Benchmark Inn, The Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
125 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Getaway

4.8 on December 16, 2014

Benjamin is a super host who is professional and down to earth. The rooms are immaculate and very modern. I would definitely stay here again!


Excellent!

5 on December 16, 2014

Our visit to the Benchmark, although only for one night, was absolutely perfect. We knew by our greeting from Benji that we had selected the perfect Inn. He made us feel right at home! The Inn was immaculate, beautifully designed, and the room was beautiful and had everything we needed. Located right on the corner of Commercial Street with only a 5 minute walk into the center of town. We are planning a return visit in February and bringing along friends. Thanks Benji for everything!


As always, wonderful!

5 on November 10, 2014

We have been guests at this inn since it was managed by the previous owner, who was also a nice guy. But Dan and Daniel have taken it to a new level in recent years! The rooms have been redone, they're all gorgeous! We've stayed in at least five different rooms and they're all amazing. It's in an ideal spot, near the busy Commercial Street but far enough that you aren't bothered by all kinds of noise in the summertime. We will go back -- it's the perfect location -- and they let us bring our small dog if you stay in a specific room. I would highly recommend this location! Mark Zinni, Hartford, CT


Benchmark Inn, Provincetown, MA

5 on October 24, 2014

The service was excellent! Benji was friendly, helpful and accomodating. He gave excellent tips on places to go. Continental breakfasts were delicious. The B+B was clean and comfortable. My room, #3 was very cute and cozy and had a small balcony. Friends rented room #7 which had a kickass balcony perfect for an afternoon cocktail party. Wonderful place to stay. I'D definitely stay again and recommend the inn to others. My whole group loved it!


Wonderful Week in PTown

5 on October 17, 2014

Spent a week in Provincetown at the Benchmark Inn and it was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were simple but beautifully appointed. The homemade granola and breads at breakfast were delicious. The inn is perfectly situated in the quiet west end but a short walk to town center. We held our wedding in their charming courtyard. Dan, Daniel and their staff were gracious and went our of their way to make it a truly special time. We will definitely return.


Lovely stay at Benchmark Inn

3.4 on October 12, 2014

We recently stayed 1 night and upon arriving were greeted by one of the Inn owners. We checked in and he brought us to our room and explained everything about the room, tv, music, fireplace, etc. The room was lovely with a gas fireplace and a door to a small balcony area with stairs leading down to the rear of the Inn. The room was clean with hardwood floors and a king bed which was very comfy but the bathroom had a sour smell to it. We washed down the vanity and shower but the smell still lingered. I didn't mention it to the owner as we were only staying one night. The bathroom was clean but the odor turned us off. The Inn itself is lovely. They really took the time updating it with clean lines and soft colors. The dining room area was spotless and there was nice jazz music playing. There was nowhere to sit and read other than a small outside deck area but it was too cool to do that when we were there. The breakfast was good. Assortment of cereals, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries, juice and coffee. There was parking but you have to leave your keys so they can jockey the cars around which was no big deal. Overall a nice place to stay, attentive owners, and a great location within walking distance to downtown yet away from the noise of Commercial St.


THE BEST INN IN PTOWN!!!!

5 on October 12, 2014

Daniel is a very caring and thoughtful innkeeper. I really like him. He is a sincere and kind person. He seems to really care about you. I will be back.


Delightfully Charming!

3.8 on October 05, 2014

All in all it was a perfectly delightful stay. While the room was small, it was very well thought out and the fireplace added a romantic touch and ambience. Little welcome chocolates in the room were a nice touch. Daniel and Dan were most accommodating. Breakfast was a highlight. A gourmet surprise of freshly baked breads and sweet treats along with a variety of other delicious options. Weather dependent I recommend sitting on the deck or patio surrounded by colorful flower pots or lounge on one of the comfy chaises. Conveniently centrally located to Commercial Street. Would highly recommend this property.


Wonderful fall weekend

4.6 on October 03, 2014

Our 4th annual visit to the Benchmark Inn. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on the Cape. Dan & Daniel are wonderful hosts and the Inn is warm and welcoming.


A touch of Europe in New England

5 on October 02, 2014

What a wonderful 9 days I had at the Benchmark Inn. The room and the service there reminded me of the finest B&Bs throughout Europe. It made my entire visit (which was as a performer in the Tennessee Williams Festival) so great, because I knew whatever else was going on, I had a comfortable, relaxing place to rest. There is nothing like finishing a performance and then returning to a relaxing Jacuzzi. Thanks to Dan and Daniel, my time in Provincetown was even more wonderful than I ever anticipated.


Ein wunderbarer Abschluss unserer Neuengland-Rundreise

4.8 on September 28, 2014

Schon etwa 1-2 Wochen vor unserem Aufenthalt gab es eine Begrüssung-Email. So waren Eckdaten wie Parkplatzsituation, Check-in Zeit u.ä. bekannt ohne noch einmal die Buchungsinformationen hervorzuholen. Zur Ankunft gab es einen wirklich sehr guten Kaffee (auf den man immer Zugriff hat) sowie viele Tipps, was wir in P-Town und Umgebung unternehmen können. Man fühlt sich von Beginn an wohl und jederzeit willkommen. Die Einrichtung ist sehr liebevoll gestaltet, alles tip-top sauber. Unser Zimmer im Hochparterre (Zimmer 1) war im Vergleich zu anderen Unterkünften während unserer Reise zwar klein, aber dafür pfiffig eingerichtet/organisiert, so dass wir mit dem geringeren Platz perfekt klar kamen. Das Frühstück ist sehr gut – endlich einmal wieder „richtiges“ Müsli, verschiedene Brotsorten inkl. Schweizer Sonntags-Frühstücksbrot, selbstgemachte Marmelade, verschiedene Käsesorten u.a. mehr. Die Lage ist zentral und dennoch haben wir sehr ruhige Nächte verbracht. Fazit: Herzlichen Dank an die Innkeepers Daniel und Dan sowie das Team des Benchmark Inn. Wir empfehlen euch gerne weiter und kommen noch lieber gerne selbst wieder.


