Get a free $50 Restaurant.com gift card with a $100+ purchase

Recent Reviews in Marietta, Pennsylvania

June weekend at the Ascot House at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Ascot house. It was our first stay at a B&B and from the time we made our reservations, Wendy was helpful sending us info regarding restaurants in the area. Wendy was the consummate host from the time we stepped foot in the door. The house was beautiful, as was the garden out back. We enjoyed wine and cheese both evenings with the option to be ourselves if we wished or enjoy the company of the other guests, as well as Wendy who is a most gracious host. We were greeted both mornings with a beautiful breakfast starting with fresh squeezed, juice, coffee, fresh fruit and as well as a beautiful served breakfast. It was one of the most enjoyable weekends we have had in a long time!

View more reviews for this inn


Worth Going Back! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2014

My wife and I arrived to find Wendy (owner and consummate hostess) and some of the other guests for the weekend enjoying the Spring evening together on the back deck. The hospitality and socializing was refreshing! The room was very nice and the building and garden beautiful. Breakfasts were excellent, as was afternoon/evening wine and cheese that grew into a small party with Wendy, ourselves, and a number of the other guests sharing wine and stories for hours into the night on the deck. Wendy can tell you all about local places to see and things to do, and even wandering the streets of Mechanicsville itself was enjoyable. We've stayed in a number of B&Bs over the years, but Wendy and Ascot House is the first that I really would like to go back to and visit again and again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding Weekend at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on June 19, 2014

We spent a lovely weekend at Ascot House when we were in Pennsylvania for my grandson's wedding. The house is stunning, and Wendy is a terrific hostess. Breakfast is a feast. We were impressed to find that all the other guests were visitors who had been there before. We sincerely recommend Ascot House.

View more reviews for this inn


Great town, great house, great hostess! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on June 15, 2014

We were thoroughly impressed with the Ascot House. Wendy, the hostess, was incredibly kind, generous, and pleasant. Our room was beautiful and very clean. We will definitely be recommending this place to our family and friends!

View more reviews for this inn


Escape Weekend at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2014

By far, The Ascot House is the most relaxing B&B you could ever escape to. Wendy, the proprietor and most gracious and elegant hostess welcomes you with wine and cheeses on the patio overlooking a beautiful garden. The house has a welcoming and homey atmosphere from the minute you enter till the time you leave!! The rooms are all different and have their own personality. There isn't one you wouldn't enjoy! Wendy is at your beck and call and has the best stories and recommendations for dining, places to go, wineries, etc. We stayed for two nights, but it is never enough time to fit everything in. That's why we will DEFINITELY be going back!! Thanks for everything Wendy! We love you!! Ann, Marianne, Chris, and Nancy

View more reviews for this inn


A quaint little town with a genuine hostess at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2014

Have you ever thought of staying in a little 'post card perfect' town off the beaten path? Tree lined streets, well manicured old homes with a great inn and nice restaurants. And top it off with the most genuine hostess you will ever meet. Wendy, innkeeper and professional hostess makes you feel as if you are the most important person in her life. You can find great inns all across this country, but you will always remember and yearn to come back to that great hostess.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome- Wendy is the best! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on June 05, 2014

We felt so immediately welcomed by Wendy. Despite a misunderstanding in the room we got and whether or not we could bring our dog, she did not hesitate to accommodate us (and Chico!) as soon as we arrived. The house is beautifully maintained, the outside yard was impeccable. Thank you!!! Love, Kelly and Ted from NJ

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Mid-week Overnight at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2014

What a wonderful experience. The house is beautiful and our room was large, comfortable and exactly suited to our needs. We rolled into Marietta early evening, and after checking-in, walked to a local tavern for an excellent dinner. Upon returning to Ascot House, we had a very nice chat with Wendy in the parlor, before turning-in for the evening. I had an early morning phone-meeting, which I did from the parlor, and Wendy was so kind as to bring coffee while I worked. Breakfast was excellent, and we had to depart far too soon. We will be sure to return, and stay longer next time!

View more reviews for this inn


A charming home and an even more charming hostess! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on May 23, 2014

I just enjoyed a two weeknight stay at the Ascot House Bed and Breakfast in Marietta, PA and it was LOVELY. The hostess Wendy is a wonderful English lady, happy to regale you with great stories or listen to your own tales over wine and cheese in the evenings before retiring. She has a wonderful touch for romance and encouragement. Make sure you are ready to climb some stairs to get to your room--the building is 5 or 6 stories tall. I stayed in the Suffolk room and I was SO excited for the Jacuzzi in front of the gas fireplace--it did not disappoint. I also went on a Living Social deal (that made it more affordable) which included a gift certificate to the Accomac Inn nearby in York, and Wendy was happy to make lunch reservations for us. She also surprised us by letting the Inn know in advance that my husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we got some surprise chocolate covered strawberries with whipped cream at the end of our meal. I really felt sad as I hugged Wendy goodbye after having the run of her beautiful home for two days. Make sure to check out the room descriptions on their website, and check availability for the room that sounds most appealing to you! I would highly recommend the Suffolk room for both couples and individuals. And--some nights the train goes by really loud. Look in the bathroom for the disposable ear plugs!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on May 14, 2014

