Anne's White Columns Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
211 Reviews

Write A Review

Incredibly relaxing 3 days

4.8 on August 22, 2014

I am not sure if there is a better host than Bob. His knowledge of the area, his sense of humor and engaging conversation were most enjoyable. The Inn itself is just lovely and centrally located so we could walk everywhere. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. We will definitely return!


charming comfortable

5 on August 18, 2014

Delightful accommodations


Wonderful Three-Night Stay

5 on August 18, 2014

This inn offers it all! Victorian-elegant rooms, delicious gourmet breakfast, wine and cheese afternoon gathering, beautiful gardens, delightful staff, and proximity to downtown Bar Harbor! I highly recommend Anne's White Columns!


Lovely B&B

4.8 on August 16, 2014

Very nice place.


Interesting, excellent stay

4.0 on August 14, 2014

Innkeepers available and extremely helpful, very good food and nice rooms, very convenient location.


reasonable p;rice and close to harbor. excellent place to stay

5 on August 12, 2014

John


We had a great time

4.4 on August 11, 2014

Bob is a great host!


Great place/great breakfast/great host

4.6 on August 03, 2014

This B & B is quite quaint. The room and bathroom was large for B&B standards. Parking was easy. Walking to restaurants and Bar Harbor was easy. Being close to the Village Green was very desirable. Breakfast was really good. Bob, the host, was everything you would want in a B&B host.


Excellent B&B in great location

3.8 on July 30, 2014

Room was charming and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was excellent.


Stay Review

4.8 on July 26, 2014

Staff was wonderful, professional and responsive. The rooms were beautiful and clean and well stocked. We were made to feel very welcome. The afternoon tea was a nice added touch making the stay more enjoyable.


Comfortable, clean pleasant inn

3.0 on July 22, 2014

We found Anne's White Columns Inn to be a fine place to stay in a great walk-to location in Bar Harbor. The room size was good, and it had reasonable amenities. The breakfast was fine - nothing so special but nicely presented and plenty of food.


Nice B&B, good location

3.4 on July 16, 2014

Anne's White Column Inn was a lovely place to stay, but I would make sure to splurge for a room with a balcony because the extra space is almost necessary because regular rooms are very cozy. The owners and staff were very pleasant and the food is delicious. Not a modern place, and could use a design update. The facilities were very clean and the yard well manicured. Easy to walk to town, and in a safe neighborhood.


Relaxing and Wonderful!

3.6 on July 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in Witchcliff and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We appreciated the information Kathy had to offer about downtown Bar Harbor. We also were able to attend one of the cocktail hours before heading into town for dinner. It was nice to meet some of the other guests and relax on the porch. As for the room, we didn't spend much time in the room other than to sleep, but there was plenty of room for our luggage and for us to relax during downtime. I would definitely recommend staying at Anne's White Columns Inn. It was affordable and provided wonderful accommodations.


Our stay in Bar Harbor

4.0 on July 14, 2014

Anne's White Columns is a great place to stay in Bar Harbor. The location is excellent, you can walk easily to anything down town. At night it is pretty quiet, not so much road noise. Breakfast is very good and plentiful. Wine and cheese in the afternoons is a nice break before going out in the evening. This part of Maine rivals anywhere for beauty. So enjoyed our visit.


great place for a short stay in Bar Harbor

4.2 on July 13, 2014

Had a great time at White Columns Inn while travelling to Coastal Maine. highly recommnend it Damien


Time in New England

4.6 on July 05, 2014

Bob was friendly and knowledgable. The food and service were excellent. The drain in the bathroom sink ran very slowly. The room was a little smaller than expected.


Anne's White Columns Inn Review

4.6 on July 02, 2014

Very comfortable and a great place to stay. The breakfast was wonderful in the morning! Bob also had so many great suggestions about where to visit in Bar Harbor. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here!


Great Place, People, and Accommodations

4.8 on June 23, 2014

Awesome breakfast! Bob was also very helpful and knowledgeable. The house was also in a great location a 2 block walk to the city center.


Lovely B&B

4.6 on June 19, 2014

We had a great time - The breakfast on all days was exceptional - Andy is a key asset to your B&B.


lovely inn

4.8 on June 14, 2014

inn was clean, breakfast was always great and well presented, afternoon wine and cheese a nice touch


Bar Harbor 6/4/14

4.2 on June 08, 2014

Great place, close to doentown, very nice hospitality


Bar Harbor B&B

4.6 on June 07, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Anne's White Columns Inn. The Inn is within walking distance to Main Street but yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor. We never used our car while there. We walked to everything. Robert, the owner, was wonderful and very accommodating to our every need. The food and service was outstanding. We would go back!


A total pleasure to stay here!

4.6 on May 27, 2014

We would definitely stay here again, and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Bar Harbor. A pleasure to stay there.


The Perfect Host

4.0 on November 29, 2013

Bob was the perfect host! We enjoyed talking with him about Bar Harbor and many other things. We would definitely stay at White Columns again.


Charming exterior faded around the edges

2.6 on October 31, 2013

First impressions a quaint New England guest house and we weren't expecting hotel standards. Unhappy though re condition of the room torn wallpaper dirty curtains stained carpet and broken blind so no privacy. Temperature in our room stifling no way to control it as the vent switch was broken. Also not happy about leaving the front and rear doors unlocked isn't the safety and security of your paying guests supposed to be paramount? Breakfast really unsuitable eg quiche and muffin no alternative offered.


Just between us

4.6 on October 27, 2013

Just between us, this is a great place to stay visiting Bar Harbor. If this gets out everyone will want to stay here


Nice place

3.2 on October 25, 2013

This sis a very nice Inn with a very friendly and knowledgeable staff. The Inn is an easy walk to the town area. Clean, quite and friendly what more do you need in Bar Harbor?


Great stay in Bar Harbor

4.8 on October 18, 2013

Well-located, easy walking distance to harbor and restaurants. Ample off street parking.


Fall trip for colours

3.6 on October 16, 2013

Bob was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in guiding us through the local and regional attractions...


White Columns: High expectations but disappointed.

2.4 on October 15, 2013

Innkeeper: informative, but arrogant. Rooms: comfortable, but paper-thin walls; voices, snores and movement from neighboring rooms intrusive. Breakfast: tasty and plentiful, but no choice. Value: expensive. Service: best part was Kathy, the assistant, who was informative AND affable.


Comfortable B&B

3.6 on October 06, 2013

Had a great stay with comfortable beds, nice towels and fabulous breakfasts. Owner was very friendly and made us feel welcome. could use some refreshing in the rooms and hall, but was clean and comfortable. Presentation of evening wine and cheese could be more appealing as no one seemed to stay for it. More effort in that regard would have been nice, as that was a factor in us selecting this property.


Great Location!!

3.6 on October 05, 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at Anne's White Columns in the Elsinore room. Our room was clean and comfortable, I really liked the floral wallpaper! Anne's is in a great location, an easy walk to downtown Bar Harbor and all the shops and restaurants. A great base for exploring the Acadia National Park. Our host Bob was very friendly and accommodating.


GREAT LOCATION LOVELY CHARMING PEOPLE

3.8 on September 30, 2013

Only item that was a of some concern was the brought in breakfests. They were tasty but lacked variety. Other than that you cannot beat where it is located in BAR HARBOR.


Great Stay at Anne's!!

3.8 on September 29, 2013

We spent three nights at Anne's and the stay was enjoyable. Bob was a gracious host, and spent time chatting with us while we were there. Food was excellent, and the rooms each had a character of their own. I would recomment staying at Annie's when visiting Bar Harbor.


Bad weather, excellent experience.

