The Gilded Lily Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
11 Reviews

Write A Review

Outstanding Place to Stay

5 on September 27, 2016

The Gilded Lily is a beautiful and comfortable place to stay while visiting Boston. The neighborhood is very nice and very convenient to get to the downtown area. It was a short walk to the Back End and Copley Square neighborhoods. There is a Orange Line train stop just two blocks away. We stayed in the Garden Room and it was decorated very nicely and very clean. There was a kitchen area connected to our room where we could help ourselves to continental breakfast items if we wanted them anytime of the day. James, the owner, gave us an excellent overview of the area and the use of a map to get around the city. He also provided a great commentary of the city since it was our first visit to Boston. We would definitely come back and stay at The Gilded Lily on our next trip to Boston.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for you thoughtful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Boston. We hope to see you again! James


Wonderful location

5 on September 02, 2016

We have stayed at the Gilded Lily twice now as our daughter goes to Northeastern. Love the local, non-chain dining options nearby. If you walk down to the end of the street there is a lovely connector trail that is allows for a beautiful walk through the city. James is a wonderful host, friendly and helpful. We personally love having a stocked kitchen vs a sit down breakfast, as it allows for more flexibility.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for coming and staying with us again! It was a pleasure hosting you and are grateful for your review. James


Phenomenal Stay at The Gilded Lily

5 on June 14, 2016

While my boyfriend and I were only able to stay for one night, our time at The Gilded Lily was nevertheless wonderful. We stayed in Parlor room 2, and upon our arrival it was cozy, clean, cool, and beautiful. We couldn't have been happier. James was incredibly helpful, and shared his expertise of Boston with me, making my maneuvering around the city significantly easier. We hope to be planning another trip to Boston in the near future and will definitely be staying at The Gilded Lily again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the opportunity of hosting you and for your reviw. We hope you come back for a longer visit. James


Beautiful room and great location

4.8 on September 12, 2015

This was a great place to stay. The room was modern and extremely clean. The location is terrific! Beautiful park right down the street and we could walk everywhere we needed to go. Fenway park was an easy walk. The owner was very friendly and helped us with our bags. He had great suggestions for things to see like the library which is a gorgeous building. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for coming to stay with us and for your review. I am delighted to here you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to host you again. James


Lovely Home

4.4 on September 10, 2015

James is a gracious host, knowledgeable about the city and happy to share. The beautiful room, comfortable bed, clean & modern bathroom, and a quiet, convenient neighborhood made our stay exceptional. We would definitely visit again!


Couldn't Be Better

4.8 on January 09, 2015

This place is just about perfect if you like cleanliness, location to go in town, quiet, comfort, appreciate a 125+ years old restoration, and helpfulness of the innkeeper. We found the nearby restaurants to be quality and moderately priced. My group of friends all were delighted to be staying here and would definitely go back!


A delightful experience

4.4 on June 18, 2012

I recently completed my second stay at the Gilded Lily, and both times my experience was exceptional. I have stayed in a Garden Room and a Parlor Room. Both are beautifully and tastefully appointed. The beds are comfortable and the sheets are silky. The Innkeeper is most helpful and responsive. The housekeeper is friendly and hard working; she kept our room spotless and did so with good cheer. Claremont Place is an enchanting little street, and the location is perfect; close to everything yet away from the intensity of the city.


CENTRALLT LOCATED, BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED BROWNSTONE

4.8 on May 19, 2011

I recently had the opportunity to have an overnight getaway to Boston to attend the Boston Pops Holiday Concert. I found the Gilded Lily on TA and I knew as soon as I read the reviews that this is where I wanted to stay. Being an Innkeeper myself I prefer to stay at B & B's and hold very high standards. I was not disappointed. The location was perfect. It is a 15 minute walk from the Back Bay Amtrak station (I had taken the train from New Haven) and a 10 minute walk to Symphony Hall. It is located in South Boston amongst restored brownstone lined streets that lead to a beautiful pedestrian walkway that connects Back Bay Station with Mass Ave. The owner and host was most congenial. My room (Garden Room) was simply but exquisitely decorated. The little kitchenette between the two guest rooms provided everything you would need for a bountiful continental breakfast plus makings for coffee or tea whenever wanted. I have found my favorite B & B in Boston, will recommend to guests staying with us and will definitely be back. A friend and I are already planning a getaway there. Kudos to James and continued success


Excellent B&B

4.8 on August 04, 2009

This is a delightful place to stay. We stayed in the Parlor Room, which was sympathetically decorated with modern furnishings blended with lovely period features. The bed was super comfortable, and the room was very quiet at night. Lovely restaurants are near by, and and the city sights are in easy walking distance. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Luxury, Comfort and Great Views

4.8 on May 20, 2009

We were staying with the family for one week in Boston sharing the 2 rooms connected by a fully equipped modern kitchen. Highlights: Walking Distance to all the important things - Tastefully furnished, best mattresses, I ever slept on - Houskeeping Service, very discreet - Friendly support by owner - Gorgeous Rooftop - see photos http://net88.de/geschenke/zimmer-boston/


Quaint and Cozy

5 on March 26, 2009

I loved my stay at The Gilded Lily! It was so homey and comfortable. It also is close to everything and anything you'd want to do in Boston! But even though it is in the middle of the city I was surprised at how quiet and peaceful it was. To top it off the innkeeper is exceptional! I am definitely going to go again!


The Gilded Lily

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-6178773676

Visit Website »

View details

Top