The Blushing Oyster Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
59 Reviews

Write A Review

Charming Centrally located B&B with 5-star food

4.6 on September 14, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Blushing Oyster, which is located in historic Yarmouth, off the commercialized path on Old King's Highway. The B&B felt like it was nestled in a quaint small town. Within walking distance were 2-3 great restaurants - we enjoyed being able to walk to dinner after a day of driving/biking around to all cape cod has to offer. We felt the centrally located Blushing Oyster made getting around the cape easy (15 mins to hyannis, 45 min to Provincetown), it is excellent for anyone who wants a diverse excursion! The B&B was surrounded by beautiful gardens with ample parking. Holly, the owner, keeps the B&B spotless. There is a comfy living room and outside patio, offering guests multiple lounge options. Our room was charming, which contained it's own bathroom. Every morning there was a fabulous unique 2 course breakfast awaiting us. Holly is a great cook and loves to create memorable dishes for her guests. She's was a pleasure to chat with. Not sure where to go - ask Holly. Forgot your beach chairs, umbrella or towel - Holly has a closet filled with these extras for guests to borrow - which we gladly took advantage of!!


A Wonderful Memory

4.8 on August 23, 2014

My wife and I spent our 50th Anniversary weekend at The Blushing Oyster. We cannot say enough about how special it was. Holly is a delight and the place is lovely. Our room was charming and every breakfast was a culinary delight. Holly put so much thought and love into creating wonderful and unusual treats for us to eat. In addition, she was so helpful in suggesting things to do and places for dinner. We really felt like we were visiting an old friend. Thank you Holly for making us feel so welcome.


Great room and location with exceptional hostess!

5 on August 20, 2014

I recommend The Blushing Oyster for those who want to be right on 6A; close to highway 6. The atmosphere is relaxing and the outdoor seating area is a nice touch.


Cape Cod Work Trip

4.6 on August 14, 2014

The home was clean and welcoming, and the rooms were quaint and comfortable. The bathroom in Island Creek is small, which was fine for me, but it could be tight for someone who is taller and/or larger. Holly was wonderful, and even packed me a breakfast one morning I had to leave early. There are also quality restaurants within walking distance. I definitely recommend this B&B.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with me. I appreciate your honest comments to help future guests make a well informed choice. Hope to see you again soon.


What a find!

4.0 on July 29, 2014

Holly is a lovely hostess and her Captain's house is terrific! We had her lower floor suite and our rooms were spacious and spotless and the bed comfy. Both days we had the joy of breakfast on the garden patio and the food Holly prepared and served was superb.

Innkeeper Response
What kind words of praise. I surely am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Cape and your stay with me here at The Blushing Oyster. Be well.


A great and caring host

5 on July 28, 2014

Holly is an excellent host and extremely accommodating. Her breakfasts are great and she is very attentive to any food preferences you may have. The rooms are very comfortable and charming, with the right mix of modern and old-fashioned feel. She knows a lot about the area and was able to make several great suggestions about restaurants or things to do during the day. We were looking to do a cruise for the day and Holly surprised us by making calls for us while we ate to get information as well as putting our names on a list for one, so all we had to do after breakfast was be on our way since she took care of all of the legwork for us. What really stood out for us was how thoughtful and concerned she was. My girlfriend sprained her ankle before our stay and when Holly learned about this, she made sure there was an ice pack in the freezer each night for her to use. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend it.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your wonderful words of appreciation. I am so happy you had a great time here and felt cared for, My goal is always to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. Be well and safe.


Great experience!

4.8 on July 17, 2014

We spent the holiday weekend at Blushing Oyster and loved being there. It's cosy, and has a beautiful setup. Holly, our inn keeper was great at making us feel at home. We loved the room we were in, the delicious breakfasts...all in all a great experience. We will definitely be staying there again if we are back in the area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with me. I value the response and am happy you enjoyed yourself and the food. Am looking forward to your next visit.


