Morrison House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
22 Reviews

Write A Review

Cozy & Comfortable

5 on July 06, 2014

The Morrison House is a great place to feel at home when you're away from home! A wonderful alternative to busy, impersonal hotels! We highly reccomend staying there. Dave and Cathy in North Carolina


family trip to Boston area

5 on September 14, 2013

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast to stay at in the Boston area. Rooms are nice with a good breakfast.


We'll be back.

5 on September 11, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Morrison House. Our room was clean and charming, we so enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast, and it was fun area that was surprising quiet at night. Ronald and Linde are fine hosts and excellent bakers. We'll be back. Art and Kristy, East Lansing, MI.


Great Location

5 on August 06, 2013

The Morrison House is located just outside of Davis Sq. Far enough away, tucked on a quiet side street that allows you to leave the windows open and listen to crickets at night or birds in the morning without hearing traffic and bar patrons at 1am. Close enough that if you want an ice cream at 11:30 at night, it's a five minute walk to JP Licks. Or if you want a Dunkin' Donuts coffee at 5am...it's a less than a ten minute walk. David Sq has a lot to offer, with CVS, a gym, bowling, Johnny D's Lounge, and Harvard Sq is a quick train ride as is Boston Common; Morrison House is beautiful; the bathrooms immaculate; breakfasts offered a great variety of choices and I loved that tea and coffee were available all night long. I stayed in the Davis Room and it was quiet and looking out upon a spectacular garden. In the back, is a deck and patio area. It was lovely to take a cup of tea and a book and sit out there midday and relax. I would absolutely stay at Morrison House again given the chance. Irene


Davis Square in July

4.6 on July 24, 2013

We stayed at Morrison House for five days in July when we were visiting friends and family. Our room was clean, cozy and attractively appointed. We enjoyed air conditioning, the patio and the gardens as well as breakfast each morning--the fruit cups and fresh muffins were most welcome. Since it was HOT while we were there, we needed to do some laundry--this was easily arranged and conveniently done. We'd stay here again.


May 8-14,2013

4.2 on May 20, 2013

Ron and Linde were excellent hosts. Breakfast was fresh and on time every day. Rooms were always clean and neat (We stayed in 3 different rooms while we were there). Can't find a better location for Davs square. House is off the main thoroughfares which kept everything quiet at night. We will definitely stay there on our next visit


Excellent place to stay

5 on April 10, 2013

I have stayed here several times now, have been in different rooms and everything has always been top-notch. Thanks, Ron and Linde


very nice B&B

4.6 on August 07, 2012

very nice and clean Bed and Breakfast. Very close to public transportation (5mn on foot) and close to downtown Boston as well. Very helpful hosts.


Highly recommendable

5 on June 13, 2012

The hosts are very kind and helpful. The house is pretty and clean, with freedom to stay relaxed. The atmosphere is friendly and the house is very near to a subway station, buses and restaurants. It is located in a quite neighbourhood with beautiful houses. The breakfast is very good.


A wonderful find...

4.4 on April 28, 2012

We are so happy to have found the Morrison House. It is a lovely, homey place. The "family style" breakfast table makes mornings feel warm and personal.


Won't look elsewhere , the next time!

4.6 on November 29, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed finding a home at Morrison House during our two weeks in Boston - we chose it due to its proximity to Tufts, but if ever in Boston again, we would not look elsewhere. Ron and Linde are excellent and unobtrusive hosts, the rooms are very comfortable, the convenience of Davis Square and the T being closeby is perfect . Last but not the least, the freshly baked breakfast, and congenial conversation at the table make a great start to a new day.


Fantastic hospitality and an excellent location!

4.6 on September 16, 2010

Ron and Linde really came through and I would definitely stay here again. Home and gardening are very nice, my room was spacious with all the amenities; flat screen, dvd, fridge, great bed. I was pleasantly suprised with the location. Somerville is a great little area to walk around; movie theatre, nice pubs, variety of restaurants, and close to the bike trail. I appreciated all of the help on logistics and enjoyed talking about Europe travels with Linde. Thanks again for your great hospitality!


Rudest & Greediest B&B owners we've ever met

1.4 on June 25, 2010

After we requested a quiet room owners put us in a room next to their office. They were noisy all morning. When we politely asked them to be quiet, they treated us so disrespectfully that we had to leave.

