Puffin Inn Ogunquit Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

Return to Ogunquit

5 on August 03, 2014

It's been a while since we last visited Ogunquit, but out recent 4-day stay was a perfect get-away. We stay at B&Bs regularly for pleasure travel, and our experience at the Puffin Inn was outstanding in every respect. Our room was beautifully appointed and comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing. Tim and Michele were wonderful hosts, treating us like special friends. The Puffin Inn is a great location for guests who like to walk to the beach or to the village center. Amenities such as the beach carts and umbrellas, were much appreciated. I hope we will be able to return next year!


Outstanding

5 on July 28, 2014

What a perfect place to stay for a much needed long weekend away from home! We cannot thank Michele and Tim enough for their sincere kindness and hospitality. Our room was relaxing and private. It was over the carriage house and we had two great chairs on our own private deck. I would highly recommend Room 10 or 11, although from what I saw upon entering the inn, the bedroom on the first floor was just as beautiful as the one we stayed in. Breakfast was absolutely delicious!! Michele made something different each morning and one was better than the next. There is also a small gift shop tastefully filled….I bought several items and love all of them.


What great innkeepers!!!

5 on August 02, 2013

My wife and I went to this inn last month. The new owners had just takin over. We really had a great time. These two are a riot and made us feel soooooo comfortable. We wish them good luck and definitely be back. Room was so cute and clean.


Slice of Heaven

5 on March 06, 2013

The Puffin Inn is a wonderful escape. I stayed there this past year and I am trying to figure out when I can return this summer. My guest room was beautifully decorated and had so many nice windows to bring in the sun. The bathroom was sparkling clean, the room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable allowing me a relaxing night's sleep. The inn is just lovely, welcoming and comfortable and I could walk to restaurants for dinner and the beautiful beach. The breakfast was delicious, and the innkeepers kept people's tastes in mind. The innkeepers were the most pleasant and caring hosts. I would highly recommend this perfect slice of heaven.


Returning This Year!

5 on January 17, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights last year as we were on our way to visit our son up north. We had never stayed at a bed and beakfast before and were a little unsure about it... but it was amazing. Steve immediately made us feel at home, he and Mark are the perfect hosts. The Inn itself is beautiful, such charm and so pretty. The rooms look like home decor magazine photos. Before we pulled out of the driveway to leave, we were already looking at our calenders to see when we could go back and stay longer. Oh, and the breakfast was so wonderful! We are returning this year.


Our Perfect Honeymoon

5 on January 15, 2013

Picking a honeymoon place was very important for both my husband to be and myself. We searched a variety of places in Ogunquit, and then choose the Puffin Inn. We saw pictures of their rooms and the Inn online, and both decided that it looked like the place we wanted to go. We don't care about fancy bathrooms or a pool, we just wanted something quiet and romantic. Puffin Inn was perfect! It is hard to describe in words how much we enjoyed our experience at the Puffin Inn. But from the minute we got there, we felt so welcomed. The gardens were beautiful, the food was delicious, and Mark and Steve were very helpful and friendly. My now new husband and I have talked about Puffin Inn many times since we left and how much we enjoyed our time there; we can't wait to go back this summer and visit for our first anniversary. We would and have highly recommended this Inn to everyone!


Great for solo travelers too!

5 on November 21, 2012

It is my pleasure to share my experience at the wonderful Puffin Inn. Many Bed and Breakfasts cite their romantic qualities. I can see that the Puffin Inn is certainly that, but it is also a great experience for a solo retreat. From the moment I made my reservation to the moment Mark and Steve hugged me goodbye, I felt very special indeed. My room was beyond comfortable with a wonderful bed and quality linens, luxurious soaps and other small details right down to the way the towels are folded. Fresh and clean bathroom, even in the corners!Mark and Steve are the perfect hosts. Steve greeted me right in the convenient parking area when I first arrived and Mark checked me into my room. I love the individual tables of the breakfast room, although guests are able to still chat with each other. Steve bakes a delicious bread each morning and Mark always prepared a tasty and creative entree. Most importantly, was the fact that I felt welcomed as a solo guest and that made my stay so enjoyable. Thank you Mark and Steve!


Wow...just wow! Loved it!

