Inn at Southwest Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
92 Reviews

Write A Review

A great place to stay!

5 on August 07, 2014

We have been staying at the Inn at Southwest the past five summers and have enjoyed our stay there every time. Although the original owner, Sandy, is no longer handling the day to day running of the Inn, she has an exceptionally talented and personable couple managing the B&B in her place. Dora and Daniel are excellent at what they do and what they do is excellent. While Dora serves as the business manager and hostess, Dan specializes in preparing the breakfasts. And what wonderful breakfasts they are! His creations, made with only fresh ingredients, reflect a flare for originality and are worthy of any four-star restaurant. Dan’s quest for perfection is evident with every dish. My wife’s request for gluten-free meals was cheerfully acknowledged and the quality of her gluten-free breakfasts was equally top-notch. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable and the Inn’s location in the heart of Southwest Harbor make all of Acadia’s many attractions within easy walking or driving distance. The Inn at Southwest Harbor has become our regular summer destination. A wonderful place to stay.


A great two days.

4.6 on August 05, 2014

Even though we arrived a bit early, we were warmly welcomed. The smell of baking cookies filled the parlors and yesterday's cookies were there until the new ones were ready. An instant machine provided coffee and tea 24/7. The breakfasts were great and the innkeepers and owner were all personable and friendly. We also appreciated the comfortable decor. It felt like an elegant home instead of a museum where you are afraid to sit down.


excellent

4.4 on August 04, 2014

We stumbled across this Inn. We were very impressed with Dora and Daniel.Very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was only surpassed by the friendliness of the hosts. Would certainly stay here again if in the area


Welcome to Paradise

5 on August 01, 2014

Our stay at the Inn at Southwest was perfect. We planned to stay 3 nights and decided to prolonge the stay from one night (unfortunately we didnt have time to stay longer...) because this house is so enchanting and its managers made us feel very welcome. The 3 course breakfast is a delight, healthy and gourmand at the same time. Rooms are cozy and beautifully decorated as well as perfectly clean. Certainly the best B&B I ever went to. Thanks a lot! Virginie & Maurits (Netherlands)


Loved the hospitality and great service.

5 on July 19, 2014

The feel of this place was high quality and a good price and the staff was super friendly and helpful.


Quaint, unexpected pleasure

5 on July 17, 2014

Our trip to Maine took us up the coast to the Bar Harbor area. We were then greeted by our two caring inn keepers. They welcomed us in, made us feel special and at home. Daniel and Dora were extremely gracious and fun to talk with. We enjoyed getting to know them. Great hosts! The breakfasts were a special delight. When they say that you eat with your eyes, these breafasts were a feast for the eyes. The food was delicious! We highly recommend The Inn At Southwest! Wonderful, relaxing, pleasant stay!


Puffin Trip

4.6 on June 27, 2014

I rarely rate anything outstanding, since it is a relative term. But when my wife and I stayed at The Inn at Southwest for three nights last week we were utterly pleased by the experience. Therefore, since the highest rating this survey allows is outstanding, the Inn gets that rating. Inkeepers Dora and Daniel were wonderful hosts, seeking to be sure that all guests had everything possible to make their stay enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious, unique, and expertly prepared. The Inn itself was beautifully decorated, spotless, convenient to everything, and very comfortable. What more can be said? Like the Bar Harbor area, the Inn at Southwest has become to us more than a place to stay, it's a destination. We're going back soon. Oh, by the way, the Puffin watch was a great experience too.


A must visit

5 on June 26, 2014

Beautiful inn with superb service and fabulous food. The management is very professional. A model for all B and Bs to follow!


Nice place to stay

5 on June 20, 2014

This B&B is full of nice antiques and furnishings. The rooms are clean and bright. There is a nice porch and the sitting room inside full of books and artifacts. The breakfast prepared by Daniel was imaginative and superb along with real good coffee. We will stay there again when vacationing on MDI


Great Experience!

4.8 on June 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Southwest for several nights and were so impressed with the inn and the service. Daniel was a fantastic host, providing us with more amazing food than we could possibly eat (BRING AN APPETITE!) and solid recommendations for hikes, restaurants, etc. Blanca does a great job of keeping the inn very clean, and we felt completely comfortable there. Thank you so much to the staff at the Inn at Southwest for the most memorable part of our East Coast road trip!


