Miles River Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

great get away spot

5 on June 27, 2014

Beautiful, relaxing spot. Jim and Dorothy are wonderful hosts being available for any assistance and absent to afford you comfort and privacy. A lovely scenic get away. St Michaels minutes away for nice meal choices.


Miles River Guest House

4.8 on June 19, 2014

The hosts, Will and Dorothy, were very helpful and grateful. The house is just that, it is a house that is adjacent to the home of the hosts. I would say that it is unique. It is not from a cookie cutter mold of a hotel. The sunsets are tremendous! The house is a couple of miles from Easton with a small historic area, a few great restaurants, and art type shops while a few miles the other way is St. Michaels with much nautical and bay history, shops, bars, ice cream, and restaurants. We saw osprey, herons, and ducks from the back yard. The house itself is in a very quiet neighborhood, it has a nice pool. It was nice to paddle around the Glebe Creek in the canoe.


Ideal Getaway on the Eastern Shore

5 on August 19, 2013

This used to be our secret getaway but it seems to have been discovered and I couldn't be happier for Will and Dorothy (and Murphy). We just finished our fourth visit to the Guest House and, as each time before, our hosts provided everything we needed and more. The extra bedroom afforded us the luxury of bringing along some friends and they too had a wonderful stay. The weather was perfect, with glorious sunsets each day and my family and friends had a grand time fishing, crabbing, and generally lazing about. I proposed to my wife a few years ago on the Guest House pier but each time we visit we make wonderful new memories. If you are looking for a peaceful escape with breathtaking scenery, an ideal romantic getaway, or just lazy days lounging in the pool, then this is the place. But please, let's keep this our little secret.


Vacation- finally a great one!

4.8 on July 21, 2013

As a person who works way to hard and takes so little time off.... I can't say enough about how great the Miles River Guest house was! I booked the house for a 3 night get away with my two 20+ god daughters and there mom and we had a blast. I brought my kayaks so everyone had one to use and we thoroughly enjoyed paddling, playing cards at night and relaxing on the dock and by the pool. What made it so great was our wonderful host family and the fact that we had our own home away from home secluded and filled with everything you could ask for.


Fantastic find

5 on June 19, 2013

Will and Dorothy Howard are the best hosts, making us feel welcome throughout our stay. The guest house is comfortable for a quiet weekend alone or with friends or family. We're looking forward to future visits.


Amazing B&B

5 on September 01, 2012

We love Miles River Guest House, Notre séjour fut un ravissement, autant par la qualité d'accueil de Will et sa femme que par l'endroit. Nous y avons passé 5 jours fantastiques avec un des plus beaux coucher de soleil jamais vu!! Nous ne pouvons que conseiller cette location.


Lovely stay at Miles River Guest House

4.0 on June 14, 2012

Will & Dorothy have an idyllic setting. The guest house has it's own small kitchen and outdoor grill which is divine, so you can eat outside & enjoy your own private gorgeous sunset. And, they are close to both Easton & St Michaels (and grocery stores) which makes everything convenient - what you want when you get away! W&D are a lovely & friendly couple, they are helpful but don't intrude. All in all, a fantastic stay, highly recommend! p.s. jukebox in guest house is a fun addition to your own music!


Charmed by the Chesapeake

4.8 on May 22, 2012

The Miles River Guest House is the perfect destination when you are looking to get away from it all. Will and Dorothy have created a special blend of charm, natural beauty, and an eclectic collection of personal memorabilia to entertain like minds. I am not into crowds or the hustle and bustle of tourist traps so this was really the perfect spot to celebrate a special weekend! Natural beauty and wifi too, the amenities were too many to list. Pack your bags and leave your troubles behind, Your own private guest house awaits....