5 on November 21, 2012

My husband brought me here for our first anniversary. I didnt really know what to expect at first, but when we drove up and I saw the house for the first time I was really excited! We stayed in the main house on the 3rd floor. It was so beautiful and inviting and really serene. We had our own private bathroom and really loved that. The main house itself- it is exquisite. I loved the rich history of the house, and how passionate Steve and Mark are about it all. As for breakfast...3 courses, YUM! I could seriously get used to that. The food was amazing. And the cookies should win an award themselves. The innkeepers Mark and Steve were both wonderful. I loved how they were accessible at all times! Their kindness beams and radiates. Over all, this was the best times we have had in Ogunquit. I could really keep going on about it, because this review cannot do it justice. It was awesome and we will most certainly be returning!! Thanks you guys!


Great for solo travelers too!

5 on October 18, 2012

It is my pleasure to share my experience at the wonderful Puffin Inn. Many Bed and Breakfasts cite their romantic qualities. I can see that the Puffin Inn is certainly that, but it is also a great experience for a solo retreat. From the moment I made my reservation to the moment Mark and Steve hugged me goodbye, I felt very special indeed. My room was beyond comfortable with a wonderful bed and quality linens, luxurious soaps and other small details right down to the way the towels are folded. Fresh and clean bathroom, even in the corners!Mark and Steve are the perfect hosts. Steve greeted me right in the convenient parking area when I first arrived and Mark checked me into my room. I love the individual tables of the breakfast room, although guests are able to still chat with each other. Steve bakes a delicious bread each morning and Mark always prepared a tasty and creative entree. Most importantly, was the fact that I felt welcomed as a solo guest and that made my stay so enjoyable. Thank you Mark and Steve!


Happy Weekend!

5 on September 26, 2012

Not a bad thing to say about our stay, the innkeepers, the home. Fantastic location. Delicious breakfast. Comfortable AND nice lodging - with some history to boot. And, the innkeepers are so much fun! Incredibly attentive and helpful from the first contact via email to our departure. I cannot say enough good things. My ordinarily picky husband declared that we will never stay anywhere else in Ogunquit! Puffin Inn was terrific!


Fantastic, very welcoming

5 on September 26, 2012

We had a two night get away without the kids and we picked the Puffin Inn based on a recommendation from a friend. We were absolutely thrilled with our visit...and wanted to stay longer but had to return to work and reality! Our room was serene, clean, spacious and comfortable, the breakfast incredible and Mark and Steve are fantastic and fun. They are so welcoming; they provide information about Ogunquit, background on their beautiful home and make you feel so comfortable. We are looking forward to our next visit to the lovely Inn!


Relaxing Post-Honeymoon Vacation

5 on August 07, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Puffin Inn a couple weeks ago for our honeymoon. We loved everything about our experience, especially the amazing hospitality of Steve and Mark. The breakfasts were terrific. Exactly what we wanted in a post-wedding relaxation vacation. Comfortable, clean and spacious room with a wonderful bed. Great location, walking distance to everything. We hope to return again!


Perfect Getaway!

5 on August 07, 2012

We were looking forward to a nice. relaxing few days away from the grind, at a place that was clean, quaint, quiet, had a full breakfast, and was close to everything. The Puffin Inn was that and more! We saw so much of the area in our short visit, yet never felt rushed or tired. Our room was remarkable, and included warm, rich furniture and a clean bathroom. They knocked our socks off with a great breakfast that kept us satisfied for most of the day. And Mark and Steve made fantastic restaurant recommendations at places within 5 minutes from the Inn. We will definitely stay at the Puffin Inn again. Thanks, Mark and Steve!!!


Best experience in a beautiful home

5 on July 30, 2012

For our first experience in a bed and breakfast, we decided to stay only 3 nights. We wanted to experience it to see if we'd like it. It turned out that WE LOVED IT! As soon as we walked in, we were welcomed with a big smile. We could feel the warmth and comfort of the home. It was clean and beautifully decorated. Our room was clean, cozy and spacious. It was a little peaceful retreat after being out and about all day (the bed was amazing). The highest quality bed linens, luxurious bathroom spa soaps and lotions. So many thoughtful details throughout our beautifully decorated room. Lastly, breakfast was unique and delicious. We definitely RECOMMEND Puffin Inn! Our stay was above and beyond from what we expected from a bed and breakfast and the innkeepers were amazing!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the wonderful comments about Puffin Inn Bed and Breakfast. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as it was our pleasure having you as our guests in your very first B&B! We look forward to your next visit.


Can't wait to go back!

