Augustus Bove House Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
72 Reviews

Write A Review

Amazing stay!

5 on September 01, 2013

We just got home from our first and most defiantly not our last stay at The Augustus Bove House. This was our first B&B so I was little nervous. Arlene was so warm and welcoming and not to mention absolutely adorable! Our room had everything we needed. I loved the details of our room, even the little basket in the bathroom of things you may have forgotten. Breakfast was great, eggs, bacon, toast, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, juice....all you can eat. It was great! Arlene sat with us and chatted while we ate breakfast and sent me off with a hug when I left. I highly recommend this are and the Augustus Bove House for your vacation. I cant wait to go back!! Ohhh and they welcomed my dog too!!! Great great place!!!!


Home away from home

4.0 on December 21, 2012

We needed a place to stay for a couple nights on our way to see friends. Arlene and David are quite the hosts with their many stories of running an Inn. Ask Arlene to tell you the skunk story! There are also some wonderful restaurants in the village, a state park nearby, and of course, the lake. We loved our spacious room and view of the lake. Hope to return sometime.


Wonderful Experience at Augustus Bove House

5 on September 26, 2012

Large, comfortable room with all the comforts of home. Dining area is open all night for coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Clean, comfortable and beautiful rooms. Dave and Arlene are delightful, hard working hosts. Lake and dining is right across the street! Lots of activities available and the price is right. We will become regulars!


Wonderful

4.8 on October 30, 2011

Clean, convenient, and very warm environment. Terrific breakfast! Owners are true Mainers with that downeast sense of humor. A great find.


Wonderful Getaway.

5 on October 03, 2011

Arlene does B&B's like no one else. We travel worldwide and this was one of the finest experiences we have ever had. Beautifully appointed rooms w/period antiques, comfortable beds and sitting rooms, the breafast was superb and Arlene was so wonderful to us. We had an attic room w/a sitting room. It was cozy but spacious, quiet and very romantic. We will always stay w/Arlene when we can. Superb!!!!


Sigma Chi Fall Reunion at Augustus Bove House

4.6 on September 14, 2011

The Inn Keepers - Dave and Arlene - made our stay at their B&B a most memorable weekend. They delighted us with their hospitality and wonderful stories. It was like living in "finer" times being at this B&B - would highly recommend it to anyone. Their "made to order" breakfasts were delicious and were included in the room rate. Just a great value for your money.


Regret only two nights

4.4 on August 23, 2011

Classical Victorian home. Comfortable charming room with well appointed bathroom. Good bed. Outstanding breakfast. We loved the period dinning room where we sat together at table with other guests, supported by our effective hosts. We are encouraged to seek more B & B experiences.


across from Long Lake gorgeous views

4.4 on August 03, 2011

In the middle of nowhere Maine is a beautiful B and B across from Long Lake and multiple restaurants and bars within one block. There are no other places to stay unless you are camping. Across the street you can take ferry rides, rent jet skis or even go on helicopter rides. The Augustus Bove House is run by a hot ticket Arlene who goes out of her way to make you feel like part of her family. The room was lovely and so was the private bathroom. I wish we stayed longer.


Gracious hosts; amazing location

4.4 on August 02, 2011

Arlene and Dave are friendly and attentive, cooked us delicious breakfasts and saw to our every need. Great conversations over leisurely coffee.


Great B&B

4.0 on June 13, 2011

Arlene and Dave are great hosts and Arlene is a wodnerful cook. You cannot spend a sleepless night in this place. Comfort is ideal and the rooms are eclectic. Overall, a wonderful place.


We'd love to return

5 on June 06, 2011

Augustus Bove House is a very lovely old historic inn with beautiful furniture, gracious hosts, and very clean and quiet accommodations. Our full breakfast was made to order. A great place.


