Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
137 Reviews

Write A Review

Relaxing and Comfortable!

4.8 on August 31, 2014

The Brewster House Bed & Breakfast is a comfortable, clean and charming B&B. We enjoyed our 4 day stay and especially liked the Inn Keepers, Scott and Mary. Mary is a wonderful cook with her delicious, well planned breakfast and Scott is helpful and friendly.


excellent B&B experience

4.6 on August 29, 2014

Welcoming, warm, clean, quite, and tasty


Vacation

4.6 on August 25, 2014

We had an excellent breakfast and wonderful hospitality.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you!


Awesome place!

5 on August 22, 2014

What an amazing place! From the fresh-baked cookies when you first enter, to the lovely rooms, Mary and Scott welcomed us into their lovely home & we had such a great time. My teenage kids were impressed, and even gobbled up Mary's French Toast (plus some of mine!), which they originally said they wouldn't touch it. The rooms are great & and even have those high tech coffee/tea makers. The "diary" for guest to leave thoughts was really neat. Lovely place & 5 minute walk to 24/7 shopping at LL Bean. As others have said, if I could give it 10 stars, I would. Thank you Mary and Scott! -Murray

Innkeeper Response
Thanks Murray for your kind and thoughtful review. It was our sense that this was your first B & B stay, so we were extra glad you and your kids had such a positive experience!


Clean, hospitable and tranquil!!!

4.8 on August 19, 2014

Excellent couple of days!! highly recommended!!


Spectacular Stay!! Thank you Scott and Mary!!

5 on August 18, 2014

Brewster House is over the top, beautiful, lovely, and welcoming. I am so glad we chose to stay here. The innkeepers are wonderful and inviting hosts. Mary is a wonderful cook. She leaves out homemade cookies and refreshments every afternoon that we enjoyed each day we were there. My husband has an allergy to tomatoes and I do not like berries, Mary happily accommodated us with these issues. Scott helped us carry all our luggage to our room. We stayed in room #6, also known as Portland head room. Our room was very nice and comfortable. It was only available for 2 nights of our stay so we booked room #1 for our last night stay. Room 1 is smaller, but also very inviting, cozy, nice, and comfortable with a very nice big bathroom. We enjoyed the comforts of both rooms very much. Because we had to move rooms, it meant we had to move luggage. They did not want us to miss out on our plans for the day so once our new room was clean, Scott and Mary moved our luggage for us while we were out. Scott and Mary have put so much thought and detail into their B&B. From the wine glasses and wine cork remover, to the refrigerators throughout the house, and the soft, fluffy towels in our rooms, also the souvenirs of Brewster House. It felt like being at home. They also have a variety of wines to purchase and enjoy while staying there. He and Mary really went out of their way to make sure we had the best possible trip. When we left, both Scott and Mary gave us a hug and thanked us for staying with them. THANK YOU Scott and Mary for such a lovely and memorable vacation!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for sharing your time and positive experience with us at Brewster House! It was our pleasure to pamper you!


Wonderful stay!

4.8 on August 15, 2014

Brewster House is a beautiful home in a great walkable location! Scott and Mary make everyone feel so comfortable and at home. The breakfasts are fantastic and Mary even has the culinary knowledge to adhere to many special diets. While we were there she served a gluten free crustless quiche for everyone because a guest was gluten free. At the same time my son is allergic to soy, eggs, and dairy so she made him vegan blueberry pancakes! In the afternoon she puts out cookies and tea and made sure to have a safe cookie for him, which is so kind! When we travel it is hard to stay place where I don't have access to a kitchen, but Marys kindness and attention to details made our stay beyond exceptional!

Innkeeper Response
Your son was a terrific boy and it was a pleasure making your vacation less effort! Thanks so much for taking the time to write!


We loved our 3 night stay here.

5 on August 11, 2014

Mary and Scott know how to do it right. From the amazing breakfasts to the wonderful rooms our stay was truly relaxing and we will for sure be back. Luxurious towels and linens (very important to us) our room (the West Quoddy #3) was comfortable and roomy with 2 windows on the corner. We had wonderful restaurant suggestions. Great shopping in the area and the Brewster House is close enough to walk to the restaurants. Fabulous porch to drink coffee and wine on .... We will be back.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much, we look forward to hosting your next visit!


There's a reason this Inn is so highly rated

5 on August 06, 2014

We stayed here on July 28th and 29th, 2014. Property is a five minute walk from L.L. Bean and the many outlet stores of Freeport. Very clean, perfectly maintained. The owners live on-site and are very helpful. Delicious breakfasts. We've stayed in dozens if B&B's and this Inn ranks in the top three.

Innkeeper Response
Wow, thanks for your great review! We love what we're doing!!


Best B&B yet!!!

5 on August 03, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and it was the best B&B we've stayed in! The hosts here nice and very informative! The breakfasts were awesome!! The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean! You gotta stay here! Linda. Fishers, IN


Excellent B&B Expereince!

5 on July 30, 2014

We have been telling all of of our friends and family about our wonderful stay at the Brewster House. Scott and Mary are warm, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and a joy to speak with! The inn is just a short walk away from the shopping outlets and great restaurants. Mary is a a wiz in the kitchen. Her breakfasts were not only creative but delicious! We highly recommend Brewster House.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for sharing your positivity! Scott & I need to get out of the inn more so we can share new dicoveries with you! We just heard about Halycon Knitters tours out of Bath this AM!!


Fabulous!

5 on July 26, 2014

When a serious scheduling problem arose, Scott was most gracious in allowing us to change our reservation to the following night. We are so glad that we were able to stay at the Brewster House and experience Scott and Mary Gile's wonderful B&B! Everything about the Brewster House was fabulous - the breakfast was absolutely delicious, the room was beautiful and the service was perfect!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, and we're so glad we could reschedule you, as that can be challenging when we're busy. Please come again!


The Best Breakfasts

5 on June 30, 2014

A wonderful B&B in Freeport, walking distance from LL Bean and other outlet stores and great restaurants. We loved our room with comfortable bed, big bathroom, and nice sitting area. The breakfasts were the best we have had at a B&B! Each morning (we were there 3 days) there was French Pressed coffee brought to the table, juice, a fresh fruit cup, an entree and an egg dish (different each day). Every afternoon Mary put out delicious cookies. Scott and Mary were very good about suggesting area sights to visit. The Inn is convenient to Portland and Bath.

Innkeeper Response
Boy, I wish we could spend some time at place like that!! Seriously, we're thrilled you has such a great escape! Yours, Scott & Mary


Delightful stay in Freeport

5 on June 26, 2014

Delicious breakfast. Beautiful and very comfortable room with gracious hosts. I loved the rocking chairs on the back porch for my early morning reading and meditation. Scott has excellent suggestions for a scenic back road route to a great place for dinner out on Pemaquid Point right on the water. Wonderful relaxing stay!

