Old Mill Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
44 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful lodging option in the Northampton area

4.0 on June 02, 2014

This place is a gem. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the shower fantastic. Breakfasts were delicious. What more can you ask for? I would wholeheartedly recommend this inn to friends and aquaintances, and will definitely stay again when I am in the area.


Loved my stay at the Old Mill Inn

4.6 on March 06, 2014

If you're looking for a romantic B&B this is it. Had the pleasure of staying in the waterfall room. Can't wait to stay in the summer when we can open the windows to really hear the waterfall. It can be a bit loud though even with the windows closed so if if's totally quiet you need that room isn't for you. The service is excellent and the breakfast hearty. We especially enjoyed the sour cherry scones. Also the largest B&B I've ever been to with 9 rooms. Plenty of options and located just close enough to attractions like Northhampton and Umass.


Lovely inn near Amherst

4.6 on February 25, 2014

We had a very nice stay here over February vacation. Our two children 9&13 enjoyed the stay too. We loved the bag of homemade chocolate chip cookies from the Innkeeper for our trip home.


Looking for a B and B close to Northampton....

4.0 on February 18, 2014

The room was pretty, quiet and clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was quite good.


Old Mill Inn

4.6 on February 03, 2014

Beautiful place, Newport Room was beautiful and breakfast was great. We went in January, my only complaint is the space heater knocked out the electricity out first night, and it had not been fixed the following night. Otherwise great!


Great Stay

4.8 on January 26, 2014

The Shower Head in the Room could be adjusted slightly so that you can move it around but otherwise the room was perfect, quiet,warm with the heater and well worth the money!


An Excellent Winter Weekend

4.6 on January 20, 2014

Our stay at the Old Mill Inn was wonderful. Good accomidations, food, and staff. Would certainly recommend to others staying in the area. :-)


Quaint and charming atmosphere

5 on December 22, 2013

George and his wife are doing their best to revitalize this B&B, driven into neglect by the previous owner. In my opinion, they are doing a great job, so far. It takes a lot of time, work and passion to accomplish this. In the short time that I have spent with them, I firmly believe that they have what it takes to accomplish their goal. If you are visiting the area or just passing through . plan at least an overnight stay, see their progress, support and encourage them to keep up the good work. You will enjoy the INN, it's atmosphere, breakfast and company of George and his wife.


Great country charm close to Northampton

4.2 on December 19, 2013

We had a great stay at the Old Mill Inn on a snowy December weekend! Lots of country charm, great breakfast, and a cozy room with a comfortable mattress, electric "fake fireplace", and a nice view of the falls out our window which provided great white noise for a sound night's sleep. Would definitely stay again!


Wonderful stay at Old Mill Inn

4.4 on December 12, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend away at Old Mill Inn. The breakfasts were phenomenal and George was very attentive. They were also very flexible with our last minute late night check in (we had some snow on the drive out). Overall I would highly recommend staying at Old Mill Inn.


Outstanding

4.8 on December 10, 2013

What a beautiful place and location. Room was fantastic and the bed was sooooo comfortable. George was very nice. The breakfast was delicious


A B&B a little off the beaten path

4.0 on December 07, 2013

The inn is located in Hatfield, which is no more than a 15 min drive to downtown Northampton and close to I-91. Not that much to do in Hatfield, but you can easily access Northampton, Sunderland, Deerfield, and many beautiful country landscapes. Breakfasts provided choices of coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, fresh baked scones (really good) and a main item such as creme caramel french toast or quiche (one main selection each morning). We looked forward to breakfast and I would probably return just for the scones :) We stayed in the Reading Rm, which was a touch crowded with furniture - no big deal. We were there 4 nights and grew to enjoy it more each day. The bed was very comfortable and the setting quiet, making for a good nights rest. The inn is under new ownership (4 months as of our Nov 2013 stay) and is definitely off to a great start. It's a really old mill so there are always a few things that show some wear, and in my mind that's all part of the charm. It's a really special place, check it out.


