Old Winterport Commercial House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
52 Reviews

Write A Review

Our Visit to the Coast of Bretagne

5 on December 11, 2013

Exquisite appointments and far better than home (any of them)!


1st Time at B&B & loved it

5 on December 11, 2013

Great stay, love the antiques in every room, owners wonderful.

Innkeeper Response
We are very glad you'd enjoyed your stay! Have a Merry Christmas.


Fabulous B&B

5 on November 25, 2013

Ann and Ray, our hosts, made our stay most welcoming and enjoyable. We felt like we were old friends come to visit. Ann's breakfasts were to die for! Can't wait to come back.


Intriguing history

4.2 on October 13, 2013

The accommodations were terrific, and Our hostess Ann was helpful and efficient. We enjoyed Winterport's winery (their cranberry wine, and warm mulled apple wine was out of this world! And the pizza place across the road provided healthy and tasty fare.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us and hope you'll come back and stay with us again sometime!


Excellent for many reasons

4.6 on September 04, 2013

Commercial House is an antique shop on the ground floor with wonderful items. Upstairs is the B&B. Lovely rooms. Breakfast room great - delish breakfasts. Ray and Ann are perfect!


Just what a B&B should be

5 on September 01, 2013

First time staying in a B&B and this was the perfect place to start. Ann (property owner) was incredibly welcoming. B&B is located above antique shop and is furnished with antiques. They even have a reading room for guests use. Highly recommend it.

Innkeeper Response
Glad you enjoyed our place. We like it here too. Please keep us in mind the next time you're in the area.


A little piece of heaven

4.4 on August 22, 2013

Going back in time for couple of hours, surrounded by beautiful things from a forgotten world. Clean and decent, a super breakfast for royals.

Innkeeper Response
Your title makes me smile ! Glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again.


Great Place

5 on August 21, 2013

I always enjoy staying at the Old Winterport Commercial House. Whenever, I'm in the Bangor area. It's lovely, clean and quiet and the breakfast is great!

Innkeeper Response
We enjoy having you here too! And thank you for your repeat business.


Wonderful innkeepers

4.6 on July 27, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and furnished with lovely antiques. The beds are very comfortable. The innkeepers are the best. They changed the furniture in the room to accomodate our needs and were very helpful and friendly, suggesting places to eat and how to get to various sights. Winterport is a lovely town and is convenient to both the Bangor/Orono area and the coast. They offer a variety of goodies for breakfast including an omelet and muffins made with locally grown veggies and fruit.

Innkeeper Response
We try very hard to accommodate our guests needs and we appreciate your business.


Old Winterport Commercial House

4.6 on January 19, 2013

Most excellent all around -- Great hostess!


Grenier

5 on January 19, 2013

Ann was very courteous upon my arrival and helped me with all my needs. Room was very clean and well-kept. Thanks for a great stay!


Old Winterport Commercial House

5 on January 19, 2013

Friendly innkeepers, well-furnished and stocked rooms -- good breakfast -- especially the muffins! Unique setting above and in an antique shop.


Old Winterport Commercial House

4.0 on October 13, 2012

A charming B&B with a wonderful breakfast and gracious hosts. Excellent value. We will recommend to friends!


Old Winterport Commercial House

5 on October 06, 2012

Always a pleasure to stay with Ann & Ray -- my favorite place to stay in Maine.


Awesome Stay

5 on September 23, 2012

I have never felt so at home than here. I will definitely stay here again & will tell everyone if they go to Maine they need to stay here. Thank you for the friendly service.


Old Winterport Commercial House

4.2 on September 12, 2012

A wonderful, historic B&B with comfortable, clean rooms & great innkeepers. We had a terrific night here and recommend it to travelers coming to the Belfast - Bangor area. Great value, too!


Awesome!

5 on September 06, 2012

Love the inn & owner.


Old Winterport Commercial House

4.8 on September 03, 2012

Fantastic. Service was great. Loved the fact that all antiques in room were for sale. What a great idea!


Just like home!

4.8 on July 23, 2012

Very clean, friendly, lovely room. Enjoyed the quiet time -- just like home!


Great first time experience!

5 on July 22, 2012

This was our first stay in a B & B and what a pleasant surprise! The online reviews helped us choose Old Winterport and we were not disappointed! The room was so nice with the antiques and the value was great. Each morning we had a wonderful breakfast waiting for us when we got up! Homemade blueberry muffins each morning too. The room was very neat and clean and very quiet. We enjoyed talking to the owner and she gave us suggestions of places to go while we wandered around Maine. We would definitely return to this B & B and will tell all our friends about it! Wonderful stay! Ted and Brenda


Super!

