Chapman Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
48 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful French Toast

3.4 on August 04, 2013

The French Toast is wonderful. Room 2 for 4 adults is very very comfortable.


Great Stay!

5 on February 24, 2013

My family and I stayed ay the Chapman Inn for four nights. We have three kids and found the hosts to be wonderful with us, and their Grandchild was visiting at the time it worked out wonderfully. The room was beyond adequacy for a family our size and plenty of a great breakfast to head out to the mountain on. We will definitely be returning to stay again for another ski trip this winter. Overall it was a great experience we are recomending our friends to stay there this upcoming weekend.


Perfection

5 on February 06, 2013

We were married at this beautiful B&B in Feb. of 2010. Sandy and Fred were amazing from start to finish! Our wedding was perfect in every way, we wouldn't change a thing! Mike was wonderful as well! We look forward to stopping in every chance we can.


Unfortunate stay

3.2 on October 15, 2012

We unfortunately did not get a real good night's sleep. We had to deal with some other guests that were quite loud and stayed up too late right outside our room. My wife was woken a couple times through the night by other noises as well unti I drowned them out by turning on the AC. You just never know who else will be staying at the same time as you. The room was adequate though. It had a nice flat screen TV, however the bathroom was a bit small. We did find a very nice place to eat nearby, the Sunday River Brewing Co. and that was one of the best stops on our trip.


A great place to stay

3.8 on November 11, 2011

I stayed at this Inn as a solo female traveller, Fred was very welcoming and helpful and he recommended a great place for dinner that was within walking distance. The breakfast really was fantastic as promised.


fall stay from Holland

5 on October 22, 2011

we had a very pleasant time in The Chapman Inn, where we stayed in this huge lovely decorated room. Thanks to the keeper we learned a lot about American taxes. Greetings Maike and Wouter from Holland


Lovely Chapman Inn

4.0 on October 17, 2011

Fall foliage Beautiful village Old Historic Inn Delicious breakfast


Chapman Inn - Bethel VT - great place!

5 on October 12, 2011

Our first time in a B&B - couldn't be happier- Hosts were wonderful - room spotless and quiet and comfortable and breakfast was amazing - Best French Toast ever!!


A warm welcome in Bethel

3.8 on October 10, 2011

With clean and comfortable accommodation, excellent breakfasts and exceptionally helpful and friendly hosts we could not have selected a better place to stay in Bethel.


Bethel Chapman Inn - A nice stop

4.0 on October 09, 2011

We enjoyed our short stay (one night) at Chapman Inn very much. Nice and clean room. Breakfast was outsstanding, in particular the fluffy omelette prepared with much attention by the attentive tenant. Dinnner at Milton, in the village, was quite good also.


So very comfortable--and great food

3.6 on October 05, 2011

A comfortable New England inn set in a lovely New England town. The morning breakfast was excellent, especially the french toast and blueberry muffins. Recommended.


Great Stay

4.6 on September 24, 2011

We were made to feel very welcome and the breakfasts were fantastic, all cooked to order. Room very comfortable - great value for money


Wonderful B&B

4.6 on September 13, 2011

We couldn't have expected more. And the full breakfast may be the best in Maine!


Great place to stay

4.4 on September 08, 2011

Second time staying there. Beds are comfy. Always quiet. Breakfast is awesome. Friendly owners.


Good Choice

4.0 on August 31, 2011

Clean rooms, great breakfast, hospitable hosts


Motorcyclists from New Brunswick

3.8 on August 29, 2011

Stayed for 1 night. The Inn is centrally located making access to dinning and other amenities within short walking distance. We would stay again and would recommend it to others as a good value and nice place to stay.


Chapman Inn review

5 on August 28, 2011

We had a delightful visit to the Chapman Inn. The room was neat and tidy and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Innkeepers were friendly, helpful but not too nosy! The only improvement I would recommend is to spend a bit more time on the outside landscaping for the property. The inside of the house was very well maintained but the yard could be wonderful with a bit of inexpensive landscaping. However, I would visit again just for the relaxation and breakfast!


Need extra chair for sitting ......Room

4.0 on August 24, 2011

Its friendly service ...Its great for Breakfast...like an old days !!!


recommended

4.0 on August 21, 2011

nice place, friendly, convenient, helpful owners, great breakfast


my review

3.8 on August 20, 2011

The inn was very quiet. The breakfasts were extensive; both cold and hot food available. Fresh cut fruit a plus. The only problem I had was the shower; it was hard to adjust the temperature without the spray hitting me in the face and getting onto the bathroom floor. The room was small, but that's okay. Central location, right in town.


