White Cedar Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
31 Reviews

Write A Review

White Cedar Inn was wonderful

5 on July 01, 2013

We were blown away when we checked into White Cedar Inn. The house was gorgeous and Monica and Rock were so welcoming. They spent a lot of time talking to us and telling us about the local attractions. We felt like we were staying with friends and would not hesitate to go back.


A wonderful stay

5 on March 27, 2011

I love the White Cedar Inn...this was my second stay and this time I brought one of my dogs...the dog room is GREAT! and extremely clean. They provided a bowl for water, doggy bags for cleanup detail, and a blanket just for her so that she could sleep on the bed with me...which was very insightful because even if I made her stay off the bed, she would have been up on the bed as soon as she knew that I was asleep. I highly recommend this wonderful B&B.


Perfect Family Getaway

4.6 on March 03, 2011

Our family spent 2 nights at the White Cedar Inn and had a fantastic time - Monica and Rock were so helpful and made us feel very welcome. When our rental car needed replacing they were very accommodating and made sure we knew that if we had to stay another night they would make room, they also gave us an update on which roads were closed due to snow (no something Australian's are used to thinking about). Overall this was one of the best places we stayed on our trip and we hope to make the long journey back one day.


Excellent stay at the White Cedar!!

4.8 on November 18, 2010

Monica and Rock were wonderful, warm, and hospitable hosts. We had a cozy one night get-a-way in Freeport and they made it well worth it. They hosted Veterans for November 11, appreciating all they do for our country with a free night at their home. The breakfast was their Tuscan Eggs specialty, excellent! Loved the conversation and the coziness of their B & B, we will certainly be back again!!


wonderful stay

4.6 on November 18, 2010

We stayed there recently and were pleasantly surprised. The hosts made us feel welcome and did everything possible to make sure we had a wonderful experience. We were not disappointed. Hope to stay again on our next trip


This Rare Perfect Place On The Maine Coast Keeps Us Coming Back.

4.4 on July 06, 2010

This Rare Perfect Place On The Maine Coast Keeps Us Coming Back. We’ve enjoyed many “quickie” vacations at White Cedar Inn and find that after countless “OK” experiences at other New England and Canadian Bed and Breakfasts, Monica and Rock have got it just right. Cheerful and helpful, these hosts seem like family from the first hello. What to visit, where to go for a day’s adventure or firsthand knowledge of all the many eateries and fine restaurants in their region of coastal Maine. This year, as in the past, we sat in the Inn’s chairs at the curb and watched Freeport’s delightful small town Fourth of July parade. It made us smile, wave, clap and scamper for tossed candy tossed by beauty queens and marching Brownie Scouts. (I found out I wasn’t too old for scampering.) On our winter visits, there are no parades but plenty of exploration two blocks away at LL Bean’s campus of specialty stores. We think the White Cedar is the perfect “get-the-heck-away-for-a-few-days” place to stay.


Great Stay!

4.8 on April 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the White Cedar Inn in September 2009 during our honeymoon. We stayed there for two nights an had a great experience! We arrived at the inn about 11:00 (too early to check-in) but were given many suggestions of how to spend the day. We toured Freeport and went on one of the LL Bean adventure tours! We had a blast! After this we were able to check in and Monica and Rock were very friendly and made us feel right at home. The inn is very comfortable. It is clean and feels like being at home! Our room was beautiful and very cozy. The Inn also has many menus to local restaurants and area attractions. I loved that they had the next days breakfast menu posted so I knew what to look forward too! Breakfast was delicious! The best part of the inn! The food was fresh and healthy. A great way to start your day. Overall, I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who wants a cozy, comfortable stay. Monica and Rock were wonderful and make you feel right at home. We had a great experience and enjoyed our stay at the White Cedar Inn.


Our Stay at White Cedar Inn

5 on March 04, 2010

We recently stayed at the White Cedar Inn and it far exceeded our expectations. The room we stayed in had a fireplace, which allowed us to sit and relax after a long day of shopping. Could not have been more relaxing. The best part, though, was the breakfast and owners. You can't go wrong with the price, location and dedication of the owners. We'll definitely stay there each time we visit Freeport.