Loved the Benchmark!

5 on September 11, 2014

Lovely stay at the Benchmark Inn. We stayed in Room 7 on the top floor--small but so sweet and you can not beat the semi-private outdoor deck with panoramic views of Provincetown and the harbor. Daniel is just as helpful as can be and his homemade baked goods are delicious. (His grandmother's chocolate cake made a perfect midnight snack!) The Inn is well appointed, bright, clean, quiet--just a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of Commercial Street! We'll return!


Wonderfully gracious hosts !

4.6 on September 07, 2014

The Benchmark Inn is a lovely place to stay while visiting Provincetown -- located on a small and quiet street; we especially enjoyed the a sweet and well-appointed garden, lounge chairs and tables and chairs. The hosts, Daniel and Dan, are more than gracious, and their breakfast offerings are delicious. The room in which we stayed was rather small, but clean and well-attended. Our only concern was the almost impossibly small closet. But overall -- we would return to The Benchmark as our very favorite P-Town B & B !!


Finest B&B in Provincetown

5 on August 28, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay at the Benchmark Inn in Provincetown. Dan and Daniel went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Their attention to detail and concern about guest comfort reflect a level of inn keeping that discerning travelers will appreciate. The inn is spotlessly clean and thoughtfully appointed. We loved Dan and Daniel’s outstanding Swiss-style breakfast, which always included their homemade breads and jams among many other selections, and we especially enjoyed eating each morning in the beautifully landscaped garden. They never missed when recommending great restaurants and even made dinner reservations for us. The location is ideal; it’s a short, easy walk to restaurants, cabarets, bars, art galleries and shops without being in the middle of crowded Commercial Street. We’re enthusiastically recommending the Benchmark Inn to our friends and planning another visit ourselves. We can’t imagine staying anywhere else.


MARC ALMOND

5 on August 18, 2014

Had a wonderful holiday at the Benchmark Provincetown. Had the Penthouse Rooms which came with its own private terrace giving the best views and the best place to watch the Sunrise and Sunsets across P Town and the sea. Our friend had a lower room which was cool quiet and cosy. The rooms were neat, clean and very comfortable with luxurious beds and the best quiet cool Air Con , a relief after a hot day enjoying the sights of P Town. Had a great sleep. Breakfast was simple but delicious and satisfying. Home made Granola, bread, jams and delicious pastries fresh everyday along side fresh fruit, berries and a boiled egg if desired. The owners Dan and Dan were perfect hosts and couldn't do enough for us, booking our show tickets and taxi's and giving us all the info we needed to enjoy P Town at its best. We were met with our bags at the ferry with a welcoming smile and taken back to the ferry on our return home. The Benchmark is quite and private and you barely see other guests if you dont wish to and the atmosphere is always friendly and easy going. A perfect stay and we cant wait to return at some point in the not too distant future. 5 out of 5


A great B and B

4.6 on August 13, 2014

Great place, perfect location, charming and attentive inkeepers


Wonderful place with great hosts & location,

5 on August 03, 2014

Really a great B & B with wonderful hosts and a terrific location, Top notch.....no complaints here and was happy that they have two pet friendly rooms so I was able to bring my dog. I will definitely stay here again !


Perfection

5 on July 28, 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at The Benchmark Inn and I will continue to stay there as well as recommend it.


Great place to stay in a FUN town !!!

4.6 on July 25, 2014

Our two hosts could not have been more welcoming .... would certainly return for another stay.


Outstanding inn

4.0 on July 14, 2014

We stayed in the penthouse at the Benchmark and the accommodations were fantastic. There is a semi-private deck with a view of the ocean and the monument where we spent a great deal of time. The owners, Daniel and Dan, could not be more gracious and welcoming. The penthouse is actually made of up two rooms, one with a bed and gas fireplace and another with a couch and small sink area with a refrigerator and coffee maker. The extra space is a nice touch. The bed is comfy and everything is spotless. The breakfast is more basic than other inns I've stayed at but in every other area the Benchmark definitely ranks #1!


A Great Inn

4.6 on June 18, 2014

Daniel and Dan are amazing hosts and the Inn is beautiful and in beautiful shape. They truly treat you like a friend who has come to stay. We always felt comfortable to come and go as we pleased. Homemade breakfast treats were amazing as well as the views and just the general welcome feeling they both give you. A 5 Star experience.


Penthouse at Benchmark Inn

3.8 on June 13, 2014

The keeping of this inn is excellent. Accommodation were very comfortable in the Penthouse suite. Views from inside the room gives you one of the most exclusive P-Town experience. You can sit outside on the private balcony and enjoy a meal, drinks coffee. If you want to hit the beach the Inn has some umbrella and beach chairs. It is a beautiful and well kept place just a stroll of the action on Commercial. The atmosphere is peaceful and relax. Our host was really helpful and kept everything running around the place.


Excellent

4.6 on June 07, 2014

Excellent in every respect.


Excellent Stay

4.8 on April 21, 2014

My partner and I have a fabulous time at Benchmark Inn. It is an up-to-date bed and breakfast, extremely clean and well kept. The staff is great and it is right in downtown P-town. We will definitely go back, possibly every year. Also, BEST coffee I've ever had! We stayed in one of the smallest rooms, but it was perfect for us. Big bathroom and again, can't emphasize enough how clean and modern yet still cozy this place is. Recommend it 100%.


A great new find!

4.4 on April 15, 2014

Benchmark provided us a cozy, well-appointed space for a short getaway. The fireplace was a wonderful touch for mid-April. The bathroom was luxurious. The external staircase access to the room was a bonus, and we enjoyed sipping tea on the little balcony. We would definitely return!


The weekend was much too short

5 on March 21, 2014

Our room was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the fireplace at the foot of the bed took the chill off a cold evening. We had breakfast both mornings and Don saw to it that we had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious btw. We were a (very) short walk from Commercial Street. We shopped and dined at some really great places. I was sorry we had to leave on Sunday but plan to return to the Benchmark as soon as possible.


