Ship Watch Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
43 Reviews

Write A Review

July 4th in Chesapeake City

4.8 on July 08, 2014

We loved the antique furnishings and were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of our room. This B&B has a wonderful view of the Canal and is just a short walk to the dock at the Chesapeake Inn where we had also rented an overnight slip for our boat. Our trip was unexpectedly cut short but we definitely plan to stay there in the future.


Cannot wait to return! :)

5 on July 07, 2014

I happened to stumble upon this place while searching for bed and breakfast places in MD. I am obsessed with MD, hoping to one day move here. After staying here I fell inlove with MD even more. The outside of the Inn looks like a painting or an old time photo. We were greeted immediately when entering with the friendly staff. We could smell something baking in the oven as our reservation was processed. We stayed in the Kent room on the third floor. Every room has an amazing view of the Cheseapeake Bay. The room had such a "home-like" feel. Outside our room we were able to sun bathe since there was no covered awning. Breakfast was served right outside on the balcony in the morning. The waffles were amazing and the staff SO friendly. They had snacks layed out for those hungry in the evening. Everything is in walking distance with multiple bars around town. I was able to capture many pictures of sailboats on the bay (another obsession of mine). There is not one thing we did not like about this place. My BF is already talking about going back. Also the prices were VERY reasonable which is another reason why we stayed here..we could not be happier woth our choice. We cannot wait to return. You will not regret staying here..believe me.


Can't imagine staying anywhere else!

5 on July 07, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to Chesapeake City and our 3rd stay at the Ship Watch. We've stayed in both Suites which are incredibly comfortable. We've also stayed in the Lent and Dorchester, both of which are charming. The food and service is supurb and the location is absolutely perfect. There is nothing more relaxing than just lying on your bed, looking straight on to beautiful C&D canal and waiting for big ships and barges to pass by. We've already booked for next year.


The Best B&B in Chesapeake City

5 on June 24, 2014

This is the best B&B in Chesapeake City! The view from the room was excellent, the rooms are spacious, the bed is so comfortable, it is so clean, and to top it all off... the breakfast is phenomenal! I would recommend this B&B to anyone! Also, this is the only place in town that does not have a 2 night minimum.


Cousin Retreat

5 on June 21, 2014

The Ship Watch Inn was everything I had hoped it would be. Unless you could arrange for more ships to go by while I was relaxing on the balcony (which I know you can't) I wouldn't change a thing. Where we were going to stay was a surprise to my cousin and she was as pleased as I was. Thank you.


A nice place to stay

4.6 on June 17, 2014

I really enjoyed our stay at the Shipwatch. The only problem I had was that people were allowed to smoke on the common porch. we had breakfast outside which was lovely but others were smoking while we ate.I would prefer a totally smoke-free environment.


Awesome Stay

5 on June 09, 2014

I took my wife to the Ship Watch Inn for her birthday. It was a hit and the staff was very friendly.


Lovely Getaway

4.8 on June 08, 2014

We have stayed here twice now. The Inn Keeper Renee is very friendly and accommodating. The view of the canal is breathtaking! Breakfast is served on the porch each morning. It is prepared by Renee, who is also a very good chef. The rooms are very clean and decorated to the period of the old shipping days on the canal. We will most likely return again and again. What a charming Inn.


Great place to be before and after my wedding!

5 on May 22, 2014

We stayed her the night before and after our wedding. The staff were so friendly and so accommodating. The breakfast was amazing!!!! They took care of everyone that was with me and didn't mind my bridal party getting ready there. The views from the balcony were great! Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a nice quiet relaxing get away.


Great Girls Getaway

4.4 on May 20, 2014

Everything was exactly as we wanted. Lovely room and very nice breakfast! We'll be back!


Very Relaxing!

4.4 on May 05, 2014

We spent a very relaxing weekend at the Ship Watch Inn! The views are amazing and the porch outside our room overlooked the water. The breakfast was fresh and substantial. I highly recommend this lovely inn for anyone wanting to decompress.


Weekend Stay

4.0 on May 05, 2014

We had a wonderfully relaxing weekend in the Talbot Room. It was just warm enough for us to enjoy the veranda. The town is so quaint with lots of shops and restaurants to tempt you. We would stay here again.


Nice Getaway!