Comfy, friendly, historic, great breakfasts

5 on June 09, 2014

We have stayed at a few B&Bs in Southwest Harbor. This one is certainly in the top tier. The staff are very welcoming and attentive and put effort into making the stay comfortable and pleasant. The chef puts thoughtful and delicious menus on the table. Our room was nicely decorated and inviting. We would definitely recommend for a short or long stay.


My Great Trip to Stonington ME

4.4 on October 24, 2013

Lovely rooms with great views on one of Maine's nicest harbors. Wonderful hostess!


Great stay at the Inn at Southwest

5 on October 18, 2013

Enjoyed the great breakfast both mornings, cozy clean rooms, and wonderful atmosphere throughout the whole inn. Very friendly innkeeper and staff. Would highly recommend a stay at the Inn!


Excellent and interesting place

3.6 on October 13, 2013

Right close to the centre, this very friendly b&b was very refreshing because all the rooms are different and you can book the one you want. We booked the suite of two rooms. Interestingly the rooms were heated by a thermostatic log fire! Breakfast was fine for us on both days, but if anyone did not like what was chosed for the day or was more hungry.......although we were asked on arrival if there was anything we did not like. Anyway, I am sure thy would fix any issues... All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend others to stay there.


charming b&b

4.8 on September 30, 2013

they could easily charge more. a lovely property and so convenient to everything. walking distance to several good dining options.


Mt. Desert B&B

3.4 on September 23, 2013

Beautifully maintained Victorian era home. Immaculate, loved having Wifi. Fancy breakfast, lovely innkeepers, and two superb restaurants, one within walking distance. (Cafe 2) The other, Walker's, was just as exceptional and we had a harbor moonrise view from our table.


Charming Inn

4.6 on September 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this charming inn. Our room was clean & very comfortable. The common areas on the first floor were inviting & comfortable! My daughter was intrigued with a marble solitaire game which she played by the gas fireplace! The inn is in a perfect location for walking to dinner, ice cream & a market that has everything you need to fill a picnic basket with a gourmet lunch! We look forward to a return visit!!


Inn at Southwest

4.6 on September 10, 2013

Convenience to the park and other beautiful places along the harbors...northeast and Bar.... Location in town, friendly staff Decor...love the Mission furniture and most of the rooms


enjoyable

4.6 on September 03, 2013

We have stayed three times and plan on staying again. great place


Wonderful place

4.8 on September 02, 2013

Excellent location in quieter part of island. Very friendly proprietors, excellent local information and advice, with reading room to peruse guidebook collection.


Location, Location, Location

3.4 on August 24, 2013

Only had time to stay one night, but what a charming place we chose. Right in town so it was easy to walk to shops, galleries and a fabulous restaurant. Yummy muffins with the afternoon tea and dishes of chocolates in the parlors. Plenty of parking in the back, comfortable wicker furniture on the extensive porches for reading or watching the world go by, and views to the water from our room.


Look no further!

4.6 on August 24, 2013

Such a delightful experience. Loved this Inn and my room was absolutely charming. Our hostess was most welcoming and made us feel right at home with her delicious spice muffins and tea.... Am looking forward to returning to this little bit of paradise. If you are a book lover as I am you don't need to bring anything to read. There are bookcases everywhere with all sorts of books you just want to stop and curl up with. Lila Vultee, Camden Maine


Great B&B in Arcadia

4.0 on August 24, 2013

Location, food, service were all great. Clean, spacious rooms. Only the quality of the bed could be a bit improved.


superb service

4.4 on August 23, 2013

Had a wonderful night at tthe Inn, and not my first. The breakfast was superb: light flour totillas with an egg mixture like an omelet with peppers, onions, etc. The frust was a peach cobbler, to die for! The innkeepers were extremely helpful in finding the right restaurant for us (Red Sky) and then in helping us locate a very lost cell phone. We'll return. nana nancy


Great Escape

4.6 on August 22, 2013

The owner and staff were friendly and helpful. We "lucked" into finding the Inn at Southwest because we had never been to Maine and didn't really know what to expect. If this is your first time/repeat traveler, we highly recommend staying at Southwest Harbor. The whole island is only a 30 minute car ride. Avoid the busy hub bub of Bar Harbor and "touristy" feel. Stay at the Inn at Southwest and relax! Great place to come back to at the end of the day!!