Stay at Chapman Inn

4.0 on August 20, 2011

Lamp to right of bed did not work. Also, we suggest installing room-darkening shades on windows.


Excellent half way point!

4.2 on August 11, 2011

I rode my motorcycle from Ottawa to Nova Scotia, stopping here on the first evening...breakfast was awesome and there were some nice places to dine in the historic village...


Family one-night-stay

4.2 on August 04, 2011

Stayed one night in the third floor rooms, great for our family, had own privacy. shower/toilet smallish but working. Atmosphere excellent, breakfast delicious!


New England Road Trip

4.0 on August 04, 2011

My wife and I rode around New England for 12 days this summer and stopped at the Chapman Inn for 1 night. The accommodation, breakfasts, location and attention given to us were first class, I would recommend this to anyone and would definitely stay again.


Home Away from Home

5 on July 20, 2011

We're not b&b people normally, but the on-line photo of the Chapman Inn was so charming that we decided to take a gamble and book 3 nights there in mid-July. We wanted to be right on the common for Molly Ockett Day, a celebration of the life of an 18th century Abenaki healer. We had a delightful time, enjoying the warmth of our hosts and the laid-back atmosphere. If you're looking for glitz, you won't find it. But you will find complete tranquility.


Late arrival

4.0 on July 15, 2011

The Inn was about as expected. The bed too soft and the "insuite" bath was a converted stair landing that included an opaque glass to the INSIDE


Full of Character

4.4 on July 04, 2011

Both the building and our host and hostess are full of character, and our much travelled host has a wonderfully dry sense of humour. Don't expect large rooms in such a building, or even the ghost of a cat walking through the wall but you can expect your stay to be enjoyable and interesting. Malcolm B. Bath U.K.


Great value in the Bethel area

4.4 on July 02, 2011

Very comfortable and clean room representing a good value on the Bethel, Me area. Not glitzy but solid venue for the money. Great breakfast with good service.


Recommended!

4.0 on June 15, 2011

Great breakfast, nice room, beautifully decorated house. Very hospital keeper.


it was ok

3.4 on June 01, 2011

When we came upon the inn we did not see what the picture was showing and we were really worried about our stay...but it was clean, Fred was friendly, breakfast was great.


Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful!

4.6 on April 06, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Chapman Inn and it was hands down the best experience either of us has ever had! Neither of us had ever stayed in a B&B, and if every B&B is like the Chapman Inn we are going to start. The accomodations were great, and the breakfast the next day was delicious! I am already planning on booking a stay for my parents' birthdays.


Great Place

4.6 on March 20, 2011

This is a great place to stay for quick midweek ski trip to Sunday River. The price and the location were perfect. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic-the best French Toast I've ever had.


Enjoyed our stay

4.0 on March 13, 2011

We had 2 kids and loved the fact that the room we booked had 2 twin beds and a queen for us! Fred and Sandra were both very friendly and we would stay here again when in the area!


Always a wonderful experience

4.4 on February 14, 2011

If you are looking for new and sparkling, this is not for you. If you want historic, homey, and unique, you will not be disapointed. The floors are crooked, the doorways narrow and the history rich. The innkeepers are welcoming and friendly and the price is affordable and includes a great breakfast!


Perfect old fashion ski resort

4.6 on January 23, 2011

For a quiet get-away in Northern Maine there isn't a better place to stay.


Great cozy inn

4.6 on January 20, 2011

The Chapman Inn is a classic bed and breakfast. Friendly, funny innkeepers, phenomenal breakfast, fireplace in the living room, television and board games. A great value. The room we stayed in was large enough to hold a double and a single bed, and was furnished with antiques, quilts and lace and was impeccably clean. This is not a fancy inn, the bathroom was not updated (you pull on a chain to turn on the light), the towels and the walls are thin, etc. but you can tell the owners put a lot of heart into the place and it was a pleasure to stay there. And the breakfast really is outstanding -- homemade pastries and muffins that are really homemade (nothing like waking up to the smell of someone cooking you breakfast), eggs any way you like them, "the world's best French toast" that just may be what it claims to be ... can't say enough good things about the Chapman Inn!