Lovely B&B - Great Location & Beautiful Room

5 on May 30, 2011

On arrival, we were greeted by Arlene who went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. Our room was a king room, it was very clean, cozy and nicely decorated. The view of Long Lake was beautiful. The Inn is in a perfect location, within easy walking distance to everything in the area. Breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed our chats with Arlene. We will be sure to return to the Augustus Bove House as we found it charming & relaxing. Things to do: Arlene told us about a "million dollar view" in nearby Casco on Route 11. The view was breathtaking - a must see!!!


Wonderful Inn- highly recommend it

4.0 on March 25, 2011

Arlene and Dave are wonderful Innkeepers. We look forward to our visits and find the inn a tranquil comfortable place to stay. The rooms are well sized and the beds are very comfortable. Sheets and linens are good quality and the Inn is clean. The bathrooms are well stocked which is unusual for most Inns at this price point. Breakfast is delicious and Arlene will be happy to take special requests if asked. The value is good as well. There is also a terrific pub called Bray's which is walking distance. We always go there and have a nice bit and hear some good live music.


Acceptable but nothing special

2.6 on March 04, 2011

Acceptable but nothing special.

Innkeeper Response
My apologies to Betty,I was not feeling my best after being in the hospital.Recently we stayed at a Hilton Hotel at $189.room (nothing special),Breakfast for me was scrambled egg one muffin,for husband 2 scrambed eggs muffin&coffee costing an additional $25. Here at our place breakfast consists of fresh fruit,juice,homemade muffins,coffee cake, cereal,eggs.bacon,toast,or pancakes,quiche, french toast, coffee/tea,(anytime) cake for a late night snack,with room for under $100.Not all rooms are large since house is 200yrs old,but we try to make people happy and comfortable, we enjoy everyone.


Peace of mind

4.8 on February 13, 2011

Our stay was very welcoming from the moment we came in until the moment we left, it was truely a stay that was needed. The atmosphere and all the fixings were perfect. We woke up to an amazing smell of french toast and bacon. The warmth from the inkeepers and other guests was friendly and family like. If you decide to stay at a place that keeps your interest in mind. The Augustus Bove House is it! You stay once, You'll come again and enjoy it all.


A lovely stay

5 on December 06, 2010

Our host and hostess were warm and caring about our comfort. Our room was large and beautifully appointed. Baked goods delicious.


Last minute getaway

4.4 on October 15, 2010

What a pleasant surprise this last minute trip was due to the wonderful bed and breakfast. The B and B owner was beyond accommodating offered us cake and such the evening we arrived. Breakfast tasted fantastic, had a great presentation and plenty of choices. The atmosphere was welcoming and spacious. The room and it's features exceeded my expectations. I am actually considering booking there again early to ensure availability. Highly recommend this B and B. Angela October 2010


A visit(again) in Naples

4.4 on October 11, 2010

My wife and I just returned from our third stay at the Augustus Bove House. Seems as if everything "gets better" with every stay! Arlene and Dave are the ultimate hosts as they personally see our accommodations exceed what was expected. Always plenty of fine food and great conversation available, a stay at the Bove House will provide an ideal stay offering a good night's sleep making one ready for the goings on in the surrounding area. And, its central location makes the Bove House perfect for what ever interests travelers will seek. You can bet we will soon be there again!


What a great place to spend a birthday!

5 on October 11, 2010

We decided to head to Maine in August. Few accommodations available, just took a chance on Augustus Bove House, and oh so glad we did. Wanted to be able to look at lake & walk to restaurants -- great birthday.


Augustus Bove House

4.2 on October 11, 2010

Enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and comfortable rooms, lovely dining area, proximity to lakes shopping, activities. Arlene was wonderful and was attentive to making or stay enjoyable!


So charming!

5 on October 11, 2010

The Augustus Bove House, Naples, Maine, is a most delightful, charming, very interesting B&B efficiently run by the most wonderful, very special innkeepers, Arlene and Dave. Add a great location and you definitely have a "must stay" B&B when in Naples, ME.


