Holland Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Truely One of the Best B and B in Bar Harbor

5 on September 12, 2013

We stayed there for 8 glorious nights in August. The Holland Inn has one of the best locations in Bar harbor. It is off the beaten track, but close enough to everything by car or foot. Our room was perfect. We had stayed in the main house, where we just walked down one flight of stairs every morning to have a complete, well balanced breakfast every day. It was like we were at home. Evin, the innkeeper always made the most wonderful breakfast meals ever. She is also extremely knowledgeable about the entire Mount Desert Island, not just Bar Harbor. She could just about plan your entire day for you. Evin always has the correct and proper answer to any question that you could pose to her. She is a great treasure to have around the Inn. When we come to Bar Harbor, we will always stay at the Holland Inn. I must add this little FYI. There is only one B and B that serves dinner, it is right down Cottage Street. I have to mention this 'cause "The Black Friar Inn" had one of the best dinners of our 8 night stay. Well worth it!


Great Place

5 on October 14, 2012

We loved the holland inn. It was super clean and the inn keeper is very friendly. Very close to town, we walked everywhere the whole time we stayed. Great breakfast.


First Time B & B

4.8 on October 04, 2012

itOur first experience at a Bed and Breakfast. This location is great if you are staying in Bar Harbor. We drove in and never drove again. However, there was rain so we were staying close to town but the inn is a short drive to the Acadia National Park, etc. I don't think you can get any closer to the park. Evin, the innkeeper was very sweet and helpful with tips from restaurants to things to do in the area. Take her restaurant advice, I had the best meal of our vacation and probably this decade at Cafe This Way, Evin's tip. I would suggest requesting an upstairs room. You do hear the people walking above you, it is a house. The room was spacious and comfortable. The pillows need some improvement. The temperature is shared within the house. We were there for 2 days, both breakfasts were delicious! Even my picky husband enjoyed the breakfasts. We will definitely stay there again when we go back to Bar Harbor. Since the weather was terrible, we didn't get our lighthouse picture so we'll have to go back.


The Best B&B in Bar Harbor

5 on August 16, 2012

We just returned from staying at the Holland Inn for the sixth summer in a row. This time we were there for 10 days. This is just a fantastic place to stay. It’s hard to imagine that you could find a better place in Bar Harbor, or even an equal place. This Inn has an excellent location, comfortable rooms and totally amazing breakfasts. We can’t say enough about Evin, who is owner, innkeeper and chef extraordinaire. She is an expert on Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park and the rest of the local area. She is friendly and personable in a warm and genuine way. She is there to answer questions and provide information if you want it, and she knows when to back off and not be over-bearing. In other words, she is the perfect innkeeper. And, her cooking skills are without parallel. She prepares a different gourmet breakfast every morning, all of which are beautiful to look at and delicious to eat. She will also cater to special dietary considerations. This inn has many things that are not available in most B&B’s, for instance king beds, larger rooms with sitting areas, in-room refrigerators and microwaves, TVs, DVD players, tables for two people in the breakfast room, and AC. If any of these items are important to you, or if the lack of any of these items has kept you from staying in a B&B in the past, you should definitely check out the Holland Inn. It is a wonderful place and we look forward to returning next summer and for many years to come.


Nice Place, great location

4.0 on August 07, 2012

Great location within walking distance of almost everything in Bar Harbor. Innkeeper was knowledgeable and helpful, if a bit eccentric. Excellent, eclectic breakfasts. Room cute but cramped - no room for bags, computer, even to move around.


Had a Great Time!

4.6 on August 04, 2012

Where to start... Evin was very helpful and friendly with an extensive knowledge base for all events, places to see, and places to eat! If you need something to enhance your stay, just ask Evin. Thanks!


Homey and just right with an exquisite breakfast

4.4 on May 29, 2012

Holland Inn offers the simple comfort of a meticulously restored farmhouse and the anticipated pleasure of a beyond-par breakfast. As a vegan, I was delighted each morning by Evin's effortless ingenuity: blueberry french toast; broiled grapefruit with port wine and orange zest; lemon and raisin pancakes; quinoa with mixed nuts and fruits. I felt right at home and didn't want to leave. Evin, thank you for your generous and straight-forward service. Everything is in its place and laid out just right (even a large guest refrigerator in the mudroom). And the way you take time to share your up-to-date and intimate local knowledge of places and activities provides a custom experience for each of your guests.


a very nice place to stay

4.8 on May 22, 2012

Having never visited Bar Harbor or Acadia before, my wife and I were lucky to find the Holland Inn. It is not as "fancy" looking as some places but is great. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and nice. The food is very good to excellent (_much_ better than most b &b's, including much more expensive ones), the locations is great both for Acadia park and for Bar Harbor (very convenient for both, but not in the middle of things), and Evin, the inn keeper, is very friendly and has lots of knowledge about the park and the general area. She can give very good advice on activities and has lots of information to share. The Holland Inn is a good value, too. The only drawback was that the rooms were not quite as quiet as I might like- not bad at all (better than my apartment!) but not excellent, either. Still, over all this is a great place and well worth a visit.