Lovely, quiet, homey atmosphere

4.8 on August 07, 2013

We had a lovely stay in the Pemaquid Point suite in June. Breakfasts were super. Nice afternoon snacks. Variety of games and books. Perfect location.


Great breakfeasts

4.6 on August 01, 2013

Excellent B&B on the quiet side of Acadia


Will definitely come back!

4.0 on July 31, 2013

This is a terrific B and B in a great location!


Location in the village center is great

4.8 on July 30, 2013

Located in the center of a self-contained Maine seaside village with lots of pedestrian traffic. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping, post office, library, banks, churches, harbor, and coastal views. Impeccably maintained inside and out. Comfortable Mission-style furniture compliments this quaint Victorian home. Bedrooms and baths are clean, nicely furnished. We had the smallest room but all others were a good size. Free parking, free WIFI, free coffee/tea and afternoon sweets. Barware, ice, common refrigerator provided. Delicious breakfast included, tastefully prepared and presented. Nice use of local blueberries. You could smell the breads being freshly baking early in the morning. Staff is local and informative. Library, games, TV in separate common room. Porch and outdoor seating was inviting. Southwest Harbor is on the quiet side of the Island about 15-30 minutes drive from all Mount Desert Island attractions. Would definitely stay again. Good value for location at the height of tourist season.


Beautiful B & B

4.8 on July 17, 2013

We highly recommend the Inn at Southwest. It's a beautiful home with a wrap-around porch no one can resist for a relaxing rest. With such close proximity to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, it's the perfect place to stay on the "quiet side." Our breakfasts were deliciously gourmet and beautifully presented. Don't forget to stop for a homemade cookie break each day. Yum!


A nice stay on the quiet side of the island

3.6 on July 17, 2013

Rooms wer clean and inviting, as was the inn as a whole. Staff was exceptional. A nice welcome back to my "hometown".


Outstanding stay at the Inn of Southwest

5 on June 28, 2013

Our only suggestion is that you put a TV in the sitting room so we can at least catch up on the news and weather in the mornings.


Perfect place to stay for Acadia

5 on June 07, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Inn at Southwest and wished we could have stayed longer. The Pumpkin Island room was the perfect size, great windows, super comfortable bed, and nice bath. The Inn has great outdoor space for enjoying a glass of wine and cozy indoor space for sitting by the fire. Breakfast was just simply wonderful, too much to mention but really enjoyed the savory scones and French toast with blueberry sauce. The location in Southwest Harbor is perfect for exploring Acadia. We enjoyed the restaurants and shops in walking distance and really liked staying on the quieter side of the island. Highly recommended.


Perfect Get Away

4.4 on October 30, 2012

The inn keepers were so charming and knowledgeable of the area. The breakfast each morning was delicious.


Delightful B&B

5 on October 30, 2012

Loved sitting in the living room reading in front of the fire in the evening. Our room was spacious and well equiped. Great place to stay.


Outstandingly cosy and charming

5 on October 18, 2012

The Inn is very cosily and charmingly furnished and presented. The breakfast was simply delightful. Everything just great and to recommend.


Inn at Southwest

3.6 on October 10, 2012

The Inn is attractive, well-maintained, extremely clean and the ladies who run the B&B are exceedingly helpful and gracious


Best Inn in Southwest Harbor

5 on September 17, 2012

What a lovely stay we had in Southwest Harbor. Our host, Sandy, was very kind and helpful with restaurant, hiking, biking, and Acadia questions. Our room was very comfortable -- the inn was beautiful, clean, and well-cared for. Loved all the interesting things in the common rooms. It was great to have access to hot beverages 24/7. Breakfasts each day were absolutely delicious and beautifully prepared. Deep thanks to Esther, too. I would highly recommend a stay at this B&B when you are in the MDI area. Our stay was 4 nights and we loved it.


Another Great Visit!!

4.8 on September 08, 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed our 3rd visiit to the Inn at Southwest. The location of the inn is great and each room is clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful and the afternoon cookies were always a treat. Sandi and Ester continue to deliver top-notch service and are ready to provide helpful tips for exporing the Acadia. This is our favorite place to stay on the island.