4.8 on September 27, 2013

We visited Bar Harbor this week and stayed at Ann's White Columns. The weather was chilly and raining and generally lousy, but the folks at Ann's were a bright spot. Bob and family made us feel like we were house guests in their personal residence. We had fantastic conversations with fellow guests and the breakfasts were much better than the norm. We will be back. Hope to see you there!


Wonderful Stay

3.4 on September 24, 2013

Lovely B&B in a great location. We were able to walk to restaurants and the sights of Bar Harbor, leaving our car parked in the spacious area behind the B&B. Exceptional gardens to view and relax in as well as a lovely 3 season porch. Host was charming and very responsive to our needs. The bed was very comfortable and the house was very quiet which allowed for restful nights. A truly wonderful experience.


Welcomed experience!

5 on September 23, 2013

My wife and I were spoiled at the White Column inn, Bar Harbor, ME Location, location, location; down home hospitality; great variety and tasty breakfast; Wonderful modern room with cable and bath. Truly one on the best stays we've ever experienced. Thanks again Bob, for welcoming us into your home! Paul & Ginny M.


Wonderful!

4.2 on September 22, 2013

Great location. Bob was most gracious and helpful and an accomplished pianist to boot. Would recommend to friends.


great location

4.0 on September 22, 2013

Easy to find. Geat location. Room was comfortable.Enjoyed breakfast on the closed in porch! Friendly inn keeper. Will return.


Great location!

3.0 on September 20, 2013

We were quite pleased with the location of the White Columns Inn, as we were able to walk into Bar Harbor to eat, shop & sight see. Driving to other points of interest was very convenient. The Inn is very pretty, clean and friendly. Would definitely recommend!


Maine Trip

3.6 on September 10, 2013

Excellent service and breakfast. Would definitely recommend and/or stay there again.


Charming B&B

4.6 on September 10, 2013

Charming B & B in the center of Bar Harbor, delicious Rooms, friendly atmosphere, very kind staff and little attentions (restaurant's menu in the available in the common area) very useful for tourists! Giulia


charming bead and breakfast

4.8 on September 09, 2013

enjoyed the Victorian rooms and the full bath with plenty of hot water.. bkft on the porch was very pleasant.


We made a great choice in coming here. . .

5 on September 08, 2013

. . . ans 'Andy' was extremely valuable as an endless source of information, which made trip oudstanding. "Thank you, Andy."


A Very Pleasant Experience

4.2 on September 07, 2013

We stayed just one night in September 2013, but we wished we had more time because the inn was excellent in all regards. Also, Bar Harbor is a very good town in which to relax, and the inn is perfectly located for good walking experiences in the area--no need to bother with a car. Our room had a private balcony that was a delight, and generally we found this to be a positive and pleasant experience. George and Sheila in Silver Spring, MD.


Comfy Rooms, Awesome Food, Fantastic Hospitality

5 on September 06, 2013

We came to Bar Harbor for a wedding and decided to extend our stay to 4 nights and I'm glad we did. Bob the InnKeeper was very pleasurable to sit and talk with and assured that we had everything to make our stay enjoyable. THANKYOU!! The Provenchers


Pleasant Introduction to Bar Harbor

4.8 on September 01, 2013

Anne's White Column Inn had been recommended to us by some regular visitors to Bar Harbor as their favorite Inn. We were very pleased with our stay. Although our room was on the "cozy" side (smallish), it included a deck which we enjoyed every day. The inn is clean, bright and well taken care of with much attention given to the details. Both Bob and Cathy were very friendly and helpful, offering us (as first time visitors to Bar Harbor and Acadia) many helpful pointers and suggestions. The breakfasts were delicious and very filling. The afternoon wine and cheese was a very nice offering, though we were often out and about and missed it. We would definitely stay at the inn again. It is located just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of Bar Harbor, as well as the Harbor itself.


Wonderful place to stay

5 on August 28, 2013

We arrive late and our key and registration information was waiting for us. Bob, the owner, greeted us every morning and did a great job of making us feel welcome. We will stay again.


Wonderful place. The only thing I would have like to have seen was more available drinking water. The food was great. Place is beautiful and convenient.

4.6 on August 28, 2013

Art DuBois


Fabulous!!!

5 on August 26, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at Anne's White Columns Inn. Our host, Bob was affable, knowledgeable, and talented too! (He plays the piano beautifully at one of the local hotel restaurants.) The other staff at the inn were equally friendly and professional. (special thanks to Kathy) Our room and accompanying bath were nicely decorated and impeccably clean. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious. Wine and cheese and other snacks were available in the afternoon- a nice prequel to dinner. The location was perfect- easy walk to world class restaurants and easy drive to Acadia National Park. The best!


Just wonderful

4.8 on August 25, 2013

Just a wonderful place. Convient to town, great service, wonderful food. Thank you for a great week.


A Favorite B & B

4.2 on August 24, 2013

We just completed a two week east coast trip during which we stayed at several B & B's. The White Column was one of our favorites. It was charming, clean and friendly. The owner and the manager were warm and welcoming and the food and dining experience excellent. The location is very convenient to the harbor. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Bar Harbor.


OK B&B

3.4 on August 22, 2013

Stay and food was great. Room was not as clean as I had hoped. Chair rail, base boards, blinds and lamp shades with load with dust. One day our bed wasn't even made, the covers were just thrown up. As far as breakfast, it delicious and the people were very pleasant.


Bar Harbor Hospitality at its Best

5 on August 21, 2013

Thank you Bob and Anne for making our Bar Harbor experience such a great one. From the moment we arrived we felt as though we were taken care of. Your hospitality was delightful. The Happy Hour each night allowed us to meet other guests and to share our adventures. Every morning we all looked forward to the delicious breakfast that you provided. The location of the Inn was an easy walk to the "downtown" area and your knowledge of the area was very helpful. If you get the chance to hear Bob play the piano...grab it! Thanks again, Terri and Rick Conti


Charming B & B

4.6 on August 19, 2013

Excellent location. Bob was very helpful with Acadia National Park information. Excellent value.


The best b and b

4.4 on August 17, 2013

Excellent lodging. Hosts exceptional. I would come back again


access to downtown and the village green was good. It is an easy walk to the village green and the buses into Acadia. The owner was very helpful and personable.

4.4 on August 16, 2013

I had extended family who lived in the area but I stayed here. The morning sun at 5:15 every morning woke me up as the light came through the door from the balcony. I would have preferred a room darkening shade but overall the room was very nice and I would stay there again--but maybe not with an east facing room..


Absolutely Outstanding

5 on August 12, 2013

Anne's White Columns Inn is a fabulous place to stay and relax. Bob is full of information and takes a real interest in each of his guests. You will not go hungry with their elaborate breakfast, which they take great pride in the presentation.


Quiet, conmfy room, moldy towel

3.2 on August 12, 2013

Anne's was not cheap, but it was very nice. The bed was really comfortable, the room was quiet, and the food was excellent, as promised. Unfortunately, our towels were moldy, which made us smell moldy after using them. I'd expect more at such a fancy place.


Pleasant Stay in Bar Harbor

4.8 on August 09, 2013

We were pleased with our recent stay-Aug3-6,2013- at White Columns Inn. Very picturest area with lots of history and activities. This B&B is very centrally located and within walking distance of the downtown. Our host was very friendly and accommodating. Shirley-Moncton,N.B.


A wonderful B&B

5 on August 06, 2013

Annie's B&B is a wonderful place to stay if you are planning to visit Bar Harbor. Bob is a wonderful host, full of information and very welcoming to the guests. The spacious outdoors provide a nice way to relax, laugh and enjoy the time. Be prepared for an enjoyable breakfast and cozy accommodations.


Review of Anne's White Columns Inn

4.8 on August 05, 2013

Excellent service and location. The Inn is very comfortable and clean. Thank you!


