Get a free $75 gift card with a $300+ purchase

Recent Reviews in Mackinac Island, Michigan

Perfect retreat at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2014

I grew up in Michigan and wanted my wife and children from Southern California to experience the magic of Mackinac Island. The Metivier Inn was the perfect place for us while we explored the island. We had the suite which included two rooms with a bed and sofa sleeper. A fridge, 2 televisions, etc. The breakfasts were exceptional - read as: outstanding. During the day, coffee and cookies were available. There is ample porch to lounge and watch nature or in the front as a very occasional horse carriage passes by. It is not a noisy location - it's just perfectly far away enough to not be a busy street but to also have some great views. The owners and employees are all very nice and very helpful. We spent 3 days and kept busy on the island exploring and always were glad to be at the inn. The only caveat to the island itself is to bring some mosquito repellent for the dusk hours.

View more reviews for this inn


Mackinac Island at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at The Metivier a number of times and love it. Rooms are a bit on the small side but very nice and comfortable. Staff is great, breakfast is always fantastic and the front porch is great for relaxing and watching the horses, carriages and bikes go by. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful stay at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2014

Would highly recommend the Metivier Inn & hope to go back again someday. Our room looked brand new with freshly painted walls & delightfully subtle stenciled walls. The plantings surrounding the Inn were beautifully done & the atmosphere was most relaxing & quiet. The location is convenient to great restaurants & shopping. The owner and staff were very friendly & accommodating. Our room was spotless & as you can tell we were most pleased with our lodging.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Wonderful Weekend on Mackinac Island! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on July 10, 2014

From reservation to check out we had a wonderful experience! We had a particular room that we requested and we were graciously accommodated. Loved the location ... very convenient to everything but not in the "middle" of hustle and bustle. Can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint inn, friendly host at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.0 reviewed on July 07, 2014

Nice location to town and boat docks. Love the clipity-clop of the horses throughout the day. Quiet night on a beautiful porch overlooking outstanding flowers.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.2 reviewed on July 07, 2014

We stayed as a family of three in one room and grandparents in another room. We all couldn't have been happier! The staff was so helpful and friendly, the breakfast was delicious and the rooms were very clean and beautiful. We've already recommend it to others and look forward to staying again ourselves! Thank you!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, relaxing, outstanding breakfast at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.2 reviewed on July 03, 2014

This place is great. Beautiful fun gardens. Cosy living room with a wood burning stove. Rooms are typical small island size but clean and brightly decorated. This was our second time and I'm sure we'll be back for a third.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2014

We absolutely loved the Metivier Inn! Our room was exactly how it was advertised. The atmosphere of the Inn is relaxing and very pleasant. Couldn't have chosen a better place for our first visit to the Island! We will definately be back!

View more reviews for this inn


First trip to Mackinac Island at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on June 28, 2014

This was our first trip to the island, and thanks to the friendly and courteous staff at the Metivier, we had a wonderful time! The Inn was nicely appointed, the rooms were clean, and the food was excellent! The location was superb - 1 block off Main Street - yet quiet and relaxing! Loved hearing the clip clop of horse hooves throughout our stay. After seeing what else was available on the island, this will definitely be our 'go to' B&B next time we visit! Highly recommended!! Thanks David and Blanca!!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellant Stay on Mackinac Island at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

We had our family at this bed and breakfast including our grown children. It was very close to anything on the island. Being off the main street it was not noisy but very easy to get anywhere. We had a blast. The breakfast and cookies were very good with a good variety. We will definitely return here when we return.

View more reviews for this inn


We will return! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

We had a delightful stay at this wonderful Inn. The location was ideal. The facility was charming, clean, well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time and want to return to Mackinac Island; but, will only stay at Metivier Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

3.6 reviewed on June 23, 2014

Have returned to the Metivier for the past 5 years. We love the location, the gardens and the breakfast is wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B-quiet,yet close to town. at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

3.8 reviewed on June 22, 2014

Stayed for one night. Great location for walking to all stores,tourist sites etc.Clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


We're glad we found this B & B! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.2 reviewed on June 19, 2014

The property was lovely, the rooms were quaint, and the service was excellent! We'll stay here again someday soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent place to stay at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.2 reviewed on June 16, 2014

A very nice place to stay, and very well located just a black from the main street on the island. Quiet enough to sit on the beautiful porch and watch people, but close to activities. Rooms a bit small, but certainly roomy enough and very nicely decorated. Warm and friendly staff and a very nice breakfast. Wonderful place to visit on the island.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B on Mackinac Island at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 15, 2014

This a very charming B&B. My husband and I have stayed here almost every year for at least 15 years. We just celebrated our 50th anniversary at the Inn and enjoyed the beauty of the Inn and Mackinac Island. We stayed in the 3rd floor turret room - sitting in the alcove with the windows open gave us the feeling of our own separate porch. Breakfasts are always delectable. I especially love Dave's oatmeal. We have stayed in a number of B&Bs around the country and this is our favorite.