Wonderful find in SWHarbor

3.8 on August 28, 2012

Lovely stay. SW Harbor is convenient to all of the areas on the island. There are a number of very nice restaurants within walking distance as well as great lobster pounds. Sandy and Esther are very helpful and make your stay on the island a very positive experience. Our room was clean and bright. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


wonderful time

4.8 on August 27, 2012

we stayed last year, Loved it, And came again this year. it was a wonderful stay and we plan on coming back next year. hard to pick which room to choose


Wonderful Experience

5 on August 21, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed a few nights at the Inn at Southwest while we were hiking in Acadia. We could not have asked for a better experience! Sandy and Esther were wonderful, the rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was delicious, and Southwest Harbor is the perfect quaint little town to explore and enjoy.All in all, it was a very relaxing getaway that provided just the escape and rejuvination that we needed! We'll definitely stay there again :)


Consistently Excellent

4.8 on August 18, 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful experience on the quiet side of Mt Desert island, this is your spot. More importantly, the outstanding hospitality and incredible breakfasts make the difference. If you are lucky, you might get to taste the fluffiest blueberry pancakes in Maine!


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast in Southwest Harbor

4.4 on August 10, 2012

Sandy and Esther are very warm and welcoming. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts are outstanding. When visiting the area again, will definitely stay here.


Relaxing on the Quiet Side.

4.4 on August 05, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn at Southwest during out trip to Acadia National Park. We had a wonderful time at this adorable bed and breakfast. Sandy and Esther were gracious and helpful hosts--showing continual hospitality. Our room was cute and clean, and the inn was close to several good restaurants. Just a short drive to the park and other island sites, this B&B is a great place to stay if you hope to avoid some of the crowds at Bar Harbor. The highlight of our stay was certainly the breakfasts! They were extremely delicious and generous portions--the inn really needs to publish a cookbook! Also Sandy and Esther were great about working around our preferences and dietary needs. Wonderful stay--highly recommend. :)


Lovely Inn and delightful hosts

4.8 on August 01, 2012

Had a wonderful 4 night stay at the Inn at Southwest and we couldn't have been more pleased. Delicious breakfasts each day on the wood porch, fresh cookies in the afternoon and even a refrigerator for keeping a bottle of white wine chilled for an impromptu late afternoon aperitif!


A delight!

5 on August 01, 2012

This was our third summer spending time at this wonderful inn in Southwest Harbor. We have now stayed in two different rooms and each one was immaculately clean and charming. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. This is the first time that my wife required a gluten-free diet and Sandy and Esther were most accommodating adjusting our breakfasts accordingly and even offering advice where we could purchase gluten-free food locally. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are now considering returning sometime this fall. Overall, an absolutely wonderful experience.


Wonderful B&B

5 on July 30, 2012

This is a lovely, friendly, small B&B--everything you imagine in a B&B. It was recommended to us by a friend who spent his honeymoon here. Davina, in particular, was enthralled with Esther, who is like everyone's favorite grandmother (not an age comment). The first breakfast was fantastic (crepes and fruit). The second? Well, this is my only complaint: we slept right through it !! :) I am sure all that sea air coming in through the windows had something to do with it. We were quite disappointed in ourselves. They did recommend the Sea Biscuit cafe across the street for our late breakfast. It was also wonderful.


Great place to stay

4.6 on July 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Sandy and Esther were very helpful. Breakfast was great. We hope to return to the Inn at Southwest.


A Wonderful Stay at Inn at Southwest

4.8 on July 23, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Inn and had a marvelous time. The Inn at Southwest is very charming and Sandy and Esther made our stay wonderful--one of the best we've ever had at a B and B. Our room, the Winter Harbor room, was lovely and immaculately clean. The breakfasts were absolutely incredible! Esther was very helpful in answering questions we had about the area and gave us recommendations about nature cruises around Acadia National Park. She even shared one of her delicious recipes with us! We would definitely stay at the Inn again and hope to return to beautiful Mount Desert Island. Dave and Becky S.


Inn at Southwest

4.4 on July 22, 2012

Great location. Room was newly redecorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. I would definitely stay at the Inn at Southwest again.