Delightful!

4.6 on August 02, 2013

Lovely and quiet B&B that is still only a short walk to the busy hub of Bar Harbor and the Shore Path. Some rooms are small but if you go online you will know exactly what to expect. They are nicely decorated and very clean. Bob was a great host - very friendly and helpful. We had great conversations over early evening wine on the porch and breakfast. Breakfast was absolutely perfect - Apple French Toast the day we were there! We would go back to Anne's White Columns and highly recommend it.


wonderful stay in Bar Harbour

5 on July 26, 2013

pleasant hosts, charming and relaxing atmosphere. We did not eat at Anne's White Column's, but heard from those that did that the food was delicious. Great location in town. Would stay again!


Time to smell the roses

3.6 on July 26, 2013

We drove north to Bar Harbor and took in three area gardens, one at Seal Cove and two in Northeast harbor. We also drove the loop road around Acadia National Park and picnicked on Cadillac Mountain. Anne's White Columns was an attractive and well located base for our travels. Our host was Bob and Cathy was on hand to greet and orient us upon our arrival. We were encouraged to make an 11:45 reservation at Jordan Pond House for lunch (parking was full and the restaurant was mobbed). Our lunch however was , a success. Thanks in large part to Anne's White Columns, our trip to Bar Harbor was very pleasant and comfortable.


A great place to stay in Bar Harbor!

4.6 on July 22, 2013

Fantastic location and beautiful garden; within walking distance to dining and shops. Wonderful experience; the breakfast is wonderful; late-afternoon wine and appetizers make for a great social hour with other guests. Our host [and owner], Bob, is terrific.


Great place, great value!

5 on July 19, 2013

Anne's White Column's Inn had the most comfortable beds, perfect temp inside when it was so hot outside, fast wifi, great coffee, a wonderful shower and a delicious breakfast served to us each morning. Bob was a wonderful host who gave us excellent suggestions on things to do and places to eat. The inn is a short walk from town, so it is out of the way of all that congestion. We would highly recommend this inn. Very clean, comfortable and friendly.


Breakfast is Heavenly

4.2 on July 19, 2013

The best feature were the breakfasts! Blueberry french toast, spinach bacon quiche, etc. The rooms were very nice. Beds were comfortable. We stayed over the 4th of July and they had lawn chairs and Mimosas for the guests to enjoy the parade in front of the house! Staff very friendly and helpful. Suggested restaurants and made reservations. I would definitely recommend.


Quaint Haven

4.8 on July 18, 2013

If you are looking for the "Maine" experience, book this quaint haven of a B&B: Exceptional staff, extremely clean rooms and gounds, delicious breakfast and quiet/private rooms with enough homey atmosphere without being stuffy. I was more than pleased with my choice to stay at the Anne's White Columns Inn. The other advantage: You can walk in 5 minutes from there to downtown restaurants, pubs and the harbor and it is only about 5 minutes' drive from Acadia National Park. Perfect location, perfect home away from home - what a treat!


Beautiful Inn

4.4 on July 14, 2013

Staff and owner were very welcoming and helpful with area. Would stay here again on my next visit


Great Hospitality, fabulous breakfast

4.2 on July 14, 2013

Tremendous service, beautiful home, excellent location.


Bar Harbor Trip.

4.4 on July 09, 2013

Our stay at Anne's White Columns Inn was fantastic. Hope to return and stay again in the future!


Excellent

4.2 on July 08, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights...it was wonderful. Our room was a bit small but attractive and clean. Would absolutely stay again.


1st time at a Bed & Breakfast!

5 on July 01, 2013

Loved the staying here...too bad it is so far away or we would be back for another stay!


Bar Harbor

4.4 on June 25, 2013

Innkeeper was very helpful and knowledgable about resaurants and other town services. Rick & Mary


Bar Harbar visit

4.6 on June 24, 2013

Bob was a great host and we had a great experience.


WHAT A HOST!

5 on June 21, 2013

Bob not only has a class Bed & Breakfast (location/breakfast/rooms) but he himself is a class individual. He is a wealth of information and cares deeply about his guests comfort & Bar Harbor experience. Will always stay here in future visits. Greg/Michigan


Bar Harbor in June

3.8 on June 21, 2013

Bob and his staff, Anthony and Dylan, were welcoming and helpful. It's a comfortable Inn with great service and the location can not be beat.


Wonderful Stay

5 on June 20, 2013

Enjoyed Ann's White Columns during our 3 night stay. Lovely hosts and servers, delicious breakfast, very comfy (and clean) room. Perfect distance from Main Street for a nice walk!


Fun time!

4.8 on June 17, 2013

Bob was wonderful and friendly. The experience was very positive. The only thing that I can think of that was not to our liking was the bathroom mirror. It was not above the sink but on a side wall. Other than that, we loved it!


Is always a pleasure to stay at this place - feeling coming home

5 on June 15, 2013

To open the door and to get this warm welcome is the best you can get. Bob is a great entertainer and a carefull host. We have found this place many years ago by the way and we returned now the 3. time in this great B&B (like to come home)


Great Stay!

5 on June 12, 2013

The staff was helpful, the place was clean, and the food was fantastic! I would definitely recommend Anne's White Columns Inn.


Great time in Maine

4.8 on June 11, 2013

Bob and his staff made our first trip to Maine very nice. They showed genuine concern make sure everything was just right. Tim and Jane Czajkowski


Great value

4.2 on June 11, 2013

We shopped around a good deal for a B&B in Bar Harbor. Anne's White Columns had to be the best deal in town. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though somewhat oddly decorated. Breakfast was always delicious, though it would have been nice to have a protein option for vegetarians. Bob was friendly and helpful, and had a ready list of rainy day activities. The location was excellent - less than a five minute walk to the village green.


excellent place to stay!

5 on June 10, 2013

Very nice, upgraded to a nicer room which was great. Great location- able to walk to harbor and shopping. Wonderful breakfasts- great service! Highly recommended!


Honeymooners

5 on June 09, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a nice place close to the downtown area for easy walking. We found just the place! The room was clean, we had everything we needed (fan, soaps, clean bathroom, storage for clothes.) the breakfast was perfect. The bed was as comfortable as they come. I would recommend this Inn to anyone looking to sleep well, eat good food and enjoy your stay in the Bar Harbor area.


Outstanding Stay

5 on June 07, 2013

Wonderful experience from check-in to check-out. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was one of the best we have had at a B&B.


Outstanding Weekend in Bar Harbor\Arcadia

5 on June 07, 2013

the room was very cozy and bright...the breakfast was exceptional...a short walk to main street and the harbor....as an added bonus we had summer weather the first weekend in June! we will definitely return to this inn....


i love Maine in the Spring

4.4 on May 22, 2013

needed a wider choice of breakfast. one morning we were STUFFED and only wanted toast. We were served the entire feast anyway.


Ann's White Columns Inn

4.6 on November 05, 2012

We went to Bar Harbor to see Acadia National Park and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay- The breakfast's were fantastic and they provided a wine and cheese social each evening which gave us a chance to interact and visit with the other guests. When we go back to Bar Harobor, we will make reservations here again. :)


Great Value

4.2 on October 30, 2012

Friendly host, great value, comfortable and clean rooms, excellent location in proximity to downtown and Acadia. Nice breakfast as well. Recommended.


Wonderful Host

3.6 on October 22, 2012

This was our second stay, we truly enjoyed our week end, especially the wine and cheese. The location to Bar Harbor cannot be better.


Anne's White Columns Inn

4.6 on October 17, 2012

I did not review the dining as we ate elsewhere for breakfast. The Inn was fabulous! Within walking distance to downtown. The house is beautiful and very clean. We stayed in the Meadowridge room. It is quite lovely and has its own deck! The bathroom is small but we had no problem making do. The bed was a little too soft for my liking but still comfortable. I would definitely recommend this inn to everyone!


