Hawthorn Inn Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful get-away

5 on October 08, 2014

Had a great time at this quaint, friendly B&B. Terrific gormet breakfast. Relaxing feeling throughout. Mike & Mala


Great Stay at Hawthorn Inn

5 on July 28, 2014

We were very happy with our recent stay at the Hawthorn Inn. Ted and Lisa were excellent hosts and the Inn was clean and well kept up. The location was ideal and the breakfasts were delicious. Very happy.


My Maine home away from home but even better....

5 on August 18, 2013

The Hawthorn Inn has become my Maine home away from home when I come to Maine to take the incredible weekend woodworking classes at Lie-Nielsen Toolworks in nearby Warren. Now, I can’t imagine staying anywhere but the Hawthorn inn. The lovely old house quietly tells its history, the rooms are lovingly appointed with guests’ comfort in mind, and the back garden is simply glorious. Innkeeper Maryanne Shanahan offers a warm and charming welcome, along with knowledgeable and spirited advice about the area. Do you want an extraordinary “French-New England fusion” meal? She knows just the enchanting restaurant. Do you need a lovely walk with which to end the day? She quickly produces a map and draws the route of the three-mile “Camden Loop” for you – and no walk could better feed the spirit and refresh the body. Do you have a special request? She will find a way to grant it. Maryanne and her husband Bill are sophisticated and engaging conversationalists, interested in everything…or just as subtly and considerately ready to recognize when you want peace and quiet. Wait a moment: I said the Hawthorn Inn was my home away from home, but I have to take that back – the breakfasts at Hawthorn Inn are vastly beyond what I ever provide myself at home! Maryanne presents beautiful, fresh, seasonal, healthy, and utterly imaginative breakfasts that are like a still life in the beauty of their presentation, and taste even better than they look. Breakfast at the Hawthorn Inn is a restorative, sustaining pleasure to be savored every morning. My first stay at the Hawthorn Inn convinced me I’d have to return. Now I can’t imagine being in Maine without staying there. May Maryanne and Bill go on welcoming all their grateful guests for many years to come!


a gorgeous and friendly Maine retreat!

5 on June 03, 2013

We were so impressed by the beautiful, spacious rooms, and the friendly , inviting atmosphere set by Maryann and Bill, the innkeepers. The breakfast is an amazing part of the experience. The location is also fabulous, close to some great day hikes and a beautiful coastline. Perfect for a couple looking for a seaside escape!


a return visit

5 on May 10, 2013

and why not?? everything about the Hawthorn Inn calls for a return visit. Having been a guest there several times prior to this trip, it felt like coming home again to a lovely family home, which it is! I met with friends there to celebrate a BIg-0 birthday together (I won't say which one!), and the whole mood of the house was celebratory and special. Luxurious beds, pillows, linens, sweet touches like flowers in each room, gardens just waiting to burst into bloom,sumptuous breakfasts, all was perfection. Many thanks to Maryanne and Bill for providing the perfect getaway once again.


The best of B&Bs

5 on March 11, 2013

I wish I could give them more stars...this was the best b&b experience I have had. Wonderful room, breakfast and company - both the other guests and the terrific hosts. Maryanne and Bill were helpful, welcoming and the kind of people you want to make your friends. Because of a snowstorm in Boston our arrangements were confused and Maryanne had not expected us the day we arrived. She welcomed us graciously and upgraded our room and we stayed in the carriage house in a lovely room with a gas fireplace, balcony and jacuzzi. It was beautifully appointed, clean, comfortable and had a lovely view of the harbor (and in the summer the view includes the garden). The breakfasts were imaginative and delicious. Maryanne gave us suggestions about a trip north to look at the views and gave us a map so we wouldn’t get lost. She would have gladly made restaurant reservations for us if we had wished it. When we raved about the wild Maine blueberries she offered to sell us a box from the batch she had frozen. We will think of her, Bill and our lovely stay with every bite. My husband has requested that I make him a Maine blueberry pie for his birthday. Thank you Maryanne and Bill for making our brief stay so enjoyable and memorable. We stayed in the Brougham room - it was quiet, away from street noise (although it is hard to imagine there would be much noise). The rooms were well-insulated and we never heard our neighbors - in fact we were surprised we had neighbors.


