The Manor Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.1
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
70 Reviews

Write A Review

Overnight stay

3.8 on November 03, 2014

The Manor Inn is a pleasant inn with large rooms and a nice bar and restaurant for a good breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed our stay.


Beautiful Inn

3.8 on October 27, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Manor Inn, the room was nice and quaint. The food was very good and the setting is beautiful. The only complaint was the noisy heater in the room (because I'm a light sleeper and why ear plugs came in handy), which is to be expected in an older Inn.


Manor Inn is great.

3.8 on October 25, 2014

The location is fabulous, the Inn is beautiful, the room was fantastic. The whole atmosphere was just excellent.


off the grid

2.0 on September 21, 2014

No tv, could be cleaner and friendlier. Needs some upkeep.


Quiet, nice, casual

3.6 on August 23, 2014

The room was very clean; fresh towels daily. The breakfast was good. Nothing fancy-there was a different omelet to choose from each day or either pancakes, oatmeal, or eggs. No fruit served unless you asked for it. The living room was nice, but not really inviting. It was dark and there was a fireplace that wasn't burning wood, but would be a nice invitation to sit if there was a fire. No tea or coffee was available throughout the day, except for breakfast. I suppose if I asked for something, they would oblige. The innkeepers were nice and friendly. Teh inn was very convenient to woods trails and waterviews. Castine is a very walkable town. We shall return to Castine and stay at the same inn.


Charming place

3.8 on August 03, 2014

Castine was the most outstanding experience on our trip to USA


One night stay to visit Maritime Academy

4.0 on July 26, 2014

Very quaint traditional New England Inn. Staff very attentive and beautiful location in a downeast seaside town. Nice casual pub for a drink or two and nice dining room for dinners. The breakfast included with room charge was delicious and of adequate portion. I stayed with my son to visit the nearby maritime academy with my son and plan to return with my wife for a romantic weekend!!


The Manor Inn Experience

4.0 on July 16, 2014

The breakfasts were very good but I was disappointed that I did not get to have the Pecan Waffles as they were not being served the last morning I was there.


Perfect Wedding

4.8 on June 30, 2014

My daughter's small wedding and reception at The Manor was marvelous. From the beautiful rooms and view, to the elegant, yet relaxing, ambiance to the fabulous food and service- I would not change a thing. Perfect!


first time at the Manor

3.4 on June 17, 2014

My family had 2 rooms at the top floor with an outstanding view of the bay. One night during a rainstorm the windows and shutters rattled quite loudly, but it was all in staying at an old inn. We had great service and a wonderful time in a beautiful old hotel.


Wonderful hospitality!

5 on June 04, 2014

We went to Castine to celebrate our one-year anniversary, and The Manor Inn was the perfect setting! Tom was so kind, and we enjoyed our stay very much. Can't wait to return!


Lovely Inn

2.8 on May 28, 2014

Service and owners were friendly and welcoming. Too early in season for the dining room.


lovely place to be

4.4 on May 20, 2014

Fantastic location and gorgeous view. The staff were great, the breakfast was wonderful. We intentionally chose one of the cheaper rooms.... very spacious, but the beds were uncomfortable.


Wonderful Stay

5 on May 17, 2014

Relaxed atmosphere with beautiful surroundings. Great place to stay, especially for the parents of Cadets parents studying at Maine Maritime Academy. Great hiking for nature lovers with paths that are cared for. Staff could not be friendlier. The Manor is a Great place to eat and the bar is perfect for a night cap. Thanks Tom and Nancy.


Life as it should be.

4.0 on May 08, 2014

Rustic, back woods, old Maine, down east.....

Innkeeper Response
Come back to visit again!


awesome place

4.2 on May 03, 2014

Great staff in a beautiful setting. Loved the history of the place

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your staying with us. Thank you for taking time to post a review.


