Sully Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
154 Reviews

Write A Review

Second trip to NOLA

4.6 on July 02, 2014

We came to celebrate my husband's birthday and stayed at Sully Mansion. This was our second stay there and we will definitely be back! Our room was clean and the breakfasts were wonderful. The innkeepers were very helpful.


NOLA week-end visit with daughter

5 on May 20, 2014

The house is wonderfully restored and features as well as promotes local artists. The porch and courtyard are wonderfully inviting. Nancy and Guy make you fell right at home and have provided several inviting spaces for visiting and relaxing. The breakfasts are yummy and the friendliness of Gracie made the visit extra special. I would not hesitate a recommendation and we will return.


Beautiful B & B

4.2 on March 24, 2014

Had a great experience would defeniltly come back. Awesome breakfast. Great area everything close to it.


An enjoyable 1 night stay

5 on March 16, 2014

We only stayed one night but had a wonderful time. We had a private chef (Gason Nelson) who came in and undertook a perfect menu which we helped prepare with him. This included lobster bisque, charred oysters, grilled filet mignon (excellent prime cut) with crabmeat crust, mashed potatoes and lime cured asparagus. Double chocolate mousse with cinnamon whipped cream topped off the desert with a great bottle of wine (guy's favorite). Breakfast was great as well. The ambiance was an unexpected plus. My wife and I had a great time. Our second floor room was beautifully decorated and well maintained. This is the first bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at, and it met my (and my wife's) every expectation. We would recommend this B&B highly.


My time at Sully Mansion.....

4.6 on March 15, 2014

Peter D. - from New Jersey Guy & Nancy have a lovely Bed & Breakast and are both true professionals... As I entered the mansion, was welcomed by Guy and gave me a quick tour of his home. Was able to check-in to my room before 12:00pm . Rooms are spotless and you can clearly see both Guy and Nancy take pride in their home. Met Nancy the same day of my arrival and made me feel welcomed.. shared some insight on the trolly service and introduced me to her pup Gracie! A wonderful addition to the home. The dog is well trained and interacts very well with strangers ... an added bonus to come home to each day at the mansion. Breakfast in the dining room was set-up very elegantly and the food was superb! Guy takes the time to share with the guests each of the breakfast items and both he and Nancy chat with everyone at the table... Looking forward to my next visit and hoping to bring the family for a stay at this beautiful home!


Wonderful vacation stay!

4.8 on March 11, 2014

Guy and Nancy are wonderful, thoughtful hosts, ready to answer any and all questions. Little touches make a big difference, such as having coffee available upstairs in the open area early in the morning, before breakfast. Nice way to start the morning!


Celebrating 74th birthday at Mardi Gras

4.6 on February 24, 2014

My wife and I attended Mardi Gras back in 2001, and we wanted to share the experience this year with our 10 year old daughter and her mom and dad. It just so happened to also be his 74 birthday. Guy and Nancy at the Sully Mansion made our trip a wonderful experience. The rooms were exquisite and the morning meals divine. The location was the prefect place to explore the Garden District and come back to after easily accessing the French Quarter and Uptown. Being a block off St. Charles also provided us with instant access to the parades. If you are looking for an authentic experience that is in the middle of everything yet removed from all the hustle and bustle, we would highly recommend the Sully Mansion. It was the heart of our travels throughout New Orleans.


Great B&B Experience

5 on February 20, 2014

Sully Mansion is very convenient to the Tulane college campus-even though we had our car we took a convenient, short cab ride to the campus to avoid the hassle of trying to park. The inn is very clean & comfortable, decorated nicely, and the innkeepers are very friendly & knowledgeable. We will definitely stay here again!


Fond memories of NOLA

3.2 on February 19, 2014

Sully Mansion was a great stay for our visit to NOLA. Spacious, clean, friendly owners. Location was excellent, quiet easy access to street car (my fave) and great restaurants near by. I would recommend this B&B to my friends and family.


Don't miss this one

4.8 on January 27, 2014

We stayed with Nancy & Guy recently and we could not have asked for anything more .Food was great as well as service . Gracie their dog is a prize .We have recommended Sully Mansion already to others and it has only been a day since we left. S & G Dunham Burlington Ont


Very, very nice !

3.8 on January 27, 2014

Superb house, cozy and large room, friendly and attentive host, excellent breakfast. Great location close to the Commander's Restaurant, Garden District Book Shop and Still Perkin Coffee Shop + all the beautiful Garden District houses. Thank you for enlightening our stay in New Orleans. Your list of restaurants and other info was very helpful. We will be back!


Fabulous Holiday Haven

4.8 on December 29, 2013

We were warmly greeted on our arrival by Nancy, Guy and Gracie and shown to the Bourbon Suite, a luxurious room on the second floor. The Garden District is glorious with the Christmas lights and holiday festivities and Sully Mansion was the perfect location from which to explore Magazine Street, St. Charles Ave and the historic houses--Sandra Bullock's house in down the street. The breakfasts were fantastic and creative--the sweet potato waffles were delicious. Nancy and Guy were most helpful with restaurant tips and the breakfast conversations with the other guests were lively. One of the best B&B experiences we have enjoyed.


Awesome Bed & Breakfast

5 on November 02, 2013

My bride and I decided to extend a business trio, and spend a night in the garden district. We booked the Sully mansion based on reviews both on this site and trip advisor. We were not disappointed. From the wagging tail of Gracie, to the luxorious bedroom to the excellent breakfast, it was a great stay. We will be back!!


Garden District Gem

5 on November 01, 2013

Great location in Garden District, comfortably furnished, delicious breakfast, gracious hosts; we would definitely stay there again!


Wonderful experience!

4.2 on October 31, 2013

We have a son at Tulane and the location of the Sully Mansion was perfect as he could get to us or we to him in a matter of minutes. Parking is plentiful around the home. The rooms are very comfortable and we absolutely loved the front porch where we spent each evening. The breakfasts were delicious and the coffee on the steps to our room at 7am was the perfect way to start the day. Nancy and Guy were gracious hosts and gave us very good suggestions on restaurants and tours. Gracie, the watch dog, was a big hit with all.


Wonderful Location

5 on July 24, 2013

After my first experience with a B & B went terrible, I was very hesitant to try another. In fact, I never wanted to try one again. However, my partner decided to do the booking of our New Orleans trip on his own. He told me AFTER the fact that he booked a B & B. Well, needless to say I was "stuck." After staying at the Sully Mansion for 3 nights, my view of B & B's completely changed. First, the room we stayed in was unbelievable. It was large, clean, and private (you didn't really hear anyone else). Second, the hosts (Guy, Nancy & Gracie the dog) were fantastic. They all made you feel welcomed and at home. Third, the other guests were very friendly and receptive to conversation (Of course I have no problem talking to anybody). Lastly, the location in the Garden District was perfect. The area was absolutely gorgeous. An easy walk to Magazine Street (Great restaurants, shops, and antique stores) as well as Lafayette Cemetery (no, Marie Laveau is not buried here...we made that mistake for about an hour searching for her tomb only to find out it was another cemetery). The only downside was the trolley. Sully Mansion is right next to a trolley stop which takes you into the french quarter. We tried several times to get on (either it was packed full and they didn't stop or a trolley never came). We waited on time for 20 minutes before deciding just to drive to the quarter (of course who wants to drive to Bourbon street!!?? Overall, I would definitely recommend anyone stay at the Sully Mansion. Next time we visit the city, I know where we will be staying. And yes, my faith with B & B's has been restored :-)


No place better to rest your head in NOLA

4.8 on July 11, 2013

Sully's turned out to be BETTER than ever expected. The location was perfect - quiet and in the Garden District, yet right across from the street car to get wherever you wanted to go. The rooms were so inviting, and the house overall like an artist's and historian's haven. Our hosts - especially resident mascot Gracie - made us feel part of the family. And those breakfasts...wow! Made it difficult to leave the table. Highest recommendations, and we will come again!


Lovely B & B

5 on July 10, 2013

My Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our retreat at the Sully Mansion. We felt welcomed by Guy, Nancy, and sweet Gracie. The Garden District is such a lovely part of New Orleans. We enjoyed being pampered in the Bourbon Suite. Our breakfasts at Sully were delicious and creatively prepared by Nancy and Guy. We looked forward to our morning talks with Guy and Nancy, who provided a wealth of information on New Orleans history, cuisine, and shopping. BTW, thank you for suggesting Joey K's..their Jambalaya was the best!! Also, Pralines by Jean was worth visiting. Thank you, Guy and Nancy, for providing stellar accommodations and making our stay so lovely and memorable. We are telling all of our friends about you! Laura and Thuy


Sully Mansion

5 on July 08, 2013

This was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast and it exceeded our expectations by far! The house itself was beautiful and inviting. The couple who owns the B&B, Guy, Nancy (and Gracie, their adorable dog), are incredibly nice and go out of their way to ensure their guests feel at home. The breakfast was also delicious, offering a wide variety of choices. I highly recommend the Sully Mansion, it's completely worth every penny.