Hospitality and flexibility abound at the Chapman Inn

4.6 on January 18, 2011

Upon calling the Chapman Inn late one Friday afternoon for a spontaneous weekend getaway, I was worried that my ~4am arrival time (after a long drive from NYC) would be out of the question. I was wrong, and upon my arrival, found my key and a personalized note from Fred letting me know where I should go. After checking in and settling down, my partner and I decided to stay up for breakfast, and we were glad we had after tasting Fred's homemade blueberry muffins, omelet, bacon, and eggs. Fellow travelers were in good spirits and the easy-going mood was complemented by very well-appointed common areas, which included treasures from around the world (a papyrus painting from Egypt, a yak bell from Nepal, etc.). Our three-day-weekend stay was very extremely comfortable, and Fred and Sandra were lovely to us both, as was their majestic dog (whose name I unfortunately didn't catch). I'm certain that I'll wind up back at the Chapman Inn during future visits to Bethel, provided their world famous breakfast doesn't book them solid in the winter months!


What I expected

3.4 on January 18, 2011

The room was exactly what I expected. It was clean but looks like you would expect from a building this old. The breakfast was good and the innkeepers were extremely pleasant and helpful.


Great place!

4.8 on January 12, 2011

This place is fantastic! Super easy to find. Cozy, warm rooms. Reasonable rates- start at $99 a night in January with lots of options (family rooms, budget group lodging). An insanely delicious free breakfast all cooked from scratch by one of the owners. An adorable dog. All dog friendly rooms ($10 extra a night). There is hot water for tea and coffee always waiting downstairs. Lots of info on all local restaurants/things to do. Very close to both Sunday River and Mt. Abram. Hosts are just the right amount of friendly without being too in your face. Welcoming den with roaring fire and comfy furniture. I don't know what they could do better!... except maybe a hot tub


Great INN

4.0 on January 03, 2011

My husband and I stayed here two nights. It was very clean and friendly. Breakfast was great. Fred who also was responsibe for the great breakfast also has a great sense of humor. I think Fred and Sandra are doing a great job and I would highly recomend staying her. Thanks Karen and Jay


A bit run down

4.0 on December 24, 2010

Website better than the INN - Had to go through bathroom to get to bedroom -Felt like I was in a firetrap-Bathroom dirty with mold around shower-Romm had tacky old and smelly furniture-not charming-bed was lumpy-Wall paper was peeling-lighting in room very dim - No sense of security as locks were just a skeleton key that could easily be pushed through-felt isolated from rest of building-breakfast was good except aas it was being prepared we overheard Fred talking to a doctor saying he still had a 103 fever and was coughing-and he was preparing the food-


Great place for price

4.4 on December 08, 2010

Spend two nights here and was amazed by the hospitality, breakfast, lodging, and the overall cleanliness of the Inn. Had an unbelievable choice of breakfast both mornings and the food was great. Thank you Fred and Sandra! Enjoyed my stay and will definitely stop in again on my next weekend getaway.


Entertaining Innkeeper

3.8 on October 27, 2010

Central location. Wonderful breakfast. Excellent start to the day. J and T from England


Very friendly and comfortable accomodation

4.0 on October 25, 2010

Well kept historic inn with nice antiquities in the rooms. Comfortable bed and new renovated bath. Very friendly welcome and tasteful rich breakfast with homemade bakery. Good suggestions for hikes in the surrounding area.


acceptable but not special

2.6 on September 24, 2010

very small bathroom, carpet in bathroom not clean. website looks better than reality.


Fred made our stay

4.2 on September 04, 2010

This Inn was great, but the food made by Fred really made our stay. It was amazing, definitely worth stopping in!


Best breakfast ever!

4.2 on November 21, 2008

By coincidence we landed in Bethel on our New England tour and just by chance stopped at the Chapman Inn - what a great b&b experience we had! We first thought innkeeper Fred somewhat boasted about the "world famous breakfast" - until the next morning when we were offered a choice of cheese omelette with caramelized onions and fried potatoes, gigantic blueberry pancakes and eggs any style plus a buffet with homemade bread, muffins, assorted fruits and cereal. It was the best breakfast on our whole trip and itself worth the stay! Don't expect too posh a room, they are old-fashioned, yet clean and comfy. Ask for an upstairs room as the wooden floors are pretty groaning. The hosts Fred and Sandra were always available for every need we had including using their washing machine and tumbler. Loved it!


The experience we were looking for!!

5 on August 22, 2007

We loved the adventure of a last minute short vacation to Maine. An even bigger delilght was our last minute decision to book a couple of nights at Chapman Inn.What a surprise when due to a resveration glitch we were upgraded to their finest suite. Sandy was so helpful in our moose search driving tour and the breakfast each morning was the best B&B breakfast ever. If to your liking Molly their cat will adopt you for the evening.


Chapman Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $159
  • Reviews (48) 4.2
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2078242657
  • Fax 1-2078247152

Visit Website »

View details

Top