5 Stars isn't enough, this was outstanding

5 on August 14, 2012

There are many things you wish for in a bed and breakfast you dont't get. It's a personal experience that should feel like home, but with strangers around--YET--my recent experience at the Hawthorne in Camden was the BEST yet, and my wife and I travel frequently. You can eat more lobster because the breakfasts are healthy, fresh, and very tasty (good for all palates and if you don't want what's offered there's a second amazing option--for those gluten free, can't eat greens, etc). You can walk into town and figure your own way, OR you can ask Maryanne and Bill and they will have the best suggestion 100% of the time. Like you're a local, just with a camera. The rooms are clean, spacious and nice--the staff is friendly as can be--and I guarantee you this will be above par with what you've stayed in so far, and is the best in the area. As for Camden--go, just go. Perfect town with amazing food, great hikes and scenery, good water and land activities, and also a nice place to just rest. There are tourists, but they all came for the same reason, to get away, but not be so away you can't enjoy yourself.


The best Bed & Breakfast experience!

5 on March 11, 2012

Let me start by saying that I have never written an accommodations review before. However, my experiences with the Hawthorn Inn have been so exceptional that I find myself compelled to do so now. Last week my wife and I were married. We planned on having a short honeymoon in Camden at the Hawthorn Inn as we had stayed there twice before in the past for "get away" weekends and we had always enjoyed it. We stayed in a beautiful room in the carriage house that has it all: gas fired fireplace, oversize Jacuzzi, sitting area and two French doors onto a balcony overlooking a wooded stream running down to the harbor which can be seen through the trees. Peaceful is the operative word here. In the mornings, the proprietors, Maryanne and her husband Bill provide what I can only describe as a gourmet breakfast; fresh fruit and yogurt parfaits along with individually prepared Fritatas, for example. This served in their sunny breakfast nook. An excellent start to a day! I just can't say enough about this place. The inn itself is beautiful, the accommodations outstanding and Maryanne and Bill are warm and welcoming. We had a honeymoon that could not have been better; the third time for us staying at the Hawthorn Inn, and we will be back for more!


The perfect wedding

5 on October 15, 2011

We chose the Hawthorn Inn to host our wedding ceremony and reception, and could not have picked a better venue. Our closest family and friends all stayed at the inn with us for the weekend, and we were all welcomed and attended to with personal care throughout the weekend. The service was exceptional, and included a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. The rooms were charming and comfortable, and we loved being able to walk down to the harbor and into town each day. The wedding ceremony and reception were perfect. Every detail was taken care of, and as the bride, I did not have to worry about one thing the entire weekend. Maryanne and staff took care of everything behind the scenes, making for the happiest and most relaxing wedding I could have hoped for. The venue itself was beautiful, the catering phenomenal and the wedding details - flowers, place settings, etc. - were attended to personally and with much care. The event was both intimate and elegant. The Hawthorn Inn was a perfect choice for the small intimate wedding we wanted, and we could not have asked for a better experience. Many of our guests have already expressed a desire to return to the inn, and we are hoping to return on our anniversary.


elegant and yet comfortable

5 on May 14, 2011

I spent 2 nights at the inn, connecting with college friends, and immediately felt at home. My room was lovely, and even had a view of the harbor. There were ample spaces for gathering and relaxing both inside the inn, and outside on the pretty grounds. I will gladly recommend this inn to friends.


This Inn is perfect in every way: comfort, charm, welcome.

5 on May 11, 2011

The 3-day stay was a revisit to this elegant setting, once again enjoying the Innkeeper's amazing hospitality and attention to detail. The Inn overlooks Camden harbor and its east facing windows flood the dining room with light in the morning as we enjoyed a beautifully presented and delicious breakfast each day. The rooms are wonderfully appointed in perfect keeping with the age of the Inn and the whaling history of its original owners. Its setting in this lovely town allows great shopping and easy access to cultural amenities close by. I would recommend this Inn as a retreat as well as a wonderful way to experience mid-coast Maine, helped by a knowledgeable innkeeper who stays abreast of all that is happening nearby and provides coupons and entry tickets to many attractions.


