Blue Skye Farm Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
45 Reviews

Write A Review

Hidden Gem

4.8 on October 07, 2013

We were only able to stay here one night on our way between Portland and Acadia, but it's perfectly located, and we could easily have stayed 4-5 days here, using it as a launching pad to visit some of the beauty on the Midcoast. Jan was wonderful, engaging in conversation, and made some delicious breakfast (I was especially fond of the fresh apple butter she created from scratch to use on fresh baked bread -- you get the idea!). The rooms were very comfortable. It's an older property, so you do hear the room neighbors a bit, but that doesn't detract from the stay. I love how removed it feels from US 1, yet it's not a long drive to get there, so it's very convenient. But it's so peaceful and relaxing and the grounds are wonderful. Truly a great place, and one I would highly recommend.


A gem in the country

5 on October 29, 2012

We came for just a few days and stayed for a week. Wish we could have stayed a couple months. How wonderful to come downstairs in the morning to our innkeeper chef singing out good morning, the fireplace tended, the table beautifully set for a breakfast to keep you going until dinner. There are so many things to do and see within a short drive, we didn't get a chance to walk the 100 acres of trails at Blue Skye but that is at the top of the list for next time. We can't wait to visit again!


A Quiet Night

4.6 on October 27, 2011

A homey view, fantastic breakfast offerings, and a lovely, old home. We were on the first level and were not at all aware of the guests upstairs. We lit our fire and had a very relaxing stay.


A place to fall in love

5 on October 14, 2011

Carefully renovated charming old house with amazing details, excellent breakfast prepared by the lovely owner. Countryside offers lots recreation opportunities with near by Maine's most beautiful costal range.Will definitely come back, enjoyed the time and and hospitality. Recommendation w/o any buts and ifs. U.G.


Restfull days

4.6 on October 13, 2011

A very relaxed and restful environment, rooms were spacious and comfortable. I usually have don't sleep well away from home but the bed was comfortable, plenty of beautiful comforters to stay warm on those chilly nights. The food was over the top, variety and delicious...... Would definitely go back. Thank you Jan.


My sisters and I were delighted!

4.4 on October 04, 2011

I planned our trip to Maine, excited about "my find" called Blue Skye Farm. My sisters and I loved it as soon as we walked inside. Our room was perfect for three; our breakfasts were wonderful and the hostess was delightful. It would be a perfect place to return to with our husbands, or with our daughters. All three of us now are excited about planning a return trip!


good value

3.8 on October 04, 2011

Water pressure in shower very inadequate. no counter space in bathroom for putting things down. towels were excellent. great breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
New shower head has been fitted. Glad you liked the towels.


"Great Stay at Blue Skye Farm"

5 on September 28, 2011

Great Stay at Blue Skye Farm We recently stayed two nights at Blue Skye and were very pleased. The house was exquisite and well furnished for travelers. The innkeeper was very friendly and informative. The breakfasts were varied and superb to get our days off to a good start. She also recommended a number of local places to visit which we did and were very satisfied. We highly recommend a stay at Blue Skye Farm.


Blue Skye Farm

4.6 on September 27, 2011

Quaint.........Beautiful landscape.........Superb breakfast and opportunity to use kitchen to cook a lobster dinner on your own......best of all, a delightful hostess


Great place to stay in Waldoboro, ME

5 on September 21, 2011

Beautiful house, cosy and individual rooms, absolutely great breakfast and terrific hosts. Loved it!


Quaint Setting

4.2 on August 31, 2011

Nice rooms. Great breakfasts. My husband found the street is a bit loud at night if windows are open although traffic is very light- it didn't bother me. Jan is very engaging and a good hostess.


Blue Skye

5 on August 26, 2011

Reception could not have been friendlier. Premises were spotless.


Blue Skye stay

5 on August 26, 2011

Although our stay at Blue Skye was short, we did enjoy ourselves and the beautiful surroundings. The room was impecable. Our hosts, Jan and Peter, went out of their way to get us a quick breakfast so we could catch a very early ferry to Vinalhaven Island. Jen & Barry Elliott


Delightful Inn

4.0 on August 24, 2011

Lovely house and beautiful grounds. The innkeeper, Jan, is very witty. Breakfast options accomodated many tastes and were hearty enough to fuel my husband for the day. My only complaint: WIFI does not work throughout the house. Best reception is in the dining room and the screened in porch.

Innkeeper Response
I've ordered a new router!


Comfortable, pleasant stay

3.8 on August 08, 2011

Comfortable, large room in a lovely older house...modest appearance from the road, but spacious and gracious inside. No pretensions, no excesses, just comfortable good taste.


Great stay

5 on August 04, 2011

Wonderful place to stay. Close to many great activities, but in the country where was so peaceful. Great breakfasts. The house was beautifully decorated. I would recommend to anyone.


Great B&B

4.6 on July 28, 2011

Jan and Peter were so wonderful - they were so accomodating and just the right amount of friendliness. We loved our stay here!


