Bufflehead Cove Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
106 Reviews

Write A Review

excellent

5 on August 13, 2014

This was a great find! The inn is close to town, but so peaceful and quiet on the river. Very relaxing for a romantic weekend getaway. There was a couple staying there that return every year. I would definitely come back and highly recommend this inn!


Excellent hidden Inn

5 on August 03, 2014

This was our second stay at BuffleHead Inn. The location is hidden at the end of a rustic road on the tidal river just west of the town of Kennebunkport. The porch for breakfast is massive and is on the river looking at the town. There is no better location. The rooms, the food, the family owners are all excellent.


Excellent!

5 on August 03, 2014

Wonderfully quiet and peaceful with excellent views of the cove and inherent bird life. Breakfasts on the porch were delicious, comforting and spectacular with the cove below. The Garden Room was very comfortable and spacious. Recommend to anyone looking for a quiet and beautiful place.


Amazing stay

4.8 on January 09, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon trip. We had booked the garden room, which is amazingly beautiful and spacious! The innkeepers were so helpful and friendly that we immediately felt like at home. We will definitely come back!


Wonderful experience

5 on December 16, 2013

We stayed with Bufflehead Cove B/B this past fall (2013). Could not have enjoyed the evening and breakfast more! Wonderful hospitality, excellent breakfast & a memory to last forever! Don't miss this opportunity! Gracious host! John & Brenda, Clay City (Lexington area), KY


Never a disappointment

4.6 on June 28, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Bufflehead Cove Inn for well over ten years, typically 2-3 times a season. We have loved every minute of our time there even in times of foul weather. The rooms are all unique and very personal. Wonderful beds with terrific linens. With the sole exception of the Garden Room, all the rooms view the Kennebunk River. The Garden Room, even without the river view, has its own charm and is delightful. Breakfast on the wide covered porch overlooking the ever changing river is a wonderful way to begin the day. Harriet is an excellent hostess and she has passed on her knowledge and charm to her son Erin. Our only complaint is that the inn has become too popular and it is difficult to book a room.


Very happy gursts

5 on June 25, 2013

We enjoy our stay so much we have been back 4 timrs. E & L


The Very Best

5 on June 24, 2013

This was the latest of many stays at Bufflehead Cove. It is simply wonderful. The rooms could not be any nicer and the breakfast is excellent. We have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts, and this is our very favorite. I do not have one criticism. Everything is top of the line. Mary Lou Joseph


Tranquil Serenity

5 on June 14, 2013

When we first visited Bufflehead Cove Inn in June 2012, we knew we had discovered an extraordinary retreat.We have just returned from our second visit and fallen even more deeply in love with this very special inn. Bufflehead Cove Inn is so peaceful, private and restorative, tension just slips away, replaced by an incredible sense of joy and gratitude that such a beautiful oasis exists. Prepare to be spoiled by delicious, bountiful breakfasts,( included with your room rate ) served on the spacious front porch overlooking the gorgeous Kennebunk River, where birds sing happily and sailboats bob on the sun dappled water. If rain dares to intrude, you will dine in the charming dining room, amongst vases filled with fabulous fresh flowers from the garden. Freshly made smoothies served in champagne flutes, scrumptious apple coffeecake and luscious asparagus strata are just a few of the morning menu items. "The Hideaway" is our favorite room. There is a charming little deck with a bistro table set for two. Each morning pre-breakfast coffee is silently set on that table, which is quite a magical gesture. The Hideaway has a spacious sitting room, a very pretty two sided fireplace, massive jacuzzi tub, an immensely comfortable bed with plenty of plump pillows and more darling bouquets of flowers! There is even a mini fridge tucked inside the closet for stashing champagne and snacks for an intimate picnic. The staff ensures that your room is in pristine condition each day when you return from exploring the area, and nightly turn down is accompanied by very tasty little chocolates. The innkeepers are so gracious, welcoming, hospitable and helpful, but never intrusive. With their impeccable sense of style, attention to detail and generous concern for your well being, they are the quintessential hosts. If you are lucky enough to stay at the Bufflehead Cove inn, you too will have discovered the perfect "Hideaway".


Wonderful Hideaway for Relaxing

5 on June 02, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The hosts are so gracious and helpful. We loved the wine and cheese on the afternoon after a day of touring. Our hosts could help with things to do and places to dine. We also enjoyed just sitting on the wonderful porch after a busy day to watch the ducks swim by on the river. We have already booked for return visit.


The BEST B & B

5 on May 28, 2013

A beautiful, serene setting, a luxurious room with every amenity, gracious hosts who were both friendly and helpful and a delicious breakfast. Truly the nicest B&B that we have ever seen!


Wonderful!

5 on May 22, 2013

It is a great, quiet, romantic place to stay. The breakfast is excellent. The personal touches make it the best. Highly recommend!!


Very Friendly B&B

4.6 on May 19, 2013

This B&B had a very warm and inviting atmosphere and a very friendly staff. The location was secluded with a beautiful view of the Kennebunk River. We enjoyed our stay immensely.


