Maison DuBois Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

French Quarter weekend

4.0 on July 20, 2014

Overall not a bad place and the location is not bad if you are able to walk several blocks to get into the french quarter. Here was our issue. We booked this maybe 2 weeks in advance. Clearly we were confirmed to have a room with balconey over looking the pool. Well 3 days before we are to arrive we get an email saying thee was a mistake and that room was previously booked but we could have the largest room on the property for the same price. At this point we accepted because we did not want to try and find another room this late. As you may know New Orleans always has a festival going on and this was Tale of the Cocktail weekend. Upon arrival Tom showed us to our room. It was a very big room and very nice, however it was very dark as the shutters on the windows were closed and not much light could get in. Also it was located right off the kitchen in the middle of the house. Now I can't know for certain but my insight tells me this may be a tatic that Tom uses to get all the rooms occupied. I say this because he told me he had been doing this for 14 years and with only 4 rooms and I find it hard to believe he did know the balcony room overlooking the pool was already reserved. I believe it was repeat customers as well. Then upon checking out he did not want to take the B&B gift certificate we had. Said he no longer accepts these as they take 20% but yet he is still listed here. He did finally take the certificate but not without some discussion. So overall it was a nice place with a nice little private pool. Just be careful if he says the balcony room(s) over looking the pool is available.


great stay

4.8 on February 12, 2013

have stayed in many B&B's in new orleans/ this one was at the top of the top . the orleans room was great . super clean . well ran . Tom is an outstanding host. thanks for the great stay. darrell beaumont tx


Wonderful B&B!

5 on August 04, 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon in 2003 and absolutely loved it. These reviews say it all. It is close to the action, but not in the middle of the chaos and noise. The house is beautiful and the host was very hospitable. He showed us everything on a map when we arrived. He left us alone, mostly. ( We appreciated that, being honeymooners) and showed us how to turn on the hot tub. :-) We are looking to visit again this summer!


Absolutely Perfect!

4.8 on July 07, 2009

Maison DuBois is simply one of the most beautiful and inviting homes we’ve ever had the pleasure of renting! The house, built in the 1800s, is filled with antiques and in immaculent condition, and the location couldn’t have been better. And the pool! The pool surpasses that of any luxury hotel and is worth the stay even if you aren’t into charm and historically rich architecture. Our host, Tom, was superb and made us feel right at home the minute we stepped through the adorable green shutters surrounding the front door. (Thanks, Tom! New Orleans is great, but you made our stay far more memorable and relaxing than we would’ve otherwise experienced.) Our only complaint? That there isn’t a Maison DuBois in every city that we’ll be visiting in the future!


Just Right

4.4 on February 09, 2009

A guest at Tom Seale's Maison Dubois is guaranteed the perfect balance of feeling both an honored guest while being welcome home. I suspect it is not easy to be a bed and breakfast owner in New Orleans, and requires the ability to balance late night revelers with early morning coffee and sight seeing demands, but Tom does it with the quintessential New Orleans touch. Relax on your balcony or by the pool, but don't hesitate to stick your head in Tom's "office" for some pointers before you head out (office location varies: beautiful front porch, comfortable front sitting room, large kitchen where guests gather to swap stories). And never leave without the Maison DuBois business card in your pocket- it's house policy- so you always know how to get home! On your way home, give Tom a call if you would like to have the hot tub heated upon your arrival, and relax your tired dogs before heading out for an evening on the town- all within walking distance, of course. The Maison DuBois is beautifully restored, and the neighborhood is just perfect for being in New Orleans: close to everything you would want to see or hear, but just outside of the mayhem! In fact, everything on the Maison DuBois web site is accurate and honest. The only thing the web site is missing is Tom- but you'll have to go and stay at the Maison DuBois if you want to experience first hand his knowledge of the city that he calls home and his generous spirit as he willingly shares with you some of his favourite stories and places to visit...Cheers, ya'll!


One Word... "Fabulous"

5 on February 03, 2009

The review title really says it all. This B&B is out of this world!!! From the minute of our arrival Tom and the accommodations proved to be a perfect choice for our anniversary get away. The house is beautiful, the location is convenient and quiet, and the hospitality tops the charts. If you go to New Orleans and don't stay here you have genuinely made a mistake. Mike & Tonia


OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!

5 on November 10, 2008

This place was fun, in a great location, and Tom (owner) was a great guy who made our stay special. I highly recommend this BandB to anyone looking to visit the Crescent City. Located on Dauphine Street, Maison Dubois is a pleasant walk to the French Market, Jackson Square, and of course, the bars and shops in the Quarter. The decor is classic, giving it's visitors a feel of old world New Orleans. A beautiful saltwater pool area awaits in the courtyard... a perfect place for a romantic cocktail. Don't miss an opportunity to stay at one of New Orlean's finest Bed and Breakfasts!!! website: www.maisondubois.net. Ask for Tom, and tell him the crazy people from Gadsden sent you!!!!!


my first b&b experience

4.6 on October 06, 2008

Tom meet us on arrival and showed us around the place and gave us our key to the place. The place is beautifully decorated and very clean. There is a lovely courtyard with a pool and spa which we enjoyed after a day of sightseeing. I would recommend this place to familly and friends.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 05, 2007

We were instantly at home when we arrived at Maison DuBois Bed and Breakfast. The house was perfect, a comfortable upscale setting with large suites, top notch pool and a great location. We felt safe walking around the french quarter location at all times and really enjoy seeing how this wonderful city has bounced back. We will definitely be back soon and stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast.


Great Location!

4.6 on April 25, 2007

This is a great B&B! We loved our big room that had a balcony and overlooked the lovely pool area (the pool was great as well!) The furniture is beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. Tom was a wonderful host and showed us the good places to go in the french quarter. It is so close to the quarter we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, yet it was quiet on the street at night, away from the loudness of bourbon street. The breakfast is just continental (bagels & muffins), which I think is standard in NOLA. I will definitely go back next time I'm in NOLA!


Perfect for our honeymoon

5 on April 18, 2007

I had been to a bed and breakfast but had heard a lot about it. So I decided to book it for my honeymoon. This place is immaculate. Tom was awsome in every way. He made sure we had everything we needed. It's close to the french quarter so you really have everthing you need. I am definitely coming back!!!


Very Very Nice!!!

4.2 on April 02, 2007

This was our first time doing the bed and breakfast thing, but it was definitely worth the experience. The accomadations were very good. The rooms were decorated with lavish antique furniture. Quiet, cozy, and comfortable is what this place is. We just loved the jacuzzi/pool area as well. The innkeeper Tom gave us impeccable service. Location is also perfect. The French Quarter is just a few blocks away. We will definitely be back!!! Thanks Tom!!!!!


The Best New Orleans Bed and Breakfast

5 on March 29, 2007

This was such a wonderful change from the hotel chains we normally stay at. The large room had a wonderful sitting area and beautiful antiques in the room and through out the house. The host services were wonderful giving us all the hot spots and local favorites through the city of New Orleans and surrounding areas. The French Quarter location of Maison DuBois was perfect. Walkable to all attractions yet hidden away on a wonderful quiet neighborhood street. We loved it and already booked our next stay!


Maison DuBois

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $259
  • Reviews (13) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5049145201
  • Fax 1-5049441946
  • Toll free 1-8669481619

Visit Website »

View details

Top