The Captain's House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely Weekend

5 on March 26, 2015

Our stay at the Captain's House Inn was again a most memorable experience. My wife and I have stayed here several times and we are never disappointed with the experience. From check in to check out the staff is always helpful and courteous. We love this place and will surely be back again soon.


Wonderful weekend at the Captain's House Inn

4.8 on March 25, 2015

Our room was lovely and cozy. The fireplace was a treat given that our March weekend was cold and snowy. The interns working at the Inn could not have been more helpful and gracious. The afternoon tea was wonderful, again lovely on a cold day, and the breakfasts were exceptional!! I would highly recommend this Inn and hope to return for another visit.


excellent stay

4.4 on March 05, 2015

Would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely return again. Excellent accommodations, personalized service, and great breakfast. Location was excellent as well, very close to all sorts of activities, and yet far enough away to be private. We went in winter, so didn't get to enjoy the gardens, but I'm told by a friend who's stayed there in past that they are beautiful and relaxing. Definitely worth a visit

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay - every season has its advantages and disadvantages...you got to enjoy the peace and quiet of the winter months, but yes, the gardens are beautiful in the spring, summer and fall! We hope to see you again!


Our home away from home

5 on March 05, 2015

This was our 3rd time staying at the Captains House Inn. It is our yearly birthday weekend getaway. My fiancée and I will coming back year after year! It has everything we could ever need, great accommodations, friendly staff, amazing food, and beautiful rooms!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for not only writing such a lovely review, but for returning to our inn year after year. That is the best compliment we can ask for. We look forward to seeing you for future celebrations!


best experience ever!

5 on March 03, 2015

I am proud to have made one of the best reservations of my life. Our stay at the captain's house was the most relaxing and memorable valentines days I ever had. My girlfriend has adopted a new tee cup and tee time collection and now wants to visit the UK. She often speaks of our stay and wants very much to return and there's been talk of a wedding on the grounds. Truly a one of a kind place to visit that inspires dreams to follow.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for writing this review - we're glad you and your girlfriend enjoyed your visit - and the to the extent that there is talk of a wedding is extra flattering! We hope to see you again! Enjoy those tea times!


The best bed and awesome breakfast inn

4.8 on March 02, 2015

First class all the way. Great hosts and a breakfast you will not be able to find any where else. Chatham is the best area on the cape any time of year.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We're glad you found your stay to be first class - that is what we strive for! We hope to see you in the future.


Never disappointed!

4.4 on February 20, 2015

This inn is by far our favorite place for a true respite from winter. We were lucky to have stayed in the Tradewinds room during a rough snow storm. Between the cozy pot belly stove and the 2 person soaking tub, there was no reason to leave the room except for meals. Coffee delivered to our room before breakfast is another reason that we will be devoted annual guests of this inn.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for writing a review and for your continued business. We agree...getting cozy in your guest room with nowhere to be is the best way to spend a snowy day. Glad you were able to enjoy that here!


Favorite in Chatham

5 on February 20, 2015

We have stayed in many B&B's over the years in Chatham, typically in the off season. Several years ago we found the Captain's House Inn and have been returning each year ever since. We find the rooms to be nicely furnished with old New England charm. Many of the rooms have hot tubs. They will deliver coffee and tea to your room each morning prior to breakfast. The breakfast service and food is outstanding and we have never had a meal that we didn't like. In the afternoon, there is tea that includes little cakes and pastries. Again, the service and the food is delicious. They go out of their way to be helpful and will make dinner reservations at local restaurants. If you don't know where to go they will make recommendations. They also have a fully stocked DVD library for those occasions where you can't or don't want to go out (this winter with all the snow!!!). The owner's are very cordial and usually can be found around the property. Jill stops by at breakfast each morning to ensure we are happy with the room and to find out if we need anything They also have several interns from British colleges who are spending a year working to gain experience in the hospitality industry. They are charming and it is fun each year to speak with them about where they are from and their future plans. We will return next year with the most difficult decision being which of the rooms to reserve.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this wonderful review and for continuing to visit us year after year. We're delighted you enjoy all the amenities at our property and when you decide to book your next visit, we would be happy to recommend a room based on your preferences. They are all completely different, so it is a hard choice!!