My husband and I celebrated his 50th birthday here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfast delicious! Wendy is a wonderful hostess who truly loves her job. A lot of interesting area attractions to explore. A great experience all around

View more reviews for this inn


BEST B&B! at BF Hiestand House B&B (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2014

My husband & I live in the Phila area and wanted to get away, stay local to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Our visit here by far has been better than any of the many B&B's we have been to. Pam & Dallas hospitality is superior. Pampering and feeling right at home. They have paid special attention to the smallest details to make our stay the best ever. Excellent customer service and décor and cleanliness impeccable! Pam went out of hear way to make and serve a gluten free breakfast that was delicious! 5 STARS! And, enjoy your stay here you made the right choice! Candy & Freddie Pack

View more reviews for this inn


Very best B&B! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2014

My husband and I were married here and return every year on our anniversary. Ascot House is absolutely gorgeous and the gardens are incredibly beautiful. The very best part of Ascot House is Wendy. She's attentive, funny, informative, a fantastic cook and the perfect hostess. We always enjoy sharing wine, cheese, and conversation with her in the parlor and her breakfasts are always outstanding. Staying with Wendy is like staying with family and there is no other B&B that compares.

View more reviews for this inn


Three stars means met my high expectations at BF Hiestand House B&B (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

3.2 reviewed on May 02, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely weekend at the BF Hiestand House B&B. I have very high expectations. It was everything a B&B stay should be. I have come to expect clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated B&B's. We enjoyed the special two person shower in the Susquehanna room. Breakfast was delicious. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. There were many niceties: scented soap, chocolates, soft sheets, white noise machine, local info, and more.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and Charming Bed and Breakfast at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on April 30, 2014

The hospitality and service were phenomenal; the food was exceptional and the room was just lovely for the proper engagement setting...I would highly recommend staying at this fabulous bed and breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Wow! at BF Hiestand House B&B (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 27, 2014

We stayed at the B&B this past weekend. It was our first time staying at a B&B and we would most certainly do it again; especially one owned by Dallas and Pam. First and foremost, Pam can cook the heck out of some food!!! Both our meals were top notch. Her husband Dallas was so helpful in planing day trips and restaurants to visit. The rooms were very clean, the house was beautiful and had great history. Their BIG 120 pound lab Quincy was friendly and sweet. I would rate the whole experience a 10 of 10. They made B&B fans of us! Thanks for making our anniversary trip a great experience!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on April 21, 2014

Very nice B&B. Manager and cook were very helpful and the breakfast and late tea were exceptional. I plan to return for another stay

View more reviews for this inn


An Amazing Experience!!! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2014

I was looking for something to do with friend in Dec of 2013. I read reviews about Ascot house and decided to book it. My friends and I had the most amazing time with Wendy the owner. She makes you feel like family. Before I left that weekend I booked another weekend in March so I could go with my husband. He loved it so much we booked again for April and we brought our kids who are 16 and 20. They loved her and want to go back again. My husband and I booked again for Sept. Going there is like visiting with your favorite relative who makes you feel so at home that you just want to keep going back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Weekend Getaway at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 19, 2014

This was our first time at Ascot House. It was highly recommended by friends who stayed there last year, so we went with them this year. It couldn't have been nicer or more comfortable. The B&B was immaculate and everything was in perfect working order. Wendy was the perfect hostess - she went out of her way to make sure we were happy with our room and everything about her beautiful 'home'. She set out wine and cheese for us when we arrived and made sure her breakfast menu's were to our liking. She was very interesting to talk to, and also gave us private time to enjoy our friends and her other guests. She made good recommendations about restaurants and things to do, and provided information about many of the attractions in the area. We had a GREAT and relaxing weekend getaway - it couldn't have been better!

View more reviews for this inn


Everything wonderful - would return at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2014

Bob

View more reviews for this inn


a lovely weekend getaway at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend our mini-honeymoon. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and had a great little gas fireplace that made it nice and warm (and it was cold out!). Just after arriving, we were offered all sorts of wine, local cheeses, and fruit in one of the sitting rooms, and were joined by some of the other guests arriving that day. We stayed two nights, and breakfast was both plentiful and varied between the two mornings we ate here. What really made the house unique and memorable was the attention from our hostess, and her great and knowledgeable suggestions. With her help, we were able to plan our day trip to hit all the things that were most important and interesting to us, which was especially important since the weather was a bit iffy. We're excited to come back in the future, hopefully with our dog, since certain rooms are allotted to allow dogs to tag along. Also, Wendy is just highly personable and hilarious, and made us really feel at home. This is definitely somewhere we will recommend to friends and family.