Worth the money!

4.4 on July 17, 2012

A bit pricey compared to other accomodations in the area (and no water view really, even if the website says "partial harbor view" - all you see is trees with maybe aspec of water behind them if you really squint). That said, this is really a wonderful place. I felt like I was home! The staff is phenomenal and will go out of their way to make you happy. The breakfast was excellent. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!


A great Inn

4.8 on July 15, 2012

The Inn at Southwest Harbor is perfect for a visitor to Mt Desert Island or Central Maine. The inn is both historic and beautiful, and it provides easy access to Bar Harbor, Northeast Harbor, Deer Isle, Stonington, Winter Harbor, etc. Sandi has beautifully maintained the premises, and Esther prepares a breakfast that is a perfect start for any day. Dining in the garden or on the porch is a real treat. Whether one enjoys visits with artists and galleries in the area or taking a sail or just relaxing with a good book, Southwest Harbor is a great community and the Inn is wonderful. Guests from Nashville


Wonderful Time at the Inn at Southwest

5 on July 09, 2012

We were traveling with our two teenage children and they were made to feel comfortable and included. The breakfast each morning was varied and delicious. Coffee, tea and cookies greeted us each afternoon. We played board games in the public living room and our children really felt right at home. Our host has been living in the area for many years and gave us a wonderful suggestion for one of our best hikes ever. Thank you Esther!. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay on Mt. Desert Island.


Beautiful place and beautiful people!

4.8 on June 24, 2012

Sandy and Ester were wonderful and exceeded all my expectations of a Bed and Breakfast! The rooms are beautiful and the parlor was great. Breakfast each and every morning was not only beautiful to look at it was delicious with all fresh ingredents! Would go back time and time again!


Inn at southwest harbor

3.2 on October 29, 2011

Very nice congenial host. Made very welcome. Cozy and comfortable main rooms


The Inn at Southwest Harbor, ME

4.0 on October 24, 2011

What a super place to stay on Mt Dessert Island! It's away from the hoards of tourists on the quiet side of the island. Our hostess was friendly, knowledgable and gracious at all times. The common room was a pleasure to use as it was filled with novels, board games, coffee, candies and cookies at all hours. Our room had a separate sitting room that was accessed through french doors and replete with lounging sofa, chairs and a gas fireplace. We'd go back in an instant to spend time with Esther and Sandy!


Do we really have to leave !!???!!!

5 on October 03, 2011

I rarely write reviews about anything. But last week my fiancee and I had the pleasure of 5 days at the" Inn of dreams"-- The Inn at Southwest We have travelled extensively around the world for the past 10 years. Stayed in just about every type of hotel, inn, b&b, castle, motel, tent, lodge, guest house, hostel, sailboat,or whatever--5 stars to minus 5 stars. Before last week, I had been to the Bar Harbor/Acadia area 4 or 5 times, each time staying in different inns, b&b's, etc.all over the island. Never had a bad experience. But I have never had an experience there which was so great that I couldn't wait to write a "review". A stay The Inn might be the best gift you could ever give yourself.. The Inn itself is fantastic. From their website you can see that the architecture is classic. Inside and out, the Inn is perfectly preserved and in immaculate condition. "Charming" is not a word I use very often--but this place is beyond charming. From the wrap around porch, the cozy living room , the fireplace, grandfather clock , to the most charming and romantic rooms and suites , this place is beyond 5 stars. We came to the area for the ambience of coastal Maine and the amazing Acadia National Park. We found all of those . But the real treasures were the Innkeepers--Sandy and Heather. They are the 2 warmest, friendliest, and funniest people I know! Sandy runs the Inn with a Master Innkeeper's touch--she knows how to make you feel a part of the family while she makes sure that every breakfast is special and unique; that the rooms are immaculate, that any question or need you may have is answered or met. Heather is one of the nicest and funniest people you will ever meet.!! She is hilarious and most loveable. Maybe this is why I don't write reviews-- I don't know how to give a short review, especially of a place like this. Don't miss it.