Perfect B&B Experience

5 on June 30, 2014

Stayed here for a week in June 2014. Loved the location for exploring the Cape. For a historic house, everything is fresh and updated. No detail is too small for Holly. The room was perfectly appointed without being fussy. The bed and bathroom have plush linens. The shower was great. Breakfast was amazing. Everything was beautifully seasoned, sauced, garnished, and served.

Innkeeper Response
I am so happy that you enjoyed yourself here at The Blushing Oyster while you explored Cape Cod. i love to cook for everyone and am pleased that it is appreciated. Thank you for your kind words. Cheers!


The Blushing Oyster

4.6 on June 26, 2014

A great B&B in the heart of Cape Cod. Very nice innkeeper, individually made breakfast, great rooms. We'll go back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Blushing Oyster. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.


quaint b&b on the cape

3.4 on June 09, 2014

small, clean b&b with wonderful owner, Holly. The room we stayed in was facing the main road which was quite loud at times. Hospitality was great, as was the location.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your honest response to your stay here. We work towards keeping the rooms as sound resistant as possible and apologized for you being disturbed by the street sounds. Take care


Trip to New England

5 on September 20, 2013

This rounded off our trip to New England, prior to going back to our son in NJ and then back to England. Our room was very comfortable and very clean. Holly was a very good innkeeper and full of ideas were we could go around the area, and also to eat in the evenings. On the only full day we went for a walk suggested by Holly and then returned to relax in the garden amongst the flowers. Breakfast was delicious and was a surprise each morning. We had breakfast on the patio each morning as the weather was warm. It was a shame that my wife and I only had two nights here. No problem with the road outside. But is we return to Cape Cod would stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this lovely review of your stay. I hope you have the chance to come for another visit in the future so you can explore the Cape a bit more. There is so much to enjoy. Best regards


Lovely B & B

5 on August 22, 2013

My wife and I loved this place. It is in a great position for exploring Cape Cod. Our room was beautifully furnished and even had fresh flowers. The garden was a lovely place to sit out and relax when we didn’t feel like exploring. Breakfasts were amazing with a real variety of foods. Thanks Holly for making us feel so welcome.

Innkeeper Response
I am very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves here with me at The Blushing Oyster. I always am happy to see people sitting and enjoying the garden. Hope you can come again for a visit. Thank you for the review. It is greatly appreciated. Cheers!


Excellent service

4.8 on August 03, 2013

The room we stayed in at The Blushing Oyster was absolutely lovely. Holly, the innkeeper, went above and beyond in making sure we had a comfortable stay. The breakfasts were exceptional. My only regret was that I could not stay longer. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast for any traveler.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for reviewing your visit to the Cape. I am pleased that your were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Hope you can come again and stay longer too. Be well.


Exceeded my expectations on all counts

4.2 on September 04, 2012

We just returned from a lovely 4 days at the Blushing Oyster. Sue and Jim and wonderful hosts and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Our room was beautiful as was the entire home. Sue is an outstanding decorator and Jim is a wonderful cook. All of our breakfasts were delicious and unusual. We can't wait to return.


A Must-Stay B&B

5 on September 03, 2012

My husband and I had an extraordinary stay at The Blushing Oyster B&B - Jim is a phenomenal host! He is so forthcoming with information & extremely helpful. He showed us a map and drew and described key places to visit - all of which were well worth the trip! He is the nicest man, friendly, and respectful. And the most unexpected and wonderful part of staying there is Jim accommodated my VEGAN diet, asking my preferences, and actually researching vegan breakfasts! I told Jim not to worry, I would just eat fruit, but Jim went the extra mile to prepare foods I could eat. It was unbelievable and I was so happy! The B&B itself is so quaint, very clean, well-decorated, and has a beautiful garden in the back. Our trip was just perfect. We are so thrilled we selected The Blushing Oyster as our place to stay! We highly recommend it to anyone coming into the area as THE place to stay : )


Great Cape Cod location

4.2 on August 10, 2012

The Blushing Oyster is truly beautiful! The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the main areas of the inn are exquisite, as well. Jim and Sue have taken great care with every detail! We had a bit of a rough start and a misunderstanding with Jim concerning our arrival. A terse phone conversation left us wondering if we had made a mistake in choosing a location. But everything smoothed out and turned out to be great! This is a historic home, so expect really small but very clean bathrooms. Also, pack a small extension cord if you need to charge phones, iPads, etc. Jim is quite the cook and makes a fantastic breakfast each day! You'll love everything about your stay here!


