Scotlaur Inn Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.6
  • Services4.1
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

DON'T WASTE TIME LOOKING FOR BETTER, THIS IS EXCEPTIONAL

5 on August 01, 2013

AS A TRAVEL AGENT I HAVE BEEN MANY PLACES IN M Y LIFETIME. SCOTLAUR INN HAS OLD WORLD CHARM, WHAT ONE WOULD WANT FROM AN INN IN MARYLAND. THE OWNER, TED, IS VERY MUCH A WONDERFUL HOST, AS ARE ALL HIS EMPLOYEES. YOU WILL NOT FIND ANYTHING MORE CLEAN, FRIENDLY, GREAT FOOD, VERY COMFORTABLE BEDS, THE PRICE IS UNBEATABLE, ATMOSPHERE ABOUNDS. THE INN IS QUIET, WALK DOWNSTAIRS TO BREAKFAST, LUNCH , DINNER. THE FOOD IS A BARGAIN IN PRICE AND QUALITY. EVEN IN THE DEAD OF WINTER THIS PLACE IS THE PERFECT LOCATION, QUALITY, PRICE.


Right on Main Street

4.8 on June 05, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Scotlaur Inn. I wasn't expecting it to be located where it was on Main Street, or above the Delly. I think that was my fault, though, and not because the information wasn't available to me. I had been looking at several places to stay online and got the images mixed up in my head. In spite of that, I found the Scotlaur Inn to be exceptional in service, friendliness, and charm. The people were kind and helpful and fun. The room was fantastic, clean, and had all the essentials. The breakfast was wonderful, delicious, and numerous options were available. Plus you could add on to whatever meal you chose for additional cost. The location was perfect: right in the heart of the shops and restaurants, and close to the water. Everything was easy to walk to. My biggest complaint would have to be parking. There are meters, but only for 2 hours, and there is a parking garage, but it's expensive! The Inn does give you a validation ticket, which gives you half off the total, but it's still pricey. Overall, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others as well.


Lamentable

1.4 on May 08, 2013

Room was so small that we needed to move out to open our suitcases. Internet doesn't work at all during our stay. The guy in charge was........better not say. and photos doesn't match what we found. Something to forget about.


One of a Kind.

4.0 on January 05, 2013

The Scotlaur Inn is located above the locally celebrated Chick & Ruth's Delly - a hole-in-the-wall-style eatery with character that does not ever quit. The rooms are clean and respectable, and at 8:30 AM (9:30 on SA & SU), all activity stops in the Delly, so that all those inside can pronounce the Pledge of Allegiance. This was the highlight of my trip to Annapolis. Don't miss it. David Larousse


Overnight in Annapolis

3.4 on May 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at the Scotlaur Inn for the night to enjoy Annapolis on our way to my son's wedding in Ocean City. The rooms were adequate and clean and the decor was what I expected for the value. Chick & Ruth's Diner was our choice for breakfast and the selections where what you would expect from a diner. If we travel to Annapolis again, we would entertain staying here again simply for the value.


Enjoyed the stay

4.0 on October 16, 2011

We have been to the boat shows for 30 years, but this was our first visit to the Scotlaur Inn.I own a business and most people want too much for their money, especially in tough times.I am a big man and walking up the stairs was a little tough and our room was small, with a double bed and a small bathroom. I found out that some of the rooms are larger. We had some of our friends with us and their room was small, but the rooms were clean. The best part is the people are so friendly and the service is great, especially having breakfast at Chick and Ruths downstairs. Chuck and Stewart were the best and I would go back just to enjoy the conversation with those guys. The bottom line is spend $ 140.00 night at the Scotlaur for the Boat show or go to the Marriott down the street if you can get a reservation for $ 485.00 per night. we will come again. Thanks to the great people


Charming, great value!

4.6 on March 26, 2011

We loved the quirky NYC Style Deli/Diner and the gracious owner/host, Uncle Teddy. The room was small, but comfortable, traditional and very clean. The "delly" food was excellent. The location, outstanding for downtown Annapolis. Only downside: bad cable TV service. Excellent value. Will visit again.


