Rockmere Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
159 Reviews

Write A Review

CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!

5 on April 28, 2014

Far and away the best B and B we've ever stayed at. Awesome view of the ocean; the Inn is only steps from the Marginal Way. The hosts are delightful. They obviously love their place and are dedicated to taking care of their guests. From the marvelous breakfasts to the wonderful third floor lookout, complete with a bird book and several sets of binoculars, their caring is evident everywhere. We hope to visit again soon!


Best Bed and Breakfast I have stayed at.

5 on January 31, 2014

The room was clean and spacious, all the rooms are decorated and beautiful. The breakfast each morning was fabulous. Every detail is taken care of. The inn keepers are very helpful and friendly. They make you feel like you are home. I am definitely going back soon. Beautiful ocean views and you can walk to the Marginal Way. Many Thanks to Andy, Doug and Bob for doing such a wonderful Bed and breakfast. Thanks again. T. Storm


Birthday Celebration at Rockmere

5 on January 11, 2014

It has become a tradition for me to spend my birthday weekend at Rockmere and this year I brought my sister with me. I love Ogunquit in the off-season and it is wonderful to be welcomed back each year by Andy and Doug as well as other guests that seem to visit at the same time each year. The breakfasts at the inn get better each year and we never tire of the lobster dinners from local restaurants. For me, there is no place better to 'get away' than Rockmere Lodge.


A quiet gem steps from the Marginal Way

5 on December 18, 2013

We just got home from spending the most romantic and scenic weekend in Ogunquit Maine. Nestled on a hillside, steps from the Marginal Way, Rockmere Lodge over looks the ocean with all it's tranquility and ferociousness it can offer. We saw both this past weekend, as per New Englands ever changing weather, we had a calm Saturday and a Nor'ester Saturday night. The Lookout from the third floor of this wonderful B&B offered the best seat to wake up to a gorgeous Saturday morning watching the tranquil ocean, but then not to be outdone, we awoke to the fury of a Nor'easter on Sunday morning. All the while warm and safe in the lookout. The innkeepers are wonderful. They made us feel the Lodge was our temporary home. The breakfast cooked by Doug was the absolute best ever, especially the omelets. I've never had an omelet so moist and flavorful. Andy, is a wonderul story teller. He shared so many wonderful stories of their experiences while serving us breakfast. He told us about helping the save the Ogunquit Theater (a local icon) to being in Kermit the frog in Ogunquit's Christmas by the Sea parade. As well, he provided wonderful suggestions of the places to go and things to see during our stay. All of the rooms in the inn are impeccably decorated and will whisk the visitor back to the 1800's (except there is private baths of each room). When I stepped inside the Lodge, I marveled at each room. While every room was different, somehow, there was a flow to the decor that didn't make anything seem out of place. Of course going at Christmas time, we had the benefits of all the little extra things set out to regale the holiday in each room; so many Santas; so many poinsettas, and a revolving Christmas tree! Rockmere Lodge is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway. We came as strangers with expectations, and left as friends with hopes of returning in the not too distant future.


Texans in Maine

5 on November 08, 2013

Our first experience in Maine. And Doug and Andy at the Rockmere Lodge made it exceptional. Beautiful, cozy inn right at the entrance of The Marginal Way. Our room had breathtaking views of the craggy Maine coast. Wonderful cooked to order breakfast with great conversation with other guests from Canada and a colorful neighbor named Uncle Phil. Doug and Andy are wired into the local community so lots of good advice on sights, restaurants, shopping, etc. Our time in Maine at the Rockmere will definitely have us coming back.


Super service & convenience

4.8 on September 11, 2013

A beautiful old, Victorian, home with views of the ocean and steps away from the Marginal Way (a paved path that follows the shoreline). Hosts were very friendly and strived to provide the best service possible. Wonderful breakfast each morning was a perfect way to start the day. You can't go wrong staying here.


ROCKMERE ROCKS

4.4 on September 03, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Rockmere Lodge for four years. It's an easy, scenic drive from Montreal, Quebec. What sets this inn apart from all the others are three wonderful innkeepers, Bob, Andy and Doug - who do their utmost to make you feel as though their home is your home away from home. From the delicious breakfasts, great tips on where to eat and shop - everything is so laid back and relaxing. The inn's location is perfect - a two minute walk to the Little Beaches, and you don't have to bring beach towels or umbrellas - they're all provided for you. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate are available all day, and visit the tempting candy jars at the main desk! A great spot, away from the hustle and bustle of town and traffic, yet minutes to the famous marginal way. We will definately be back!! Arlene and Allan


rest and resoration

4.6 on August 27, 2013

My husband and I recently visited to help us get over the loss of a beloved pet. We returned home after three nights feeling so much better. The combination of sea breezes, great food, fuzz therapy and the perfect location with lovely people did it. You can stay in this beautiful old house filled with treasures, and walk everywhere along the Marginal Way, so, no driving if you don't want to. It's wonderful to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the ocean, and you don't hear very much else here.


Vacationer's Dreamhouse!

5 on August 26, 2013

My wife and I just completed a wonderful 5-day stay at this beautiful Victorian Inn. Hosts Andy, Bob and Doug were attentive, helpful and most congenial. They obviously take great pride in their lodge. Highlight of each day was delicious breakfast as we socialized with our hosts, other guests, Uncle Phil and "the kids." What a beautiful was to start each day! We felt like part of their family from the moment we arrived. Everything about our accommodations was superb! Everything Ogunquit has to offer is a comfortable 1/2-mile stroll on the scenic Marginal Way only steps from the front porch. This was our second year at the Rockmere Lodge and we will surely return next year.


Fantastic experience !

5 on August 26, 2013

My husband and I were there for the fourth times and we made a fantastic experience by the sea. The victorian house and the garden are clean. Everything is perfect, rooms are really pretty with fresh towels everyday. Breakfast on the porch are delicious. We feel like a part of this family when we are there. The innkeepers, Andy, Bob and Doug are very kind. If you decide to make this experience, you will only want to return another times.


Fabulous Getaway, close to Boston

5 on August 26, 2013

Thanks Andy, Doug, and Bob for a fantastic get away! The house and grounds offered spectacular views of the sea and were lovingly and beautifully maintained. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast on the porch every morning was amazing. Our hosts were so friendly and informative; we felt like family at the end of our stay. Can't wait to return!


Felt Like Home

5 on August 10, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Ogunquit for six years and can honestly say we have found a wonderful place to stay. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The location is right off the Marginal Way and within walking distance to town and Perkins Cove. Andy, Bob and Doug made our stay most enjoyable and memorable. Doug puts on a delicious breakfast and with a view of the ocean breakfast could not have been better. Their hospitality made it feel like home and difficult to leave. Definitely looking forward to our next stay at the Rockmere


A little slice of heaven...

5 on August 09, 2013

The Rockmere Lodge is located just off the beaten path - of the Marginal Way - and is a peaceful haven with a spectacular view. We just returned from a 5 night stay there, and after many years returning to the same place, the charm never wears off. The innkeepers are warm and friendly and you quickly become part of the extended family. The breakfasts on the porch are a highlight, with gourmet offerings from the resident cook, Doug. Bob and Andy will pour an endless cup of coffee and happily share restaurant recommendations and colorful tales. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and the gardens are lush and colorful. It's truly a lovely setting for spending some relaxing time by the sea!


Enjoyable Stay

5 on August 06, 2013

This was a return visit for us to Rockmere Lodge. The location is wonderful being so close to the Marginal Way. We stayed in the Anna-Marie room which was decorated nicely and had a fantastic ocean view. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts Bob, Andy & Doug were very gracious and welcoming. Highly recommended!


Right Off the Marginal Way

5 on August 04, 2013

This lovely inn is right off the Marginal Way, halfway between the town and Perkins Cove. The inn is surrounded by gardens where you can find many places to sit, look at the flowers, and read. The innkeepers are warm and friendly and serve a gourmet breakfast.


Superb views and hospitality

5 on August 01, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Rockmere and had a wonderful experience. The innkeepers were a delight and the breakfasts delicious. The house is beautifully decorated and our room was clean, comfortable, with an unbeatable view. Would absolutely return!


Wonderful Stay at Rockmere

4.8 on July 05, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay at the Rockmere Lodge. It is located conveniently to all that Ogunquit has to offer but is also a place that you can enjoy the Inn and gardens without going anywhere! Andy, Doug and Bob were welcoming, friendly, hosts and we enjoyed talking with them over breakfast each morning. Thank you Andy, Doug and Bob for making our stay so special. We will return! Valerie and David


charming B&B

4.4 on June 16, 2013

very well located, steps to marginal way. owners are pleasant, friendly and accomadating. would certainly consider returning on our nest visit to Ogunquit.


Love This Place!!!

5 on June 12, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The Inkeepers are wonderful, the view is magnifiicent, and the breakfast is delicious. Wouldnt want to stay anywhere else!


Couldn't ask for any better.

5 on June 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rockmere Lodge and it was amazing. The hospitality was incredible. The views of the ocean from the rooms are breathtaking. This is def. the place to stay. I'm looking forward to going back and making many memories there. Thank you Rockmere


This place is fabulous

5 on June 03, 2013

I just came home from a fantastic stay at the Rockmere Lodge. The rooms and views are breathtaking. The innkeeps are incredibly nice and the breakfast is fantastic. The innkeepers Andy, Doug and Bob really take pride in the Rockmere Lodge and it shows. I would not stay any place other than the Rockmere Lodge. Thank you for a fabulous weekend. Can't wait to come back very very soon.


Best place to stay on the Marginal Way!

5 on May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Rockmere Lodge on the recommendation of friends and have thanked them many times since. This beautifully restored historic lodge was our home while we enjoyed all that Ogunquit, ME has to offer. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and had an excellent view of the ocean from both windows! Andy & Doug and "the Kids" (Bob was out of town) made us feel right at home, and Doug even made delicious Gluten-Free pancakes for us in the morning (to accommodate my dietary restrictions). We highly recommend Rockmere Lodge and will definitely return every time we come back to New England. Sue & Dave, Kansas


More than 5 stars

5 on April 22, 2013

Rockmere is such as relaxing B&B. Just a few steps and you are on the marginal way. The innkeepers attention to details are out of this world. Breakfast is a work of art, coffee, tea, candy anytime along with a brandy at night. The views from the rooms and the look out tower couldn't be any better unless you were on a boat. I would give more than 5 stars if it was allowed. This is the second time at Rockmere and are already planning our next trip.