The Manor Inn: A GREAT EXPERIENCE

4.4 on December 06, 2013

We spent 4 nights at The Manor Inn in lovely Castine Maine in late November 2013. The setting, food and service was great. Tom and Nancy, the owners, were a delight to work with. We would book there again and recommend The Manor Inn highly. Thanks Tom and Nancy for a great stay!


Comfortable and Cozy

3.6 on November 20, 2013

Charming, relaxing and comfortable stay. Dining options could have been better, but we recognize we went off season and do not consider that a fault. Overall, a great place to stay and would definitelygo again.


Beautiful inn.

4.2 on October 27, 2013

Loved the location and the manor was beautiful. My only fault with the inn was the grandfather clock that chimed on the hour waking me every hour. When I mentioned it in the morning, the inn keeper said, "oh, your one of those". But if you are not a light sleeper I would definitely recommend this place.


Peace and Quiet!!!

5 on September 15, 2013

What a treat!!! As you drive up the driveway to this beautiful manor that brings you back in time. Opening the door you are greeted by a grand stairway on the left and a massive fireplace to the right; the baby grand playing music from the past. Best part, no television, just the sound of the ocean, the best night of sleep we have had in a long time. All I can say is Castine was worth the visit and I would not stay any where else. Breakfast was wonderful, and the staff was from warm and friendly people. New friends we have met.


We wanted to stay longer

4.2 on August 26, 2013

..but it was sold out.After three nights we liked the Manor Inn and the little town of Castine even more.Main reasons: Wonderfull town, perfect to relax.


quaint & quiet

3.2 on August 26, 2013

room was nice view was wonderful interior of rooms need a little bit of repair breakfast was great probably would go back


Castine Paddling Base

5 on August 21, 2013

Great spot, wonderful people.


Reservations shuffle

3.4 on August 18, 2013

The Inn is a fabulous building, beautifully located and sited, with spacious, old-fashioned public areas including very comfortable bar and dining room. However, twice now they have played games with reservation, in this case changing the room held without telling us it was a change from two doubles to a single king. On top of that they insisted on a $20 charge for an extra cod. Completely unacceptable practice.


Blue Water White Birch Stoic Pine Lovely Manor Home

5 on August 09, 2013

We stayed here for a few days last summer have only dined here in our previous visits to the wonderful village of Castine. We were quite overwhelmed with the graciousness of The Manor Inn, finding it grand and sumptuous yet comfortable and quiet. Nancy and Tom, the innkeepers couldn't be more gracious and accommodating ensuring our every need was met. This year we only planned to stay a couple of nights and venture further downeast, but stayed the entire week. It's just too perfect here at The Manor Inn and a nice jumping off point for Day Trips to Schoodic Point, Bar Harbor or Acadia. But so nice to come back here.


Thank You

5 on July 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Castine and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


The Manor Inn #1 B&B

5 on July 11, 2013

I have stayed here before and will do so again on future visits to Castine.


Quaint, Beautiful, Friendly

4.4 on July 08, 2013

The Manor Inn is a gorgeous building in a more rustic, old time style. The free breakfast was GREAT, with options like pecan waffles and exotic omelettes. The rooms are big and at least average as far as comfort goes (depending on how soft you like your pillows and mattress). Not really cheap, but cheaper than everything else in the area without breaking the bank or sacrificing a wonderful atmosphere. And the proprietor is very friendly! A+, would recommend.


Wonderful stay, Wonderful Place

4.6 on July 08, 2013

I had a wonderful stay with family at this Inn. The owners were friendly and accomodating. There was a mixup with my reservation and they had reserved a different room for me that wasn't as nice as the one I had intended to reserve. The situation was fixed immediately and I was moved to a wonderful,large and charming room with nice views, beautiful bathroom and king sized canopy bed. (Room 7 if you're interested.) I had dinner there the first night and the food was outstanding. Really nice and varied menu. The free breakfast was a nice perk too. This is a charming inn and, unlike some inns or b&bs you still have plenty of privacy. I would highly recommend staying here if you're going to the Castine/Blue Hill/Deer Isle area.