Benchmark

3.0 on February 21, 2014

I was surprised about the breakfast only being a cold continental breakfast, but the rooms were nice. Not sure if I'd stay here again, but it was close to the Mews Restaurant which was fantastic and Don who was running the place in the off-season was friendly and helpful.


Off-Season Oasis

4.4 on January 12, 2014

Beautiful, relaxing rooms. We came off-season (January) and found the B&B to be quite charming. Don was very welcoming and quick to offer helpful suggestions while most of the town was shut-down. The breakfasts were simple (toast, cereal, ham, etc). Parking was a bit of a chore due to the small area; it was free but tight. However I would definitely come again; the place was just what I needed/wanted to relax.


Holly Follies Weekend

4.2 on December 10, 2013

Great off-season well-maintained B&B. Very clean, warm and cozy with a gas fireplace. Balcony (with private entrance) on south side 2nd floor overlooks town and harbor. Staff was friendly, personable, and informative. Breakfast was light and nutritious...good coffee! The Benchmark is located a block off Commercial Street near the east end of the shopping/restaurant district. It's quiet, with little ambient noise from the street or other rooms. I recommend this B&B for couples, or singles.


friendly stay

4.8 on December 08, 2013

Could not find any fault with the Inn or the Inn Keeper - both were exemplary. The room was of a very high standard and the place was a very friendly place to stay. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone


Stay over the weekend November 15th

4.6 on November 19, 2013

Don (the Manager) couldn't have been more wonderful. He was very attentive to all our needs, very nice and even when I had a "coffee episode" at breakfast he was good natured and kind about my mess. It was a very pleasant stay and i'd stay there again anytime.


paradise found

5 on October 26, 2013

traveling by spontaneous decision from Cambridge to P.Town, we found the Inn as a well prepared location where we were cordiallly receved by the manager, Don. It's like coming home in a perfect house, to be included in a familiar atmosphere, with absoliute well-being from the first moment. Thank You for the gift of Your open- heartedness and the oustanding culture of preparing and presenting meals. ... and also thanks for the excellent Swiss coffee which seems to be the innere link inbetween all good conversation and interrelations.


AHV Ferien

5 on October 24, 2013

Unser Aufenthalt bei euch war wunderbar und wir wurden verwöhnt. wir können euer Gesthaus mit gutem gewissen weiterempehlen und werden wiederkommen. Liebe Grüsse Hans und Marianne


the best threre is in Provincetown

4.6 on September 29, 2013

so friendly, there home is home and so clean


A perfect experience..

4.8 on September 15, 2013

My girlfiend and I had such an amazing stay. Everthing about this B & B from our warm welcome by our hosts, clean rooms, delicious breakfast and beautiful view from our room couldn't have been better. Looking forward to going back in October


Friendly staff, cozy and impeccable hospitality

4.6 on August 30, 2013

We loved our stay at The Benchmark Inn. Dan and Daniel are the most gracious and accommodating hosts! Beautiful lodging for a beautiful town! Very enjoyable.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had a good time at the Benchmark. It is our aim to always make feel our guests at home. This is - in our opinion - an important part of the B&B experience. Hope to see you again soon!


Summer get away

4.6 on August 20, 2013

As always. Clean, comfortable and very friendly. Love the homemade bread and pastries.


A favorite in Ptown

5 on August 20, 2013

We love our Ptown getaways and part of that is due to our favorite inn, the Benchmark. Lots of great things to mention really. Upscale with a very relaxed, inviting feel. The owners, Dan and Daniel, are wonderful - really friendly and always helpful to their guests. One of whom is also an excellent baker (Dan?) which is why the breakfasts are always so tasty. We truly recommend Benchmark Inn to anyone who enjoys luxury accommodations with a warm, home away from home vibe.


Favorite in Ptown

4.6 on August 20, 2013

We stayed several days this past July at Benchmark and, as always, had a wonderful, relaxing experience. As usual, everything in our room was very clean and tidy - love love the bed SO comfy (the whole inn and grounds are very well maintained). The breakfasts are yummy - fresh fruits, cheeses, homemade goodies etc. The owners, Dan and Daniel, are the best - so friendly, engaging and helpful. They are the reason why Benchmark has such a warm, inviting vibe. If you want a calm/relaxed atmosphere in an upscale environment - we highly recommend Benchmark Inn.


Amazing in every way

5 on August 19, 2013

These guys really know how to show a visitor a good time. From the room the cleanliness the home-baked muffins the smiles on their faces. Honestly I don't know if it could of been any better. Personally I like a cozy room with the of you and good ventilation And a great comfortable bed. This place had all that


SE JOUR PARFAIT

4.0 on May 30, 2013

Ce bed and breafast est très bien situé, le gite est bien entretenu, propre L' accueil des hôtes est parfait ils sont aux petits soins (petit déjeuner sans gluten) vous font passer d excellentes vacances toujours disponibles à donner des conseils même les petits oiseaux sont au rendez vous Ne pas passer à côté de cette excellente adresse. J ai eu la chambre 4 avec jacuzzi, cheminée et une belle vue sur Pilgrim monument Encore merci à Dan


Lovely weekend at Benchmark Inn

4.4 on May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Benchmark over Memorial Day weekend 2013. The weather outside was not so good, but the Benchmark was warm and cozy. We were in a small room with a lovely deck that we couldn't enjoy due to the weather. But Daniel was very helpful with all details and runs a great Inn. We highly recommend the Benchmark and hope that guests will have better weather than we did, which Daniel can't be held responsible for, after all!


Great place to be, just perfect

5 on April 22, 2013

This Inn fully deserves a "10". Everything was just perfext and if we would go back to Provincetown, we for sure will knock on the Benchmark Inn's door to stay a few nights.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are more than happy to have you as our guests back anytime!


Excellent Time!