Perfect Family Reunion Base

4.4 on June 18, 2013

Nancy and Guy are wonderful hosts and have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Then to have a lovely dog named Gracie wag her tag at our arrivals made it all the more enjoyable. It is in a terrific location and the St. Charles Street car is a great way to get around. There are a lot of places to explore in the garden district. I wholeheartedly recommend staying her.


Perfect!

5 on May 21, 2013

In NOLA for 4 days we enjoyed every aspects of Sully Mansion. Located under the massive trees of the garden district it is only one block away from the tram stop heading to the Quarter. This neighborhood is not only gorgeous but also quiet, which made for very restful nights. The rooms are superb and the beds quite comfortable. I like the charm of the old decor but appreciated sleeping on an updated mattress :-) The veranda and private garden around the mansion were perfect for gathering time and chats with friends picking us up. As for the hosts, friendly, smart and gracious, they provided us with a delicious array of treats every morning. I just wish I had enough appetite to try them all!


Wonderful Inn

4.6 on May 07, 2013

Rooms are beautifully appointed. The breakfast each morning was 5 star! Innkeepers were great! Would stay here again anytime. So close to Charles St., great boutiques, unending choice of restaurants! A definitely first class place!


Perfect location

4.8 on April 22, 2013

Sully Mansion is in the heart of the beautiful and historic Garden District. Strolling through the neighborhood or sitting on the front porch is pure relaxation. The hosts are pros and clearly love what they do: introduce visitors to all the history, food, and fun of New Orleans. We loved it.


Extremely comfortable and friendly

4.6 on March 24, 2013

This is a wonderful little bed and breakfast in a very safe location. It is in the Garden District and a block away from the trolley line that takes you downtown and to the French Quarter. The owners (Nancy and Guy) were the highlight of my stay. They are very welcoming, love their city, and are happy to offer their advice on what to check out and how to get there. I arrived very late at night after everybody in the house had gone to bed, but Guy and Nancy left me a handwritten card to welcome me and give me instructions on how to get into the room. A really nice gesture. The breakfasts were a great variety of fruits, yogurts, baked goods, etc., and offered a friendly atmosphere to chat with the owners and other visitors. I had a very nice and relaxing time and would stay here again.


Perfect honeymoon stay

4.6 on March 23, 2013

We had never stayed in a B&B before, but if they're all as wonderful as Sully, sign us up for more! Beautiful home, wonderful hosts, comfortable rooms, excellent location. What more could you ask for? A dog to play with? Well, they have that too! We really enjoyed our stay. Guy met us at the door and got us checked in, walked us through some basics and got us oriented with the surrounding area. Walk one block to the streetcar for an easy trip to the French Quarter, or walk out the front gate for four blocks to Magazine St for great shopping and dining options. Everything was so accessible and we were more than pleased we chose staying in the Garden District rather than downtown. It was so peaceful, quiet and incredibly lovely. We met Nancy the following morning at breakfast. The food choices were varied and delicious. We stayed during the week and it was great, I can't imagine how much better it could get on the weekend when they go all out. We look forward to a return trip and recommend Sully Mansion to anyone looking for a quiet getaway!


"Great B&B Mansion in Garden District"

5 on March 21, 2013

Just got home from New Orleans and we had a great time!!!! Stayed at Sully Mansion from March 11-15 and it was perfect for us! We loved the decor, the high ceiling and the quiet neighborhood. It was only one block away from St. Charles trolley which took us Downtown to French Quarter for only $1.25 or $3.00 for all day pass. The Mansion is also not far away from the famous Magazine Street which offers local restaurants and shopping stores. Two blocks from the Mansion is Lafayette cemetery and the fansy restaurant called "The Commanders Palace". This restaurant is exquisite...excellent food and drinks and great service. My husband and I had a fabulous evening. And there's more great places to eat which are about 4 blocks away, "Coquette" (local food), "Sake Cafe" (Japanese cuisine), "Joey K" (local diner) and don't miss "Sucre" for gelato dessert. We would definitely recommend Sully Mansion to all. They also serve full breakfast everyday with coffee, juice, fruits, yogurt parfait, lox (smoke salmon), bacon, bread pudding, pastries and etc. It was delightful to start your morning with delicious food. We have no complain at all. Overall, we had a wonderful experience staying at Sully Mansion and will definitely be back to visit. Thank you for JW who was very gracious and very attentive in everything that we need.


Great place in Garden District

3.8 on March 10, 2013

Nancy and Guy make our New Orleans long weekend getaway just perfect. Really a wonderful place to stay


Family first

5 on February 08, 2013

We've stayed there twice and plan to stay there every time we go to NoLa. Nancy and Guy are attentive, great cooks, lovely people and completely wonderful hosts.


Long weekend in New Orleans

4.4 on January 21, 2013

Wonderful location, beautiful rooms and delicious breakfasts!


Beautiful B&B in the heart of the Garden District

4.6 on January 10, 2013

I had a wonderful experience at Sully Mansion! The owners gave us wonderful advice on places to visit and eat. The room was well-appointed with a mix of antiques and local art. I even bought a piece of art by a local artist right off the wall!


The Sully Mansion

5 on January 03, 2013

What a wonderful place is the Sully Mansion. Nancy and Guy have made a great place in which to get away. They made our relaxing stay, just that – relaxing. The house itself is wonderful, breakfast amazing, and Nancy’s and Guy’s recommendations and assistance were invaluable to making our visit to New Orleans simply amazing. We will be back to the Sully on our return to New Orleans. Thank you, Nancy and Guy.


Outstanding Stay

4.6 on January 03, 2013

Having lived in New Orleans in the past, when I visit I want to stay someplace where I can feel at home and not a visitor. In the heart of the Garden District the Sully Mansion provides a great envirnment that is Uniquly New Orleans and Uniquly the Garden District where you can sit on the porch and enjoy the happenings of the area. You can walk every where you might need to go, the street car within a block, restaurants, coffee houses and so on. The patio allows a perfect venue to entertain friends and clients or simply to relax. While there were other guests in the House during my past visit, I hardly knew they were there. Nancy and Guy have truely created a home like environment to enjoy may times into the future.


Great location in New Orleans Garden District with a venue you will enjoy.

4.8 on December 28, 2012

There are many districts in New Orleans that make a good location for B&B visits. And there are wonderful hotels for your stay there. Sully Mansion puts you in NO's Garden District. Not the oldest but certainly a very beautiful area of the city. Close to Magazine St. shopping and eateries in the uptown area. Close to Mardi Gras parade routes. The Fourniers, your hosts, will welcome you and make you stay comfortable; advise on points of interest for your enjoyment during your visit. Breakfast is pleasing to the eye and delicious.


Welcoming Place

4.2 on December 08, 2012

Everything was lovely. The location is perfect, and the innkeepers friendly and helpful. Beds are comfortable and rooms attractive.


Pleasant B&B

4.8 on November 12, 2012

Sully B&B is a pleasant place to stay. So conveniently close to public transportation. The room that we stayed in was a little cramped for 3 people but sufficient. I love the breakfast where Nancy prepared delicious food; something savory and something sweet. Fresh cut flowers is always on the table which I like very much. Guy and Nancy are very friendly and accommodating. They gave us useful information especially since this was our first time in New Orleans. Would love to come back at Sully Mansion.


Disappointing

1.6 on October 23, 2012

Simply wasn't up to the high standards one might expect from the web site descriptions and the positive reviews elsewhere. The breakfasts were a major disappointment, limited in scope, and poorly presented by the hosts, who seemed unhappy to be making the presentation.

Innkeeper Response
We are so sorry that our inn and services and did not meet this guests' expectations. We pride ourselves in providing a hospitable environment and prepare every breakfast every morning from scratch offering a combination of baked goods and savory options for guests in addition to fresh fruit and yoghurt. We wish we would have known of their dis-satisfaction at the time of their stay and we would have worked to remedy it. We hope we are given the opportunity in the future to improve their experience with us.


At Home in New Orleans

5 on September 26, 2012

Our stay in New Orleans was made all the more special thanks to Nancy and Guy (and Gracie) at the Sully Mansion. Nancy and Guy are excellent hosts and knowledgeable and passionate about their adopted city. They insights and tips into New Orleans history, culture, cuisine and life provided an excellent introduction to the city and really helped in taking full advantage of what NOLA has to offer. The house itself is fantastic and lovingly restored, in a perfect location for exploring all corners of New Orleans. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, breakfasts homemade and hearty, and the overall ambience friendly and welcoming. A great way to experience New Orleans. We will be back!