Best food on our vacation

4.2 on June 10, 2013

We just completed a week's vacation in pre-season Maine, staying at 3 different coastal B&Bs. This was the best B&B we stayed at, by a long shot. First, the building itself is amazing -- a historical mansion with lots of character, charm, and space. Our party stayed in rooms 6 and 7 -- two of the biggest hotel rooms I've ever seen. The public rooms downstairs are equally lovely, especially the bar and library. If you've every wanted to step into Downton Abbey, this is your chance. The free breakfasts were the best we had -- not the over-blown concoctions served up by most B&Bs, which are usually too sweet or rich for breakfast. The Manor gave us several choices of good, solid breakfasts (usually including 1 over-blown choice for those who insist on elaboration over taste or nutrition.) All in all, an excellent choice.


Another fabulous weekend in Castine!

5 on May 27, 2013

Menu order breakfast included in the room is never a disappointment! Always fabulous!


MMA Aunt

4.6 on May 08, 2013

Charming bed and breakfast~ Lovely and pleasant people


Very Nice

3.2 on April 29, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Manor Inn while in Castine for a college visit. The Inn is very nice, the rooms large, the beds very comfy. I liked the fact that they Inn offers some rooms with twin beds, not jut full or queen-sized beds (a very smart move in a college town). Tom and Nancy were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was very yummy (have the blueberry pancakes if you have a chance!). We were there on a gloomy, rainy day/night, and given the fact that we were the only guests at the Inn, it was a little spooky...I hope our next visit to the Manor Inn will be on a bright, sunny day! I would definitely recommend the Inn to anyone up in the area.


weekend visit to castine

3.4 on April 25, 2013

We enjoyed the piece and quiet. People were friendly,staff was helpful and the food was great.. The view from our room was outstanding considering the cloudy weather. Will definitely stay again.


a step back in time

4.8 on December 15, 2012

we loved our stay here, especially the cozy tavern and the WONDERFUL food ! the hosts were delightful, and the atmosphere was just what we needed --tranquil and fun at the same time. we will return. also----they take pets and treat them like family members.


The Manor Inn

5 on November 29, 2012

The Inn is both grand and beautiful. In addition, it is on a rise that looks out on an expansive vista of water and islands. The room was spacious and the big bathroom had a separate tub as well as a walk in shower. Tom and Nancy were warm, fabulous hosts. The food was delicious and well presented. We were able to enjoy the quiet or join others in the intimate bar. There are woods to walk in nearby, and the town is interesting and picturesque. Would love to stay for a month!


Beautiful Inn

4.2 on November 01, 2012

I really enjoyed the Inn. Quiet and peaceful, amazining view from the dining area. The room was clean and comfortable. The only thing that could have been slightly better is the food, it could have had more flavor, I had a shrimp scampi that was bland...It was cooked fine just missing some flavor. I will stay at the Manor Inn again.


Manor Inn stay October 2012

4.8 on October 20, 2012

Great stay on a sunday night Friendly staff, great room with view of the harbor


Wonderful experience, Tom and Nancy were great hosts.

4.2 on October 07, 2012

Lovely, quiet Castine, away from the hubbub of Bar Harbor, but wonderful inn and town.


The Manor Inn - August 27-28 2012

4.0 on August 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at The Manor Inn while returning our son to the Maine Maritime Academy in Castine. We were very happy with the Inn and our room, very clean, impressive old architecture and furnishings. Largest room we've ever stayed in, good bathroom, very comfortable bed. Might consider slightly better lighting in room, we needed to remove a dark lampshade on a bedside lamp to read the paper in bed. Also be aware that there is no TV in the room. Finally, I wish ALL hotel and B&B rooms could install a few more power outlets to let you recharge phones and other portable devices. Great stay overall.