Wonderful stay in the Blushing Oyster

4.4 on August 08, 2012

Normally, when I come over to the Cape to visit Headquarters of IFAW I stay in a hotel. For this time I choose to stay in a B&B and stayedin The Bkushing Oyster. This was an outstanding choise and I enjoyed every minute of it. The great hospatality from Jim, the wonderful breakfasts ( everything fresh) the wonderful garden we could stay in. Absolutly fabulous!!! Note: For some reason I had to give a rate for dining which ofcourse is not possible at a B&B, but I am sure if there had been a possibility to have dinner it also would have been great.


Home Away from Home

5 on July 30, 2012

We just returned from a very short weekend getaway here at Blushing Oyster B&B and it was one of the best weekend getaways we had in awhile. Perfect distance to the whale watching cruise (which is just fantastic by the way), and close to all the great beaches and restaurants. This place is so "home-y", well managed, CLEAN, and just overall extremely pleasant. Hate to admit that I am a hotel snob and get extremely picky about where I sleep-but coming to this place was as comfortable as visiting my parents home. I could not believe how clean it was, and how beautiful the rooms were. We felt like we were sleeping inside my dream doll house... Jim was really accommodating, helpful, laid-back, and generally one of those people you meet for the first time and feel like you've known them for a lifetime. The food was flawless, as we sat outside the beautiful (and well managed) porch under the shade while enjoying the company of other visitors. The creme bulee french toast was...........(there are no words to describe how good it was). When we told Jim that we were heading out to the beach, he gave us precise directions and offered us beach towels and chairs. Everything just felt warm, kind, caring, and laid-back. Just like home. There are great restaurants nearby as well within walking distance, and the beaches are all within 10 minute drive. Only sad part was that we wished we could have stayed a little longer!!!


Nothing to blush about here!

5 on June 16, 2012

We stayed in the Wellfleet Suite and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jim was a great host, the house is beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated, and the grounds have extensive gardens and a nice, sheltered patio (for drinks or breakfast)


terrific getaway

4.0 on March 04, 2012

I stayed in this lovely b& b in the fall. Hosts were lvely, breakfast was gourmet. walking distance to many shops, very peaceful, yet not isolated.


The perfect B&B for a Cape Cod destination wedding...

5 on October 16, 2011

We stayed at the Blushing Oyster with 4 other couples all attending a wedding for the daughter of one of the couples. We were all graciously welcomed by Sue and Jim and they were very accomodating with all our needs for the wedding. The rooms were cozy, clean and very comfortable. I was amazed how each room was well sound insulated. You couldn't even hear people coming up and down the staircase. Refreshments were available 24 hours and the breakfast was outstanding. Fresh fruit, home made muffins, scones, and unique breakfast entres to satisfy all. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the outdoor patio was perfect for our gauthering before the rehersal dinner. The suggestions for lunch at the marina was a true Cape Cod experience with lobster rolls and fishing boats going in and out of the harbour. The B&B was walking distance to great shops and even Church on Sunday Morning. We highly recommend this quaint Cape Cod B&B. Dan & Reg, MA


A Home Away From Home

5 on October 13, 2011

Do not miss out on the chance to stay here! My husband usually disdains B and B's and he left the weekend wishing he could have stayed longer! Jim and Sue treat you like family and serve up breakfasts that are out of this world! We were up for our wedding weekend and they were super accommodating to our needs, especially with all the going's on the day of the wedding. The location is great, you are near all the hot spots, so whether you want to go to the beach, whale watch, grab some chowder, or just hang around the B and B's meticulous gardens or curl up in their cozy living room with a good book, this B and B is the place for you!