Good location

3.0 on October 09, 2012

Good location, a quick walk to town. Bob and employee Cathy were very nice and helpful. The breakfasts are lacking in quality and do not seem to vary from French toast and quiche, so if you stay more than 2 nights, the menu is repeated. Also breakfast is not made on site, but brought over in the car from another of their B&Bs, and kept warm on a grill, so not as good as other places we've stayed.


Loved this Inn!

4.6 on September 26, 2012

I'm a solo traveler and I stayed here for one night on my New England Road Trip in September. I stayed in room #3. Everything about this place is first class. I loved my room, (and it smelled really good,) the grounds, food, happy hour, but most of all, Robert! This inn is within walking distance to great shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. The "Social Hour" was fun - especially for someone travelling alone. I met up with other guests for complimentary wine and snacks while we discussed the day, our reasons for travelling and what we planned to do the next day. But most of all, it was Robert who made my stay extra-special. He made dinner reservations for me at a local hot spot and provided a self-guided CD for my quick tour around Acadia National Park. I would definitely recommend this inn!


Welcoming Experience

4.8 on September 24, 2012

This is a place to visit -- people who love Bar Harbor and Acadia and take time to pass on information and their enthusiasm. Comfortable, excellent food.


Convenient location

4.4 on September 24, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay, 3 nights, and would stay there again. It is so convenitent to the downtown area, shops and dining. The host is very cordial and provided us with a wonderful breakfast each day, very tasty and filling. The guests were primarily in our age bracked, 50s and 60s, and were all very friendly and good humored.


Stay at White Columns

4.4 on September 23, 2012

Bob was very helpful with tips regarding local information. Breakfasts were GREAT! Close to shops & dining within Bar Harbor.


Visiting Bar Harbor in the Fall....

5 on September 23, 2012

This was our favorite B&B as we traveled through New England. The grounds and home were well kept and the owners were very friendly. It was comfortable and we felt at home. The breakfast was outstanding every day we were there. We enjoyed the wine and cheese and it gave us an opportunity to meet other guests. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to do in the beautiful town. Robert was always there if we had questions about the local dining or things to do.


One of the Best!

5 on September 22, 2012

Our group of 4 couples (senior citizens) stayed at Anne's White Columns Inn for three nights in September, 2012. We were on a 2 week trip to New England and of course, Bar Harbor was on the schedule. Bob Bahr is the most gracious host, his wife, Anne, a superb cook, and their Inn one of the best we have ever stayed at - including those in Europe. Beautiful, clean and comfortable. Full of information about the area and simply wonderful. When we return to Bar Harbor, you can make sure Anne's White Columns Inn will be the place we will stay. Thank You Bob and Anne!


Nice BB

3.8 on September 19, 2012

Rob gave us a warm welcome in the Anne's White Colums Inn. The location of the BB is excellent. There is no need to jump into the car for dinner again. Good restaurants are in walking distance. Rob gave perfect recommendations where to go out for dinner. Even our rooms was located close to the hall and the porch it was very calm and we never got disturbed in the morning while the breakfast has been prepared. The breakfast was freshly prepared and we have been surprised every morning with other treats. On sunny days breakfast was served in the porch. In the late afternoon, Rob served some white whine and nibbles. He always was around during breakfast and in the afternoon to chat with his guests and answer questions they might have. We had a great stay in Bar Harbor at Anne's White Colums Inn and can recommend this BB to others.


Very Pleasant Stay - Excellent location

4.0 on September 15, 2012

Location was excellent. Bob was a very pleasant host, who provided a lot of good information about places to visit and places to eat. All in all, it was a pleasant experience, and we would certainly stay there again. Our only negative would be that the rooms were small, but we expected that from our research and the pictures of the room provided on-line.


This was an outstanding stay. I am looking forward to returning soon.

3.6 on September 14, 2012

Joyce Dainoff, Cincinnati. There were lots of things that made this a special experience: the food was very good. I liked having access to a heated pool and jacuzzi after a day of hiking. The availablility of a free shuttle was a real plus for me. It took me everywhere I wanted to go and the stop was close at hand. I look forward to a return visit next year.


Charming B&B

3.2 on September 03, 2012

Very confortable, a good place, and the propio's are very gentle and charming...


Great vacation in Bar Harbor!!!

5 on August 29, 2012

We loved this B & B. The owner, Bob, was so welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious!!! The location is perfect - right in town - so we could walk to everything. We would recommend this B & B for anyone visiting Bar Harbor!!!


Perfect escape!

5 on August 25, 2012

This was our second stay at Anne's White Columns Inn, and we enjoyed both very much. The rooms are great for those of us trying to escape our normal overly connected lifestyle. They were quiet, comfortable, and luxurious. The breakfasts were wonderful, as was the afternoon wine and cheese. They accommodated our mostly vegetarian diet with ease, and the food was delicious. The location is ideal for those who want to spend quality time in the Acadia National Park, yet still have a nice place to return to each evening.


Worth every penny!

4.2 on August 23, 2012

What a great atmosphere and Bob was great! He helped with restaurants and local info. Food was fantastic. The room was great and so cozy.


Linde and Jeff Lynn

4.0 on August 23, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Bob was a gracious host and we enjoyed talking to him over wine and cheese and the end of each day. A shame we didn't get to meet Anne. Maybe next time! The gentleman that served breakfast was also very friendly and helpful. Embarrassingly, I never got his name. Highly recommend this B&B.


Bar Harbor R & R

4.6 on August 20, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Anne's White Columns Inn. Location is great, rooms were comfortable and clean, breakfast was outstanding and owners always accommodating.


Comfort and convenience

4.0 on August 07, 2012

Great location for visiting Acadia and Bar Harbor. Helpful info on how to enjoy the national park and town


Awesome honeymoon retreat!

4.8 on August 01, 2012

Arrived with reservation for one night only, but was so delighted with the accommodations and the town of Bar Harbour as well, we decided to stay a second night. Luckily Anne's White Column Inn had a room vacant (last one actually) and we were able to stay in that room. We had the pleasure actually of two different rooms and were delighted with both!


Charming B&B

3.8 on July 30, 2012

We do indeed recommend accomodation at this charming B&B. The "5 o'clock gathering" is a fine arrangement. Kaare & Helen Lustrup, Denmark


2 nights in bar harbor

3.6 on July 29, 2012

We had a very nice 2 night stay at the White Columns Inn. Our host Bob was very welcoming and knowlegable about the area. Make sure that you borrow his cd tour of Acadia when you visit the park. Breakfasts were outstanding!


Shrine Potentates Reunion

5 on July 25, 2012

The Innkeeper, (Bob) was totally accommodating and extremely personable. He saw to our every request and could not have been more pleasant. All rooms were comfortable and decorated in period motif. Definitely worth the prices charged, in fact were a real bargain for the service we received. Breakfasts were more than adequate and delicious. I would recommend to all, this is the place to stay in Bar Harbor!


a beautiful place for your vacation

5 on July 24, 2012

All. Went much better than we expected. A+ place,very nice people.


summer stay

4.8 on July 22, 2012

Loved our stay here and will return! Host was very friendly and helpful, as was staff. They even made a breakfast tray for my wife who was under the weather one morning. I do wish their breakfasts varied a bit more from the alternating quiche and French toast on successive mornings, but the food was excellent as was the Wine and cheese each evening. Loved that we could walk to main street in five minutes.


Fantastic Location Delicious Breakfast Amazing Stay!!