4.2 on April 22, 2013

I recently spent three nights in the second floor, dog-friendly room and loved it. The hosts were great, the room was spotless, and you never felt like you had a lack of privacy, as you do in some b&b's and guest houses. The inn was perfectly located, close to all the shops and restaurants and the dog beach. Really loved this place, can't wait to go back in the summer months.


anniversary getaway

4.2 on March 22, 2013

brilliant room ,cozy, romantic and overall excellent value without compromising quality of stay


Charming B & B inn

4.0 on March 05, 2013

Just a comfortable, quaint little room. We could bring both our dogs as well. Service was impeccable. Great place to rest and recoup. We re-certify every year in this neck of the woods and will contemplate staying here again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for your review. We have actually two pet-friendly rooms and we are more than happy to accommodate pets with their owners any time. Hope to see you again soon!


Great Cozy Inn

3.8 on January 15, 2013

My husband and I took our dog on a last minute trip to Provincetown in January. We love the quiet of the midwinter. We had a lovely room with a fireplace. We liked this Inn as they let us bring our dog. I thought the price for off season was a little high, but well worth the cost.


A+ unique place fvery friendly staff. Nice Area.

4.8 on December 13, 2012

Excellent place to stay, friendly staff gr8 healthily breakfast. Quaint place A+


Getaway

5 on October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful time. We loved the penthouse. Daniel was so accommodating and made us feel right at home.


A+ hospitality

4.4 on October 22, 2012

My partner and I booked a long weekend trip at the Benchmark pretty much solely on the recommendations we read on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed. Daniel was a phenomenal host, taking time to spend time with his guests, offering sightseeing advice and making us and everyone else feel absolutely at home in his beautiful hotel. Breakfast with the homemade bread and jams was excellent, as was the coffee from the fancy European coffee machine. The hotel is on a tiny street in the quieter East End of Provincetown. It's about a 10- to 15-minute walk to the main area of bars and restaurants, but there are a few places just around the corner. We booked the penthouse suite. It was a splurge but offered a kitchenette with cooktop and small fridge, separate sitting room, about six windows and a gorgeous 180-degree view of the waterfront from the balcony, which is high enough to be above most rooftops in the East End. It also offers a phenomenal, unobstructed view of the Pilgrim Monument. (The balcony is shared with Room 7, but is large enough to accommodate everyone. It would be great for sunbathing in summer.) The bed was a Sleep Number. A couple of weird things: The penthouse is what was probably originally the attic of the house. For that reason, there are some unconventional wall angles, including a sloping wall right above the bed and essentially in the shower. It was a little weird, but certainly not a problem. The TV, if you plan on watching, is a flat-screen HDTV about 42 inches wide, but it is apparently only antenna-based (or it was programmed that way during our stay); that said, it had plenty of options for HDTV broadcast channels but no cable TV. We would happily stay at the Benchmark again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We are happy if our aim to please our guests is perceived this way. In response to your remark on the TV we can inform you that all our rooms are equipped with the newest HDTV Flatscreen-TV's on the market, not only featuring 99 comcast cable TV channels but also a DVD-Player. We also feature a nice DVD collection for those cold winter evenings. And the gas fireplace in every room will make it even cosier!


Wonderful

5 on October 20, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Room was large, sunny, comfortable bed with private entrance. Very quiet. Daniel was a great host and very interesting to talk to, as well as accommodating. Easy walking distance to the Pilgrim Monument, museum, and wharf. We would definitely stay there again.


All that we expected it to be...and more!

5 on September 18, 2012

My wife and I were on a week-long motorcycle trip and needed lodging in Provincetown. After looking at MANY places and reading MANY reviews, I kept coming back to the Benchmark Inn. Having traveled often, we have come to realize that we would rather pay a little extra and really enjoy our stay instead of trying to save a few bucks and often being disappointed. Hey, lodging is a big part of your vacation so why not enjoy it? If you need a place to stay in P-town, this is it. The host, Daniel, could not have done more to make our stay more pleasant. From meeting us when we arrived, to offering suggestions on things to see, to baking great pastries in the morning, to chatting with us over coffee, Daniel alone made staying at the Benchmark Inn a must-do. The Inn’s location is perfect, too. Its one block to Commercial St. and halfway between the galleries and the shops. It’s on a quiet alley so you don’t have to worry about street noise disturbing you. Breakfast includes breads, cheeses, pastries, cereals, fruit, and yogurt. There’s also a coffee machine that brews exquisite cups of coffee starting from whole beans. The Inn is upscale (with many new features like flat panel TVs, SleepNumber beds, Jacuzzi tubs, Keurigs, etc) so you get the feeling Daniel and Dan really care about the place. When we arrived, we weren’t sure which room we wanted so Daniel gave us a tour of the available rooms. Of course when we walked into the 3rd floor penthouse and saw the view from the deck, it was a no-brainer which room we’d take! Whether it’s coffee in the morning or wine in the evening, the view from the deck never disappoints. We ended up staying a second night, too, which should tell you how satisfied we were. Let’s face it, if you’re the kind of person whose “glass is always half-empty”, you’ll find little things to nitpick about. But if your “glass is always half-full”, you’ll have a wonderful time there! Kudos to Daniel and the Benchmark Inn.


Great place to stay in Ptown!

5 on August 20, 2012

Our stay at Benchmark Inn was short but sweet - only one night - but everything about the experience was wonderful, from our room's charm and elegance, to the inn's convenient location, to Dan and Daniel's attentive and friendly service. I look forward to another visit in the near future!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this lovely review! We love to hear first time visitors saying that they will become repeat guests. And you won't regret it, I'm sure!


Best stay I've ever had at an Inn

4.8 on August 10, 2012

I'll be short and to the point. It's the best stay at an Inn I've ever had because: 1. Booking online was a breeze, even after I called and spoke to Benji and got his reco for which room to choose. 2. Dan and Daniel were amazing hosts. Very friendly and engaging at at the same time incredibly efficient. 3. COLD AC. When you live in Miami you appreciate this. 4. Crisp and clean white sheets and towels. Make or break for us. 5. Spotless rooms and common areas, not showing any wear and tear even though it's a historic house in the middle of high season. 6. Door to door service to and from the airport. 7. Recommended a Zipcar membership. Great for people who travel in areas where it's located. 8. Knew that Arnolds Bikes had new bikes and we didn't need to make the trek to PTown Bikes. 9. Location, Location, Location.... We are not easy to please, and we loved it. Going back soon.