Surprise weekend getaway

5 on April 15, 2013

My husband and I have been married for almost 13 years and he surprised me by taking me to our first B & B at the Rockmere Lodge as a 40th birthday present. I couldn't have been any happier. Andy and Doug raised the bar very high for B & B's and they did the B & B profession proudly. You can tell they love what the day and it was a class act experience. As classy and as victorian as this was it was also casual and comfortable all rolled into one. Thanks to Andy and Doug for the memories and hospitality and for making your house a home to us. I can't wait to come back again.


Delightful Experience

5 on February 18, 2013

Just returned from a second stay at the Rockmere. We so enjoy the spacious rooms and the comfortable, friendly atmosphere - to say nothing of the absolutly beautiful ocean views that you wake up to in the morning and can enjoy from any number of areas on the property during your stay. Can't wait for our next visit -


An amazing weekend at Rockmere

5 on December 19, 2012

This was by 4th time spending my birthday weekend at Rockmere Lodge during Christmas by the Sea....usually with my husband, but sometimes with friends and this year with my daughter. It is like coming home for the holidays, but the breakfasts served by Andy and Doug are far better than I get at home! Rockmere is always beautiful, but especially at Christmastime with a unique tree in every room. This is a very special place by the sea and I am already making plans for next year!


An amazing time......as always!

5 on December 12, 2012

This was my 4th time at the Rockmere Lodge for Ogunquit's "Christmas By the Sea" and 5th stay overall with my fiancee. It was a wonderful experience, just as all of them have been. This is my favorite weekend of the year because I actually get to forget my troubles and enjoy myself. Going into the Rockmere is like taking a trip back in time. Old fashioned bedrooms, a welcoming couch near the fireplace in the main living room and the Crow's Nest (a sitting area overlooking the Ocean view) are just a few of the ways to forget the stress and hassle of the outside world and relax and enjoy life. (I am a TV junkie, and while there are great TV's in each room, I have yet to turn one one while I've been there). When you stay at the Rockmere, it is the Inn Keepers who are the ones that make you their "family". Doug creates wonderful breakfasts and Andy sits in the dining room with you and discusses things to do in the Town, where you can eat, the history of the house, etc. "Uncle" Phil (a neighbor from next door) might come in and sit in on the conversation and joke with Andy and Doug. Other guests of the Inn may even become your friends and keep in touch when you leave (I have met some wonderful people during my time at Rockmere). You feel like you are part of something instead of the run of the mill B&B's that leave you a 1/2 of a Muffin in the morning and no one around. And those "little things" continue throughout your stay - each room had its own, individual Christmas Tree; each room has a unique name; every time you go, you will find something different. If you need somewhere to stay, try the Rockmere Lodge....and become part of the extended family! The above was written a few days ado on another Trip "site". I very rarely take the time to go out of my way and write reviews about anything (good or bad). So the fact that I have decided to post these entries is just another attestment to how great I feel Rockmere Lodge really is.


Another Great Trip

5 on November 19, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our annual weekend at the Rockmere. For four years we have enjoyed the unique rooms, delicious breakfasts and friendly innkeepers at the Rockmere! We recommend it to all of our friends!


Like coming home for the holidays

4.6 on November 18, 2012

My first stay at Rockmere Lodge was my first B&B which I throughly enjoyed. Ten months later I was asked what I would like for my birthday ( a big one) and I didn't hesitate for a second in choosing to go back to the Rockmere for my celebration. The atmosphere and friendliness with Andy and Doug made us feel right at home. They even surprised me with a birthday card and cake. Looking forward to a return trip.


Old Ogunquit Charm!

5 on November 04, 2012

Back in the day, I used to run down the hill past this grand home and go fishing off the rocks at Lobster Point. This place brought many memories back for me by being so close to the Marginal Way, Perkins Cove and the Ogunquit Beach. We love room number 4 with the view of the ocean and the French decorations. We wish we had more time to stay! We will be back!


Eclectic Charm!

3.6 on October 27, 2012

Andy, Doug and Bob have done a fantastic job using all the pieces they have collected over the years to create a very cozy, unimposing atmosphere filled with old-world charm.We visited in Oct and it was a bit cold to be able to enjoy the garden areas, which I regretted as one can tell they are beautiful in full bloom. Breakfast was always very good, and satisfying, and our hosts are among the warmest we have met. Definitely recommend


Nice Location, But Place is Seedy, Worn and Very Disappointing

1.2 on October 18, 2012

My wife and I were so looking forward to our trip, but within minutes of arriving at the Rockmere, we had this sickening sense that we'd made an awful mistake: the lawn was a mess, the sign out front was hanging at an angle, and the cushions on the outdoor furniture were frayed. Inside the foyer, we found a penetrating smell of musty dogs and dust that was nearly overwhelming. The stairs to the third floor were full of dust, and the windowsill in the vaunted "Lookout Room" was covered with dead bugs, mostly moths. Once in our room we found the windowsills were filthy, the bathroom dusty, moldy, and surprisingly dated (the shower didn't even have a handheld unit). We'd requested a pull-out couch, which came with a broken leg, a well-worn mattress and a thick smell of dust. My impression was that the innkeepers relied on the heavy use of air freshener (rather than actually cleaning) to cover the room's unpleasant smells. Breakfast was uninspiring (no choices other than various frozen foods presented as though they were homemade delicacies - they're not) as is the cluttered, threadbare, decor. After two nights, we finally asked one of the innkeepers to our room and politely pointed-out some of the aforementioned issues. His response was defensive, accusatory, and extraordinarily rude. When I pointed to the impossibly shabby, three-legged pull-out sofa, he responded by asking: what's wrong with that? To somebody spending $200/night, it was an incredibly insulting moment. Bottom line: I would never recommend the Rockmere to anyone. All aspects of the place - the dirty rugs, bedding, overall shabbiness, smells, etc. were unpleasant, as was management. For the price charged by this B&B, vacationers deserve much, much better than the Rockmere.


Oguquit Maine's Best B&B

5 on October 14, 2012

The Rockmere Lodge is located in Ogunquit Maine "A Beautiful Place by the Sea"and by far is the best B&B to stay and relax and enjoy this quaint seaside village. The Rockmere Lodge is right on the Atlantic Ocean's door step and offers wonderful views of the breaking waves and awesome sun rises. The inkeepers, Andy, Doug and Bob make you feel welcome from the time you walk into their beautiful home and throughout your entire stay. Our stay in room #6 was simply the best and each morning we enjoyed a home cooked breakfast prepared by Doug aand served by Andy and Bob. The innkeepers shared time with all at breakfast offering good and often tiimes humorous stories about their many years running the Rockmere and living in Maine. We now have three new friends in Ogunquit, Andy, Bob and Doug and will return next year for another great time


Another Great Stay

5 on October 12, 2012

This was my second trip to the Rockmere Lodge. You cannot find a better location for a Bed and Breakfast in Ogunquit. It is right next to the marginal way so you can walk anywhere and the ocean is your neighbor. The owners are consumate hosts who treat every guest with the utmost care. The breakfasts are delicious and entertaining. Uncle Phil comes from next door for conversation and the dining room is cozy and well appointed. The rooms are very comfortable and clean as a whistle for your whole stay. I highly recommend that you give this delightful bed and breakfast your business. You will not regret it in any way. I feel so much at home there that leaving is not so easy. If you want a more out of the hustle and bustle of Ogunquit location where you will be an honored guest, stay here.


Our Favorite B&B

5 on October 09, 2012

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Rockmere and it was just wonderful. We were 1st time visitors and Andy, Bob and Doug made us feel like family. Every aspect of the visit was perfect - the room, the house, del;icious breakfasts and the company. We will most definitely return for another wonderful stay.


An Oasis of Tranquility

5 on September 27, 2012

If you are looking for an oasis of tranquility, this is the place for you. By far, this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Andy, Doug and Bob have created a haven that sweeps away stress and soothes the soul. From the Victorian-inspired decor, to the attention to details (everything you may have forgotten is right at your fingertips, including beach towels, umbrellas, and even Q-tips!), our stay was perfect. They were even keenly attentive to my food allergies and made a delicious breakfast just for me. The view of the ocean was spectacular right from our room and we relished eating breakfast on the open porch listening to the sound of the crashing waves. The dining room (on the cold morning) was exquisite, right down to the Autumn motif on the china. We are looking forward to making Rockmere Lodge an annual destination!!


Can't get any better than this. . . A bit of Heaven!

4.8 on September 18, 2012

We have stayed with Andy, Doug, and Bob twice now. Each time we enjoyed their hospitality so much that we plan on making this our spot whenever we come to Ogunquit. The rooms are spotless, well appointed, comfortable, and inviting. We had a lovely breakfast on the porch with ocean views divine. The secret top floor lookout is like being in you own private viewing room of the ocean, and you can see miles in every direction. Gardens, flowers and plants everywhere and lots of nooks and crannies to enjoy the outdoor breezes. If you come for a day, you will want to stay longer. . .


Totally relaxing and enjoyable

4.8 on September 17, 2012

WE just returned home yesterday from Rockmere. It was our first trip to Maine, and the first time at a Bed and Breakfast for the other couple we were traveling with. Everything was wonderful. The gentlemen running Rockmere were fun and informative. They made us feel welcome and comfortable! The people we were with were a bit nervous about staying at a B&B; our stay at this beautiful home has made them much more relaxed about bed and breakfast lodging. We are already planning on a return trip to visit with Doug the wonderful chef, Bob and Andy! We enjoyed them all VERY much!


Lucky thirteen

5 on September 17, 2012

Just returned from our 13th year at the Rockmere Lodge. As always our hosts greeted us like old friends. They have made many improvements this year, such as new carpeting, expanded the deck and fenced in the yard. As always the breakfasts are healthy delicious and served beautifully. We will be returning for #14.


Thirteen is really the charm!