The only place to stay

5 on May 18, 2013

By far the best Inn in the Kennebunk area. We've stayed many times and it just keeps getting better. The service is over the top. Breakfast is to die for always different and of fantastic quality. Can't wait to return3


The Best Ever

5 on November 02, 2012

We've stayed in B&Bs from coast to coast and this one was the best! The hospitality, the ambiance, the scrumptious breakfasts and refreshments, the recommendations for dining and sight-seeing were first class and spot on. Jim & Harriet, as well as their son Erin and the entire staff made our stay there so wonderful that instead of staying the 2 we had planned, we stayed 4 nights. We would unreservedly recommend this B&B to any and all who want a quiet, peaceful, seemingly out-of-the-way location yet close to all amenities. They did a fist class job and run an efficient and extraordinary facility.


Perfection

5 on October 31, 2012

I randomly discovered Bufflehead Cove through a google search and I'm amazed at how perfect it turned out to be. The room was cozy and comfortable, the entire inn was beautifully decorated, and the service was impeccable. First bonus- the location. You feel like you are completely off the beaten path- the inn is located down this long forested drive that makes you feel like you are entering another world...however... Kennebunkport is literally a two minute drive away! You are able to really feel like you are getting away without sacrificing convenience to the shops and dining of KBP. Second bonus- the breakfast. Orange banana smoothie, freshly baked croissants, the best bacon and scrambled eggs I've ever had, baked pear, blueberry/strawberry pancakes... just a few of the delicious treats served to us. We also enjoyed the cheese and crackers set out in the afternoon while getting to know some of the other guests... which brings me to the third bonus- small inn. It looked like only ten guests tops, if the seating at breakfast is any indicator, which is fantastic- it felt very intimate. The owner was incredibly nice, making dinner reservations for us, taking our picture on the porch, etc. etc. And finally- the view! Right on the cove, we woke up to a beautiful misty view of the water. Enchanting. We will go back every year for sure- why look around when you've found perfection?


Perfect stay

5 on October 29, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay, pity it was for only 1 night. A lovely garden room with en suite, coffee maker etc and an excellent home cooked family style breakfast. The property overlooks the cove across to Kennebunkport. Very friendly welcome awaits with excellent home made apple cider.


Outstanding!

5 on October 20, 2012

We have recently had the pleasure of staying at the Bufflehead Cove Inn. It was, as always, a wonderful experience from the time we arrived to the time we departed. The rooms are lovely, warm and comfortable, the hosts are friendly and welcoming, and the breakfast is delicious. We will absolutely stay again.


Such a beautiful place to stay

5 on October 17, 2012

We had only an overnight stay at Bufflehead Cove and wished we coud have stayed longer. Lovely peaceful situation but still handy for Kennebunkport, and great for birdwatchers too. We could not have been made to feel more welcome, and reflecting at home on our 3 week trip Bufflehead Cove gets our 'best stay' star. Do try it-we know you won't regret it.


Lovely Inn

4.8 on October 17, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this beautiful gem nestled in the woods! We shall return one day, loved everything about this inn! Beautiful tranquil Inn on the water, seems to be deep in the woods, when you are just around the corner from town! The owners are exceptionally warm and delightful! Glad the Mom had a vision of making her family home an inn! Thanks again, until we meet again!


Bufflehead Cove - the family & home you've always wanted

5 on October 16, 2012

Harriet & Erin are fabulous hosts and the ambience of the B&B is incomparable. We have been staying here for nine years and every trip has been perfection. Can't wait to go back! Peggy & Kevin, NJ


A Hidden Treasure

5 on September 29, 2012

The atmosphere of this beautiful place was relaxed and inviting Although there for the first time, we felt immediately welcomed and comfortable. Erin was the perfect host and our stay in the Hideaway cottage was not long enough. We look forward to our return.


A slice of heaven!

5 on September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Hideaway room over the weekend in celebration of our 10th wedding anniversary. It was absolutely perfect! The breathtaking views and the peaceful environment was just what we were hoping for when planning out romantic getaway. The inn keepers were wonderful and very helpful. Not only was breakfast delicious but the view from the deck while enjoying our breakfast was beautiful. We enjoyed the privacy of the hideaway and look forward to staying there again! It was by far the best weekend getaway we had in years! ~Cindy & Rafael


Our favorite place in Maine...truly relaxing

4.4 on September 19, 2012

My husband and I have been enjoying Bufflehead Cove since the 1980's and we just do not get to return as often as we desire. It is truly a wonderful experience either in the small River Room or the expansive Hideaway or the Balconey room. The service is the same in any room and the Inn Keepers are simply the best. Try it and you will not regret your decesion!!


Perfect Stay in a Perfect Place

5 on September 19, 2012

What a wonderful experience we had at Bufflehead Cove. The attention to detail is amazing. The decor and ambiance can't be beat. Aaron and Harriet could not have been more warm and welcoming. We will definately return!


