Graycote Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

Love returning to the Graycote Inn

4.8 on May 28, 2014

The Graycote Inn is charming, spotless, "green;" and our favorite B&B to return to whenever we visit Bar Harbor. Innkeepers Pat and Roger always extend a warm welcome, make my husband and I feel at right at home and offer us a peaceful escape from the "real world." In the afternoon there is the fragrance of cookies baking. Lemonade or apple cider accompanies the cookies and is served in the dining room. The living room has a wonderful collection of books, newspapers and magazines to choose from. Every morning there is a delicious breakfast served (love the blueberry-apple crisp) and presented beautifully at little tables for two on the porch or at the dining room table. Our favorite treat is waking up to the cups of early morning coffee left on a table outside our bedroom. The inn is perfectly located off a quiet side street. It is within easy walking distance to all of the restaurants, galleries, shops and a short drive to Acadia National Park. Visiting Bar Harbor has become a relaxing tradition for us. Pat and Roger's gracious hospitality and thoughtful innkeepers' touches make it difficult for us to leave but so easy for us to return. We are already looking forward to our next trip. Thank you both, Pat and Roger!!


Another Great Week at our Favorite B&B

5 on October 27, 2013

My husband and I spent the 4th week of September at our favorite B&B, the Graycote Inn. When I say favorite, I mean it! This was our 9th or 10th week-long visit. We can't resist returning each year to enjoy the warmth, comfort, and convenience of this inn. We just love Pat and Roger and how much at home we feel around them. Indeed, I feel like a priveleged person because we can go back time after time. When I write my memoirs I will say with great fondness "we regularly vacationed in Bar Harbor at the Graycote Inn".


Our favorite B and B

5 on September 23, 2013

We have been staying at the Graycote for the last 5 or 6 years. Roger and Pat are welcoming hosts, they put out a great breakfast, and they are especially knowledgeable about local attractions. The rooms are decorated beautifully. We especially appreciate the extensive library in the house.


Great Value Good People - We'll Return to Graycote Inn

4.8 on August 20, 2013

We've spent many happy times in New England, mostly in Maine. The Atlantic air, the lobsters, the special way Maine people treat visitors make it an attractive spot for down time, whether that means activities like hiking, kayaking, biking or just walking around or enjoying the sites. Whatever your pleasure, the place you choose to call home can make or break the experience. We discovered the Graycote Inn, a substantial B&B right in the heart of Bar Harbor to be better than even their own on line ads would suggest. Exceptional cleanliness, down east decor, superb beds and welcoming, knowledgeable hosts Pat and Roger all combined to make our stay a pleasure. The morning after we left, We found ourselves eating a great breakfast in another city at a restaurant but thinking about the varied and fine fare dished up each morning at Graycote and of Roger saying "more juice" as he made the rounds in his maroon apron. Thanks to you both...we shall return!


Wonderful B&B!

5 on July 15, 2013

This was our second stay at Graycote Inn and it won't be our last. Pat and Roger have planned everything with the comfort of their guests in mind and every detail of the rooms, breakfast and snacks and public spaces was perfect. They provided an introduction to restaurants, attractions and events on the island and took a genuine interest making sure that each guest had the best vacation possible.


Charming!

5 on July 13, 2013

Pat and Roger are excellent hosts. They give wonderful attention to detail. The food was delicious and the accommodations charming. Our hosts are also very knowledgeable of the area and very helpful in recommending activities and restaurants. We had a quite memorable vacation!


Perfect Maine B&B

5 on March 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Graycote - this time 4 days in the cold of winter, last time in the spring. The house was warm and inviting, our room (including fireplace) spacious, quiet, and relaxing. All the house is well decorated and filled with lovely amenities - Our Innkeepers were delightful: they really know Bar Harbor and the island as a whole; breakfasts were perfect for the season and sumptuous (spring sitting on the porch, winter nestled in the diningroom with a fire) - chocolate chips and tea at 4pm were lovely - We've been vacationing in Bar Harbor off and on for 30 years - been in probably 3/4 of its Inns - Graycote is the one we come back to! Thank you Pat and Roger


A great find in Bar Harbor

5 on March 04, 2013

We have cottages on the western side of Mount Desert Island and wanted to check on them during the winter and also enjoy snowshoeing. The Graycote Inn, which is open all year, was a terrific place to stay. Our hosts had thought of everything - hot mulled cider and cookies in the afternoon, delicious breakfasts with lots of newspapers to read, a comfortable sitting room and many other extras that made us feel welcome. We also enjoyed the company of the other guests at the Graycote and our lively conversations. We'll be back.