5 on September 16, 2012

There is no place quite like Rockmere Lodge to spend a relaxing vacation with the sights and sounds of the sea to sooth your soul. From the crest of Israel Head Road we know we have reached our seaside escape – the ocean is straight ahead! Around the next corner we get our first glimpse of the Inn - the grand cottage facing the sea. Our room on the second floor has been redecorated again in soothing pastel shades with a beautiful bird motif, which is a nice complement to the vast ocean views from our windows. Peace and relaxation are all we will have for the coming days and nights. After a great dinner at nearby Perkins Cove, we are lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. The new day dawns with a view of the sunrise over the ocean. It doesn’t get any better than that! Now on to an early morning walk on the Marginal Way – only steps away from Rockmere, with more beautiful places to enjoy the views of the ocean than can be imagined. We return to the porch of the Inn for one of Doug’s wonderful breakfasts which will sustain us for our day’s activities. We linger on the porch looking at the sea view and having lively conversations with Andy and Bob. By now all three Innkeepers have become like family that we visit every summer! There are so many things to fill the day – beaches, museums, shops, galleries, and great restaurants. After all this activity, it’s great to return to the porch of the Inn to sit, relax, and enjoy the view once again. The only negative for us is the morning we have to leave, but we know we will be returning next year for visit fourteen! 9/16/12/cad/¿


6 from san diego

5 on September 14, 2012

6 of us from San Diego spent 7 days in Ogonquit. Staying at the Rockmere was a terrific experience. Looking forward to our next visit!


Book It Now!

5 on September 08, 2012

Location! Location! Location! steps to the marginal way, 20 minute walk to Ogunquit or 25 minutes to Perkins Cove. It you want a terrific view of the ocean and fall asleep listening to the waves crashing, then this is the place for you. You have a private beach minutes away to watch the surfers or enjoy the ocean yourself. Decorated 1899 Victorian home with front porch to sit and to have breakfast with an observation deck on the third floor. Plant enthusiasts will love this place.Days start with a hearty breakfast. The three innkeepers, Andy, Bob and Doug provide hospitality and believe in making your stay special. It was a wonderful experience and we have already booked coming back here. Jane and Gary Room Tip: spectacular views on second and third floors, Suite 4 is large and sunny and has a wonderful view...


The Perfect Spot

5 on September 08, 2012

If you're looking for relaxation, beautiful scenery, a quiet beach, walking access to Qgunquit, and a truly welcoming atmosphere, there is no better place than Rockmere. Bob, Doug, and Andy make it a very special place.


Really Enjoyed Our Stay

4.8 on September 07, 2012

We had a great time at Rockmere. It is right on the Marginal Way walking road and Ogunquit is a really nice Maine town. Very clean and beautiful. The Rockmere owners were very friendly and accomodating. Their dogs were really cool also. Our room had a great view of the ocean and the surfers. Plan to stay there again.


Relaxing Getaway

4.0 on September 03, 2012

A perfect location on the Marginal Way! Easy walk to town, Perkins Cove and a beautiful, quiet beach. Breakfast was always wonderful and we loved our morning chats, especially with Uncle Phil! Sue & Mike


Exceeded all expectations!

5 on August 25, 2012

Hats off to Andy, Doug and Bob for their gracious hospitality, delicious breakfasts and relaxing atmosphere on mile-long Marginal Way midway between Perkins Cove and Ogunquit Beach/town. Beautifully decorated and marvelously comfortable. Everything within walking distance. Highly recommended; we will definitely return next summer if not before. Gus and Laura


Rockmere Lodge ROCKS

5 on August 21, 2012

The location is wonderful, the house is beautiful and the innkeepers (Andy, Doug, Bob) are gracious, caring, funny and warm. They quickly become part of your vacation. Located overlooking the Ocean and on the Marginal way, we parked the car Friday morning and never needed it again. A short beautiful walk on the Marginal Way (like the Cliffwalk in Newport) either to Perkins Cove , or in the opposite direction to Ogunquit Beach. Or take a short walk out of the driveway and you are on Shore Road (the main street iwth all the restaurants and shops) in a jiffy. However, despite the location, it really is the warmth and character of both the home and the innkeepers that make this B&B so special. We've visited Ogunquit many times and stayed in many places, but from now on , Rockmere Lodge will be our home away from home. Many thanks Andy, Bob and Doug - Janice and Dan.


Gracious Hospitality

4.0 on August 13, 2012

What a lovey time we had at Rockmere Lodge! The atmosphere is one of a glorious by-gone era of graciousness and tranquility. The Innkeepers are wonderful and made our stay so much more special than it would have been had we stayed in a hotel. And the breakfasts served on the porch overlooking the ocean each morning were outstanding. We wouldn't stay any place else in Oqunquit!


Best spot in Ogunquit

5 on August 12, 2012

Ogunquit Maine is a lovely place to vacation. It can, however be quite a busy place during the summer months. If you want tranquility and relaxation, then Rockmere Lodge is the place for you. Set on a beautiful piece of property, with many outdoor seating areas, you also have beautiful views of the ocean. The rooms are lovely, breakfast is excellent, as are all the ammenities. What sets this inn apart from the others, are the 3 great innkeepers. They make you feel so comfortable - like you're part of their family. You don't even need to bring beach towels - they are happily supplied for you. This was our third visit to Rockmere and it certainly will not be our last !


Just Perfect!

5 on August 11, 2012

We simply did not want to leave. Between the incredible breakfast, stunning views and the kindest innkeepers you could ever find, Rockmere is the best of the best! Our room was beautifully decorated and included everything we could ever need to make our stay comfortable and memorable. A wonderful location just steps from the ocean and a short walk from the best restaurants and Maine lobsters.


oustanding stay....highly recommended

5 on August 06, 2012

we can't recommend rockmere highly enough. my wife had a great stay. the proprietors are friendly, helpful and funny!! joe and elln


Marie & Robert's Maine Get Away!

4.8 on August 03, 2012

Andy; Doug and Bob - a great place to stay in Maine! We were looking for an ideal location and this was it. Mostly quiet and great walking in either direction on the marginal way to Perkins Cove or Ogunquit! Great recomendations on places to eat (Footbridge Lobster Rolls are the best! and Gypsy sweethearts was great too.) Releasing the hounds was never so much fun as the kids were all welcoming and made us feel great when our boy was home. Andy and Bob were great entertainers and Doug's breakfasts were awesoem way to start the day with a great garden view and ocean breeze. We made some nice friends and met some people whom are a part of the Rockmere family. We felt a part of that family when we left and look forward to a return trip! Rooms were decorated nicely and this inn is just as advertised...Thanks for making this a great vacation guys!!


Mike and Carol's review

4.6 on July 27, 2012

Outstanding location and the true meaning of bed and breakfast. Wonderful ambience and interacting with the in keepers. Superb breakfast. Ideal location to the Marginal Way. A nice relaxed stay. Highly recommended to all who want to get away to a comfortable relaxed visit to Maine coast and best sandy beach arround.


Fun stay in Ogunquit

4.4 on July 16, 2012

Thanks Andy, Bob and Doug. We enjoyed everything about your wonderful home! Great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Don and Lauren


Shangra La in Maine

5 on July 13, 2012

This is no ordinary B & B it is EXTRAordinary! Having traveled for over fifty years all over the world and the USA, Rockmere Lodge has all the amenities you expect from a first class B & B:tasty breakfasts served on different china every day, terrific location halfway between whatever you want to do or see in Ogunquit, I still dream about the gorgeous wallpaper in our room and the views from there, the porch are to die for, not to mention the wonderfull mattress. Don't worry everything you ever thought of having at a B & B has already been provided by your hosts: Andy,Doug or the two Bobs. i.e. coffee ,tea, water sodas (around the clock) candy for those in between hankerings. But what is difficult to put into words is the ambience Rockmere has going for it: when you drive up you fee like Alice going through the looking glass. A visit to a relative you always wished you had; a gorgeous big home by the sea, flowers all planted and chosen by the owners, treasures in and out of the home all carefully chosen by one of the guys.And if that was not enough you suddenly find yourself surrounded by (other visitors)who seem like relatives you always wished you had. Believe me stay here and it will be one of highlights of your travels as it it with us. Many thanks and much love to Andy, Doug and the Two Bobs.


Lovely Victorian by the Sea

4.6 on July 09, 2012

Thank you Bob, Andy and Doug for a wonderful Maine vacation. Your hospitality and friendly manner made our stay a warm one. The kids were so much fun to meet and greet. And the wonderful breakfasts overlooking the Marginal Way were the best part of the morning. We will definitely be returning to the lovely Victorian by the Sea.


Great Great Great!!!!

5 on July 07, 2012

Great room overlooking the ocean. Great hosts tell great stories each morning. Great breakfast. Great location. Right on the marginal way. Walk one way to Perkins Cove, fun little fishing village. Walk the other way to Ogunquit, great little village. My stay far exceeded my expectations in every way. I will definitely be back.


Exceeded all expectations!

5 on July 03, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful, warm hospitality and all the recommendations that made our first stay in Maine so enjoyable! Rockmere Lodge and its hosts are great! Colleen & Stuart, Pittsburgh PA


What a wonderful weekend

5 on June 26, 2012

We spent a weekend that dreams are made of...the rooms are inviting and so romantic...the owners are engaging and so much fun...the location is spectacular...the views of the Atlantic Ocean are magnificent...and breakfast was delicious and a blast with great conversation and an opportunity to play with "the kids", the owners dogs. We can't wait to go back again soon. While there we had dinner at Angelina's which was great and reasonably priced. We had such a wonderful weekend. Norman Standring Jean Collette


Very Friendly!

4.8 on June 25, 2012

The hosts were so very friendly - their prime concern was that you enjoyed yourself and took everything very leisurely! It was our first time, and were very very impressed!


A Room With a View

5 on May 24, 2012

A perfect place to stay with my daughter to get our annual walk on the Marginal Way. I've many a fond memory of Ogunquit from years ago. Rockmere carries on the tradition. Andy, Doug and Bob are great hosts. They manage to anticipate one's every need and serve up a fine breakfast too. Did I mention the fabulous views from our room? We look forward to returning soon again and shall continue to tell our friends about Rockmere as a destination.


Perfect place to enjoy Ogunquit

4.4 on May 04, 2012

Perched above the Atlantic shore on the Marginal Way with exquisite ocean views, walking distance to Perkins Cove, Ogunquit Beach, downtown Ogunquit, restaurants and shopping on the scenic Marginal Way. Friendly and caring inkeepers who have made their house your home. Eclectic, warm, cozy, sweet, gardens, flowers, surfing, swimming, eating, playing, shopping and fun. Try it, I think you will want to go back.


Feels like home..