Innkeeper Response
This is a bed and breakfast home, not a hotel, so our living and working space is integrated with the guest area. Naturally we are going to produce normal household noises outside of our carefully observed quiet hours. Nine in the morning is a reasonable time for us to be doing laundry, cleaning, etc. If we had had a special request for late morning quiet, of course we would have done our very best to accommodate. The room that we gave this couple is a very quiet room at night, in fact, our quietest, since it is away from the street and away from the other guest rooms. We're sorry this couple wasn't happy here.


Happy memories!

5 on February 03, 2010

Several years on from my stay at Morrison House, I have fond memories and look upon it as the best bed and breakfast I have stayed at. It was the first time I'd ever travelled on my own and my hosts made me feel welcome and were always attentive to my needs and that of other guests. The breakfast was everything you'd want for breakfast and more including home baked goodies!My room felt homely and Morrison House, a home away from home. You could not wish for a better place to stay while in Boston!


Highly Recommended

4.6 on July 24, 2009

Morrison house is a jewel - the hosts have thought of everything, including night-lights and paper cups in the bathrooms, a robe and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. It's just a few blocks from shopping and a slew of restaurants and close to the "T" (which will take you anywhere in the Boston area!) I enjoyed chatting with Ron (his wife was out of town during our stay) and loved his artwork and book selections. Very cheerful and highly recommended!


Outstanding location and service in Boston

5 on September 11, 2008

The Morrison House B & B never fails to more than satisfy! I'm a tired traveler by the time I reach Boston on my Coast-to-Coast tour of the US (I live in Austria), and I'm always taken care of, fed well, and helped to orient myself to Somerville in Boston when I'm there. The most recent stay was last week, although I have been an annual guest for at least five years now. Fresh fruit for breakfast is my idea of heaven, and every morning we had fresh baked muffins along with the standard breakfast offerings of toast, juice, and cereal. Location is very convenient to Davis Square and the "T", and quiet for resting and sleeping. Excellent all around!


A great alternative to hotel

4.0 on July 15, 2008

Nicely located next to Davis Sp, close to T subway, very nice service, the house was very calm and clean. Felt like home without being home.


Highly recommended

4.4 on July 02, 2008

Low key, friendly (without being intrusive), clean, charming, convenient to the subway and bike trail. Computer for use by guests (convenient for finding restaurants and checking opening hours). We stayed in the Davis Room for 2 nights and will be back. Couldn't be happier with the accommodations.


Serenity and Charm

4.6 on June 06, 2008

Morrison House has both - quiet and relaxing with helpful amenities: flat screen TVs, free internet use, homey rooms, friendly but not intrusive hosts, and tast breakfasts.


Excellent B&B

4.8 on March 12, 2008

My Fiancee and I stayed at the Morrison House last weekend and really enjoyed it. We stayed in the Davis Room, which was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Ron and Linde were excellent hosts. Breakfast was on the table each morning which consisted of breads, fruit, jams, pastries, cereals, jams, coffee, juice and teas. They have coffee, tea and hot chocolate available all the time. The neighborhood is very quiet and safe. The Davis "T" station is two blocks away. It is very short, pleasant walk and downtown Boston is minutes away. We will definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to others.


Great Place to Stay

5 on February 08, 2008

I have stayed at the Morrison House Bed & Breakfast twice. It is very close to the Davis Square T station, so it is a great base for a Boston vacation. The Morrison Room and the Boston Room were both very nice. The television was great. There was a small refrigerator in the room. There was also a computer with a free internet connection that could be used. There is even a lovely kitty cat to greet the guests. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Comfy B&B, great location

5 on October 05, 2007

I stayed in the "Little Room" at Morrison House for $85. It was a great alternative to expensive hotels. The room had a twin bed and shared bath with one other room. Though small, the room was charming, with a flat panel TV, mini-fridge stocked with spring water, crisp linen, and a fully bathrobe! It is a grand old victorian house, two blocks from the subway for easy 10-minute ride to Harvard, 25 minutes to Beacon Hill and dowtown. You can walk to Tufts U. Lots of diverse restaurants and pubs nearby, but Morrison Rd. is fairly quiet. The breakfast was terrific - fresh baked carrot bread, hard boiled eggs, cheese, a selection of cereal, fresh fruit. And free parking! Don't waste your money on expensive hotel rooms. Stay here and have more to spend at all the great area attractions and restaurants. Will gladly stay there again.


Morrison House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $185
  • Reviews (22) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6176279670
  • Toll free 1-8776279670

Visit Website »

View details

Top