The Eastern Shore's Hidden Gem

5 on March 09, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our third, most needed, and most extended stay this year and can't wait to go back. We stayed for our second New Year's in a row and then President's Weekend which included a fabulous on site massage by a wonderful therapist. The massage melted my stress away and got our 3 day holiday a great start. Perks went on to include a thoughtful and delicious Smith island cake for my B-day as well as the usual fresh fruit, breakfast pastries, and heartier breakfast items. We were well taken care of as we always are. It was suggested that this would be a good place to recover from my upcoming surgery and use the new airy bedroom that they just put in on the main level with a bathroom located right next to it. So, we came back last week straight after the surgery. The owners graciously allowed us to extend our stay at the last minute for an extra night. We ended up staying 5 nights and every one was a much needed step, no pun intended, in my recuperation. I will never be able to thank the kind owners enough for all they did to accommodate us. The new ground floor bedroom is a DREAM!! Its new king-size bed and crisp linens were VERY comfortable and the best part is that there is a new window directly across so you can lie in bed and get a great view of the Miles River and its gorgeous soothing sunsets. The new bedroom includes a flatscreen tv as well. The tasteful decor of beautiful photos and artwork had me floating by air and sea. Very relaxing and just the tonic I needed after the op. We feel honored to have christened the new bedroom. As I told friends, surgery isn't fun, but if you have to be ill or in pain, this is the place to recover. You couldn't ask for more considerate hosts, Will and Dorothy, who make sure you feel at home, more amenities (How many places have their own jukebox and bar?), or a more beautiful, peaceful location on Maryland's Eastern Shore, healing both mind and body.


New Year Retreat

5 on January 11, 2012

We enjoyed the Guesthouse so much when we stayed there to ring in 2011, we decided to come back to start 2012. Once again, it was an enjoyable and relaxing weekend away. The value for money is exceptional and you get as much or as little attention as you desire. The owener only wish is for you to enjoy your stay and will assist you any way they can from making recommendations/reservations to ensuring the fridge is stocked with what you need. The bonus this year was the two Bald Eagles sitting in the trees just outside the Guesthouse. Every sunset is stunning and you feel the worries drain away when you arrive. We will be back again for 2013 assuming the Mayans got it wrong and the world doesn't end.


Miles River Guest House

3.6 on November 16, 2011

Lovely B&B adjacent to the owner's residence. We had total privacy but did have a couple of opportunities to meet the owners who were most gracious. The husband offered us the opportunity to drive his vintage MG automobile - great fun! The owners also invited us for a boat ride on the Miles River but weather conditions and our schedules forced a "rain-check" for another time. The accommodations for two couples were more than adequate but the sleeping area on the 1st floor is far less attractive than the spacious suite on the second floor. Guests are provided with beverages (including fresh-squeezed orange juice) and pastries for breakfast and upon request eggs and bacon are also provided. Guests prepare their own breakfast on their own schedule. There is no housekeeping service during the two-night stay but none was really needed either. The B&B is conveniently located to Easton and St. Michael's and has wonderful views of wifelife on the Miles River. The owners made dinner reservations for both nights of our stay and offered many helpful suggestions (at our request) for places to visit and see. This is a place we would consider visiting again.


The perect get away....

5 on August 28, 2011

My husband and I recently enjoyed 6 days of fun in the sun, fishing, crabbing from the pier, inground pool, and absolute grand attention to our every need! How can we possibly put into words the pertect experience? Will & Dorothy are the dearest innkeepers we have ever encountered. They couldn't do eneough to make our stay a pleasure. We are sooo excited to say that we will return asap..we miss Miles River Guest house and all of its ammenities!! Bravo!!


June 2011

4.2 on June 29, 2011

There was a mix-up with the reservation and Will & Dorothy were very accomodating and welcoming!


What a lovely guest house this is!

4.6 on June 26, 2011

What a lovely guest house this is! We were so comfortable and relaxed while we were there; the hosts, Will and Dorothy Howard, were gracious and did all they could to accomodate us. The house itself is nicely furnished (good beds!) with everything to make your vacation special; the owners added a vintage jukebox and arcade game (both free play!) which provided some extra entertainment for us. Additionally, there is a two person kayak and canoe for the guests to use; we absolutely loved taking the kayak out on the beautiful Miles River. The view is very special there on the point (sunsets are incredible) and are enjoyed from the pool area or from the bench at the end of the dock. The Howards made sure we had a fully stocked refrigerator for breakfasts and were happy to fill our special requests. Our hosts made several dinner reservations for us while we were there and made several recommendations that were spot on! Bottom line: we will most certainly be repeat guests.


Pure Relaxation

4.2 on May 17, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a getaway close to home but far from the "maddening crowd". Miles River Guest House was just the spot! This charming guest house, surrounded by the beauty of nature and the amenities of Talbot County, provided us the perfect respite from our busy lives. We had all the comforts of home along with the charming attention of our hosts, Will and Dorothy. What better endorsement than to say, we will be back!


A gift

4.0 on May 02, 2011

Staying at the Miles River Guest House is a gift. Peace and quiet with the tranquil gurgling of the pool to lull you into nirvana. Will & Dorothy are the unassuming caretakers that cater to your every need when necessary. Your mind & spirit will be renewed when you return to "the real world". Priceless...