We were thrilled by this place!

5 on July 22, 2012

A fantastic place! Difficult not to be impressed by the beauty of the mansion, decorated in a warm and classy way with excellent taste and plenty of ideas. We felt extremely welcomed by Nancy and Guy, who took care of every detail to make their guests have a great time – starting with the fresh and home-made breakfast in the big dining room. They also have plenty of really helpful advice on restaurants and activities. The location is very convenient too. We would definitely recommend a stay in this wonderful B&B.


Southern Hospitality at its best!

5 on July 02, 2012

Our stay at Sully Mansion was delightful. Guy and Nancy and their dog Gracie were gracious hosts. The location and accomodations were excellent. Loved the setting with the beautiful live oak and relaxing front porch. A special thanks to Nancy for honoring our Cajun heritage by serving us bodin and grits along with all of the other delicious breakfast foods. All and all - a step back into New Orleans history and true Southern Hospitality. We look forward to going back.


If you can't stay at the Sully Mansion when in New Orleans, change your travel dates!

5 on May 19, 2012

Very comfortable accomodations, lovely home, great innkeepers, wonderful breakfast. Mark and Alicia


Sully Mansion Stay

2.8 on May 15, 2012

I stayed for three days and used Sully's as a base for exploring the Garden District and traveling to and from downtown. After three days, I was ready to move on. Sully's is OK in most respects. However, the continental breakfast left much to be desired. I would stay again, but only if more upscale places were not available. The host and hostess were pleasant but not particularly enthusiastic about what they are doing. The hostess can be very sarcastic when she feels a question is obvious or trivial.


You won't find a better place to stay

4.6 on May 15, 2012

The Sully Mansion is very charming and located in the Garden Distrcit only a short streetcar ride to the French Quarter. There are several locations within walking distance of the B&B and many beautiful houses in the area. Guy and Nancy are the best and wonderful host. They will help you with just about anything from advising you on where to eat to setting up reservations. They know the city very well and always have wonderful advise.


A true gem

5 on May 02, 2012

Nancy and Guy provide an exceptional B&B experience. And be prepared to fall in love with their dog Gracie.


Sully Mansion a pleasure.

5 on April 27, 2012

Our stay at Sully Mansion exceeded our expectations. Nancy and Guy were wonderful host. The breakfast was delicious. The many other guest we met added to joy of our trip. Everyone seemed to be having such a good time in the city and at this house. It was in easy walking distance to the St. Charles streetcar line as well as a tour of the beautiful homes in it's area. We walked around the cornor to lunch at Commander's Palace. How cool! We hope to return for another visit at the Mansion and highly recommend it. !


Rowdies at Sullly Mansion

5 on April 26, 2012

A group of eight women who get together yearly to keep in touch just enjoyed a lovely weekend at Sully Mansion. The accommodations were so nice, as were our hosts. Breakfast was delish. Sweet dog Gracie and relaxing on the porch were a delight.


Great location,charming old B&B

5 on April 08, 2012

Nancy and Guy were very accommodating and had good advice for us during our stay.We would definitely stay there again. Rich & Terri


Stay here!

5 on March 05, 2012

The location is perfect in the Garden District near St James and the streetcar. Hosts Nancy and Guy are wonderful, they have great tips of things to do, where to eat, how to get around. Rooms are nice, beds are very comfortable, everything is clean. Breakfast was delicious and coffee available early morning.


Beautiful place in a great location

4.0 on March 03, 2012

Beautiful place to stay and the location could not be better. The innkeepers, Nancy and Guy, are wonderful hosts. They set a beautiful table for breakfast and give great service. They will accommodate all of your needs. JStM


Great base for a New Orleans visit

5 on January 28, 2012

Lovely B&B in beautiful Garden District. Quiet location with easy access to St Charles streetcar to get to the downtown and French Quarter, and walking distance to good restaurants and shops nearby. The innkeepers are a great resource on visiting some of the lesser known sights in and around the city.


New Orleans Experience

4.6 on January 16, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at Sully Mansion in January 2012. Our hosts, Nancy, Guy and Gracie were warm and welcoming without hovering. Their knowledge of New Orleans and recommendations for navigating on foot and on streetcar made this an enjoyable trip. The Garden District location is charming and historical as well as being ideal for easily getting to different parts of the city. The inn is a pleasant respite after a day of visiting the city and one we hope to which we hope to return.


A Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on November 12, 2011

What more can be said about the perfectly wonderful and delightful Sully’s Mansion B&B in New Orleans. In early October I attended a conference at the New Orleans Convention Center. It was my first visit to this really great city. A friend who had lived in New Orleans strongly recommended Sully’s, and I was not disappointed. Guy, Nancy, and Gracie (Guy and Nancy’s sweet, lovable dog), were the perfect hosts. Their Victorian B&B is beautifully decorated with very stylish and comfortable period rooms. Nancy is a chef par excellence, who made the very best breakfasts. Both Guy and Nancy were engaging (not at all intrusive), and directed me to the best restaurants and places to visit during my short stay of four days. And the location couldn’t be beat. The Garden District is totally neat, and I cherished my 10-minute daily commute on the St. Charles Streetcar line (one block from Sully’s) to downtown New Orleans to attend my conference at the Convention Center. This was a far superior place to stay than in any one of the large hotels in the CBD. I was sad to leave this beautiful city, and Sully’s proved to be my home away from home. I shall return, family and all.


The place to stay in New Orleans

5 on November 03, 2011

If you are going to stay at a B&B in New Orleans, this is the place to stay. It is the only B&B in the Garden District. It is within walking distance of many restaurants and the trolley to the French Quarter is only a block away. We stayed in the Tchoupitoulas Room which is not as elegant as the other rooms but we had our own private entrance and was very quiet. The breakfast was top notch and Guy and Nancy gave us lots of information about New Orleans. We highly recommend it.


Sully Mansion

4.2 on October 28, 2011

Hosts gracious, very well-versed on the sites and events in the area and willing to provide direction/information. Site well-located and maintained with sensitivity to the area and its history.


Great B & B in NOLA

4.4 on October 25, 2011

This is my favorite place to stay in New Orleans. Nancy and Guy are a wealth of information about the city: where to eat, what to do. And Nancy's breakfasts are always a treat, filled with fresh,home-baked goods; fresh fruit and yogurt; and a different entree daily, from pancakes to quiche to house-cured salmon. Rooms are comfy and welcoming. My favorite part of staying there: having a house dog (the adorable Gracie) to keep you company.


Great visit.

4.0 on October 17, 2011

Very nice place to stay with extremely convenient location. Inn keepers were helpful and enjoyable. I would stay there again.


beautiful bed and breakfast

4.8 on October 17, 2011

This is the perfect location in the Garden District, near the restaurants, cafes and stores of Magazine Street, among the mansions and one block from the streetcar. The owners are charming and knowledgeable The house is beautiful.


Road Trip

4.6 on October 12, 2011

We had been on an extended road trip and by accident we got lucky and found the Sully Mansion thanks to our Doggie Daycare. We only spent 2 nights but it was so charming right in the heart of the garden area of New Orleans. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and Guy, Nancy & Gracie certainly made it special. When in New Orleans do call them and spend a night.


Wonderful, again!

4.2 on October 03, 2011

I stayed at Sully Mansion for 4 nights last year in October 2010, and again this year in September 2011. Everything was top-noth both times and I have already reserved my room for next year! I would recommend Sully to anyone looking for a classy, cozy, Garden District B&B in New Orleans. Anyone who wants tourists attractions should stay in the Quarter.


Great Place far from home.....

4.8 on September 30, 2011

I write this review years after my first visit to Orleans. Guy & Nancy I apologize. We traveled with another couple and was able to secure this great BB (we were lucky there were no rooms in Orleans for the Sugar Bowl. Guy & Nancy have outstanding service, we were greeted by Gracie and she made our stay even more relaxing. Nancy helped us find the right places to take in during our short stay. This is a great BB and in walking distance to all the local sites. We came when the weather was very cold and it was unusual. We have not had an opportunity to return but Sully Mansion is the place to return to. We hope that you are doing well and give Gracie a hug for us. Clarice Watanabe Kailua Hawaii


Amazing!

5 on September 19, 2011

We booked the wrong night... Nancy & Guy were full but they found us other accommodations and then treated us to an amazing home cooked breakfast the next morning as an anniversary gift! Now that is hospitality - we will definitely go back.


Why stay anywhere else?

