Fleetwood House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
22 Reviews

Write A Review

Very Nice!

4.2 on August 05, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fleetwood House this weekend during The Gentlemen of the Road concert. We have had mixed experiences with other bed & breakfast's in the past, and this was honestly the last room left in Portland so I was slightly leery. What a pleasant surprise it turned out to be! The Bayside room was small, but comfortable with a private bathroom with stand up shower. Both the bathroom and bedroom were decorated nicely in a victorian fashion to go with the era of the house. Both were spotlessly clean. The bed was a double, and extremely comfortable. There was a window airconditioner in one window of the bay window which cooled the room nicely on a very hot evening and also blocked any street noise from below. Linda asked us what time we would prefer breakfast and we were greeted in the morning with a fruit/yogurt/granola "parfait" and french toast with bananas and blueberries, fresh orange juice and coffee and tea. Two things to for other travelers to consider are the steep staircase to the 2nd floor and the resident cats, however I am allergic to cats and did not have a problem at all. The only cat I saw in our stay was outside on the front porch. All in all, a great stay and I would definitely stay again if we were in the area.


Such a lovely place to stay!

4.0 on August 05, 2012

We loved it! Comfy rooms, very clean, charming place to stay. Free wifi, working ac (it was the hottest days in summer when we were there), coming back to fleetwood hse after a day in town, was a cool and sweet reprive. Waking up to the smell of LInda's delicious breakfast cooking was a delight. It felt like we were visiting our fav aunt's home! Linda and Jim certainly made us feel very welcomed. Sitting on their porch that morning, chatting like old friends is one of the best memories of our trip to portland! Only negatives were the beds were a tad small for 2 adults, and a door or curtain for a little privacy for the attached bath would be great. Rooms a little small, but this being a house that's over a hundred years old, that just adds to the charm of the place. Other than that, this place is a great place to stay!


Better than a five star hotel!

5 on May 30, 2012

A few days ago, as I was on holidays in New-York, I thought it'd be great to take the train to Portland (Maine) and drive along the coast. With my sister (we're both French, she lives in Tours -Loire Valley- and I live in Dublin -Ireland-)we booked a room at the Fleetwood House through bedandbreakfast.com. We had barely opened the door around 6pm that we were greeted very warmly by the owner (husband) of the lovely little house two minute drive from the harbour of Portland. The living room was so welcoming and the room would under rate a five star hotel just by having a look at it. The bed? So somfy! We slept very well. In the morning, the owner (wife) had made breakfast. The dining area made us believing we were at home. The orange juice in wine glasses woke us up gently and the coffee was tasty. As we're cat lovers, we really enjoyed the company of their four leg friends! We so enjoyed everything that we had decided to reserve the room for a second unplanned night in Portland. And the following day, the superb home-made french toast with fresh fruits had been replaced by a delicious cooked to perfection omelette. We felt quite sad when we left. I must certainely sound like I'm over reacting and exagerating but please, do believe me when I say that I'm not. You're planning a couple of days in Maine, stay at the Fleetwooh House! You'll love it!!


Restful & Relaxing

5 on March 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Fleetwood House for a night on our honeymoon. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable about the area and Maine, Their breakfast was delicious!


Excellent B&B!

4.6 on November 06, 2011

Very comfortable stay. The hosts were accommodating and helpful with ideas for getting around. Breakfast was excellent.


Great Getaway

4.2 on November 06, 2011

The cozy & welcoming inn with its charming innkeepers, Linda & Jim, was just what a B&B stay should be. I was even sick with a migraine & called ahead. They prepared our room 3 hours early so I could lie down. Linda is very accommodating & this lovely inn feels very homey.


"Wherever you go, there you are"

4.8 on October 31, 2011

The Fleetwood House was a lovely place to stay after a busy day in Portland. Delicious food, precious rooms, and friendly and helpful hosts.


The perfect escape

4.8 on October 02, 2011

This B&B offers a cozy and welcoming environment. The company is friendly and the food is delicious. The main attractions are a short drive away -- you won't be bored!


Great place

5 on November 13, 2010

We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Amenities were great & the owners were outstanding hosts. We highly recommend it!


Fleetwood House B&B

4.8 on November 11, 2010

A most beautiful, comfortable & hospitable Old Victorian Home. We slept like babies in the comfy bed. Linda & Jim were lovely hosts & a wealth of info.