Peaceful, tucked away location

4.0 on July 26, 2011

Blue Skye Farm is a lovely place to sit and relax, or a great place to stage daytrips to Acadia, Portland, or Port Clyde. The hostess is knowledgeable about the area, and has created a non-fussy place to stay. The breakfasts are lovely, with plenty of fresh fruit in the summer. Our second visit was even nicer than the first.


Blue Skye Farm

4.6 on July 01, 2011

Blue Skye Farm was a wonderful find. The atmosphere is relaxed and inviting. Guests have the run of the house as the couple who owns the B&B stay in a separate house behind. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious and the rooms are charming. I highly recommend a stay at the Blue Skye Farm.


Great Base for an Exploration of Mid-Coast Maine

4.2 on June 24, 2011

I was at Blue Skye Farm in Mid-June and stayed for 4 nights. I found Jan to be very welcoming, flexible and accommodating. Unfortunately I was only able to make breakfast for one of the mornings but that one morning was well worth it. I highly recommend Blue Skye Farm.


Blue Skye Farm in April

4.4 on May 05, 2011

I wish we could have spent more days at Blue Skye Farm. The house and furnishings are a step back to in time, beautiful, tasteful antiques. We arrived after a cold, wet day at the coast to a fire and tea in the sitting room. There's not much choice for local dining out, so I would recommend preparing a meal there and enjoying it in the dining room. Breakfast was fantastic and hearty. Jan's pancakes were delicious with local maple syrup. Plan on staying a few days, getting away from the crowds and enjoying the garden.


Gem in the wild

5 on December 14, 2010

Blue Skye Farm was an absolute pleasure to visit. Charm, beauty, and excellent food - highly recommended.


Restful and Relaxing!

4.4 on December 08, 2010

The Blue Skye Farm is a beautiful inn with an engaging hostess. I stayed in the Upper South room. It was a large room with a gorgeous, homey quilt and a down comforter for warmth. While I was disappointed that the description doesn't mention that the bathroom is down the hall - it is private. The fireplaces are kept stocked with paper, kindling and wood. Breakfasts were very good and many 'cold' options - delicous blueberry bread, tuscan bread for toast, yogurt, granola, and fruit. The hostess was charming and interesting. i would recommend this B&B for a quick romantic getaway. There are some local preserves for hiking and it is near restaurants and shopping.


step back and relax

4.0 on November 28, 2010

Step back and relax by going back in time. No phones, tv, or radios to disturb you. Tranquil and peaceful are the best two words to describe this place. Enjoy an atmosphere that takes you back to early 1800's and let your imagination run free. A wonderful way to recharge your batteries before going back to the real world.


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5 on November 20, 2010

Blue Skye is a beautiful old house in a beautiful setting, and our too-short stay there was wonderful. With her hearty, inventive breakfasts in the morning and late afternoon fires in the sitting room, Jan knows how to make a guest feel welcome on a chilly day. The inn is convenient to Camden/Rockland if you're looking for artsy things to do and see -- but if you don't feel like roaming, there are 100 acres of woods behind the inn where you can watch for numerous varieties of birds and all kinds of wildlife. Blue Skye Farm is just a really nice place to relax if you like, or to use as a home base if you want to be on the go. We'll definitely be back.


our Mission to Maine

4.2 on November 01, 2010

Serendipity happens! My sister and I were on a sad but comforting mission to Maine in late October, centered in the upper Damariscotta Lake area. In searching quickly for a place to stay the night we would be up there, I found Blue Skye Farm and made a reservation. From the excellent directions (pointing out what I believe to be true as well -- that GPS doesn't always get things right!) to the front door slightly cracked so we would feel welcome walking in, our stay was a welcome respite on this mission. As per the handwritten directions left on the hall table for us, we wound our way upstairs to our lofted room, the one I had chosen because of the two beds. What a delight. Evocative of the 1800's farmhouse on Nantucket where I had spent many a wonderful time with its antique furnishings, cleverly used, clean white walls, the loft bed for any third party. The next morning we came down to a small fire in the fireplace, hot coffee, homemade muesli with fresh fruit, found that filling enough, only to be served the REST of the breakfast -- good eggs, bacon and obviously homemade bread. Our hostess joined us for just the right amount of conversation, and had shared her singing group generously with my sister the night before. Special to lie in bed, listening to faint beautiful music below. Recommend this highly to anyone who visits this area.


Enjoyable September Stay at Blue Skye Farm

4.2 on September 24, 2010

The innkeeper is most warm and gracious and sets a wonderful table, appealing in both sight and taste. Good coffee in the morning and fresh in-season fruits, fresh breads, and tasty warm dishes accompany each breakfast. The grounds are a delight, and the location puts the guest close to numerous and varied activities, day trips, and other Maine sights. The only fault we found is that information about Blue Skye Farm did not fully inform us about the increased rates on Fri., Sat., and Sun. nights, though why Sunday night is included in the weekend seems a bit much. We were very cognizant of increased amounts for weekends at hotels, motels, and some other inns we researched.


A perfect setting for a perfect getaway!