5 on July 26, 2012

We waited close to 2 years to stay at the Puffin Inn and without a doubt, it was worth the wait! My boyfriend and I were greeted by two of the sweetest people (Mark and Steve) and throughout our whole stay they were nothing but kind and generous in their hospitality. We fell in love with the innkeepers and they were more than helpful when it came to suggesting different activities and restaurants. Both of them were so knowledgeable on the history of the surroundings. Our carriage house room was everything we had imagined and more...our private deck was perfect for early morning coffee and conversation. And then of course there was the breakfast! Delicious! My boyfriend could not get enough of the breads! Overall, this was such a special experience and we were so glad to be able to spend our get-away weekend at such a beautiful home. Thanks Mark and Steve

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and the nice compliments of Puffin Inn. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable guest room and a delicious breakfast to all of our guests. It sounds like we accomplished that with you. It was great to meet you and thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again!


Puffin Inn a BIG let down!

2.4 on July 16, 2012

Having stayed at many New England Bed and Breakfast Inns, we were excited about spending a weekend at the Puffin Inn. It was a HUGE mistake and MAJOR rip off!!!!! Our "carrige house room " was a glorified garage which SHOOK when the neighboring occupants were in thier room. The price was a substantial $250.00 per night absolutely not worth it!!!! The sheets were old and rough. There was no drain in the tub so showering was the only option. Those wearing make-up were required to wash their faces with a brown facecloth. The inn keepers left a note stating that they wanted to keep their white linnens clean so people must use the brown cloth to avoid make up stains!!! REALLY?!!! Ever heard of bleach???! The Inn Keepers required everyone to fill out a breakfast choice sheet. If one did not fill out the sheet, there would be NO BREAKFAST provided!!! Now let me think, it is a bed and breakfast and that being said, breakfast was included in the $250.00 price.....but not if you do not fill out the form! GIVE ME A BREAK!!! At other B&Bs the breakfast is a relaxing experience in a lovely dinning room...Not at the Puffin Inn. We were crammed on a narrow enclosed porch on a hot humid morning without a/c or space to even push a chair out!! We dinned like a bunch of sardines! The inn istelf was more like a boarding house. At others that we have stayed at, the common areas were a real plus, fire places books a place to meet other guests. Not here....every square inch of this place was turned into guest rooms....the common area was the narrow porch ! The location was as it said, a short walk inot town, but did not mention the busy and loud rt 1, not a place to take a quiet stroll into town! It was a MAJOR disappointment and expensive mistake!!!! Never again.

Innkeeper Response
A guest once told us "there are some people who will arrive at your Inn determined to find something wrong". This reviewer stayed 1 night at a rate of $235, not $250. They did not say a word when checking out, nor were we given a chance to remedy any issues. We take great pride in our B&B and we're very approachable. If any guest ever had an issue, we'd go above and beyond to accommodate them. We would have gladly moved this reviewer to another room or refunded her money, even paid for their breakfast out. Sadly, we were never given that opportunity. Our Carriage House rooms are our most popular rooms, booked all summer with no issues with 70% returning guests. We used to provide a packaged makeup remover towelette. The brown facecloth was suggested by a previous guest who told us women don't like using the towelettes because they contain alcohol. Providing a dark cloth would be a softer, nicer touch for removing makeup. We thought this was a great idea and have used them ever since, along with the white facecloths. The reviewer states we "left a note". Not true, it is a small laminated card tucked in every dark facecloth, just so women know what it's for. Why would this offend her so greatly? Also, our 100% cotton, 500 thread count bed linens are less than 2 yrs old. We offer 2 breakfast entrees (a savory and a sweet) which change daily. There is no form to "fill out"; guests select which entree they would like with a simple checkmark. Guests love it and this review has been our only negative comment. Breakfast is served in our breakfast room at 5 separate tables; close enough so guests can enjoy chatting or keep to themselves. There are also tables on the front porch surrounded by overflowing flower boxes. Guests have told us they like their own table as opposed to sitting at a diningroom table with 8-10 strangers and forced to chat. The harsh tone of this review (capital letters, misspelled words, many exclamation points) shows the character of this individual.


Stay at Puffin Inn in June 2010

5 on August 09, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Puffin Inn in June. The weather was perfect in Ogunquit and the hospitality at Puffin Inn was outstanding. We loved the room we chose and the breakfast was wonderful. We were given ideas of places to go and restaurants to explore and that was helpful to us since it was our first visit to Ogunquit. I highly recommend coming to Puffin Inn if you are visiting in this area. Location was wonderful. It was in walking distance to the beach and shops and the house was quiet for relaxation and sleep - actually we were surprised there were other people staying there!


Wonderful Experience

5 on October 08, 2009

Relaxed charm, superb breakfast, & ideal location. Within walking distance to the beach and all main amenities. The owners were extremely nice, and so helpful. Our room was very lovely, both clean and comfortable. Would most certainly visit again.