Unsurpassed comfort, beauty, and hospitality

5 on September 18, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, comfortable, beautiful, but not-too-far-off-the-beaten-path place to stay while traveling up or down the Maine coast, Bufflehead Cove Inn has it all plus so much more. This 187 year old roomy bed and breakfast is immaculately kept, beautifully decorated, but as comfortable as home. The Gott family offers genuine Maine hospitality from the moment you arrive until you force yourself to leave. The inn is 5 minutes from downtown Kennebunk shops, stores and places to eat, but when you're sitting out on the wrap-around patio watching the wildlife, you'd never believe you are so close. The breakfasts are well-balanced, filling, and delicious. And our host, Erin Gott, was a pleasure to talk with as we enjoyed our meal. Compared to other similarly priced places we stayed in Maine, Bufflehead Cove Inn far surpassed them all in every category. This will definitely be our place to stay on future Maine trips.


Bufflehead Love!

5 on September 15, 2012

Private, serene, welcoming ... the very essence of hospitality and exquisite taste.


A very special place

4.8 on September 05, 2012

We stayed in the Garden Room, a tucked-away suite at the edge of a patio, beautiful plantings, and large open lawn area, for our fifth anniversary. Our room was very comfortable and truly lovely, and the overall inn is a charming sanctuary at the end of a quiet road and the edge of a tidal river. Breakfasts were sumptuous, delicious, and reasonably healthy, and the owners and staff were as nice as could be. The nearby town center is touristy, but there's plenty to do that's off the beaten path -- walks, quiet beaches -- and lots of great shopping in Kittery and Portland. We will return and recommend this special place to everyone we know.


Perfect Maine Getaway

4.8 on September 05, 2012

This was our third visit to the Bufflehead Cove Inn, and it was wonderful. The Inn is lovely, in a great location, you can walk to town yet have privacy while at the Inn. The owners of the Inn are a joy to be with, and run the Inn in a very comfortable way. We highly recommend staying here if you want a pretty room, great breakfast, great location and be in the hands of professional yet warm, friendly people.


Outstanking Inn

5 on August 30, 2012

Truly an exceptional inn and charming rooms with first class service. Recommended with 5 stars.


Inn keeping 101

5 on August 20, 2012

this Inn gets it right, The room was awesome, flat screen tv, wifi, fireplace, AC, beautiful furniture, bedding, a glass screened in porch, spa tub. it was immaculate, turndown at night,sherry,chocolates. the breakfasts were delicious and the porch with quacking ducks over looking the river was so tranquil.The innkeepers were so helpful and gracious, especially Erin. He made dinner reservatios,mapped out adventure, helped withTv etc.etc.I thought I might be sorry We didn"t stay on ocean but the inn was so special it didn't atter.


A peaceful gem in Kennebunkport

4.6 on August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bufflehead Cove Inn in August 2012, choosing the River Room for our stay. The inn is a short drive from the middle of Kennebunkport, down a beautiful wooded lane, off the main road. From the moment we entered, the hospitality of the owners and staff made us feel welcomed. There was someone on-site from morning until night to help with plans for the day, dinner recommendations & reservations, or whatever else was needed. Breakfasts were substantial and absolutely delicious! Our favorite part of the morning was having coffee on the front porch before breakfast, enjoying the peaceful view of the river. Our room was the smallest (bathroom is tiny), but is one of only two in the main inn with a direct view of the river. When we left after our 4-night stay, we were already dreaming of a return visit. I even bought a mug with the inn's logo so that as I'm having my morning coffee at home, I can smile and think of the river, and the wonderful smiles of the owners. Thank you, Erin & Harriett & your staff, for a wonderful introduction to Maine!


Very romantic and private B and B in great location.

5 on August 14, 2012

This is our new favorite B and B in the US. Harriet and Jim are excellent hosts. You will never be disappointed staying here. The views are amazing.


everything we needed

5 on August 10, 2012

stayed here in early august of 2012 and could not have been happier! perfect way to celebrate 10 year anniversary! great room, great breakfasts, and very welcoming and helpful hospitality! thanks!


Amazing

5 on August 07, 2012

I would highly recommend this Band B! The host and her son were wonderful with directions, suggestions and the history of the Inn. The views and the serenity were welcomed!


Our Bufflehead Cove Stay

5 on August 05, 2012

We had an excellent time staying in the Hideway at Bufflehead Cove B & B. Harriet and her family were always present to help. The room was open to views of the Kennebunk River or fields on three sides. The bathroom with shower and large bath tub was excellent. We are making plans for our return next summer.


awesome/romantic

5 on August 01, 2012

The grounds were beautiful and meticulously cared for. The rooms were spacious and romantic with beautiful views. Housekeeping kept the rooms and house meticulously clean. Breakfast was wonderful; eating on the deck each morning was wonderful and the food tasted fabulous. The innkeepers were cheerful and very helpful with making plans and reservations as well as offering suggestions when needed. It was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast and I would highly recommend it over a hotel!


Lovely Hideaway in the Woods

5 on July 30, 2012

We had three rooms at this lovely place. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The grounds are just lovely hidden in the woods and overlooking the river. It's such a nice relaxing hideaway that's less than a 5 minute drive from Dock Square. It's definitely worth it.