Breakfast tells all

2.2 on February 14, 2011

Listen, I own a buisness so I am not going to completly rip this place. The bottom line is the room is very small, the bath towels were 50 year old hand towels, and a place famous for huge portions of food (Man Vs. Food was taped here) has a special menu on the back for guests, Two baby eggs and a piece of toast, half a bagel and some margarine, 2 bisquick pancakes no meat no nothing. The breakfast was pathetic. Special 5 oz juice glasses.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry & don't know what to say. Our guest can see the size of rooms on our web site, I take the pictures my self and just what you see, maybe not the biggest but nice, just like size on the web site. They are clean and fresh looking. The towels are nice from a linen service and not old!!! We never serve 1 slice of toast or 1/2 a bagel. Our breakfast menu for inn guest is listed on our website and the guest are shown the menu when checking in. You have a choice. The pancakes are ALWAYS 3 large ones, The juice in is a 8 oz glass, (we don't even have a 5 oz glass). We use large eggs. I am don't know why this guest is getting their information from. Our restaurant is where you have breakfast and you I am sorry if someone was thinking they were going to get a 6 pound milk shake or 1.5 pound sandwich as seen on our show Man vs Food. If a guest wants large platters, of course there is an up charge. This is mentioned when they check in. Take a look at our web site and it shows, what you see is just what is given. Nice conformable rooms, Clean, your choice of breakfast, 2 eggs, order of toast, Fried potatoes, or Pancakes, juice & coffee, or muffins with juice & coffee. All of which is listed. Not a Colossal Sandwich or 1/2 pound Jumbo Lump Crab Cake or other items. I am sorry this person is unhappy, The information they put down is just not correct... I wish they would have told me of their problems. No guest complained to me about the things that were written here. Not Fair...


Chick & Ruth's Delly

4.6 on February 09, 2011

This is a great place to stay. It was perfect for a few days away. Annapolis is a lovely town to visit for a weekend.


Disappointed

2.2 on December 08, 2010

Arrival - met with helpful staff and taken to a small but clean room - not unexpected as I had read the reviews. The night was not restful - first the room alarm clock went off at midnight. Then at 3:45am the hotel building fire alarm went off - woke us up. We went outside, trying to observe if the building was experiencing a fire (over a deli) and waited for assistance - but none arrived. No staff, fire or police.. Called the owner after 20 minutes of very annoying alarm, someone finally turned it off at 5am. The biggest surprise was yet to come - developed bed bug bites as the morning went on. I have had bed bug bites once before and recognized them, at least there were only about twenty this time. Have since tried to contact the Inn via email - but no response so far.

Innkeeper Response
Hello, I first want to apologize for all the inconvenience!! I do remember speaking with you the morning after the events. I am sorry someone set the clock alarm and we didn't notice that. As for the fire alarm going off, it was a spike in the electric that made it go off and I was there in less the 15 minutes from when you called me and turned it off and made sure all was secured. Again, So sorry, that has never happened, a freak thing. Most important the bed bugs. Once you told me, we checked our selves and also call our exterminators in that day and they didn't find anything but did treat the areas just to be sure. I can get you a copy of the bill if you like, just so you know we are on top of it. When you spoke to me in the morning, I thought you were happy with our conversation and realized we were taking care of everything and you understood. We did a few weeks ago have some down time on our emails and I don't have one from you. I can assure you that I answer each and every email and want to please every guest. I would love to apologize in person for what happened again. I am sure you know sometimes things happen out of our control and are just mistakes. If you would please contact me, I would love to offer you a night stay on me to make up for the unfortunate happenings. I want to make each guest happy. I hope you will give us the chance to do that... Sincerely, Ted Levitt


The BEST stay in Annapolis, bar none.

4.8 on November 22, 2010

I have stayed at Scotlaur several times now (going back for New Year's, I hope, haven't bought plane tix yet), and cannot imagine staying elsewhere in the area. Yeah, a little bare bones - the rooms are small, small showers, no frills. But this is an incredible bargain, VERY friendly and homey. Great deli food downstairs, with a good free breakfast every day. Surprisingly quiet upstairs considering the location, which is in the middle of everything. You get half off a parking lot nearby, but unless you are headed over to DC, plan on leaving you car there while you stay, because you can walk everywhere from Scotlaur. The quaint charm of this place cannot be beat, nor can the value it offers. You cannot find this kind of price anywhere else if you want to be right downtown, and frankly, can't find this kind of charm and personality anywhere else either. Love this place.


Scotlaur Inn

4.8 on November 10, 2010

They insisted on getting my bags from the car, down the street, carrying it up two flights of stairs. Had trouble adjusting the heat, they came right up and checked on me in 15 minutes to be sure it was working. Very informative and friendly would stay there again. Very clean and the breakfast food was terrific.


lucky strike!

4.2 on October 07, 2010

We weren't even thinking about going to Annapolis... and then we got lucky not only with the Scotlaur Inn! For us the best combination for a stay in Annapolis: the B&B right in the center, the "naval" flair and getting everywhere by food!


