Le Vatout Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

The place to stay in Waldoboro - Friendly, cozy, authentic and relaxing

4.6 on July 23, 2013

At the end of June/2013 I went to Waldoboro for my 30th high school reunion. I went to school there as an exchange student and I hadn’t been in Waldoboro since then. Reading several reviews in the web I selected Le Vatout as the place to stay. I made no mistake. The comments about the special care both Dominika and Linda took of their guests were short in their description. They both provided me a wonderful stay and made my 4 days trip as nice and smooth as they could. Delicious and original breakfasts, very nice coffee, delightful conversation, useful tips regarding where to visit, restaurants to go in the region, etc. Le Vatout is located right next to Waldoboro downtown, although it is a very quiet place in a strategic sector. It is located a few blocks from a supermarket and from Deb’s dinner (nice lobster rolls). The infrastructure is the best you could expect from a B&B. Clean room, nice and comfortable bed, clean and nice bathroom. The rest of the house is as it is shown in the pictures. Nice. Cozy and beautiful kitchen/dinner table. Beautiful gardens. In a sunny day, worth to spend time relaxing and contemplating its landscape. I am already planning another visit to Waldoboro to visit friends and Le Vatout is the place where I will stay. Carlos Muriel


Wonderful, relaxed inn

4.6 on October 10, 2012

We had a thoroughly delightful stay at Le Vatout. The inn is charming -- a typical Maine farmhouse from 1830 and totally unspoiled. The rooms are very comfortable and filled with books. The food was superb. Dominika prepared outstanding breakfasts with fresh food from the garden. Breakfast around the farm table in the sun-filled kitchen prompted wonderful discussions, much laughter and warmth. Linda and Dominika were more than accommodating and responsive to our needs. The gardens are gorgeous and the entire experience is the epitome of what country Maine is all about -- simple, relaxed, friendly and unspoiled. We highly recommend it!


Totally enjoyed!

4.4 on October 05, 2012

Very centrally located to get to Camden, Rockland, lighthouses and state park. Since I was in Maine to enjoy the lighthouses, Dominika went out of her way to help me find all the ones in the area. She has places for you to dine, suggestions on where to go and what to see and will even help you map your day if you like. The old house is very beautiful and it was very quiet and accommodating.


Very enjoyable stay for 6 nights

5 on September 24, 2012

We had come to this part of Maine to sample the excellent lobster dishes to be had and were not disappointed in any way. We prefer to stay in B&B's when possible as they are so much more personal than other options. At Le Vatout we were delighted with the rooms, the hosts, the other guests and the exciting breakfasts provided. Dominika provided many options for our explorations and we took advantage of many of them. The garden is fascinating and has new insights with each turn of its labyrinth of paths. We have cooked with herbs for 41 years but at best our fresh herbs come from a grocery store and most come dried in a bottle. Dominika would leave her preparations of breakfast to go to the garden and cut herbs for that meal and she had a friend who brought freshly picked mushrooms to enhance the foods flavors. As foodies we were delighted and cannot wait until they decide to open a Bed&Breakfast&Dinner. Duck eggs are awesome and she has a keen respect for the potatoes she cooks and flavors. Oh yeah and the coffee is fantastic.


Great innkeepers, great breakfast

3.8 on July 25, 2012

Several local spots were visited because the innkeepers recommended them: The Olson House (Wyeth paintings), Pemaquid Point Lighthouse, German cemetery, Morse Sauerkraut Farm. All worth the visit. A lovely backyard to sit at the of the day with a glass of wine and a book.


A Unique and Wonderful Find

5 on February 08, 2012

I discovered Le Vatout on a weekend trip to coastal Maine and was thrilled to find a warm, welcoming yet uniquely sophisticated inn with a mix of authentically down east and European atmosphere. Original museum quality art work adorn the walls of this beautifully restored country home. All the wonders of the coastal villages and natural scenic spots are just outside the door. Dominika's breakfast was truly unforgettable (try her painted eggs and beyond belief rhubarb preserves from their garden). Dominika and Linda are wonderful hosts who made my stay an unforgettable and delightful visit.


Wow!

4.4 on February 04, 2012

As a Maine resident, I stayed just one night at Le Vatout in celebration of my winter birthday. I had picked this place over others in the mid-coast Maine region on a hunch that Dominika and Linda would provide an experience that is out of the ordinary. My intuition served me well. My soon-to-be wife and I loved our stay - the Robin room was warm, comfortable, and full of great reading material! It was a pleasure to view Linda's beautiful photography throughout the house, and Dominika's breakfast was a sensual feast to the mouth, nose, and eyes! But most importantly, Dominika and Linda are just great people - interesting, engaging, and fun. I felt like I was visiting with old, dear friends who had welcomed me into their home. I'll surely return!