Stepping back in time

4.2 on August 29, 2012

Upon entering, I felt like I was stepping back in time. The architecture was stunning. The sitting areas, the card tables, the library, the piano playing in the corner, all made me feel like I was at a summer cottage of the wealthy in the early 1900s. I wanted a mint julep on the veranda! Our room had no TV, no phone, nothing electronic. No coffee pot, no ironing board. It was surprising and sooo relaxing. Wow... conversation and quiet reading. How lovely. My only complaint was the bathroom could have been upgraded and bigger. And we didn't get the room we had reserved. The breakfast the next morning was perfect and delicious. I will definitely go back for the calm, beautiful, "summer cottage" feel.


Gracious and historic Inn

4.2 on August 18, 2012

We had a peaceful visit to The Manor Inn. The grandeur and decor of the Inn brought us back to a quieter time and we were able to relax. The Castine area is quaint and steeped in history. We had a wonderful experience at ethe Inn and exploring the area.


A perfect experience

4.8 on August 12, 2012

This is the second time that we stayed at the Manor Inn. It is charming and welcoming. Everything about it was perfect. We will definitely return.


Authentic!

4.6 on August 11, 2012

I felt like I was in a time warp (in a good way). Totally taken back in time to a coastal town and removed from my busy day to day grind. Complimentary breakfast was excellent and service with a smile. I regret missing the dinner service. I will be sure to take part on my next visit.


A vacation fantasy

3.8 on August 07, 2012

The Manor Inn is such a charming place to stay in an equally charming town! It gave us a chance to revisit the grandure of yesteryear and put ourselves in the dream of wealthy summer guests.


classic maine comfort and beauty

5 on July 09, 2012

With so many new and spa-like hotels popping up along the maine coast, its A pleasure to deeply relax into the old comfort of the manor inn, just a short jaunt From the lighthouse or the town dock. Ovelooking the tops of pine trees to the blue waters below, the food is fantastic. The breakfasts delicious. And the bedrooms and bathrooms are large, spaious and elegant. Even as a first time visitor you feel as if You have been coming to the manor inn every summe since you were a kid. You are welcomed and left to enjoy the beauty of castine, the inn and all that the egion has to offer. I will go back every summer until someone buys it and sadly converts it to a private estate.


Outstanding Manor Inn

5 on June 13, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at The Manor Inn. The staff was amazing and the food was fabulous. Our room (Pine Tree) was large yet cozy - just the kind of room I want for my own room at home. The bathroom had radiant floor heating and was recently remodeled. A great stay; will definitely be back!


Outstanding location, rooms, views, service and food!

5 on May 18, 2012

Even if you do not stay at Theanof visit for the food and drinks. If you do stay take the time to walk the trails in the adjacent Witherlee Woods.


Majestic Maine Weekend

5 on May 01, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Manor Inn while we were in Maine to visit MMA. What a beautiful and friendly town. We loved the Manor Inn. It was warm and friendly and the rooms were quaint and well done. I will definitely stay there again. The view from our room was beautiful and the food was fabulous. If they have the scallops on the menu, you won't be disappointed. This was a weekend worth the 12 hour drive from DC.


Early Spring Stay

4.0 on April 23, 2012

Booked a room for our son's lacrosse game in town. Inn is very comfortable, the people are friendly and the breakfast is very good.