4.8 on April 29, 2012

When we first discovered Rockmere in 2011 we were so pleased to find a B&B that was comfortable, so close to the magnifcent rocky coast of Ogunquit, and run by such good people. The warm atmosphere and welcome feel are the result of special care by the owners Andy, Doug, and Bob. So when we decided to take a little getaway to Maine last weekend, there was no doubt about where we would stay. It was automatic. Doug's breakfasts are elegant and delicious and Andy's friendly banter is both warming and educational. You get so comfortable in the dining room that you soon feel like it's home. The proximity to Perkins Cove and to town makes it so easy to walk to restaurants, shops, taverns and the other attractions in one of the east coast's quaintest seaside communities. As you stroll the majestic shore side path to the Inn, you realize that you are staying in a place that you would otherwise never be in, unless of course you were the owner of one of the multi-million dollar estate homes in the neighborhood. The Rockmere - Elegant, eclectic, warm, friendly, delicious, comfortable, reasonable and convenient. You'll be going back! Dwight and Sharon, Albany NY


A place to visit again and again

4.2 on April 28, 2012

My husband and returned to the Rockmere for our third spring stay... beautiful and nourishing. Doug and Andy made us feel at home again. Delicious and plentiful food. great views from rooms. sound of sea and birdsong through windows. Delightful... will definitely return again...


Beautiful, welcoming B and B

5 on April 25, 2012

We have visited Rockmere Lodge 4 times and it is really the reason we travel to Ogunquit. We just love it, the beauty of the home, each room decorated in different styles, the view of the ocean, the proximity to the Marginal Way, a wonderful walkway leading to the beach and town on one end, and Perkins Cove on the other. The guys who run the Lodge make you feel very welcome and they pay such attention to the tiniest detail to make your stay memorable. Breakfasts are delicious! One morning, we had OJ, egg omelette, potato pancake, toasted English muffin, yogurt with sliced fresh fruit and whipped cream, coffee and tea. The coffee is heaven, the aroma reached us in our room, whilc we listened to the ocean waves, and the birds singing. It made us feel happy to be alive!


Wonderful stay

4.8 on January 04, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay. I come up for the Christmas Prelude every year and have a great time. Andy and Doug make the experience so much fun. The rooms are clean and beautiful as is the rest of the Inn. Doug cooks a fantastic breakfast. Thank you and we will be back again.


Best of the Best

5 on December 18, 2011

I want to thank Andy and Doug for sharing their wonderful home. This place is a gem. Right on the Marginal Way, it has spectacular views and the hosts add so much to create the perfect vacation spot. I can't believe some of the earlier "less than perfect" reviews. This place is right on the rocky shore of beautiful Maine and it is an immaculate B&B. Thank you Andy and Doug for sharing your lives with us. We'll be back (don't forget the new saw blade)


Wonderful Time - I miss the Rockmere Already

4.6 on December 13, 2011

What a great time we had last weekend! I miss Andy and Doug already....and I love me some Uncle Phil :) I am not sure I would have loved Ogunquit quite as much without the three of them.


One of my favorite escapes

5 on December 05, 2011

Andy and Doug made us feel very welcome (as they do every year). We've been coming to the Rockmere for Christmas prelude for several years now. It always feels like we're coming to stay with friends. Lots of laughs at breakfast time and beautiful decor to admire on every corner. Can't wait to go again!


We searched for a B&B and found a home away from home!

5 on November 13, 2011

Everything about this wonderful inn exceeded our expectations (which were high to begin with)! This was our first stay in Ogunquit, a quaint coastal Maine town where "off-season" only means "too cold to swim" ;~) Our hosts, Andy and Doug (Bob had temporarily defected to Florida), were superb - not only well-informed about Ogunquit and its surrounds, but delightful story-tellers who kept us well entertained with Ogunquit's history and lore. The inn is a historic home, built in 1899 by the Stearns family (of Stearns and Foster mattress fame). It exudes Victorian charm and every room is gracefully and exquisitely appointed. Seaviews abound, as the inn is located only steps from Marginal Way, a paved footpath beginning at Perkins Cove and running for 1-¼ miles to the marvelous expanse of Ogunquit Beach. Our room - the Drudy - was located on the third floor, with a lovely view of the sea, moonrise and sunrise. Clean, homey and welcoming and a most comfortable bed! Breakfast was fabulous and elegantly presented in the fireplaced dining room (with roaring fire, I might add). Something about this place attracts good times and good folk, as we spent our breakfasts and late evenings in merry cheer with the other guests, trading stories and sharing laughter... Andy and Doug possess a great love of nature and animals, as evidenced by the gardens, the statuary, the whimsical curios and bric-a-brac ornamenting the house. We loved every moment of our stay and can't wait to return!


Wonderful Maine

5 on October 12, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and had a different gourmet breakfast each morning. The room was clean and wonderfully decorated. Andy and Doug are gracious hosts who provided us with knowledgable guidance to find attractions and food throughout the area. The Inn was beautiful decorated for fall. We were made to feel like personal guests and not paying customers. The Rockmere is the the quintessential reason we chose to stay at a B&B and not a hotel or motel. We left relaxed, well fed and with new friends. We will be back!


Weekend Getaway

5 on October 06, 2011

Rockmere Lodge is wonderful. Andy, Doug and Bob are Great innkeepers. They have perfected the right amount of service they provide and also give their guests plenty of privacy. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and always in bloom and decorated for each season. Breakfast is the best!!! Rockmere is within many activities and walkable to Perkins Cove and downtown Ogunquit. This bed and breakfast is highly recommended.


A Happy 25th Anniversary Celebration

4.8 on October 01, 2011

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary at the Lodge. The location was beautiful (mid-way between Perkins Cove and downtown Ogunquit, right on Marginal Way). Our room was bright, comfortable and clean. We had an awesome weekend. Bob, Andy and Doug were superb hosts. They recommended a couple of fabulous restaurants (Gypsy Sweethearts and 98 Provence) and really made us feel welcome. We had some fun interactions with the other guests at the lodge that week end as well and Uncle Phil from next door was a welcome surprise at breakfast each day. We hope to make our trip to Ogunquit and the Rockmere Lodge and annual event and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet getaway to a picturesque location.


Peaceful and Picturesque

5 on October 01, 2011

Are you looking for a quiet, restful getaway that is less than a five-minute walk from one of the most picturesque spots on the East Coast? If so, then I highly recommend the Rockmere Lodge in Ogunquit, ME. My wife and I have stayed in numerous B & Bs in the USA and Europe over the past 30 plus years and give the Rockmere Five Stars in comparison. We are in our 60’s and were delighted that we could walk along the Marginal Way about one half a mile in either direction to picturesque coves, restaurants, fascinating shops and exceptional ocean views. The Innkeepers are genuinely friendly and most helpful when giving advice and tips on the local restaurants, shops, etc. They sincerely make you feel as if you are part of their family without intruding on your “quiet time”. The breakfast is a gourmand’s delight with fresh entrees every morning. This was our first visit but most definitely not our last!


An awesome getaway

5 on September 24, 2011

The Rockmere Lodge is our family's favorite vacation spot. It is a very tranquil and beautiful place with excellent food and service. It is definitely worth the trip.


Exceeded Our Expectations!

4.0 on September 24, 2011

We spent three nights at the Rockmere where we met Doug, Bob, Andy, Phil (the neighbor who one guest described as A.K.A. Paul Newman) and the canine "kids". It is a lovely home with the decor any antiques and uniques admirer would love. We stayed in the Victoria Rose room on the third floor with great ocean views and quiet! We did not hear the other guests. The outside grounds are lovely with gorgeous flowers, gazebos and many places to sit and enjoy the ocean, surfers and marginal way. We will be back.... a great place that exceeded our expectations.


Love the Rockmere Lodge!

5 on September 19, 2011

What a find! First timers but certainly not the last! Beautiful Inn, cozy personalized rooms, awesome food and Innkeepers that will make you feel like family all made our birthday celebration an awesome vacation along the Maine coast! Not to mention breakfast with Uncle Phil! Andy, Bob, and Doug have the model down for running an Inn and making their guests feel like family! Looking forward to our next trip! Carol n Rick


Rockmere was the best place we have ever stayed!

5 on September 16, 2011

I can not say enough wonderful things about the Rockmere! The house was just absolutely amazing we had such a wonderful time and the Inn keepers are the best! Our room was beautiful overlooking the ocean and we can't wait to go back,


Praise from a repeat customer

4.6 on September 11, 2011

Whenever we get to Ogunquit, usually once a summer, we love to stay at Rockmere Lodge! Andy, Bob, and Doug (and the dogs) make you feel right at home. It's fun to chat with them while you enjoy a delicious breakfast on the porch, with a view of the ocean. The rooms are charming. You can walk on the nearby Marginal Way either to the sandy beach in town or to Perkins Cove. Give yourself a treat and stay here!


Blissful refuge

5 on September 09, 2011

What a wonderful way to experience both Ogunquit, the ocean and the Cove. When the town becomes too crowded, you simply walk back to Rockmere and enjoy the grounds, the surf and the inn keepers. We loved walking the marginal way, both day and night. The inn is at the base, midway, which made walking easy. Thanks for the bedside flashlight for those midnight walks to enjoy the endless stars. And thanks for the great wake up coffee and conversations!!


A Beautiful Respite!

5 on August 15, 2011

We just visited Rockmere Lodge and it was excellent! It is a beautifully appointed B&B with a spectacular view of the Atlantic ocean. The room was charming and the breakfast fantastic. The owners are most friendly and made us feel like personal friends in a private home. There is a wonderful walkway along the ocean with benches for walks or for sitting and enjoying the view. We will definitely go back! On a scale of 1 to 10 the Rockmere Lodge rates as a 10+! David and Len


Terrific...you should stay here...

4.2 on July 20, 2011

What's special about the Rockmere...great hosts, food, location and fellow guests. Being on the Marginal Way within easy walking distance to Perkins Cove and the downtown area make this a special location. The guys did a great job of making our stay relaxing and enjoyable. My wife and I had a wonderful time. Hats off to Andy, Doug and Bob (and you gotta meet Uncle Phil!)


Return to Ogunquit

4.6 on July 20, 2011

I have been going to Ogunquit for 40 years and have passed the Rockmere Lodge many times along the Marginal Way, but never stayed there until last week. What a pleasure! Comfortable rooms, incredible views, gorgeous wild flower gardens, great hosts and fun breakfasts overlooking the sea. What could be better? I look forward to going back!