A lovely home and first class meal

4.8 on November 11, 2010

The hospitality at Le Vatout was warm and welcoming, and the food absolutely delicious. The home is lovely, the room charming, and the price cannot be beat. A++


Our weekend autumn stay at Le Vatout

3.6 on November 01, 2010

What a wonderful, warm host (Domenica) and perfect location for seeing the mid-coast. Our room was fine-very basic but with a nice bed and good linens. The breakfasts were delicious. We really loved sitting around the kitchen island while Dominica chopped veggies and grated cheese talking with her and other guests about the hidden gems of the area-hidden restaurants, special walking trails and overviews left out of the guidebooks. What I wish the Innkeepers had at LeVatout- a sitting room for late night reading or writing with a desk, couch, etc. But we would return to LeVatout and just make sure we stayed out doing actvities until later in the evening.


Lovely stay at Le Vatout

3.6 on October 31, 2010

I had a lovely stay at Le Vatout. It is an intimate inn without a lot of privacy but was I happy that the hosts were so congenial and such good sources of local information. Breakfasts were wonderful, fresh and filling with fantastic coffee and a great place to meet the other guests.


Overnight in Maine

3.8 on October 16, 2010

A nice stopover on our return to the "real" world! Breakfasts are great.


Cozy, home-like bandb. Good sightseeing advice

4.0 on September 26, 2010

good chats over breakfast, plenty of books.


July stay

4.6 on September 11, 2010

Great place to stay. good food, great conversation, clean rooms. Quaint, comfy place to stay. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we loved it.


Best B&B stay we've ever had, and we're seasoned B&Bers!

4.6 on August 25, 2010

Le Vatout is run by Dominika and Linda, two incredibly fascinating women. Dominika is funny, superbly knowledgeable about Mid-coast Maine, a fantastic conversationalist, and an amazing cook. Linda is a fine art photographer-- her stunning work adorns the walls-- has enough energy to power a medium sized nation, and knows her way upside down and inside out a garden. We stayed at Le Vatout for five nights and slept in two different rooms, The Chickadee and The Nuthatch, which had a shared bathroom. Both had two single beds with comfortable bedding and ample room for luggage and two people. The room décor was extremely pleasant, with shelving full of excellent books, desks of rich wood, and a woven rug on the floor that felt like home. The kitchen was the heart of the B&B, through and through. I've never enjoyed waking up for breakfast so much as I did at Le Vatout. Each day I opened my eyes I awoke with the excitement and anticipation of meeting new guests at table, reconnecting with the guests I met yesterday, sharing a good laugh with Dominika as she worked her magic at the stove, and enjoying the delectables she set in front of me. Even though breakfast was served between 8-9AM, we had a hard time leaving before 10AM from enjoying the conversation and breakfast table storytelling that occurred each morning. The food at Le Vatout is something else. It's hearty, savory, and very clearly made with affection. Eggs became vehicles for herbs and squash, potatoes were accompanied by mouth-watering sausage, pancakes were thick with buckwheat, blueberries, and walnuts. A local bakery supplied a multigrain sourdough toast that was the perfect foundation and complement for Dominika's homemade jams-- rhubarb ginger and currant vanilla. By the time we left Le Vatout, I felt I had adopted new family in the Innkeepers. At a hotel you leave without saying anything. At a Luxury B&B you might shake hands with the Innkeeper. At Le Vatout, we gave tight hugs to each other.


perfect 2 days

4.4 on August 06, 2010

Friendly, comfortable, makes you feel comfortable. Great breakfasts both mornings.Gardens are fantastic.Will be back. Jim and Barb- Saratoga Springs, NY


Want-a-moro in Waldoboro

4.6 on August 04, 2010

Wonderful experience,, beautiful house and garden, delicious and healthy food, very interesting conversations with wonderful and caring hostesses, home away from home and more - and i can get used to this feeling! and all those photographs, art and books!!! and my limited vocabulary can't come up with more in English !!


AMWESOME

4.8 on July 16, 2010

This was the most relaxing vacation my husband and I have had!! The stay with Dominika & Linda was great from the wonderful food to the beautiful garden to the most wonderful, kind, entertaining and enthusiastic personalities! We couldn’t ask for a better place to rest our heads and soles! We are looking forward to going back next year!!!!


An excellent B&B visit

4.6 on October 19, 2009

I stayed at Le Vatout for four days. Dominika and Linda were excellent hosts. Very Friendly and very interesting. We had many interesting conversations before, during and after breakfast. The bed was comfortable, the room and bath were very clean. Dominika was an excellent travel guide providing local knowledge and maps of the surrounding mid Maine Coastal area. Linda's flower, vegatable and herb gardens are fantastic. Dominika's breakfasts were fablous, one of the highlights of my stay. I would recommend Le Vatout as an excellent B&B if you are staying in mid coast Maine. Oh, yes, did I say breakfast was excellent! Bob Lorenz from Michigan


3-night comfort

4.4 on September 16, 2009

Great room (Goldfinch)...old house, but with more than adequate facilities. Breakfasts were outstanding, and Domanica went out of her way to provide insights and recommendations for local and nearby touring. Want to know about gardening? Ask the resident Wellesly grad...Linda...who maintains the gardens. Highly recommended.


Le Vatout

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $145
  • Reviews (19) 4.4
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2078325150
Top