A fabulous BandB !!

5 on September 22, 2009

The Puffin Inn is truly "special". As a matter of fact it's perfect! Steve and Mark are wonderful hosts who truly understand that paying attention to every little detail is really worth it. The Inn is impeccably clean and maintained. Decoration is lovely. My husband and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the Ogunquit area.


Best in Ogunquit!

5 on September 20, 2009

Our annual trip each September. Greatest place, wonderful breakfast, surroundings fabulous and the innkeepers grand!


The BEST place to stay in Ogunquit

5 on August 25, 2009

This was our 3rd time staying at the Puffin and it only gets better and better. We stayed in Room #2 this time and it ended up being our favorite. It's on the first floor, quiet and so comfortable! Newly redecorated and immaculately clean (as is the entire inn). My husband and I take one vacation a year without the kids and we always stay at the Puffin!


A Great Place To Stay

5 on June 16, 2009

This was our third stay at the Puffin Inn and it was as wonderful as ever. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. Mark and Steve are wonderful, friendly hosts and serve a fabulous breakfast. The outside of the inn is beautiful and the rocking chairs on the front porch are great for relaxing and reading in. The Puffin Inn is within walking distance of downtown, the beach and a wide variety of restaurants. We can't wait for our next visit!


Felt so at home...

5 on November 19, 2008

We can't say enough about how wonderful this B&B is!! It's nicely decorated and spotlessly clean! We've never stayed anywhere where we felt so much at home. The hosts exemplify what hospitality is all about! They cater to every need, are full of information and knowledge about the area, and serve scrumptious breakfasts! The location is great too, within walking distance to town and superb restaurants. It's the absolute perfect place to stay while visiting Ogunquit. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else, neither should you!


Absolutely Phenomenal

5 on October 16, 2008

We just spent a wonderful few days in Ogunquit at Puffin Inn bed and breakfast. The room was absolutely beautiful, clean and the bathroom sparkled and a yummy breakfast too. Kudos to Steven and Mark, owners of this marvelous bed and breakfast, they were awesome. They were so much fun and they more than met our every need. Each day after our shopping extravaganzas, we were met with smiles from them wanting to know how we enjoyed our day. They helped us to find great places for dinner. We would wholeheartedly encourage anyone heading to Ogunquit Maine to stay at Puffin Inn. It will be an experience you will never forget and you will have the opportunity to meet two of the greatest people ever, Mark and Steven.


A Perfect Mini Vacation

5 on October 09, 2008

We took advantage of a 2 night midweek special offer that included dinner. We can't stop telling people what a wonderful time we had. Mark & Steve were perfect hosts and dinner at Bintliff's was unbelievable. The inn is beautiful and immaculate. We recommend it highly and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.


Our getaway to Puffin Inn

5 on October 06, 2008

This was a little piece of heaven in the middle of a busy week. We snuck away (leaving the kids at home) for a few night's away to celebrate our 20th anniversary. I could have easily spent longer here. It was clean, beautiful, and romantic. Breakfast was delicious every morning. I highly recommend Puffin Inn to anyone traveling to Ogunquit. It is a wonderful alternative to a hotel.


Superb!

5 on October 06, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at this wonderful inn. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Steve and Mark really know the area and are great giving tips about restaurants and attractions. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed meeting the other guests each morning. We will stay there again when we come back to the area.


Absolutely perfect!

5 on September 29, 2008

I had a wonderful stay at the Puffin Inn, despite arriving in the middle of a tropical storm! I really didn't mind spending time indoors. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, the inn is quiet, and the breakfast is fantastic. Mark and Steve are welcoming hosts. Everything about my stay was just perfect--I look forward to visiting again!


Can't wait to come back!

4.8 on September 22, 2008

Our first trip to Ogunquit but definitely not our last.The Inn was beautifully decorated and Steve and Mark were fabulous hosts.Everything was close by and the breakfast was awesome,can;t wait to come back!


Just perfect for us

4.4 on September 18, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a small quiet place to stay close to the beach but away from the noisy downtown area. We found the perfect spot at the Puffin Inn. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The front porch was a perfect place to sip our coffee and wine and read a book (we even ate our breakfast on the front porch). It was a short walk to the beach and many good restaurants. The two innkeepers were very friendly and hospitable. We would definitely stay there again and have added the Puffin Inn to our once a year vacation destination!!


