the B&B's woods and relaxing in the hammock. And we thought the rates were excellent too...in fact, that was part of what pulled us to stay there.


Wonderful Birthday Getaway

4.4 on April 26, 2011

My fiance and I had a wonderful time! The massage was very good and the hot tub was perfect for a chilly, romantic night. The staff was also very friendly. My only issue was that the hot tub was not available every night. If you are a runner (or enjoy scenic walks) the nearby Fail Hills Nature preserve is a serious added bonus. I will definitely return.


Recommended!

3.2 on April 13, 2011

You really will feel that you have escaped the hustle and bustle of everyday life when you stay here - it is like a trip back in time. Eclectic but charming. Wish we had more time to sit and read on the terrace, do the hot tub and explore the property. Very convenient to the Brandywine area attractions and good dining!


Fantastic B & B Elk Forge

5 on April 10, 2011

We had a wonderful stay and will recommend Elk Forge B & B.


quick get away

4.6 on April 08, 2011

Friendly and comfortable,had opportunity to hike and hit a few balls.


Much-needed week-end getaway

5 on April 07, 2011

Excellent experience. Beautiful B&B. Suite was perfect. Service was exceptional (Thanks to Harry and crew). Even the continental breakfast was more than satisfying. Great romantic spa/massage service for two. Good suggestions for dining in nearby Newark, DE. Cafe Gelato was a great recommendation. Even enjoyed the "putting" green out back. Only downside was a bit of traffic/train noise; but not enough to divert our attention from a relaxing week-end away. Kudos to Elk Forge. Thanks so much.


A fun weekend

5 on March 28, 2011

Stayed Saturday and Sunday 3/19 and 3/20. Fair Hill Room Harry was very accomodating without being overbearing. Clean rooms. Nice Jacuzzi tub. For the number of people staying there, it was very quiet. Plenty to eat at breakfast. Excellent make your own Belgian Waffles. Did not take advantage of he on-site Spa. You can not bring your own alchoholic beverages as they have a Liquor License. I recommend this B&B for a relaxing stay.


groupon stay

3.2 on March 26, 2011

Very quiet relaxing stay, convenient location and be sure to eat at Fair Hill


Stay at Elk Forge

3.6 on March 23, 2011

I enjoyed my stay overall. The two things that were negative were the train tracks 50 to 100 yards from the cottage I stayed in. At 6:30 both mornings, the train tracks and horns started rattling and blowing and woke everyone up. The second negative was that the breakfast was lacking. It was continental style and I've stayed at other B&Bs where the breakfast was a full home cooked meal. Other than that, it was lovely and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. Not sure I would stay again though because of the train noise.


extravagant

5 on March 22, 2011

Through this past year, I have stayed in so many of Elk forge's beautiful rooms. It makes me want to go back an try to stay in them all. Though I really don't have the time anymore to stay at Elk Forge because of other things happening in my life. I just can't wait until the next time comes again....


Great B&B! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the Inn!

4.0 on March 13, 2011

ca.1700's,high ceilings, stained glass windows,hand-painted murals,Sleep Number mattress,wonderful sheets, jacuzzi, separate shower/ bathroom, spa, bathrobes, +gas fireplace. Most welcoming! Our rm had comfy laz-y-boy type chair+ DVD/VHS player in rm(they lent out older VHS).The breakfast at this time,limited(law passed by MD,Inns with many rooms now need commercial kitchen) but still had lot to offer. Expanded cont. breakfast, includes hot Belg.waffles (MYO)wild blueberries,fresh cut+whole fruits, bagels,toast, jellies+ PB,cold+hot cereals,muffins,boiled eggs+string cheese (so protein for diabetics)yogurts,etc. Really,as much as could offer w/o cooking.Are currently building kitchen.The home itself is Victorian+are using fine china, silver,so still quite nice.Were doing all they could under the circumstances+before law they had great cooked breakfast that they are starting again soon.They were all more than helpful!The owner was very outgoing at bkfst, laid-back+engaging.Youngest son checked us in,also very helpful in getting my computer hooked up to their signal, as well as helping find lots of great local eateries, ("Blue Crab Grille" was fabulous+only 5 minutes away!) He wasn't talkative,(at that age, either was MY son),but VERY nice, courteous,more than helpful+kind to me, both with setting me up+ putting together a "b-day pkg"for hubby.The lady who helped out at check-in was EXCEPTIONALLY helpful,very kind,sweet.Stay was late winter,so rose garden not in bloom,etc,but had white lights on at night,lining stone balcony overlooking lawn, white candle lights in windows. Really,the 1700's building was quite charming+ comfortable! Had putting green+golf clubs ,hammock,2seat swing available for anyone.Everything we saw was clean, comfy,maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed every relaxing minute,LOVED that it was 4 minutes from Delaware,7 miles from PA, so could use this as "home",+venture out to many areas for day trips,(Amish, Longwood Gardens, outlets, Baltimore,etc)!