B&B in the heart of downtown Annapolis

5 on September 09, 2009

Fantastic Location. This B&B is above Chicken Ruth's (a longstanding diner) in the heart of downtown Annapolis steps from the dock area, St. John's College, the state Capital and the US Naval Academy. Rooms are cozy (on the smaller side) and exceptionally quiet. Free WIFI. Great diner with all inclusive menu downstairs. Fantastic value for the location. Garage parking immediately behind B&B with 50% B&B discount. I paid $8.00 for 24 hours. I would stay there again.


Location, Location, Location!

4.0 on August 23, 2009

My wife and I love staying here. It is in downtown Annapolis and very convenient to everything. The breakfasts in the Deli downstairs are a great start to the day and fun too. Rooms are reasonably priced and nice but this is a little different than your typical B&B.


Great location

3.0 on August 05, 2009

This is a very unusual B&B. It is a 3 story row home with a restaurant on the first floor. Service is friendly, food good,unpretentious. Location perfect for seeing Annapolis. There were about 40 steps to our third floor room. If you like B&Bs to meet the owners and smooze with your fellow adventurers then this is not for you. If you want a good value in a great location in a nice city this is the ticket.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry if we missed this guest. But we do take a day of or two once in a while. We do how ever have a great GM that is a part of our Inn & Restaurant that love meeting and speaking with the guest when we are not there. Again, sorry we missed you. Not often we are not there...Glad you enjoyed


Scotlaur Inn

4.4 on March 27, 2009

I was visiting my boyfriend at the Naval Academy and needed a safe and comfortable place to stay. The Scotlaur in is in a GREAT location! The service is amazing and the staff is wonderful. They made me feel so welcome and took care of me. Will be staying there again when visiting :)


Great inn-great price

3.8 on December 01, 2008

It's bare bones, but the value is great. Everyone's very friendly, too!


Great value in center of historic district

4.2 on November 23, 2008

Upside: Great value, lots of local history, owned by same people who own and operate Chick and Ruth's Deli (with great food) on first floor, free breakfast, owner and employees are wonderful to talk to and get to know. It seemed like all the local characters ate breakfast at the deli. Downside: Room was small, no elevator to rooms (all of them are up a long flight of stairs), no free parking Conclusion: We would definitely use this B&B again and recommend it to anyone seeking a good value for their money within an easy walk to the historic center of Annapolis.

Innkeeper Response
Hello, We now offer a sticker that give all our guest 1/2 price on the parking in the Noel Hillman parking lot right our back door. I hope this helps. Thank you.


Scotlaur Inn

4.8 on October 27, 2008

nice stay. everything was excellent


home comfort

4.8 on October 27, 2008

The Scotlaur Inn is the perfect stay in Annapolis. The family makes their guests feel like one of their own, and the tradition of Chick and Ruth's gives guests a true taste of Annapolis.


We pledge Allegiance to the Scotlaur Inn

3.8 on October 24, 2008

The Scotlaur Inn offers cozy, quaint rooms with early 1900's decor, with private baths (showers). The inn occupies the 2nd and 3rd floors above Chick and Ruth's Deli. Teddy, owner, and his staff are friendly, and make you feel like you're family!


Scotlaur

4.6 on October 15, 2008

Excellent, unpretentious lodging and fun diner style deli downstairs. Great location in the heart of Annapolis.


Annapolis Respite

3.0 on October 03, 2008

Scotlaur Inn always provides me with a convenient, comfortable, and affordable weekend getaway. And although the room is small, it feels cozy & safe.


Scotlaur Inn

3.6 on October 03, 2008

Service & food were excellent. Very hospitable. Would definitely stay again.


The Character of Annapolis

3.4 on October 01, 2008

What a treat. The flavor of an iconic institution; with local characters, history & the warmth of friendship.


Main Street Convenience

3.6 on September 30, 2008

Above a famous deli on Main Street, this Inn features small, comfortable rooms, walk-up entry front & back, a very friendly staff, and convenient access to historic Annapolis, the USNA, and the capitol. Quieter rooms are in the back.


in the heart of DTA!

4.6 on September 19, 2008

We spent Labor Day weekend in Annapolis for a concert at the Rams Head, a Navy football game, and the last play for the Summer Garden Theater. Staying at the Scotlaur Inn meant once we parked the car, we didn't have to drive anywhere! The room was comfortable, and having breakfast every morning in the delly was great!


Annapolis Weekend

4.0 on September 07, 2008

Two things make this Inn very special. First, the courtesy and friendly staff at the Delly downstairs. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Second, the location in the heart of Annapolis is the best. Very much worth the visit.


Scotlaur Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $160
  • Reviews (29) 4.0
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4102685665
  • Fax 1-4102681098

Visit Website »

View details

Top