5 on September 18, 2011

Nancy and Guy are the perfect innkeepers for this beautiful home in the lovely Garden District. They immediately make you feel welcome, upon your arrival, gracious and accommodating as they famillarize uou with the Sully Mansion. Both are knowledgeable in all that is NOLA dining, music, culture, history, shopping and simply whatever you need to know to complete your stay. When you want to just relax, the inviting front porch under a spectacular old oak tree, is the perfect spot for conversation, a glass of wine or time to enjoy that good book. Beware, loveable Gracie (their rescue dog) might just curl up with you!!! As evident by all the reviews, this is the place to stay. we have already booked our next vist, bringing our best friends to enjoy this B&B gem. Tina and Frank Antonucci


Exceeding Expectations

4.0 on August 07, 2011

Guy and Nancy have restored the mansion to a museum quality. The attention to detail is extrodinary. The mansions location is perfect in the heart of the Garden District. You can be as quiet as you wish and never leave the front porch, or be in the French Quarter in minutes. Guy's resturant suggestions are,if anything, are overly conservative. One of his suggestions, Coquet I would rank as one finest I've ever been to. This from someone who has eaten in Michelin Stared restaurants around the world. In total our stay was magnificent!!!!! JF Sugar Land TX


Excellent place to stay! Already booked my next stay

4.4 on August 02, 2011

I searched many travel sites and decided to try a B and B. Sully Mansion is a fabulous place to stay. I had a beautiful room off to the back of the house with a separate entrance - perfect since I was on my way early in the morning and back well after many were already in bed. The Mansion is only two blocks off the street car route. The street car travels into the French Quarter along Canal Street and has many stops around town. I left my rental car parked at the mansion and walked every where I wanted to go. Breakfast on the weekend at the mansion was better than a five star restaurant. The table was set with beautiful dishes and fresh cut flowers. The offer a variety of breakfast foods and Nancy cooked some of the best eggs Benedict that I had ever tasted. On my last day in NOLA, Guy and Nancy both helped me plan some activities to do. Many of their suggestions were not advertised to tourists and some of them were FREE. The rooms and the house was pristine and I recommend anyone stay here. Families would enjoy the stay as well. They have a dog named Gracie who loves to have her belly rubbed, she was friendly and I do not have pets, but didn't mind having her around. This was my first stay at a B and B and I will definitely do this again. Also, when I went to settle up my bill, they offered a cash discount. Bonus to my already wonderful experience.


Perfect Birthday Surprise for my Husband!

5 on July 26, 2011

My husband and I both love the detail and history of older homes and the Sully Mansion was the perfect place to stay. Located in the Garden District, it was so wonderful and romantic just to walk around the neighborhood and appreciate all the beautiful homes. The trolley cars were just a block away and it would take you where ever you needed to go! Guy & Nancy were so helpful in suggesting all restaurants or just explaining how to get around the area! I will suggest The Sully Mansion to everyone I know. Thanks for a great weekend getaway, we will surely be back!


Charming Place!

5 on July 25, 2011

My husband and I traveled cross country and this was the perfect place to end our trip before heading home to Florida. Wonderful host, beautiful surroundings and great breakfasts. Nancy and Guy's suggestions for getting around and places to eat made the experience perfect for our first visit to New Orleans.


A highlight of our trip

4.2 on July 20, 2011

Gorgeous house. Meticulous attention to detail. Smart, knowledgeable innkeepers. Excellent breakfasts, more than your typical B&B fare. Easy access to the heart of the Big Easy via the St. Charles streetcar. Two blocks from Lafayette Cemetery #1, an inspiration for Anne Rice’s vampire bestsellers. And last but not least there’s Gracie, a charming canine who fills in for the pets that we miss while vacationing.


Perfect First Anniversary

5 on July 18, 2011

A great location to explore and experience the Garden District. A man could not ask for a better place to spend a romantic time with his wife. Thanks to Guy and Nancy for sharing their home with us. We look forward to another great visit of good food and great hospitality. Thanks again, Reed and Sabrina


LOVE LOVE LOVED IT!

4.8 on July 07, 2011

This was our first experience in a Bed and Breakfast... and it could not have been better! Great hosts, great food, great place! The rainy Sunday playing cards on the porch was priceless... truly a place of comfort and peace. Love, love, loved it!


Comfortable, upbeat, interesting, delicious.

4.0 on July 01, 2011

We enjoyed the warm welcome to Sully Mansion, the hosts are beyond compare and provided delicious, hearty breakfasts with good coffee. We were always satisfied until dinner time! They also tell stories, suggest good restaurants, provide umbrellas when needed, and give good tips on easy ways to get around. It helped to have their up-to-date knowledge of happenings around town and it was a delight to be greeted by the most gentle and sweet pooch in the South. The house and gardens are grand and lovely, well-appointed rooms, each unique. We especially enjoyed being able to sit on the covered porch after a day of exploring New Orleans and the convenient location makes it possible to fit a lot in. It's quiet. cool, spacious, and very comfortable with art and lots of personal touches. Thanks to Guy, Nancy and Gracie we felt right at home--that is, if home were fancy! So yes, Sully Mansion exceeded our expectations and we plan to return the next time we can get to NOLA. -- Elaine & Jimmy from Portland, Oregon


Great Location for visit in New Orleans

3.2 on June 02, 2011

Great location-close to street car and restaurants in Garden District-quiet location. Parking is on the street but no problem finding a place. Only draw back in the heat of summer is no central air-has a window unit but not turned on ahead of time since owner did not know when we would arrive-so room was very hot when we got there. Offers a continental breakfst during the week but it was very good with home baked breads.


Great get away. Fabulous house and location

4.6 on June 01, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for our anniversary a few nights ago. The house is terrific- you feel the history of it when you walk in. Our room was spacious, clean, and decorated beautifully and practically- all the wanted extras are there. We walked to Commander's Palace for dinner just 2 blocks away and took in a neat Garden disctrict tour that began just a block away. After dinner, we lounged on the awesome front porch that overlooks an incredible live oak as well as a beautiful yard and street. The host and hostess are very friendly and accomodating, but not intrusive. The breakfast was lovely. We will go back there again.


Lovin' NOLA

4.8 on May 14, 2011

We recently traveled to the Big Easy for JazzFest. We couldn't get into our regular haunts, so we thought we would check out Sully Mansion. The location and the rooms were tremendous as we figured out on the Internet - a vintage uptown mansion in the heart of the Garden District, a block from the St Charles streetcar line and easy walking distance to Magazine Street. What we could not know of was the warmth and knowledge of our hosts - Nancy and Guy. From their pitch-perfect Gingerbread waffles and morning breakfast to their intimate knowledge of the city, they certainly provided a great home base for our extended weekend. Just the right amount of attention to our comfort, they were available for our questions but allowed us to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the porch and gardens without intrusion. Our Innkeepers were extremely flexible in our arrival and the real "matron of the house" - Gracie, their rescue pup - greeted us on our returns, all making for an instant home away from home. For anyone looking for a welcoming stay in the Crescent City, one couldn't do much better than the Sully Mansion. Thanks again for a wonderful visit.


Beautiful home in the heart of the Garden District

4.0 on March 12, 2011

The Sully Mansion is in a terrific location in New Orleans – just a block off St. Charles Avenue in the Garden District. Because of this location we were able to park our car and use the street car for transportation during our stay. The B&B is a beautiful house and our room was bright and sunny and furnished with wonderful antiques. Each morning coffee was placed outside our room. That was a great perk to start the day. A delicious continental-plus breakfast was served consisting of fresh fruits and an assortment of breads, coffee cake, and meat and egg selections. We appreciated that the innkeepers sat and chatted with us and were available to answer questions as well. An extra bonus was Gracie, the dog, who had a friendly but quiet disposition and made the inn seem really homey. We would recommend this inn highly to anyone visiting New Orleans.


Very comfortable, convenient, throughly satisfying stay

4.4 on March 05, 2011

I was in New Orleans for just one night after a business trip and needed a safe and comfortable spot for a solo traveler. The hosts welcomed me warmly, providing great advice for a late evening supper in the neighborhood as well as suggestions for getting to the French Quarter early the next day easily via street car. Parking was safe, easy and free, and the route to the airport simple. I will definitely return for a longer vacation stay.


Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast is a delightful place to stay in the Garden District

4.8 on February 25, 2011

The hosts of this beautiful mansion are incredibly knowledgeable about the restaurants and places to visit in this fascinating city, and they do a wonderful job of welcoming you to the area. Their breakfasts bring on appetite even if you didn't have one when you arrive at the lovely dining table. All of the rooms are attractively and artistically furnished, and many have spacious sitting areas. Ours did not, and our one complaint is that we missed a common area separate from office of the hosts. In warmer weather probably the gracious front porch serves this function. We certainly would stay here on a return visit.