Wedding at the Hawthorn

5 on October 03, 2010

Our recent visit to the Hawthorn in August 2010 proved exceptional! We were married at the Hawthorn in a small ceremony in the back yard of this beautiful inn. Because we were out of state, we depended heavily on Maryanne's recommendations and assistance in arranging the details. She helped to make this special day absolutely perfect! We stayed in the Norfolk room and it was fabulous....spotlessly clean, beautiful well-lit bathroom, and a deck overlooking the backyard garden. By far the nicest room we have ever stayed in! The Hawthorn is worth a visit and does not disappoint!


A treasure in Camden

5 on September 07, 2010

Maryanne Shanahan's Hawthorn Inn is an oasis--extremely well run, with careful attention to every detail but also with great warmth. The building and grounds are beautiful, the breakfast scrumptious, and the innkeeper knowledgeable and attentive. We were delighted with this special place.


Welcoming, Relaxing, Beautiful

4.8 on October 06, 2009

I had no idea what to expect as our children made plans to make a B&B home base for their wedding. The experience was so wonderful. Maryanne and the crew were an excellent support for all of us. She knew what we needed before we did...and had planned for it; like ironing our clothes, and serving snacks! The grounds allows for private conversations and the rooms are set up to allow for privacy for families who are traveling with multiple generations. The gardens and natural foliage felt so peaceful. Thanks for everything.


Wonderful wedding experience

5 on September 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hawthorn with 15 others (our friends and family) for our wedding. We live in Southern California and wanted to have a small wedding in Camden. We read reviews at home before visiting Camden and were eager to meet Maryanne. After checking out 10 or so Inns, there was no question about where to stay. The Hawthorn Inn is beautiful inside and out, and the location is great. Maryanne the Innkeeper stood out above all the rest we met. We had complete confidence in her that our guests would be happy and that the wedding would be a success. We were not let down. The staff was friendly, thoughtful, and polite. Maryanne and the Hawthorn give Camden a good name. For anybody looking for a place to feel comfortable and to be taken care of, the Hawthorn is where its at. I only have good things to say. I cannot do justice to our experience in this little review, its best to just see for yourself.


A great B&B in a wonderful village

4.4 on October 15, 2008

Maryanne is a delightful hostess and runs a very professional and pleasant B&B. I would definitely refer friends/family to The Hawthorn Inn!


Attention to Detail in Decor and Guests' Needs

4.8 on July 24, 2008

The Hawthorn Inn offers the perfect balance of comfort and elegance in a bed and breakfast. Attention to detail in decor and guests' needs is in abundance. My husband and I had the pleasure of spending a long weekend there recently with Innkeeper Maryanne Shanahan, her husband Bill and friendly, thought-provoking fellow guests. Our innkeeper makes it a priority to ensure that those who stay with her enjoy the very best of Camden's offerings. Maryanne proved invaluable in recommending places to in which to dine or ships in which to sail for sightseeing around the lovely town. Still, I doubt that any of the local restaurateurs could match Maryanne's talent in serving beautiful, taste sensations for daily breakfast. The weather even permitted us to enjoy two of those scrumptious morning meals on one of the several decks -- masterfully built by Bill -- that overlook the Hawthorn Inn's considerable rear gardens. My spouse and I look forward to returning to the Hawthorn Inn, which pretty much says it all...


Old New England Charm

4.4 on June 11, 2008

Maryanne is a wonderful host and amazing cook. The organic and all homemade breakfast of two courses made your mouth water. Less than a 5 minute walk to the harbor and the quaint downtown make it ideal.


beautiful

4.6 on June 09, 2008

friendly- great breakfast- beautiful rooms


Hawthorn Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $295
  • Reviews (19) 4.9
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2072368842
  • Toll free 1-8663813647

Visit Website »

View details

Top