It's Hard to beat this view and the amenities

4.8 on February 24, 2011

The 'house' itself is as warm and inviting as can be -- just a great feel. Short easy drive to Easton and surrounding areas. Go check out the Blackwater Refuge. Will and Dorothy were very gracious, interesting, and charming. The serenity on the pier could not be beat....sitting right on the Miles River while playing with the geese, ducks, herons....and this was in February! I highly recommend this B&B.


Almost Like Heaven

5 on August 08, 2010

After spending a week at the Miles River Guest House, we are easily reminded of Mark Twain’s exhortation to “sing like no one's listening, love like you've never been hurt, dance like nobody's watching, and live like its heaven on earth.” A week at this wonderful guest house releases you of all inhibitions and stress, provides a refreshing change of pace and enables a respite quite unlike any other you have experienced. Your adventure begins with the turn into Quailsar Road, a tree-lined drive winding you back through a bucolic horse farm until you arrive at the end of the road and turn into the property itself. The guest house is situated on a beautiful, private, waterfront property with expansive views of the Miles River. Innkeepers Will and Dorothy Howard—and their yellow lab, “Murphy”—welcome you with every grace and hospitality conceivable. At the same time, they respect your privacy and allow you to enjoy the serenity of the guest house and all of its amenities in complete tranquility if you so choose. The Miles River Guest House is spacious and accommodating, and delights visitors with a fun collection of memorabilia, including a working jukebox. But the real treasure of staying here is simply enjoying the outdoors and sitting on the dock looking over the river. This piece of waterfront represents nature largely undisturbed since its creation and you would have to live through several lifetimes to experience sunsets like the ones you will see there. My wife and I found the guest house to be a perfect location from which to embark upon day trips to various points along the eastern shore. And, we always looked forward to “returning home” back at the guest house later in the day. By far and away, one of the best vacations and stress-busters we have ever experienced. We can’t wait to get back.


Wonderful getaway at the Miles River Guest House

5 on July 23, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Miles River Guest House. This bed and breakfast is an excellent place to escape from the hustle and bustle of normal life. It's situated in a serene location on the Miles River and offers amazing views of the water and water life. Sitting on the dock with a glass of wine at sunset is a must, while jumping into the inviting pool to cool off in the day shouldn't be missed. Our hosts, Will and Dorothy Howard, could not have been more friendly, accommodating or helpful. They were there when we needed them but also gave us lots of privacy. Their hospitality started even before we arrived, when Will asked if we had any special requests for breakfast and it continued over the weekend when he dropped off treats from a local fruit and vegetable stand, offered to make restaurant reservations, put us in touch with a massage therapist who came to the guest house and even brought out his historic 1950 MG TD. We also loved Murphy, the family's yellow lab/golden retriever mix. His tail was always wagging to welcome us back to the house. Enjoy your trip to the MRGH. Check out all the memorabilia that decorates the house. Enjoy the juke box, video game machine, telescope overlooking the river, kayak and much more. We had a great time and highly recommend this location and don't miss an opportunity to dine at some of the great restaurants along the water in nearby St. Michaels.


Great place to "fall off the face of the earth" and still be connected!

4.6 on August 15, 2009

My wife and three sons (6, 5, and less than 1) stayed here for a week in July and had a GREAT time. The Innkeeper, Will, was great. Swimming, fishing, crabbing, beautiful views, great accommodations, it all was perfect. Having St. Michaels 10 minutes away helped us get out and grab a classic Chesapeake Bay meal at the Crab Claw. This place provides the best of getting away with tons of privacy while still being close enough to shopping, dining, etc. We would definitely go back. Thanks Will!!


Water Music

4.6 on August 04, 2009

From time to time, we feel the need to 'get away' ... but not too far. Recently, we found the perfect place to go. The 'Miles River Guest House' is on a delightful creek of the river, between Easton and St. Michael's. Turning off on a tranquil road with a cluster of horse farms and some beautiful gardens, we arrived at what appeared on first sight to be a small house in park-like grounds ... but the house too is large when seen from the riverside. The guest house sits alongside the main house and flanks one side of the attractive swimming pool. It looks out onto the garden facing west and a breathtaking stretch of the Miles River. The guest house is spacious, comfortable and well-furnished, with a fascinating collection of memorabilia from the family's life. From the large open-plan room on the ground floor with French windows on the pool and garden sides, some easy stairs lead to a superb bedroom suite that occupies the whole of the second floor. There is a small second bedroom on the ground floor, together with a second roomy bathroom. The well-kept pool encourages you to sit or swim as an elegant bronze goose ('Lucy') doubles as a fountain and keeps you company with its 'water music.' There are lovely plantings all around, with chairs, umbrellas and a garden seat from which to enjoy a sweep of lawn down to the tree-lined river and a dreamy view of the setting sun. Last but by no means least, we were sensitively and quietly cosseted by the warmth, charm, and indeed love of our host and hostess, Will and Dorothy Howard. We have already planned to return. Why should we travel - we are 'almost there.'