Stay Here on Your Next New Orleans Trip!

5 on December 15, 2010

The Sully Mansion's innkeepers, Guy and Nancy Fournier, are wonderful hosts. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts, especially the hot breakfast served on weekends, and learned a lot about New Orleans in our conversations with both Nancy and Guy. The house itself (built in 1890) is elegant and beautifully maintained. Our room was charmingly decorated, very clean, and blessedly quiet--a great place for a good night's sleep! For us the location was perfect: the Garden District boasts remarkable architecture, tree-lined residential streets, galleries, and many excellent restaurants, and Magazine Street is only a few blocks away. Very highly recommended!


Wonderful B&B

5 on October 25, 2010

My husband and I just returned from our trip to New Orleans and this b&b was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The innkeepers, Nancy and Guy, and even their dog Gracie, were so warm and welcoming. They were very helpful with suggestions for experiencing the city. The location is excellent, just around the block from a St. Charles streetcar stop, from which you can access much of the city. The house is a beautiful, historic house in the Garden District. And the breakfasts...YUM!!! My husband and I have stayed in many b&b's, and this was definitely one of our favorites!! We will definitely be back. Thank you Guy and Nancy!!


Great stay

4.4 on October 25, 2010

Sully mansion is right in the heart of the Garden District with easy access to other areas of the city via the streetcar. Nancy and Guy are friendly hosts who run a lovely inn, and I would definitely return/recommend.


Great great stay!

4.4 on September 25, 2010

We convinced the other guests in our party to come try Sully Mansion with us. We were all pleased with our choice. My husband and I stayed in the Suite on the first floor. VERY nice room with direct access to the porch. The rooms were immaculate. VERY clean, and obvious attention to detail. We loved the porch, as it was a great place for us to gather before, in-between, and after our many outings in the city of New Orleans. Guy and Nancy were terrific hosts, and went above our expectations to accomodate us and make our stay pleasant. They are very knowledgable on the happenings around the city, and have definite opinions in regards to the various tours, shopping, restaraunts, etc. The breakfast in the morning allowed us to try new dishes every day, many of them unique compared to typical breakfast fare. There was a good variety of breads/pastries to choose from, but only one "hot" dish per morning. (Which, the hot dish, I believe, is only offered on weekends.) The house was large enough to accomodate many guests at the same time and not feel like we were invading anyone else's space. Rooms were very quiet. We look forward to coming back for another stay. .


Spectacular; wonderful; incredible!

5 on September 18, 2010

My fiancee and I spent two nights over a weekend at Sully Mansion. Wonderful decision. Summer rates were still in effect (Sept 2010) so the stay was quite reasonable - especially when combined with the gourmet breakfast on weekend mornings. The continental breakfast on weekday mornings is more than I've ever encountered at chain hotels. The location is close to St. Charles Avenue in the Garden District and if you desire to head towards the Quarter, it's a quick ride on the street car to get there an back so you don't have to be concerned with parking. Guy, Nancy and wonderful Gracie (resident canine - ever so friendly!) make you feel quite welcome at Sully Mansion. We'll be back!


A wonderful place to stay!

5 on August 31, 2010

This is a great little B&B that is right in the heart of the Garden District. It's a great place to stay if you want to get away from the super touristy areas, but you are still very close to the street car, with the French Quarter only a 15 min ride away. Nancy, Guy and Gracie were wonderful hosts. Breakfasts were fun as you had the opportunity to meet other guests and have a nice home-cooked meal. The rates are very reasonable for the experience you get. I've stayed at the major hotel chains in New Orleans before and nothing beats the experience of a B&B like Sully's!


An Exceptional B&B

5 on April 02, 2010

This historical mansion sits right in the heart of the Garden District of New Orleans. There is easy access to the French Quarter and other downtown locations plus the National WW II Museum via the St. Charles streetcar line. The Uptown District is only four blocks from the Sully. There are many restaurants, shopping areas, art galleries and other attractions easily accessible from the Sully Mansion. We have stayed in many inns/B&B's around the US and in Europe and England. The Sully Mansion and its Inkeepers, Guy and Nancy are now at the top of our list as our favorite. The reasons are many but the top reason is that the best B&B's are a reflection of their owners and you will not meet a more friendly and helpful couple than Guy and Nancy. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is a great experience. They know New Orleans very well and will help you with anything you need to know to get the very best our of your visit. The Sully is beautiful inside and out and a very good value. The mansion is extremely well kept, clean and quiet. We highly recommend the Sully Mansion for anyone who is looking for a great New Orleans experience. Paul and Heidi, Denver, Colorado


Nowhere else we would stay in New Orleans

4.8 on March 16, 2010

Nancy and Guy of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast were the perfect hosts. They provided delicious and varied home cooked breakfasts and were available for our endless questions about New Orleans. They directed us to a tour company that provided an intimate passenger van tour of post Katrina New Orleans which explained what had happened and why. They booked things for us and called cabs and generally went above and beyond to make our time in New Orleans as enjoyable as possible. Sully Mansion is an old, charming well maintained mansion in the Garden District one small block away from one of the best bookstores anywhere and also a great neighbourhood coffee shop. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. All the rooms and hallways were hung with an eclectic collection of artist’s work all of which was available for sale. When in New Orleans there is nowhere else my wife and I would stay


Visit in November 2009

4.0 on December 31, 2009

Wonderful bed and breakfast. Charming location, easy access to trolley or bus. (Both go to the French Quarter, but are about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the convention center.) The breakfast is wonderful - something for everyone (fruit, bagels, eggs, yogurt and something hot each day). I stayed in the small room, which is really quite small - fine for one person. Guy and Nancy are delightful hosts. Try it!


A great place to stay in New Orleans

5 on November 09, 2009

A lovely place to stay in the heart of the Garden District and one block from the trolley. reasonable rates, interesting people, good food and ambiance; an all-around good experience.


Our New Home in New Orleans

5 on November 01, 2009

Our first trip was in August to drop our son and niece off at school. We enjoyed our stay at Sully so much that we quickly booked rooms for Parents' Weekend. Guy, Nancy and Gracie clearly want you to enjoy your stay at their home and your time in New Orleans. Imagining the history of the house had me mesmerized both weekends. The rooms are opulent, yet comfortable. Located on the streetcar line, the house was convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts that Guy and Nancy prepared as well as the languid conversation over drinks on the porch. We'll be back....


thank you for a wonderful experience

4.6 on October 29, 2009

my first visit to new orleans. loved the location & walks through the neighborhood. thank you nancy, guy & gracie


FELT LIKE HOME

4.0 on October 22, 2009

I would like to thank the owners (innkeepers) of the bed and breakfast for their true southern hospitality. Myself, along with my teenage daughter traveled to New Orleans to attend a Miley Cyrus concert, this being a big wish of hers. Being so important to her, obviously made it very important to me. Our experience with Sully's Mansion Bed and Breakfast was exceptional! From the time Mr. Guy and Mrs. Nancy greeted us upon arrival, to our clean and comfortable room we were in awe. The homemade pastry breakfast, along with the warm conversations with our hosts made our trip a true southern delight! We look forward to staying at Sully's on our next New Orleans adventure.


I will return! But next time for pleasure.

4.2 on October 21, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying in the Sully’s Tchoupitoulas Suite (a charming and cozy bedroom, bathroom, and sitting room). http://www.sullymansion.com/tchoupitoulas-room.html. I don't know what to say, other than Guy and Nancy (and Gracie) exceeded my expectations, and made my trip to New Orleans and the Garden District a truly enjoyable and memorable experience. It’s like going to visit family, except they treat you better than most family members ever would. I will definitely check to see if there’s an available room whenever I make my next NO adventure.


Can't wait to come back!

5 on October 12, 2009

My teenage daughter and I stayed for 5 wonderful nights in the garden district of New Orleans at this bed & breakfast, and the visit could not have been better. We felt always free to ask for anything or any information about the city we might need. We were even directed to a cajun dance(where we had lots of fun), which only someone local would have know about. It is very comfortable and safe, which was extremely important to me. And the house and rooms are exquisite. This is a lovely place to stay, and we hope to return as soon as possible for another visit.


Looking forward to our next visit!