4.4 on May 02, 2014

Very nice place. Reminded me of my grandmothers home. Tv noise from other room was a bit loud. Great view and food was good. Very cozy.


SUPER HOSPITALITY

3.6 on April 27, 2014

My husband & I stayed in the Dorchester Room #7 which was perfect. It was a bit chilly so we didn't get the opportunity to eat on the patio. When making the reservations I should have asked about the "snacks" because I saw some pretzels in a jar that was for everyone to help themselves. I don't eat food that everyone touches,that grossed me out.There were also some cookies and a few cupcakes...although I love fresh baked goods I try to eat well and would have loved some healthy choices. Maybe homemade granola bars could be added. Breakfast was a HUGE disappointment..We were offered scrambled eggs or a ham & cheese omelette.. Sadly we left hungry..... If your going to do 2 options they should be different and exciting...These choices were mundane.. As for the service WE LOVE TATUM!!!! Such a sweet young lady with a wonderful future planned... She will missed on our next visit. Overall you can't beat the views and the house is beautiful:)


What a wonderful place

5 on April 25, 2014

Firstly, Chesapeake City, MD is one of the most pleasant, quiet, and quaint little out of the way places you'll find, with plenty of character, charm, and shops! The Shipwatch is just great, with a very comfortable and well-appointed, "home away from home" feel. I loved it!


Great view

4.4 on April 16, 2014

The rooms are wonderful, the view is spectacular. The food... needs improvement. Only choice was Eggs Benedict, some of us did not eat at all and those who did.. well we all went to breakfast elsewhere after. We will surely be back, but will plan to just go out for breakfast. Very nice and friendly staff too.


outstanding athmosphere and service

4.4 on April 06, 2014

stayed in various rooms, perfect cleanliness and equipment. In some rooms a table ( to work on) is missing.


Very nice B & B

4.0 on March 27, 2014

My son's wedding was held at the Chesapeake Inn on March 22nd. We had all 8 rooms at the Ship Watch Inn. It was a wonderful experience. The place is very clean, no bed bugs!! I walked around the house with white socks and not a speck of dirt on them. I soaked in the Jacuzzi tub in my room for two hours after the wedding because my feet were killing me. I would return again. The only suggestion I might have is that it for the breakfast, it would be nice if there was a choice of two things, in case someone didn't like one maybe they can choose the other. Other than that it was great, very pleasant and accommodating staff as well. Michelle, Media, PA


Wedding weekend

4.2 on March 25, 2014

My husband and I just got back from our wedding weekend in Chesapeake City. Our wedding party stayed the weekend at the Ship Watch Inn and it was absolutely perfect! It was the first time we ever stayed at a B&B and I was so pleasantly surprised. When we arrived, Renee got us checked in and we unpacked our bags. Each room has such charm and character—and not to mention a gorgeous view! Breakfast was delicious each morning, the hot tub offered a perfect spot to relax, and the weekend was wonderful. I highly recommend the Ship Watch Inn to anyone staying in Chesapeake City.


Warm Hospitality

4.8 on March 11, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Annapolis Suite for our 22nd anniversary. The room was clean and beautiful! But the highlight for us was the warm hospitality. Renee was so kind in preparing us a "special request" delicious oatmeal and fruit breakfast as we were on a fast for Lent at the time. She also had time to share some stories of the canal. We were then privileged to see quite a few barges and 2 big ships pass through. The ships were breathtaking! Would highly recommend this inn in this lovely quaint non-commercialized town. Great restaurants, adorable shops, and lovely walks.


Special Valentines Day...

4.8 on February 22, 2014

What a wonderfule and comfortable B & B. Stayed in the Talbot Room with an awesome view and a very relaxing breakfast served the next morning. Highly recommend to everyone looking for a nice stay in small town America.


great :)

5 on February 19, 2014

Everything was great at this bed and breakfast! We actually felt like we were in a home away from home. View was great and staff great as well. All rooms clean and we had everything we needed for a nice romantic getaway! Breakfast was tasty :)


Beautiful, but...