A Perfect Visit

5 on July 17, 2011

Just returned from our fifth visit to the Rockmere and it was fabulous as ever. The weather was perfect, the food outstanding, and the innkeepers as gracious as always. Had a great meal at Gypsies, great drinks at Prime and MC, and walked the Marginal Way on moonlit nights. I look forward to the Rockmere each year because of its location, its innkeepers, and its value. Doug, Bob, and Andy are a local treasure and they will ensure that your stay in this great little seaside community is memorable. Now if we could just get Andy to try some sushi... Maybe next year.


Great stay, better hosts

4.4 on July 06, 2011

We stayed over the Inderpendance Day weekend, had a great time, took us longer and longer to get away from breakfast each day as webheard enthralling stories of the village and its locals. Andy, Bob, and Doug make this place more special than it already is. We will return, if they will have us. Jacqueline and Thomas


Heaven by the sea

4.8 on June 16, 2011

This was a magical stay for us. Maybe it was the sunny weather and beautiful coastline. Maybe it was the charm of the lodge. But I think it was mostly the hospitality of our hosts Doug and Andy. I wish we had discovered this gem sooner!


Our Rockmere Experience

5 on June 10, 2011

We visited Rockmere B&B on June 4 and stayed there for two nights. Our first impression was great, the building is interestingly decorated with lot of art work hanging everywhere. Our room was on the top floor with great view of the ocean which only added to the nice feeling. The room was clean, neat and right there with the decoration that my wife really liked. The two innkeepers Andy and Doug were the friendliest people we met in a long time and they were there for us when we needed them. Andy’s great sense of humor made our breakfast a great experience. Andy is personal, funny and caring person and he is doing it without effort so it comes out very naturally. Doug is quieter but also very caring person and excellent cook. His breakfast for both days was just a great feast to have for the morning. I would definitely recommend this inn to any of my family or friends. The inn is located right on the Marginal way with walking distance to Perkins Cove and center of the Ogunquit town. After our visit we felt that we have found two new friends who will welcome us back at any time, and we will go back there again.


Daphane du Maurier’s Mandalay in Main

4.8 on May 31, 2011

The main reason for selecting Rockmere should be its ambiance and setting. We didn't see Rebecca but she might be there! Unlike Mandalay, it's still standing and represents a delightful slice of Ogunquit's vanishing history( a large shingled cottage with a spacious front porch) in a breathtaking location(next to the water, the pounding surf and away from the traffic and noise that is in the center of the village). It exudes the feel of a stately old home that has been in the same family for a very long time. New, modern or trendy it is not! The Inn has plenty of room inside and spacious decks and lawns with lots of places to relax and enjoy the setting. There is a small secluded beach within 100 yards and the main beach is an easy walk. Our room , the second floor front yellow bedroom was extremely comfortable with a beautiful view of the ocean from two very large windows. The room was outfitted with very comfortable wing chairs, a window bench and a comfy bed. The innkeepers are friendly and very helpful. We will definitely return! Larry and Duane


A Romantic Getaway

3.4 on May 24, 2011

Perched over the Atlantic Ocean just steps away from Ogunquit's Marginal Way, Rockmere Lodge is an inn remiscent of bygone Victorian days. Filled with knickknacks and plastered with dozens of patterns of wallpaper, Rockmere is lovingly maintained in a slightly neglectful way. The innkeepers are friendly and accommodating: Doug prepares a full and hearty breakfast; Andy is attentive and entertains his guests with hilarious tales of this sleepy town. I won't complain if the nightly rate seemed a bit high; after all, I celebrate my birthday just once a year. I'll always have wonderful memories of this weekend. Rockmere is a cozy place that is perfect for romantics, both young and old. I'm sure to return.


Wonderful Place to Stay in Ogunquit!

4.6 on May 24, 2011

We stayed at Rockmere Lodge for a week. The Inn is wonderful--full of Victorian furnishings, antiques and personal touches everywhere you look. The Innkeepers, Andy and Doug, were very hospitable; and we feel like we have made new friends. The breakfasts are simply delicious and hearty. The location of the Inn is just off the Marginal Way, and we enjoyed watching the ocean every day--we could see the ocean from our room. They have an ocean lookout area on the third floor with comfortable chairs where we sat each day as well. Truly a great place to unwind and enjoy time in a peaceful and beautiful setting. We would definitely recommend them and hope to return again shortly.


a little piece of heaven

4.6 on May 12, 2011

The Rockmere Lodge B&B was the perfect place to recharge my batteries and remember what life is really about: nature, good conversation, good food, and good sleep! The innkeepers were so kind and treated this solo traveler like family. My room was a wonderful taste of Maine and I especially enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the ocean and waking up to the beautiful view. Thank you Doug and Andy for hearty breakfasts, warm hospitality, and a much needed sanity break! I'll be back. For those out there reading this, if you have never been to Ogunquit, Maine and the Marginal Way you are missing a treasure. The Rockmere is steps from the Marginal Way. It's great.


Great place to Relax - Off Season

3.4 on March 07, 2011

Beautiful property, terrific breakfasts! We could see the ocean from our bed! Very comfortable "lookout" common space. Worth the trip just to meet the Innkeepers!


Classic Victorian B&B-- great hosts!

4.6 on February 13, 2011

Had admired the place from afar on other trips to Ogunquit- went there this winter on a whim. Stayed in room #4 -- it was bigger than expected, and very comfy. We'll definitley stay there again!


A fine home away from home

5 on February 09, 2011

We just had the most romantic weekend getaway. Watching the sunrise over the Atlantic from our room was breathtaking. Breakfasts were superb. Andy and Doug are gentlemen hosts. They live on-site, and anticipated our every need. They've been innkeepers it for 20 years, and they're terrific. Drew & Bev


Winter Wonderland!

4.0 on January 30, 2011

We stayed at the Rockmere Lodge for one night, with this being our first time staying at a bed and breakfast it was great! Doug and Bob were very friendly and took the time to talk to us at breakfast. They made us feel at home. Living and working in Boston we are used to the hustle and bustle of commercial restaurants . The room was great along with the view! Thank You Both!!!! Cassie and Ashish Gupta Boston,MA


best place to stay in Ogunquit

4.6 on November 14, 2010

This is a terrific inn hosted by 3 very nice men and 3 friendly dogs. The location on the Marginal Way cannot be beat. It is set in a quite residential neighborhood and everything you need is in a modest walking distance. Andy's breakfasts are hearty and nutritious. I have recommended this inn to my friends.


October 2010

3.8 on October 14, 2010

The Rockmere is a lovely b & b in a perfect location at the midpoint of the Marginal Way. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go.


Great Inn!

4.4 on October 13, 2010

Great views, beautiful rooms, tasty and filling breakfasts and the best innkeepers ever..felt like we were staying with friends.


Wet, Wild, and Wonderful

4.4 on October 13, 2010

The Wet and Wild describes the weather during our stay. Wonderful describes the Inn and the hospitality of the innkeepers Doug, Andy, and Bob. The view of the ocean from the inn is spectacular. Breakfast- yummy!! Best blueberry pancakes ever!! Ogunquit is a lovely town. Fabulous restaurants and beautiful little shops. You can keep very busy or just relax. We enjoyed seeing "Chicago" at the Ogunquit Playhouse. My husband and I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfast's from Maine to Florida. We intend to make an annual trip to the Rockmere Lodge --- providing Andy, Doug, and Bob promise us sunshine.


Our favorite B&B!

5 on October 13, 2010

My wife and I love Rockmere! We just came back from out second stay this past weekend. We are now planning on making this a yearly event for Columbus Day weekend. The rooms are very comfy-cozy with private baths that are clean and well appointed. Doug's breakfasts are outstanding...we've never been disappointed (am I'm very fussy). Andy and Bob kept us well entertained during our meals...Andy's such a hoot! The location is great...pretty much the middle of the Marginal Way. Whether you want to go to the beach or Perkin's Cove, it's not very far. It's also not very far away from the playhouse. We plan on taking a show in next year.


This place is a jewel!

5 on September 29, 2010

My husband planned this trip as a surprise to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and Rockmere Lodge exceeded his expectations! Our accomodations were lovely, from the decor and the spectacular ocean views from our bed! We loved listening to Andy's stories and he had us laughing the whole time, Bob recommended a lovely restaurant "Gypsy Sweethearts" for us to dine at and Doug's breakfast of french toast, crispy bacon, fresh fruit, cream and granola was heavenly. Their location is perfect on the Marginal Way walkway and within walking distance of Perkins Cove and many shops and restaurants. We loved the fact that we never had to get back in our car once we arrived. I cannot wait to plan another stay there. I'm still walking on cloud nine after being home 3 days :)


Delightful, relaxing, friendly

5 on September 27, 2010

The Rockmere Lodge is a truly delightful place to stay. The three innkeepers are wonderful, engaging, funny, and full of local information to enhance your stay. The house itself is grand and you do step back in time as you enter the lovely guest areas. The rooms are tasteful, fully appointed, and each has an ocean view. We stayed in the Drudy Room on the top floor and it was cozy, and had an amazing view out over the ocean. Breakfasts were delicious adn so much fun as innkeepers and guests gathered over coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. The Marginal Way, a mile long walk along the edge of the ocean comes right past the front of the house; it is a perfect setting! Ogunquit is a lovely little town full of shops, restaurants, and plenty of places to stroll.


Can they just adopt me?

4.8 on September 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I love the Rockmere. It's perfectly located between the main beach in Ogunquit and Perkins Cove so you never have to get in your car if you don't want to. The rooms are very quiet and the Innkeepers are a hoot. We weren't sure if we'd like the B&B experience (we prefer to remain anonymous and keep to ourselves) but Andy, Bob and Doug make you feel really comfortable and instantly welcome without being in your way. They know everything about the area and will send you to the best of everything you are looking for. Breakfast is yummy and you can't beat the morning view of their gardens, the marginal way and the ocean.


Quaint in ogunquit

4.0 on September 19, 2010

Rockmere does take you back to the turn of the last century. Andy and Doug provide a relaxing environment and Provide personalized service with a sense of humor.


outstanding

5 on September 11, 2010

Beautiful Inn, great ocean views, love gardens, and great breakfast on the porch. But what stands out for me was the hospitality. Andy, Doug and Bob made me feel so welcome. My conversation with Andy was so uplifting, his love of animals and nature is infectious. I highly recommend Rockmere Lodge.


