Inn Magnolia Reviews

Overall
3.2

View details

  • Guest room3.3
  • Service3.0
  • Value3.2
  • Cleanliness3.4
  • Dining2.9

Score Breakdown based on
9 Reviews

Write A Review

The worst experience ever!

1.0 on October 12, 2013

We stayed using Groupon deal. The price was 140$ but it turned to be more expensive since the owner has stolen from my credit card additional 100$. Yes, I use a harsh word here but I can't define her act in other way then stealing! We got room 8 in the annex. It was quite spacious but outdated with time-worn furniture and old equipment. The floor was covered with worn and dirty carpet and the entire room had an awful moldy smell. The bathroom was tiny and eventually turned to be a disaster. A couple of minutes after I happened to get hot water (took roughly 5 min) somebody bushed the door and entered the room. My wife was trying to sleep and she was unpleasantly amazed to see a man barging into our room claiming that we are flooding the lower floor because the curtain was out of tub and water sprayed the floor. Next morning we left, not before having an “amazing” breakfast which include a cup of coffee for me and glass of water for my wife. Amanda wasn’t there to make a proper check out, so we left the key on the desk and run away from this dubious place! A few days later I was charged for 100$ by the owner and only after I’ve emailed her asking why I’ve been charged she insolently replied me that I must be grateful that the charge was only 100$ and she has to replace a big part of the ceiling that has been destroyed as a result of the flooding we did! She claimed that the shower head was pointed out of the tub flooding the floor! How delusional the person might be to come up with such statement? How she might know where the shower head was pointed if she wasn’t there?! Our impression is that the whole thing was completely made up to justify the additional charge. She never has raised the problem of repairing and nor even notified me about the charge. Our whole experience was awful starting from the low quality of the property, meager breakfast and finishing with the rude and delusional owner! Don’t come to this overpriced place if you don’t want to be scammed!


Only Charming on the Outside

2.0 on August 18, 2013

Part of the fun of staying in a Bed and Breakfast accommodation is the friendly and helpful hosts and hostesses you meet. Here the reception was frosty to say the least and deteriorated from there. Upon arrival it is common to be able to stop by the front desk and ask for directions or assistance before you actually check in. Sometimes you may need to call or ring the bell if you arrive early but ALWAYS there is someone to help you. Not here. The entire building was locked up and the phone number went directly to voice mail. When we finally did check in our inquiries about the Inn and the area were met with a degree of hostility i have never before experienced when traveling. The inn itself was adequate but a motel style room was all that was available so i cannot comment on the rooms in the main house. The breakfast was very unsatisfactory - meager portions and terrible coffee. Needless to say this inn didn't live up to its lovely exterior!


A not so charming B and B

1.8 on September 16, 2012

My friend and I were really disappointed with this B and B. We found the innkeeper quite unaccommodating and sometimes downright unfriendly! The bathroom was the size of a postage stamp and had no place to store anything! The room was barely kept cool in the evening by running a very old air conditioner all day long, The property is quite shabby. Breakfast was cold cereal and fruit which was O.K. but there was no decaf coffee (even after it was requested by one of the guests); she had to send her husband across the street to get it for her each morning! When the same guest requested skim milk for her cereal, she was told there wasn't enough! My friend and I don't consider ourselves particularly demanding when it comes to accommodations. We will not return to this one!


charmingly comfortable

4.0 on December 18, 2011

We are frequent visitors to Gloucester, having family in town. This is the best bed and breakfast or motel in our experience. It's clean, comfortable, charming, and a short walk to the ocean. The breakfast offered included eggs, warm muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt and the usual cereals. There was tea and hot cocoa available at all times.


A Truly Warm Unique Inn

5 on February 27, 2011

I've been to InnMagnolia several time. Amanda is beautiful; the Inn is beautiful and the cost is reasonable. Couldn't be better!


The Inn Magnolia made me feel: Elegant

4.2 on February 26, 2011

I have had the great pleasure to stay at Inn Magnolia three times - Spring, Fall, Winter. sigh I lounged and relaxed feeling like I was an important guest in a 1900s movie. The wood, the stoves, the furnishings... did I say: sigh? Strolling around the grounds, to the sea, and into town added to the charm of my Victorian get away. I truly felt like a family friend - especially with the breakfast spread and chit chat amongst other guests. sigh (yes, again)


OVernight stay - so wonderful!

4.0 on February 25, 2011

I spent one night at Inn Magnolia. The room was very comfortable, and the entire ambience of the Inn is just great! I love all the old house details, the wonderful living/gathering room, the light, the air (yes, you can actually OPEN the windows for fresh sea breezes if you want!). Amanda is a wonderful, welcoming, approachable hostess. Just delightful.


Absolutely Charming!!

4.6 on February 25, 2011

Inn Magnolia is wonderful! A friend of mine had come here in the past with his wife and told me how much they had enjoyed their stay. I found it to be beautiful and relaxing, the decor is gorgeous . Amanda was very helpful and informative about the local restaurants and attractions as well as filling us in on the history of the area. I also enjoyed hearing about what she's done to improve the Inn since taking it over. The inn is located in a beautiful area - I loved being able to walk to the beach even if it was December and I will absolutely be back in the warmer weather.


Terrible experience

2.0 on January 10, 2011

I had a terrible experience at Inn Magnolia. The proprietor was truly awful to deal with. I will never go back, and I tell my friends who stay in the area to avoid this B&B. The accomodations are worn and outdated, and not in a charming way, but I would have happily overlooked such things if the innkeeper hadn't been so unreasonable. She treated us constantly as if we were trying to get over on her, though we were honest and as communicative as possible.

Innkeeper Response
Hello, I am the "truly awful" innkeeper, Amanda. It is interesting to note that this woman has used the phrase "trying to get [something] over on her" in several of her reviews, because that is exactly what these guests did. They arrived with a dog, for which they hadn't made a reservation. When I told them the dog-friendly room was occupied, they said they would have the dog stay elsewhere. I found the dog in their room, alone, on their last day, four or five hours after checkout time, when I finally unlocked their door myself after knocking on it repeatedly to see if they had left. This was during the busy season when there is only a four-hour period between check-out and check-in time. Imagine if you were the next guest who was to arrive for that room and you were allergic to dogs, and there was scarcely time for us to clean the room. You wouldn't be happy and neither would I! Yes, I was angry at these guests, and I did yell at them. I charged them only a small fraction of the stated fees for late checkout and stowaway pets, and yet this woman is now making it her mission to post bad reviews all over the internet. What is also very interesting to me is that all but one of these reviews have just appeared recently, in February 2011, when her visit was in August 2010. Is it just me, or is there something more to this issue that meets the eye? For both my and your comfort, I am happy these guests do not want to return. Oh, and as an added bonus, they left a bag of garbage and dog feces in the parking lot. Nice people, huh? Thanks for reading this reply. I can assure you that, happily, this was a one-of-a-kind occurrence here. Sincerely, Amanda


Inn Magnolia

Details

  • Nightly Rate $88 - $145
  • Reviews (9) 3.2
  • Rooms 18

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9785253642
Top