Bittersweet Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Best Bed and Breakfast experience ever!

5 on May 16, 2014

Victor and Ray are the owners and operators and they also restored this beautiful house. What a treat it was to find this B& B. We will go back again. The food and location could not have been better. We loved the Nubble Light House and it was a close drive away. We felt so welcome and were treated so well, it was an amazing stay! Thanks! Mindy and Nathan from Texas


Wonderful stay!

4.8 on June 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely night at Bittersweet Bed and Breakfast! The room was clean and comfortable. The innkeeper was friendly and accomodating, and even packed up some of his delicious blueberry muffins for us to take along when we left. We would definitely stay at Bittersweet again!


Quiet Life

5 on May 07, 2012

We recently stayed at the Bittersweet Inn and it was a very satisfying, relaxing visit. The rooms are immaculately clean. The breakfast food is superb, especially the blueberry muffins. Ray would not share his recipe!!! Enjoyced greatly!!! I would recommend this B&B.


Four Days in Paradise!

4.0 on March 04, 2012

After months of chatting on FB Bittersweet was the perfect meeting place for two people to meet for the first time. We were welcomed by a gracious host Victor. The breakfasts were delicious and served to us on the front porch of a period 10 room Farm House that takes you back to another era. The entire house was beautifully decorated with antique furniture and immaculatley kept. We loved everything about the location and the availability of walking to beaches and dining. Now that we are together we look forward to another memorable stay at our favorite B&B but most of all we long for Vioctor's homemade blueberry muffins!


Fantastic

5 on February 08, 2012

Our two night stay at the Bittersweet could not have been any better, A lovely super clean bed and breakfast, This was the first time we stayed at a Bed & Breakfast and it was a wonderful experience. . Thanks to the owners Ray and Victor..We own a home in York which we close down the winter months. We have now found a great place (Bitter Sweet) to stay several weekends during the winter months.. If you are ever in the York area this is the place to stay Donna & Steve


Christmas by the sea weekend

5 on December 12, 2011

We had an amazing time at the B&B this weekend. Victor made you feel right at home and was very accommodating.the rooms we very clean and cozy!! My husband and I look forward to our next get away weekend! Amber


Refined and Yet Casual Accomodation

5 on October 21, 2011

We stayed at Bittersweet for two nights at the end of our seventeen day trip to New England. What a wonderful way to end our trip. The home is beautifully renovated and has just the right amount of decor to make it comfortable. Our rooms were good and the breakfast fine, not fancy. I have decided that all B&B 's should have a Keurig coffee machine to cater to those of us who need a bit more caffeine in the morning as well as whenever we want. It is always awkward to have to ask for the innkeeper to boil water for tea. Having an electric kettle would help as well.


Great place to stay!

4.6 on September 27, 2011

My husband and I just got back from a 2 night stay here. The owners were great and made us feel welcome and were helpful in making suggestions of where to eat and things to see. The blueberry muffins were the best ever! The location is close to several towns and things to see. We hope to come back again! Allan & Angela


Wonderful Stay

4.0 on August 26, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay at Bittersweet B and B. Great welcoming - Great stay - Great breakfast. We will definitely come back very soon! Susan and Larry


A Charming Inn and Wonderful Hosts

5 on August 02, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our trip through Maine. The Bittersweet B&B was the last stop on a 10 day trip and ended the trip on a wonderful note. The room was spacious and sparkling clean, the common areas comfortable and accomodative. The fresh muffins and full breakfast was delicious. Thanks to Victor and Ray for alllowing us into their beautiful and historic inn. Great recommendations on hikes and dining helped us enjoy our stay. Try it, you will love the place and the owners.


Bittersweet B&B

4.2 on July 05, 2011

Its much better then the website shows. Everything is very clean and pretty! I definitely recommend this b&b!


Just wonderful!

5 on June 29, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved this B&B! Our room was spotless, the bed was really confortable, the towels were soft and thick, there was a quiet air conditioner in the window, the view of the property was pretty--it was great. Victor was a wonderful host-he was friendly, funny and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was yummy and his blueberry muffins are scrumptious. We will definitely stay there again and we are recommending Bittersweet to all of our friends. Thank you, Victor and Ray, for a terrific stay in York!


Loved it!