Innkeeper Response
Gotta get some more "back road" time in so we can share more "fun things to do in Maine!" Thanks for your thoughtfullness in submitting this review.


Quite, walking distance to Freeport, Great Cooking.

5 on June 23, 2014

This stay was perfect! Quiet and walking distance to Freeport stores and restaurants. Mary's cooking is superb! Scott was very helpful in getting us oriented to nearby attractions.

Innkeeper Response
Perfect, WOW!! We couldn't be more pleased you enjoyed our home and hospitality! Come again!! Thanks for the time and thought you took to write this review! I know it takes a special effort.


Perfect Wedding Stay

5 on June 18, 2014

We rented the entire B and B for our family and friends to stay the weekend of our son's wedding. The innkeepers and owners were so helpful and welcoming our stay was wonderful. We arranged a catered post-rehearsal BBQ that was held on the back lawn for our friends and family (~ 40 people) and the owners were great. We could not have done this without their helpful suggestions and advice. This historic inn is immaculate and the breakfast meals are simply the best. The innkeepers truly care about their guests as if they were family. We look forward to staying here on our return trips to Freeport.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for renting our home for this special event in your family's life, we were grateful to be part of it! Further, thanks for taking the time to write this, as I know it takes thought and time from your life. We can't wait to host you guys again, you were a "bucket of fun!"


A Touch of Class

4.6 on June 03, 2014

We had a very nice three nights. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Food was imaginative and well prepared. Host and Hostess very sociable. We would recommend this to family and friends without hesitation, and hope to return.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review! We welcome any suggestions for making your stay more positive. Come see us again!!


very romantic place . love the fireplace in the room

4.6 on March 15, 2014

my wife and I ,stayed here for our 15th wedding anniversary , I have to say ,it was the best place I have stayed at in years . so clean . loved the fireplace in the room . made it so cozy and romantic . scott and mary are such great hosts. I will be back soon


Family trip

4.8 on December 29, 2013

This trip was our second visit to the Brewster House. Our first trip was last month where we stayed in the Marshall Point room. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked a Christmas trip with our children. We stayed in the Bass Harbor room this stay and it was perfect for a family with 2 teenagers. There was a bathroom that connected 2 rooms - one with a king bed and the other with 2 twin beds. Scott and Mary are wonderful hosts. Breakfast each morning was fantastic. The location is walking distance to LL Bean, the shops and great restaurants. It is a place that we plan to return to very soon.


Excellent place to stay!

5 on December 03, 2013

Warm welcome, gracious hospitality, lovely rooms, delicious breakfasts and afternoon treats, a short walk to all the Freeport shops and a short drive to Portland Head Lighthouse. We had a wonderful stay at the Brewster House B&B and highly recommend it to friends, family and strangers alike! You won't be disappointed!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for taking your time to support us! We're all about helping people have a good time!! Yours, Scott & Mary


Wonderful B&B

5 on November 26, 2013

This is a wonderful and charming B&B. Mary & Scott were super nice and wanted us to be as comfortable as could be. Homeade cookies and a wonderful breakfast were delicious, and the fact you can buy a bottle of wine at the B&B and relax is a wonderful touch. Location is wonderful with outlet shopping so close by!


Excellent B&B!

5 on November 18, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Brewster House for our anniversary. Scott and Mary are wonderful and make you feel right at home - they even put a personalized card and gift in our room for our anniversary! When we arrived Mary shared excellent recommendations for dinner and made sure that we had everything we needed. The room (Cape Neddick) was charming! Very clean and comfortable, it was perfect for relaxing after a day walking about Freeport. In the mornings the breakfasts were all delicious - our favorite was a stuffed croissant french toast, but all them were excellent. The B&B is also ideally located within walking distance to L.L. Bean and the area shops and restaurants. We will definitely be visiting again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we're so happy you had such a good time! Gee, I wish I got to eat Mary's breakfasts too!!


Great location

4.6 on November 15, 2013

The Brewster House Bed & Breakfast is a lovely place to stay within walking distance of downtown yet quiet and relaxed. Breakfast was wonderful. Our hosts were very nice and had a lot of great recommendations for places to eat etc. but we were taken aback a little for being scolded to have booked through the bedandbreakfast.com site rather than the B&B's booking engine. Other than that we had a very pleasant stay.

Innkeeper Response
We're grateful that you found our property to your liking. I must admit I find the "scolding" term a bit puzzling though. I believe that you were to stay in a room that could've been set up as a king or 2 twins. My comments to you were intended to be educational for your future reservations at ANY B & B. I believe that I attempted to explain that the information we receive from most travel booking engines is quite vague (one name only, no bedding directions, no food allergy information and often very sketchy contact information), and therefore you should consider contacting the B & B directly (before or after booking)to be precise about meeting your needs. My apologies if that offended you! We hope you enjoy your next visit!


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

5 on October 22, 2013

Brewster House is beautiful! Scott and Mary are amazing! The breakfasts are incredible! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to visit Brewster House again!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your generosity!! We can't wait to see you again either!


A Great Home Away from Home

4.6 on October 07, 2013

The Brewster House is a great place to stay. Scott and Mary makes you feel at home and Mary prepares a fantastic 3 course breakfast with a menu that changes daily. The comfortable room was very large and was well appointed. The fireplace kept us warm during the night time chill. It felt like home. If we are in Maine, we will definitely make a return visit. The best to Scott and Mary...truely great Inn Keepers that are focused on their guests. Our stay was during the september, 2013. Thanks Again for a great B&B experience....especially the breakfast!!


Highly recommend this B&B

4.4 on October 04, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Freeport. Very convenient location. Innkeepers were very accommodating.


Loved our stay at Brewster House, again

4.8 on September 17, 2013

We always look forward to our stay here and have never been disappointed. I think this past visit was our 9th or 10th, and it certainly isn't our last.


A can't miss

4.8 on September 03, 2013

Great location and top notch accommodations. Food was fantastic, room was wonderful and bed so very comfortable. We knew the area but Mary and Scott added to the experience. Staying here will only add to your enjoyment.


excelent facility

5 on August 23, 2013

excellent accommodations. owners knowledgeable are great resource to sites and goings on in area the best breakfast ever accommodates gluten free diet warm & welcome atmosphere bed so great and comfortable stocked water and soda 24hrs great home made light refreshments at2 pm every day love it so much they had an opening stayed 3 more days


A+ stay with A++ hosts!

5 on August 15, 2013

From the comfortable bedding with butter-soft linens to the stuffed french toast with fresh peaches, every detail was addressed and every need fulfilled. We hated to leave and we are sure you will as well. Immaculately kept inn with genuinely warm innkeepers. Can we come back again soon?


A lovely inn in Freeport!