What a gem!! We loved it!!

5 on September 01, 2010

A beautiful home that the owners welcome you to share with them. A true B&B experience! Bob, Andy & Doug (owners) were just so pleasant and created an enjoyable atmosphere with their outgoing personalities and meticulous attention to detail in their rooms. After enjoying a delicious breakfast on their open, wrap around porch overlooking the ocean, we took a walk on Marginal Way which is a paved cliff walk along the ocean. It's only steps away from the house and is perfectly located at about the halfway point between Perkins Cove and downtown. You get quiet solitude within walking minutes of the hot spots... Want ideas on what to do when you get there? Just ask and your hosts will give you dozens of recommendations. We stayed four days and are planning on a week in the spring!


Return Guests

4.0 on August 29, 2010

This was our third stay at Rockmere Lodge and once again we enjoyed it. The breakfasts are great and the hospitality is even better. The chitchat on the porch during breakfast makes you feel right at home.


A Favaorite Place

5 on August 08, 2010

We stayed at Rockmere Lodge in 2007 and are looking forward to returning at the end of this month (August 2010) It has the perfect location on the Marginal Way, halfway between Ogunquit and Perkins Cove. The innkeepers are fantastic...friendly, knowledgeable, with lots of suggestions for places to eat and things to do. We left feeling like they were friends, and look forward to seeing them again. The house is beautiful, comfortable, and a real home away from home. And, the breakfasts are delicious...with lots of good talk on the porch with a great ocean view.


Location, location, location

3.6 on August 01, 2010

Ocean views, semi private beach, and one house away from the Marginal Way. One of the best locations in Ogunquit. Breakfast was delicious, but we wanted more than one choice and more food. We were hungry after our morning bike ride. Owners could try to be more accomodating. They weren't around that much and we heard them fighting in the kitchen - not very professional.


Even a Heat Wave Didn't Ruin Our Weekend Getaway

5 on July 27, 2010

From the moment we were greeted by Bob, we knew we had made the perfect choice to spend our vacation at the Rockmere. Andy, Doug, and Bob are wonderful engaging hosts! The property as a whole was simply breathtaking with immaculately kept gardens, creatively decorated period rooms throughout the house, and who could find fault with dining on the wrap round porch. Andy, Doug, and BOb make you feel tight at home and at the same time make you feel special. Full, beautifully presented an filling breakfasts are served every morning and no exaggeration in saying that you make new friends while dining. Can't think of the right words to say how emphatically we would say to stay at the Rockmere. It is absolutely delightful and we look forward to seeing Andy, Doug, and Bob again!


Beautiful Inn, great location and wonderful owners

4.6 on July 27, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Rockmere. When we arrived, we were greeted by one of the owners, Doug, who made us feel welcome right away. He quickly concluded the check-in process (fortunately, our room was ready, so we were able to check-in early) and then made sure we knew about a number of the amenities the Inn offered - so our stay began on a very pleasant note. The Inn and the grounds are really, really inviting - it is clear that Andy, Doug and Bob go to great lengths to keep the place both cozy and eye-catching. Funny signs, whimsical garden decorations, many sitting areas (including an inviting pagoda and screened-in Gazebo), flowers and fountains create a remarkable ambiance. One reason we chose Rockmere was because of its location to the Marginal Way. It is situated at about the halfway point and it is less than a 2 minute walk from the Inn (or is it 1 minute?). If you turn right on the Marginal Way, it doesn't take long until you are in quaint Perkins Cove. The Inn is also a fairly short walk from Shore road where there are a number of restaurants. We actually walked from the Inn down to Main Street in Ogunquit (where there are more restaurants, lots of nice shops and, of course, the beach). The room was quite nice - queen size bed, nice bathroom, small fridge, air-conditioner and overhead fans - all of these helped make our stay quite comfortable. Oh, we should also mention the "lookout" - on the third floor is a sitting area with nice views of the shore and water. We stayed two nights and had the opportunity to have two breakfasts - both were delicious and filling. Doug did the cooking and Andy and Bob served us. We ate on the covered porch with views of the yard and fountain/garden. Overall, we had a really wonderful time for our visit to the Ogunquit area and the Rockmere Lodge and the owners were a large part of the reason why. We heartily recommend this establishment.


Memorable Getaway

5 on July 22, 2010

First of all, the surroundings are fabulous. Location, location, location! Our breakfast on the porch was much more than we expected. The quality, presentation, and the pleasure of meeting with the Innkeepers each morning made it even more delightful. Andy, Doug and Bob are the friendliest Innkeepers that we have ever met. We look forward to returning to "Rockmere Lodge" when we visit the Ogunquit area............and it will certainly be for a longer stay. Marilyn and Bob


Rockmere Lodge

3.8 on July 14, 2010

Andy, Doug, & Bob were very pleasant and acomodating Great location


Another wonderful stay at the Rockmere!!

5 on July 12, 2010

This was our third visit to the Rockmere; and the review is "Wow, what a fabulous place!". The rooms are delightful and comfortable with beautiful ocean views; the sound of the waves at night lulled us to sleep. Doug, Andy and Bob are superlative hosts and take the time to make sure their guests are happy. We could certainly see that in every aspect, but especially at the delicious and convivial breakfasts on the porch; great food, great fun, great conversations!!! We will be back again and again. Cheryl and Jim, Belmont,MA


"Arrive as guests, depart as friends"

5 on July 07, 2010

On the front porch of this incredibly hospitable bed and breakfast is a sign that says "Arrive as guests, depart as friends." That is an accurate description of the experience at the Rockmere. The owners--Andy, Doug, and Bob--are about as warm and kind as anyone I've ever met. Even though they are continually busy making sure everything is perfect for their guests, they still enjoy socializing and are very happy to share stories about the house, suggestions of things to do in the area, etc. Doug looks just like the former Navy cook he is, but his shipmates never had it this good: at the Rockmere, breakfasts (on the open front porch) are absolutely exquisite with fresh fruit and juice every day, and a main dish of omelets or waffles and the like. Bob is happy to chat while serving coffee and Andy, who also serves breakfast, is responsible for all the decor in the house, which is really saying something. It's a large house dating back to the late 19th century, and every nook and cranny indoors and out invites guests to relax and be at home, with comfortable chairs indoors and out, coffee table books on lighthouses and such, bowls of candy for those with a sweet craving, handsome pictures and lighting in every room, etc., etc. Do I sound like I like this place? I really like this place. My partner and I have been four times, and each time we feel even more welcome than the time before.


Great B&B!

4.8 on July 07, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rockmere B & B. Andy, Doug and Bob were wonderful hosts--we loved sitting on the beautiful porch for our breakfast--it was close and convenient to everything--the Marginal Way, etc--rooms were very comfortable. A wonderful experience!


The Best

5 on July 05, 2010

Start with the beautiful little town of Ogunquit and mix in a fantastic stay at a gem of a bed and breakfast called Rockmere Lodge and you have the formula for a perfect wedding anniversary weekend. My wife and I stayed at the Rockmere sight unseen to celebrate our 42nd anniversary and could not have been more delighted with everything about it. The hosts, Bob, Andy and Doug, could not be more gracious or helpful and personable. We stayed on the top floor of the three-story Victorian building, in No. 7, called the Drudy, named after a former owner. Despite the hottest weekend in many years in Maine, we were comfortable, thanks to the ceiling and window fans and/or a nice breeze off the nearby ocean _ which you can enjoy from the windows of the room. The breakfasts were imaginitive and delicious. The Rockmere Lodge is midway along the 1.7-mile Marginal Way, a public walkway along the ocean. We spent quite a bit of time just strolling and looking at the magnificent views. We also watched the spectacular Fourth of July fireworks from there - a short walk from the Lodge. The entire three days at Rockmere were wonderful and we send our thanks to the guys. Judy and Mike Harris Hi! This is Judy. I couldn't let Mike send this without mentioning a couple of the little things that make the place so special. The rooms are set up with wonderful little touches like extra swing-out mirrors in the bathroom. Details for the guests' comfort are obviously well thought out. The information notebook in each room is not the standard TV channels, where to get ice and location of the nearest chain restaurant. It includes the history and personality of the place. The restaurant recommendations are informative and from experience. The hosts love their home, and it shows. The local fauna is catered to. There is personality and warmth to everything there. Thanks to all three of the wonderful hosts. Judy


Fabulous Stay

5 on July 05, 2010

My husband & I were treated like royalty upon arrival and through out our stay. Doug, Andy and Bob are the best. We were made to feel like family and laughed like best friends. Everything was perfect. Marvelous location with stunning views. We are looking forward to our return trip, soon.


Don't miss a stay at the Rockmere

4.0 on June 30, 2010

Andy, Doug and Bob are wonderful hosts who make you feel right at home from the minute your foot hits the first step unto the porch until you take your leave. This B&B is all about the guests, the location, the rooms and the gardens. Guests become family instantly (be ready to be teased at breakfast); the location on the Marginal Way offers some of the most spectacular scenery in southern Maine and a chance for wonderful strolls before breakfast and after dinner; the rooms are themed and decorated to the nines; the gardens are beautiful and well kept and the breakfasts are incredible. Doug is a superb gardener and a fantastic cook. Ask him about his china servcies.... My husband and I will be going back many more times!


You have to go

3.2 on June 04, 2010

set in a quiet area, overlooking the ocean and walking distance from restaurants and shops by a walking path along the water. very welcoming and helpful inkeepers. delicious breakfast, home cooked, different every morning and served at the table on the patio. we had booked the two rooms on the top floor and had the space for ourselves, including the lookout, very nice and quiet place to read a book while watching the ocean. The decor is fun and old fashion but with modern amenities...... the only down side was thre lack of internet access in the rooms... but one could say that it was good to disconnect for 4 days..... will go back for sure


Just a comfortable, lovely place to visit.

5 on May 25, 2010

My husband and I visited a month a go and found this place to be near perfect. The rooms were spotless, Andy was a great storyteller and made us feel at home. Doug made us a great breakfast and even made it special for my dietary needs. The dogs were just adorable and the scenery was spectacular. We wish we could have stayed longer. We hope to get back soon !


Wonderful stay, wonderful innkeepers!