hidden gem in the Pioneer Valley

4.6 on December 05, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Mill Inn over Thanksgiving. It was close enough to Northampton/Amherst for us to enjoy al the area had to offer, but secluded and quiet enough to feel like a real get-away. The breakfasts were a highlight, and our room exceeded our expectations. It was a bargain and we would absolutely stay here again!


november 2013 visit

4.6 on November 27, 2013

wonderful stay great breakfast 9.5 out of 10 rooms 4.5/ service 5.0/5.0 value4.0/5.0 cleanliness 5.0/5.0 dining 5.0/5.0


Beautiful romantic place

5 on September 01, 2013

We stayed in the hotel just one night. Room was very nice, cozy and clean. 2 bottles of water was a very nice addition. Breakfast included sour cherry and orange juice, warm cones and home made omelet. Highly recommend it .


Lovely Old Mill

4.6 on April 29, 2013

What a lovely B&B this is! We stayed only one night but would loved to have been able to stay longer. The building was completely renovated and the decorations inside are quite charming. The owner was very accomodating and served us a delicious vegetarian breakfast. We would definitely go back there.


Wonderful stay

4.8 on April 14, 2012

Room was exceptionally clean, staff friendly and accomodating, breakfast was delicious and ample - was in area for purpose but plan to go back out for no more reason than to enjoy my next stay - very restful; would highly reccomend.


Lovely!

4.0 on March 22, 2012

My husband and I spent a lovely night there. The inn was beautiful, our room was romantic, and we loved the sound of the falls. We also enjoyed a very nice breakfast in the morning. Thank you!, I'm sure we'll be back some day.


Great place to stay

4.4 on March 12, 2012

We stayed overnight this past weekend, March 10th and got to catch the dinner theatre with 3 comedians. The food was great! The entertainment was great! And the inn itself was beautiful! I would definetly revist the Old Mill Inn and recommend it to anyone looking for a great get away.


Charm & Grace

3.4 on February 27, 2012

Beautiful! Antiques everywhere add to the warmth and charm of this place! We visited on a cold gray Winter day and still thought the spot was lovely. We can only imagine how fantastic it might be in the Spring or Summer or Fall. We highly recommend this B & B!!!


Wish is were a better stay

2.4 on February 17, 2012

When we arrived we were put into a room that we did not reserve and were told that there was a dinner party that night and did not want the room next to the dining room. That is fair, however, I wish we were notified a head of time, we were looking forward to that room. The first room we were in was super noisey because it had the heating unit for half the house in it, very loud every 30 minutes all night long, DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 7! Breakfast was nicely thought out, however, was not very good at all, we ended up eating elsewhere both mornings after trying the food there. The inn keeper is very nice and did accomodate us and let us move to a much nicer room for our second night which we slept much better in. Overall, ok experience, glad I used a B&B gift card for it.


Lovely place

4.8 on November 12, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn maybe 5 or 6 times, and plan to go again soon. Our daughter lives in Florence and it's convenient. The Inn is full of fun antiques. The best feature, though, is the friendliness of the innkeepers. The rooms with the waterfall outside the windows - those are great. I prefer those. Or, to save a few dollars, the first room on the right or left. Each is unique.


Hated to leave!

5 on October 10, 2011

My partner & I stayed at the Old Mill over a long weekend in early September. I had searched online for the perfect place to stay while we there to get married in Northampton. The Old Mill WAS the perfect place! Ted made us feel like family. The breakfasts were delightful: fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, and a hot entree every morning. We were lucky enough to be there for one of their (in)famous dinner shows. The show was so intimate and so much fun and the dinner was too delicious for words to do it justice here. Our large, comfortable room (Room 9 - The Newport Suite) overlooked the falls. We loved the constant sound of it - which was louder than usual due to recent flooding in the area. (TIP: If you don't like noise, don't choose the rooms over the falls.) At the end of our 4-night stay, we hated to leave. But we'll go back again some day!