4.0 on August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Brewster House for two nights. It is a lovely inn, exceedingly clean & attractive. Scott is personable with a wry sense of humor, but he aims to please! Mary is a terrific cook, preparing three course gourmet breakfasts each morning. The inn is perfectly located so you can walk into Freeport, but this end of town was quiet & quaint! We would highly recommend this lovely inn in Freeport, Maine.


Highly Recommended

5 on August 09, 2013

We were greeted by Scott, the owner, as we entered Brewster House. He immediately made us feel at home as he gave us a tour of the facilities. We stayed in the Cape Elizabeth room which was clean, comfortable and cozy. Our breakfasts were incredible ranging from excellent and well prepared egg dishes to scrumptous French toast. Scott and his wife Mary's (the chef) hospitality was simply wonderful and made our stay at Brewster House that more enjoyable. Bill & Shirley Haas


Good Choice!

5 on August 02, 2013

We spent three nights at Brewster House and were very pleased with every aspect - hosts, location, amenities, food, lovely room and charm. We would stay here again.


Best Inn in Freeport!

5 on July 28, 2013

This was our second time staying there this month. Scott and Mary are some of the best innkeepers that I have ever met. The outstanding service they provide is unparalleled to almost any other inn I have ever visited. The rooms are beautiful and clean and the breakfast is amazing. Scott and Mary go above and beyond the duties of an innkeepers. They spend the time talking to you and getting to know each person. I will continue to go back to this inn for as long as I can. As we were getting ready to leave Mary even gave us a bag of home cooked snacks for the long ride home (the muffins were delicious)!!! Hope to see you soon! -Brian and Kim


Great place to stay.

5 on July 27, 2013

Will recommend this B&B to all our friends. Great location, 5 minute walk to shopping area. Room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Scott and Mary were amazing host and very helpful with suggestions about things to do in Freeport. Will stay there again on our next visit to the area. K & B


relaxed elegance

4.6 on July 12, 2013

Attentitive to details. Very clean and comfortable. Every breakfast inhanced the day ahead. Our hosts put everyone at ease. A definite recommendation.


Wonderful Stay at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

5 on July 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Brewster House. The room we had (Marshall Point) was as beautiful at in is in the picture! It is very relaxing and comfortable. Scott and Mary are wonderful people. They made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. They were very helpful with directions to places we wanted to see. The breakfast delicious. The afternoon cookies were YUMMY! Mary is a great cook and Scott a great waiter. We will definitely spend time there again! Janet & Lee


Great stay, very friendly, lovely breakfast, very accommodating

5 on July 01, 2013

I had a great stay at the Brewster House on work travel. Scott and Mary were friendly, not overbearing as some B&B owners can be and really great to talk to. Breakfast was fabulous. Also the room and bathroom were spotless, which I loved. My room had a hot water maker and tea, a turkish robe, and a working gas fireplace... It was not too close to others. (I was in room 2.) I would recommend this B&B and go back... a review I usually withhold in favor of seeing other houses and having different experiences. Also, I traveled all day Thursday on foot, just shopping, and they graciously kept my bags all day long. High ratings for them. CHeck out Brewster House-- located in easy walking distance of all of Freeport.


fabulous breakfast, great decor

4.4 on May 15, 2013

We had a short stay - just one night but we were warmly welcomed. The room was a little smaller than I anticipated but there was a cozy fireplace and the bed was very comfortable. The decor was lovely not only in the rooms but also the hallways, dining and lounge areas. The evening snacks were delicious and the breakfast was outstanding and presented beautifully. The owners were very personable and made us feel very welcome. I plan to recommend to others and would definitely stay there again if I have reason to be in the Portland/Freeport area.


Wonderful Visit

5 on May 15, 2013

On May 6, 2013 my wife and I checked into the Brewster House Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine. From the moment we were greeted by Innkeepers Scott and Ruth our every need was taken care of. A brief tour of the Inn and we were taken to our room, just like the picture on the website the room was warm and relaxing. I was recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease, and when my wife made the reservation she was asked about any food allergies. There were afternnon snacks, Gluten Free, just for me. Every breakfast entree was made Gluten Free, and I enjoyed French Toast for the first time in a long time. Every moment of our stay was enjoyable and we would not hesitate to return. There were great Rocking Chairs on the side porch and we relaxed there every afternoon after a hard day shopping in town. We both enjoy Freeport and the Inn was walking distance to shops and restaurants.


Exceptional Experience ...

5 on February 22, 2013

Brewster House B&B was a superb experience! The owners are exceptional people that made our stay very comfortable in this charming, historic B&B. The décor and attention to detail is first-rate. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well equipped with high quality amenities; fireplace, free WiFi, TV, every bathroom accessory you'll ever need, etc. The bed is very comfortable. We greatly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfasts in which the quantity and quality were splendid. We will definitely return if in the area again. Additionally, the location is terrific since we could easily walked into town to enjoy excellent restaurants, shopping (ex. LL Bean), boutique stores, etc. Additionally, we enjoyed the beautiful Maine coast close by and many other wonderful attractions in the area.


Already planning our next visit!

5 on January 12, 2013

We've never left a vacation feeling so relaxed! Ruth and Scott are amazing! They are so kind and welcoming. Breakfast is to die for! Upon our arrival we had hot cranberry/apple cider and freshly baked cookies were brought to our room, Yum! Ruth and Scott were a wealth of information about the area and recommended (and even made our reservation) for an amazing dinner at Azure. We walked to dinner and shopping as the B&B is within walking distance from attractions, but still very quite. We stayed in the West Quoddy Room, which was Perfect and so relaxing. The linens are top notch, bed was very comfortable, and everything extremely clean. The fireplace gave the room a very cozy and romantic feel. There is a small refrigerator for guests to use, wine glasses and wine bottle opener. There's also a flat screen tv and free wi-fi, though the atmosphere was so relaxing we did not use them. Ruth and Scott went above and beyond to add personal touches to our stay. We have already recommended the Brewster House Bed & Breakfast to our friends and family and are looking at our calendars for a return trip! We will most definitely stay at the Brewster House in the future and hope to at least make this a bi-yearly vacation!


Best B&B in Freeport

5 on December 19, 2012

Fabulous B&B in Freeport that totally lives up to its billing. Warm, friendly hosts, beautifully decorated, lots of very nice personal touches like a robe and slippers, coffee maker, tea pot, etc. Rooms are elegantly decorated and everything is absolutely immaculate. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It's the only place I'll stay when I visit Freeport. Five stars.


Perfect!