Southwest Harbor Inn

4.4 on September 30, 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful, Ester. We were shown all the particulars of the inn and showed to our room. Later we enjoyed coffee and cookies (delicious) in the relaxing parlor while reading all the interesting information books and leaflets that are available. Our room was clean and comfortable. Dinner in Bay Harbor with the working lobster boats tied up to their buoys was like the Acadia side of the island must have been years ago. Highly recommend going to the restaurant on the Bay Harbor wharf. Sandy greeted us the next morning with a super breakfast. We shared our love for flow blue plates of which she has many displayed on the breakfast room walls. Both innkeepers made our 2 night stay memorable and we also enjoyed meeting other travelers at the inn.


Best B&B

4.6 on September 24, 2011

we were lucky and had the best weather at Southwest harbor, but the building is fascinating, the rooms breathe the old times, housekeeping is gorgeous, breakfast outstanding. I do not hope to have an experience like that and was overwehlmed. Fantastic. best wishes from germany, George


Lovely Inn

3.6 on September 14, 2011

We stayed at The Inn at Southwest this past weekend and can highly recommend it. The property is lovely - rooms individually decorated, all with a deft hand. The owner, Sandy, and her staff could not be more accommodating - we arrived several hours past our expected time - they left the door to our room open and the lights on and the key and a note in an obvious place. Breakfast nicely done - perfect B and B experience. And Southwest Harbor and the rest of the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island certainly worth a visit - weather and landscape particularly nice at this time of year.


Best place to stay on MDI

5 on September 06, 2011

It was our fourth visit, and every one has been excellent. Beautiful building, very well decorated, excellent staff, and great food. It is located on the quiet side of the island, but there are excellent restaurants within walking distance.


Great place, great hosts!

4.4 on September 04, 2011

We lost one day of our trip due to Irene, and only had two days to spend in Acadia NP. Esther helped us to select the hikes and created an itinerary for both days. We followed it and had two full great days! Thank you Esther!


Wonderful Experience

4.6 on August 28, 2011

This is our second visit to the inn and Ester and Sandy provided another wonderful experience. They were friendly, informative and made us feel at home. The breakfast was superb and the inn was immaculate.


Another exceptional visit - Inn at Southwest

5 on August 24, 2011

Sandy and Esther are amazing - the engage guests in conversation, offer a wonderful atmosphere and provide the little extras that make every stay truly special. We truly look forward to our next opportunity to visit. A true delight.


Worth every penny and more!

4.4 on August 22, 2011

Our recent stay at the Inn at Southwest was a very enjoyable experience. We were very impressed by the quality of service provided by Sandy, Esther and company. Would recommend it to anyone considering traveling to that part of the country. Don't stay at Bar Harbor - too crowded. Instead stay on the southside of the island and enjoy the quieter side of life - you can get to Bar Harbor, the park and all the locations using the free shuttle service. Staff at the inn are always there to provide their recommendations and assistance. There was a slight snafu with our reservation. We are very impressed and grateful at how effortlessly Sandy made it work and not have us go through any stress. Thank you Sandy for a memorable stay. B & S from California


Our stay in SW Harbor, ME

4.6 on August 15, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful time at The Inn at Southwest Harbor. Everything was charming. The location was perfect for us ~ close enough to the heart of Acadia Park but out of the busy hub bub of Bar Harbor. Southwest Harbor has just enough going on for meals, groceries etc and you can truly relax and enjoy the surroundings at the Inn at SW Harbor. I would have to say though, that what truly stood out at the Inn was the service. In particular our hostess, Ester, was not only extremely helpful but charming and made us all feel right at home. She provided great suggestions for hikes and dining. We had one very rainy day during out stay and we felt so relaxed and welcomed sitting around reading and playing cards...truly a home away from home. THANK YOU!


Lovely weekend at Southwest Harbor

4.4 on August 14, 2011

Very pretty & quaint inn. Loved to sit on porches and read while watching people pass. Guests have run of the inn as owner lives across the street. Bedrooms arepretty and very clean. Living room is very nice. Southwest Harbor is a great base to see the park while being away from the croud at Bar Harbor.


Wonderful inn, highly recommended!

4.0 on August 13, 2011

With Bar Harbor completely booked up in the weekend, we were fortunate to stumble upon this gem of a B&B. We had the double-room on the third floor, and it was really nice. Breakfast really exceeded our expectations. Forget Bar Harbor and head straight for this cosy and friendly place! You won't be disappointed! John and Marijke from the Netherlands.