3.6 on May 25, 2010

Warm, friendly, engaging innkeepers; location, location, location. Fun to discover the inn and all its characteristics again - an amazing building. It is a true getaway. Thank you for having us in your home Andy and Doug!


Delightful Stay

4.8 on May 24, 2010

My sister and I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in May 2010. Doug met us on the porch and checked us in quickly and showed us to our room. He was pleasant and talkative. The room was lovely - looking out over the ocean. I especially loved the binder of information about the inn and the innkeepers! We met Andy the next morning at breakfast which was served on the porch - he is a wealth of stories and information about the Ogunquit area. Doug and Andy are entertaining hosts - eager to please and get to know you. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who loves the ocean and friendly, talkative hosts.


Fabulous time

5 on April 26, 2010

We had such a wonderful time. Innkeepers Andy and Doug were fun, down to earth, lovely people that we enjoyed getting to know. Hospitality was fantastic. Just a perfect weekend.


April 2010

4.2 on April 25, 2010

As always, a wonderful visit. Andy and Doug are so friendly and entertaining, and the guests tend to be friendly as a result. Breakfast in the dining room was lovely. Doug serves up a different breakfast each day...and it's delicious! One of our most favorite places to visit!


quick getaway

3.6 on April 25, 2010

My husband and I felt we had THE best room at the Rockmere Lodge. The room was spacious with views to the ocean. Our stay was pleasantly quiet and restful with barely a notice of the fact that other guests were staying at the lodge. A favorite spot were the sitting area on the 3rd floor and the proximity to Marginal Way was just right. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was a warm time with good food and good conversation with the hosts and other guests. With the windows open, we were able to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean waves and awake to the sound of birdsong. Absolutely lovely and nourishing.


Wonderful!!!

5 on April 16, 2010

This was our 2nd time to Ogunquit and our first time staying overnight. Doug and Andy made our stay a most memorable one. Their warmth, hospitality and sincerity made us feel very relaxed as if we were family! We stayed in room #5, the Ann-Marie and it was terrific! The ocean views, the birds in the morning and the sounds of the ocean at night was simply enchanting. Our mornings were started off on the right foot with an outstanding, delicious and beautifully presented breakfast. The numerous added little touches during our stay makes it a definite yearly tradition for us. It would be like coming back to see good friends. We went during "off-season" in April and highly recommend coming to Rockmere Ledge during this time for a less hectic, crowded visit to Ogunquit, as we found it very peaceful and relaxing. See you next year guys!!


Rockmere is Special

5 on April 06, 2010

We could not have been more relaxed after spending a couple of minutes with Andy and Doug. They shared their home and their friendship just as easily. A walk on the Mariginal Way before a great breakfast was perfect. Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. We will be back. Thanks guys. Jim & Rachel


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5 on March 31, 2010

This was a weekend getaway for my husband and me. We have been to Ogunquit several times before but wanted to stay in a place where you felt at home. We wanted to escape from our busy lives, just unwind and relax and I wanted to be close to the Marginal Way; WOW did we find our home away from home. Doug and Andy are one of the warmest, friendliest hosts I have ever met. The breakfasts were wonderful, you certainly did not go away hungry, in fact, my husband and I never ate lunch we were satisfied until dinner! The room was beautiful; we stayed in Room #5, The Anna-Marie. Each morning I woke to a beautiful sunrise, nothing is more calming than awakening to a beautiful sunrise! Just what the doctor ordered! Their kids “Fritz, Gretchen and Cleo” were so sweet! Sadly, their “Baby Girl Moosie” passed before we could meet her, but she was there in sprit! This will be our place to return to every year!


HOME AWAY FROM HOME

5 on March 28, 2010

Where do we begin?!?! Andy and Doug have made such a special place in our hearts. I stayed at the Rockmere last March for the first time, my girlfriend (LUCKILY!) stumbled on the Inn online and we went up for a long awaited retreat to get away from life for a night. Andy and Doug greeted us at the door and we immediatley fell in love with their smile and loving way. It immedialtey felt like we had known them our entire life, instant family. To dismiss them at "hospital" serves no justice. They were there for our every need with the warmest of smiles. The Inn itself is a MUST SEE! It is absolutely breathtaking as far as decour is concerned in their "themed rooms". It was such a special time for us that we went twice more before the year was over. At the ball drop this year I put a diamond ring on that girlfriend I was refering to earlier and when I was on one knee the Rockmere Inn actually was refered to in my nervous "will you have me for the rest of our life" speech. We have been twice already this year, just got back today actually, our one night stays have turned into "weekends at home away from home". Having breakfast with the guys (and "kids") is our favorite part of our stays. Andy and Doug are two of the most genuine people we have ever met, we relish the amazing food and extensive worldly converstations playing catch up with our, what feels like, lifelong friends, family actually. This is the only review I have ever written and if your looking for a A+ experience from the hug in to the waive from the porch when you leave, this is the only place you should consider staying as far as I'm concerned. Genuinely, go see for yourself and tell my new family I'll be there soon!!! Spence and Becky PS. She said yes!!!


Eagerly awaiting my reurn to Rockmere

5 on March 14, 2010

I've finally found my favorite place to escape. The warmth and friendliness of Andy and Doug are beyond description. Staying at Rockmere was like coming home again, and I was a first timer. I'll be back for more breakfasts and hours spent in the lookout.


A wonderful get away!

5 on February 18, 2010

My husband and I recently satyed at the Inn for our 15th wedding anniversary. We found the Rockmere Lodge to be a wonderful place to stay. The inn is on the Marginal Way which is a walkway along the ocean. We were able to enjoy a stroll on the beach and found the area wonderful to visit in February. I enjoyed the "Look Out" on the third floor and it offered a fantastic view of the ocean. Breaklfast was yummy and the conversation with Andy was so fun! We felt bad that our plans had changed and we could not stay as long as we would have liked. We will deffinetly be going back!


First, but not the Last

5 on January 29, 2010

I recently had two firsts in my 4th decade of life: My first trip to Maine, and my first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. What an incredible experience both were!! Maine is an absolutely beautiful place, especially right on the Coast, but the true thrill was the wonderful time spent at the Rockmere Lodge. From the minute I walked in the door, I felt pampered, appreciated, welcomed, and loved. Doug and Andy are remarkable people who make every minute of your stay special and memorable. From the incredible breakfasts filled with delicious food and wonderful conversation, to the evening chats by the wood burning fireplace, for my first experience at a B&B, I would certainly recommend the Rockmere to anyone unsure of the B&B experience. I left feeling like I had gained two new best friends. Andy and Doug, thank you for making my first B&B experience so memorable!! Looking forward to my next visit!!


The Rockmere is a Winter Wonderland by the Sea!

5 on January 23, 2010

The Rockmere Lodge is a summertime favorite of mine, but this past weekend was my first time there in the winter, and it was absolutely wonderful! Although it was cold and snowy outside, the Rockmere was warm and cozy inside, with soft music and a crackling fire. The hospitality of Andy and Doug makes you feel like you are visiting an old friend. The house is gracious and lovely, and being there in the winter gives you a chance to really appreciate it's beauty. Breakfast in the elegant dining room was superb - what you would expect in the finest restaurant - and accompanied by delightful conversation. Andy and Doug are so warm and friendly, they make you feel like you are family. I didn't know what to expect in Ogunquit in January, but there were many stores open (with great sales), there were several of my favorite restaurants open, with no long waits for tables and excellent service, and the seashore was just beautiful with the snow and ice. The views from the Rockmere's Lookout are spectacular, and being there in a snow storm was a real treat! My husband and I will be returning to the Rockmere for our annual anniversary visit in August, and now I can say that I would not hesitate to return in the off-season. And I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else - I cannot imagine that there is anywhere in Ogunquit that could rival the beauty and warmth of the Rockmere!


Still the Best

5 on January 09, 2010

Once again we spent New Years Eve and Day at Rockmere and it continues to be Ogunquit's number one destination. The decorations were superb and the breakfasts far exceed anything Zagat could review. The location is nicely removed from the highway sounds of the main road and I was able to spend many quiet hours working on my latest book. At this point we are eagerly looking forward to our return in March and on other occasions later in the year. It would be a shame to have to stay in any other Ogunquit location when a gem such as this exists. We highly recommend Rockmere for anyone with high standards and an appreciation for quality.


Wonderful visit

5 on January 09, 2010

My husband and i just returned from a wonderful visit at the Rockmere Inn. When we arrived we were tired and in need of a rest. Upon arriving at the inn we were greeted by one of the inn-keepers who treated us like welcomed friends. The inn itself was causal and elegant. Our room was immaculate and we were fortunate to arrive while the holiday decorations were still up. Every nook and cranny was dress for the season with and attended to with care. The bed was perfect. All of the above was outdone by the artistic and delicious breakfasts presented on beautiful and different settings every morning. Our other host joined us in the dining room sharing stories of the area, engaging in joyful conversation and making sure our meal was to our liking. The whole morning experience was light, joyful and delicious. We were then left to our own devices to do as we needed, walk the Marginal Way, beach comb, rest, and relax in the quiet of the season. An additional treat was the third floor sitting area where we could read or just sit and watch the ocean come and go. We had both our privacy and the knowledge that the inn keepers were there to assist us in any way to make our visit the most relaxing and enjoyable one it could be. They offered places of natural wonder for us to visit as we were new to the area which enhanced our stay. By the time we left we felt we had made new friends and the feeling was reciprocal. We will recommend Rockmere Inn to our friends and eagerly look forward to our return visit. Thank you Doug and Andy for a vacation way beyond anything we could have hoped for.


Beuty: Macro and Micro

5 on December 29, 2009

We found our experience here of highest quality at every level, and the price surprsingly affordable. The location: fine ocean view, the quintessential Maine Coast trail right outside, splendid panoramas around every bend. The home and room were kept and furnished with exquisite and creative attention to every detail. Our hosts were most kind and went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast was prepared and presented with love. We left with a glow of being well pampered.


Always Love Coming to This Place

4.0 on December 18, 2009

We have been to the Rockmere three years in a row now, always coming around the time of the Kennebunkport Christmas Prelude, and we'd never stay anywhere else. From the perfect location along the Marginal Way to the kind, caring owners to the comfortable rooms, there is nothing not to like about this place. We may try to return in the spring or summer if possible.


Romantic and fun!

