Get a free $60 gift card with a $300 gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Maitland, Florida

BUSINESS TRIP at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

5 reviewed on November 25, 2013

My husband and I went to Winterpark on business and we never unless we have to stay in a hotel. We travel on business most of the time we travel and feel that a B&B gives you a place at the end of the day where you feel like you are at home. Carol and Joe were both wonderful host and Carol still is at the top of her game even after 21 years of doing this. The details were quite nice, and I believe that she has thought of everything. The breakfast that she put together took you to New England, where she is from and you will as she puts its have a New England experience with palm trees. I know we will find ourselves in the Winterpark area again and I will call the Thurston House home once again. Thanks again to you both for making us feel so comfy on this in and out trip.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

5 reviewed on December 03, 2011

We celebrated our 2nd Anniversary at the Thurston House. It is so beautifully decorated, faces a lake and wonderful breakfast. A very peaceful stay with lots of extra perks. Judy and John

View more reviews for this inn


Just being a tourist at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

3.8 reviewed on August 18, 2011

Every year before school starts back up I take a trip and become a tourist. This was a lovely place. Would go back

View more reviews for this inn


Old Florida at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2011

Breakfast was artfully presented and very tasty. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with period pieces. The innkeeper gave excellent attention to detail and we were delighted to spend 2 nights in such a lovely setting. Just 10 minutes away from fine dining and shopping. Would highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


EXCELLENT BED AND BREAKFAST at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on February 17, 2011

Warm hospitality, excellent breakfast. Highly recommend this B&B

View more reviews for this inn


Old World Charm with New World Comfort at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

5 reviewed on December 11, 2010

One need look no farther than Thurston House for the elegant comforts and slow pace of a by-gone era combined with food beyond your wildest dreams and accommodating hosts. Tastefully inserted are modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi. We highly recommend this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautifully Restored Bit of Old Florida at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

4.4 reviewed on August 02, 2010

Thurston House is a lovely old home, lovingly restored, looking over one of central Florida's many small lakes. Breakfasts are good . . . and big; for my next visit, I will probably decline the hot entrees (oven omelets and the like) in favor of the fruit compotes and homemade muffins, which were different and delicious each day.

View more reviews for this inn


A Fabulous Mid-Week Respite at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

4.4 reviewed on July 31, 2010

I recently spent two nights mid-week at the Thurston House. It is conveniently located for easy access to a wide variety of cultural activities (the Enzian independent movie theatre, the Cornell Fine Arts Museum at Rollins College, The Morse Collection in Winter Park, the Mennello Museum, The Maitland Art Center, etc., ). Carole is a knowledgable and gracious hostess as well as an excellent cook. Breakfast was sumptious and filling. The hot and steamy weather precluded enjoying the lovely wraparound porch and the relaxing hammock on the second floor porch as much as I would have liked, maybe next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Winter Park Area Gem at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

4.4 reviewed on April 14, 2010

A quiet and relaxing retreat in a restored historic house run by charming and responsive hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Central Florida Charm at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2009

Minutes from bustling Orlando sits a charming pleaceful bed and breakfast with outstanding attention to detail. Innkeeper Carole Ballard goes over and above to make each guest's stay just right. Historic, breautiful and perfectly located. Rollins College & UCF. Near Winter Park as well.

View more reviews for this inn


1night- wanted more!! at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 15, 2009

Greeted on the porch by Carole and Joe. Friendly and hospitable. Beautiful room, peaceful and quiet- newly furnished 1800's home- Beautifully decorated- spacious. Lake, train in distance. Perfect! Delicious breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Secluded But Central to Everything at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

4.4 reviewed on April 11, 2009

A wonderful, inviting, and cozy place to stay. It was 5 minutes from our touring spot - Winter Park. The room and bath were attractive and nicely appointed. Our hosts, the Ballards, were fun and congenial, they joined us for wine and cheese every evening on the porch overlooking the lake. A nice bonus was the detailed local driving, dining, and touring information. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again at Thurston House.

View more reviews for this inn


Our best B&B experience yet! at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2009

I can not say enough good things about this B&B! The attention to detail, the great service, the beautiful house & room, the hosts, oh, and the breakfast! All within walking distance to a beautiful lake, park, shopping and restuarants. We enjoyed seeing the "otherside of Florida", meaning a great 1800's house in central Florida. Our only experience of FL before has been the southern parts in beach locations and in modern FL style houses. Our hosts, Carole & Joe were just the best. Wireless internet was great! We have stayed in 4 other B&B's and they can't touch this one! Looking forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Secret Garden at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2009

It was as if I found the Secret Garden in the middle of Central Florida. Carole is a wonderful chef and hostess. She makes sure you feel at home during your stay at the Thurston House. I will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B Great Location at Thurston House (Maitland, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on January 18, 2009

Perfect location, excellent dining nearby, great nature walks close by, exceptionally well maintained B&B, great attention to detail throughout, candles in the fireplace and candles in bathroom with matches provided were a really nice touch, even considerate enough to provide relaxing CDs and CD player, from reservation to checkout, my stay was fantastic, I will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Thurston House (4.78)
Top
}