My weekend

4.8 on October 04, 2010

The hosts could not have been more gracious. The accommodations were more than expected & the breakfast outstanding.


Delightful stay

4.8 on September 28, 2010

Warm and hospitable. We will return and recommend to friends!


great for a "couple" & comfy for our growing family....

4.4 on September 28, 2010

we had a lovely time, 2yrs in a row, spending a long summer weekend at the "bove". the lake, the bars, the restaurants, jet-ski rentals, souveneir shops, are all walking distance & care-free easy good old fashion fun. eggs in the a.m to order, clean rooms, tv/fridge, smiles & resources abundant. this past summer, even better as the inn made some excellent additions (as did we w/ our newborn) & now we love their new "cottage"... we can't wait till our next visit to naples. a big thank you!!


blue room

5 on September 19, 2010

this is the second time here.our stay was great both times. well be back in nov. we asked for blueberry muffins and in the am muffins were hot. also cake was put out for a late night snack.everything was great


Great B&B visit

5 on September 15, 2010

Our visit to the wonderful B&B was wonderful. Greeted by the hospitable owners and shown to a marvelous room filled with lovely antiques as was the entire house. We were cheefully given the grand tour! Very clean and comfortable and breakfast was prepared to order with delicious homemade goodies and surprise! a quilt show! Highly recommend!!


Would definately recommend

4.4 on September 08, 2010

This is an outstanding B&B. The location is perfect. Across from the lake and next to restaurants and shops. Arlene and Dave make you feel as though you are one of the family Arlene's home cooked breakfast is wonderful and you will walk away with recipes for her muffins. The room is spacious but the bathroom is rather small, although Arlene lets you know that in advance. I would go back and recommend friends to do so as well


Splendid!!!!

5 on August 25, 2010

We so enjoyed our stay at the Augustus Bove House in Naples. Arlene and Dave Stetson were so friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. This is such a beautiful home restored to a bed and breakfast. Our room was just lovely with a view of Long Lake. The dinning room atmosphere was just so inviting and enjoyable to sit and meet new friends and new people. Thank you for your hospitality!


Lakeside Ambience With a Personal Touch

4.8 on August 02, 2010

Overlooking beautiful Long Lake in Western Maine, we spent a couple of days being refreshed at this inn. Not only was the long history of the inn fascinating, but it was comfortably and tastefully decorated with thoughtful touches for guests. Our hosts were not only hospitable, but shared their lives with us and touched our hearts.


Augustus Bove House Review

4.0 on July 25, 2010

The Augustus Bove House was a great place to stay. Arlene was kind, helpful and very accommodating. I highly recommend staying there the next time you are in Naples, ME.


Celebration!!!

4.0 on July 15, 2010

We had a wonderful time! A surprise to celebrate our year anniversary together. Beautiful rooms.


Arline is a delight!

4.8 on June 21, 2010

We recently stayed at Augustus Bov House for the weekend and the stay was amazing. Arline did everything she could to make us feel at home. Location is great too!


A great place to stay

5 on October 13, 2009

My husband and I are in our seventies and tend to be fussy. Our room was lovely and our bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Breakfast was delicious, especially the fresh baked rasberry muffins. It is quiet and clean. We would definitely come again.


Augustus Bove House

4.0 on September 23, 2009

We could not have enjoyed our stay more! We loved getting to know Arlene and Dave and visiting with old friends. Fabulous weekend!


Charming Bed & Breakfast

4.4 on September 17, 2009

Very quaint and charming bed and breakfast. Rooms very comfortable with everything you eed. Charming host and hostess. Beautiful view of the lake.


Augustus Bove House

4.8 on September 01, 2009

Very nice home built in the early 1800's, good Innkeepers, good breakfasts and 24 hour coffee & snacks. Would return for a weekend getaway.


Our best B&B experience!

5 on August 18, 2009

great B&B! The breakfasts were delicious, room was clean and well appointed, bed was comfortable, and our hosts were wonderful. Overall a great experience, and one we will repeat.