5 on October 06, 2009

Nancy and Guy met us at the door, and could not have been more gracious and welcoming. We were visiting New Orleans for the first time, in town as my daughter was to consider Tulane University for Grad School. Nancy and Guy's sharing with us the many "insider" tidbits of the area, their sincerity, warmth and energy to help us with all aspects of visiting a new city, comfortable and charming rooms, and the aroma from the kitchen, remains in our memory and will be "our place" to stay when we return to New Orleans to visit our daughter at Tulane! How could this first visit make us feel like family...Don't miss this little jewel. Donna & Nicole


Great Honeymoon Choice

4.2 on October 06, 2009

Guy and Nancy were outstanding hosts from my first contact with them. The package we purchased was a great value and the accomodations were first rate. The setting in the Garden District with the Live Oak out front and the comfortable, relaxing porch were the perfect remedy after the busy days preparing for our wedding. Guy and Nancy can give great tips on live entertainment and restaurants or you can go your own way. They make their guests feel very comfortable and are most accomodating. We plan to return.


Outstanding hospitality, beautiful home

4.6 on October 05, 2009

Sully Mansion was in the wonderful Garden District of New Orleans. Walk to great dining and shopping and streetcar to everything else. Nancy and Guy were so gracious and helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful. Every room is beautifully appointed. We'll return!!


Great Place to Stay in New Orleans

4.6 on October 04, 2009

A great place to stay. Mt husband and I have stayed three times. The beds are comfortable, the rooms bright and the breakfast is delicious. The proprietors, nancy & Guy know the city well and are very helpful. The location is convenient but not on St. Charles so it is very quiet.


we're going back!

4.0 on October 03, 2009

We stayed for an extended weekend with our three teenagers in August '09. The inn-keepers were great, gave us good advise on where to go, what to do and where to eat. The next time we're in New Orleans I wont need to do any researching on where to stay. :o)


girls weekend

5 on September 28, 2009

I stayed with 7 of my girlfriends/sisters for my 50th birthday. We stayed in various rooms at the inn, all were wonderful. Guy and Nancy suggested wonderful places to dine. We enjoyed food and conversation that they provided. We felt very at home and comfortable. We will be back.


Memorable Visit

5 on September 28, 2009

Sully Mansion was one of my most enjoyable stays. The rooms are lovely and Guy and Nancy are simply perfect host. I would highly recommend anyone take the opportunity to see New Orleans with a stay at the Sully Mansion you will not be disappointed.


Wow!

4.8 on September 15, 2009

I have to say I was really thrilled and surprised by the quality of the accommodation - very atmospheric without being run down - and the friendliness of the hosts. Great breakfast, too. These people know how to run an inn!


"Let the Pampering begin..."

5 on August 27, 2009

My husband and I will treasure our stay with Nancy and Guy. We felt so special! The true flavor of New Orleans, combined with the unique and gracious hospitality, makes Sully Mansion second to none. Luxurious and peaceful, romantic and mystical, Sully Mansion provides an atmosphere conducive to total relaxation and mending of the heart.


Only place to stay in the Garden District

5 on August 21, 2009

I have stayed with Nancy and Guy numerous times over the past two years both for pleasure and for business. They are very gracious hosts and very accomodating. Recently they invested in painting the outside of the house and also in new gutters so it looks spectacular. The inside is clean, the beds are comfortable, the window units always help me sleep and cut out any noise that might be outside. The neighborhood is very quite and this B and B is the only B and B in the true garden district. It is well located and Nancy or Guy can steer you to the best places to eat.


Romantic and Memorable

5 on August 14, 2009

This was our first stay in the Garden District and we thoroughly enjoyed staying at the beautiful Sully Mansion. Our room was beautiful, comfortable, and cozy. Innkeeper Nancy, suggested a self-guided tour of the Garden District and provided the map, too. After looking at all the wonderful, historic homes, I was ready to move there, but since I can't move, the next best thing will be to return to the Sully Mansion. Guy and Nancy were so charmingly hospitable and catered to our every whim by making restaurant reservations, dining suggestions, and, most importantly, gave us instructions on how to ride the streetcar. (We were streetcar novices.) Staying at the Sully Mansion made our 35th wedding anniversary romantic and memorable.


A Gem in New Orleans

5 on June 13, 2009

Sully Mansion is a lovely place to stay in the Garden District and very convenient to the street car. It shouts New Orleans charm and Nancy and Guy are wonderful hosts and extemely helpful in providing information about great restaurants, music and other attractions of the City.


A great place to stay in New Orleans

5 on May 28, 2009

A warm and welcoming Bed and Breakfast that makes you feel instantly at home. Nancy and Guy the owner/operators are on top of their game! I recommend staying there any time you are in New Orleans. The Sully Mansion is located in the heart of the Garden District so the views when walking are incredible. We will stay there again.


Perfection!!

4.6 on May 20, 2009

We loved everything about it and will never stay anywhere else when we're back in New Orleans. Great location 1 block from Charles St streetcar; beautiful Victorian furnishings plus works of local artists; exceptional gourmet breakfasts; top-quality, comfortable beds; loads of New Orleans charm; and exceptionally hospitable and thoughtful innkeepers. Best B&B yet! Hard to imagine how to improve it. Strongly recommend Sully Mansion to anyone who wants a more local experience than the typical 4-star hotel can provide.


WE LOVED IT

4.6 on May 18, 2009

This is a fantastic place!! The inn keepers are the nicest people in the world. The breakfast is the best I have ever had in a B&B. The rooms are lovely- all of them and rich with character and charm. The location is great, beautiful, in the garden district, easy access to the street car for getting up and down town. I even loved the dog!! We are going back and will never stay anywhere else.


They place to stay if you want to xperience the heart and soul of New Orleans

5 on May 16, 2009

Our stay was both both special and memorable. We especially LOVED Nancy and Guy's recommendations - both Domilises and Jacques-imo's were awesome to the pallet and as well as thoroughly enjoyable experiences - and I am now a Joe Krown and Marcia Ball fan based on their Jazz Fest and Lafayette Square concert suggestions. They even got me less apprehensive about actually experiencing Mardi Gras one day. Plus Nancy puts on a wonderful breakfast spread to start the day and to talk about what music people saw the night before. It is such a comfortable place that even the other guests (most return visitors) were all very friendly and helpful. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else while visiting New Orleans. It is not a surprise that most of the guests are return visitors and referrals, because one really gets to experience the true heart and soul of New Orleans staying at Sully Mansion.


Majical Anniversary

5 on May 02, 2009

Alison and I will always cherish the loving, family like atmosphere created by the hosts. We were quite taken by the cleanliness and hospitable nature of Sully Mansion. It made our first B&B experience and our first anniversary one of fond memory. Kris


Charming B & B

5 on April 20, 2009

So much better than the impersonal atmosphere of a hotel. I especially enjoyed the lively breakfast conversations. The hosts, Nancy and Guy, are incredibly intelligent, caring, and interesting people.


Lovely mansion, beautifully furnished

5 on April 13, 2009

This lovely home is located in a quiet and pretty area of the garden district. The hosts are warm and helpful and my room, although small, was perfect. The location is very convenient, parking was easy, and breakfast was delicious. I look forward to a retun visit.


Great weekend

5 on March 15, 2009

Awesome spot. The hosts were great the food was delicious and the room was spectacular. Great place for a parade/jazz fest weekend.


Could not have been better

5 on March 08, 2009

I discovered Sully Mansion on an online search, and could not have been luckier. The owners, Nancy and Guy, provided exquisite service, are extremely knowledgeable about the city, and the accomodations are so charming and comfortable. The location of the mansion is ideal for exploring the garden district, getting on the street car to go downtown, or going to a parade on St. Charles. The food was so delicious, and no matter what the concern or question, Nancy and Guy are extremely accomodating and helpful. I would recommend Sully Mansion to anyone!


A return to New Orleans

4.4 on March 06, 2009

A native Louisianian transplanted to Pa., I came back to NO for a conference at Tulane/Newcomb and brought friends (one had never visited before). Thought the Garden District would be a perfect locale for a taste of old NO-and Nancy and Guy's Sully Mansion was wonderful in every way. I HIGHLY recommend it and plan to stay with them my next visit to my favorite US city.


Mardi Gras in the garden district

4.2 on March 05, 2009

Sully Mansion was fantastic. We just had to walk up the street to see the parades on St. Charles. The owners were top of the line hosts. When we go back to New Orleans, we will return to Sully Mansion


Pleasant Visit during Crazy times

5 on March 05, 2009

Althought it was during Mardi Gras time, we had a most enjoyable time which helped us to enjoy the festivities like locals.


Fantastic breakfast

4.2 on March 03, 2009

We enjoyed our stay. It was so convenient for the streetcars - just a block away. We were also given a recomendation for lunch at a local place a few blocks away. Breakfast was awesome. The stuffed French Toast was the best we've ever had. The hospitality was good. It was nice to have ice and a small refigerator available for leftovers.


Sully is a great place!