Excellent in every way

4.0 on October 11, 2011

Jim and Sue are great hosts. The house is beautiful and our room was very comfortable. Good central location for exploring the Cape. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had!! UK Travellers


Superb B&B in a beautiful location

4.6 on October 10, 2011

We enjoyed a beautiful Fall weekend at the Blushing Oyster, while we attended a wedding. Jim & Sue were most hospitable innkeepers--the place was beautifully decorated. Loved the outdoor private patio ,which we enjoyed with our friends. The breakfasts were excellent (ask for the "Sleepin' in Omelet"--delicious-and Sue will give you the recipe). And what a great location!


A True Beauty and Gem!

5 on August 23, 2011

I just had the wonderful pleasure of spending 3 days and nights at The Blushing Oyster Bed and Breakfast. Both Jim and Sue greeted us with a very warm welcome to their beautiful home. The decorating is absolutely outstanding. A true gift. It is amazing how an old home can feel so very fresh and inviting. The breakfast were all outstanding and a true treat. I would highly recommend a stay at The Blushing Oyster to anyone looking for a wonderful visit to Cape Cod. You will certainly recieve a very warm welcome from both Jim and Sue and feel very much at home.


WONDERFUL B&B DOWN CAPE COD

5 on July 24, 2011

We just spent three nights at this beautifully decorated B&B. Jim and Sue are wonderful kind hosts. They made us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious. We loved the location with shops and beaches nearby. We will recommend this place to our family and friends. We look forward to coming back.


A gem!

5 on July 08, 2011

Jim & Sue are the consummate innkeepers. Everything about our stay, from the first phone contact to our reluctant departure was a pleasure. The inn is bright, beautifully decorated and very welcoming. The rooms and beds are very comfortable ( our family had two rooms) with thoughtful amenities. In addition to being a talented decorator/designer, Sue provides creative and very tasty breakfasts. The 9 am breakfast time is very civilized and coffee is available for earlier risers. The couple are most accommodating and have great suggestions for dining, area activities, etc. Sometimes we've felt a bit like intruders at other B&B's. Here we felt like we were visiting old friends in their wonderful home. My husband has never been a huge B&B fan but this experience has turned him into a convert. We will definitely return...just hope we can get in.


A darling place with hospitable owners

5 on June 20, 2011

The blushing oyster met our expectations. It is a quaint home and Jim and Sue were exptremely helpful with information about local restaurants, highlights, antique shops and ferries. The home is well-decorated and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious! I would return to this place in a heartbeat!


Truly Outstanding

5 on June 02, 2011

Beautifully furnished with antiques and period reproductions completely renovated 1820's home and lovely outdoor space conveniently located on picturesque Rt 6A. Jim & Sue are wonderful innkeepers: welcoming, cordial, accomodating and at least one of them can cook a varied and tasty breakfast. And don't forget to ask to be introduced to Alice, their wonderfully sweet and friendly basset hound.


Une merveilleuse étape.

4.8 on May 06, 2011

Nous avons dormi une nuit à " The Blushing Oyster ". Ce fut pour nous une merveilleuse étape entre Boston que nous venions de quitter et Cape Cod. Sue nous a fait les honneurs de sa magnifique demeure. La chambre ravissante, était suffisamment spacieuse pour placer un lit d'appoint très confortable pour notre fille. Sue fut de bons conseils pour nous orienter sur les meilleurs restaurants de Chatham ou Yarmouth. Le breakfast maison fut une cascade de saveurs, et Jim s'enquit auprès de chaque résident des projets de la journée, conseillant itinéraires et points d'attraction, nous réservant même par téléphone les places pour la sortie en mer à Cape Cod. Une étape à ne pas manquer. Claudine, Stéphanie et Christian France Nord


Make a stay at The Blushing Oyster part of your Cape Cod experience

5 on May 04, 2011

The Blushing Oyster B&B is as charming as its name. Jim and Sue's beautiful bed and breakfast is bright and cheery. Everything is sparkling clean and the bedrooms are dreamy. Jim is a wealth of good information and helpful tips. He helped us find a battery for our camera. Sue presents a beautiful breakfast - maybe she will make strawberry pancakes for you. Make a stay at The Blushing Oyster part of your Cape Cod experience.


