The Columns Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
8 Reviews

Write A Review

A little bit of heaven in downtown Winnipeg

4.6 on August 20, 2009

Our stay at the Columns, though only one night, was a wonderful experience. The house is a beautiful Victorian mansion located only a short drive off of Broadway. My travel plans were changed at the very last minute (literally only hours before I was to check in) and my needs went from a room for myself to also requiring accomodation for my husband and two small children. April was able to make the family suite available for us and welcomed us warmly several hours later than what I indicated to her that we would be checking in. The best part of all is how welcome she made my little girls (4 years & 8 months) feel...right down to a comfy playpen for baby and a magical window bed complete with stuffed animal for our 4 year old. The amenities in the room are beyond compare, what I would expect at only the most expensive hotels. These litle touches just made it that much more special. Last but certainly not least was breakfast, which filled even my ever hungry husband. We were treated to coffee, tea, juice, milk, cereal (lots of choice), toast, danish, coffee cake, cheese, fruit, yogurt, and the April made us amazing omelets! We will be sure to return again for certain and will recommend The Columns to anyone looking for an excellent place to stay in Wnnipeg.


Try it & you will love it

5 on January 12, 2009

The Columns is a full service Bed & Breakfast situated in Winnipeg's Downtown only a few minutes car drive to all of the major attractions in the city. The beautiful Victorian style house is a delight to your senses and features 3 beautiful rooms & 1 two bedroom suite, each decorated in a unique style. Well, I stayed at this lovely Bed and Breakfast for 10 days during August & September 2008 along with my daughters. We found both April and Diamond (Owners) lovely, helpful and very accommodating. The Suite (Crystal Heeg Suite) was fabulous and we found the breakfast to be wonderful The breakfasts were excellent and amazingly varied. The bedrooms are spacious, beautifully decorated with antiques and have extra comfortable beds. April is a very attentive host and made us feel like it was our home and not just a room for the night. We sometimes got back late at night and we had lovely chats in living room with the hosts. As with all older properties, almost constant maintenance is a must and The Columns is no exception. April has done an excellent job renovating and continues to repair or replace worn out parts of their home as required. My daughters and I have stayed at The Columns and will be staying many more times since I will be coming regularly to visit my daughter who is studying in University of Winnipeg. My suggestion is “Try it & you will love it.” MINNI VIG


It doesn't get any better!

5 on January 11, 2009

Recently had the immense pleasure of experiencing the hospitality and ambience at this unique and outstanding b and b. Close to mid-town activity yet situated in a quiet, historically interesting neighbourhood, the house itself has been tastefully and sensitively renovated, preserving its' heritage with a fresh, contemporary interpretation. As they continue to expand, this is no way detracts from the outstanding service and quality provided. The rooms are overly-generous in space and amentities and the beds provide for a truly heavenly night's sleep. April is a wonderful hostess - energetic, witty and attentive, as well as having culinary skills worthy of a five star restaurant. Her gourmet breakfasts are unbelievable and an evening sherry with her and Diamond invites interesting and lively conversation. One of our most memborable stays anywhere......


We will be back!

5 on January 09, 2009

Enjoyed our stay and how it felt like a more luxurious home away from home. The other guests were very interesting to visit with at breakfast and April was a most gracious host! Enjoyed visiting with her as well. Enjoyed learning a bit about the history of the house. We stayed for a weekend and April and Diamond were most accomodating and welcoming. Feel like we have made new friends with them and plan to go back again when we stay in Winnipeg again. :)


A home away from home....

4.0 on January 09, 2009

My family (parents, two brothers) and I stayed at the Columns during Thanksgiving weekend. It was the perfect place for a family reunion. April was very accommodating and is an excellent chef. Her breakfasts are delicious -- not only is there a selection of cereals, yogurts, fruit and pastries, she then prepares a hot meal, too. She offers afternoon tea and homemade baked goods and sherry and chocolates in the evening. We were spoiled!! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and stocked with the amenities of a fine hotel. We felt as though this was our home. On a future visit to Winnipeg -- I would definitely stay at The Columns.


The best part of our trip!

4.6 on January 09, 2009

We absolutely adored The Columns. The room and bathroom were so beautiful, with a luxurious, cozy bed and gorgeous dark wood furniture. The best part, though, was having breakfast (always delicious) and listening to April's stories!


Loved it!

4.0 on January 07, 2009

We went to The Columns for our Honeymoon and it was it was pure Luxury! We stayed in the Crystal Heeg suite. The bed was the most comfortable that I have ever slept in! The breakfasts were absoultely fabulous and the soaker tub was to die for! I enjoyed soaking and watching the Plasma which I found to be so wonderfully relaxing. The fully body shower was pretty neat too! April also made arrangements for us to have a massage therapist come to our suite which was an awesome bonus. We will go back again!


Nice place, But ...

3.0 on December 27, 2008

Had a great time ... the house is beautiful and the food was amazing. We stayed on the third floor where renos were still in progress ... we were able to look beyond that, but were dissappointed with the dirty floors and bathroom in particular. Cat hair everywhere, floors looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in a long time ... and the bathroom tub, shower, and water closet were in need of cleaning! All this considered, we still had a wonderful time ... our stay will remain a very fond memory!


The Columns

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 89 - CAD 185
  • Reviews (8) 4.4
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8777721626
  • Mobile 1-2045104803
Top