Would never stay again

1.2 on November 09, 2011

The service in the restaurant was the slowest in history- perhaps because one obviously overworked waitress was flying to try to take care of the full dining room while the Innkeepers hung at the bar chatting with a friend. Our bread arrived well after the appetizer-two tiny slices of store bought, poor quality, stale, french bread. In the middle of our meal, the Inn Keeper went into the kitchen and screamed and berated someone in the kitchen, using an unbelievable foul stream of language consisting of long runs of the F word. In the morning, breakfast had scant portions and mediocre quality. We went elsewhere for breakfast after that first day. We are not the fussiest travelers- we expect glitches and some issues with old buildings especially on the Atlantic coast where the weather can be harsh, But this place is NOT what it purports to be. At best, this place is shabby. Our room had an old stained carpet, couch with torn upholstery, broken side table, dirty drinking glasses, dust on all surfaces, dirty windows and dozens and dozens of flies! We did not see the flies until we closed the curtains to go to bed and then we spent 20 minutes killing flies. When we mentioned it to the Inn Keeper, he laughed and said that was a problem with several rooms! No offer to clean things up or compensate us for sharing our room with Vermin! the heater is in the bed area of the room and was the loudest thing on earth- my spouse can sleep through anything but even this heater awoke him. We kept it shut off at night (thankfully we had a down comforter) It overheated the bed area and there was NO heat in the bath!There were no amenities such as extra pillows, a water pitcher, extra blankets, tea or coffee in the common areas. The bed gave us both a backache. Moreover, our 3rd floor room only had one egress- no fire escape for us. We would have left had we been able to get a refund. And this was not inexpensive!


Manor Inn in October

5 on October 09, 2011

This B&B is beautiful and massive. If you need some peace and quiet, this is the place.


Classic B&B with great owners.

5 on September 25, 2011

This was a trip worth making. The Manor Inn was a perfect weekend getaway with a comfortable room, relaxing parlor, an excellent menu for dinner as well as hiking trails right out the back door. Breakfast is delicious and served in the main dining area with large windows that overlook Castine and brings in the morning sunshine and gets your day off to a great start.


A Peaceful Retreat

3.8 on September 07, 2011

Pleasant stay at the Manor. The yoga class we took with Nancy was outstanding and highly recommended for anyone who is interested. Breakfast every morning was delicious. Unfortunately, my husband and I didn't get a chance to have dinner there. Castine is a very beautiful low key kind of place. Great for relaxing and outdoor activities. Kayaking with Karen was wonderful. Karen is a very knowledgeable tour guide, who gave great instruction for kayaking on the Penobscot Bay. Highly recommend a stay of 3 days in Castine to reduce anyones stress level.


Romantic Maine Inn, wonderful food and friendly, if a little rough around the edges

4.2 on August 29, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Manor Inn immensely - we attended a friend's wedding and the catering hey provided was superb - from hors d'oeuvres through to the multiple desserts! The staff is very, very friendly and helpful. We liked the breakfast (granola with fruit in our case; our son had eggs) - not impressive, but very nice. The walk above the inn on trails was a real highlight - lots of wild blackberries and views. Our room was romantic and spacious, but the bathroom left a lot to be desired - sink didn't drain, shower was fine but have had much nicer in similar inns. But overall, a great experience, even considering those minor drawbacks.


Wonderful getaway

3.6 on August 29, 2011

My husband, my six year old son and me had two wonderfully relaxing days at the Manor Inn! Great room, beautiful view on lawns and Castine rooftops. The room had Victorian furnishing, but was not stuffy and dusty. The bathroomm was new and modern with a clawed bathtub and big shower. Landlord and landlady most friendly without being intrusive. Great breakfast in the spacious dining room with its big window front. Very homey. One had the impression of staying at friends' house. If we didn't live in Germany, we would surely come more often. Highly recommendable!! Too bad we didn't get the chance to have dinner here. It's supposed to be very good!


Great place to stay in lovely Castine!

4.0 on August 27, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay so much last year that we returned. The rooms in this beautiful home are spacious and comfortable, with views of the harbor, and it's a perfect base for exploring the entire area. The food was also very good. I'd definitely recommend The Manor Inn.


very disappointed

2.2 on August 25, 2011

We had the most expensive room at the inn. There was a set of stairs behind our bed and it sounded like a freight train when people went up the stairs. For 3 of our 4 nights, a guest let their dogs bark loudly between 10:30-11:30 pm. That was totally unexcusable. The only time in our entire visit that anyone that worked there asked if our stay was ok, was when we checked out. That is such a far cry from all the other B&B's I have stayed at--where the innkeepers and employees are super friendly and helpful.