5 on December 19, 2012

Perfect! Our stay at Brewster House had just the right balance of elegance and comfort, privacy and warm welcome. The entire property is very well maintained and clean. Ruth and Scott go out of their way to meet your needs. We stayed twice – once was planned, the other an emergency – and found both rooms to be spacious, clean, comfortable, and more akin to what you would find in a high-end hotel. There were no worn or stained carpets, tired curtains, odd smells or sinks & tubs that had seen better days. Ruth and Scott give great attention to detail, which translates into a very relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. The breakfasts were delicious. Ruth explained that they try to make breakfasts one would not normally have at home. So no pancakes, French toast or eggs-over-easy. Instead we were served very generous portions of fantastic creations that were colorful, delicious and beautifully presented in the bright, cheery dining room. I tend to be introverted, especially in the morning. Lucky for me, the dining room is setup with tables for two rather than communal dining. Back to the emergency: after leaving Brewster House my wife and I meandered our way down to a B&B in Portland rated four stars (one less than Brewster House). To my dismay (and anger) our room had a bathroom so small I could barely turn around in it, the carpet had a sticky feeling, the upholstered chair was stained and, worst of all, the room had a terrible smell that did not go away even after we opened the windows to air it out while at supper. I phoned Scott & Ruth who luckily had another room available. They received us warmly the following afternoon – different room from the one we stayed in before, same genuine welcome and attention to detail. These people are wonderful!


Fantastic and Friendly Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 18, 2012

Brewster House Bed and Breakfast was outstanding from the moment we made our reservation to the exit of our stay. Ruth and Scott were the perfect host couple. Ruth, a wonderful cook and Scott a great tour guide with all information of the area at his fingertips. They made sure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Dave and Bonnie


A wonderful find

5 on October 10, 2012

Two years ago I happened to find the Brewster house and we stayed there a couple of nights while touring some of the state of Maine. We stayed at some other B&Bs which were good. This year having liked the Brewster house so much we just made it our home base and traveled daily from there--The reason we did that is all 4 of our group just found this THE place to stay and could not have been more pleased with our decision. I cannot recommend the Brewster House too highly.


Our favorite B&B!

5 on October 01, 2012

Ruth & Scott are awesome. They always make our stay so very comfortable. You won't be disappointed in anything, the rooms are so clean, bedding is soft, towels are fluffy and breakfasts are the best. This is the inn to stay at when you are in Maine.


The best!

5 on September 30, 2012

The Brewster House offers wonderful hospitality, homemade snacks and stuffed french toast to die for. We felt as if we were in our own home while relaxing in the parlor. You can't beat the location either since it's just a short walk to downtown Freeport.


Second to none

5 on September 30, 2012

Ruth and Scott made us feel most welcome from the very moment we entered Brewster House. It was like "coming home for Christmas". The beautiful house, carefully decorated rooms and Ruth's superb breakfasts were better than any hotel we ever stayed at. We will most certainly not forget Brewster House the next time we fly in from Denmark as well as strongly recommend this great Bed & Breakfast to friends and colleagues.


Best Bed and Breakfast in Maine

5 on September 25, 2012

The very best of everything you could possibly want in a BandB.We have been going back year after year since Ruth and Scott have owned Brewster House.From the very first greeting upon arriving till your departure you feel like family, they see that all of your needs are met.The breakfasts are incredible. We always look forward to our next stay. Bonnie and Wayne


Great Getaway!

5 on September 17, 2012

What an incredible weekend, including a sunset sail in Casco Bay and shopping at LL Bean - all part of our getaway package! Ruth and Scott are the consumate hosts and were immensely helpful with planning our trip, from start to finish and everything in between. Every detail of this B&B has been lovingly planned out, with warm and welcoming touches throughout. The house was beautifully restored and our room pure comfort! The breakfast alone is reason to plan a stay, every bite a pleasure which took us way past lunch. We can't wait to go back!


"Home Away from Home B&B"

4.6 on September 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brewster House. It was our first stop of three during our trip to Maine and what a way to begin our adventure. The innkeepers were so pleasant and helpful and the accommodations were just so cozy and warm. We began each day with an incredible breakfast and we had by far the best fresh lobster dinner based on their recommendation. I would highly suggest to friends and family that they stay here if at any point their travels lead them to Freeport.


Fabulous Mini Vacation

4.8 on September 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brewster House. Scott and Ruth could not have been more attentive but not intrusive. They are excellent guides to the area. Breakfasts were beyond compare. It was our first visit to ME and our innkeepers made it the best that it could be.


BREAKFAST and Bed!

4.6 on September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Brewster House for one night this past weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean, comfortable, and well decorated, and the whole house was charming and within walking distance from downtown Freeport and all the outlets. We were greeted immediately by Scott and Ruth (and 3 amazing types of home baked cookies and Arnold Palmers). Scott gave really great advice about what to do, see, and where to eat. We enjoyed Azure cafe's seafood risotto and crispy chicken carbonara, along with more than a couple glasses of Malbec! The breakfast the next morning really made the whole experience. The website says their breakfasts alternate daily between savory and sweet- I was crossing my fingers for sweet, and sweet it was! We enjoyed fresh fruit cups with a coconut lime dressing, huge helpings of homemade upside down apple cinnamon cake french toast with creme fraiche, mini egg and cheese quiches, crispy bacon, juice and coffee. I would go back just for the breakfast! I would highly recommend Brewster House to people looking for a lovely home to stay in while they relax and visit Maine's coast, and I rate it 5 stars especially due to the food!!


Outstanding

5 on September 11, 2012

Would highly recommend Brewster House. We loved our stay there. Would return in a heartbeat.


Brewster House Beyond Perfect

5 on August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Brewster House Bed and Breakfast, and we couldn't have asked for anything better. The rooms were beautiful and so relaxing, the breakfast every morning was beyond wonderful, the location was within walking distance of many local hot spots, and the owners (Ruth and Scott) were so welcoming and gracious. We will visit Brewster again without a doubt.


Wonderful Freeport B&B

4.4 on August 25, 2012

Scott & Ruth made our stay in Freeport very nice. They are the perfect hosts, and the inn is extremely clean. We will look forward to visiting Brewster House again!


My random selection of Brewster House was a divine experience!

5 on August 23, 2012

Freeport, Maine was a perfect place to stop on my summer road trip and the Brewster House was a perfect place to escape to. I am not sure what I enjoyed most, the awesome breakfast that Ruth and Scott served each day or my room, that made me feel like royalty. I throughly enjoyed both the quiet nature of the neighborhood, the short walk to ALL the shops, and warm welcome of Ruth and Scott and the other guest. It took me a minute to adjust to the lack of diversity in Freeport, but the charm of Brewster House made me most comfortable. Next time I will stay longer as it made me a little sad to leave. Of special note is that I was traveling by myself and I encourage anyone who wants to be incognito that they will find both Brewster House and Freeport, a great place one ' a party of one.' If you are looking for a welcoming Bed and Breakfast, where you don't have to worry about how clean it is, if the people are welcoming or if you will feel pampered, in a great get away city, with shopping, good food (did I say great food) and easy access to other points of interest, than Brewster House, in Freeport Maine is the place to be!