Lovely, low key serenity

4.0 on July 18, 2012

The best thing about the inn is the convenient but quiet setting on the cove which gives many rooms a lovely, serene view of water, ducks and kayakers. It's just a milk or two from the center of town and the main beaches. The host family is very welcoming and gracious. Our "hideaway" room was very comfortable with a generous sitting area, large bathroom and porch overlooking the water. Breakfast is strictly 8:30-9:30. More flexibility would have been nice. The meal was excellent. There are tables for 4 on the porch so you don't have to be at large communal tables. We pushed 2 together for our group. Space is very tight around the bed but otherwise was great. It would be nice to have some more free table surface but it's adequate for most people. It's also easy to move magazines, etc. out of the way. We think it's good value for what you get and have really enjoyed our stays.


Beautiful oasis

5 on July 16, 2012

We had a wonderful two day stay at the Bufflehead Cove Inn. The river room was coxy, with a great view of the river. The breakfasts were fantastic and server out on the beautiful porch. The innkeeper, Erin, was very gracious. We will definitely stay here again in the future.


Amazing!

5 on July 04, 2012

The Bufflehead Cove inn was incredible!! The room (Hideaway) was so quiet and roomy with views of the river and separate from the Inn. Beautiful!! The breakfast was so delicious and fresh. The innkeepers were so kind and discreet. Short drive to the Kennebunkport center.... Can't wait to go back again and relax!! Keep up the great work!!


Quiet serenity

5 on June 30, 2012

A charming bed and breakfast nestled in a Kennebunkport cove, Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect getaway for a trip to New England. A delicious breakfast served on the covered porch overlooking the water, evening wine and cheese...what more could anyone want?


Can't wait to go back!

5 on June 27, 2012

We found Bufflehead Cove six or seven years ago and have been back at least once a year since. We are welcomed like old friends, the rooms are so comfortable and clean, the breakfasts are the best I have ever had, and I could watch the river and wildlife all day.


A wonderful place to escape to.

5 on June 08, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Bufflehead Cove Inn. It is a beautiful place, with very nice rooms, lots of privacy, wonderful hosts that met our every need, and the breakfasts were superb.


Outstanding, great place, great service

4.6 on June 06, 2012

stayed at the cottage. really nice, you will not be disappointed


Amazing place, great stay

5 on May 24, 2012

Erin and his mother couldn't have been nicer hosts. They made us feel welcome from the minute we drove up to the time we left. The Balcony Room with the river view and the jacuzzi was incredible. We slept soundly in the big king bed and never heard a peep from any of the other guests. We had breakfast (a fruit smoothie, fresh fruit cup, greek eggs, english muffin with broiled tomato and cheese, and bacon) served on the balcony in our room. Erin recommended an Italian restaurant in nearby Wells that was outstanding and we enjoyed the 5:30 p.m. wine and cheese with crackers. It was a very peaceful, relaxing stay and we were blessed with great weather the Sunday and Monday that we were there. Would love to return in the fall to see the foliage in the area.


outstanding most amazing place to stay

5 on May 21, 2012

erin was the best host, most amazing breakfast every morning, dining on front porch was so calming and relaxing, the room was like being at home only ten times better, the view was so serence , this inn more then met our expectations in every way wwe will return here as many times as we can and recommend to veryone who needs a peaceful getaway ...you must try this place . don and camille matthews connecticut


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast!

4.6 on May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon, the hideway room was beautiful, cozy, and very relaxing. The service was wonderful and very polite. We plan on coming back to celebrate future Anniversary's. Thank you for a wonderful experience!


Wonderful Weekend

5 on November 15, 2011

My husband and I had a wounderful weekend , everything was perfect the innkeeper Harreit and her husband , were lovely people Thank you


Like a dream

5 on November 11, 2011

I had the best breakfast of my life at Bufflehead Cove. Cornmeal buttermilk blueberry pancakes. My entire stay at Bufflehead Cove was perfect. It's a very charming place with truly comfortable rooms. What a bed! Would love to go back again.


Best of the Best!

5 on November 09, 2011

This place was beautiful and amazing! Everyone there was wonderful! I would definetly visit again!


October stay

5 on November 06, 2011

This was our second visit and it was just as nice as our first two years ago. The inn keepers are warm and welcoming, the rooms and property are beautiful and serene and the breakfast is delicious! We will definitely be back.


A pure delight

4.8 on October 26, 2011

We loved our stay and would recommend it to all of our friends. Quiet, lovely, perfect service. A great way to relax.


Anniversary Get Away

4.2 on October 16, 2011

Our daughter planned an anniversary get away for my wife and I. Upon arrival, we were met at the front door by Erin, who gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel comfortable and at home. Our room was very clean, and tastefully furnished and decorated. We especially looked forward to the breakfasts. They were superb. We also got to meet some of the guests and had enjoyable conversations. We would highly recommend a stay at the Bufflehead Cove Inn in Kennebunkport, Maine.