Great stay!

4.8 on August 11, 2011

The Inn at Southwest is in a beautiful home right in town, within walking distance of restaurants. The sitting area is comfortable, and coffee is always available. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Sandy took very good care of us. We would definitely stay here again.


Maine vacation

4.8 on August 03, 2011

The Innkeepers were very accommodating. We arrived late due to other commitments and our room and keys were ready for us when we arrived. The room was very pleasant and nicely furnished. The rest of the Inn was also very well kept. We would have liked to stay more than the one night to have more time there, but our travel plans did not allow it.


Absolutely beautiful!

4.8 on July 21, 2011

Southwest Habour is the perfect place to stay as it is away from the hustle of Bar harbour yet close enough to enjoy all Acadia has to offer. This B & B is a lovely three story (no elevator) Inn with covered porch and nice living room area. The Inn has lots of games and old book to brouse through. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was 2 course and delicious! The only less positive comments is that some of the rooms have small showers and the early morning traffic on the street woke us up. We will definately stay here again!


Outstanding - Unanimous!

4.0 on July 14, 2011

Stayed in the 2nd floor suite with my mom and daughter. Both the queen bed and the sofa pullout were VERY comfortable, lots of pillow, luxurious duvet. Bright room, very pretty. Service was so friendly and so competent. Food was very good, we were very pleased each of the three mornings.


July 4th 2011 Holiday Stay

5 on July 07, 2011

One of the most enjoyable experiences we have ever had. Sandy and Esther are absolutely the most delightful Innkeepers in the world. Great food, gracious hospitality, beautiful and clean accomodations. I would recommend it to anyone and we'll return for another visit in the future.


Well worth it.

3.6 on June 15, 2011

Home away from home where you can entertain guests (A couple either in the warm "salon" or the confortable veranda )


Wonderful stay at the inn of southwest!

4.2 on June 13, 2011

Very hospitable and helpful innkeeper. Great breakfast and great recomendations for dinner


Peaceful Retreat From Bar Harbor

4.8 on June 12, 2011

Quiet, clean, comfortable room in a peaceful setting Sandy was great at suggesting great places to eat! Great choice for a place to stay and visit Bar Harbor and Acadia park!


lovely weekend

4.8 on October 31, 2010

We really enjoyed our long weekend at the inn at southwest. Our host Sandy and Esther were very helpful with dining and sightseeing information. It was so nice to be able to walk to a restaurant for dinner. The inn is lovely and we really enjoyed the breakfasts. We will definitely be back


Very nice place

4.2 on October 28, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the end of the season and liked our room and the breakfasts were excellent. The innkeeper wasn't as personable as others we have met which was a little disappointing.


Delightful B&B

4.4 on October 13, 2010

The innkeepers are enthusiastic, helpful and entertaining. I wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely stay there if we're in the area.


Stay at this B&B

3.8 on October 03, 2010

The Inn at Southwest is a great place to stay. It is ideally situtated on the Main street in Southwest Harbour which is definitely quieter and less touristy than Bar Harbour. From the moment you arrive Sandy and her team are very friendly and can not do enough for you. The house is beautifully decorated and each room is unique. The sitting room is a lovely space to spend time in and the drinks fridge with wine glasses and corkscrews is a great addition. The focus on tasty food is also a bonus. The fresh cookies and coffee were yummy and the breakfast were inventive and tasty. I had high expectations from the well presented website but The Inn exceeded most of them. Definitely a must if you want to stay in Southwest Harbour.


Best Stay Ever!

5 on October 02, 2010

VERY SATISFIED MICHIGANDERS. First of all, I'm not the B&B type, but if my wife wants to stay at one, we usually do. My experience at the Inn of Southwest has made me a believer of B&Bs. What a great place and outstanding inn keepers. Rooms were very nice, breakfast (a full breakfast) was homemade/delicious and the day time treats were yummy. I started everyday on the porch with fresh hot coffee, watching Southwest Harbor wake up. I can't say enough good things about Sandy and Esther. They complement each other so well and make you feel so much at home. When we left, we were leaving friends, not just another room we stayed at. Even the location (Southwest Harbor) was excellent. It allowed us the peace, quiet, and freedom not available if we would have stay in the busy tourist town of Bar Harbor. I can't wait until our next visit because of the hospitality and friendly environment of the Inn of Southwest. This coming from a "former" B&B doubter. Congratulations on a job well done Sandy and Esther!