A WEEKEND AT THE WHITE CEDAR INN

4.0 on February 27, 2010

We recently spent two evenings at the White Cedar Inn. We must say that it was a great decision. The inn is beautiful. It was like being at home. The common living room was very warm and each room was special. Breakfast was well done and delicious. Monica and Rock are the perfect hosts. Go for a memory that lasts. We still talk about our mini trip and that was three weeks ago. Thanks for a wonderful memory.


A Pleasant Surprise

4.8 on February 16, 2010

I couldn't have had a better experience touring Freeport, Maine, thanks to the proprietors of the White Cedar Inn. Their attention to detail from decor to dining made our impromptu getaway a wondeful experience! Excellent value and great location for walking throughout Freeport!


Our home away from home!

5 on December 02, 2009

To emphasize how much we love the White Cedar, we're on our third owners, and the Parlor Room has been ours for almost 15 years. Monica and Rock are very special folks, and the breakfasts are fantastic. On Thanksgiving morning we reveled in pancakes with strawberries, raspberries and blackberries and Vermont (of course!) maple syrup.


FABULOUS AS ALWAYS

5 on October 03, 2009

VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL OWNER/MANAGERS!!! Stayed twice in the past week, before and after our annual Schooner Trip! Rock and Monica are super hosts. The Inn, rooms and atmosphere are the greatest. Their recommendations on local attractions and restaurants was accurate and helped us immensely. They try the local restaurants themselves and know the best ones personally. Lots of reading matter and an on-line PC are always available . Coffee at 7 AM and a great breakfast after - what more could you want. We WILL be back. Larry & Mary


A Great Place to Stay

5 on September 30, 2009

Monica and Rock are great hosts. They make you feel welcome, point out the many things to do in the area, and serve a great breakfast. The rooms are nicely decorated, and feel like you are in someone's house. There is lots of information and books about the area available in the living room. Also, it's an easy three block walk to LL Bean.


Repeat Guests

5 on September 30, 2009

This was our 5th visit and the 2nd with Rock & Monica as Innkeepers. It justs keeps getting better! Attentive, informative, helpful, delicious, spotless, comfortable. We stay at B&B's whenever we can and this one is our favourite. The location is perfect. Just far enough away from the shops to be peaceful, but close enough to go back to your room for a bathroom break when shopping. Nice work, R & M!


White Cedar Inn is a "must visit"

4.6 on September 29, 2009

Proprietors Monica and Rock made us quickly feel like family and age-old friends! Their suggestions of things to see, places to visit and where to eat were right-on.


Outstanding!!

5 on September 28, 2009

Warm hospitality was needed during an emotional time and was amply provided by Rock and Monica of White Cedar Inn. Would recommend them in a heartbeat!


Two times a charm!

5 on September 14, 2009

This was our second time here and we were very happy to return. Relaxing on the front porch was a great way to enjoy a glass of wine, spend some down time, and enjoy the local flavor of people strolling by the inn. We enjoyed chatting with other guests as well as our hosts, Monica and Rock. Overall, we hope to be back soon.


When in Freeport...

5 on September 11, 2009

Arriving late, Monica was there to greet us, introduce us to the amenities and show us to our room. Rock's breakfasts were the best, while Monica took care to answer everyone's questions for the day's explorations. We will definitely stay there on a return visit. Pier and Beth Holcombe


The Innkeepers Made Me Feel at Home

4.6 on September 03, 2009

I rarely travel alone, but on this weekend I wanted to go kayaking on Casco Bay and had no companions. It was my first time at the White Cedar Inn. I felt welcomed from the time I drove up and was greeted by Rock. The talks with Monica and Rock and the time at breakfast with other guests made me feel at home. Monica went out of her way to find me books on photography. Rock prepared delicious breakfasts. They both shared ideas about what to see and do in the area. I had a great time and plan to return with my family in the future.


A warm and thoughtful experience.

4.2 on September 01, 2009

The room was very pleasant. The innkeepers are efficient, intelligent and thoughtful. The breakfast was great. I highly recommend.