Our Favorite B&B

5 on December 17, 2012

The week of Labor Day, 2012, was our fith or sixth time spending a week at the Graycote Inn! My husband and I love it. Roger and Pat are down-to-earth and gentle, which I so appreciate when I am on vacation and recovering from the work-a-day world. I love the porch, the yard, our room and the wallpaper in it, the breakfasts, the breakfast room, the convenience for walking into town, the peacefulness of the inn, the fragrance of the cookies baking in the afternoon, the lemonade that accompanies the cookies on the dining room table, and the bookshelf with its wonderful collection of books in the living room. I'm looking forward to our next visit!


Perfect B & B

5 on December 07, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Graycote Inn on the last weekend in October, 2012, unseasonably sunny and mild. The Inn is beautiful, beautifully kept, in walking distance of everything in Bar Harbor, a short drive to Acadia National Park. The innkeepers, Roger and Pat Samuel, are so gracious and so intelligent that it felt like spending a weekend in Maine with a college roommate, a roommate who did very well at a very good college. Their restaurant and theater recommedations could not have been better; they seem to know instinctively, or perhaps from long practice, the sorts of things their guests would enjoy. The inn is full of books, and its selection so appealing we hoped for a rainy day. One glass fronted bookcase in our suite offered both P.G.Wodehouse and Proust. Breakfasts are excellent, wholesome and inventive, brown sugar, wheat flour, and yogurt sprinkled with local blueberries and exotic pomegranate seeds. Pat's cookbook, modestly priced, should be bought and studied. If this were not enough, Graycote Inn used to be the vicarage for Saint Saviour's Episcopal Church which has windows by Louis Comfort Tiffany. Difficult to imagine a better place to enjoy all the Mount Desert offers


Cozy and Comfortab le

4.0 on December 03, 2012

We stayed at the Graycote Inn back in September. My mom and sister had stayed there 10 years ago. It's a beautiful little B&B. The breakfasts that were offered were very unique and yummy. Our room was cozy and comfortable. The inn is located very close to Acadia National Park which was very helpful for us because we wanted to do a lot of hiking. Bar Harbor is a quaint little town. We enjoyed seeing the big cruise ships that were docked at the harbor. The innkeepers were very knowedgeable and helpful. I would definitely recommend it!


Very nice stay at Graycote Inn

5 on December 02, 2012

Graycote Inn of Bar Harbor provided us a very nice vacation stay. The hosts, Roger and Pat, were very conscientious. Each breakfast is a fruit course followed by a wonderfully presented main course; if you are particularly hungry, cereal or extra toast is also available. In the late afternoon they even provide a little snack, which this time of year was delicious mulled cider and cookies. They have an excellent selection of herbal teas, in addition to coffee, and were accommodating enough to let us use a little tea kettle all week. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a king size bed and a nice (private) shower. They provide secure wi-fi. The location is very convenient - it is right in Bar Harbor, but on a side street rather than one of the main driving streets. We had a lovely time and hope to be back again.


Wonderful B&B, Marvelous Hosts and Perfect Location

5 on October 24, 2012

Since our second visit to Bar Harbor in 1996 we have stayed at Graycote Inn every other year for a marvelous week-long fall getaway and anniversary celebration. We are experienced B&B travelers and rank Graycote at the top of our list. We would not think of staying anywhere else in Bar Harbor. The hosts, Pat and Roger, share a wealth of information about scenic and cultural activities in the area as well as an extensive list of restaurants by category, complete with menus. The rooms are all different, beautifully furnished, quiet and oh so comfortable. The delicious breakfasts are different every day, beautifully presented and healthy on top of that! A recent example included a 'parfait' of yogurt and mixed fruits followed by a frittata & homemade biscuit (with a candle for our anniversary). A bulletin board lists current activities in the area as well as a weather report. A rainy fall day provided some time to sit by the fire and sample some of their wonderful collection of books. Another couple enjoyed a game board in the dining room with cider and cookies. The Inn is centrally located in the village of Bar Harbor and within walking distance of shops, galleries and restaurants. We look forward to our conversations with Roger and Pat where we always learn something new and interesting about the area. And they are just downright interesting people! Additionally, the Inn's atmosphere is conducive to conversations with the other guests if you so choose. Our 5000+ mile trek to Graycote has become a wonderful tradition. We are already planning our return!