5 on September 22, 2010

This is our third or fourth stay at Blue Skye and it only gets better! The historic house is set in beautiful wild fields full of birds and color. The rooms are soothing and wonderfully decorated with antiques and art. And the breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. Thank you Jan!


Bucolic Setting

4.4 on July 21, 2010

Very neat, clean, and comfortable. Great food, pleasant hostess.


If places can sing

4.0 on September 29, 2009

This beautifully cared for, historically and architecturally significant, gorgeously sited (amongst fields and woods), artfully decorated, and whistle-clean b&b SANG to me. I especially loved the adventure of sleeping in a room with rafters and a sleeping loft.


Another Wonderful Time

4.6 on September 08, 2009

This was a return visit to Waldoboro and the Blue Skye Farm. Fabulous, once again!


Good "home base" for exploration of area

4.0 on June 26, 2009

Very well satisfied. Delightful host.


A delightful get-away

4.4 on May 28, 2009

My wife and I chose Blue Skye Farm for a one-night getaway to celebrate her 82nd birthday. We wanted to go not too far from where we live in Brunswick, Maine, and also to take advantage of the Maine Innkeepers Assn's arrangement with Habitat for Humanity, where in the low season they offer a discount in return for a contribution to Habitat. This met the test, and we were very pleased with the location, surroundings, our room, the comfortable bed and well-equipped bathroom, the wonderful breakfast, and the friendlyness and helpfulness of the innkeeper, Jan Davidson. It was an ideal choice and we commend it highly. Frank and Irene


Our hostess listened

5 on March 27, 2009

She remembered the details: we were welcomed with a fire lit in the sitting room; her granola and yogurt at each breakfast; an extra bowl of blueberries after I casually mentioned how much I enjoyed them- all done quietly.


the real deal

5 on November 11, 2008

Blue Skye Farm is a treasure. Jan, the innkeeper, with her husband Peter. runs a superb inn.Their origins in England have greatly influenced the atmoosphere of the inn. They have an extremely sophisticated sensibility and have furnished this historical home with great taste and an eye to comfort. The grounds are welcoming for strolls and hikes. I returned on the Amtrak bus out of Portland to the train in Boston back to NYC refreshed and well cared for after a glorious, but foggy and rainy, week-end; the one after the election of Obama. The fires set with breakfast cooked and served with such deliciousness and style ensured that my stay will be repeated. I plan to return with my family to celebrate my birthday in March.


wonderful Waldoboro

5 on November 10, 2008

I could not have felt more at home. Very relaxed atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed my 5-course breakfast...lasts you most of the day...very hardy! I really felt as if I had come home! I look forward to returning.


Home from Home

5 on November 09, 2008

My wife and I stayed towards the end of October 2008. The weather was turning. To arrive at the end of each day to be greeted by a blazing log fire, a warm, superbly furnished and comfortable sitting and dining room, was like coming home. It was impossible to fault either the comfort of the bedrooms, the outstanding home cooked breakfasts, or all the little touches that made it feel like home.


Exquisite, charming, worth the trip

4.8 on July 18, 2008

Had the pleasure of staying at the Blue Skye Farm on my first trip to Maine. Felt at home, very comfortable. Would love to return soon.


exceptional

5 on July 13, 2008

We have visited Blue Skye many times and highly recommend it.


What a Surprise

4.0 on April 14, 2008

My brother, who never goes anywhere, went to Blue Skye for a stay with his wife. He raved so much I had to make the trip. I'm so glad we did. We had the most relaxing weekend in years with a very accommodating hostess and host, in a quiet comfortable room with delicious treats. We can't wait to return. Highly recommended.


Blissfully Content

4.6 on April 13, 2008

Our contentment starts from the time you step through the front door of this inn. The surroundings are warm, charming and cozy. And Jan, one of the owners, is gracious, cheerful, and serves a hearty breakfast! We've come to call Blue Skye our home away from home.


Shangri-La

5 on April 13, 2008

We make Maine a regular destination solely for the pleasure of staying at Blue Skye Farm. Whether to sit idly by the fireplace reading a book, to explore the grounds, or to branch out to the surrounding coastal villages, a visit to Blue Skye always satisfies.


An Inn for All Seasons

5 on April 12, 2008

Whenever my wife and I visit Maine, we always make Blue Skye Farm our home base. This year we treated ourselves to a special gift and spent a few peaceful days at this outstanding B&B between Christmas and New Year's. Every day started with a 5-star home-made breakfast. And sitting by the fireplace watching the snow fall is as close to living in a Currier and Ives print as we'll come in this lifetime.


Nice find

4.2 on March 28, 2008

Winter and spring is a great time to come here. One night I had the whole inn to myself! The keepers live in stand alone quarters so you are truly "in your place". Put some wood on the fire. Make a cup of tea. Check out the great collection of nautical books. Clean. This is only the fourth family to own the home since about 1760 so much of it is still original.


Blue Skye Inn.

4.2 on October 17, 2007

Very pleasant and helpful proprietor.


Blue Skye Farm

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $165
  • Reviews (45) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2078325135
  • Phone 1-2078320300

Visit Website »

View details

Top