Wonderful resort

4.8 on March 02, 2011

Me and my husband had a wonderful time at the Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat and Day Spa. It was a great get-a-way and I would definitely go back.


Beautiful B&B

5 on February 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights and can't wait to go back. We live in Baltimore and wanted to get out of the city to relax. Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn was the perfect place for that. Our jaws dropped as soon as we walked in, the place is beautiful. Our room was even better. We stayed in the Brandywine Suite and watching the sunrise from the bed was amazing. We had an issue with the room we booked not being available, but they upgraded our room without hesitation. I've been recommending Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn to everyone I know. We can't wait to go back and stay in the other rooms.


elk lodge

4.6 on February 08, 2011

This was our first visit there, and the place was so nice. On the day we were checking out, we mentioned we wanted to get the special ribs but it is a take out place, and the owner told us to feel free to bring the food back and eat in the dining area. We loved the restfulness, the decor and the layout. We will definitely come again. Have told all our friends. The Coopers


This is a cool place to "get away."

3.4 on February 03, 2011

Got a good deal -- and it turned out to be great. A "snowed in" weekend, but still got to enjoy the facilities and see some of the area. Though I live less than 60 miles away, experienced some sights for the first time and look forward to a return visit in the spring and/or fall. Don't be fooled by "met my expectations" rating -- I expected the rooms, value, breakfast etc to be very nice -- and they were.


comfortable, relaxing & quiet

5 on January 24, 2011

conveniently located between Elkton & Newark, just minutes off I-95. Our room was spacious and cozy. The king size bed sheets were soft and nice. The staff was very friendly, welcoming & accomodating. My wife said her massage was the best she had ever had. Breakfast was fresh, simple and tasty. The Inn is creatively decorated throughout. We very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon.


Elk Forge

3.4 on January 23, 2011

We stayed in the Elk Room and really enjoyed the inroom whirlpool tub. The property was beautiful and we have already considered returning in warmer weather to take full advantage. The only downside was the meager breakfast...it reminded us more of a hotel continental breakfast spread than what we would expect from a B&B. Overall, a very beautiful building full of character with a lovely and inviting room.


Great Value Beautiful Inn

4.0 on January 23, 2011

Greeted by a warm staff, found the inn very cozy and the perfect weekend getaway from the busy city. The rooms invoke you to stay inside all the entire time, but the TV's could have been nicer/larger, but all in all very satisfied.


Elk Forge was a great spot....

3.8 on December 10, 2010

The owners were very pleasant and always tried to accomodate. We recommend and will return to this B & B.


Writer's Review

3.2 on July 22, 2010

Great experience. I was writing a book and looking for a retreat, so I spent a lot of time in the building. Staff was very friendly, helpful and interesting.


A Wonderful Experience

5 on December 10, 2009

Seth, Andrew, Harry, Grandma, John, Melissa made my stay a very pleasant experience. I felt that I was visiting family. I was even asked to join the family at their family dinner. The cuisine was just outstanding and I enjoyed my self tremendously. My room was beautiful, with all the comforts of home. It is a real treat to stay at the Elk Forge, with its long ancient history and all the beauties that it surrounds it. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to any traveler in the area. I Thank the Innkeepers for making my stay at the Elk Forge Bed and Breakast such a wonderful experience. T.