A gem!

4.8 on August 02, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July. From the time we made our reservation online to the time we checked out was super easy and relaxing! The accommodations were fantastic, the room was cozy, clean and welcoming and had a separate entrance so that we could come and go as we pleased. For a small fee we were able to bring out dog along with us, which was great. Breakfast every morning was homemade and delicious, and their fancy coffee maker made a perfect cup every time. Daniel was always close by and gave us great recommendations on where to eat and things to do. Great views from our second floor room! The small seating area on the patio was perfect for take-out with a great view of the ocean and pilgrim monument. An easy 5 minute walk to the beach and the center of town, steps to commercial street. This place is a gem, you won't regret your stay here.


Lovely Inn, lovely people running the Inn!

4.2 on March 07, 2012

I took my partner here for a birthday weekend getaway. Two nights, early March. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms are well-appointed and well-maintained. We brought our dog, as they have two per-friendly rooms, and I really appreciated having a private entrance. Since it was off-season, there weren't many guests, but it was nice to be able to get him in and out without worrying about him bothering anyone. They have a great location. Tucked on a quite side street, but just a short walk from the main part of town. You can walk to the town beach in 3 minutes. If you're sleepy and moving slowly. The owners and on-site manager were very helpful setting up flowers in the room and suggesting places to go. Oh, and when I accidentally left a couple of jackets behind in our room, they mailed them to me at no charge. Loved the place, I highly recommend it! (they only do a continental breakfast, but I gave them and "exceeds expectations" because they have really good coffee in the morning)


Benchmark Inn vacation!

4.6 on January 26, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the BenchmarkInn every June for several years. They have beautiful rooms, fantastic breakfasts w/excellent fresh coffee, cereal, yogurt, muffins, croissants, fresh fruit and juices. The Innkeeper always makes dinner reservations for us and suggests new places to dine. We have never been disappointed! Can't wait till this June for a much needed relaxing get away!


A pleasant off-season surprise

4.0 on January 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid-winter and were delighted by the friendly and attentive staff -- we'd definitely return.


At home service

4.2 on November 30, 2011

Everyone at Benchmark was extremely nice, the rooms were clean, plenty of towels, LOVED the little porch off the room!! Think the lights in the bathroom could have been brighter-little difficult putting on make up with out putting it on heavy. Would also think it would be a nice touch to have more pics in the room. Other than that I would definitely go back to Benchmark...Benji was fantastic!!!


Superb overnight escape

3.8 on November 27, 2011

Looking for a new Ptown spot to try for a brief escape from reality, we gave the Benchmark Inn a go. Host Benji went above and beyond, with dinner reservations in place upon our arrival and plenty of tips for nightlife and meandering around town the following day. Room 5 was as promised: a cozy spot to spend the night, character included.


Excellent.

4.2 on November 20, 2011

We like the room we stayed. Will recommend others. If return, it can be one of the options to consider for a good stay.


Cape getaway

4.6 on November 11, 2011

Lovely stay,hosts were very gracious and anxious to please.The inn is nicely located close to restaurants and galleries.


Great time!

3.4 on November 05, 2011

Everything is located very close to the Inn. But the side street is nice and quiet. The room was great, my partner, our dog and I were very comfortable. The common areas are wonderful.


Great Place In PTown

5 on November 03, 2011

Last minute booking- Excellent Staff ( Benji ) Beautiful room.......definitely recommend it !


Stay here

5 on October 30, 2011

Great location, three minutes from the beach and downtown. From the deck we had the best view in town. The innkeepers surprised us with wine for our anniversary. We will certainly go back next time we vist that part of the cape.


Beautiful inn, excellent host

4.0 on October 21, 2011

A very, very pleasant experience, in all respects. Owner Daniel is the perfect host, welcoming and generous with advice and help regarding restaurant reservations, etc.


Ptown Getaway

4.4 on October 18, 2011

One of the best things about the Benchmark Inn, besides the great views, was the friendly and thoughtful service. Our hosts looked after us to ensure that we felt at home in P-town from the moment we arrived. It felt as if we were staying at the home of a good friend. The location was convenient and its setting, along the crest of the hill, made the Benchmark airy and bright. We will definately plan on staying again.


Not a better weekend in October in P town!!!

5 on October 14, 2011

The rooms were fresh and updated and very comfortable. The innkeeper Daniel was a delight, we liked him so much that we all had dinner together one evening and had a wonderful time. The bathrooms were very clean and updated. The location on the east end was nice because it was among the galleries and better restaurants. Overall the experience was outstanding and the weather in Oct was in the mid seventies. The weekend was perfect.


Breathtaking!

4.0 on October 12, 2011

The view and comraderie from our third floor suite balcony was magnificent! David and Daniel anticipated our every need. Room were immaculate, the Inn charming. No joke!


A stylish blend of bed and breakfast and hotel

4.2 on October 10, 2011

At the end of September, my wife, parents, and I stayed at the Benchmark for two nights while attending my cousin's wedding. We had a wonderful room with a fireplace, confortable bed, powerful shower, and beautiful hardwood floors. We had continental breakfast the first day in a cozy common area with books and dvds. The food selection was impressive. Fresh baked danish,bagels, fresh fruit, and multiple cereals. The Inn is tucked into the historic town quite nicely, as you are surrounded by other fine examples of archetecture on the same street.Our room had a nice porch view and the penthouse has a view that looks out over the entire town! Another nice feature is the proximity to the wealth of restaurants,shops, and bars in town. Parking is on site, and while limited, the staff did a great job a rotating spots for the customers. However, you really don't need your car because of the Benchmark's location. Ultimately, the owner's, Daniel and Dan, made the stay completely stress free, and have a fine attention to detail. We were welcomed with imported Swiss chocolate(from their native land), and on our second day, a chocolate cake for sharing in the common area, that I am still thinking about.(a secret family recipe)They also helped us navigate the town and locate some specialty shops and dining.Overall, I would recommend the Benchmark Inn HIGHLY, as a classy, confortable, and never ordinary option when visiting Provincetown. David B.