View more reviews for this inn


A nice basic, quiet inn at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

3.0 reviewed on June 06, 2014

This was a pleasant place to stay for a night, quiet, well-kept, warm-spirited, in the center of town but a block up from noisy, busy Main St. and the docks. During the day the horse carriages clip clop by, a relaxing, old world sound. There's a lovely front porch, though the rear lawn area is nothing special. Breakfast was generous and varied. Our room was clean and attractive. It was also very small, had a toilet and shower in a closet-sized space, with the sink across from the bed. There are very few amenities and few surfaces: these factors made us feel the room was at least 20% overpriced. It was disappointing to note that long in advance we were given a room - or that there are any rooms - directly next to the sitting porch - the windows are literally inches away from where people may be sitting and talking. The porch has a 9 pm "silence" curfew but the situation can have a way of compromising a sense of privacy and space. After 9 pm though it was very quiet, as were neighboring rooms. If you stay there I recommend carefully choosing where in the inn you stay, since most rooms do not face the porch and the street.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on June 02, 2014

Loved the peacefulness of the location. Exceptionally clean rooms and a most accommodating and pleasant staff. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at :) at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on May 29, 2014

It was very nice place great location as it wasn't in the main straat but very close to everything, very clean. I only would love to have is more different food at breakfast as I don't eat pork ;) Thanks for the great place you have.

View more reviews for this inn


outstanding at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on May 29, 2014

great staff

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on May 28, 2014

The place was beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay

View more reviews for this inn


Relax and Renew at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on May 20, 2014

What a wonderful time my husband and I had at the Metivier Inn. It is centrally located one block from the main street. Our King size room was just newly remodeled and the bed was very comfortable. The owners are very knowledgeable and helpful. Each morning we had a fantastic breakfast and my husband loved their coffee, which he is picky about his coffee. From recommending entertainment,booking our reservations to making sure our "Taxi" picked us up on time for our delicious dinner at the Chop House. You know you are staying at the right place when the "Taxi" drivers all agree that it is the nicest Bed and Breakfast on the island.

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to stay! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2014

This was our second time on the island and Dave and Blanca were the reason! Their hospitality and service were always complimented by the comfortable room and outstanding breakfast. We will be returning on our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Not Disappointed at Cloghaun B&B (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on February 22, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Cloghaun B&B the last weekend in September 2013. Although I have stayed at B&B's several times, this was my friends first exprerience with this type of lodging. We were both so pleased with the atmosphere of the inn and the service of the staff that we decided we are going to make this an annual event. We have already made reservations for this fall. Visiting the island is a special experience, but staying on the island is magical. You cannot beat sitting out on that porch and listening to the mesmerizing sound of the horses hoofs going clip-clop as they stroll by the inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Weekend! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the jacuzzi suite for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. We found the room to be comfortable and quiet. The Inn is located close to the downtown area allowing us to walk to dinner and shopping. Dave and Blanca were welcoming and helpful. My wife and I are already talking about returning next year. I would recommend this Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


First Time to Mackinac at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on October 14, 2013

I finally had the chance to visit Mackinac Island! Even though we only stayed for one night, it was great. The Metivier Inn was a lovely B&B to stay at. I hope to venture by next season and stay a few more days.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B and B on the island at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2013

We have been staying at Metivier's since the early 80's. At no time have we been dissappointed with their service and hospitality. The rooms are always clean and the breakfasts are the best on the island. David and Blanca work very hard to make your stay a very enjoyable one.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent all round at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on October 10, 2013

We were 2 couples on our first visit to the island in late Sept. Location was excellent ( we were not active walkers!) , Inn and rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable and hosts very accommodating to our wishes. Was great having breakfast out on the front porch each morning Would not hesitate to recommend or return.

View more reviews for this inn


I love it! at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on October 08, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time even though it rained much of our weekend stay. The Metivier Inn breakfast was scrumptious and the rooms are cute and comfortable. We felt like we were really living in an old-time B&B, except that the Inn is equipped with wireless service, cable TV, A/C and electric heat. We rode bikes and walked and burned enough calories to justify eating the fabulous food at a few of the many wonderful restaurants that cater to us weekend Islanders! We will definitely return to Mackinac Island, and we will ALWAYS stay at the Metivier Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


Fourth time staying. at Metivier Inn (Mackinac Island, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2013

We've stayed on the island several times. The last 4 have been at the Metivier and any trips in the future will also be at the Metivier. The staff is as friendly as they come and always make us feel welcome. The breakfast is something we always look forward to and has never disappointed. The location is perfect for us. Market street is one block from the main street in town. It's a much quieter location but still only a block away from most of the shopping and places to eat. Our favorite spot is on the front porch drinking coffee and watching the horses and island visitors go by. Note that many of the guests we start conversations with are also repeat visitors to the Metivier. If you stay on the island we highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. (Just an FYI, we have been visiting Mackinaw Island for 37 years. Staying approx. 15 times.)

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}