What a terrible innkeeper

2.4 on August 11, 2009

I needed a place that was close in proximity to my family, and this fit the bill. Over the phone, the innkeeper seemed personable enough, but once there, she seemed to think that since it was also her living space, it was her right to treat us as children. Plan to have a family member by that works late? Expect a visit from Arlene. Turn your headlights on after 10pm? Receive a visit complete with nightgown. What a terrible experience. I will never go back, and being from the Lake Region area of Maine, I am embarrassed that visitors are met with this type of reception.

Innkeeper Response
For 25 years our ultimate goal has been for the comfort and safety of all our guests. I am truly sorry this young couple had such a terrible experience. Having no notice in advance of a visitor arriving after midnight, I was very surprised to hear someone in the driveway at such a late hour with the house totally dark. Again, when a car had the engine running for a while at 11:30 PM, I thought someone needed help, (as no one came to the front door) I went to the door on our own sun room (my nightgown was a teeshirt down to my knees). The young lady had only a desire for food, when I said nothing in town would be serving at this hour, she briskly told me she would go to Wendys. I need to wait for their return at 1:30 AM to close down the house. I would recommend this young couple stay at motels where their activities would be less likely to disturb other guests. Thank you.


hospitable, helpful innkeepers

4.8 on July 16, 2009

Comfortable room with many extra amenities (coffee maker, blow dryer, toiletries, etc), attractively furnished, excellent breakfast, coffee, tea, and home make cakes, muffins available all hours, beautiful setting overlooking lake.


great view

3.2 on July 15, 2009

The owners were accommodating and our room was lovely. Great location.


wonderful and charming inn to stay at

5 on June 18, 2009

The breakfast is fantastic. Arlene and Dave are gracious innkeepers.


Augustus Bove House

4.8 on June 11, 2009

Staying at the inn was a thoroughly delightful experience. There were 3 of us- varying in age from 60 to 74. The room HUGE and beds comfortable. Breakfast excellent, and innkeepers, Arlene and Dave completely interesting and accommodating to customers.


A must stay spot!

5 on April 16, 2009

This was the most enjoyable, home-like atmosphere of any place we have ever stayed. Dessert was waiting for us on our nightly returns with fresh muffins for breakfast. Very accommodating and enjoyable.


nice stay

5 on March 19, 2009

I stayed once with my wife. Loved the location, room, and nearby golf. Second time I stayed with my son-in-law in a skiing mini-vacation. Arlene was the perfect hostess. Breakfast was great!


B&B's

5 on February 23, 2009

As an older person, this is the first time at a B&B- the rooms were great, beds comfy, food outstanding. Hoping to visit more B&B's in future.


home away from home

3.8 on October 27, 2008

Arlene and Dave make us feel like family every time we stay there. We have stayed with them several times.


Exceptional Historic Inn

4.2 on October 25, 2008

Dave and Arlene you certainly have the wow factor in personality,decor,and reflect in in all aspects of your beautiful Inn.We came away after two days, feeling refreshed and awed by your kindness and ability to make you feel like part of your family.We will be returning next year if all goes well and highly recommend you to all our friends.Thank you for sharing your beautiful home! Teri and Nancy Saint John,N.B.


Cozy Spoiling

4.6 on October 15, 2008

The Augustus Bove B&B provides a cozy & luxurious atmosphere where couples can relax & enjoy.


Augustus Bove House

4.8 on October 13, 2008

Very good. Beautiful place. Excellent food. I recommend to anyone.


Royal Service

4.0 on October 10, 2008

Me and my friend were on the way from Canada. Didn't make any reservations, but were warmly received by the innkeeper. The place is truly unique, kept immaculately clean. Great breakfast.


Extremely Pleasant and comfortable

4.8 on August 29, 2008

Rooms and house were beautiful!! Inn keepers were THE BEST!! Went out of their way to accommodate me. I felt like I was among close family. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone.