Classic but luxurious experience

5 on August 20, 2012

The Brewster House offered a perfect blend of classic and quaint comforts, from the warm welcome given by Scott & Ruth to the tastefully decorated rooms. Fresh baked cookies and tea are ready as we arrived. Luxuries such as warm fuzzy bathrobes and an in-room fire place made us feel like royalty. Their breakfast was superb and elegant. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.


Nice Inn

5 on August 18, 2012

This Inn is very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The owners are very nice. Would highly recommend this inn.


Very nice place to stay

4.6 on August 11, 2012

Ruth and Scott's hospitality is exceptional. They are very helpful with planning outings, suggesting places to eat and making our stay in Maine most enjoyable. The rooms are very confortable. The breakfast is outstanding. We will definitely stay there again. R & P, Stow MA


Lovely and Charming B&B

5 on August 05, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Brewster House Bed and Breakfast for our vacation. This was our first time at a B&B and we had an idea of what it would be like, but the Brewster House exceeded our expectation. The room was charming, cozy and warm. The bathroom spacious. It was very comfortable. Ruth and Scott, the innkeepers, are very nice people. Ruth's breakfasts and afternoon treats were magnificant and Scott's knowledge of the area was very helpful in directing us to great points of interest in the areas we wanted to visit . The B&B is in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We did not have to worry about driving and parking. We would not hesitate in staying at the Brewster House again.


Great Vacation

5 on August 01, 2012

Ruth and Scott made this one of our best vacations ever. The B&B was spacious, very well kept and immaculately clean. The breakfasts were delicious, well prepared and plentiful. You will not leave this table hungry. Advice on local attractions was freely given and very accurate. Maps to whatever place you were headed were provided and very helpful. We were really made to feel very welcome more as close friends than just guests. The room was very well appointed and had plenty of space with a large bathroom. Our only regret was having to leave.


Amazing Stay and Hosts

4.8 on July 23, 2012

This bed and breakfast was really spectacular! The best part of our stay were the hosts-Ruth and Scott Thomas-who were so friendly, kind, and more than accommodating. I have a gluten allergy and with a little advanced notice, they made breakfast each morning for me with gluten-free options. I found this to be extremely kind and helpful. The food was also wonderful overall. The grounds were beautiful and in a great location- with stores and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. I would absolutely recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a friendly, warm, and accommodating experience!


Fabulous!

5 on July 01, 2012

My husband recently surprised me with a long weekend to Freeport. Boy, did he pick a winner when booking the Brewster House! The Pemaquid room was pristine with great amenities. The bathroom was very spacious. The entire house was impeccably kept, beautiful woodwork adoring the entryways. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The aroma wafted up to our room to awaken us each morning. The afternoon cookies were the absolute best I have ever tasted. We have been home a week and I still miss them! If you are staying in Freeport, you must stay at the Brewster House. The innkeepers are lovely people, very friendly and helpful.


Wonderful Stay in Freeport

4.8 on June 18, 2012

This was our second visit to Brewster House and it was as wonderful as the first. Ruth and Scott are wonderful innkeepers and make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The breakfast and afternoon treats are always delicious. This has become our favorite place to stay when in Freeport.


3 nights at Brewster

4.6 on June 11, 2012

Brewster House is very well located in Freeport and is a very good starting point to visit that part of Maine. Scott is a terrific guide, looks to know every corner in the area and all his suggestions we tried, both food and cultural, were beyond expectation. Ruth makes sure you do not leave the House in the morning without having her impressive breakfast. Very good food, elegant presentation and copious is the perfect day kick-off. The host are very gentle and make you feel confortably at home. We wish to come back!


Wonderful Get Away

5 on May 10, 2012

We stay here once a year. Found it by accident and never looked back. Scott and Ruth are such wonder inn keepers. They make you feel at home. The breakfasts are amazing. We have stayed in pretty much all their rooms and never had a problem with any of them. Scott will direct you to where ever you want to go.


Wonderful B&B

5 on February 22, 2012

Scott and Ruth are fabulous innkeepers and are very helpful with local restaurants and attractions. The room was perfectly furnished and decorated with nice lines and amenities. Breakfasts were delightful and afternoon refreshments were wonderful.


Great Escape!

5 on February 09, 2012

Just a wonderful, warm place to stay. We enjoyed everything about it and hope to return. The hosts are friendly and made us feel right at home. The room was comfortable and the fireplace was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious!


Maine charm. Steps to shopping!

5 on January 31, 2012

My wife and I came here for a much delayed honeymoon. The owners were warm, welcoming and very informative. They put us at ease and gave us every possible creature comfort--without being intrusive. The room was cozy and well furnished. The house itself is a marvel of woodworking and renovations. Excellent breakfast. And---to top it off it is steps from Freeport shopping!


Brewster House is fabulous!

5 on November 30, 2011

A warm, comfortable, pretty and delicious place to stay. Cannot wait until we can go back again!


Beautiful

5 on November 16, 2011

Just completed our 3rd visit to Brewster House, and it gets better each time. Rooms are always spotless, and beds are so very comfy. We enjoy awaking to the aroma of our breakfast, which is always served 'with a smile' by our hosts. It is almost like a 'visit home' .


Outstanding

5 on November 06, 2011

Gormet breakfast, clean and big rooms. Scott and Ruth make everyone feel at home. Perfect location. Close to shopping,dining and all highways to Portland and northern Maine. Great Value. If your going to the Portland area, this is the place to stay.


Pampering Host

4.8 on October 31, 2011

Such Gracious Host...Although Scott was out of town, our stay at Brewster House was Excellent! The home and rooms are gorgeous, breakfast and ammenties were supberb and Ruth was a perfect hostess! The Brewester House is a great location in Freeport and our stay was all we had hoped for, and More! Our next Fall Foliage excursion to Maine will again start with an enjoyable stay at the Brewester House!! Ted & Connie


Only home would be better!

5 on October 28, 2011

Wow! What can we say, really? The Brewster House was like our "home-away-from-home" during our stay in Maine! Ruth and Scott are truly wonderful people - they took care of everything, including booking our Schooner cruise and acting as "tour guides" for the area. And Ruth's breakfasts were absolutely wonderful! We could not have had a better experience; it was a perfect getaway made even better by wonderful hosts! Highly recommended! :)


Wonderful

4.8 on October 17, 2011

Great B&B, everything I hoped for and more. Excellant hosts, they were exceptionally helpful and friendly


The Best B&B Hands Down

5 on October 12, 2011

We will definitely be back the next time we're up in Maine.


Exceeded my expectations

5 on October 08, 2011

This is an excellent B&B and we had a wonderful experience. A friend had recommended Brewster House so I had high expectations...but it was even better than I imagined. The home is lovely, very clean, and comfortable. The owners are extremely friendly and informative and the breakfast is delicious. The best part of the experience was the little extra touches...like the warm cookies and apple cider for an afternoon snack. We will definitely be back!