Great stay at the Manor!

5 on August 25, 2011

My 2 daughters and I stayed just one night but it was wonderful! The room was beautifully decorated and the beds so comfortable. The windows opened and there was a fan so the temperature was perfect. Very clean. We wish we could have stayed a couple more nights! Breakfast was really good. There were several choices for us to choose from and we tried different things and shared and all of it was tasty! I would definitely stay at the Manor again.


What a neat place....

4.8 on August 24, 2011

What a down to earth place, the setting, the people, just everything. It was truly an outstanding experience.


Great Location & Value, Sweet Yoga Practice Space

4.0 on August 17, 2011

After driving 5 hours from Boston, I so appreciated the Manor Inn having a beautiful yoga space in which to practice. Thomas warmly greeted us arriving on a late Friday night. Full hot breakfast in the mornings with unlimited coffee included in the room price makes this a super great value! Blue Hill and other spots are a short drive on the fun twisty country roads.


Quaint and delightful

4.6 on August 14, 2011

The Manor Inn was charming in and of itself. But what really sets it apart is the hospitality of the staff and the skill of the chefs. The management is accommodating, kind, and approachable. The food, both the included breakfast, and the optional dinner were absolutely outstanding. Rotating regularly, the meals are fresh, tasty and an absolute pleasure.


Three days in Castine

2.8 on August 11, 2011

Not a luxurious inn but a true rural Maine experience. Quality of the rooms varies widely. Innkeepers were helpful. Close enough to Acadia National Park that we went there each day we stayed in Castine which is much calmer and more of a true Maine town than Bar Harbor. The physical plant needs updating though, especially some of the bathrooms.


The Manor Inn, Castine, ME

1.8 on August 08, 2011

This review is in regards to The Manor Inn. Although the bed and bathroom were fine, this B and B is disappointing. We were on the 3rd floor and the cost of the room is considerably overpriced for the room. The furnishings are not good, the carpeting needs replacing, the a/c could not be regulated. (you could see that the cover was off a/c on the outside of the building - maybe they were working on it, but not able to be regulated by guests in the room.) The breakfast was disappointing. We were there before 9 am and were told (after ordering) that we could only have 1 of us select oatmeal - they were out. Since breakfast is until 10 am, and oatmeal is a staple, this is unsatisfactory. Where guests park, you have to walk by trash area at back of B and B. It is not covered up and so very visible to guests - could be easily covered from sight with a blinder fence.


The Manor Inn - Castine, Maine

5 on July 15, 2011

Once again our stay at The Manor was pleasant and enjoyable. Nancy, Tom and the entire staff are wonderful host and very helpful.


Great stay at the Manor

5 on March 16, 2011

I thought the staff was wonderful and the room and dining were outstanding. I will definetly stay here again.


Love this Inn :)

4.8 on February 23, 2011

We had an amazing time, the innkeepers are very sweet, hospitable people. :)


The Manor in November

3.8 on November 18, 2010

Even in November the view was beautiful. The service was great and we were made to feel at home. Breakfast was wonderful but we didn't have the time to have dinner as we were visiting our sons home. Best of all was the bed, so very comfortable. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much.


The Manor Inn

5 on November 03, 2010

We had a quick and brief one-night stay in Castine at the Manor Inn and we couldn't be more pleased. Both supper and breakfast were delicious, the house is in great shape, and the proprietors are friendly hosts.


Larry

4.4 on September 18, 2010

The view was great, even with the machinery out front. In addition thank you for working with us on our late arrival. Larry James


The Manor Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $295
  • Reviews (70) 4.2
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2073264861
  • Fax 1-2073260891
  • Toll free 1-8004647559

Visit Website »

View details

Top