Absolutely Wonderful

5 on June 19, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay at The Old Mill on the Falls! The show was superb and the food outstanding. We had such a wonderful night enjoying the show that I can't say enough about it! We both said it was the best show we've ever seen. It brought back memories and made us laugh!


A perfect New England B&B!

5 on January 09, 2010

I had the great fortune of staying at the Old Mill B&B from October 21, 2009 through October 24th, 2009 for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday. Being from St. Louis, MO, this gem was everything I had hoped for, and more. Ted was gracious, and the breakfasts were delicious! Being so close to Amhertst and Northampton was a plus. My room was next to the falls, and I slept soundly every night. I plan on booking for Labor Day weekend 2010. I look forward, with anitcipation, to visting and staying at this charming, New England gem.


Wonderful!

5 on August 20, 2009

Great inn. View was spectacular, food great. Staff exceptional! Loved every minute. Can't wait for teas in September.


Wonderful!

5 on August 10, 2009

My husband and I just had a great weekend at the Old Mill on the Falls. Our room had a beautiful view of the falls and was just beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and dinner outstanding. Ted was a wonderful host. Staff was also exceptional. Can't wait to go back for tea. Don't miss this treasure! Bruce and Chris Piper


Comfort in the country

4.6 on August 05, 2009

lovely comfortable room with lots of antiques & wonderfully soft sheets. Location was beautiful -- waterfall right under the building which has been lovingly restored by Ted. Dining offer of a four-course dinner was a great value and delicious. Can't wait to return.


Lovely place to stay

5 on August 04, 2009

We were only here one night, but this is a charming place to stay. The building is very atmospheric and in a very attractive spot well off the beaten track. Our room overlooked the waterfall, and the decor was really enchanting, with lots of nice personal touches. The breakfast was very tasty, and set us up for another trip on the road. I enjoyed staying here.


1st B&B Experience & it was awesome!

4.8 on October 23, 2008

My husband & I traveled to Old Mill for a couple of nights to celebrate our 1st Anniversary. I am very skeptical about B&B's because I like my own privacy. The Old Mill was perfect. We stayed in one of the suites which overlooks the falls. The rooms have lots of windows, the suites are very private, & the setting is beautiful. We had reservations for dinner upon arrival (menu changes every week) & it was fabulous! The morning breakfasts were delicious! The dining room is great because it's like a little restaurant...not like you're sitting at someone's dining room table all together. Ted (the owner) was also very helpful in suggesting a day trip & place to eat dinner the 2nd night. The trip was without flaw from start to finish.


First B n B stay....

4.0 on October 05, 2008

This was the best Anniversary ever. Finally got my husband to do the B&B stay and he was more than pleasantly surprised. Rooms are wonderfully comfortable, antiques galore and our room overlooking the falls was glorious!!!! A must stay!! The location is perfect for foliage seekers or day trips into Northampton..Ted our inn keeper was so gracious and welcoming, can't wait to go back for dinner!!! Thanks Ted for a fabulous stay!!! Lisa and Steve


Wonderful

5 on August 26, 2008

This is a gem of a place. Our room was next to the water falling onto rocks, and the sound was very peaceful. Very private, very good breakfast, cool innkeeper. Decorated with great skill to create fantastic ambiance. We will definitely go back.


Delightful place, excellent care, good food.

5 on August 24, 2008

We booked late and had some trouble finding a place that would willingly accommodate us with our 9-month old child. Ted not only did so, but gave us a room with space for our pack-and-play crib. The prix fixe dinner was an amazing deal, with the sound of the falls just over our shoulder. Breakfast was great and there was no trouble with treating my wife to something special to help with her dietary restrictions. (Yes, we're those people.) So close and yet far enough away. A real bargain.


Great getaway

4.0 on July 22, 2008

My wife and I were given a gift certificate to stay here while my parents watched our kids. Needless to say, spending the day in the surrounding area followed by an amazing dinner and evening at the Inn, left us thoroughly relaxed and rejuvinated. The dinner went way beyond our expectations and the room overlooking the waterfall was perfect.


