The Union Park Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining3.5

Score Breakdown based on
11 Reviews

Write A Review

A most charming and elegant place

4.4 on August 20, 2014

A very elegant and charming place well situated in the pleasant district of South End. Our room was large, very well decorated and also practical, the bathroom was also very large and perfectly equiped.


Great weekend getaway

4.2 on August 15, 2014

Beautiful, quiet house in a great area. Loved it!


Beautiful B & B

4.4 on June 30, 2014

The location to this lovely B & B was very nice, in a lovely neighborhood. The one and only issue I had was the foam pad covering our mattress. Although the room was cool, the foam was hot and uncomfortable. I don't know the purpose of the foam, but it prevented me from getting a much needed restful sleep. I don't know what our room number was, but it faced the street. The bathroom was very modern and perfectly renovated. The windows were great to catch a view of the surroundings as well as the blue sky and large trees.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the thoughtful review! I am very grateful myself to have landed in such a perfect location in Boston and I'm always glad to hear that people enjoy the newly renovated bathrooms. Also, thank you very much for the feedback on the memory foam mattress pad. Due to your review, it has been replaced with the same top-quality pad found in the other rooms. These pads contain a generous fill of cooling and hypo-allergenic cluster down fiber. They satisfy my quest to have new and firm mattresses that are important for comfort and back health, but that also present a soft and inviting feel. I have slept in each room in the house as a quality control measure. The room you had was the only one with the memory foam mattress pad. I previously found it comfortable and did not detect the temperature issue until you pointed it out. I slept in the bed again after your review and did find that I was slightly warm despite the very cool air temperature provided by the individually controllable AC units. The following night I had a perfect night of sleep in one of the other rooms. The new mattress pad was ordered immediately! I'm so sorry that you missed a good night of sleep! Hopefully your next stay will be perfect due to improvements made based on your own feedback.


A Wonderful stay in a beautiful part of Boston

3.4 on May 30, 2014

We stayed in the top floor green room. It was everything we had hoped for from having seen photos online (sometimes photos don't live up to what you would hope) but I was over joyed this was not the case here. The area is really pretty with leafy avenue walks, and some lovely restaurants and bars just 5 / 10 minutes up the road. The only thing I was really looking forward to which wasn't there was a bathrobe having read a few reviews that said the rooms had them (Only because I forgot to pack mine). Some of the reviews mention the owner isn't around to ask things which I kind of understand, but to be fair he was on email, text and phone and got back to us immediately about anything and was very friendly and helpful. It was lovely to stay in a beautiful American house full for character instead of a stuffy soulless hotel. We were keen on having a more American feel as visiting from the UK so this really ticked every box for us. The price was what I would expect after researching. Boston doesn't seem to be cheap but overall I would give it thumbs up!


Magical home in a great location!

5 on May 12, 2014

Simple magical. From the beautiful park, amazing city views and old world charm, this B&B provides everything you want in city accommodations and convenience. The home is located within blocks of several amazing restaurants and quaint coffee shops. It is also walking distance to the Newbury street shopping and Boston Common. I was in town for both work and play and the location/convenience of this home was everything I wanted. It is close to orange and silver lines and several bus lines. The home itself has been impeccably restored and leaves you feeling as if you have just experienced a piece of history.


Lucky Find

4.6 on May 06, 2014

The Guest House was an enjoyable experience. The room I stayed in was attractive, spacious, clean and well appointed. For a B&B, it offers as much independence as wished, I briefly met the proprietor twice during my 4 night stay. He was friendly and helpful and provided restaurant referrals and luggage storage on the last day. That level of exchange was perfect for me on this visit. I’m fond of walking in cities where it’s encouraged and interesting, like Boston. I reached many destinations; the museum of fine arts, the USS Constitution, Bunker Hill, Mike's Pastries, etc. on foot from the Guest House. (each day was between ~ 5 and 8 miles) True, virtually only coffee is offered for breakfast. This was expected prior to booking from reading reviews. My glass-half-full perspective, it afforded me a chance to checkout local eateries and chat with everyday Bostonians. I would happily return to the Guest House and recommend it to friends.