5 on December 14, 2009

Rockmere is the best Bed and Breakfast I have stayed in. Andy and Doug make you feel as if you are part of their family. The inn is beautiful, clean, and in a perfect location. Doug cooks up a perfect breakfast and Andy serves it up with as much fun as I have ever had! I can not wait to go back.


Gracious, Comfortable, Friendly - LOVED IT!

5 on December 07, 2009

My husband and I absolutely LOVED our stay at Rockmere. We think it's the most beautiful B+B we've ever seen. Doug is a FAB chef and we enjoyed the most wonderful breakfasts ever! Andy and Doug made us feel at home. We can't wait to go back.


First timer

4.6 on December 07, 2009

This is the first time my husband and I have stayed at a B&B, my sister gave me a $100 gift cert. I called and was told that Christmas Prelude was coming up in Dec. This is when I decided to book. I was very impressed with the whole experience. The Inn was beautiful and the owners were very welcoming. I will be going back next Dec. for another weekend. And let me tell you the breakfast was spectacular.


A Great Birthday

4.8 on December 01, 2009

I spent Thanksgiving and my birthday at Rockmere with my husband and two sons (both in their 20s). We had a great time. My husband and I stayed in the Anna-Marie and my boys stayed on the third floor in the Victoria-Ruth. Andy & Doug (Bob is in Florida) saw to it that all of us had a great time. I lead a very hectic and busy life. When I am at Rockmere, all I want to do is relax. Andy and Doug see to it that I get my rest and relaxation. These guys also do special requests. My sons didn't want blueberry waffles at breakfast, so Doug made them chocolate chip waffles. Speaking of breakfast, Doug can really whip up a delicious one! My husband and I have stayed at the Rockmere about four times now. I brought my boys up this visit so they could spend my birthday with me. When you visit the Rockmere, you are treated like family. I consider Andy and Doug the brothers I never had. Thank you Andy and Doug for making my 50th birthday so special.


Good time at Rockmere

5 on November 16, 2009

The location of Rockmere is amazing, a few steps away form the Marginal Way. Rockmere kept the spirit of the origial house. Andy and Doug were great hosts. Excellent for Getaway weekend.


Thanks for a great stay

5 on November 08, 2009

We had a great visit at the Rockmere and plan to return soon. Marginal Way is amazing. Thanks!


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on November 06, 2009

We stayed for two wonderful days at the Rockmere Lodge. The house was wonderful and was well appointed. It truly was like a time-capsule with how they had decorated the interior. Our room was cozy and quaint and very clean. We could lie on the bed and watch the waves come in and crash on the rock. It was a moderate both nights, so we left the window open…fantastic to listen to the waves crash as we fell asleep. Doug, Bob & Andy are best. They were kind and warm and very accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful and Doug can really whip up a good breakfast. After everyone was done eating, they let the dogs come in and we enjoyed petting them and sipping coffee while conversing with the other guests and our hosts. The location is very close to the shore and you are literally a 1 minute walk to the Marginal Way. It was a perfect place for a B&B. We had a wonderful experience at the Rockmere and will certainly return. Zaphir & Tanya Syracuse, NY


Peaceful retreat

4.4 on November 01, 2009

Beautiful location right on the ocean. From comfortable rooms to tea on a rainy afternoon, the innkeepers were both helpful and highly entertaining. We felt like we had stayed with friends. We will definitely be back.


Awesome, relaxing, warm & friendly

5 on October 31, 2009

We just spent 3 wonderful nights at the Rockmere. Our hosts, Andy, Bob, and Doug, are wonderful and very accommodating. They made us feel at home and quickly became good friends. The breakfasts are outstanding and the rooms are clean, quiet, and well decorated. The location is terrific, on a bluff overlooking the ocean and just a short walk to town or the cove. We highly recommend this inn and do look forward to returning!


Home away from home

4.0 on October 30, 2009

What makes this a very special B&B is the way Bob, Doug and Andy make you feel like you are family. The view is exceptional, especially from the 3rd floor. The location is perfect for a walk to Perkins Cove or town. It is very cozy and comfortable and Doug's breakfast in the dining room is very good! I will definately return for a third stay!


Fall visit to Rockmere

4.0 on October 19, 2009

We had the distinct pleasure of visiting Rockmere Lodge this past weekend. The accommodations were wonderful and so thoughtfully prepared. All of our travel needs were taken into consideration and provided for our convenience. From the in-room hairdryer to the extensive collection of books and video, anyone visiting should be able to get just what they need in the way of comforts. The hosts made our stay enjoyable sharing stories and tidbits about the area, it's history, politics and local happenings. The food is in a category by itself and truly enjoyable as both sustanance and as art! We so look forward to joining the "family" at Rockmere again in the future. Did I mention the doggies? They make the Lodge a truly homey experience. Thanks so much, Marti and Val Ramos


Happiness awaits you... 10/01/09

4.8 on October 18, 2009

This was our first trip to Ogunquit and it is truly a very cute seaside town. The Rockmere Lodge is equally quaint and as soon as you enter this charming retreat you feel as if you are home with your family. The Innkeepers are delightful and are very warm and welcoming. Andy, I call the entertainer will keep you in stitches, in a good way! Bob is a bit more reserved and is very pleasant to speak with and Doug is our excellent chef. The Ashley Mae is a beautifully decorated room with great views of the ocean. I love the classical music that is played through the speakers in the hallway during the day. This was a most enjoyable way to spend relaxing in Ogunquit and Rockmere Lodge. The Inn is a few steps from Marginal Way which takes you on a very picturesque and breathtaking view of the Atlantic toward Perkins Cove where restaurants abound. My only regret is not asking to meet the "kiddies" of the Inn. We look forward to our next stay at Rockmere Lodge and wish all the best to our new friends Andy, Bob & Doug. Stephen & Brent Sarasota, FL


Our Oceanside Retreat!

5 on September 25, 2009

All year we look forward to our beautiful, peaceful week at Rockmere, and our 10th visit did not disappoint us. The moment we see the ocean as we crest the hill on Isreal Head Road, we know we're about to begin another wonderful vacation. Andy, Bob, and Doug are always so warm and welcoming, it's like visiting old friends. We never get tired of the breathtaking ocean views from our room, the observatory, or the porch. With the Marginal Way so close, we take every advantage of enjoying the tranquility of early morning walks along the sea, returning to a fabulous breakfast at the Inn. Rockmere Lodge's convenient location in Ogunquit and near Perkins Cove makes it the ideal seaside retreat! Charlene & Don New Jersey


Another great vacation

5 on September 22, 2009

This is our 10th year staying at the Rockmere. After you have stayed there once you become family to Bob, Doug and Andy. This is their home and you are treated like invited guests. The rooms are all decorated beautifully and kept spotless. Doug makes a gourmet breakfast every morning and the chatter among the guests is always fun and entertaining. The boys have lived in the area long enough that they can tell you where to go and where they don't recommend going. Whether you like to shop, walk or just sit on the porch and read a good book this is the place to lay your head at night. We booked our stay for next year before we left as we have a favorite room.


A Perfect Package

5 on August 19, 2009

The Innkeepers of the Rockmere Lodge (Andy, Doug, Bob) have achieved the perfect balance. They have managed to make an extremely professionally run establishment feel like home. My husband and I have been staying in B&B's for over 35 years and we can honestly say that no one does it better. The warmth of the innkeepers combined with gorgeous rooms, outstanding food and service and a location that can't be beat, is what has made us come back for 17 years in a row. We've already booked for next year since more and more people are discovering that the Rockmere Lodge is the gem of Ogunquit.


A Great B&B!

5 on August 14, 2009

If you'd like to truly experience Ogunquit, Maine, you have to stay in a Bed and Breakfast. Those massive, cookie-cutter, seaside hotels in town just don't have the charm and grace of the B&Bs. And if you'd like to stay in the best B&B in Ogunquit you have to stay at the Rockmere. My wife and I have stayed at the Rockmere for three years now and each stay has been delightful. Andy, Bob, and Doug take great care of their guests. They have a wonderful selection of rooms and each room in the house has its own look and personality. We like to try a new one each year. Breakfast in the morning is excellent and Andy, Bob, and Doug make sure that everyone is comfortable and accommodated. The breakfast banter is fun and relaxing. We laugh a lot at breakfast. These innkeepers are experienced and it shows in everything they do. They know the local scene so they can recommend fun restaurants and activities. This B&B has many guests who, like us, return each year. Part of the reason we return is for the beauty of Ogunquit and the great restaurants, but we also return to see our good friends at the Rockmere. We look forward to our stay each year. It's a great place.


Simply the best

5 on August 09, 2009

We just arrived from the Rockmere Lodge. We stayed four nights. It's our third stay there. And again this year, everething was so perfect. The hospistality, the welcoming of the tree inkeepers were great. The house is beautiful, the room #4 was spacious and beautiful,we also had a good service. The towells were changed each day, its so clean and quiet. It was very relaxing. And of course the breakfasts were very good. The decor was incredible. What about the tree inkeepers? They really want you feel like home. They enjoyed to speak with you and tell you such a good and comic story. That simply the best, everething was so close, the Marginal way, the private beach. We'll be back next year. Thanks for the relaxing sejour. Jocelyne and Mario, Qc, Canada


Home sweet home...

4.0 on July 03, 2009

Year after year we cannot missed to go there once a year. This like our home! L'accueil est chaleureux et les propriétaires sont charmants. La propriété est situé au bord de la mer à proximité du Marginal way, un endroit à découvrir.


Best Location Best Breakfast Best Inkeepers

5 on June 17, 2009

On Marginal Way on Ocean. Full 3 course breakfasts. Friendly hosts. Beautiful rooms. This property is even better than shown on website.


Rockmere lodge

5 on January 25, 2009

We spent our 25th anniversary at the Rockmere. The breakfasts were elegant, the company of Innkeepers Andy and Doug was humerous and warm. The ocean view was magnificant. Would we stay there again, by all means yes. Carolyn and Penny


A Place you can call home...

5 on November 16, 2008

This was a memorable stay that will last a life time. We enjoyed the weekend and I must say that it was better than expected. Doug and Andy the inkeepers have made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. You will love Doug's cooking especially the muffins. They say that at Cheers everyone know your name but at Rockemer everyone is family. Again thank you Andy and Doug for making us feel like family. William and Johanna


Rockmere Lodge

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2076462985
  • Fax 1-2076466947
  • Toll free 1-8886462985

Visit Website »

View details

Top