Simply The Best

4.8 on October 03, 2011

Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, the Brewster House is THE place to stay when visiting coastal Maine. Scott and Ruth lovingly attend to every detail. After spending a few days at the Brewster House, it's impossible to leave without feeling relaxed and refreshed ... and wanting to return soon!


Brewster House B&B

5 on September 29, 2011

The innkeepers at the Brewster House B&B were warm and welcoming. The breakfast was incredible and stated that they were coming out with a cookbook in the spring of 2012. I can wait to try all their recipies! They were very helpful and even offered suggestions on where to shop to find the perfect gifts, where to travel for the best sightseeing, etc. I would stay there again and look forward to visiting Freeport Maine again. For cleanliness I give it an A++.


Wonderful B & B!

4.0 on September 26, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Brewster House. It was so convenient to the attractions in Freeport. Thank you Scott & Ruth for your hospitality and delicious breakfasts!


A B&B worth a repeat visit

3.4 on September 25, 2011

We spent our first visit to Maine at the Brewster House. We were warmly welcomed and we have absolutely no complaints, breakfasts were fabulous and they provided all the amenities you could want. The house and rooms were spotless, the bed comfy cosy, I could have stayed in my robe all day! Ruth & Scott were wonderful hosts. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone. It was a great way to celebrate our 29th anniversary. Harry & Noreen


Best B&B we have ever been to.....

5 on September 22, 2011

We chose to go to the Brewster House based on the rave reviews that we read, and boy are we ever glad that we chose this beautiful B&B for our visit to Freeport, Maine! From the very first moment that we entered the door to the time that we left, we felt the warm welcome of the inn keepers, Scott and Ruth. Ruth met us at the door and called us by name. It was as though we were "long, lost friends". The inn itself is beautiful, clean, fresh, comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! We would like to go back to Maine just so that we could stay with Ruth and Scott once again at the Brewster House. This is, by far, our favorite B&B, and we have stayed in many. We highly recommend the Brewster House to anyone who travels to Freeport. Tony and Judy Novak - Senoia, GA.


Great place. Great hosts. Great Location

5 on September 21, 2011

I just wish I'd booked for two nights. Everything was within walking distance, the dinner recommendation was just what we wanted, shopping is very, very close and our room was very comfortable.


Would definitely go there again

4.4 on August 27, 2011

Immaculate, comfortable room. Delicious gourmet breakfast. Yummy evening snack. Friendly hosts.


Wonderful Find!

4.6 on August 24, 2011

This was a wonderful and unexpected find. Rooms are tastefully decorated and attention to destial is evident. Innkeepers Ruth and Scott are very accommodating and go out of their way to ensure guests have a wonderful experience. Foodies will love the amazing and inventive breakfast dishes.


a serene and comfortable rest

4.0 on August 24, 2011

We arrived after a long cross atlantic flight and long drive to Freeport and of course were exhausted. We reached the B&B after 9pm but Scott was so hospitable and concerned that he waited up for us to arrive and to help us settle us in. We were even directed to a nearby restaurant to have a warm and delicious meal of Lobster and baked clams!! So we hope to return another day to enjoy their great hospitality and very clean and comfortable rooms. Of course needless to say we had a hot and yummy breakfast cooked lovingly by Ruth. Thank you again.


Fine Experience

4.4 on August 21, 2011

The rooms are excellent, Scott and Ruth are very friendly and helpful, it is just a short walk to eating and shopping. Scott recommended a nice restaurant for dinner and booked it for us. In paying, I left my credit card there and only discovered it much later: in trepidation I returned to find the restaurant closing up, but the manager told me he had returned it to Scott. When we returned late at night to the Inn, there was a nice humorous note from Scott telling me not to worry. Finally, the breakfasts rank among the best we have encountered at any B&B. The pastries Ruth bakes are so good we asked for recipes and, sure enough, Ruth e-mailed us a cheery note and the recipes. Just fine people, fine place.


Lovely Weekend retreat

4.8 on August 21, 2011

The breakfasts were sublime, the rooms were clean, roomy and charming and the location was terrific. I appreciated being just outside the hustle & bustle of Freeport's main shopping area yet within an easy 5 minute walk. Our Inn Keepers were very friendly and helpful with everything from hairdryers to directions.


Great B&B

5 on August 21, 2011

Scott and Ruth were both charming and cordial and made us feel right at home. The entire inn was spotless and the breakfast was wonderful. The inn is just a short walk from the restaurants and shops downtown so we were able to leave the car parked. This inn will be our standard for judging others B&Bs in the future


Perfect experience during our stay at Brewster house

5 on August 08, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely weekend at the Brewster house bed and breakfast . The accommodations were amazing . Our room and the bathroom were spotless! The gourmet breakfast was scrumptious !! Everything about the Brewster house were perfect ! My husband and I are looking forward to a relaxing return to visit the B&B ! Kevin&Kathy


Highly Recommended

4.8 on August 08, 2011

I would recommend Brewster House to anyone visiting Maine; our stay was simply wonderful. Ruth and Scott are the perfect hosts and have created a relaxing, friendly environment for all their guests. Breakfast is not to be missed!


Perfect B&B - We're spoiled now!

5 on August 04, 2011

This was our first stay at a B&B, and the Brewster House set the bar very high! Everything was perfect, from the moment I made the reservation until the minute we left. The location is fantastic. It's within a very short walk of great restaurants and shopping. It's also an easy (~20 minutes) drive from downtown Portland. The homemade cookies are delicious and breakfast was wonderful. It's an intimate inn, but we felt we had tons of privacy.


Fabulous

5 on August 02, 2011

A wonderful place to stay. Breakfast is exceptional. Scott and Ruth are so pleasant and friendly. Truly a five star establishment. We will be back next year!


Two stays in one month!

4.0 on July 25, 2011

We stayed here two times in one month. Each visit was thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing. Ruth and Scott couldn't be more hospitable and accommodating to us and our two children. We look forward to next summer's stay!


Perfect Ending to our Vacation

5 on July 13, 2011

What an incredible Bed and Breakfast!! Scott and Ruth are the perfect innkeepers. We stayed at the Brewster House on our final night in Maine. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful week!


JUST GREAT!!

4.6 on July 02, 2011

Our room was IMMACULATE!! Plus when you add in the great breakfasts(and afternoon cookies) and friendly owners and you could not ask for anything more!


Perfect in every way!

4.6 on June 28, 2011

Don't miss this B&B. We did not have the best weather, but the Inn more than made up for it. Perfect location in Freeport close to everything. Ruth and Scott are delightful.


Amazing Annual Retreat

5 on June 27, 2011

For five years, my mother, sister and I have been coming to The Brewster House. Ruth and Scott are like family now. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Ruth's breakfasts are beyond compare. This B & B is a must!