Quintessential B&B

5 on August 13, 2012

The Graycote is a spotless, nicely decorated, warm-atmosphere New England B&B. We had a wonderful time with hosts Pat and Roger., who are as knowledgeable as any concierge in the area. A perfect place to use as a launching pad to Acadia National Park, or as a quiet retreat to spend the day reading a book.


The Only Place to Stay in Bar Harbor!

5 on July 27, 2012

Is the Graycote Inn. From the moment you walk into the front door you know that every single detail is taken care of to provide you with a comfortable, enjoyable and delicious stay! This was our second visit to Graycote and it was exactly as we had remembered. In fact, we increased our usual stay from four to six days it was so wonderful. It goes without staying that the home and rooms are decorated beautifully and comfortably. Pat and Roger were more than happy to accomodate our Dukan Diet when preparing their tasty and beautiful breakfasts (even though we ate their homemade cookies in the afternoon when they weren't looking!). I mentioned that I wasn't a coffee drinker and before you know it, an 8-pack of my favorite sold was waiting for me in the fridge. For any of you who don't go anywhere without your electronics, there is at least one power strip in the room for charging two phones, two iPads and two laptops. Each room has a guide to Graycote and Bar Harbor which I lovingly refer to as the "manual." It covered everything from how to operate the alarm clock to what to do on a rainy day. In fact, we were there on the Fourth of July and a copy of the Declaration of Independence was put underneath our door along with the activities in town for the day. The one day we did have a little rain, a copy of the "what to do on a rainy day" piece was slid under our door. Since we surprised Pat and Roger with a two day early arrival, we had to move rooms. Sure enough, everything was explained and handled like a dream. For those of you picky about your showers, there were fabulous nozzles and plenty of pressure and hot water in all three rooms. The cleaning staff is marvelous and always left a dish of chocolate kisses and Werther's on my side of the bed! Even various flavors! Our thanks to Pat and Roger for a delightful stay. Mickey and Paula


First Time B&B and loved it!

4.6 on July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Carriage House, separated from the Main House and it was like having your own cabin. The food was beautifully presented, the owners made us feel at home from the moment we arrivedand are very helpful, the location is very convenient. We'll stay here for sure if we go back to Bar Harbour. Thanks Pat and Roger for your hospitality!


Our first time in a Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 18, 2012

We had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast. We were worried that it might feel uncomfortable. Were we ever wrong. What a wonderful experience Graycote Inn was! I have never tasted a homemade breakfast that could hold a candle to the one Roger and Pat made for us. The next time we go to Bar Harbor, we will be staying at Graycote Inn. Simply the most relaxed we have been in a long while.


The Graycote Inn is the Place to Stay whether on Vacation or Business

4.0 on January 17, 2012

I have been to Bar Harbor many times on both business and for vacation. I have stayed in many of the properties there, but the Graycote Inn is always my first choice. The prices are very reasonable and Roger and Pat always insure that my stay is both comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are wonderful and even the smaller rooms are very comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and just the right size to give you energy for the day without overstuffing you before a hike through the park. They are always there with recommendations for activities, so even if it is a bit dreary outside, you are never short for things to do. As a business traveler they accommodate my needs for an extra early start and always help with reservations for dinner in case I am working late or arriving late.


Trip Was a Dream Come True!

5 on December 23, 2011

We have always wanted to visit Maine and had originally planned to do so for a honeymoon 25 years ago. That trip finally took place in September this year (2011) after 25 years of marriage and our youngest of two children leaving for college. We called and talked with Roger before making our reservation and he was helpful in suggesting "things not to miss when visiting Maine" as well as noting things that make Bar Harbor unique as a destination itself. We did make reservations to stay a week at the Graycote Inn. What a wonderful location and relaxing, lovely place to stay. Pat and Roger were accommodating to Beth, who has a gluten food intolerance. But it didn't seem to be a problem. The breakfasts were WONDERFUL for both of us - with the Gluten-free recipes better than anything we have eaten before! Afternoon snack also included a gluten-free choice which introduced us to new diet alternatives. We recommend the Graycote Inn whenever we learn of others traveling to Maine. Clean and beautiful rooms (our third floor room opened to a balcony), great location for walking around Bar Harbor, excellent suggestions for activities and places to eat, wonderful breakfasts, and most of all innkeepers that truly welcome you to share their home. We cannot thank Roger and Pat enough for making our trip so memorable. Beth and John Room Tip: The third floor room that we stayed in had a screen door that could be locked shut all night - keeping the regular door to the balcony open. What a treat in the fall when the weather is warm enough! Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple


Bar Harbor Gem

5 on December 16, 2011

It’s a great place to visit and a hard place to leave. We consider ourselves very fortunate to have found the Graycote Inn in 2008, and have been coming back every year in September, with each visit being longer than the prior year. What initially caught our eyes was the environmental leader certification. The inn is very clean and comfortable; the breakfasts healthy, delicious and filling. There is a table in the dining room and around 10 tables for two in the glassed-in porch where you can choose to converse with other couples or not. The hosts, Roger and Pat, take an interest in our plans for the day and offer suggestions. A weather report is printed daily. The bulletin board also highlights current events in Bar Harbor. They offer helpful advice on where to dine.