The most beautiful guesthouse in Provincetown

5 on October 05, 2011

I have been staying here for the better part of a decade. If they do not have availabilty, I simply do not go down. It would just not be worth it. A short walk to my favorite restaurants. An even shorter walk to Commercial Street where the best shopping and galleries are located. Complimentary pick up from the ferry which means no lugging bags to the property. Fireplaces in almost every room and two of the most friendly Innkeepers you will ever meet. The common areas feel like you are visiting their home and their demeanors match that sensation. You will never go wrong staying here.


Excellent visit

4.0 on October 03, 2011

Daniel and Dan are excellent Innkeepers, they are very attentive to their guests' needs. Their property is very attractive, clean and well maintained. It has a great location in Provincetown, everything is within walking distance.


Wonderful weekend stay

4.6 on October 02, 2011

A very quaint B&B, friendly & helpful staff, very clean establishment, central location. We are would stay here again in a heartbeat!


Beautiful!

4.6 on September 27, 2011

Loved our room! It was somewhat smaller than I had expected, but the room was meticulously clean. Very short walk to outstanding dining for lunch and dinner. The morning breakfast was lovely...all in all, we felt like we were family guests! Daniel was adorable and so helpful with local tips on where to go for dining and entertainment. We will definitely be back!


Wish We Had Longer

4.6 on September 27, 2011

The Benchmark was truly a treat and I just wish we had been able to spend more time here as well as in Provincetown in general....we were pleasantly surprised. The room was generous and the bed sleep worthy. Our host was very accommodating and truly tried to make our stay memorable. His tips were top notch and we will be back. Thank you...Jon & Thomas


You have to stau there - nur zu empfehlen

5 on September 26, 2011

We stayed there for two nights and we loved every minute. The whole service was outstanding and we promised to come back. Wärend unserer Rundreise durch die USA haben wir glücklicherweise auch einen Aufenthalt in Provincetown gebucht. Ich kann dieses Hotel nur jedem empfehlen, neben den schönen Zimmern, dem tollen Service und der absoluten Sauberkeit ist es vorallem die Herzlichkeit der Besitzer, die uns in erinnerung bleiben wird und wir haben uns versprochen, dass es nicht unser letzter Besuch auch diesem schönen Flecken Erde gewesen seid wird.


A nice option in Provincetown

3.4 on September 24, 2011

Benchmark Inn is a good option in Provincetown. It is not cheap, but no hotel or b&b is in PTown. The new owners are very nice and willing to help to make your stay confortable.


Benchmark

2.8 on September 22, 2011

A "Met My Expectations" review seems to suggest mediocrity, but in fact the Benchmark isn't at all mediocre: it's quite nice. Nonetheless, it is what I expected from the website, and I wasn't surprised in either direction by the reality.


Love the Benchmark Inn

4.2 on September 21, 2011

We had a great time at the Benchmark and our hosts, Dan and Daniel were very friendly and helped us in may ways.


Another memorable visit

4.8 on September 11, 2011

I'd been to the Inn a couple of times but this was my first visit with my partner. Again, Jared's care was superior. In many ways, he is the heart and soul of the Benchmark. Otherwise, the Inn was just as charming and comfy as ever. The planters were all gorgeous, and "our" room was -- as always -- perfect. The reason I gave the dining a notch less than outstanding is because the space is tight, and sometimes the coffee pot can be a bit confusing. We will be back, and look forward to our return.


Just What We Needed

4.4 on September 04, 2011

Dan and Daniel with the Benchmark Inn were perfect hosts -- friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and always offerred assistance to ensure we had a pleasant experience without being intrusive. They provided excellent balance and quickly made us feel as though we were at home with friends. The Inn is centrally located, making it an easy, comfortable stroll to shops, restaurants and local interests. It is tastefully decorated, extremely clean and inviting. We'd highly recommend it and look forward to a return visit.


Good stay

3.0 on September 02, 2011

New owners have done a good enough job taking over the place. Very friendly, accommodating and hospitable. A few improvements needed including a proper dining area and better breakfast. Rates are too high to get only just a dry breakfast (nothing cooked). GREAT views from the shared rooftop.


Benchmark stay over hurricane Irene weekend

5 on September 01, 2011

Stayed over a long weekend. Had to extend my stay for Irene and could not have been more welcomed. The hurricane party (wine/cheese/veggies/dip) and conversation with staff and owners was the perfect end to the weekend. Have stay at Benchmark many times and will definitely return.


Thanks... First time to P-town..

3.6 on August 31, 2011

Had a great time in P-town and the Benchmark Inn only added to the wonderful experience; our first time in P-town. Room/People/Location was great! Will be back!


THE BENCHMARK INN

4.0 on August 29, 2011

I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast. It is a charming, very well run inn, with a laid back, friendly atmosphere. The proprietors make every effort to ensure your comfort. The rooms have an understated charm, and many of them have small outdoor porches with views of the harbor. The location is ideal - close to the main drag but not right on it. Walking distance to most of the nicer restaurants. We would certainly return on future vacations.


Million Dollar View

5 on August 26, 2011

Best View in Provincetown! There wasn't anything I wanted for in my visit, except for to stay longer. Thank you Dan and Daniel for a wonderful vacation.


New owners, same wonderful B&B

4.2 on August 22, 2011

Having stayed at the Benchmark for the past 7 summers, was a little tentative after hearing it had been sold. Daniel and Dan did a great job of earning our business for summers to come. It is our home-away-from-home.


Sets the Benchmark

4.4 on August 17, 2011

The new management is fantastic and made sure our stay was very comfortable. We will definitely be returning.


Great Bed and Breakfast Experience!