A real gem

4.8 on June 27, 2011

We have stayed at many B&B's and have decided that The Brewster House is on our top 5 list of places to stay in Maine! Ruth and Scott were awesome and gracious hosts. Our breakfast each morning was prepared perfectly and delicious! Loved everything....


Brewster House B&B review

5 on July 18, 2010

Thank you, Ruth and Scott, for your outstanding hospitality and delicious breakfasts!! My daughter and I had a fantastic stay (inspite of the rain). Your beautiful home outsurpassed our expectations and we will surely return!! Our room was clean, warm, and inviting. We looked forward to your yummy cookies every night :)) Thanks again for the "Brewster House" experience and for your friendship. Denise and Amber, Florida


Ruth could be a gourmet chef!

4.4 on July 09, 2010

We recently stayed at the Brewster House and had a wonderful time. Ruth and Scott were so accomodating, even serving us breakfast later than they usually do since we were running a race on the July 4th. The rooms were nice and cozy and bathrooms clean. It was a wonderful location, just 5 minutes from L.L. Bean and other shopping. But the best part was the breakfast. Absolutely delicious and homemade. I don't think I've ever eaten so well. The first days was berries with a croissant like bread, then a chocolate and cherry scone, followed by an egg and vegetable stuffed crepe. I never knew breakfast had more than one course. The next day was fresh fruit in lime juice, an apple strussell muffin, and blueberry stuffed french toast. Amazing. I will be back.


Very special

5 on June 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Brewster House in Freeport. We loved the old world charm and ambience of Breswster House and Ruth and Scott were such attentive hosts...Fabulous breakfast and afternoon tea (Ruth even gave me the recipe for the cookies!) It was worth coming all the way from Australia for!!!


What a great experience!

4.8 on December 19, 2009

We accompanied 2 other couples for a 2 night stay and can't wait to go back! Ruth and Scott made us all feel like we were in our own home... total comfort. The breakfasts were fantastic... we'd be their 'guinea pigs' anytime!


Best Stay On OUr Trip...

5 on November 28, 2009

We stayed at the Brewster House in late September. (This review is way overdue). I highly recommend anyone to consider the Brewster House. The rooms were immaculate. We were in walking distance of restaurants and shopping and about a 20 minute drive from Portland. What really separates Brewster House from other B&Bs is your hosts, Scott and Ruth. They are awesome! They were great hosts. Very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We told them what we wanted to see and they showed us how to get there and some other unique stops along the way. Really great people who have a lot of knowledge about the area.


EXCEPTIONAL HOSPITALITY

5 on November 20, 2009

It was so nice to come back to a very comfortable home in the afternoon for relaxsation, and a nice glass of, hot cider and cookies. Our bedroom so comfortable, and the very delightful breakfast we enjoyed for the two days. Scott and Ruth, make you feel like you are family, we will always come back to the, Brewster House, if in the area of, Freeport, Me, again. The Shafer's


Fabulous B&B

4.8 on November 11, 2009

This B&B is as warm, cozy and convenient as they come! The host and hostess are terrific; They take an interest in your stay, offering you suggestions and directions to whatever mght interest you. The breakfast, however, is the best part! It is a gourmet experience. We were more than pleased with our stay here and intend to return. Your stay will be comfortable, easy and lovely.


A great place

5 on October 15, 2009

The house and room were beautiful and the host and hostess were gracious and made an excellent breakfast. They had great ideas for our next days' travels out of the area. At true B and B.


As good as it gets

5 on October 15, 2009

Best B & B we have ever stayed. First time ever in Maine and their knowledge of area attractions made it easy to find what to do and where to go. Beautiful building and rooms. Breakfast as good as cruise food. When in Freeport I plan to stay at Brewster House!


GREAT B and B in Freeport, Maine

5 on August 31, 2009

What an incredible experience all around! The house and rooms were beautiful and clean. Breakfast was delicious and after one 2 nights at the Brewster House, I felt that the hosts were family! The hosts knew everything there was to know about Maine and were even able to provide a very detailed map of lighthouses to visit-and landmarks to stop at along the way. I can't say enough good things about the Brewster House!!


Brewster House is the Best!

5 on August 19, 2009

On our way up and back to Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park and the Wooden Boat School in Brooklin, my husband and I always stop to spend a wonderful night at the Brewster House in Freeport, Maine. The beautiful house is located in a quiet area near downtown dining, shops and Saturday summer concerts. I've stayed in single rooms with large private baths and, with family, in a suite with two bedrooms. All of the rooms have been lovely and comfortable, and reasonably priced. There's are porches to sit on and newspapers to read. A full, always delicious breakfast is included. They serve French press coffee that coffee lovers will appreciate and teas for tea lovers. The hosts, Scott and Ruth are always friendly and helpful. Also, if you don't know that you want to stop in Freeport, consider that it is a great place to go for shopping and a great place to stop for an overnight on the way up the Maine coast from Massachusetts and states to the south. There is, of course, LL Bean, which is open 24 hours a day, but also many high end outlet stores. There are lots of great restaurants -- Azure Cafe being my favorite. Freeport is about halfway between Boston and Maine's midcoast (Down East) so it's a perfect stopping place. Brewster House is the best!


wonderful place to visit!

4.8 on July 29, 2009

We stayed twice at the Brewster House in 2 weeks & had been once before. Charming inn, EXCELLENT food, great hosts! Highly recommend it!


Fantastic Maine B&B Experience

5 on July 25, 2009

Many thanks to Scott and Ruth for a wonderful B&B experience in Freeport, Maine. Their B&B is lovely and there is no better breakfast anywhere. The July 4th parade was a true hometown experience. Many thanks, LPD MS


BREWSTER HOUSE A+++

4.8 on July 20, 2009

FANTASTIC.........WE WILL GO BACK !


Outstanding

5 on July 20, 2009

We thought everything was perfect at he Brewster House B &B. And the inn keepers could not have been more accommodating. The rooms were great, and the food was exceptional, and we were there for five days. Great choice!


Brewster House - excellent

5 on June 29, 2009

Ruth and Scott made our 3 night stay at Brewster House a very enjoyable experience. They are personable people who have a lot to contribute to a vacation. The meals prepared by Ruth were outstanding as were the afternoon treats. Scott and Ruth's knowledge of the area and their asssiatnce made our trip memorable. If anyone is planning on visiting the Freeport area, I highly recommend the Brewster House.