Wonderful B&B

4.6 on May 02, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this lovely B&B in the heart of South End, Boston. The owner warmly welcomed us, and gave us some history on the home and his efforts to ensure every detail was perfectly placed - i.e. the stunning light post on the entrance rail. The interior is tastefully done, minimal and elegant. We felt as though we owned the place ourselves - hardly saw or heard other guests during our visit, although we knew the place was booked! The B&B is caddy corner to South End Buttery, our favorite coffee & breakfast spot in South End, along with a million other wonderful restaurants and local markets. We could also walk to Charles Street and our favorite art gallery, Sloane Merrill. All in all, a wonderful visit and respite - thank you again! C & M


Beautiful Room, Great NEighborhood

4.6 on April 22, 2014

We stayed over the Boston Marathon weekend. The house is in a beautiful neighborhood. Our room was on the 4th floor, a little bit of a trek bit worth it once you are there. The house is completely remodeled, The bathroom was so nice and large with a full shower and a claw foot tub. The bed was comfortable and the room had its own climate control. The house is an easy 1/2 block walk to the Silver line which is so easy to ride to the T trains. There are great restaurants a short walk away also. We would stay there again.


beautiful converted brownstone

3.0 on August 12, 2013

I loved the neighborhood where The Union Park Guest House is located. The converted brownstone is lovely and quiet. Our room on the uppermost level was beautiful. We had a very comfortable bed made up with beautiful linens. The bathroom was also beautiful but I did not like the skylight in the center of the bathroom. It left me feeling very exposed and vulnerable as there was no window treatment or blind but there was a balcony from an ajoining building that looked right down into our bathroom. I also thought that since we reserved our room for two people there should have been two robes supplied instead of just one. Our room was cleaned and the bed made everyday but there is no one there if you have questions. There is a phone number to contact someone if there are issues. We did not see a single person the entire time we were there. There was no breakfast, just kashi bars and a keurig coffee maker on the first level. A Keurig in each room or at least a 2nd one on the upper level would be a nice improvement. Guests should be prepared to carry all of their own luggage up and down the steps. There are 60 steps from the sidewalk to rooms 4 & 5 on the upper level. As for value, I think $200.00 for weekend nights in a nice Boston neighborhood is about what I expected to pay. The guest house was spotless. There is no dining at the guest house but we had a folder in our room with recommendations for area restaurants. I think they could improve their breakfast with some muffins and pastery from one the local coffee shops. In summary, Lovely converted brownstone with beautiful rooms in a great neighborhood. Not sure I would go with the "unhosted" concept again. I would have appreciated help with our bags as well as some tips to navigating Boston like finding the nearest T station.


Beautiful guest house in leafy area of Boston

4.4 on April 29, 2013

The room was quiet, very nice and a good size. The bathroom had a bath and a shower. Everything was furnished to a very high standard. A kitchenette is available with a microwave and utensils. I would only wish for a wardrobe or rail to hang some clothes. Tea and coffee is available as well as granola bars. The hot water didn't work one morning but was fixed the same day after I emailed the manager. The guest house is within walking distance to many bakeries, eateries and restaurants in the South End and Tremont St. is just one block away. A supermarket and 7Eleven are two blocks away. The Silver Line to South Station and Downtown is two blocks away. You can walk to the Prudential Center mall for shopping too (about 15 min walk). The guest house was convenient, immaculate, well serviced and I cannot recommend it enough!


Green Taupe Room

4.8 on October 21, 2012

Our room was very spacious and funrished to a very high standard. The bed and breakfast is located on the southside on a quiet street about 10 minutes walk to copley square. Very nice and quiet area. The manager was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered a variety of different foods varying from muffins, yoghurts, cereals, juice teas and coffee. There was also a fridge on the top floor where you could store your own items very helpful! Would definetly go back.


The Union Park Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $190 - $297
  • Reviews (11) 4.3
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6172366961
  • Fax 1-6174191045

Visit Website »

View details

Top