Great experience! Would definitely return!

5 on January 26, 2015

Had a short but sweet stay at The Captain's House Inn. I would definitely go back! Probably the nicest Bed and breakfast that I have ever stayed at. The amenities were wonderful!

Innkeeper Response
The nicest B&B you have ever stayed...now that's what we like to hear! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you in the future. Thanks you for taking the time to write a review for us!


Perfect winter get away spot

4.4 on January 23, 2015

We have come here every winter for the past 5 years and we absolutely love it at The Captains House Inn. We stay in the Hiram Harding room and the ambience is perfect for a winter get away. The wide plank floors, huge king size bed and massive wood burning fireplace make it the perfect room to cuddle up in after a cold walk on the beach. The staff are wonderful and Jill is a warm and charming hostess!! The breakfast and lunches are delicious and always artfully presented. We will be back again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review for us. The Hiram Harding room is a favorite of ours too...especially in the winter when you can really take advantage of the huge fireplace. We hope to see you again!


The best B&B experience ever.

5 on January 07, 2015

Amazing service. Our room was cleaned while we were at breakfast. EVERY DAY. Staff was very helpful in suggestions for dinner, shopping, etc. Followed through on every request. Nice touch with the free bottled water and snacks.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!


The Best B&B On The Cape!

4.2 on December 11, 2014

You will not be disappointed.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and hope to welcome you back one day!


excellent place for a quiet get away.

4.4 on December 01, 2014

The B &B "ticked all the boxes", good location, good food and service and great rooms.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We're delighted we hit all the tick boxes and hope to welcome you back one day!


A wonderful stay

4.2 on November 30, 2014

The Captain's House Inn was a great find. The rooms were very special, the welcome warm, close to some great restaurants and the staff fantastic. My room (Eliza Jane) had a small sitting room and a very luxurious bathroom as well as a warm and welcoming bedroom. My friend's bedroom was equally pretty. Loved every minute of it.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed our visit with us and hope to see you again!


review

4.6 on November 24, 2014

Beautiful place and very welcoming

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again!


Great Getaway

4.8 on November 19, 2014

We had a great time at the Captain's House. Great Room, Service and host

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to see you again!


Captains House Inn

4.4 on November 18, 2014

5th stay at this property. Staff is very helpful and friendly. No complaints

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!


Wonderful Fall Weekend

5 on November 16, 2014

Outstanding experience. The British staff are refreshing and excellent. Loved the afternoon Tea. Would definitely return if we are back in Cape Cod.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for writing a review for us. We're glad you enjoyed our inn, particularly the hospitality and tea. We hope to see you again!


The Captains House exceeded our expectations

5 on November 04, 2014

My wife and I booked this B&B with out any prior information and boy did we feel like we were really smart after we arrived. If we go back out to the area we will stay here and for a much longer time. The whole staff was excellent and the amenities were amazing.

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad we made you feel like you made a wise lodging choice. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay and thank you for writing a review!


Exceptional in every way!

4.8 on October 31, 2014

Our stay couldn't have been lovelier! This historic home is quintessential Cape Cod...charming, cozy, elegant, breathtakingly beautiful. We were pampered and welcomed with warmth and generosity and we felt like visiting dignitaries! Breakfasts were incredible, teatime was delightful! The staff is friendly, helpful and kind! The attention to detail is unsurpassed! And the little touches that mean so much set this inn apart from any other. You won't find anything lacking here!!! Our room was a cozy retreat at the end of the day and I found that I was sad to see our time come to an end...it was that peaceful! We cannot wait for a return visit!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and all the little details. We really do believe it is all the little touches that make a difference for guests. We hope to see you again!


Elopement

5 on October 30, 2014

Captain's House Inn provided an amazing elopement package. Everything was taken care of allowing us to enjoy the day without stress. The food is exceptionally good and the buildings and grounds are spotless. The staff is professional and courteous. Can't wait to go back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the elopement package. Congratulations and we hope to see you again!