Nice Stay

4.4 on September 01, 2009

My wife and I had a very nice stay, very clean room in like new condition, well furnished with very supportive good beds, beautiful house and grounds, nice town, friendly hosts who do their own cooking and cleaning, good food.


Wonderfully special

5 on August 22, 2009

We spent one night at the White Cedar Inn...and sadly departed wishing we could stay a week! We were treated like family, without having to make our bed or do the dishes! The homemade blueberry pancakes and sausages were outstanding. I'm already begging for a return visit! Thanks for the special memories of a special bed and breakfast.


Outstanding is Correct!

5 on August 18, 2009

My wife and I picked a B&B based on location, price, and reviews by other guests, and we were both very happy with the White Cedar Inn. It's a very quiet house with a great breakfast and a great location in Freeport. Thanks Monica and Rock!


Warm Welcoming B&B

5 on August 17, 2009

Breakfast every morning is phenomenal! Actually the the room, bed, service is 5 star quality. Monica and Rock make you feel welcome in their home. The Inn also has lush gardens and lawn with several areas to set outside under the trees. The Inn's interior is impeccably decorated to make guests feel right at home. White Cedar Inn is located well within walking distance of all the shops in Freeport.


Genuine hospitality at White Cedar Inn

4.8 on August 14, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at White Cedar Inn and booked their Inn to Inn package. It was great to have a choice of rooms with two beds for our stay in Freeport. I'm sure, without the package, we would not have thought to include a visit to the transportation museum or the botanical gardens, although a whale watch cruise had been among the attractions we'd hoped to fit into our schedule. And, yes, we saw finback whales. How exciting! It was convenient to have access to a computer to check e-mails and when we were wondering about the other rooms we'd seen on White Cedar Inn's website, Monica was kind enough to personally give us a guided tour of the unoccupied rooms.


Welcoming Inn

4.8 on August 10, 2009

We do not usually stay in B&B but we thought we'd try this one after a long ride from PA. It was great and we will definitely stay again in another B&B. My husband, who is not outgoing, went downstairs for coffee and stayed for 1/2 hr. talking to the innkeepers and the other guests! He felt right "at home".


Bravo to The White Cedar Inn

5 on August 09, 2009

We have stayed at the White Cedar Inn each of the last 4 years during a part of our vacation. Monica and Rock provide a first-class experience with comfortable rooms, reasonable rates, excellent breakfasts, and delightful conversation. I am pleased to give the White Cedar In my highest recommendation.


Thanks for the wonderful stay!

5 on April 01, 2009

4 friends stayed here in March and we were blown away by the courteous service, the wonderful rooms and Rock's terrific breakfasts. Each day of our stay we asked Rock where we should go and he had great suggestions everyday for where to eat dinner and what we couldn't miss seeing. There is so much more we couldn't see so we've already booked another stay in July. Thanks again for the wonderful stay! Jean & friends


A great place to stay in Freeport

5 on February 01, 2009

What a nice holiday shopping stay I had at the Inn! The innkeepers were warm and welcoming, the room clean and nicely appointed and breakfast cooked by Rock was appetizing and hearty. I can't wait to return.


Great Inn, Great Food, Great People!

4.0 on October 24, 2008

My family and I stayed at the White Cedar Inn a few months ago (summer 2008) and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were a good size, very clean, and we enjoyed the hospitality of our hosts, Monica and Rock. Our son has food allergies and Monica made sure to take that into account when providing breakfast in the morning (which was absolutely delicious, by the way). We also took in the sights of Freeport and were delighted by how close the Inn is to the heart of downtown. It was a short walk to everything and we made the most of it! Monica and Rock make the experience of staying in a bed and breakfast enjoyable and friendly - we would recommend the Inn to people of all ages and lifestyles.


Perfect Location

4.4 on October 24, 2008

We have stayed at the White Cedar Inn twice now as we love visiting the shops in Freeport. The location is perfect to the shops, restaurant and is a quick drive to the ocean. I can't believe it wasn't more $$! The room we stayed in both times is beautiful and the innkeepers are very accomodating and friendly. I look forward to our stay there next spring.


White Cedar Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2078659099
  • Toll free 1-8008531269

Visit Website »

View details

Top