My favorite B & B stay ever!

5 on July 09, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Old Mill 4 nights, which normally would give me plenty of time to find ways the B & B could be improved upon. But this is really a class act, and I have nothing but great things to say about the inn, the rooms, the food and the innkeeper! The inn is full of beautiful, interesting and whimsical furnishings, but it is not at all overdecorated, fussy or crowded. Breakfast is healthy and homemade, and guests may either have a relatively private breakfast at their individual tables, or they may easily engage in conversation with the innkeeper or other guests. Although this B & B is only a few years old, the owner has had a great deal of past experience as a property manager, renovator and innkeeper --- and it really shows!


Wonderful stay

5 on July 09, 2008

My wife and I stayed for four nights (and four delicious breakfasts!) in July 2008. The rooms and hallways are decorated in a whimsical style that is very refreshing after some of the places we have seen. The owner -- Ted -- is a delightful and gracious host. We HIGHLY recommend this B&B!!


Very Special

4.8 on February 16, 2008

A lovely old mill building renovated with a range of uniquely-decorated bedrooms. Lovely dining room with excellent breakfast and dinner on weekends. Charming and capable inn-keeper. Ask for stories about how he found and reconfigured this historic gem. We'll be back.


Fantastic, great value

5 on August 19, 2007

I can't recall a B & B for this price range with such beautiful atmosphere, texture, setting. Run by very friendly fellow. We fell asleep and awoke to the cleansing cascade sound of the waterfall.


Great Place, and dog friendly, too!

4.0 on August 15, 2007

The host, Ted, is most accomodating. Rooms are newly renovated. It's clean, quiet, beautifully sited on a waterfall, and convenient to the 5 college area. A great find, and dog friendly, too!


A wonderful place to stay!!

5 on July 26, 2007

A lovely relaxing experience with comfortable rooms, an idyllic setting above the falls, friendly accomodating innkeepers and delicious varied breakfasts.


Great place to relax!

5 on July 24, 2007

We were a little apprehensive because the website did not include a lot of photographs, but what a lovely B & B! When we checked in, the owner was friendly and very welcoming, and we were extremely pleased with our room, the green room that sits over the falls. The room manages to look both elegant and warm, with sage green walls, exposed beams, lots of lace covered windows on two sides, a comfortable four poster bed with lovely bedding, a Victorian type love seat and chair, and little knickknacks to make it feel homey. The room, bathroom, roomy jacuzzi, etc. was very clean. Best of all, the rushing water of the falls makes it impossible not to relax, even for my stressed out husband. The common rooms are also charming and very well decorated and the breakfast was both beautifully presented and DELICIOUS: fresh fruit salad, freshly baked bread, cheese strada, breakfast potatoes, etc. Although the inn is only about 5 miles out of Northampton where there are plenty of restaurants and night life, you should know that it is located in an isolated residential neighborhood. I think my kids would be bored there; it's probably most ideal for people interested in a place where they can relax. The TV was very small, so be sure to bring reading material.


Wonderful B&B experience!!

5 on July 16, 2007

One of my best B&B experiences ever. Gorgeous tasteful inn, excellent hopsitality and breakfast, just thoroughly enjoyable. Thank you!


An affair to remember

5 on July 14, 2007

I attended a function at the Old Mill and it was exceptional. It was my first time to Hatfield and I was pleasantly surprised. The Old Mill is easily accessible from the highway and yet it feels like it's in a world of it's own. The cascading waterfall and the beautiful patio are an added plus. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. The room was set impeccably. I would highly recommend the Old Mill to anyone who was yearning to get away for a night or two or to anyone who was planning a function like a shower, anniversary or even a small wedding.


Thank you for an amazing event!

5 on May 01, 2007

The innkeepers went above and beyond for my daughter's baptism party. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. The banquet hall was set beautifully. We could not have asked for more. Thank you!


Old Mill Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $250
  • Reviews (44) 4.6
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

Visit Website »

View details

Top