4.2 on July 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at Anne's, and definitely plan to return. There are so many different B+B's in Bar Harbor to choose from, but this one was definitely the right fit for us. It's within walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor and literally a 5 minute drive to Acadia National Park. The grounds are pretty and even though Mt. Desert street is a "main" street, it really is quiet and peaceful at night. No worries there. Each day you can choose where you want to sit for breakfast: in the living room, in the beautiful sun porch, or outside on the porch. The super-nice caretaker of the inn (I wish I knew his name!) brings you breakfast and juice, and, trust me, this is no continental breakfast. It is made off-site by the innkeeper's wife, Anne, and it is always delicious. A typical breakfast begins with a fresh fruit item followed by quiche or thick french toast with bacon/sausage and a baked good (blueberry muffin for example). It is all tasty and plenty; a perfect way to begin your day. You can take as long or as little a time as you like at breakfast; no one rushes you or, on the other hand, keeps you from getting your day started. The room we stayed in was true to the pictures online, clean, and the mattress was very comfortable. It is also kept really cool during the day thanks to the central air conditioner which is a real plus on a hot July day in Bar Harbor. The bathroom was also very clean. We spent 4 relaxing and restful nights in there, and even took a nap or two in there after a long hike in Acadia. Finally, the innkeeper, Bob, is very friendly and relaxed. He tends to check in with everyone at breakfast time and stays around and chats. During breakfast one morning I said to him, "This place is better than home!," and I really meant it! Bar Harbor is truly a magical place, and I highly recommend you enjoy it while staying at Anne's White Columns Inn.


4-day stay in mid-July

4.4 on July 21, 2012

The service was very good. Bob and his staff know the area quite well and can provide good recommendations about what to see and where to go.


Another excellent stay at Anne's White Columns

4.6 on July 18, 2012

This is the third or fourth time I have stayed at Anne's. This time I was joined by my wife. It is a charming inn, and the breakfasts are truly exceptional. The only very slight complaints I would make are about our room: the handle on our bathroom door needed tightening, two out of three of the dresser drawers were filled with extra linens (making it hard for us to unpack), and there were relatively few hangers in the closet for two people staying for four nights. These are all extremely minor, and could be easily fixed (we didn't even mention the problems to the staff, so probably unfair to mention them here!). Overall, a great stay, and the location of the Inn is extremely convenient to everything in Bar Harbor.

Innkeeper Response
It is always good to hear from our guests. We attempt to keep all our rooms in tip top shape, but on occasion we miss something. The bathroom doorknob has been fixed and extra hangers put in the closet. Each room has an extra blanket and pillow. We have now relocated them in the room to make extra space in the drawers. We continue to view each room after cleaning to ensure our guests have a wonderful and comfortable vacation. We hope our efforts will make Anne's White Columns Inn your Home away from Home.!


A Delightful; Visit

5 on July 12, 2012

We could not have had a better time in Bar Harbor. The entire establishment was clean, well-appointed and lovingly decorated. Our host, Bob, was quite friendly and truly made his guests feel like part of the family! Breakfasts were the most incredible I have ever had! We booked the four night special - both the dinner and cruise helped to make our trip to Bar Harbor unforgettable! Shary and Rob Charleston, SC


Delightful stay in Bar Harbor

4.4 on July 11, 2012

Very friendly owner and staff, extremely helpful in making dinner reservations, very conveniently located. We enjoyed this B&B very much and would recommend it to everyone.


Traveling Tulsans

3.0 on July 11, 2012

Very nice clean room, not the warmest reception, but we weren't looking to be entertained or gushed over. The only thing is that the air conditioning was on when we arrived and room was pleasant, but due to the central air conditioning it was shut off in the morning. Taking a shower and trying to dress was challenging since it was very warm in the room. We did not have a balcony with doors to open, so we were stuck. I had to stand out in the parking lot to cool off, and I'm normally cold. We only had French toast as a hot entree for breakfast, so we left before and ate out. But, the actual inn was actually charming. Very clean.

Innkeeper Response
Anne's White Columns Inn is a ten room Bed and Breakfast in downtown Bar Harbor. Unlike hotels, we have chosen to use central air instead of noisy in-wall or in-window air units. We feel this gives are guests a comfortable and quiet nights sleep. Our system is set at 73 degrees. If it is a cool night the system will shut off automatically. Each room has a ceiling fan and multiple windows. We also have window fans for those guests that prefer the smell of fresh sea air. We offer a three course breakfast each morning. We have a seven day rotating menu and offer a choice of "steel" cut oatmeal, cereal or scrambled eggs for those who have dietary restrictions or who do not wish a heavy breakfast. A common complaint is that the breakfasts are so good that our guests can not finish them. When visiting Bar Harbor, we hope you will chose to make Anne's White Columns in your Home away from Home.


Warm welcome to this charming inn

4.2 on July 08, 2012

We quite enjoyed our stay at Anne's White Columns Inn in July. We booked a small room so we were not surprised by the tight quarters. There were spaces to tuck all of our things but little room between the bed and the bathroom. We would definitely book a bigger room next time. An extra shelf or two in the bathroom would have helped. The host was wonderful, making us feel right at home. And the breakfasts were delicious! The location is excellent; an easy walk into town.


Worth staying

4.8 on July 06, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay. The owners and staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and polite. Their breakfasts were subperb. The rooms were a great value for the money in Bar Habor. We definitely would stay there again.


Great Place!

4.6 on July 03, 2012

Very friendly staff. Great place to stay in Bar Harbor. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Very central location.


Always a pleasure staying at White Columns!

5 on July 02, 2012

We love staying here and recommend it highly. Great location, rooms, and service.


charming, comfortable friendly

5 on June 21, 2012

Went to Bar Harbor for a training, staying at this bed and breakfast made this feel like a vacation. I would happily visit again.


Beautiful Rooms and Delicious Breakfasts in Downtown Bar Harbor

4.4 on June 20, 2012

I love Anne's White Columns and stay there whenever I am in Bar Harbor. Bob, the host, is incredibly knowledgeable about the area and about Acadia National Park and is willing to share his expertise whenever desired, but never in a pushy way. My favorite room is Hare Forest, but I've enjoyed each one I've stayed in. The rooms are relatively small, compared to what you would find in a five-star hotel, but their wonderful historical appearance more than makes up for the relatively small size. I appreciate that each room has its own private bath. Breakfasts are truly delightful--not only three courses of tasty food, but a chance to meet the other interesting guests. On my recent stay, I breakfasted one morning with a couple from North Carolina and the next morning with a couple from Germany. The location is perfect for walking to Bar Harbor's best restaurants and to the harbor itself.


Happy memories

5 on June 10, 2012

Absolutely a class one bed and breakfast. A warm and welcoming place. Will return.


Nice stay in Bar Harbor

3.8 on June 07, 2012

Bathroom was a little small and there was no closet space. However, the inn was close to all activities and the food was excellent.


always a pleasure!

5 on June 03, 2012

We always enjoy our stay at the White Columns. The attention to detail is unmatched. Bob is the ultimate host from the moment you arrive til the last hug good-bye. Wine and cheese(and more1) at 5:00 plus good conversation with any number of other inn guests. After a good nights sleep in comfy beds you awake to a gourmet breakfast. Creme brulee french toast, bacon quiche,pancakes, fresh berry crisp, muffins and croissants all made by Bob's wife Anne .I would live here if I could! Another treat is to listen to Bob play piano at the Bar Harbor Inn!


Absolutely wonderful

4.6 on June 01, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The breakfast was to die for and all homemade and the wine & cheese every afternoon was wonderful. The rooms are cozy, ours had a little balcony. Clean and comfortable. The host couldn't have been nicer and joined us every afternoon for wine & cheese. This was our second stay and we are planning another long weekend in July this year


Excellent Location w/Excellent Accomodations

4.4 on May 30, 2012

Lovely B&B conveniently located within walking distance to shops and the harbor. The owner was very personable and was able to provide local restaurant recommendations along with other helpful tips. Definitely will return to this establishment!!