Miles River Guest House

5 on July 26, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Miles River Guest House. How lucky we were to find it, a real piece of heaven tucked away in a beautiful part of Maryland. The house was wonderful, our hosts Will and Dorothy met us and showed us around the house which has a sitting room complete with satellite TV, dining area and a small kitchen as well as a second bedroom and accompanying bathroom. On the second floor is an impressive master bedroom complete with brass telescope looking out over the water, sitting area and bathroom. Outside is a gas barbeque which we made a great deal of use of as well as a pool. The house was very clean and tidy and our hosts were on hand to offer any advice or help that we needed. But at the same time were very particular in ensuring we had our privacy. The result was a fabulous vacation which we will repeat. We watched many a sunset over the river, caught crabs from the boat jetty which we cooked on the barbeque and enjoyed the odd bottle of wine as we watched the abundant wild life, including Eagles and Ospreys, on and around the river. The house is set in a very quiet spot but is only minutes from shops and restaurants in and around Easton which is a lovely unspoilt small town with a wonderful range of restaurants, great bars and a terrific ice cream shop. We had a great vacation.


get more for your money!

4.8 on July 13, 2009

My husband and I were looking for the perfect place to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We found it in the Miles River Guesthouse. For the price you'd pay per night for a room in other B&B's in the area, you get an entire guesthouse (2 floors) to yourself! you also have use of the pool and a kayak. A truly wonderful place to get away, and with gorgeous views of the Miles River. Highly recommended!


Great time

4.2 on April 14, 2009

Welcoming, comfortable, peaceful.


Great experience!

5 on April 13, 2009

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Miles River Guest House. It was so peaceful and the water views were wonderful!


Relaxing Getaway

2.8 on December 05, 2008

It was nice to have the guest house to ourselves and the view is beautiful! The whole area is wonderful to visit. While we enjoyed the privacy, it seemed little details were missing. The breakfast was okay but could have been better. They serve fresh pastries and fruit and cereal so that you can serve yourself in the house. Again, good privacy but could have been put together a little nicer. Overall the place was clean but small touches were ceiling fans and bathroom fans coated in dust. There was no way we were going to turn them on. Host is wonderful in making reservations in the area for dining and informing about the area. Overall we had a very relaxing time and may go back.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your return. We offer customized breakfast foods, so just let us know next time exactly what you would like. We have taken care of the dust on the fans. Thanks for letting us know!


Miles River Guest House

5 on October 10, 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was perfect. We were able to relax. The sunsets from the dock are amazing and the house was perfect for a getaway. Our host was wonderful and had many great recommendations.


Repeat stays, all wonderful experiences

4.8 on September 17, 2008

We’ve had the most wonderful experiences at the Miles River Guest House on multiple occasions. Memories from our first stay are frequently discussed and for my girlfriend’s birthday this year (and surprise marriage proposal) I again chose Easton as our destination. The proprietors added romantic touches to the House, arranged for excursions and dinner reservations, and again showed sincere thoughtfulness for their guests. When I walked my girlfriend out on the pier at sunset I could not imagine a more romantic setting to ask for her hand in marriage. Now, for a more analytical review: The Guest House is serene and inviting. You are The Guest, no adjacent rooms or “one-of-a-kind” bungalows; The House is yours and yours alone. During both of our stays we felt as if we were at our own private vacation home. The proprietors respect your privacy and yet have always been available when called. They have lived in the area for many decades and know the hidden treasures, the best site seeing spots, or who to call for a quick cruise around St. Michaels. They made the bulk of the arrangements for our “engagement” stay and could not have been more attentive. The House itself is spacious enough to comfortably hold 4-6 people, the kitchen and dining areas are well appointed with fine china settings and enough cookware to prepare a meal if you desire. A gas grill sits just off the patio. The living areas are warm and inviting and tastefully decorated with memorabilia. HD satellite is available though we used it only once during our stay. The outdoor areas are perfect for family as the pool is spotlessly maintained and the pier offers canoeing and a great view of the River. If you enjoy fishing or crabbing the pier is a great spot and a tasty treat. We’ve paid both the weekend and weekday rate and I’d have to say both are excellent values. We have experienced few downsides during our stays. Tops all around, highly recommended, and we truly look forward to our next stay.


memories on sunset

4.4 on September 01, 2008

a peaceful beautiful spot to share with someone special! Will and his wife are good people!