5 on August 16, 2011

Our recent stay at the Benchmark Inn in Provincetown was wonderful. The accommodations were fantastic! Our room was beautiful and perfect in size. It had a separate outside entrance, and a private area on the rooftop deck. The room was immaculate and cleaned thoroughly every day. The owners of the Inn, Daniel and Dan were friendly, kind, attentive, and very helpful. They made wonderful restaurant recommendations, and they made all of our dinner reservations. Also, they made excellent recommendations for activities and entertainment. The morning breakfast was delicious and included excellent selections of pastries, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, and tea. My partner and I got married while in Provincetown and the hosts had a small reception for us at the Inn after our wedding. Their kindness and generosity were very touching. Our stay at the Benchmark was the best Bed and Breakfast experience we have ever had! We plan to go back annually.


excellent and healthy breakfast and coffee with superbe confirt of the room

5 on August 14, 2011

the confort of americas with a swiss service and french food and coffee just outstanding compare to all the others bb we visit


True warmth and hospitality.

4.0 on August 11, 2011

We returned to Benchmark Inn this year after a 4 year break and were met with warmth and exceptional hospitality from the new owners. The Inn maintains its high standards of cleanliness, is well presented in all areas and all the staff are friendly and welcoming. Dan and Daniel were lovely hosts, the breakfast selection was varied and the continental cheeses a delight! Looking forward to returning soon and thank you for a lovely holiday.


Absolutely breathtaking!

5 on August 08, 2011

OMG! The innkeepers made my and my partner's experience absolutely blissful. It was her birthday weekend, and I was extremely stressed from trying to make it special. Because of my job constraints, I was forced to plan at the last minute, and our flight arrived late (10 PM!). After explaining the situation, they picked us up from the airport and reassured us that our stay would be great. They found us great restaurants, made reservations, AND surprised us with a bottle of champagne and nuts for her special day. We felt like queens and didn't wanna go back home to reality! Thank you guys. I will recommend everyone I know to visit Provincetown and to stay at this inn.


Wonderful relaxing

5 on August 06, 2011

Wonderful place to stay in Provincetown! Best place to relax and get away from your everyday life. Very cozy rooms, all of them have a small nice balcony to sit outside and enjoy the wonderful view. Rooms are equipped very modern and comfortable. The new owners Daniel & Dani are very friendly and helpful and assist you with anything you might need. They serve a delicious breakfast with great coffee and you can enjoy it in the nice living room or on the terrace meeting other interesting guests of the B&B or take the breakfast into your own room. A perfectly recommendable accomodation with a great location in Provincetown!


We love the Benchmark Inn

5 on August 01, 2011

We stayed at the Benchmark Inn for 3 nights in July, and it was lovely. Our room was clean and airy very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and there was even a Keurig coffee machine in the room. The common areas are lovely, including a deck where we ate our breakfast every morning. The owners were very accomodating and helpful, including picking us up and dropping us off at the ferry dock. We will return to Benchmark Inn!


Summer 2011

3.2 on July 31, 2011

The inn was very nice. Our room was very small, smaller than I expected from the website pic. Location is good but no outside space to enjoy. Also, parking can be an issue


Benchmark Inn was Fabulous ..can't wait to return !!

5 on July 27, 2011

A wonderful experience from check-in to moment of departure ... The new Inn-Keeper, Owners are warm, friendly, informative, all while being completely respectful of the privacy needs and requests of their guests. Our room was spotless, lovely and extremely comfortable..the views from both our windows and the deck were spectacular ..the Benchmark is just off the main Commercial St. Gallery District ..very convenient for walking and yet removed just enough to keep the Inn a very quiet haven ...We will return and would recommend the Benchmark to anyone looking for an enjoyable stay in a warm and lovely atmosphere in the Gallery district of Provincetown...Rich & Denise


Always a great stay at Benchmark

4.8 on July 26, 2011

We have stayed at Benchmark Inn numerous times. The property is very well maintained & the rooms are immaculately clean & cozy - the beds are really comfortable/cater to a great night's sleep. The inn is at a perfect location - nestled in the middle of a quiet street only a short walk away from the center of town (happens to also be near one of our favorite java spots, the Wired Puppy). The original owner, Park, was excellent as was his team - always paid attention to details, very helpful, knowledgeable about where tos & really genuine/friendly. The new owners who took over the inn this year are wonderful as is their team - they have continued the very fine quality of the inn. We will always go back to the Benchmark & highly recommend it to everyone.


The only place I will stay when in P'town

5 on July 22, 2011

I love the Benchmark and have stayed here every year for the past several years. Daniel, Dan and the entire team are so professional, caring and friendly. I look forward to many more visits to my favorite spot in Provincetown! Paul C.


Fabulous!

4.6 on July 21, 2011

The room was amazing, spotless, outstanding! The views of the ocean were spectacular. I loved my jacuzzi! I had my own entrance from the outside, so I didn't need to go through the shared hallways. Everyone was extremely nice. Whomever cleaned my room even folded my clothes that I had strewn about. Tons of things in walking distance, but in the quieter part of town, so I could sleep at night. I HIGHLY recommend staying here.


Great stay in PTown!

4.4 on July 15, 2011

The Benchmark Inn was a great place to stay for peace & quiet and just steps away from Commercial Street. Jared and the Staff were great! We would stay here again.


Great place and wonderful location

5 on July 11, 2011

The room was beautiful and very clean. Great staff and all of them were very pleasant. Jared was most helpful in sharing sites to visit. Hospitality was very nice and all in all, we had a great two night stay. Breakfast was good too, fresh bagels and muffins and the coffee was good too. Park was very helpful in setting up our reservations and sorry we didn't get the chance to meet him. Overall, a great place to stay.


what a wonderful stay!

4.0 on July 08, 2011

My family and I received a very friendly welcome and were given a lovely room on the ground floor with our own little verandah and kitchenette. Very comfy bed, clean sheets and bathroom. great simple breakfast. Perfect quiet location just off Commercial Street, minutes away from all the action.


Great stay at Benchmark Inn!

4.8 on July 07, 2011

Peaceful, quiet, just the right amount of attention. Jared and staff are professional, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are well appointed and beautiful---we stayed in room #2 with a small private deck. The morning continental breakfast exceeded all expectations with every thought given to quality. It's located on Dyer St.-- so close to galleries and restaurants and shops of the East End and a quick walk to town center and the West End. We can't wait to stay here again.