A Wonderful Experience

4.6 on December 12, 2011

Our stay was a wonderful experience. The house and grounds are charming. Mornings on the sun porch were a delight with some of the best breakfasts we've ever had. Our room was elegant and very comfortable. Pat and Roger are very gracious and friendly hosts with a wealth of information, especially for first time visitors. Thanks so much for making our stay in Bar Harbor extra special.


Great Place to Stay

5 on December 07, 2011

Have returned here for several years. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts are fantastic, and it is peaceful and quiet. I love that it is close enough to walk to the harbor and shops, but located on a quiet side street.


Worth a visit

5 on December 02, 2011

The Graycote Inn in Bar Harbor is a treasure. I highly recommend it. The Inn is lovely; the innkeepers are so interesting and know the area well. My room was perfect. The porch and garden are an oasis. Breakfast alone is worth a visit - creative, delicious, and healthy. A close walk to shops and restaurants. A must place to stay.


Loved the Graycote

5 on November 23, 2011

My stay at the Graycote was delightful! The inn is far enough off the beaten path to offer peace and quiet but is still an easy walk to the wonderful shops and activities in Bar Harbor. I’m a cyclist and chose not to carry my bike on this trip. I was particularly pleased to find a wonderful bike shop less than three blocks from the front door. I was on a bike and in Acadia National Park within minutes. My room was perfect. I described my need for bright and airy accommodations and Roger took the time to select the perfect room for me. It was meticulously kept and generously furnished with a beautiful king, canopy bed that was unbelievably comfortable. Roger and Pat Samuel are my kind of innkeepers. Immediately upon arrival they provided me with all the information that I needed to make my stay at the Graycote comfortable. They then disappeared, only to reappear when I needed something. It was almost as though they had anticipated my needs. I loved waking up to find hot coffee right outside my door and I particularly enjoyed breakfast on the porch. I’m a health and fitness professional and a nutritious breakfast is an important part of my day. Breakfast as the Graycote was balanced, delicious and beautifully presented. Pat made some excellent dining recommendations and even had a good tip for getting good reservations. Both Pat and Roger possess a wealth of information about the area and are eager to share if asked. By the way, the outstanding service continued past my stay. Within a week of my departure, I received the mate to a pair of my favorite cycling socks that had been left behind. It’s nice to know that that kind of service still exists. I’ll go back to the Graycote.


OUTSTANDING!!

5 on November 22, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at this wonderful B&B. This was our second trip, and our second visit to this wonderful area. The building is beautiful to start with, exceptionally quiet. litterally seconds from downtown, easy walking distance to many attractions in the Bar Harbor village area. Pat and Roger (the innkeepers) are phenominal people, very attentive to the needs of their guests. The breakfasts in the morning were exceptional, always tasty! We were there in late October so we were able to see some of the most gorgeous scenery in the country and it was due to visiting this exceptional B&B. I would, and have recommended this place to my own friends and family, and have absolutly every faith that if you stay at the Graycote Inn, you will have an experience SECOND TO NONE! Thanks again Roger and Pat for the wonderful time, and we look forward to booking again for next year!


"perfect"

4.2 on November 21, 2011

A wonderful inn. We had a nice big room with fireplace, king bed and sitting area. There were several comfortable places on the porch, in the yard, and in the house as well to sit, read, enjoy. Breakfasts were excellent...healthy and tasty. Roger and Pat were very helpful planning activities. It's an easy walk to multiple restaurants, bike rentals, town square, the boat dock, etc and there's a laundromat next door. Would highly recommend this and would stay there again.


Excellent accommodations!

5 on November 20, 2011

Roger and Pat were very welcoming. We spent three glorious days at the Graycote! The breakfasts were surprising and tasty! We would definitely book here again. Maine is a wonderful place to visit and the Graycote made it special.


Honeymoon Getaway!