Great Host, Great Food, Great Location

4.8 on May 28, 2012

Had a wonderful time at a womderful place. The host was not only very pleasant but also extremely accommodating and flexible. Within 2 short blocks of downtown, 4 from the harbor and less than 2 miles to Acadia Park. We will stay there again when we return to Bar Harbor.


Definitely recommend

4.0 on May 25, 2012

Loved our 2 night stay. Bob is an excellent host, very welcoming and informative. Rooms are all individual and tastefully decorated, bed extra comfortable. The wine and cheese each afternoon is a nice touch and enabled us to meet fellow guests. Breakfast was served either inside or on the balcony and, while a bit rich for our tastes was well cooked and beautifully presented. Loved Bar harbour and if we came back we would stay here again.


Perfect Thanksgiving Weekend

5 on November 28, 2011

We spent two days at this in over Thanksgiving. The Inn keepers are warm and welcoming and the breakfasts are delicious. What better way to start your day than with a great cup of coffee and dessert before breakfast! We will be back.


Feels like coming home

4.0 on November 27, 2011

We have stayed at Anne's many times and would not stay anywhere else. It's location is perfect, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Anne and Bob are excellent hosts. The breakfasts are outstanding and the wine and cheese hour is always entertaining.


Piacevole permanenza

5 on November 12, 2011

Ottimo per visitare Acadia NP, a pochi passi dal centro di Bar Harbor. Pulito, confortevole, ottime le colazioni e l'aperitivo serale a base di vino e formaggio.


A Happy Experience

4.0 on November 10, 2011

Finding a good in in Bar Harbor in the late fall can be a challenge. I was pleased with how welcoming the owners were and the helpfulness to make my stay wonderful. The room was comfortable and the inn was close to Bar Harbor's downtown. I would definitely return. Pam George


Pleasant 3-day stay.

4.4 on November 06, 2011

Wife and I enjoyed 3-day stay, particularly the evening wine and snacks and conversation with hostess, and with owner, Bob, and other guests. Very convenient to walk to restaurants in Bar harbor. Nicely appointed room.


Our Maine Stay

5 on October 31, 2011

Lovely weekend. Lovely B and B. Great hosts!!


Great service

4.0 on October 23, 2011

My husband and I visited Anne's for one night in October. The B&B is within walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor, and a short drive to Acadia Nat'l Park. The owner was very helpful and accomodating, without being overbearing. We had to leave before breakfast in the morning, but Bob did give us a bag breakfast to eat in the car. We would definately stay again.


A Great Memory!

4.0 on October 21, 2011

Bob is a wonderful host. He interacted with guests in a very friendly manner. Whenever our discussions hit a question no one could answer, Bob immediately got up, turned to Google, and in no time provided us with everything we wanted to know. Our every need was anticipated and everything was done to make us feel at home.


Anne's White Columns Inn, Bar Harbor, Maine

5 on October 20, 2011

This is our second visit to this Bed and Breakfast and we're planning on staying here on our next vacation. The breakfast is prepared by Anne and is absolutely delicious. Bob is the host at the Inn and is one of the friendliest/helpful Innkeeper that we have ever met. We highly recommend this Inn. Sandy and Jim Lane


Sure bet, close to town.

4.6 on October 13, 2011

Perfect destination. Walk to town. Clean, quiet rooms, excellent breakfast. Robert & Anne, perfect hosts, know how to take care of guests. Would return again next trip. Bob & Darlene NJ


Beautiful house - excellent stay

4.6 on October 13, 2011

One of the best stays during our holidays in New England! We enjoyed the hospitality of Bob and his team, the wonderful breakfast and the chees and wine assamblies in the afternoos. We will return! Juliana and Rainer (Germany)


Pleasant stay, but could have been better

2.8 on October 05, 2011

The inn was well kept and pleasant, but did not do the extra thing that could have made the stay outstanding. There was only one entree offered at breakfast. It was served to you. They did not offer other options-most B&B's have a selection of cold cereals or offer to make you something else if you do not like their the hot dish of the day. The rooms were large, clean and pleasant. They could have been more generous with replacing the complementary soaps, as they were used.


A very pleasant stay in Bar Harbor

3.4 on October 02, 2011

Anne's White Columns Inn is a very pleasant place to stay in Bar Harbor. The room was comfortable, the bed was exceptionally comfortable, and breakfast was tasty. The location was excellent--just a couple of blocks away from wonderful restaurants and shopping in Bar Harbor. The price was very reasonable.


Great time....wish we could have stayed longer!

5 on September 25, 2011

We were traveling with our friends from Texas and could only stay 1 night. We really enjoyed the conversation with Bob and he gave us some great tips for touring the area. It was raining the day we toured Acadia National Park- Bob loaned us an audio CD to use while we drove through the Park. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was excellent. We hope to be back next year!


Another wonderful visit!

3.6 on September 20, 2011

Our third visit to Anne's White Columns Inn was a delight, as usual. We met some wonderful people from all over this country as we sipped wine during Happy Hour and as always the staff was very helpful in helping with dinner reservations and excursion destinations. Being able to walk into downtown is always a plus!!!


Bar Harbor visit

4.8 on September 16, 2011

Bob is an excellent host. He was very accommodating, friendly and made us feel at home.


loved it. highly recommend!!!!!

5 on September 12, 2011

Beautiful room, helpful owner, delicious breakfast, gorgeous facilities, fabulous location, met very nice people too!!


Anne's is Amazing

4.6 on September 11, 2011

We stayed for a couple days after Labor Day. Ron and his staff, especially Sophia, were so accommodating and thoughtful. They made us dinner reservations and provided us with an audio guided tour CD for Acadia National Park. Breakfast, made by Ron's wife, is alone worth the stay. If you have the budget, you couldn't ask for more in a B and B.


September Visit

4.4 on September 10, 2011

A great place to stay. Centrally located and Bob, Sophia and Andy were all very helpful...


Stay at Anne's White Columns Inn

4.0 on September 05, 2011

The house and the rooms are comfortable and the owner is very very nice, the location is very convenient, close to main roads but very quiet! recommended!!


Wonderful B and B

5 on September 01, 2011

Bob is a wonderful host and we enjoyed visiting with him during Breakfast and the evening wine. The wine and cheese is a great touch. Had a great time and would recommend the inn to anyone visiting Bar Harbor. Very close to shops and restaurants.


Oboe Mom, August 2011

5 on September 01, 2011

The Inn was a delight! It was the best 'Inn' experience I've had. the Hosts made us all so welcome we felt we were real Guests. the food was delicious I felt we were very lucky to have found such a delightful experience.


Anne's White Columns Inn

5 on August 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed from August 25th thru the 27th. Great place. Everone really nice. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is great. The wine and cheese are great in the afternoon. Met some really nice people. We would stay there again. Bar harbor is very nice and a wonderful place to visit.


Very Comfortable, Great breakfast

5 on August 29, 2011

This was a very nice place to stay. The room was large and comfortable, the location is fabulous. Only a few minutes from places to eat and the harbor but away from the crowds. I loved the advice on restaurants and things to do! It was very welcoming to have tea and coffee available all the time. I would definitely stay here again!


Wonderful!!!

5 on August 29, 2011

Wonderful : clean, comfortable, delicious in a word perfect!!


Anne's White Columns Inn

5 on August 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The White Columns in Bar Harbor, Me. and were delighted beyond expectation. If we ever go back to Bar Harbor, we would definitely stay at The White Columns again.