Beautiful and Relaxing getaway for any occasion

4.6 on October 15, 2011

Bufflehead Cove was the perfect place to spend our Honeymoon. The River Cottage was spectacular with a wonderful living room, bedroom, and Jacuzzi tub. The view from the back patio was beautiful and calming. Everyone we spoke to during our stay were very hospitable and genuinely kind and friendly.


Wonderful vacation at Bufflehead

5 on October 13, 2011

Love the inn. Hospitality first rate. Outstanding breakfasts.


Deserves every accolade they receive!

5 on October 07, 2011

As a long time hospitality professional,I tend to be quite scrutinizing....Bufflehead Cove met and far exceeded all expectations. There is not one single area for me to mention for improvement or where the inn fell short. The property, accommodations,location and certainly owners have it spot on! My husband and I stayed in the Hideaway and this was worth every penny! This stay was was one of our best-worldwide. Book early....it's very popular!


A peaceful retreat!

4.4 on October 05, 2011

We stayed in the Hideaway room, which is adjacent to the main house. It was lovely, spacious and clean & gave us the perfect balance of privacy and comradery. The Kind-sized bed was very comfortable & we enjoyed the wooded and river views, the gas fireplace and loved having fresh coffee delivered to our deck each morning. The entire team was nice and helpful. We found Aaron was especially kind and really has a great way with people. The breakfasts were fabulous. Every morning was a new and delicious surprise for our tastebuds. Enjoyed the antiquing, walks along the shoreline, esp to Perkins Cove, some good seafood and R & R. Just what we needed. We hope to return someday.


What a great trip...and a great B&B!

5 on September 17, 2011

This was an amazing vacation to Maine, as it was our first time. Staying at Bufflehead Cove Inn just made it that much better! What a great place! We researched B&B's before making our selection and all the reviews of this place were amazing, as they hold true. The family who runs it makes you feel so welcome and go above and beyond to make sure your Maine experience is a great one! I love the location also. It is remotely situated off of the main road, nestled within the trees overlooking the water. In the morning you wake up and have breakfast on the beautiful porch which overlooks the water. The breakfast there is amazing! This B&B rates high with me because it was everything that I was looking for; very scenic, great hospitality, good location to shopping etc., and wonderful breakfast! Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple


2 day getaway

5 on September 15, 2011

one of the best b&b's we've stayed at. Great little shops in Kennebunkport that are very close by.


Great Service!

3.8 on September 13, 2011

We only stayed a night, but the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The home was clean, comfortable and quite relaxing. I would definitely recommend this place to others!


Simply the Best

4.2 on September 09, 2011

Warm welcome, beautiful room, wonderful room, very relaxing and one of our favorite places to go!


Anniversary Getaway

4.0 on September 07, 2011

Truly a very delightful stay with a sumptuous breakfast. We stayed in the balcony room which we so enjoyed. A very large room that has fantastic river views from all sides. Hope to someday return but left us with forever memories.


Just perfect!!!

5 on August 31, 2011

This is a great place to enjoy a quiet getaway. The Cove Room was just perfect - small, quaint, and romantic. The breakfast was absolutely outstanding, and the host (Erin) was just awesome (not pushy or consuming). The jacuzzi tub worked really well too. I especially loved the table book that was there on home cottages in New England . . . so appropriate. I would go back in a heartbeat.


Bufflehead Cove

4.8 on August 03, 2011

Loved the secluded natural surroundings and peaceful, romantic atmosphere. Inn is full of appealing ammenities and decor. All staff are helpful, knowledgeable and genuinely friendly. Had a memorable experience. Jan R.


Top notch hospitality, accommodations, food, scenery

5 on July 25, 2011

We stayed in the cottage, which overlooks a small tidal river basin and is only a short walk from the inn. The cottage is beautifully appointed, filled with art and has a gorgeous staircase leading to the sleeping loft. The kitchen has everything needed for cooking in, and there is a gas grill outside. There is a fireplace with wood provided for cold nights. Off of the cathedral ceiling living area there is a dressing room before the bathroom where all luggage may be unpacked into the chests and wardrobes. No need to carry things upstairs. The bathroom is huge with a two person Jacuzzi, separate shower and dressing table. The breakfasts are gourmet, even for this gluten and lactose intolerant eater. They made a point of asking about food issues when we made our reservation and were ready for me. The whole family gives great attention to detail, picking up quickly on preferences of their guests. Breakfasts on the porch were a highlight of every day during our warm weather trip. Some favorite things away from the Inn: Shopping in Kennebunkport, walking out past the ocean and seaside houses that lead to the Bush complex, an outdoor service overlooking the ocean at St. Anne's by the Sea, a visit to the wonderfully maintained and old fashioned amusement park at Orchard Beach to the north, swimming from the beach at Kennebunkport, walking the beautiful Marginal Way, past rocky outcroppings with small beaches in between, and eating a lobster roll with meat that required 3-4 1lb+ lobsters at Ogunquit to the south, attending our first drive-in movie in 45+ years in Saco. And then there is kayaking of the river/creek, fishing, boating and sailing.


Our great 2 day stay in Bufflehead Cove!