Wonderful

5 on June 15, 2009

My husband and I have stayed here on two different occassions and love it. Ruth and Scott are wonderful hosts and offered great advice on restaurants and places to go. The rooms are super clean and breakfast is delicious. You can't beat the location either, walking distance to all the shops. We look forward to staying again. Beth and Bob from Holbrook, MA


Perfect Mother/Daughter Getaway

4.0 on June 01, 2009

My 21 year old college daughter and I decided to spend a girls weekend shopping in Freeport. Brewster House provided us just what we needed. My daughter especially enjoyed the home cooked breakfasts. Each morning we were served a fresh pot of french press coffee, followed by a fruit course with muffin, and then a freshly prepared hot breakfast. No TV in our bedroom, but we didn't miss it as we were exhausted from our day of shopping and the bed was nice and comfy. We will go back.


Marvelous!

5 on April 04, 2009

What a wonderful stay we had at the Brewster House! Scott and Ruth were there to meet us at the door and welcome us like family. They had hot coffee, tea and chocolate cake ready for a snack. They gave us a tour of the house and then showed us to our rooms. We had our children with us and stayed in suite #7 on the top floor. It was spacious, clean and homey. The entire "feel" of the house was one of gracious comfort. How nice it is to be able to sleep like a baby and look forward to a lovely breakfast the next morning. You have read before in the reviews on this bed and breakfast, that the only downside to the entire visit was the fact that it had to end..... how true that was.


Back to the Brewster!

5 on December 17, 2008

Every year since 06 my husband stay at the Brewster house for our anniversary and every year we are more impressed with Scott and Ruth! It always feels like your coming home when you stay at their inn! (tip: request the butterscotch scones-they're the best!)


Will Always Return

5 on December 03, 2008

The Brewster House B&B is a wonderful place to stay. The Innkeepers Scott and Ruth are very attentive to all your needs. The rooms are beautiful and it is a warm, very clean place to stay. The breakfast included is so delicious. We will return!


delightful escape

5 on October 01, 2008

Our recent trip to Maine was made even more delightful by our enjoyable stay at Brewster House. Located a half block away from town, the ambience was restful and inviting. An unexpected change in plans caused us to have to catch a very early flight, but there was Ruth to send us on our way with a "breakfast to go". Lovely hosts, lovely B&B.


3 nights at Brewster House

4.6 on September 27, 2008

My wife and I where spoiled each morning eating a delicious breakfast. Our innkeepers were very helpful w/sights to see and w/maps to get there. All in all, it was a Very relaxing stay, would recommend it to all. Tony & Michelle


A great place to stay while in Maine

4.8 on September 20, 2008

Just back from 5 days/4 nights at the Brewster House. freeport to cntrally located to visit the entire Southern coast of Maine, so the location is ideal. No negative comments to make at all, Room very very clean, nicely furnished and comfortable, brakfast was among best I ever had at a B&B, and Scott & Ruth are very gracious and approachable and are full of good information about things to see, yet give their guests all the privacy they need. We plan on going back next year. Tom


A Great way to Celebrate our 25th

5 on September 16, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay at the Brewster House. Scott and Ruth were very friendly and accomodating. A definite place to revisit on our next trip to Maine. We will recommend this inn to everyone.


Already plan our return trip

4.8 on September 10, 2008

The Brewster house B&B was wonderful Scott and Ruth went above and beyond to make sure we did and saw as much as we could for the little time we had there. The breakfast was amazing, we were truly spoilled. The package we got through them total engulfed the experince of Maine. Thank you Brewster house and we hope to see you next year.


Incredible Hospitality

4.8 on September 07, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brewster House B&B! The rooms were cozy, the breakfast was outstanding, and the location was perfect. Ruth & Scott went above and beyond in welcoming us into their home. Hope to visit again next year! Greg & Nina Wilmington, NC


Koshkin family stay in Maine

5 on August 19, 2008

The Brewster House B&B definitely surpassed my expectations. We recently stayed there a week on a family vacation that included 6 people from Texas and 3 from Florida. Included were 3 grandmas in their 80s and grand children 9 & 11. The owners, Ruth & Scott Thomas, were wonderful. They helped recommend places of interest in the area that were off the beaten tract and assisted with reservations as needed.The food was absolutely outstanding. The B&B was spotless, well maintained with really good beds. Ruth & Scott are down to earth, easy going fun people to be with. I would highly recommend the Brewster House B&B to anyone. You won't be disappointed. Ben Koshkin


Comfortable Room, Gracious Hosts

4.4 on August 10, 2008

My wife and I have visited Freeport many times, but this is the first time we've stayed in town. What a great find! Scott & Ruth Thomas were wonderful hosts, the bed was comfortable and breakfast was outstanding. Compared with the prices of the generic chain hotels in the area, this B&B is also a great value. We would stay again!


Don't miss this treasure!

4.8 on July 20, 2008

We came into Freeport in the evening hours and were not sure we could find a place to stay...but Ruth Thomas had a room and was more than happy to accomatate us. She and Scott were gracious hosts and the breakfast was outstanding!!! Check it out yourself. R & S in Greensboro NC


Fabulous Time!

4.8 on July 19, 2008

This is a B&B that is impeccably clean and full of charm and warmth. The bed was wonderfully comfortable - we had an excellent night's sleep! Breakfast was delicious, creative and varied (we stayed more than one night). It was always a delight for the eye as well as the palate. Scott and Ruth are warm and knowledgeable hosts who offered insights into dining, shopping and touring in Freeport and beyond as we set off on the next leg of our tour. Not only would we return again, we have already recommended the Brewster House as a "must" destination to both friends and family. ~Kally and Henry Zwolak~ Ontario, Canada


Would go back in a heartbeat

5 on July 13, 2008

My sister, mother, and I just recently stayed for 3 peaceful nights. The hosts are personable, professional, and delightful; the breakfasts are divine; the house is charming. We enjoyed every minute of it.


Great place, great food

4.8 on July 10, 2008

Brewster House is conveniently located close to the outlets and within walking distance to some very quaint restaurants. We were greeted with homemade blueberry chocolate bars and raspberry iced tea. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The innkeepers were extremely friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was definitely a highlight. Everything was delicious!


Brewster House a winner!

3.8 on May 26, 2008

We stayed for 3 days during a trip all around New England. Another couple recommended it to us and they were correct. Scott was very helpful in giving us a computer-generated map of our trip up to Bar Harbor and had lots of information about Freeport.


A Delightful Stay

4.4 on September 17, 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at Brewster House. Our room was tastfully decorated, comfortable and clean. We enjoyed having cookies and tea in the sitting room in the evening, just like at home. The breakfast of raspberry muffins, fresh fruit and blueberry-stuffed French Toast was scrumptious and very filling! The hosts are very warm and friendly, making our visit very pleasant indeed.


Murphy's Mother Daughter Weekend

5 on May 08, 2007

This was the most relaxation I have had in a very long time. The house is beautiful and Ruth and Scott are some of the best people you will ever meet. The food is awesome. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The atmosphere is very comfortable.


Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $179 - $269
  • Reviews (137) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2078654121
  • Toll free 1-8008650822

Visit Website »

View details

Top