5 on October 08, 2011

This was a wonderful place to go for our honeymoon. We are somewhat quiet and private people, so we liked this aspect of the Graycote Inn. It is only a quick 5 minute walk away from shops, restaurants, bars and the ocean. Roger and Pat were very accommodating, giving us advice on where to go and need I not forget to mention their delicious home-cooked breakfasts each morning! The rooms are all very unique, cozy and clean, as is the rest of their Inn. We just LOVED it and will definitely return!


Feels Like Home

5 on October 04, 2011

This our third stay at Graycote Inn was just as wonderful as the prior two. We took dear friends with us this time and they loved it too. Pat and Roger allowed us to have friends who happened to be in the area join us for a lovely breakfast in the dining room. We feel so at home here I almost felt I was hosting them in my own home. I told Pat it was all I could do not to get up and clear the table! Even though we live 3000 miles from Bar Harbor we definitely plan a fourth stay very soon. Laura D.


Thank you Roger and Pat for our third delightful stay at the Graycote!

5 on October 04, 2011

Although we originally chose the inn because of its green living standards we were also looking for linens without perfumes, a comfortable bed and a yummy breakfast. The Graycote delivered on our wish list and more! The attention to detail offered by Roger and Pat ensured that our every individual need was addressed along with every creature comfort. The rooms are charmingly appointed, clean, comfortable and offer a nod to the past without compromising the demands of the present. The breakfasts are a culinary delight; scrumptious but also healthy and creative. We so appreciated the individual accommodations Roger and Pat made for us. We will be back!


Coldest Innkeepers in Maine

4.0 on July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Graycote Inn for two days in July. It was the worst experience we have ever had. The innkeepers need lessons in hospitality and friendliness. They are opinionated and rude people. Also, you never as innkeepers force your guests to listen to your 20 minute dissertation on the area. When you have told them that you have been to the area numerous times and they have a board with the activities, please don't "bore" your guests to death. Also, making snide remarks when a guest is asked where they are going for dinner is the height of rudeness. The room was OK but the bathtub had mold inside. No TV in the common area and it was just as cold as the innkeepers themselves. We will never go back.


Great location, service and food

4.6 on September 17, 2010

This was an ideal location; a few blocks away from the center of town, walking distance to restaurants and bus stop to National Park and other parts of island. Food was excellent, the innkeeper was a bit "quirky" but service was excellent.


Wonderful Stay

3.8 on November 02, 2009

We considered ourselves "seasoned" having stayed at over 40 B&B's around the country. We were greeted warmly by Pat, the innkeeper. She showed us the Echo Lake Suite in the Carriage house. I was a bit disappointed as it didn't have a fireplace like the other rooms listed on their website. Otherwise the rooms was spacious, bed comfortable. The spiced apple cider and cookies in the afternoon was very good. The buckwheat waffles served at breakfast was not gourmet, but filling. Overall we had a pleasant stay.


Gracefull B&B

5 on March 18, 2009

My wife Nancy and I have stayed at this Inn for 10-7 days in late January for the last 7 years. We come to Bar Harbor in Winter for rest, peace, quiet, great food and cross country skiing on Arcadia's spectacular Carriage Roads. The Inn is meticulously maintained. The rooms are large and luxuriously decorated. We spend quite a bit of time just relaxing, reading, etc. in our room and feel very much at home. Breakfast (at least 2 courses) is of gourmet quality. We find it so substantial that only a midday snack before dinner is required. The Inn's owners/operators, Pat & Roger, know everything about what's going on in the area and are eager to answer all of our questions. The Inn's location, right in the village of Bar Harbor, allows us to walk to shops, restaurants, movies-anywhere in town-including the waterfront and the low tide hike to Bar Island. Simply put, this B & B is the best!


Graycote Inn-winter stay

3.2 on January 05, 2009

Arrived in a snow storm late. Very friendly welcome Room was comfortable and nicely furnished-lots of reading material! Breakfasts were excellent-delicious food and obviously great care is taken in choosing and sourcing ingredients.


Beautiful house, perfect location

3.4 on November 21, 2008

Beautiful inn conveniently located in center Bar Harbor. We spent 3 nights in the Otter Suite on the very top level of the house (not open during winter) with a separate sitting area (which couldn't be locked as there is an emergency exit, didn't bother at all). Although it is quite a large house it was very calm. For breakfast the porch and living room could become somewhat busy since there were not enough tables to seat all guests at once, but you have an hour or so time to show up for breakfast so that wasn't a problem. Not everything served for breakfast was among my favorites, nevertheless I didn't ask for any extras so you can tell the food was good. But don't expect the usual eggs & bacon combo.