Anne's White Columns Inn

3.6 on August 26, 2011

This was our second visit to "the Columns," and we will definitely go back. The breakfasts and afternoon wine tastings were very nice and fun. The room was lovely and clean.


Wonderful Vacation

5 on August 23, 2011

Very nice BandB. Owner very pleasant and accomodating. Best Band B we ever stayed in. Great location. Would definitly stay again.


You won't be disappointed!

4.8 on August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night in the Birch Point room in August of 2011. We chose the room because of the excellent pricing, knowing that the room would be small. The room was small but it was very clean, there was a ceiling fan, a television, the bathroom was in great condition, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and the public areas of the house were lovely. Breakfast was served at individual tables inside and on the porch. The food was delicious and included fresh pears topped with yogurt and blackberries, delicious homemade french toast with sausage links, and a moist slice of banana bread. Coffee and juice were also served. Breakfast was served expediently, and did not interfere with our sightseeing schedule. The location of the Inn was perfect and we easily walked downtown. I highly recommend the Inn and hope we can plan a return visit ourselves.


My Mom's Stay

5 on August 22, 2011

My mother and her sister loved her two nights at your inn and wished she could have stayed longer. She said it was delightful in every way!


A great Stay at Anne's White Columns Inn

4.2 on August 14, 2011

Had a great stay at Anne's White Columns Inn. The service was truly outstanding - Bob is a great host. The daily Wine and Cheese time was a great way to talk to other travelers.


Wonderful location

3.2 on August 10, 2011

The location is very handy to the downtown. The owner was helpful regarding where to dine. His wine and cheese party was fantastic! Great snacks and drinks while being able to chat with the guests from all over the country.


Our stay July 2011

5 on August 05, 2011

Excellent value. The host were very attentive and helpful. The food was well prepared and very tasty. The inn is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if returning to Bar harbor.


A Fabulous Stay

5 on August 04, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Anne's White Columns. Our stay was great, Bob was the perfect and most helpful host. He was right there with suggesting dinner locations that could accomodate our large party for dinner and he was right on. The room was great, the breakfast was perfect and the audio tour we borrowed from the Inn was very helpful getting us through the Acadia National Park.


Superbe

3.6 on August 04, 2011

Nous avons grandement apprécié notre sejour à cet endroit. Chambre confortable, personnel attentionné et localisé près des activités. Nous y retournerons certainement.


Friendly atmosphere at a very good location

4.4 on August 01, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at the Anne´s White Columns Inn. The staff and the Innkeeper (Bob) were very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice, we slept very well, the only detail is that we had an old fshioned and small TV-set. It was a very nice gesture to invite guests for a glass of wine with cheese every afternoon, in order for guests and inn-keeper to get together. We found the location of the Inn in Bar Harbour very good, walking distance ( 5 mins) to the village centre, nice surroundings, easy to park. The internet worked well.


Perfect Loction

4.0 on July 30, 2011

Bar Harbor is a beautiful little town and staying at the Anne's White Columns Inn made our stay truly memorable. The Host was welcoming and always available for great conversation or assistance. I will stay there again!


Acadia 2011

4.8 on July 27, 2011

Expert travel advice from our host, superb breakfast and service, excellent wine and cheese in the afternoon; one could not ask for more!


A Wonderful Find

5 on July 25, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Anne's White Columns. Our room was great-nicely decorated,very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. In addition, we had a very spacious porch off our room. The common rooms were pleasant and we felt at home playing cards,reading,or just sitting and relaxing. The staff was great. Bob,Anne's husband was a charming host. The other members of the staff were there ready to please. They were well informed about the area and were able to recommend places to eat,etc. When the men in our party returned home in the evening after playing golf, the they were provided with the wine and cheese and crackers that they had missed earlier. We stayed four nights and took the special package which included a dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn (salad,entree ,dessert and beverage our our choosing). We were seated by a window and had a gorgeous view of the harbor. We also received two tickets for a scenic boat cruise out of Northwest Harbor. The cruise was very enjoyable made more so by the beautiful weather and informative guide. We topped it off with a complimentary bottle of champagne though we could have had wine if we preferred.


Second Stay

4.4 on July 20, 2011

We found ourselves with a free weekend and didn't hesitate to go back to Bar Harbor and Anne's White Column Inn. Great location, value, and spectacular breakfast. The late afternoon wine receptions are not to be missed. We will definately be back next year.


a very lovely stay as usual!

4.8 on July 15, 2011

Hospitality is great - rooms are lovely - location is perfect and the food is terrific!


Charming Bed and Breakfast

3.6 on July 15, 2011

Good location and very nice rooms in a beautiful house. We loved to sit outside and admire the garden and the surroundings.


Great Place, Great Location!

4.0 on July 13, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at Anne's White Columns this past weekend! The owner was very friendly and helpful when it came to giving advice on things to do and places to eat! The rooms were comfortable and affordable. The location was perfect! Close enough to walk everywhere downtown but far enough away that it was still very quiet. The breakfasts were by far the best part! We had amazing breakfasts both mornings that kept us full until dinnertime. We were also pleasantly surprised by a free wine and cheese hour every evening. A great way to get to know other people staying at the Inn. Overall, we had fantastic experience at the White Columns and would definitely stay there again!


Very pleased with our stay

4.4 on July 09, 2011

Anne's White Columns Inn is convenient, comfortable, and an excellent place to stay. Breakfasts are large and delicious. Andy served us wonderful quiches and french toast, muffins and breads, cobblers and compotes during our stay. Each meal was a little different and wonderful. Wine and cheese with Bob in the evening was a nice way to meet others staying there and learn more about the area. The water pressure in the shower is excellent and the room was lovely. We definitely recommend staying here. Hope Maruzo & Gerry Shultz


Great experience

4.4 on July 09, 2011

The place is perfectly located in Bar Harbor. Our room was nice and comfy and the food was good. We really enjoyed talking with Bob who runs the place.


Definitely Recommend

4.6 on July 05, 2011

We loved our stay here. The service was excellent and the breakfasts were amazing. The wine and cheese hour is a must. The room we stayed in was nice, but nothing fancy. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. It is located within walking distance of everything in downtown Bar Harbor. Bob was extremely friendly and even brought us a backpack from his house to use when we went hiking. We would definitely recommend this place!


Awesome Place to Stay In Bar Harbor

4.8 on June 22, 2011

This is a very pleasant B&B, the rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is wonderful, location is perfect. Only a couple of blocks to shopping, dining, and the waterfront. Very reasonable rates. Hosts and staff are very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.


Quaint Anne's White Columns Inn

5 on June 22, 2011

We had a wonderful and fun one-night stay at this beautiful and quaint Inn with a wonderful first floor bedroom and an absolutely delicious breakfast on their porch. Great hospitality by Bob and a very convenient location to walk to shops, restaurants, waterfront and walking path along ocean. We highly recommend Anne's White Columns Inn!


Anne's White Columns Inn review

4.8 on June 15, 2011

Our stay at Anne's White Columns Inn was fabulous. Bob Bahr is a wonderful and gracious host, very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to. The afternoon wine and cheese was a delight, affording everyone the opportunity to meet and chat. Highly recommended.


We loved it all!

5 on June 12, 2011

There was nothing we didn't like and will be trying to figure out how to get there again soon. The staff was very committed to providing for all the needs of the guests. We also loved the beauty of the place........ inside and out. Thank you, Bob, Sophia and Andrew. We will miss you.


great stay

4.6 on June 11, 2011

Excellent value, friendly, knowledgeable and efficient service superb location made this an excellent place for a 2 night stay. I would recommend this B&B to others and would come back again.


just what we needed!

4.2 on June 08, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful days in Bar Harbor and the Inn was just what we were looking for: charming, clean, and just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. Bob our host was very friendly and a great host. Oh, and the breakfasts were fantastic too!