Outstanding service, great value

4.6 on August 31, 2009

Harry and his son Seth are great hosts, with sense of humour and very curteous. Although I arrived very late (10PM?) on this one-day trip, they made a point to welcome me in person, give me a tour and made sure I feel like home. Excellent value, warmly recommended.


One night getaway

4.0 on August 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on a Saturday night. The room was clean and comfortable and had a nice nautical theme. We enjoyed borrowing a movie to watch from the library and all of the reading materials that are found throughout the Inn. Our entree breakfast was served to us and there was also other fruit/beverages/baked goods on hand to choose from as well. We would stay there again.


Charming B&B

5 on June 21, 2009

I went to Elk Forge with my boyfriend we stayed in a suite. Called the Longwood, it was a wonderful room we locked the door and stayed in all weekend. They have a wonderful staff working for them as well. I am tell all my friends about this place.


Elk Forge B&B

5 on May 13, 2009

The place waas fantastic. I highly recommend it.


Happy with my choice!!!!

4.0 on April 19, 2009

I wanted a weekend away alone with peace and quiet and this is exactly what I got at the Elk Forge Inn...The home is beautiful with ancient history....The owners and staff were friendly... I loved my room, very comfortable...The only downside is the breakfast...Very boring choices!!! But overall a good place to stay!!!


Delightful!

4.8 on April 09, 2009

A charming B&B and former pig-iron forge, Elk Forge was beautifully appointed and warmly welcoming and a very soothing experience. Innkeepers, LeAnn and Harry have anticipated every need, leaving you free to enjoy your stay!


room Upgrade was well worth it.

3.8 on January 10, 2009

We thoroughtly enjoyed our trip there. the owners were friendly and we got to relax in a beautiful place which was well decorated, Many ethanks


Peaceful and cozy

3.8 on September 30, 2008

I stayed in the Elkton room and it was just lovely. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by a young man who was kind enough to help me with my luggage and show me to my room. Packets with your receipt and other info are left on a silver tray in a main hallway, along with a guide to direct you to your room. I'm glad the young man was there or else I would have been lost. That was pretty much all the interaction I had with any staff as there didn't appear to be any. Breakfast was continental and nice. The accommodations were quite comfortable and it's clear they value small details. I went looking for a weekend of quiet and little interaction with people and I found it. If you are a person that needs to interact with the staff, this is not the hotel for you. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place for you. I also had a 60 minute facial done and it was the best facial I've ever had.


Great place, Friendly fold

3.6 on September 30, 2008

We were last minute visitors. The staff was accommodating, easy going, helpful & friendly. Grounds are lovely. Rooms are comfortable & large.


A Gorgeous Place

3.6 on September 03, 2008

My husband and I stayed here as we were moving our daughter in to college. The building, the room, the grounds are absolutely beautiful!! However, upon arrival, there was no one to greet us, and we had to find our room on our own. We were instructed by pamphlet to order wine or beer at the inn ( it is not permitted to bring beverages from the outside), and when we called to do so, were informed that there was no cold beer. A bit dissappointing after travelling for over six hours!! The only one person we saw that entire evening was very nice, but not terrible engaging. There was only one other guest that we saw. No one greeted us at breakfast, it was continental and just set out for us, the coffee maker was self serve and very much a challenge. The innkeeper came out at our request for help with the coffee, but otherwise was not visible. The Elk Forge Inn is absolutely beautiful, peaceful, and well located, but was a bit lacking in friendliness and approachibility.


Great deal!

4.6 on November 08, 2007

We were fortunate to get a terrific internet deal last April. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite (huge!) for $125!! Be sure to check for internet deals! Lovely grounds in addition to buildings. Very nice dining/breakfast room.


Gorgeous B&B Great Value!

5 on June 28, 2007

My family just stayed at this B&B and loved it. Their property is gorgeous! They have very nice accomodations and a lot of ammenities you dont traditionally get in a B&B (internet, hot tub, etc) They also have great walking trails you cant miss. We ate breakfast on their patio overlooking the grounds. It was really relaxing. My husband and I are putting it on our list of a B&B to definitely revisit.


Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $299
  • Reviews (100) 4.3
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4103929007
  • Fax 1-4103922954
  • Toll free 1-877elkforg

Visit Website »

View details

Top