The "Oyster" is a true gem!

5 on March 28, 2011

Jim and Sue Robertson are gracious hosts. They welcome you to their gorgeous home as a special guest. At the end of our stay we felt as if we had visited the home of a treasured friend! Have already booked a return visit. Highly recommend! Cindy-Deep River,CT


An Unforgettable Weekend Getaway

5 on January 23, 2011

Jim & Sue are amazing people and even more amazing innkeepers! Jim's knowledge of the area provided us with several interesting and breath taking routes along the quaint streets of Yarmouth Port and Wellfleet. We even enjoyed a stop at the ocean in all its winter glory, based on his recommendations. Sue is the gracious hostess who caters to your every whim and ensures that you are comfortable at all times. She takes great pride in the touches that make this a homey, warm and comfortable inn, such as linen napkins and ironed bedsheets that smell amazing. The breakfast provided by the innkeepers are to die for. All served warm and with a smile! This Inn is by far one of the best that my husband and I have stayed at and we are already looking forward to our return visit in the Fall. We have even booked a gift weekend for our friends.


lovely!

5 on January 02, 2011

We just spent a night at this lovely bed and breakfast and recommend it very highly. The innkeepers were kind and helpful and we were very pleased with the amenities and the location. They even have a sweet old dog who we were very fond of (although they would have been happy to keep her in their quarters if we hadn't enjoyed her company so much). No complaints! We will be happy to return the next time we're in the cape.


Warm, Welcoming, Decorated beautifully.

4.8 on December 20, 2010

Warm, welcoming and decorated beautifully! Highly recommend a stay at the Blushing Oyster! Jim and Sue have attended to every detail and are lovely hosts.


Second Wonderful Visit

5 on December 13, 2010

I love staying at The Blushing Oyster B&B and plan to return in the near future. The owners offer a memorable and warm experience, including beautifully and professionally decorated bedrooms, a delicious breakfast, and wine in the afternoon. Very importantly they are accommodating and helpful, and have made each of my visits very special.


My first visit to a B&B on Cape Cod

5 on December 08, 2010

I have stayed at several B&Bs, and found the Blushing Oyster outstanding in every catagory. The inn keepers immediately make you feel "at home", the rooms are very comfortable and decorated with "style", every room has a private bathroom that has all the comforts of home, and I wish my stay was much longer than 2 nights! I'm looking forward to many more visits in the near future. Enjoy!


The best place to stay on Cape Cod

5 on November 14, 2010

If you are looking for a great holiday experience in lovely surroundings, don't even look elsewhere! We had a marvellous stay at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. The room was amazing, very lovingly decorated, as was the rest of the house. A cosy guest lounge is available to spend some quiet time reading or planning your trips and Jim's breakfasts were truly scrumptious! Yarmouthport is a nice village with some great walks, located a short distance from Hyannis, which offers access to a range of buses and the ferry to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. Most houses on the so called King's Highway belonged to sea captains, so there is some great architecture to see. Just a short distance from the B&B are some shops and a really good cafe, the Optimist Cafe, where you can have lunch or afternoon coffee with homemade cakes. Jim, our host, was very welcoming and did everything to make our stay pleasant. We can only wholeheartedly recommend this place and will definitely be back.


What a gem of a place to stay

4.6 on October 25, 2010

We arrived at the Blusing Oyster in the afternoon and were greeted by Jim and Sue, they helped with our bags, then poured us a glass of wine while they told us about breakfast and helped us out with directions and a dinner reservation for that evening. We travelled to martha's Vineyard the following day and as we set off before breakfast Jim made us a packed up sandwich each and some fruit, which was great. We had a leisurely breakfast the next day and set off to our next destination, wishng we could have stayed longer. Jim and Sue made us very welcome and the house is a beautiful place to stay. What a find!