Definitely on the revisit list

4.6 on May 30, 2011

A wonderful spot, great location for walking to/fro downtown. Great host, and AMAZING breakfasts. It is definitely on our list of places to revisit and highly recommend it to others.


Wonderfully Unforgettable Honeymoon!

5 on May 29, 2011

Bob, the innkeeper, is the most welcoming and accommodating host you could ask for. Extremely friendly staff, delicious breakfast every morning, and wine and cheese in the evening make the stay even more pleasant. His helpful recommendations always led us to a great experience in town and around the island. It was a trip we'll never forget, and we plan to return at some point in the future.


Always a pleasure.....

5 on May 28, 2011

We love everything about White Columns - it's always our B & B of choice on the Island.


Stay at White Columns between 5/19 to 5/22

5 on May 25, 2011

It was our fourth time staying at the White Columns Inn. Since going there in 2004, we have had an enjoyable time. The convenience to downtown Bar Harbor is unbeatable. Bob is an excellent host who always takes time to greet those who are guests. My wife and I stay in the Meadowridge room, one of the most spacious rooms with an outside. Whenever our destination is Bar Harbor, we never think to look anywhere else to stay because Anne's White Columns Inn always feels like home.


Anne's White Columns B and b

4.0 on November 18, 2010

I could list Outstanding for every category. We had a wonderful time and don't know how it could have been any better. Plus the friendliness of the owners, willingness to give suggestions of places to go, and just a cozy visit at the end of the day made our visit like being with old friends.


Off-Season at White Columns

4.4 on November 16, 2010

Lovely renovated church, but definitely a specific decorative taste. Excellent location, excellent service. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings. Breakfasts were excellent.


A Real Gem!

5 on November 11, 2010

I would strongy recommend Anne's White Columns Inn for so many reasons! First, when you arrive you will be graciousy welcomed and shown to your room, which is beautifully decorated. I have stayed there five times now and each and every time I have been impressed with Bob and Anne's knowledge of the Bar Harbor area, including history and interesting facts... not to leave out all the activities and sights to be seen and choices of fine restaurants to dine at for lunch and dinner. Also, each and every morning is like Christmas with a surprise of a delicious breakfast with elegant presentation!


Great place, wonderful service

5 on October 27, 2010

The owners, Ann and Bob are great. The wine and cheese "get to meet the other guests event" was very thoughful. Room was very nice, breakfast was spectacular. Would highly recommend.


Wouderful place

4.8 on October 21, 2010

Great place to stay in a good location They had a great get together at 5PM each day to meet other people and have wine. The people that ran the place were great and a lot of help. The food was excellent.


Lovely, friendly, delicious!

4.8 on October 14, 2010

Close to everything, great food, delightful inkeeper, charming and spotless room, and fantastic conversations with other guests during both breakfast and the evening reception.


Great Stay!

4.2 on October 10, 2010

Our time at the inn was outstanding. Bob, the host, was exceptionally helpful with suggestions about the area and activities. Both restaurants he suggested were excellent, as were his driving suggestions for best scenery. The breakfast was fantastic, and they had varied options for those who had dietary restrictions. Would stay again!


Sweet Spot

5 on October 09, 2010

Spacious room with a balcony. Delicious breakfast. Bonus late afternoon gathering with wine and cheese. Engaging and personable inn keeper.


A relaxing stay at Anne's

3.4 on October 07, 2010

I have been lucky over the years to enjoy many adventures at several B&Bs throughout New England and Anne's is right up there in terms of: service, value, and a location that couldn't be beat. My girlfriend and I enjoyed the quaint atmosphere of the B&B and Bar Harbor along with the welcoming nature of Bob our host who was well in tuned to the local area (restaurants, places to see/ things to do,etc) and insightful when addressing the questions and needs of his guests.


A Treasure in Bar Harbor

5 on October 04, 2010

We had the most enjoyable stay in Bar Harbor at Anne's White Column Inn Bed and Breakfast. Bob, our host, made us feel very welcome. We were treated "Royally" and felt right at home. Our accommodations were perfect and we can't say enough about Anne's delicious breakfasts. Also, a really nice touch is the late afternoon wine, cheese and munchies to be enjoyed on the porch. The location of the Inn is ideal being within walking distance to the shops and restaurants Bar Harbor has to offer. In just a few minutes drive from the Inn, you can be at the top of Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park viewing Maine's spectacular scenery. Anyone visiting Bar Harbor would be very fortunate to stay at Anne's White Column Inn. It's a treasure!!!


Wonderful weekend getaway!

4.4 on September 22, 2010

My fiance and I stayed at Anne's White Columns Inn just after labor day weekend, and we had a phenomenal stay. Bob, the owner, is wonderful and was extremely helpful with all our questions. He recommended great things to do and wonderful restaurants to eat at. Our room was spotless clean and extremely comfortable. We even had a little balcony to ourselves where we drank wine at night. It is super close to the town, which is also a plus, so we often walked down to the town to grab some ice cream. I would definitely recommend it to someone else!!!


We were only there one night....

3.4 on September 14, 2010

We booked only one night. The hospitality was wonderful. Bob was a great host, and provided good conversation at the afternoon wine and cheese. Our room was small but manageable. The chair was a bit tight in the corner, that was tough to use. Our "biggest" issue was with the overhead fan - it's motor was quite loud. It should be replaced! Those were our only issues and why it was a meet expectations and not greater. I didn't notice an AC unit, but it could be on central air. We didn't need it anyway! The shower was excellent - a huge plus! The grounds were quite nice and we actually wished we could have spent more time there. We would consider it again. We left before breakfast as it was our last night and we wanted a quick start. So we can't comment on that.


Great place to stay.

4.4 on September 11, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the White Columns Inn. We were able to book a nice room at a reasonable price. We were fortunate as it was only about 2 weeks in advance. Even though it was one of the moderate rooms it was very clean and had enough room. Convenient to town as well as convenient to Acadia National Park. We walked to into town in only a few minutes. Bob was a very gracious host and innkeeper. We would definitely stay again.


Lovely in every way

4.8 on September 10, 2010

The difference between an excellent hotel and an excellent B&B is that the latter has a warm friendly home-like atmosphere, a congenial host who sparks delightful conversation, graceful service, wine and cheese in the late afternoon, and delicious breakfasts served in a lovely setting. Anne's White Columns has all of these. I give it top rating.


Great Place to Stay

5 on September 04, 2010

We are Upstate New Yorker's and the First time to Bar Harbor and staying here at Ann's White Columns Inn made the trip the best. Great location, excellent facilities, great food and the host Bob was very helpful and made us feel right at home. If we get a chance to visit again, we will stay here.


Recommeded

3.8 on August 13, 2010

Will book again if travelling back to Bar Harbour


Great location good value, nice and kind service

3.8 on August 12, 2010

I believe the title say it all! Dedinetely a B&B to consider if you want to stay in town and have an easy access to the carriage trails.


White Columns

3.8 on August 11, 2010

Very pleasant, quite and clean operation. Close to town. Operator was very hospitable and helpful.


BEST PLACE TO STAY IN BAR HARBOR

4.0 on August 10, 2010

This is the number 1 place to stay. With Bob playing the piano and Ann singing in the morning, you can tell the owners of this property simply just love serving their guest. No special request is impossible for them to solve for their guest.


We had a wonderful time!

4.2 on July 08, 2008

Thanks for a fabulous time! We enjoyed the stay, the breakfasts were outstanding and we appropriate the kindness of the hosts. Thank you!


Anne's White Columns Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $175
  • Reviews (211) 4.4
  • Rooms 10

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (207) 288-5357

Visit Website »

View details

Top