4.6 on February 10, 2009

I greatly enjoyed my stay at Sully Mansion. I was traveling on business, and being sick of standard hotels, I came across Sully and gave it a shot. The house is beautiful and Guy an Nancy are great hosts. As a female traveling by myself, I felt the garden district area as well as the house very secure and comfortable.


Fabulous! Can't wait to Stay Again!

5 on January 21, 2009

I wish we could get the whole house for Jazz Fest!!


Sully: a great B&B

5 on December 30, 2008

Hosts Nancy & Guy were great hosts--knowledgeable about the area, happy to help with suggestions, and simply very nice people. We had a great time staying at Sully--it was a block from the St. Charles line, about a 10 minute ride into the French Quarter, a similar time from the universities and the zoo. Definitely recommended!


Welcoming and knowledgeable hosts

5 on November 22, 2008

This was our first trip to New Orleans. We felt welcomed and were put at ease immediately on arriving at Sully Mansion. On arriving we were able to relax and enjoy a glass of wine on the front veranda and absorb the atmosphere. Nancy and Guy were enthusiastic and knowledgeable hosts who were able to answer many questions and provide advice and recommendations on restaurants, music and activities. Sully Mansion itself is interesting and the rooms have been decorated in keeping with the history and culture of the house - except with all the modern conveniences. The location is excellent for walking, taking the street car or driving to various locations. Nancy is a wonderful cook and the full breakfasts on the weekends were great. Continental breakfasts during the week were also enjoyable. We would definitely recommend a stay at Sully Mansion if you are visiting New Orleans and area.


Deligtful experience

5 on November 18, 2008

It was delightful to be in such a warm and gracious B&B. The innkeepers are very friendly and make the guests feel very much at home. The location in the Garden District is terrifically convenient to everything and it is very beautiful. I can't wait to go back. Susan


Too short of a trip

4.8 on November 16, 2008

First time staying in the Garden District instead of French Quarter and will do it again, and will definitely stay at the Sully Mansion. Wish we could have stayed longer as we were very comfortable there.


New Orleans Gem

5 on September 17, 2008

A gem in the garden district of New Orleans!


Recovery Haven

5 on September 06, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying with Nancy, Guy & Gracie following a major surgical operation. I live out of state and needed a comfortable, homey place to stay. My stay couldn't have been more perfect! Nancy & Guy are incredibly gracious, thoughtful, and charming. And Gracie...I can't wait to play tug-of-war again. D~


Absolute Must!

5 on August 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Sully Mansion in July 2008. Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived. We were in a hurry to get to a meeting that was about to begin. We called ahead and Nancy met us at the door with key in hand and we were on our way! Our room had a very warm charming feeling and was very comfortable. The breakfasts always had variety and was presented in a very elegant manner. We felt like very special guests! Nancy and Guy were attentive to our every need (umbrellas, local restaurants and shopping referrals, available transportation, etc); including a tour of the house and its historial significance. Staying in the Garden District was grand. This historic area is a must see for anyone visiting New Orleans. We used the street car to get around and found it very accommodating and inexpensive. We bought a pass for 3 days which worked out great. Nancy and Guy made our stay very enjoyable, adding to our love of bed and breakfasts. We're honored to recommend Sully Mansion as a must stay in New Orleans! Rick and Bernadette Albuquerque, New Mexico


New Orleans in July!

4.2 on August 03, 2008

We had a delightful stay at Sully Mansion, despite the July weather. Guy and Nancy were very personable hosts; breakfast table conversation with them and the other guests was very enjoyable -- enhanced by Nancy's wonderful food! Our hosts were very helpful but not at all intrusive. Our room, the Prytania, was comfortable and attractive. The bath felt spacious, in part because of the high ceiling. My only regret was that given the weather in July we were not able to take full advantage of walks around the wonderful Garden district or along St. Charles. We had to content ourselves with sightseeing the beautiful homes and tree-covered streets from our air-conditioned car. We would definitely recommend Sully Mansion. Pat and Bruce B.


A great getaway

5 on July 04, 2008

Our first trip New Orleans was made even better with our stay at Sully Mansion. We stayed in the St. Charles Suite and found the room to be comfortable, especially the bed! Guy and Nancy were very welcoming and offered very helpful tips on where to go and what to see. As well as the best route to get there. The breakfast was very tasty too. We plan to come back to New Orleans in the late fall with friends and we will definitely stay at Sully Mansion again!


Personal Service

4.8 on June 27, 2008

We were visiting the area to find housing for my son, who will be attending Tulane Law School. The Innkeepers could not have been more helpful. The Inn itself was lovely, but it was the personal interest they took in our situation and the caring and helpful attitude that will remain with us as a lasting memory. Great experience!!


Wonderful B&B!

4.0 on June 26, 2008

We had a wonderful stay and experience. Guy and Nancy are great hosts. The mansion location is perfect for exploring New Orleans.


Picture Perfect

4.8 on June 13, 2008

Our weekend in new Orleans was picture perfect due to our very comfortable stay at the Sully Mansion. The mansion truly has kept its period charm yet offers the modern conveniences we expected. The accommodations were beautiful and the hospitality was top notch. Guy and Nancy even went out of there way at the request of a friend to pick up champagne and flowers for our arrival! Breakfasts were our favorite meal of the day! Very reasonably priced as well.


Warm Southern Victorian Hospitality!

5 on June 01, 2008

Hospitality at its best in a charming 19th century Victorian mansion turned B&B. Great location in the Garden District very near the St. Charles streetcar means no car rental. Nancy loves to make delicious and healthy breakfasts and we enjoyed it on the lovely wraparound front porch, stopping every once in a while to scratch the head of Gracie, one wonderful dog. We couldn't resist being in the same comfortable outdoor sofa with a glass of wine later in the day, surounded by magnificent 300-year old oak trees. I felt like family by the end of the weekend and gave Guy a farewell hug. Guy and Nancy's knowledge of the city's treasures is extensive and they are extremely helpful in procuring tickets, taxis and travel info. I stayed in the Tchoupitoulas Room as a single female while my couple friends stayed on the second floor. We all felt that while we traveled to New Orleans for a wonderful destination wedding, Guy and Nancy made the rest of our trip a delight!


heart of the Garden District

4.8 on June 01, 2008

Sully Mansion is ideally located for easy access to the French Quarter, downtown and uptown, and the Fourniers (read "Forn-yays") could not be better hosts. Enjoy your coffee or an evening cocktail on the spacious front porch; walk one block to catch the St. Charles Avenue streetcar. Breakfasts are lovely - pastries, quiches and other delights are fresh, homemade and creative.


A Southern Delight

4.0 on May 30, 2008

Nancy, Guy, and their wonderful pupp Gracie provided warm southern hospitality and gourmet cuisine in their graciously appointed historic home in the Garden District of New Orleans. A perfect retreat at the end of a busy day parktaking in all that NOLA offers--great food, wondeful music, countless antique and art galleries and endless festivals. I'll be back!


Great experience

3.8 on May 26, 2008

I stayed in the "Desire" room, which is the smallest room. It was perfect for a woman travelling alone. Some of the categories I selecterd "met my expectations" -- but my expectations were very high after the reviews I read online. My hosts were gracious and made me feel very confortable and welcome. The weekend breakfast was delicious. I will definitely return and would reccommend it to anyone.


Cant get any better

4.0 on May 24, 2008

As a former New Orleans resident I was extremely pleased with my stay at the Sully Mansion. I felt right at home and plan on staying here every time I return to New Orleans. I highly recommend the inn for 1st time visitors as well. The Inn is centrally located and Guy and Nancy make friendly and trustworthy guides to this beautiful city.


Historic Elegance

4.0 on May 20, 2008

The Sully Mansion exceeded our expectations in every way. Everything was approached with the elegance you hope for in the Garden District. Our room was large with very high ceilings. It was beautifully decorated and yet very comfortable. The king size bed was excellent. Nancy and Guy made our trip very special. They helped with all our arrangements for Jazz Fest and recommended neighborhood restaurants we had never been to before. Nancy is a wonderful cook and presented great baked delights. I look forward to our next trip to New Orleans. Oh, and the gardens are lovely and the large covered porch is great for relaxing.


Stay at Sully makes New Orleans perfect

4.8 on April 06, 2008

Our stay at the Sully Mansion helped make our trip to New Orleans perfect. Nancy and Guy were very warm, welcoming, and helpful. They provided great restaurant and tour advice, and did everything possible to ensure our comfort. After a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed, it was great to wake up to Nancy's homemade breakfast.