Innkeeper Response
The Otter Cliffs Suite is a three room suite: bedroom, private sitting room, and bathroom. The sitting room provides all the guests on the third floor with access to the fire escape; for this reason the sitting room door cannot be locked (guests keep the door closed for privacy). Both the bedroom and the bathroom have deadbolt locks for total security. This arrangement meets the AAA's stringent security standards. We make a particular effort to provide creative, nutritious - and often unusual - breakfasts; something different each day. Our web site contains sample menus.


Gourmet breakfasts, great innkeepers!

5 on September 06, 2008

My family and I have gone on vacation here for a few years now, and we can't say enough good things about the Graycote. All rooms are meticulous, and the Innkeepers and staff are very friendly and helpful. The gourmet breakfasts are wonderful - and different every day. The Inn has a great front porch to relax and spend a lazy day reading, with lots of books and games for guest use. I especially enjoy the bulletin board with the latest special events and things to do and menus from recommended restaurants. Another bonus is the close proximity to shops and downtown Bar Harbor - it's about a 5 minute walk. Don't forget to play croquet on the lawn while you're there, and enjoy the tea and cookies that they serve every afternoon!!


Marvelous hosts, class presentation

5 on May 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Graycote Inn for our 25th anniversary. Not only was the room immaculate, perfectly kept and wonderfully furnished and decorated, but Pat and Roger were absolutely marvelous hosts who made the vacation time there seem custom made for us. They knew exactly what to do to make the most of our visit to Bar Harbor, even to making great benefit of a full day of intense rain storms and the next beautiful weather day in Acadia Park, to the details of where we should stop and spend some time on the way down to Boston on the old highway. From their in-depth knowledge of the area and stimulating conversations, I thought for sure they were both historians; but their backgrounds were even more interesting than that...another source of exciting story-telling. Finally, the breakfasts and mid afternoon cookies and lemonade or hot cider were carefully prepared, beautifully presented, and delicious.


Super convenient location

4.6 on January 01, 2008

Graycote Inn is just a few blocks from the heart of the shopping and dining areas. It is also very convenient to get to it without having to deal with the traffic in the main part of town. Pat and Roger were great at making recommendations, and very attentive to details in making our trip special. Our room was large with a fireplace (redi-logs provided at no charge). Food was very good, but a bit more leisurely than most places, and there are choices of community table or couples tables on the covered porch. Very comfy bed, too!


An Excellent Experience at Graycote Inn

5 on June 01, 2007

The Graycote Inn is charming, spotless, a "green" B&B (which we applaud) and within easy walking distance to all of the best that Bar Harbor has to offer. The inn offers a beautiful garden for strolling, a delightful front porch with inviting wicker chairs to enjoy and back-yard hammocks to lounge in. Innkeepers Roger and Pat Samuel are friendly, welcoming, knowledgeable and enrich your visit by providing the daily details (weather forecasts, tide charts, maps and books of Acadia National Park and scheduled area events) that allow you to relax and take the best advantage of the time that you have in Bar Harbor. Without ever being intrusive, they attend to your vacation plans and add their own personal touch by offering advice on the best tours, activities and restaurants to frequent. Our bedroom (Hull’s Cove Room) was large, lovely and beautifully decorated in Victorian fashion. It offered us a comfortable king sized bed, private balcony and bathroom with a claw foot tub. We had cozy wicker chairs to lounge in and snacked on chocolates left on our nightstand. All of our breakfasts were delicious and presented beautifully. We especially enjoyed the blueberry ricotta French toast! An added “luxury” to our stay were the cups of early morning coffee left outside of our room before breakfast was served (more B&Bs should be so thoughtful!) We travel a great deal both domestically and internationally. We have stayed in many wonderful B&B’s. We would strongly recommend the Graycote Inn to everyone who appreciates the extra effort that innkeepers make to elevate their inn’s ambiance and give gracious attention to providing the highest quality of hospitality. We will definitely be returning to the Graycote Inn again.


This is a wonderful place!

5 on May 29, 2007

Pat and Roger arranged for a birthday lemon meringue pie to be delivered for breakfast at the table so that all sang to my Darling for his birthday. We were delighted. Roger has a wonderful sense of humour and knows the island like you'd expect of a native. Pat is fun and graciously goes the extra mile to make things just right and comfortably so. We thoroughly enjoyed them!


Graycote Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $205
  • Reviews (41) 4.7
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2072883044
  • Fax 1-2072882719

Visit Website »

View details

Top