Wonderful Visit

3.6 on October 18, 2010

We had such a great time--Sue and Jim were easy going and we felt so much at home during our stay. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone wanting to visit and we would stay here again! Kathy and Viv


This is the best kept secret in Cape Cod

5 on October 18, 2010

Sue & Jim Robertson are among the finest B&B proprietors we have ever encountered. We arrived late on a rainy Friday evening after a long flight from Louisiana and drive from Boston. They not only helped us get settled, but offered us wine and great conversation. The remainder of our stay was absolutely perfect. The breakfast that Sue makes each morning is not only elegant but absolutely delicious. The inn is well appointed and beautifully decorated. Don't miss a chance to stay here in you're in the Cape.


Great Find!

5 on October 12, 2010

We recently stayed here and could not have asked for a better experience. Jim and Sue's hospitality was wonderful. We felt so welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and our room all that we could hope for. We will definitely be back and will recommend The Blushing Oyster to our friends!


This B&B is a wonderful inn to stay in.

4.8 on October 06, 2010

Great location! Wonderful breakfast! Enjoyed meeting Sue and Jim. Would highly recommend this Inn.


Weekend Getaway in Cape Cod

5 on October 04, 2010

This was a serendipitous discovery while driving by. The rooms were perfect and b-fast was the best we have ever experienced in a B&B. Monte


The Blushing Oyster, great place to stay, great hosts

5 on September 24, 2010

The Blushing Oyster is maintained in it's original condition with all the amenities of modern living. The place is superb and the hosts, Jim & Sue Robertson, are friendly and efficient, Sue's breakfasts are to die for. If you are staying on the Cape don't miss it. Nick & Heather Statford upon Avon UK


A very special place in every way!

4.6 on September 16, 2010

Jim and Sue are so friendly and warm. Their breakfast's (we enjoyed three) are OUTSTANDING ....delicious. Hearing from Jim how the home has been transformed into such a comfortable very attractive site is quite amazing! Beautiful outdoor setting's for breakfast are quite nice with surroundings of lovely gardens!


An Exceptional Pearl!

5 on September 11, 2010

We came upon this B&B this week, while driving along Old King's Highway on Cape Cod after dropping our daughter off at school, and were delighted to be told a room was available when we phoned from the Bank of America parking lot! Before taking our credit card, we were offered a glass of wine (free) and invited to join the proprietors and an assortment of guests and family members for a cocktail on the patio. We felt more like valued friends/houseguests than paying customers. Jim and Sue Robertson, are a delightful couple, who renovated and beautifully decorated this B&B with antiques, original paintings, and an exquisite collection of oyster plates. Not only is it immaculate, it is truly lovely -- elegant, yet comfortable. Further, the ensuite bedrooms, each named for regional oysters, were air conditioned, had comfortable beds, first class linens and pillows, turkish towels, televisions with DVD players, & free Wi-Fi. Downstairs on a bookshelf, there was an extensive collection of books and DVD's. A delicious breakfast comprised of coffee or tea, orange and cranberry juices, a parfait glass filled with fresh fruit and topped off with a dollop of Greek yogurt and homemade granola, lemon & thyme muffins, delicate lemon pancakes, and bacon, was served at 9:00 am on a patio table that was simply, yet beautifully set. They recommended the Yarmouth Port Inn for dinner -- and it was a winner! The following day we explored the Cape and checked out a few B&B's in Wellfleet, none of which held a candle to the Blushing Oyster. We hastily phoned the Robertsons and asked if we could "come home" that night. JIm laughed and said, "Of course, but your room's taken." It gave us the opportunity to sample another option (we stayed in the Island Creek the first night & the Salt Pond the second night) -- and we were not disappointed. We wish we could have stayed all week. This B & B is truly a special place.


A Pearl of Wisdom - Do stay at the Blushing Oyster

4.0 on September 05, 2010

We stayed almost a week and would recommend an extended stay. Sue and Jim could not have looked after us any better - wonderful breakfasts freshly cooked using local produce and lots of help deciding where to visit in the area. Our room was very comfortable and immaculately clean - top quality linen, towels etc. Use of lounge/dining room/ patio in addition to our bedroom made this a very relaxing stay. Good central position to explore Cape Cod. Always felt comfortable and Sue and Jim were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble and we really appreciated the high quality of accommodation the Blushing Oyster offers - so much attention to detail. Would highly recommend staying here you will not regret it !