3.4 on August 10, 2013

We had a great time at the Ship Watch Inn. The rooms were very pretty, and comfortable. We were pleased overall with our stay, and would return. However, in the interest of excellence, there were a few issues I believe should be addressed. Our rooms were clean, but there was a ring of build up around the tub. Our breakfast (Belgian Waffles with fruit, was really disappointing, and my biggest complaint. The waffles were all very dry and dense, sort of powdery, if you will. The fruit was tasty, and there were lots of drink options. The guest pantry ran out of water, and it was never restocked. Upon checkout, the teenage cleaning crew was there, and VERY anxious to begin, apparently. They were standing at our door at ten till eleven, arms crossed, leaning against the wall. It seemed very tacky and rude. However, the young lady that served our breakfast on the second floor, was extremely nice, and very helpful. Despite these criticisms, it is a lovely Inn, and we enjoyed ourselves. These are just things that if improved, would put it in my 5 star category.


Beautiful visit back home.

5 on May 30, 2013

Moved from Chesapeake City to Charleston a couple of years ago and when I decided to make a trip back home naturally I decided to stay in this beautiful town that I love. Shipwatch, located waterfront on the C & D Canal was the obvious choice. The interior is beautifully decorated in Victorian style and there is a wonderful upper porch where you can sit and watch the big ships make their way through the canal, and enjoy the lights from Schaefers Canal House restaurant and marina across the water. The rooms are beautifully appointed as well. Renee, the hospitable innkeeper will make you a fabulous breakfast each morning in the dining room (my favorite room here...it is gorgeous) My only negative for the Inn is the heavy presence of fragrance in the rooms. Between plug-in air fresheners, incense oil sticks and perfumed fabric softener used on all the bedding I got a splitting headache and had to remove everything I am allergic to. Would advise those with allergies to mention this ahead of time so as to have room ready for your arrival. I can't wait for my next visit home and another stay at the Shipwatch.


Tranquil

5 on April 17, 2013

Serene Beautiful view of the canal from porch outside bedroom Delicious cupcakes at check in :) Wonderful experience!


A pleasant surprise

5 on September 26, 2012

We were traveling back to NY from VA and decided to stay overnight along the way. We didn't know anything about Chesapeake City, MD, or the Ship Watch Inn. We are so glad we decided to stay there! The Inn was perfect - rooms, hospitality, breakfast, layout, porches, and more. The small City itself was charming with great views, restaurants and shops. In the future, we will plan another trip to the Ship Watch Inn for sure!


Relaxing and Enjoyable!

5 on September 20, 2012

Balcony view made our stay wonderful! The staff was polite and breakfast hit the spot. The city is quaint and fun to explore too!


Exceptional stay

4.8 on June 03, 2012

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding that was at the Chesapeake Inn and our stay just added to our awesome weekend. Renee was so sweet we wanted to take her home with us. Awesome homemade waffles! The views are spectacular and we were lucky enough to see a huge cargo ship. Rooms were spotless and the inn was well maintained with clean, modern bathrooms. Will definitely be going back! Thank you for great memories.


Anniversary Stay at Ship Watch Inn

4.0 on August 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ship Watch Inn for our anniversary in August 2009. The view from the balcony was fantastic. The breakfast served on our balcony was wonderful. We booked a small room with a queen bed for a good price since we knew we would be outside on the balcony more than inside the room. Baked goods, water and soda were complimentary during our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. We would stay there again.


Lovely - and quite relaxing.

4.0 on June 12, 2009

We have just returned from the Ship Watch Inn and found the entire experience to be wonderful. The Inn was very clean with a fantastic location and interesting furnishings. Breakfast was delicious, and there was an abundance of desserts, snacks and drinks available at any time. We are already planning a return trip.