Consistently exceptional

4.6 on September 15, 2008

We have just concluded our 4th visit to the Puffin Inn and are continually pleased with the innkeepers consistent levels of service, cleanliness, and value. They maintain an exceptional level of professionalism with the perfect blend of friendliness, making each guest feel welcome and comfortable. Sincerely ~ Skip, David, Cindy, Meg, Tim & Mark... Yes, same time next year!


Absolutely loved it

5 on September 08, 2008

We travel to Ogunquit often and I looked into the Puffin Inn as a option instead of the usual hotels and was fortunate enough to find space during our visit. It was absolutely wonderful. The room was charming, the owners very friendly and gracious, and the breakfast was outstanding. I loved the fact I could run downstairs in my pj's in the morning for a cup of coffee! We really didn't want to go home! We're looking forward to our next stay at the Puffin!!


A Perfect Place to Stay!

4.4 on September 02, 2008

The Puffin Inn was a fabulous B&B. Mark and Steve are perfect Hosts. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Puffin Inn to all. It is a great location with only a short walk to the shops, restaurants, and beaches. Breakfast was great and wine and cheese was a perfect touch. We can't wait to stay there again next year and years to come. Thank you Mark and Steve! - Mike and Beth


Thanks for a great stay!!!

4.8 on August 29, 2008

This is a jewel in Ogunquit for sure. Away from all the busy activity of the center of town, yet close enough to enjoy everything around the area. The room was super clean and the details were nice . The owners are so nice and take care of every need. The breakfast is absolutely SUPER. This is one great B&B in Ogunquit. We can highly recommend this place!!!


A Historic beauty

5 on August 26, 2008

We were looking for a little special B&B in Ogunquit for a 2 night stay. I came across The Puffin Inn online and decided to stay here, since it looked so lovely on the internet. The Inn is a beautifully kept historic home. Superbly run by the innkeepers, nice room and delicious home cooked breakfast in the morning. Very helpful and friendly. We absolutely recommend staying at here, it'll be our "secret hideaway place" for many years to come!


FABULOUS!

5 on August 25, 2008

Puffin Inn is a fantastic B&B option in quaint Ogunquit. The owners are gracious and think of everything you might need. Breakfast was fabulous....no need for lunch they feed us so well. Our room was beautiful and well-appointed. Tons of amenities..home-baked cookies, wine and cheese. Very quiet room and you feel part of the family. Mark and Steve are kind, sincere, and clearly love what they do! The gardens are beautiful and relaxing. We would like to visit again for sure. In a word....FABULOUS.


Puffin Inn

5 on July 23, 2008

Beautiful inn with excellent service. Mark and Steven are a delight.


outstanding!

5 on June 11, 2008

Steve and Mark went out of their way to fit our schedule and provide us with information about the area


it was...

5 on June 11, 2008

such a great visit-my frown line went away!


Personal touches

5 on June 02, 2008

Steve and Mark of the Puffin, exceeds when it comes to perfecting the essence of personal touches. From food to the beauty of each guest room and grounds, I have never experienced a more joyful getaway. I'll keep coming.


Quaint Peaceful Retreat

4.4 on May 30, 2008

The owners are most welcoming and make sure that your every need is taken care of. The B&B is beautifully maintained. The gardens are lovely. Will definitely return!


Puffin Inn

4.6 on May 22, 2008

Exceeded my expectations


Puffin Inn

5 on May 16, 2008

Very clean, very friendly, very wonderful. We will come again and again.


Puffin Inn

4.8 on May 13, 2008

Excellent service all around, clean, friendly, no complaints- will return.


So delightful

5 on May 02, 2008

Small inn, personal service. Immaculate. Well decorated, great ammenities, 3 min from beach. Mark and Steve are the best! Oh, and excellent breakfast.


Puffin Inn

5 on May 02, 2008

What a wonderful inn. Immaculate, comfortable, great breakfast and terrific inn keepers.


very nice

4.6 on April 17, 2008

spent 3 nights here. great location. excellent breakfast each day. innkeepers very friendly. will do again. would recommend.


Porchside at the Puffin

4.4 on October 19, 2007

Meticulously maintained, super friendly owner/operators provide enjoyable evenings in a beautiful setting porchside at the Puffin Inn.


Outstanding, what more can we say

5 on July 08, 2007

Our first experience with a bed & breakfast and it was wonderful. Steve and Mark did a great job at making us seem at home. We will do it again real soon.


Puffin Inn Ogunquit

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $250
  • Reviews (49) 4.9
  • Rooms 10

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2076465496

Visit Website »

View details

Top