Great location to relax.

4.8 on September 01, 2008

Loved the location and the house. Will and Barbara were delightful hosts. Will definately go again.


R&R in Easton

3.4 on July 24, 2008

Lovely private riverfront cottage. Fabulous view, sunsets, kayaking, pool. Gracious hosts.


Perfect retreat for kayakers

4.8 on July 07, 2008

We just got back from a week at the idyllic Miles River Guest House, near Easton. The location is superb--a long view of the Miles River, exquisite sunsets, lovely guest house and private pool. The hosts--Will and Dorothy Howard--are gracious and attentive. We are kayakers, and the best part for us was exploring the Miles River and its creeks by kayak. We had our own kayak, but the guest house has a sturdy two-person kayak for guest's use. From the dock at the guest house, we were able to take 3 separate water trails--on two tributaries of the Miles and on Gloucester Creek. All three were tranquil and offered abundant bird-watching. We saw blue herons, osprey and eagles. The vegetation was varied and interesting. In our three midweek trips, the only other boat we saw was a commercial skipjack. This is a great place to kayak for beginners--the sheltered creeks offer wind protection and no need to worry about dodging power boats. More advanced kayakers will love exploring the endless miles of creek and rivers. We also kayaked at nearby Blackwater Nature Reserve. Compared with the Miles, we saw very little bird life and found the vegetation uninteresting. The guest-house is a very easy drive from the DC area--great for weekends or leisurely week trips. Easton had interesting shopping and great restaurants.


perfect retreat

4.6 on June 09, 2008

very relaxing- we wanted a getaway from our busy wokr and personal lives which we read. the cottage was very charming and the perfect retreat for us. thanks again for everything!


Great Romantic Getaway

5 on May 19, 2008

We had a terrific time in this very scenic setting on the miles river. The accomodations are really nice. Everything was perfect.


More Than Perfect

4.8 on February 20, 2008

In early December, 2007, we spent several days at this charming guesthose, seeking solitude, quiet and privacy to concentrate on writing a manuscript for publication. We found all of those features and many more. From the warmth of the inviting and spacious wood-paneled interior to the comfort of the leather sofas by the glowing fire, from the large dining table workspace with sliding doors on two sides to the handy compact kitchen, we found the first floor environment to be perfect for our purposes. The second floor offered a beautifully furnished oversized bedroom with lovely linens on the comfortable king bed, more interesting artwork on the walls and another full view of the tranquil setting of this cozy cottage. Geese and swans on the water nearby plus deer along the winding road approaching this tucked-away guesthouse added to our sense of being away from the swirl of everyday life. The innkeepers were very welcoming, willing to help make us comfortable and to find answers to any of our needs.


Must We Leave?

4.4 on February 19, 2008

Miles River Guest House is a very, very special spot. We loved being located at the end of a quiet lane on the eastern shore of Maryland. Beautiful horses greet you as you drive up to the Inn, and you immediately begin to feel pressures disappear and relaxation begin to take over. This B&B is quite special ... it is all yours .... a wonderful guest house with all of the comforts you could possibly want or need. Our visit was in January during the bleak of winter and we loved stretching out on the comfortable leather sofas in front of the fire. The view is wonderful and we can well imagine how delightful the setting will be in the spring and summer when we can take advantage of the pool and water facilities. There were no ameneties left for want and our only regret was that we were unable to spend more time just "chilling out" in this wonderful spot. However, we plan to return knowing that we will again enjoy a fabulous get away in a most special place owned by lovely people.


Tranquil Elegance

4.6 on February 19, 2008

This was a delightfully charming cottage beside the Chesapeake Bay. This guest house is beautifully appointed and provides direct access to a swimming pool beside the cottage and a broad view of the Miles River. A 30 second walk down to the dock provides a spot to watch eastern shore water-fowl and/or venture out with a kayak or canoe. The cottage is meticulously maintained and spotless. A great getaway place!


Miles River Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $250 - $300
  • Reviews (37) 4.6
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4108225553

Visit Website »

View details

Top