5 on March 25, 2012

Ann & Ray -- our stay was wonderful -- quiet, cozy, food was great -- as usual!


Old Winterport Commercial House

4.8 on February 26, 2012

Staying at the inn named above was delightful. The cleanliness was above expectations! Enjoyed privacy from owners, with their covering our care was what we appreciate! We will return when in the area.


A Cozy place to stay on New Year's Eve!

5 on February 12, 2012

Our host, and owner, Ann, couldn't have been more accommodating. Very friendly & helpful without being overbearing. She even opened the antique store for us to look around. I would recommend this to all our friends who travel & stay at B&Bs.


Winter surprise

4.8 on January 27, 2012

We had to be in Bangor for business on a Friday, so we decided to make a reservation at a B& B for the night. Old Winterport Commercial House fit our budget and our interest in antiques AND was a delight:great building, lovely room with fireplace, clean and comfortable bath. Ann and Ray are friendly, knowledgeable people. They made wonderful dinner recommendations and served up a fine breakfast. We will go back for sure, and stay longer--the downstairs antique store needs a longer look/see.


Maine Squeeze

4.4 on January 25, 2012

Was very enjoyable, made us feel like we were home. Great hosts; friendly and helpful. Will definitely be visiting Maine again in the future. Thanks.


a wonderful surprise

4.8 on January 09, 2012

a very cozy surprise right around the corner from where we live. The room was lovely, breakfast was homemade and delicous and the service was wonderful, could not have asked for anything more. Definitely surpassed our expectations. Thank you so much. We will be back, Wendy and Marianne


Unexpected Find!

4.8 on November 06, 2011

When I needed to find lodging for a concert in Bangor, ME, I hit Google and Bedandbreakfast.com. I live in Hampden, MD & was happy to find a "Hampden Room." Ann & Ray (owners) were amazing & I will come back & recommend to everyone!


Wonderful first B&B

4.8 on October 31, 2011

This was our first stay at a B&B, and Ann made it fantastic! Clean, beautiful rooms, delicious quiche for breakfast, and warm, welcoming service. We will definitely stay again!


Perfect little spot!

5 on August 09, 2011

Ann & Ray did a phenomenal job making sure our party was happy & satisfied. Winterport was a cute & dainty area, close enough to the bigger city of Bangor as well as the coast, so you can explore all the areas. We loved that breakfast was just out all morning, and we didn't have to gather at any certain time. The Inn was clean & very convenient for all of our activities all weekend.


Felt like home

4.6 on August 08, 2011

Stayed at the Old Winterport for my sister's wedding and it was a great choice. Our whole family was there and we felt so much at home it provided a great place to wind down in the evening and start our days. Rooms are very clean and if you like antiques than you can't go wrong with this inn. The owners will do anything to make your stay the best possible.


Amazing Relaxing Hideway

5 on August 06, 2011

This was our first stay in a Bed & Breakfast, and it has convinced us to return. It was a beautiful old building with wonderfully renovated rooms. It is completely filled with antiques that make this very homey and comfortable. The room was very comfortable and extremely quiet. Breakfast was never rushed and was wonderful each day. The breakfast room was available all day if wished to make a tea or heat up a snack. The Antique shop was filled with treasures. The area is extremely convenient for travelling to near-by areas such as Fort Knox (which was very interesting), and shopping in Bangor/Brewer. We are planning on returning again with other family members to show them this true gem!


A Great Stop

5 on October 25, 2010

We loved it. Informative innkeeper. Great antiques. Visit the shop. Little cafe across the street serves wonderful, reasonable food. Very comfortable inn with very fair rates...


Above the antique shop - Above the average B&B

4.0 on August 31, 2010

We were on a roadtrip visiting the wonderful sites of Maine. When we made the reservation at the Old Winterport Commercial House, we had some concerns about accomodations above an antique store. However, after only a few hours with the innkeeper, Ann, and enjoying the way our room was tastefully and comfortably decorated with antiques, we decided to extend our stay another day. We walked the charming village streets, enjoying the sights and shops, and had a wonderful dinner at a cafe across the street (Ann's recommendation). Breakfast in the newly renovated Jeannette room was a special treat in itself with touches that include a floor-to-ceiling race tote board. There are so many other things that we "oohed and aahed" about that we look forward to enjoying again our next visit!