Definitely a wonderful stay

5 on July 24, 2011

Our stay at the Holland Inn just made the visit to Maine even better. It is situated just a few blocks from the downtown area but still a peaceful retreat and we loved the simple decor. My boyfriend and I both enjoy staying busy, but couldn't help take a morning to relax and enjoy our private porch and view of the garden. Evin obviously takes great pride in her Inn. Her gardens are beautiful, the Inn is exceptionally clean, and her daily breakfasts were something to look forward to. Evin took time each morning to ask what our plans were for the day and provided us with her abundance of knowledge of Bar Harbor and the surrounding area. We would definitely return and have convinced friends to stay here as well!


Great location, excellent breakfast

5 on June 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and the wonderful breakfasts in the sunny front room. Bar Harbour if full of B&B's, but we were happy with our choice and the price. Evin is great about giving advice and suggestions. Staying at Holland Inn was the highlight of our trip.


Great rooms, great food.

4.0 on November 28, 2010

The room was large, but cozy, the breakfasts were really great, but the access for the disabled was difficult for me. I still enjoyed my stay however.


The best!

5 on October 20, 2010

Great place to stay in Bar harbor. Excellent service, breakfast, atmosphere. Very comfortable. Close to everything. Evin, the innkeeper and chef extraordinaire, went out of her way to make us feel at home.


comfortable and very reasonable

4.8 on May 04, 2010

Very nice property conviniently located in the town of Bar Harbor. Walking distance to lots of restaurants, bars and shops. The rooms are tastfully decorated, clean and have comfortable beds. The cost is more reasonable than most of the motels around here. This place is a winner. I will be back!


Incredible Inn, Incredible Innkeeper!

5 on September 26, 2009

Evin makes all of her guests feel welcome and at home. She is so pleasant to converse with, and so knowledgeable of the wonders that surround her in and near Bar Harbor. She’s the ultimate tour advisor with lots of maps and guide books to make your vacation the best that it can be. Besides being an incredible host, she creates breakfasts that should win awards! You too will feel compelled to purchase her cookbook. Every morning, immediately upon arriving to our own table in her breakfast parlor, we had orange juice, tasty hot coffee (and I’m a coffee snob!), a hot egg dish, pancakes or stuffed French toast, and baked fruit. She is conscious of individuals’ diet concerns upon check-in, and works to please everyone. My partner and I really liked how she set her breakfast area up with a small table for each and every couple. Feel free to spark up a conversation with other guests. Or not! I would highly recommend the Holland Inn to anyone. Evin is amazing!!


Great place to stay

4.4 on September 18, 2009

Evin was very helpful and knowledgeable about possible activities for us to do during our stay. The breakfast was appealing to the eyes as well as the taste buds. The Inn had a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere.


Wonderful Accommodations

4.0 on August 25, 2009

For those persons wanting a non-Victorian B&B this is the place. The rooms were comfortably furnished including self-service coffee and tea. There is a cozy living room and sun porch where a scrumptious breakfast is served. Evin is a wonderful hostess willing to share her extensive knowledge of the area. Downtown Bar Harbor is within walking distance of the Inn. This place has spoiled me for any other Inn/B&B


Would highly recommend

5 on August 18, 2009

My wife & I had never been to Maine. We wanted a quiet getaway weekend in a new place to explore. This was a perfect spot


We'll be back

4.8 on July 11, 2009

We just returned from our stay at the Holland Inn and everything was great. The breakfasts were delicious, and plentiful. The location was within walking distance of everthing. Most importantly Evin, the owner was full of knowledge of the area. She had great suggestions for local restaurants. Each morning she took time with each guest to find out what their plans were for the day, and she was able to answer any questions regarding the day's plans. She gave us some great ideas for hiking, and biking within Acadia National Park. I don't know when we will get back to Bar Harbor, but I do know we will definately stay at the Holland Inn when we do return.


June 2009 Visit

4.0 on June 27, 2009

This was an outstanding B&B. The owner was very friendly and accommodating, breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The gardens on the property were beautiful. Our room also had the convenience of a small refrig which was so very helpful for traveling. The walk into town for dinner was also such a nice feature, I would definately return to this inn.


Wishful thinking!

4.2 on February 18, 2009

How I wish we could return to this lovely spot!! Evin's breakfasts are scrumptious; she knows everything about the Bar Harbour area; and she's full of good will, as well!!! Don't miss the opportunity to stay at this accomodating spot. We will return!!


Excellence in innkeeping!

5 on October 31, 2008

We loved our stay at the Holland Inn. Evin was extremely helpful with regards to activities in Bar Harbor and Acadia NP. Her breakfast creations were the best we've had in years of B&B stays and the house is so comfortable.


A treasure up North

4.6 on October 02, 2008

This was a comfortable Inn located in thehear of Bar Harbor. What distinguished it from others was the superb hospitality of innkeeper, Evin Carson, who had marvelous suggestions about how to pass our time and privided sumptuous breakfasts.