Beware of the Fleetwood House in Portland

1.0 on July 12, 2010

My wife and I had a terrible experience at the Fleetwood House Bed and Breakfast in Portland, ME. Our room was warm and smelled. The words “sickening”, “oppressive” and “putrid” come to mind, a combination of cigarette smoke and cat dander (we’d seen 5 cats, but suspected more). We opened windows for fresh air since there are no air conditioner’s at the Fleetwood, only to hear horrendous truck noises from the interstate highway nearby -- so loud that we had to speak up to be heard. As we tried to sleep, the trucks were joined by crying cats inside and occasional bangs from the communal bathroom door – only one of the rooms actually has its own bathroom. All of this was bad enough, but it was the brew of cigarette smoke and cat dander (i.e., particles of dried dead cat skin, oil, and saliva) that did us in. By 4:00 am, after sleepless hours of this noise and stench, though neither of us had ever had a reaction to cats before, we developed severe allergic reactions that drove us from the house altogether; my wife's eyes swelled near shut, and both of us had trouble breathing. After deciding to bail, we hastily packed our bags and slept in our car from 4:00 AM until 7:00 AM. I found Linda to check out before breakfast since we simply could not stay in the house. When I explained our allergic reaction to Linda, the proprietor, she adamantly refused to work with us on the bill, and we learned that she had already charged my credit card for our entire stay. She simply explained that “I’m sorry it turned out this way”, and ended the conversation. In short, we found ourselves out on the street and unable to stay in Fleetwood House Bed and Breakfast because it is toxic, unhealthy and inhospitable. We had been charged over $300.00 for this experience, and now had no place to stay. Being high season in Portland, we couldn’t find another room and had to return home from our vacation. Yes, Linda, “We’re sorry it turned out this way.”

Innkeeper Response
As the Innkeeper of the Fleetwood House B & B, I must comment on the review regarding the following subjects from R. C. of Groton. I have been in business for eleven years and on a rare occasion you will get a person that is dissatisfied with everything but for the most part the guests that come to our B & B are very happy when they leave. The guests in question booked their reservation thru Instant World Booking and to get to the reservation site you have to past a very large cat that tells guests that we do have resident cats, So Beware. I feel badly that their stay was cut short but they also need to know that this is a business and that when a guest reserves a room, I am turning other guests away because of their reservation. I do not have 5 or more cats, I have 4 indoor/outdoor cats, in the spring, summer, and fall they prefer to be outdoors. My cats are not allowed in the guest's bedrooms but on occasion a guest will sneak one in for a while, and I do discourage this. My rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and I do take offence when someone states my rooms are dirty, this is my residence also. I do know that cats shed, that’s why I am constantly vacuuming and as for cat scales, I've never seen one. Perhaps he brought a microscope for that purpose. The noise level he experienced is city noise, not highway noise. We are at least 2 miles from the interstate. I have to admit the air conditioner in that room was not put in on time, but is in place now. My maintenance man was tied up on another job and wasn't able to get here in time. So I do apologize for that. I hope B & B guests will take what I am saying into consideration. We are not an undesirable place to stay and try really hard to please our guests


wonderful B&B in Portland, ME

5 on October 27, 2008

Staying at Fleetwood Inn, we had an extraordinary time in a wonderful, cozy, and warm house. The hosts were very friendly, it is definitely a place to stay.


Fleetwood House

4.8 on October 27, 2008

Picturesque house with a cozy and warm atmosphere and wonderful wooden floor.


Great B&B/Wonderful owners

4.4 on October 14, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at Fleetwood over the weekend in late Sep 2008. It's a beautiful house with newly renovated rooms. We stayed in the Bay Room, it's done beautifully with taste (antique motive meets contemporary design). The room is not big but has all the necessities. The only negative was the bed, though with a very comfortable mattress it's not suitable for two adults to sleep on comfortably, we had to literally turn together at night in order not to fall off... Other than that, our stay was great. Linda and Jim were wonderful and I enjoyed our conversation very much. Breakfast was terrific, the best egg casserole I've ever had! We would certainly recommend staying there and I would go back there myself, except next time we'll be booking a room with a bigger bed:)


A great excellence

5 on August 20, 2008

A charming historic B&B. (Goodie, Goodie !) my room was really nice with a comfey bed and breakfastwas big and delicious!


A comfortable and welcoming environment

5 on January 01, 2008

I spent a lovely weekend at the Fleetwood House in a beautiful Victorian room. Linda and Jim were wonderful - very welcoming and friendly people who also create a very private and cozy stay for their guests. The Inn had all the requirements for a pleasurable stay - clean, cozy rooms, an easy location to the heart of Portland, and a pleasant and relaxing environment. Thank you! I will be back next time I am in the area.


Comfortable and convienant.

3.4 on December 12, 2007

This is my favorite Portland neighborhood, and I was pleased to find such a homey place to stay near my family. Linda and Jim were most accomodating, and the cats were great!


Excellent Stay!

4.8 on November 13, 2007

Our family enjoyed your house, hospitality and company. Thank you for the great memories!


Very homey and friendly

4.8 on April 07, 2007

Very knowledgable about local spots and culture. The innkeepers were very nice and the breakfast was excellent


Cute and Friendly

4.6 on April 04, 2007

This was an easy place to stay...and the breakfast was tasty with a very beautiful table setting!


Friendly, Nice stay

4.6 on April 04, 2007

Convienient to downtown Portland and the airport. The Inn Keepers were very nice too.


I will return to The Fleetwood House

4.6 on April 04, 2007

The Inn Keepers were so nice and friendly. They helped us find places to see and helped with directions. The breakfast was yummy too!


Fleetwood House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $250
  • Reviews (22) 4.5
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2077729592
  • Fax 1-2077729592

Visit Website »

View details

Top