5 on August 23, 2010

Beautifully decorated home with comfortable rooms and hospitable innkeepers. Breakfast outside on the porch was the perfect start to our day. We hated to leave!


A very nice B&B

4.0 on July 08, 2010

My husband and I spent our 49th anniversary at the Bittersweet Bed and Breakfast and had a wonderful time. The house and grounds are beautiful. Ray and Victor are very hospitable innkeepers. I would stay there again.


Beautiful Maine

4.4 on June 30, 2010

We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. Both the property and the lawn/gardens are maintained meticulously. The rooms were attractive, clean, well kept. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of blueberry muffins to go around. Location was terrific, close to the Nubble Light in Cape Neddick, with easy access to Ogonquit, Kennebunkport, Wells, and the Kittery outlet stores. Thanks to Victor and Ray for making our stay a wonderful one. Ed & Mary Lynn


Can't ask for more

5 on May 25, 2010

3 wonderful nights with a great room, excellent breakfast and charming hosts. We'll be back and will recommend this B&B to anyone.


A Very Lovely Stay

5 on November 22, 2009

The 1910 Farmhouse was just lovely, filled with antiques and lovely hosts. The breakfast was home cookes, with blueberry muffins and we enjoyed hearing all about Maine and the history of the house from our main host Victor. He was charming and funny and spent considerable time with us. The rooms were just beautifully decorated and very comfortable with lace trimmed sheets. Parlor was lovely and we had a marvelous stay.


What a treat! And so affordable!

5 on November 01, 2009

We were so happy to find a last-minute room available for Columbus Day weekend. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to be able to walk in to town from a comfortable, clean, and reasonably priced place. Bittersweet B&B more than exceeded our expectations and our needs. Victor was such a gracious host (and made a delicious breakfast) and the room was spotlessly clean. I could not have been more pleased, and I highly recommend this place. Such a treasure!


Bittersweet Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 30, 2009

Your house is lovely and breakfast is great!


absolutely beautiful

4.0 on August 14, 2009

we had the opportunity to spend two nights at this wonderful B&B.everything about it is just lovely.the whole b&B is bright and cherry and extremely clean.the hosts victor and ray are great they were informative about the area and we enjoyed their conversations.we can't wit to go back.jan & noel


"peaceful and relaxing

5 on May 17, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a place to relax and get away from our hectic life. We were warmly welcomed and given a lovely room. Ray offered several wonderful suggestions for dinner and were not disappointed with our choice. The next morning we were served a lovely breakfast and we were able to relax and forget our cares for just a bit. We were also given a tour and a short history lesson on their home. All in all a lovely stay-we will definitely be back. Thank you Ray and Victor!!!!


A quaint getaway

4.0 on March 16, 2009

Bittersweet is not one of the big,expansive B&B's that are prevalent throughout York. Nor is it an ornate, Victorian themed B&B. Bittersweet is a quaint, clean and hospitable B&B. The Owners are friendly and down to earth. The Bittersweet is a fantastic value off season. The rooms are as low as $45 per night vs. $130+ for surrounding properties. The price even includes a full breakfast. We recommend Bittersweet to our friends and family.


This Inn was a great choice on all levels!

5 on January 04, 2009

I spent two days at the Bittersweet B&B. It was a pleasure on all levels. I was met at the door and felt welcomed from the first hello, both Ray and Victor were upbeat, helpful and personable. The rooms were pristine & well appointed. Each room has a bathroom with a shower, some had an extra sink in the room as well. A nice combination of rooms for families, singles. They even have a handicap accessible room off the dining room. An inn for all ages. On top of that it was affordable. I highly recommend this B&B.


Great B&B in York, ME

4.8 on October 23, 2008

We found Bittersweet B&B to be a great home base for our travels in southern Maine. The innkeepers are very nice and helpful, and breakfast is wonderful. The inn is very well-kept, yet comfortable. Overall, it was a wonderful stay, and we will definitely return.


Recent visit

5 on October 08, 2008

Never thought I could find a B&B as clean and comfortable as this one. Covenient to everything I was looking for. Hosts could not do more to be helpful even if I wanted them to be. Breakfast was very unexpected. Throw continental out the window, this was "made to order". Can't wait to return!


Pleasant and cozy

4.4 on August 13, 2008

We felt welcomed and well served.


Bittersweet Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $165
  • Reviews (26) 4.7
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2073513007

Visit Website »

View details

Top