4.4 on July 23, 2011

What a great relaxing stay at Bufflehead Cove Inn! The hosts made you feel right at home. The breakfast on the front porch overlooking the cove was so nice. An added touch was the free beach pass. Patty & Paul Desaulnier, CT


Excellent quiet inn -- we'll definitely stay here again!

5 on July 19, 2011

We booked a last minute stay at the Bufflehead Cove Inn for a Saturday night. We received top-notch service from the moment we stepped on the property. Set way back on a quiet street, the Inn feels as though it's miles away from civilization (in a good way!) but it's just minutes to Dock Square and other area fun spots. Our room (the Balcony Room) was immaculate, and had one of the most comfortable beds we've stayed in in quite a while! Breakfast out on the back porch overlooking the cove was a special treat. We really enjoyed the peacefulness of the location, and wished we were staying for more than the one night. We will definitely stay at this inn again next time we're in the area, and highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the Kennebunkport area.


a REALLY pleasdant stay

4.8 on July 17, 2011

Very comfortable. Extremely friendly staff. Clean, clean, clean facilities. The staff will do just about anything you ask to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We loved it and will stay again if ever in the area.


Wonderful B&B

4.2 on July 14, 2011

The staff bent over backwards to be helpful. The home is in a beautiful, peaceful setting, overlooking the river. Breakfast every morning was delightful.


Beautiful, relaxing getaway!

5 on July 12, 2011

We just returned from our stay at Bufflehead Cove Inn and couldn't be more pleased with the property, the setting, the owners. Not to mention their gourmet breakfast severed on the porch overlooking the cove. We have stayed at many B&Bs over the years and this lovely inn was our favorite. Don't hesitate to book your stay!


Loved it!

4.8 on July 10, 2011

Quiet, relaxing, serene, peaceful, rustic but chic. Pampered service and a knowledgable, helpful staff. Amazing breakfasts. Attention to detail. We had a fabulous four-day stay and will be back.


A Slightly Off The Beaten Path Gem in the Kennebunk Area

4.0 on June 28, 2011

We have stayed at Bufflehead 5 times in recent years, and consider it a gem in the Kennebunk area. Rooms are beautifully done, public spaces are warm and inviting, breakfasts are just about the best we've experienced at any Maine B and B (and we've stayed in a LOT of them over the past 25 yrs) , the view along the river is great, and the Gotts are great hosts. Its also a reasonably good value for what you get. There are lots of good B and B choices in the area,but Buflehead is as good or better than any we have experienced.


Incredible Relaxation

5 on June 21, 2011

This is a must stay for a week or weekend. Do yourself a favor and book a room here. The service is incredible - true hearts to make sure your stay is enjoyable and lovely as possible. The situation is calm, serene and aboslutly beautiful. Breakfast is amazing, both chic and filling, and every detail is thought out with incredible thoroughness. Just loved it and hope to come here again and again.


Bufflehead Cove

5 on June 13, 2011

Lovely place, gracious hosts, friendly atmosphere. Wish we could have lingered for another day.


Best B and B we've ever stayed at!

5 on October 18, 2010

Our title says it all, we've stayed at about 6 different places this year alone, and Bufflehead beats them all! Harriet is sincere and helpful. She was able to suggest a 'casual' place to eat (The Lobster Hut) which matched our tastes perfectly. The wine and cheese that greeted us when we came in, was a great treat after a long drive that day. Breakfast was wonderful and the views from our room of the river and those from the front porch were so relaxing and beautiful. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night, we will plan a return trip to stay there again! They must have a lot of return visitors as half of the couples there, had stayed there before and won't go anywhere else.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 06, 2010

This is one of the best small bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed in. The setting was beautiful, quiet, comfortable and peaceful - a real hidden gem. The gourmet breakfasts were wonderful, and the evening happy hour generous with the wine and cheese. This place was the highlight of our trip to Maine - the very best of the three inns we visited. Would recommend it to anyone!


Beutiful Kennebunkport

4.6 on August 03, 2010

Beautiful bed & breakfast, friendly staff, beutiful spot, lovely atmosphere.


Excellent accommodations; The best breakfasts

5 on July 31, 2010

A wide variety of rooms are available. My wife and I have stayed in three of them and were happy with each. We especially enjoyed the Cove Room. You can see the bridge in Kennebunkport from the property. Getting to town is a short drive away, but you could not be more removed from the hustle and bustle. The breakfasts are incredible (in both quality and quantity). Some days I have skipped lunch because I was still full.


Wonderful

5 on July 25, 2010

We ejoyed total relaxation, wonderful breakfasts, beautiful view of the Kennebuck river, lovely rooms, and our host, Erin Gott, went out of his way to make our stay wonderful.