One of the Best

5 on October 29, 2014

This was one of the best Inns where we have stayed. Jill and James have put so much thought and effort into the care of their guests. First, the rooms are well designed for comfort. We stayed in the Wild Hunter and loved it. There was a separate toilet area , a jacuzzi and a large shower. Each day they cleaned the room and provided chocolates, fresh towels, candles and bath salts. We particularly loved our afternoon tea, which they brought to our room. Breakfast was unbelievable.. You could have an assortment of cold foods, masteries, plus either a sweet or savory hot dish, or oatmeal . Each night with your turn down were chocolates. Of course there were the homemade cookies you could bring to your room in the evening, along with a glass of Port or Sherry. They will make wonderful suggestions for places to eat and will make your reservations. The grounds are beautiful. The food wonderful and the staff and owners just lovely. Chatham is a great town for shopping. It also has a nice beach to watch seals and whales. It is centrally located to all other areas of the Cape. The Inn is not to be missed if you want to enjoy your stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the details we offer. We hope to see you again!


Great experience!

5 on October 27, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay...everything was GREAT! Felt very welcomed, room was wonderful, breakfast delicious! I cannot say enough about the grounds, absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again!


Outstanding Room, Grounds, and Service

4.0 on October 20, 2014

The chefs inspired breakfast specials really missed the mark. Radishes on my eggs? Stick to more classical fare. Simple eggs and bacon and beautiful breads would do it. The UK inters were wonderful but the black garb was too somber for the Cape, and felt a little creepy. Would reconsider that. The tans and beiges that the gardener wore might be better. Khaki could be nice with crisp white. The grader was a please as was everyone. The gardens are lovely. Room was perfect. Criticisms are to make the whole experience perfect.. That breakfast dish made us wish for the bistro in town! Keep it simple!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We can certainly understand your criticisms - creating breakfast dishes is never easy as it is challenging to please everyone. The dish you are referring to with the radish confetti is actually one that we get many compliments on, but like you said, some guests prefer more simple fare. Our chef is always happy to prepare basic eggs and we hope that the extensive buffet also provides many alternatives to our daily menu selections. We like to have our interns dress in darker colors simply because dark is flattering on everyone and is practical for all the work they do. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again.


Another Great Stay

5 on October 12, 2014

From amazing breakfasts to great service, once again my wife and I had a lovely stay. I would even stay there just for the food! All around I can't imagine a better experience.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay - particularly the food! We hope to see you again!


Excellent hospitality on the Cape

4.8 on September 19, 2014

Wonderful welcome, amazing setting. Felt like walking into a friend's home as a houseguest for the weekend.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you felt comfortable here - we always strive to achieve a balance of personal attention but plenty of privacy - a friend's home/hotel. We hope to see you on a future visit!


Very nice getaway

3.6 on August 08, 2014

A very enjoyable Inn


A great place to stay in eastern Cape Cod, MA

4.4 on June 24, 2014

The Captain's House Inn in Chatham, MA is every bit as good as it looks on their website. It's an historic inn with spacious grounds, in a convenient location, run very much hands-on by Jill and James, a charming couple who ensure that every guest's needs are catered for. The Inn makes an ideal base from which to explore the eastern Cape and there are plenty of local attractions if you just want to spend a few days relaxing. The fish pier is a few minutes walk away, with the fishing fleet returning most afternoons. The town centre is close by, with several good seafood restaurants and a variety of shops. The Inn offers very attentive and friendly service from a resident team of well-trained English students on a year-long catering and hospitality placement. And the breakfasts (and afternoon teas) are splendid, served in the bright and cheerful conservatory. We enjoyed every minute of our five-night visit and would certainly recommend The Captain's House Inn as a great place to stay on Cape Cod.


5-Star Quality

5 on February 18, 2013

Impecable service from a friendly, experienced staff.


Fantastic Turkey Day Getaway!

