Captain Lindsey House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

The best stay in years

4.0 on October 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in immensely! It was quiet, the Inn was immaculately clean. We loved everything about it!


Rest after sailing at Captain Lindsey's

3.2 on September 03, 2013

Very quiet, very comfortable stay. Convenient to stores and restaurants. Breakfasts quite good. Bed very soft. Would return.


Wonderful weekend

5 on May 13, 2013

My friend booked us 2 rooms for 2 nights and, we have already started making plans to return. Rockland is a delightful village to explore with terrific restaurants (especially Prim0) and galleries. It is made all the better by knowing that, at the end of the day, you are returning to a luxuriously large and decadently comfortable room. This is a Great B & B!


I'd recommend this to others

4.4 on January 19, 2013

Rockland is very welcoming. Even in the rain, people had a sunny smile on their faces.


an unplanned stay....

5 on October 23, 2012

One evening in Oct 2012, after driving all day from Vermont, we missed the evening ferry by about 10 minutes. We were supposed to visit realitives on North Haven Island. Our nephew suggested we stay at the Captain Lindsay House. What a lovely Inn.....lovely room....and absolutely wonderful breakfast the next morning. The ladies served the most delicious blueberry french toast I have ever had in my life !!


You can't find more gracious hosts anywhere.

4.6 on October 06, 2012

Lovely, quaint, and luxuriously comfortable rooms. Ken and Ellen are delightful, entertaining, and serve an awesome breakfast of mostly local foods. Lots of quiet free time, too.


Fantastic Inn

5 on August 02, 2012

Everything was perfect!


Charming and Relaxing

5 on July 16, 2012

A charming B&B in a quaint village by the ocean. Attentive staff available to meet your needs. A delicious buffet breakfast as well as scrumptious snacks throughout the day.


Perfect Choice

5 on April 22, 2012

We had six couples... all attending a cousin's memorial service! We had cozy evenings by the fire...lively breakfasts in the dining room... & convenient proximity to museums and restaurants!


Peaceful, healing stay.

4.8 on February 12, 2012

My night was quiet and calm in a small quaint Victorian room. Lovely breakfast. Kind manager. Just perfect.


Maine Event

5 on December 14, 2011

When you walk into the Captain Lindsey Inn in Rockland, ME, you are among cherished friends. You feel as though you are in a familiar old treasured place where your return is always anticipated with excitement and a desire to make you feel perfectly at home.


Excellent stay

4.6 on December 14, 2011

A very pleasant friendly inn. Terrific breakfast and innkeeper. More helpful than expected, terrific experience.


We love the Lindsey Inn!

5 on November 03, 2011

Fantastic place -- wonderful innkeeper, great food, excellent! We can hardly wait to go back!


Rockland is a gem and the Captain Lindsey is better than home!

5 on September 28, 2011

The Captain Lindsey is clean, comfortable, and very charming. The food and service is spectacular. They aim to please and they deliver! The location is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, museums and even the ocean! Rockland was a very pleasant surprise with its farmlands, lobster/fishing trade and a sprinkling of artists; its very relaxed atmosphere is like a home away from home. We will definitely visit again. So much to do and see.


Enjoyed it all very much

4.6 on September 26, 2011

The breakfasts were delicious and the rasberry blueberry pie satisfied the taste buds with the blended fruit tea. The bed provided a very restfull sleep.


Spectacular 2 Night Getaway

5 on August 15, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful inn on 8/12. We were in room #6, that was appointed with anything you could want. The antques through out the home, are magnificent. The breakfast was presented beautifully. The food was over the top. The touches at this inn, left us speechless. The little homemade munchies they put out in the late afternoon, were scrumptous. The innkeeper, Patricia was as warm and friendly, as you could ask for. The owners of the inn, Ken & Ellen, were interesting to speack to, at our breakfast on Sunday morning. I bought her cookbook, and cannot wait to try some of her wonderful recipes. Can't wait to return to this magnificent inn. The inn was spotless, warm and inviting!