This place has it all

4.4 on June 08, 2009

We spent a night at the Ship Watch Inn, a last minute decision that we are so glad we made! A great advantage here is that the SWI allows one night stays, invaluable to people like us with small children who sometimes get away for one night but rarely more. The second best thing is that it is so close. Only a little over an hour drive from our Main Line home and we were in a whole new world. Who knew! If you looked up "quaint" in the dictionary, you'd find this town. Adorable old homes and shops and restaurants, all in a few blocks radius that just begs for you to get out and stroll. All in view of the gorgeous C&D canal, a lovely waterway abounding with pretty boats and interesting ships and charm. The Inn itself is perfectly situated on the water with views from every room. Come and go from your room through the Inn or down the outside stairs from your balcony overlooking the canal. We spent the first morning walking the town, and afternoon sunning on the balcony, watching the boats. After drinks at the Chesapeake Inn, and dinner waterside at Bayard House, we enjoyed the SWI's hot tub under the stars and then our jacuzzi bath in our room. There was a wedding party staying next door, getting prepped for the nuptuals. They were relatively quiet, but it would have been nice if this had been mentioned to us when we made our reservation. On the down side, and these are sort of nit-picky, the room was freezing and I couldn't figure out how to adjust the a/c. The a/c also made a whooshing sound that kept me awake. There were some yucky hairs in the bathroom and some cobwebs in the corner, but overall the place was very clean. The walls are thin and you will hear your neighbors come home at 2:00 a.m. The morning breakfast is served outside your room on the deck, weather permitting. The service, coffee and french toast were excellent, the sausage not-so-much. Overall, I highly recommend the Ship Watch Inn. You'll be pleasantly surprised.


Great town!!

5 on May 07, 2009

Very clean.. Great views of the canal. Very good breakfast. Can not wait to come again!


Just like going home....

5 on February 11, 2009

My husband and I found the Shipwatch Inn over 3 years ago.....we love it. Renee always makes us feel like family and the rooms are like home. We've stayed in just about every room and can honestly say we have no favorite. The beds are so comfortable, the view is unbelievable, and the breakfast is delicious!! We "go home" at least 3-4 times a year and made sure to go at different seasons. It's always welcoming and the people in town could not be more accomodating. Can you tell how much Lucy and Ethel love the Ship Watch Inn?


Annapolis Suite

5 on January 02, 2009

I would recommend the Annapolis Suite to anyone. The view was breathtaking, the room was immacualte, and the bathroom was outstanding. It had a large jacuzzi tube as well as a seperate shower. The service was excellent and I can't wait to return.


room with a hew

5 on November 04, 2008

The Ship Watch Inn B&B was a wonderful place to stay with a beautiful hew. The rooms are spacious and clean. I loved sitting on the porch outside my room. Relaxing, watching the boats pass!


What a little gem!

5 on September 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversayr and we had a great time. It is very clean and quaint. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very courteous. The area surrounding the Ship Watch Inn was picturesque and there was always something to do. We definitely will be back.


My getaway

5 on July 14, 2008

My husband and I have been coming to Chesapeake City since 1995. I enjoy the view on the Inn right in the C&D Canal. The breakfast is served right outside your door on the porch. I love this place and people.


Christmas tradition

5 on July 07, 2008

Every year, one week before christmas when all the shopping is done, the presents are wrapped and the tree is trimmed, we book a overnight stay at the Ship Watch Inn, we take our two daughters and their grandmother. It was a tradition we started 9 years ago and every year it just gets better! The inn is alway decorated so festive and beutiful, the rooms are so cozy and tastefully decorated, we usually make dinner resevations for after we check in, after dinner we enjoy the hot tub, while watching the ships go by, and the next day we hit the charming stores located in chesapeak city for some last minute christmas shopping! This is something we look forward to every year!!


Where to go when you just want to relax

5 on June 18, 2008

Every year, my wife and I make a point of going to the Ship Watch Inn just before the start of the school year. It is a guaranteed way to relax and prepare for the beginning of school. Only an hour away from West Chester, PA, it is a completely different and welcome environment.


best b&b ever

5 on May 28, 2008

We reserved rooms for friends & ourselves without seeing the Inn. We had beautiful rooms. They were helpful making reservations at the restaurant on short notice (and getting us good seats on a very busy night) The whole experience was wonderful & we will be back soon.


Fantasy Honeymoon

5 on February 27, 2008

This place was absolutely stunning. The romance, the history and the SUPER nice people will keep you wanting more. We booked the Annapolis Suite and it exceeded our expectations with its tasteful decor, jacuzzi and balcony. I'm definitely coming back!


Best view of ship traffic

4.8 on November 06, 2007

The hot tub is great!


Wonderful

4.0 on August 22, 2007

Thank you for such a wonderful and memorable time at Ship Watch Inn. The rooms, service, location was great. I'm wish I was able to get 2 days and not just one day there. Looking forward to a return visit. Thank you again for everything !


Ship Watch Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $245
  • Reviews (43) 4.7
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4108855300
  • Fax 1-4108855311
  • Toll free 1-8773355300

Visit Website »

View details

Top