One of the top places we've ever stayed

5 on July 16, 2010

We have 4 kids and get one chance to get away alone per year, and this inn was perfect. Down a curvy secluded road it rests on a cove and is perfectly quiet, yet only a mile or so outside of town. Beautiful views, amazing multi-course breakfasts. We stayed in the private riverfront cottage with massive spa bath and great loft bedroom with winding staircase - beautiful. A definate place to visit.


restful retreat

5 on July 14, 2010

My husband and I cannot express just how wonderful our stay at Bufflehead was this weekend. From the time we arrived, we felt very much at home. The Gott family was so welcoming it was if we were long time friends visiting from out of town. They were very helpful with recommending local restaurants and activities. Our room was beautiful and spotless. The entire property, from the house to the spectacular flowers and water views, allowed for a very restful vacation. Breakfast was such a treat as it was served on the beautiful front porch and was decidedly delicious. We would recommend Bufflehead to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend getaway on a beautiful, tucked away lane close to Kennebunkport.


Serenity and beauty with fine room and fine attention.

5 on July 02, 2010

This lovely inn was peaceful and beautiful. The service was very good and also was the food. Would like to go back.


Frequent Flyer

4.6 on June 28, 2010

My wife and I have been vacationing in Kennebunkport for about 20 years and for the last 6 or 7 years we have stayed at Bufflehead Cove. We have tried every room with the exception of the Garden Room and have never been disappointed. Our favorite is the Hideaway. Every visit has been excellent. The rooms are lovely and extremely comfortable. It is the best spot in the area with the ever changing river as the main amusement. Breakfasts on the large front porch are a delight. Now that son Erin has assumed a more significant role in the inn, we are assured of many more great visits.


There's No Place Better!

5 on June 22, 2010

My husband and I wanted a quiet, romantic getaway in Maine for our one year wedding anniversary. The Bufflehead Cove Inn was everything that we had hoped for. It was so cozy and peaceful, situated right on the river. No children under 12 are allow I believe so it was very quiet and with just a few rooms in the Inn, we got a lot of attention. The rooms were large and CLEAN which is very important to me since I am expecting. Our room was the Balony room and I highly recommend it. The beautiful room had a fireplace and jacuzzi 2 person tub. The bed was so large and comfortable, even my husband said it was one of the most comfortable beds he's ever slept in. The breakfast in the morning is from 8:30-9:30 and it was all homemade delicious food. They also serve wine and cheese every evening at 5:30. This family own Inn was so deligent and eager to make our stay PERFECT! We can't wait to come back!


Attention to detail elevates the experience

5 on June 14, 2010

Attention to detail is what what makes a stay in a b&b exceptional and that attention is paid at every turn at the Bufflehead Cove. From the extraordinary hospitality of the innkeepers to the turn-down service with chocolates to the lavish bed linens and bath towels to the freshly-picked flowers on the breakfast tray to the drawer sachets to the wall murals to the anticipation of every need...attention to detail. Lovely setting. Peace-encouraging views of a always changing tidal river. Well-appointed rooms. Just far enough from and just close enough to the bustle of Kennebunkport. One of my all-time favorite inns!


Great Hideaway

5 on June 10, 2010

This is our most favorite B&B. We look forward to arriving each year. The owners are so gracious and help with ideas of what to do and where to eat. It is a great location to just relax and watch the river flow by if you want or go into town and shop. The breakfasts that Jim makes are to die for-especially his stuffed french toast!! I would highly recommend this inn.


First time in Maine

5 on June 08, 2010

We stayed in the cottage that was not attached to the main building. We loved the deck to sit out and look over the river. The staff and owners of the Bufflehead were very helpful in getting us around town and dining locations. The breakfasts were wonderful. Don't miss them.


Beautiful tranquil relaxing escape at Bufflehead Cove in Kennebunkport

5 on June 03, 2010

I have stayed at Bufflehead Cove Inn six or seven times over the past 12 years and each time is like coming home to a first class retreat. The decor is first class while also being inviting and comfortable and the rooms are always spotless. The breakfasts are superb; we started the first morning with a beautifully presented fruit platter followed by wild Maine blueberry pancakes, and another morning included a blueberry crisp and stuffed french toast - outstanding. The hosts couldn't be more warm and friendly and they have lived their lives in Kennebunkport so they always have great recommendations for sightseeing in the area and help with dinner reservations at the area restaurants. The property is so peaceful and tranquil - a completely private area just one minute from the hustle and bustle of the center of Kennebunkport with beautiful views over the Kennebunk river. The only sounds in the evening are the birds chirpping so I always get a very restful sleep at Bufflehead. The rooms are lovely - I've stayed in all of them - and love each one. The furnishings are lovely and comfortable, linens first rate, bathrooms well equipped and many have spa tubs. Outstanding breakfast included with room rate as well as afternoon wine and appetizers. They recommended a great pub/restaurant that we hadn't tried before - the Ramp in Cape Porpoise - it was outstanding - the best lobster roll I've ever had and I've tried many of them over the years - all of our food was served by a very friendly and competent waitress and everything tasted fabulous! I look forward to returning to Bufflehead for many years to come and being warmly greeted as always by the Gott family. They provide the perfect respite for anyone that wants a relaxing and beautiful escape. I've tried several other properties in Kennebunkport and they are fine, but NONE can compare to Bufflehead Cove Inn!


A Wonderful Place!