4.8 on November 26, 2012

This is our third stay at the Captain's House Inn. Each stay has been better than the last (and it started out pretty fantastic!). My husband and I come to Cape Cod each year for Thanksgiving at my Grandmother's home in South Chatham. Grandma doesn't have enough bedrooms for everyone to stay, so we are (happily) displaced to the Captain's House Inn. Each year it gives us a little something extra and special to look forward too. The rooms are cozy and lush, but not over the top and frilly. There is a little something for everyone -- I travel a LOT for work and stay in more than my fair share of hotel rooms. As a designer I am admittedly a bit picky about the decor and feel of a room. I really am not into the frilly, flowery, lacy dated decor of so many B&B's. Captain's House offers a little of the flowery frills (but done tastefully) and some fabulous other alternatives. Our two favorites have been the Wild Pigeon room and the Captain Hiram Harding room. When we arrived this year my husband exclaimed -- this is a bed for a king! The morning after Thanksgiving, we woke up and with the help of Jill, ordered a FEAST for breakfast (also fit for a king!). Year after year, the staff is lovely, and makes us feel special and welcome -- like we are a regular customer even though we only stay one night each year. The prices are a little more expensive than we would usually spend, but we are happy to stretch our budget for this little gem. Thanks for another fantastic stay!


Great Stay

5 on October 05, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in 2010 and are planning a trip back. The food is amazing. What makes it more amazing is when it is delivered to your room. You can request coffee and tea be brought to your room at night and there is always snacks, cakes and cookies left out in the kitchen. The place was clean and very cozy. It was the perfect place to relax. They have a wide selection of movies in the library which was very cool. Not too much to do around town but there are a few good restaurants and it is mainly just a relaxing vecation. We stayed in the Hannah Rebekah. The bathroom was very nice and the room was large. It is a room downstairs but I like that. It is on the side of the house with nothing else. It's close to everything in the house but it's also very private since there are no rooms near you.


Like a Trip Back in Time, But Better!

5 on July 30, 2012

My husband and I visited Chatham in June, and had the fortune of staying in the Hiram Harding Room. The decor of the room made us feel like we were taking a trip back in time. Nothing was overlooked; every possible comfort was included in this visit! The owners and staff were kind and attentive. The room and beautiful grounds were immaculate. We can't wait to go again!


Best Bed and Breakfast on the Cape

5 on July 16, 2010

Attention to every detail. Wonderful service. If you like to be pampered by innkeepers who anticipate all your needs, love gourmet food and want to relax, the Captain's House Inn in Chatham is the perfect place to stay. The staff are all wonderful and helpful. Best B&B ever.


Weekday Getaway

4.6 on June 02, 2010

My wife and I spent an extended weekend for our 1st time in Cape Cod at the Captain's House Inn. The rooms were outstanding, roomy and had everything we needed. (Even if the windows creak if it is windy.) Fireplace made the room even more romantic. Would def. return.


Pefect Honeymoon

4.2 on August 24, 2009

My husband and I spent four nights in the Whirlwind for our honeymoon and could not have picked a more perfect place! The inn is perfectly located near everything, but you feel as though you are miles away from all distractions! The food was delicious, and the service was wonderful. We enjoyed hot tea out in the gardens every night, which was the perfect ending to each day. We have stayed in several B&Bs over the year, and this one is our favorite! The only caution I have is that the Whirlwind smells of smoke from the fireplace. Next time we will probably choose a different room. Other than that, we had absolutely no complaints. It was PERFECT!


Great place for a honeymoon

4.0 on June 30, 2009

My wife and I spend three days at this B&B for our honeymoon. The service was absolutely incredible, the staff attended to our every need. The room (we were in the " Intrepid") was cozy, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast chef had some excellent selections to choose from. We would stay here again.


Great weekend Visit

4.0 on June 09, 2009

The inn provided excellent food and service. The room was spacious and comfortable, but the bathroom and decor needs updating.


Elegant retreat

4.4 on August 04, 2008

The Captain's House is an elegant B&B with picturesque gardens with fountains.


We love this place!

4.2 on June 10, 2008

The Captain's House is wonderful....the food, the service, the peace and tranquility and just sheer beauty of the landscaping and grounds. James and Jill - innkeepers - are very good at what they do. We were relaxed, and truly enjoyed every bit of our stay. Some of the rooms are a bit small and a little pricey based on size, but the service and breakfast and tea make up for it!


great romantic getaway

4.4 on March 14, 2008

This was worth the $. The grounds are beautiful. The food was the best I've ever had at a B & B. The staff was so helpful. It was very luxurious and you felt like you were in your own private getaway in the carriage house.


The Captain's House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $185 - $480
  • Reviews (40) 4.6
  • Rooms 16
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5089450127
  • Fax 1-5089450866
  • Toll free 1-8003150728

Visit Website »

View details

Top