Enjoyable Babymoon!

5 on August 29, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at The Blushing Oyster for a week when we decided to have our "babymoon" in the Cape Cod area. The Blushing Oyster was centrally located to all of the areas we wanted to visit, such as the beaches, tours to the lighthouses and whale watching, and the ferries to take trips to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. Sue and Jim were excellent hosts and made us feel like we were staying with family. The house was decorated beautifully and the rooms were clean. Sue and Jim were extremely helpful in their recommendations of the local hot spots and places to eat. The breakfasts were fantastic and they were truly gourmet as the website states. We were fortunate to have beautiful weather on most mornings and ate our breakfast in the garden area! Sue and Jim could not have made us feel more at home and we have since recommended this bed and breakfast to several friends looking to visit the Cape Cod area. We would definitely stay at the Blushing Oyster again!


A gem in Cape Cod!

5 on August 23, 2010

A gem in Cape Cod! A fully renovated B&B in Yarmouth, elegantly furnished and with a charming and personalized service. Jim and Sue were very helpful and made sure we enjoyed the beauty of Cape Cod. They really made a difference in our stay. Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms with attention to details and an exquisite breakfast. Not to be missed!


Great stay in Yarmouth Port!

4.6 on August 17, 2010

Jim and Sue are great in-keepers! The room was very clean, well-appointed and very comfortable. The breakfast was superb (we stayed two nights, so both mornings)! Lots of fruit and tasty pancakes and french toast. On the day we arrived, we enjoyed an early evening glass of wine with our hosts and other guests in the garden...it was so relaxing! And for the animal lovers, Jim and Sue have a rescued basset hound (Alice) and cat (Dexter) - both so friendly, tho Sue and Jim are careful to find out if you are comfortable with the animals, and if not, they are unobtrusive. I definitely recommend this B and B!!!


I Love Breakfast!!

4.6 on August 11, 2010

Our stay at the Blushing Oyster was an incredible experience. The hospitality was exceptional, the rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was outstanding. Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and I couldn't wait to wake up every morning. Jim and Sue were incredible hosts; I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.


Adorable and Pristine

5 on July 29, 2010

The Blushing Oyster B&B is a perfect balance of being treated like a royal guest and feeling right at home. The environment and Innkeepers warm and welcoming, the house and room adorable and pristine. A high quality B&B to say the least. Perfectly located in Yarmouth Port, so easy to get to anywhere on the Cape. A great cafe down the road and a refreshing fresh water pond around the corner.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words, and taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review! WE hope to see you again.


Beautiful B&B, perfect hosts!

5 on July 24, 2010

The Blushing Oyster was a perfect find on Cape Cod. It was a great, central location on the Cape on historic 6A, far enough away from the minigolf and motel crowds, but just minutes from the beaches. Amidst all the beautiful old houses, inns, gardens, galleries and quaint shops. The newly renovated historic home, was beautifully decorated by owner, Sue, an interior designer, and husband Jim. The rooms, fabrics, antiques were perfect, as was the breakfast! Jim and Sue Robertson were just lovely: personable, warm, friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning and will recommend this inn to our friends and family. We wish Jim and Sue all the luck with their new endeavor. They are off to a wonderful start!

Innkeeper Response
Jim and I appreciate your taking the time to write such a lovely review of our new "baby"! The encouragement is so meaningful to us, and we hope to see you again!


Simply Beautiful

5 on July 21, 2010

This very charming B&B provides a cozy home away from home. Sue and Jim are the most wonderful and welcoming hosts. It was our first time in Cape Cod and first time in a B&B and the hosts did not disappoint. They served us wine as they gave us a tour of the house. They even offer to make dinner reservations for you. The place has the perfect location. There's a great sushi place across the street and a few other restaurants within walking distance. It's also just a short drive to the beach. Sue and Jim always make sure to ask what our plans are so they can make some recommendations. They are very knowledgeable about the area so they provide good information and directions. The breakfast is just amazing! Freshly brewed coffee and tea, homemade pastries, fresh fruits with homemade granola, and a delectable entree. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and had an amazing time at our first B&B. We are planning to return and will definitely recommend this place to our friends.