Outstanding experience with Guy and Nancy

5 on April 03, 2008

We spent Valentine's Day weekend at Sully Mansion, and our stay there was outstanding in every respect. Guy and Nancy have a lovely home, the room was beautifully furnished, they and other guests were very friendly, and the breakfast was terrific. The location is very close to all the great New Orleans sights -- perfect for seeing the Garden District and more. The best thing was the way Guy and Nancy engaged all the guests in conversation, and created a wonderful atmosphere for each guest. It truly felt like home away from home.


the best place to stay in NOLA!

5 on March 23, 2008

We have returned to our favorite place to stay finding it better than ever! What a great location and beautiful area of the city. Wonderful host-owners Nancy, Guy, & Gracie (the adorable dog) couldn't be more gracious and accomodating. New Orleans will welcome you back with open arms.


A wonderful establishment

5 on March 07, 2008

My family held a reunion at the Sully Mansion. We found the proprieters, Nancy and Guy Fournier, to be a lovely, thoughtful and interesting couple. Nancy actually helped plan the event months in advance and made sure that each guest's needs were anticipated before their arrival. The B & B has been lovingly restored by its hosts, and is both elegant and comfortable. Many thoughtful touches and great attention to detail are evident throughout, making it even more delightful and inviting. (The rooms are far more beautiful than they appear in the website pictures.) Nancy and Guy love New Orleans and are more than happy to suggest places to go and provide directions. Their homemade breakfasts are wonderful. We left with Nancy's apple waffle recipe, and she packed a breakfast for the guests who left early. Needless to say, our event was a tremendous success and we all loved our stay at the Sully Mansion.


Grand and Gracious

5 on February 22, 2008

We have just returned from our first Mardi Gras and stayed at the lovely Sully Mansion in the Garden District. What a great location. Just 1 block from the St. Charles parade route and 2 blocks the other direction to the famed Commander’s Palace restaurant where we enjoyed a fabulous lunch. We had a great visit thanks to the wonderful owners Nancy and Guy who have thought of everything to make their guests feel right at home. The 8 guest rooms in the historic house are beautifully furnished and sparkling clean. Our room called "Desire" was the smallest and least expensive and had a very comfortable double bed with soft pillows and a thick, luxurious comforter that was very cozy on the occasional cool night. One thing to know is that this particular room has no bathroom door--just a curtain separating it from the bedroom. This didn't bother us at all, but some couples may prefer one of the larger rooms. We checked out the other rooms and they are all substantially larger and beautifully decorated with gorgeous antiques and luxurious bed and window treatments. Throughout the mansion you’ll see original art from New Orleans artists that is for sale. The breakfasts were substantial and delicious and served at one large table in the formal dining room. It was a nice opportunity to meet other guests and discuss plans for the day. There are so many thoughtful touches you won't find at other B&B's. For example, "wake up” coffee and tea are put out at around 6:45 am just outside the rooms in case you need a boost before breakfast. There is also a common honor bar where wine, beer, bottled water & soft drinks are available day & night for reasonable prices. And they have a set of drawers in the guest room hallway stocked with everything from hair dryers to deodorant, tooth brushes and even condoms that guests are free to use. My husband and I highly recommend the Sully Mansion for anyone visiting New Orleans.


Loved it!

4.8 on February 10, 2008

We just stayed at the Sully Mansion for our first Mardi Gras and had a wonderful time. The location was perfect for going to the parades. The room was large and comfortable. Nancy and Guy are great hosts. I would highly recommend the Sully Mansion.


Garden District Greatness

5 on February 06, 2008

We discovered Sully Mansion while trying to book accomaddations for BCS championship game. The mansion was beautiful, clean and well-maintained. Owner’s were wonderful. Friendly hosts with great restaurant recommendations and are great breakfast cooks.


great location for Mardi Gras

5 on January 29, 2008

we stayed with a group of friends and couldn't have asked for a better location for the parades or for a warmer welcome from Nancy and Guy. The city is alive and well and thriving again and you will be completely under its spell at the Sully Mansion.


Home aways from home!

5 on January 19, 2008

Right when I crossed the doors of the Sully Mansion, I felt at home. Nancy and Guy are amazing hosts. They made me feel that I had known them forever. They will help you with anything, you just have to ask. Breakfast is delicious and fresh. The rooms are very clean, cozy and welcoming. Privacy is assured. They have a lovely front porch where you can sit, maybe have a beer while browsing on internet using their wireless network. The neighborhood is beautiful and the Mansion is at a walking distance from the streetcar. I will never forget my stay there and will want anyone I know to experience this. Nancy will do her best to accommodate last minute bookings (she did it for me) but better to book early to make sure you’ve got a spot.


A Must!

4.6 on January 10, 2008

My husband and I and another couple booked our reservation at the last minute on the recommendation of our friends who live in New Orleans, and all of us are now B&B converts. It's located in the beautiful Garden District in Uptown New Orleans. The building is absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are beautiful and the service was impeccable. A fresh pot of coffee awaited us right outside our room every morning, and Nancy and her husband (the owners) made the best breakfast! Unlike other B&Bs we've tried, it wasn't the least bit stuffy. The owners somehow made sure that all of our needs were met without ever intruding on our privacy. We highly recommend this place. We can't wait to go back!


Great stay

5 on January 04, 2008

New Orleans is beautiful, the Garden District is fantastic, and Sully Mansion is THE place to stay! It was our first time to New Orleans, and Nancy and Guy were tremendously helpful. We enjoyed the proximity of the streetcar (up and running again), the fabulous breakfast, the lovely room, simply everything. We will definitely be back! -- Tom & Diane.


Garden District Visit

5 on January 01, 2008

My family had a wonderful time. The owners, Nancy and Guy, were great hosts. Perfect location. Can't beat the front porch and view.


Garden District Gem

4.2 on December 17, 2007

Sully Mansion has everything a guest could possibly need - charming beauty, huge front porch, incredible hosts, beautiful rooms, internet and much much more! We thoroughly enjoyed our repeat visit to this beautiful home. Located one block from St Charles makes transportation around town a breeze on either the St Charles streetcar, by cab or car. The location is perfect for visits to the Quarter or Uptown. We look forward to our return!!


Sully Mansion, a place not to miss

5 on November 19, 2007

Sully Mansion New Orleans Finest In October 2007, my wife and I were surprisingly delighted to stay at the Sully Mansion in the garden district of New Orleans. Guy and Nancy, our terrific hosts more than went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable in Sully Mansion and New Orleans. Our charming room was nicely appointed. The bathroom adjoining the bedroom was in addition to being large and clean well functioning with the original period plumbing fixtures. At Breakfast, we were treated to a traditional New Orleans delight although one morning, we left Sully Mansion to eat a breakfast brunch at Commander’s Palace Restaurant (one of New Orleans’s finest and something not to miss with a jazz quartet playing at your table in the garden breakfast room) a short two blocks walk from the Bed & Breakfast. As a couple that has been truly fortunate to stay at some of the nicest hotels in the U.S. and the world, Sully Masion is a place not to miss. Peter & Shelley Boulder, Colorado


Extraordinary!!!

5 on September 19, 2007

A beautiful home with a charming feel. Nancy & Guy were awesome. Providing us with great information for around town. The rooms through-out their home all had a warm character to them, with room to move as well! Breakfast was delicous and plentiful! Great conversations as well as relaxing and enjoy the delightful neighborhood on their big beautiful porch. All in all, our stay was exceptional!!!


A Great Garden District Getaway.

5 on September 19, 2007

Located in the heart of New Orleans Garden Distric, Sully Mansion is a subtly luxurious oasis for any kind of visitor. The innkeepers love their city and provide friendly service. Your best bet for New Orleans.


best b&b experience

5 on July 25, 2007

Besides being an architectural juwel the house has a very warm feel to it. Nancy and Guy did everything to make me feel at home by providing insider information on the city, lending me their bike and finding the best deals in town. The breakfast was delicious: fresh fruits and a variety of sweet and savory dishes. Thanks again!


Fabulous Home & Hosts!

5 on May 20, 2007

What a charming home - and Nancy & Guy were wonderful hosts. The room was very cute and comfortable. Nancy is an excellent chef and her weekend breakfasts were quite a delightful surprise as I had been told that B&Bs do not prepare hot breakfasts in New Orleans. Her fresh baked blueberry coffee we had during the week was also delicious!


Beautiful Property!

5 on May 08, 2007

I stayed at the Sully Mansion after Jazz Fest 2007. The property has a great location in the Garden District. The Innkeepers are wonderful! I stayed in the Esplanade Suite and really enjoyed the sun porch. Just around the corner from the Commander's Palace! PEFERCT!


Sully Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $230
  • Reviews (154) 4.7
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5048910457
  • Fax 1-5042690793
  • Toll free 1-8003642414

Visit Website »

View details

Top