Wonderful Staycation

5 on August 25, 2008

This was one of the best bed and breakfast stays I've ever had. The hostess was wonderful, our room beautiful and airy. The bed was very comfortable. I just loved it!! Everything was wonderful!!


a beautiful house and wonderful hostess

4.0 on August 25, 2008

right in the heart of naples, we enjoyed the songo gueen and only had ot walk across the street to board the gueen, also a short ride to enjoy the picnic area at the locks, and brought our own kayaks and took a paddle up the songo river.


Charming

4.8 on August 01, 2008

Charming, fabulous Inn. Kindest owners with china plates for breakfast! Clean, Wonderful!


"Most comfortable and emjoyable stay."

4.2 on July 31, 2008

Most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Hospitality was outstanding. Hope to see you again!


Hospitality Par Excellence

5 on July 31, 2008

A B&B with warm, friendly hospitality. The rooms are homely and full of personal touches. The breakfast is freshly prepared and sumptuous.


Oustanding!!!

5 on July 25, 2008

The accomodations were superb-cleanliness outstanding and the hospitality and friendliness far exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend the Inn to others.


A period piece

3.6 on June 18, 2008

Exceptional waterfront location. Neat, unique rooms with great views and lots of sunlight, grand dining room, privacy and great hospitality.


Augustus Bove

4.6 on June 09, 2008

The Augustus Bove is a wonderful inn. The owners are extremely accomodating. The rooms, views and neighborhood are great!


Augustus Bove House.

5 on June 09, 2008

A beautiful Victorian Inn. Very comfortable, gorgeous period furnishings, lots of homemade quilts. Arlene the owner was most accommodating and gracious.


I Wish It Were My Business

4.2 on June 02, 2008

Large comfortable well decorated rooms. Convenient location to lake and restaurants. Great Breakfasts. Promptly mailed us some items left in room.


Augustus Bove

4.8 on May 29, 2008

Very comfortable accommodations, hosts are wonderful.


Augustus Bove

3.2 on May 29, 2008

The proprietors of this inn were very accommodating. The inn itself is very lovely and well located. The experience was very warm and homey.


Our favorite

5 on May 22, 2008

Enjoy it every time. Great people and delicious food.


Best house

4.0 on May 22, 2008

We go to Augustus Bove House often. Best around.


Fantastic B&B

5 on May 18, 2008

I've stayed at this B&B for a week or more every year for the last 8 years. The rooms are comfortable, the service is good, Arlene and Dave are pleasant. The location is ideal right in the middle of Naples. I highly recommend this B&B.


A great place to stay

5 on May 16, 2008

Our first floor suite was very roomy, and we especially enjoyed the private patio with view of the lake. Breakfasts are first rate. The common areas are nicely decorated but still comfortable. We loved our stay and are looking forward to our return this year.


Fantastic place to stay!

5 on September 16, 2007

The Augustus Bove House has everything you could want: clean, comfortable rooms, a friendly staff, beautiful antiques and a great location. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.


Best place to stay

5 on September 10, 2007

Very friendly people and room is always clean and comfortable.


Charming and Friendly

4.4 on September 04, 2007

Our stay at this inn was delightful. The accommodations are spacious and comfortable, and the staff are warm and eager to make ones visit to Naples memorable. A absolute gem!


Great place!!

4.2 on September 01, 2007

My husband and I truly enjoyed our trip to Naples and our stay at the Augustus Bove House! The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable and the views of Long Lake were wonderful! We can't wait to go back.


An outstanding lovely place to stay

5 on August 29, 2007

We have been coming to the Bove House over 10 years. It is our home away from home. Arlene Stetson does a remarkable job in handling every aspect of the day. We hope to go back another 10 years!!


Augustus Bove House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $250
  • Reviews (72) 4.5
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2076936365
  • Toll free 1-8888312039

Visit Website »

View details

Top