Friendly B&B

5 on July 20, 2010

We decided to spend our anniversary in Cape Cod for the weekend and wanted to stay at a bed and breakfast. The Blushing Oyster is in the perfect location because it's right in the middle of the Cape. Sue and Jim took such great care of us, it felt like we were staying with friends. They even gave us some great suggestions on where to eat. We stayed in the Cotuit room, and it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! We're definitely returning!


We'll Definitely Come Back Again...

5 on July 12, 2010

Me and the hubby love B&Bs; whenever we travel, we prefer to stay at a B&B versus just any hotel. There's just something to homely and quaint in meeting fellow travellers and staying at a place that makes you feel as comfortable as being at home. We wanted to get out of NYC for the long holiday weekend and we were fortunate to find an availability with The Blushing Oyster. We had such a lovely stay, we wish we could have stayed. Our room (Cotuit) was so cozy and nicely decorated; there were fresly baked cookies downstairs every afternoon that was just yummy; and the grounds were so nicely kept and the grass lush - the patio was so pleasant and we were lucky enough it wasn't too hot so we enjoyed our breakfasts there. Oh yes, did I mention breakfast?! Each morning we had freshly brewed coffee and orange juice, along with fresh fruit (sometimes with a pastry), and then a lovely entree to follow. The meals were so delish and the hosts went out of their way to make sure each guest had they glasses constantly filled and meal experience cozy and delightful. In the past we've tried always to go to Maine, but Cape Cod is so much closer and there's so much to do. The Blushing Oyster is nicely located in Yarmouth Port, which was just a hiccup away from Hyannis, Dennis, and a nice, short leisurely drive to Provincetown. We certainly hope to visit Cape Cod regularly in the future and definitely will stay at The Blushing Oyster. Hubby plans to tell his dad about the place, who loves and frequently travels to the Cape.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We enjoyed having you as a guest and hope you will stay with us again.


What a brilliant sanctuary!

5 on July 06, 2010

I never write reviews, but I really feel like I need to here. We managed to get a late booking at the Blushing Oyster for the July 4th weekend and really hit the jackpot! This is the Blushing Oyster's first season and it is still relatively undiscovered. We arrived tired after a traffic filled drive and they immediately did everything they could to start our holiday brilliantly. Sue brought us a few glasses of a surprisingly lovely wine and told us to relax in the beautiful room. She gave us a few ideas for dinner and booked a table for us. When we looked around, we noticed that every detail was chosen perfectly (Sue was an interior decorator in her past) and their renovation of the house was done with very discerning taste. The towels, sheets and well...everything was new and pristine. We slept very well and the next day, they had prepared a wonderful breakfast (and that did not let up the entire visit!). Each breakfast was very tasty and quite different. They gave us suggestions but were not forceful at all in their views. They let us borrow beach chairs and an umbrella for the entire visit and they had bikes available to use as well. When we arrived home, there is a machine to make coffee and tea or get a cool drink and they had left out delicious homemade cookies. The atmosphere was perfect. It was a mix of feeling at home, welcomed, and that you can use everything, but at the same time, you did not feel obliged to do anything or spend time speaking with them. We did chat with both Sue and Jim because they were very nice, not because we felt we needed to. We were very sad to leave and we would go back tomorrow if we could!


Awesome!

5 on April 09, 2010

We had our whole family stay at the Bliushing Oyster and loved it. The roomswere impeccably decorated and the food was well above what you would expect. We went kayaking one morning and striper fishing another morning. They have some great outdoor space for lounging and are close to a lot of things to do. I would highly recommend staying here. The hosts are really great!


The Blushing Oyster Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $165 - $230
  • Reviews (59) 4.8
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5087447546

Visit Website »

View details

Top