A Home Away from Home

4.4 on August 30, 2010

If you want fussy, fancy or formal, look elsewhere. But if you are interested in staying somewhere that is relaxed, casual and flexible, this is the place. In the evening, chocolates await on the pillow, and in the morning there's no reason not to sleep in. Breakfast is a simple, help yourself affair, served till 11am. Ann is always available to answer questions, relate local history or help with travel plans. The antique shop downstairs always promises some special find, and even if you don't buy anything, it's fun to think that you could: all the furniture in the rooms is for sale! I always feel so relaxed and at home here, and look forward to more visits.


Old Winterport Commercial House

3.8 on November 03, 2009

We rented 3 of the 4 rooms and it was like having "home away from home." Loved the small town setting!


Old Winterport Commercial House

3.6 on November 03, 2009

Delightful host & hostess. Clean room. Attached to interesting antique shop. Convenient to Bangor.


So much at home

4.4 on October 01, 2009

Our hosts, Ann & Ray made us feel right at home from the start & throughout our time here. The place is welcoming; the food is home-made and good-tasting with lots of fruit available. We recommend it highly.


August in Maine

4.6 on August 23, 2009

Annie and Ray are the most hospitable innkeepers I've ever met. They are knowledgable about their town and all of the surrounding area. They have great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. If you need a relaxing week or weekend in a friendly place, then Old Winterport Commercial House is the place to go!


Old Winterport Commercial House

4.6 on August 21, 2009

What fun to stay in a historic inn. My room was decorated with antiques. Breakfast was on the 2nd floor in a sunny room.


A Downeast Gem!

5 on August 03, 2009

O.W.C.H. has the most hospitable staff, the most comfortable & clean rooms for very reasonable prices -- all nestled in a charming little town on the Penobscot river -- Ahhh!


wonderful

5 on July 13, 2009

My first experience at a B&B and thoroughly enjoyed my 3 night stay. Ann and Ray were very hospitable, great pastries and great directions.


Lovely and Inspiring Retreat

4.2 on June 24, 2009

The Winter Port and Commercial House is a hidden gem tucked away in the peace and tranquil nature of Maine. The innkeepers Ann and Ray are charming and welcoming people. We loved our stay!


A pleasent night in old winterport

3.6 on December 16, 2008

The rooms and service were excellent. Great value. Our host went out of her way to make sure we were well taken care of. Our stay was brief and we were on our way in the morning after a pleasant continental breakfast. We would not hesitate to stay here again when in the area. Larry & Patt


wonderful place

4.8 on November 17, 2008

very comfortable, tasty breakfast, enjoyed the many antiques.


lovely B&B

5 on November 11, 2008

hostess was more then welcoming!


pleasant surprise

4.8 on October 30, 2008

Rooms are furnished and decorated with original antiques, very comfortable and homey with a private bath.


B & B and Antiques

4.6 on October 11, 2008

Lovely large Bedrooms with antique decor good size bathrooms in every room, clean and well maintained. Great hosts are very pleasant and accomaditing. breakfast room is cozy and plenty to eat, blueberry muffuns to die for. For the price can't beat it and had the best night sleep I could remember. Excellent B&B.


Enhanced our vacation!

4.0 on August 27, 2008

We were in the area for the American Folk Festival in Bangor and all of the commercial lodgings in town seemed to be booked up so we decided to try this place (20 minutes away), and it was well worth the extra traveling back & forth. Very comfortable, run by a friendly and attentive hostess (who bakes great breakfast goodies), and possessing a lot more character than the chain hotels/motels yet costing less money! A real find -- even if you're not into antiques (and a treasure trove if you are). We've already started recommending it to friends.


A Delightful Stay in MAine

5 on August 25, 2008

Lovely old building with a gracious host and hostess. We highly recommend staying at the Old Winterport Commercial House.


Delightful stop on the way

4.6 on August 19, 2008

My husband and i were traveling from NY to Bar harbor and wanted a pleasant place with character to stop on the way. This place is great, the rooms are very attractively furnished, (loved the victoriana) and spacious. Ann is great to her guest.


Vacation

3.8 on August 04, 2008

The stay met and exceeded my expectations.


The Old Winterport

3.8 on June 10, 2008

Staying at the Old Winterport Commercial House was exactly what I needed. The owners were very friendly and concerned if I had everything in needed. The building is very well kept and full of very interesting antiques. I had a very quiet and comfortable stay. I definately recommend staying and the pizza across the street. Good location to take day trips to surrounding areas. Patrick Baker


Old Winterport Commercial House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $99
  • Reviews (52) 4.6
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2072234965
  • Phone 1-2072235854

Visit Website »

View details

Top