View more reviews for this inn


Worth The Trip at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 05, 2013

This is a excellent b&b. The owner and host, Wendy, is very pleasant, fun loving, and above all an excellent host. This is the second time my wife and I have stayed here. This was for the Christmas House Tour. We really enjoyed ourselves. We liked this b&b so much we have already booked for next year for the Christmas House Tour. You will never regret staying here. The decor and breakfast is way above average.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful and relaxing time at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ascot B & B for three nights in November and had a wonderful time. Wendy is a warm and welcoming hostess; she made us feel relaxed and welcome the minute we walked in the door. Our room was immaculate and very large. Wendy went above and beyond what she needed to do in order to make us feel comfortable. We were unfamiliar with the area, but all the recommendations on restaurants and activities were spot on! I would certainly recommend the B & B.

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience! Can't wait to go back! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2013

The Ascot House was absolutely wonderful. We are locals and went for a weekend getaway. The house is beautiful and you couldn't ask for a better hostess than Wendy. She knew alot about the area and restaurants and had great recommendations. The afternoon tea and wine/cheese in the evening made our stay even nicer. The breakfasts were delicious. We are definitely planning to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Stay at a B&B at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on November 15, 2013

The ASCOT HOUSE is a awesome place to stay. Wendy is a amazing host, she greeted us every night and again in the morning. The room was clean and the entire house was amazing. I will visit the Ascot House again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to BB in historic Lancaster, PA area at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2013

My wife and I have been here twice, once in January and once in May and we plan to revisit soon. Our first time we did not know what to expect since it was our first time going to a B&B. We were pleasantly surprised and had such a wonderful time despite it being so cold. Wendy is such a wonderful person and made the stay really nice. She is a great resource in the local attractions and we took advantage of her knowledge of the area both times. We stayed in the Bedford the first time and the Suffolk the second time. Both rooms were very clean and well kept. If you are interested in antique furniture and look of antique/old houses, you will not be disappointed here. The bathrooms were wonderful. Breakfast was great and fresh. Wendy really knows how to treat her guests well. We felt very much at home and welcomed in her home. The house is beautiful with a lot of character and Wendy has done a great job keeping it in good and original shape while updating it for modern amenities. We would gladly reccommend Ascot house to anyone thinking of going to Lancaster but doesn't want to have the hotel stay experience.

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect weekend getaway! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing weekend away, exceedingly comfortable accommodations, and an incredibly warm and engaging hostess, look no farther than Ascot house. Nestled in picturesque Lancaster county, this bed and breakfast meets and exceeds all expectations. The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms (especially those with double tubs) are luxurious, and the house itself is brimming with fascinating history and comfortable nooks to relax in. Bookshelves filled to bursting (and Wendy has read them all), kooky UK board games stacked alongside classic favorites, and gorgeous Georgian interiors are some of the things you’ll encounter while walking the halls. Outside, an inviting patio gives you a wonderful view of Wendy’s beautifully landscaped garden, where four legged friends and their owners can throw a tennis ball or relax on lawn chairs. The kitchen is fully equipped and open for use between meals, which is a plus for twenty-somethings like myself looking to heat up a late night snack. The rooms offered a great deal of space and privacy so we were able to meet in one place and chat through the night without disturbing the other guests. The evening wine and cheese was the perfect way to end a long day of travelling, and Marietta and the nearby towns offered anything we needed insofar as groceries within a ten minute ride. The best part of our stay, as you’ll hear repeated in many reviews, was our hostess: Wendy. Wendy is a truly remarkable individual with a wealth of stories about the house, the surrounding area, and her own fascinating personal life. As a “concierge” she was incredibly helpful, steering us away from some of the local gimmicks and providing us information on an event that ended up being the surprise hit of the weekend: The Falmouth Goat Races! Between the rooms and Wendy’s constant attention to our needs, we felt as comfortable as if we were among family.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Stay at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2013

Exceeded expectations in all respects. Wendy is the perfect hostess. Excellent rooms and property. Large and superb breakfast. True English afternoon tea service. I can't think of any possible improvements.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Bed and Breakfast at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2013

It was the First time and my husband and I were able to get away for a weekend and it just an amazing experience. We really enjoy one another and sparked up our marriage.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Ascot House this past week and it was just great. It's a beautiful bed and breakfast with great character. We stayed in the "Surrey" room which was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was very large and comfortable for two. Wendy was a wonderful host who is very welcoming and friendly.. also extremely helpful in informing us about the area. I definitely recommend this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Marietta, PA at Ascot House (Marietta, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2013

I have stayed at the Ascot House several times over the last few years and I've always had a very pleasant experience. The rooms are elegantly appointed, yet the overall ambience is one of relaxation and comfort. The owner and her staff are attentive to the needs of all of their guests, making everyone feel welcomed and eager to return in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Ascot House (4.91)
  2. BF Hiestand House B&B (4.69)
Top
}