Elegant Comfort

5 on July 26, 2011

The Capt. Lindsey House Inn was the perfect place for a beautiful weekend getaway. Well situated, very friendly and comfortable...they took great care of us. Food wonderful, rooms wonderful, locations wonderful...they even did a great job on the weather!


An excellent place

5 on July 18, 2011

Beautiful, comfortable rooms, very clean, lovely backyard patio and indoor lounge area with fireplace and Maine antiques, friendly service and delicious breakfast included. Lots of period charm.


Excellent

3.6 on October 11, 2010

Lindsey House takes you back to a slower pace, cheerful, quiet. Unusually high temps/humidity overtaxed the air conditioning.


Wonderful B&B

4.8 on August 17, 2010

The staff's attention to details and comfort makes for a great stay. The atmosphere is wonderful, great value for the money. Why pay for a sterile hotel room when for the same amount in some cases you can stay in a warm inviting place. Would recommend to anyone.


A Captain's Palace

4.0 on April 17, 2010

We were met by one of the friendly owners. Our room had a gas fireplace and was nicely appointed and very clean. Had a problem with the toilet and were promptly upgraded to a larger room. Quaint and right off the main street downtown Rockland, the only thing lacking would be if this were actually located on the water. The breakfast was scrumptious both days including home made granola, cooked to order eggs and bacon, mounds of fresh fruit, fresh fruit smoothies that my wife Loved, their own blend of fresh roasted coffee from a local coffee roaster and tea available at all times. Can't wait to go back!


LOVE the Captain Lindsey!

5 on March 18, 2009

Our trip to Rockland was wonderful in no small part to our stay at the Captain Lindsey. We were in the middle of everything we wanted to do and see. The rooms are clean and cozy, you sink into the sumptuous down bedding and sleep like a baby. The common areas make you feel right at home, as does the staff. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet teeming with homemade goodies, fresh fruit and the to-die-for coffee specially blended for the Lindsey House. We had a great time and we'll definitely be back.


Comfortable Elegant Inn

4.4 on January 12, 2009

The Capt. Lindsey House is located right in the heart of downtown Rockland giving you the opportunity to walk everywhere and take advantage of all the fabulous shops and harbor. The inn is comfortable yet elegantly appointed with fine antiques. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed and the beds were very comfortable. The innkeeper was gracious and prepared a fantastic breakfast with lots of choices. I will definitely stay here again!


Historic Inn in Rockland Provides Comfort & Convenience

4.6 on September 10, 2007

Captain Lindsey House, built by an 19th century sea captain and now owned by a husband and wife/innkeeper team (both sea captains), provides comfortable lodging in downtown Rockland. The inn is within walking distance of the shopping district and restaurants; however, the street sounds can be a bit noisy at night when one is trying to sleep. Debra, the innkeeper on duty when we were there, is hospitable and helpful. The afternoon snacks and morning breakfast(a full buffet) she prepares are excellent. Our one night stay at Captain Lindsey House was a pleasant one.


Nautical in Flavor

5 on August 22, 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at the Captain Lindsey House. I had the pleasure of meeting the owners, both licensed sea captains and former owners of the oldest windjammer in America. There's a lovely nautical feel to the inn. It's filled with interesting decor, collected from all over the world. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Love the TVs cleverly hidden in cabinets. Breakast was great! A continental filled with fresh local fruits, breads, cereals and fabulous waffles, plus a hot dish too. Rockland's a great town, and Captn Lindsey House is walking distance to everywhere there. I would recommend this inn to everyone.


a comfortably elegant inn

5 on May 01, 2007

Right there in the harbor district of Rockland. Parked my car and never used it while there. Great beds and rooms - outstanding breakfast, nice people


Captain Lindsey House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $218
  • Reviews (26) 4.7
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2075967950
  • Toll free 1-8005232145
Top