Beautiful bed and breakfast experience

4.2 on September 25, 2010

It's a very beautiful house in a quiet location. We were looked after very well and the food was excellent.


You won't go wrong choosing this B&B.

5 on September 07, 2010

Clean as a whistle, neat as a pin, interesting and whimsical antiques, comfortable sitting area with lots of games and home-made brownies, bright rooms with nice amenities, breakfast a real treat with things like poached pears, peach cobbler and whole-grain waffles with blackberry sauce, and Sandy, a helpful, well-informed innkeeper to help you make the most of your stay. There are lots of B&B's near Acadia National Park, but The Inn at Southwest would be a good choice.


Wonderful spot for Acadia vacation

4.8 on August 31, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn! Beautiful Victorian building with clean, quiet, comfortable rooms, cozy living room, and wraparound porch. The food was delicious--and Sandy and Esther were wonderful about accommodating a gluten intolerance, which made the stay all the more relaxing. They also provided a great collection of materials on Acadia and lots of good advice about what to do. It was a great location for spending lots of time in Acadia, and in walking distance of several nice restaurants, which was nice when we came back in the evening exhausted from hiking. Despite the hot weather, our unairconditioned room perfectly comfortable with the ceiling fan running. It was the perfect place to stay for a relaxing vacation--we definitely hope to be back!


Weekend Get Away

4.6 on June 02, 2010

I was extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the Inn. My boyfriend and I spent a wonderful day exploring Acadia and had an oasis to return to. The living room was exceptional - extremely relaxing after a long day outdoors!


Paradise in Arcadia

4.6 on October 14, 2009

A short first stay in Maine to see the Fall spending two nights at the Inn at Southwest with my wife. We couold not have been more welcomed or better looked after. Sandy and Esther run a homely, efficient and cosy Inn. The room was well firnished and appointed, taseful and everything worked. Breakfast was a delight; imaginative dishes, freshly cooked and presented. We went out "tree peeping" well fed and ready for Nature. The public areas were comfortable and the welcoming teatime cake and tea/coffee was a bonus. And, here is the clincher, when things went wrong and I lost my wedding ring the staff could not have been kinder, they found it and got it to be hundreds of miles on at my next destination. Real people, real stars (and I am not even an American). I can uneservedly recommend the Inn to anyone.


Clean, warm and friendly

4.4 on October 13, 2009

A beautiful setting with so much to explore. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The Inn was very quiet. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening. The breakfast was very nice and served in a lovely breakfast room. The living room was warm and there were lots of books to read and enjoyable company! A wonderful experience for our first trip to Southwest Hbr!


Perfection!

5 on September 25, 2009

A beautiful victorian inn with a wrap around porch for reading or relaxing. The Innkeepers spoil you every morning with a gourmet breakfast. This was my first trip to Maine. The Innkeepers, Sandy and Esther, are so knowledgeble about the area that every day was an adventure! I'll definately come back and will only stay at the Inn at Southwest.


a special inn

5 on September 24, 2009

Been coming to this inn for 30 years. Current innkeepers, Sandy & Esther, run an outstanding place. Clean, comfy, fine breakfasts and afternoon goodies. As important, they know the Park intimately, give great advice about activities, eateries. And if you sprain your ankle, or have an unexpected car problem they get you to the right folks very quickly.


Wonderful Acadia experience

4.8 on June 02, 2009

The Inn at Southwest was so warm and charming; our innkeepers were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were decorated beautifully and had very interesting pieces of furniture. Our gourmet breakfasts were incredible, and they even catered to the vegetarian in our group. This inn really made our Acadia vacation extra-special...can't wait to return. The town itself was quiet but had shopping and food right across the street. It is situated halfway between the National Park to the northeast, and lovely shore hikes to the south.


Excellent B&B

4.2 on July 09, 2008

My fiancé and I had a great time at the inn at southwest. The innkeepers are very nice and knowledgeable and the breakfast is awesome.


Inn at Southwest

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $200
  • Reviews (92) 4.6
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2072443835

Visit Website »

View details

Top