5 on May 31, 2010

If you even venture to Kennebunkport, do not miss your opportunity to stay at this Bed and Breakfast. It's phenomenal and after three visits, from South Florida, the owners are like old friends. It's a beautiful home and I feel grateful to have been able to stay there. Oh, and breakfast is out of this world! So, is their dog!


All the charm of New England without the pretense.

4.8 on October 12, 2009

Of all the inns we stayed at during our trip to New England, this was by far the most charming and welcoming. The family run inn is hidden at the end of a beautiful tree lined road, sitting on the Kennebunk River. It is beauty and calm, restful and charming, and my favorite among them all. Can't wait to return. Kristi S.


October 09 at Kennebunkport.

4.0 on October 12, 2009

We found Bufflehead Cove a marvellous place to unwind after driving around half of New England. We stayed at the Cottage which was one of the best furnished & equipped lodgings that we have stayed at. Our hosts were most accommodating and everything was spot on. As one guest stated, the Cove is very quite but close enough to walk into town. A very relaxing place to stay, and one day we would love to return


Love the water

4.0 on October 07, 2009

The inn is beautiful on the inlet. The innkeepers are kind, pleasant and helpful. We had a fabulous and relaxing time there.


Quiet elegance

5 on October 06, 2009

We spent three days at Bufflehead, and it was a delight. The room was perfect, the location beautiful, and the owners and staff were the best. We are lucky enough to travel all over the world, and this was one of the best B&B's we have stayed at. Harriet and Jim, and their son Aaron were the best of hosts, the breakfasts were elegant, and everyone was as helpful as could be for recommendations on restaurants,( make sure you go to the White Barn for dinner) local sights, etc. Harriet has promised me that she will put a pad on the landing so 6" 4" guys like me won't crack their heads on the stairs, but she was a good sport about it (Why not, it was my head?) Truly a great experience, and we look forward to our return.


A must for your New England visit!!

5 on October 04, 2009

Not only was this the most beautiful setting for a Bed and Breakfast that we have ever visited, but the owners were so friendly!!! They went beyond to make this an extraordinary stay from the warm & inviting rooms, the wine and cheese hour, the wonderful breakfast, and all of the helpful travel and dinner suggestions!


great experience

5 on October 01, 2009

All is can say is do not hesitate to go there you will not be sorry. ONce you have been there you will make it a point to go again. The views are wonderful the breakfast is to die for you would think martha stewart was there. DO not try and other bed and breakfast until you try here and you will return many times after that.


A bit of paradise

4.8 on September 30, 2009

We have returned to this inn 7-8 times over the years for a stay that fits all our desires. Charming innkeepers & hosts.


Exceeding Every Expectation Buflehead Cove Inn Delivers!

5 on September 23, 2009

Panoramic views, spacious, immaculate accomodations, attentive hosts, scrumptious breakfasts, Jim and Harriet Gott and their son Erin spoil you so you never want to leave. The Hideaway Cottage with the views of the Kennebunk River allows you to view the native wildlife, and the occasion kayaker floating by. We were overfed and pampered- we will return! Art & Jeannie Steidel Fort Myers, Florida


Lovely Old Maine Inn.

4.0 on September 15, 2009

Away from the hustle of Kennebunkport yet close to everything. Relaxing. Wonderful view of the cove. Rooms are comfortable and charming. Breakfast is excellent. The hosts are friendly and eager to help.


Awesome!

5 on September 10, 2009

Service and hospitality was outsanding! It was a great experience!


Peaceful stay

5 on August 10, 2009

The inn is perfect on the water, wonderful breakfasts, and excellent service. Close to town, but far enough away for privacy.


Relaxing Getaway...

5 on July 26, 2009

Amazing views....Words cannot describe how relaxing the inn was...The breakfast was amazing and the inn keepers were soo pleasant!


Cozy Cove

4.6 on August 01, 2008

Greeted by plesant keeper, Aaron. Large shade trees abound th elarge property while a huge proch invites you to sit and relax. Very comfortable, "homey" room with lots of local guide books. Can't go wrong at Bufflehead Cove Inn!


Awesome Stay

5 on July 18, 2008

It was peaceful, quiet, relaxing and the food was excellent. Very clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend staying there again....


Amazing

5 on June 09, 2008

We stayed at the Bufflehead Cove Inn last May and were absolutely stunned. the Inn was SO peaceful, relaxing, and the Innkeepers (and lab "Lilly") were so welcoming and friendly. The service was top notch and the food was VERY good. I'd live there year round if we could! We will most definitely return.


A little piece of heaven

5 on June 02, 2008

The rooms are all uniquely decorated and the rooms comfortably appointed, with amenities such as Wireless Internet Access, Cable TV, Air conditioning and turn down service. They will make arrangements for restaurants and local attractions. The inn is meticulously kept up while still maintaining it cottage charm. They serve a delicious full breakfast on a wrap-around veranda with sweeping views of the tidal river or in the Victorian dining room. The value is outstanding, when you are looking for a convenient yet private location, and friendly hospitality. I recommend it to all my friends.


Bufflehead Cove

Details

  • Nightly Rate $165 - $395
  • Reviews (106) 4.8
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2079673879

Visit Website »

View details

Top