Nice option

3.8 on July 05, 2011

Close to the action, but far enough away to give you a chance to escape the hustle and bustle as well. Staff was friendly and professional. I'd stay there again.


BenchMark Inn

4.6 on July 04, 2011

Excellent Inn....very clean, very polite and helfpul staff!!! Recommend to EVERYONE


Great Time

5 on June 23, 2011

We stayed in room 4. We had the honor of viewing all the rooms and one was nicer then the other! All are very clean and well kept. In all honesty, the Benchmark Inn has become our choice to stay when in P-Town.


quaint little inn in P-town

4.2 on June 18, 2011

wonderful cozy little house with 7 rooms. wehad 1st floor room with king bed and also a fireplace and french doors leading to small porch. not a lot of extra room to put suitcases, but we enjoyed the coziness of the room. close to downtown and the art galleries. assistant manager was very friendly and accommodating.


penthouse is beautiful

5 on June 15, 2011

The view from this room is amazing. Spent 2 nights, best stay ever in Ptown.


My Visit

4.8 on June 10, 2011

This was my first time staying at the Benchmark Inn and it will not be my last. I really enjoyed the comfort of the Inn and especially the location. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The property is very well maintained and clean. It was great to wake up in a very comfortable bed and enjoy complimentary Continental Breakfast. I highy recommend the Benchmark Inn and will stay again. Thank you Benchmark staff and I hope to see you very soon.


Perfect !!!

4.6 on June 09, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at Park's place can thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a room in Provincestown!


benchmark inn

4.6 on May 25, 2011

The staff was excellent and couldn't be more helpful. Great summer (or anytime) getaway. Great location, easy to get to shops etc. Excellent choice!!!


Always a Great Place

4.6 on January 05, 2011

Park and Jared are the best. They are always making sure your stay is everything you want and need. The rooms are clean, and well done. New Years Eve we were greeted with chocolates and a bottle of champagne. We won't stay anywhere else.


December 2010

5 on December 19, 2010

Our stay at the Benchmark Inn was wonderful. Thank you Park, Jared, and crew!


You won't be disappointed!

4.8 on December 01, 2010

Thanksgiving weekend in P-Town is definitely a destination for shopping, for dining and if the weather cooperates for walking. Couple all of that with a stay at the Benchmark Inn and you will return again and again as we have. As you can see by my review, everything about the Inn is terrific. We recommend it highly.


Cozy weekend getaway!

4.4 on November 14, 2010

I stayed at the Benchmark and had a lovely weekend. The room was very comfortable and spotless!! Park and Jared are always exceptionally friendly and able to make magic happem (getting in to restaurants etc). I definitely suggest a stay here!


Wish I could say more...no complaints

3.4 on November 05, 2010

Please know, I just simply wasn't at the room much, and only used the breakfast/dining facilities for about 5 mins.


Great place to stay in Provincetown!

5 on October 20, 2010

My grandmother and I started our tour of Cape Cod celebrating her 91st birthday with a two day stay here at The Benchmark Inn in Provincetown. It was a wonderful place! The Innkeeper, Park, could not have been more acommodating. The location was perfect and within walking distance of the shops and restaurants on Commercial Street. The harbor was close too. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone!


My recent stay!

4.0 on October 20, 2010

I recently stayed at the Benchmark Inn! It was lovely, great location! was quiet and clean...maybe they could upgrade the mattresses and they would have a real good spot to stay...I liked it though...would definitely stay there again....Jared was so nice and helpful!


Wonderful, romantic, beautiful view and Great Hospitality

4.6 on October 20, 2010

Park and Jared called to confirm my arrival and make sure that I understood how the parking worked. There was a note and message waiting for us on our arrival. They were very attentive to our needs and offered to make Dinner reservations for us as well. My partner and I were there for Womens Week and really enjoyed staying at the Benchmark. Its right off Commercial and close enough to walk to everything but far enough away to not be disturbed by noise and ruckus. The view is amazing and the room was very well decorated and comfortable. I would recommend to anyone and we will definitely be back.


Benchmark Inn

3.6 on October 19, 2010

Second time we stayed at the Benchmark Inn and in general like it very much. Very clean and the owner, Park, is friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is a little on the stingy side considering the price of the rooms, but we would definitely stay there again. The location is ideal for all Ptown related activities.


Great Place !!

5 on October 14, 2010

This was our fifth trip back to the Benchmark and certainly not our last ! Jarrod was the perfect host and the room was beautiful and immaculate! I highly recomend the Benchmark Inn!


A gem of an inn

3.6 on October 06, 2010

A delightful inn. Small, but efficient and elegantly furnished rooms. A very comfortable and welcoming common room for breakfast and snacks throughout the day. Park and Jarrod were personable, accommodating and helpful. A very tight parking situation was a bit of a surprise, but caused no difficulty as Park has mastered the logistics -- just be prepared to leave your key in the office if you are blocking someone in. We would definitely stay here again.


I wouldn't change a thing

5 on October 04, 2010

The Inn was charming, the room was extremely well-kept, and the staff could not have beem more accommodating. Three thumbs up!


Autumn in Provincetown

2.8 on September 29, 2010

Our room was very clean but super small. The host was friendly but no one was there upon our planned arrival to give parking instructions. View of the harbor from our deck was superb. Breakfast was packaged goods so we ate out. Nice place but not enough for the $.


Benchmark in September

5 on September 26, 2010

Park, Innkeeper and Owner, is the most gracious host ever. When we arrived we had a welcoming message on our room phone outlining the details of the Inn's ammenities, instructions for parking (a difficult thing in Provincetown!), use of the pool and common room. He and his staff have made every effort to afford their guests the most relaxing stay. The rooms are elegant and simply furnished with outstanding views and offer a most comfortable home base for a Provincetown vacation. The coffee is delicious and there are always snacks available. Dinner reservations were made by our host nightly to the best restaurants in town. We can't wait to return!


Benchmark Inn, The

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $454
  • Reviews (125) 4.5
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5084877440

Visit Website »

View details

Top