Wonderful Place with great value

4.4 on September 23, 2008

We spend 4 nights in precipice room, which was perfect to relaxe, Evin is a perfect host, she offers excellent and delicious breakfasts and has plenty of good suggestions and experience what to do in the acadia national park. You will not find a better place in Bar harbour. Many thanks from Dagmar and Norbert from Germany


Loved it!

5 on September 23, 2008

We stayed at the Holland Inn in September 2008 for our anniversary. We were not disappointed. Our suite was wonderful. We were in the Beech Cliff suite. We had our roomy bedroom with a comfy chair in the corner, a bureau and a TV. There also was a room with a desk and chair, and a sitting room with two recliners and a TV. Our suite had a private entrance on the back of the main house with a staircase up to our sitting area. There were also two restrooms!! Who needs two restrooms in a three room suite?? We did apparently. It's convenient to have another option when someone is taking a shower in the full bath. Everything was incredibly clean and well done. The housekeeper had made the bed quite well with a comforter and a blanket at the end of the bed, however, I require a lot of blankets when I sleep so I added the spare ones from one of the closets. After night one the bed was always made with the extra blankets. As for the food: Fantastic. I loved everything that Evin made and I had just had to purchase her cookbook when we left. Evin was so accommodating. I had mentioned my love of avocados, so on day two she made her avocado quiche special for us. It was amazing. Her breakfasts are a perfect blend of hearty and healthy. We didn't get hungry until much later in the day which was perfect as we had hiking to do in the mornings. Speaking of hiking, Evin was even a great help in planning our outings. Each day she took time to sit with us and learn what we were interested in and help make it possible. Lastly, the location. We were close to everything. I wanted to be able to walk to downtown and we did that often. I did not notice any street noise and I would have been up early enough to hear it too. The only reason that I might not stay here next time would be if we travel with our son. They don't allow three to a room. But for our next romantic getaway I do plan to stay here.


Fabulous stay

4.6 on September 14, 2008

We were indeed pleased by our stay at the Holland Inn. It was convenient to town, buses and restaurants but far enough away from the hubbub to be quiet at night. Evin was very knowledgeable without being intrusive. Her suggestions always worked for us. The food was wonderful, plentiful and always included the freshest ingredients. It was a gourmet delight. We felt very comfortable at the inn. We have stayed at many B&B's and this is one of our favorites. We would definately recommend the Holland Inn to our friends! Thank you for a great vacation.


Beautiful Room and Quiet

4.2 on July 29, 2008

The Holland Inn was by far the best place my husband and I stayed in while visiting New England. Our room was called the Pretty Marsh. Outside our window was a beautiful flower garden and it was a very quiet place to stay for a great night's sleep. Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. The innkeeper is very knowledgeable about Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. She won't steer you wrong. I strongly recommend Holland Inn for your next stay in Bar Harbor.


ideal accommodation

5 on May 29, 2008

This is one of our all-time favorite bed-and-breakfasts. Put it this way -- even the basics of the place are exemplary. Breakfast was always excellent and interesting; our room was homey, roomy, and refreshing (!); and Evin provided great tips on Island jaunts and journeys. A revealing anecdote: after we got soaking wet while hiking in a thunderstorm, Evin kindly let us use her drier for our sopping sneakers. A wonderful find.


Everything we wanted

5 on May 29, 2008

We stayed in the Bubble Room for 3 nights, we had a fantastic weekend. The room was comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated, the breakfast was wonderful (my husband liked that he was offered seconds) and suggestions and maps from Evin (the Innkeeper) were everything we needed to have a great outdoors weekend. We loved Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park and the Holland Inn. We are already planning our next trip.


Excellent B&B

5 on May 22, 2008

I just spent six nights at the Holland House and it was fantastic, I spent the first 2 nights in the Bubbles room which was very cozy before moving over to the Ship Harbor room which was fabulous, the rooms and the Inn itself are beautiful, Evin (the Innkeeper) is a SUPERB cook as well as a really handy tour guide, she kept us busy the entire time we were there, I plan on making a yearly pilgrimage to Bar Harbor and I will definitely go back to the Holland House (if for no other reason than Evin's blueberry pancakes).


Now and Then

4.0 on March 28, 2008

I have never stayed in the Inn as it is now, but I grew up in this home. It is very interesting to look at the changes and try to figure out which room is which and who had it as a bedroom growing up. Thank you


Very Nice!

4.0 on September 26, 2007

We spent three nights here and very much enjoyed it. Our room was clean, cozy and pleasant. Evin prepared wonderful breakfasts and provided excellent recommendations for hiking and dining. We hope to return sometime.


Quaint, but not quiet

3.6 on September 10, 2007

If you're looking for a quiet little B&B, this is not the one you want. It is located just close enough to town that you still get the hustle & bustle of this summer destination and nestled in a neighborhood, so you still have the thrills of waking up at 6am to barking dogs and screaming kids, just like if you were at home... The food was great, but I don't think breakfast makes up for not getting to sleep in while on trying to relax on your vacation.


Holland Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $65 - $195
  • Reviews (32) 4.6
  • Rooms 9

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2072884804

Visit Website »

View details

Top