Magnolia Mansion Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Satisfied experience

4.6 on February 15, 2014

The staff was very kind and friendly. The room we booked was upgraded at no extra charge. We were told it was an outside room and we would be warmer inside the mansion because of the unusual cold weather. Everything was very clean and beautiful. The breakfast was casual eat at your own leisure. Options were yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal or breakfast sandwiches with a lot of choices for sweet breads. It was very comfortable to eat at your own convienence. It was a short walking distance to the trolley that made it nice as well.


Excellent place to stay,

3.6 on February 02, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this beautiful mansion! Our host Hollie was very helpful and friendly. We didn't have alot of time but we found the walking tours she suggested very interesting and informative and also enjoyed visiting the French Quarter.Thanks for making our stay, one we well remember!


50th birthday party

4.4 on January 17, 2013

What a wonderful find in NOLA! This was my 50th birthday weekend and we had an blast! Hollie greeted us at the door and was very friendly, as was the other staff , if we needed anything they were there to help us out including calling us a cab! We stayed in the Bordello Moulin Rouge room and it was just as the pictures looked online. The room was clean and fresh. our stay was short but it was an great experince for us here at Magnolia Mansion and NOLA!!! Thank you Hollie and staff for an wonderful 50th Birthday, turly an weekend we will treasue for ever


Exceptional Experience

4.0 on January 17, 2013

Being our first visit to New Orleans I wasnt sure what to expect. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the Magnolia Mansion became a huge part of our journey. It was our home for 3 days. The house itself was sensational. Its authentisity, its character and appeal made our stay. We couldnt have hoped for anything better. Every morning we looked forward to our breakfast, it was simple easy and a great start to the day. Hollie is AMAZING. She went out of her way continuously to make sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. She was happy to share many tales of the Magnolias history with us, and had a thorough knowledge of New Orleans. Nothing was too much trouble for Hollie and her Staff. We would truly recommend the Magnolia Mansion to anyone who would love to re-live the past of the 'Old South'.


Magnolia Mansion

4.6 on January 08, 2013

Magnolia Mansion was truly an amazing place. Hollie, the owner, was so knowledgeable and helpful. I would definitely recommend this B&B.


Stunning in fantasy level majestic beauty and delightfully relaxing.

5 on January 07, 2013

I loved my stay in this glorious mansion. Owner Holly Vest has done a wonderful job creating just the right mix of Old Southern class with comfort. I was greeted at the gate by the charming front desk gentleman (Henry?) who gave me a lovely tour of the mansion before showing me my room, which was upgraded by Holly, prior to my arriving. I had the privilege of meeting the lovely Ms.Vest who took time to chat on a personal level. and make me feel right at home. The location is ideally situated near St. Charles St to one side and Magazine to the other with easy access to the Quarter. I have already recommended Magnolia Mansion to all my NOLA loving friends and will definitely stay here on my next trip.


A great stay

5 on December 28, 2012

Had my first experience with a spirit, it was great Loved New Orleans Dennis Meadowbank Auckland New Zealand


Historic Mansion

4.2 on December 20, 2012

Beautifully decorated Mansion in a residential area of New Orleans. The owner makes sure that you can get The best tours and books them for you. Room was very comfortable. Excellent bed and spacious accomadations. Decorations in each room are beautiful with different themes. Close to restaurants and bus service

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing Magnolia Mansion for your stay in New Orleans, and for taking the time to share your experience and opinions. I am glad you were pleased with your accommodations, location and service and found what we have to offer enjoyable. We hope your return for a visit again in the near future. As Always...Safe Travels.


A wonderful and special stay

4.4 on December 17, 2012

Staying at Magnolia Mansion made our visit in New Orleans very special. We actually stayed an extra night and got the opportunity so sleep in two of the beautiful rooms. The service was excellent and we felt as we were guests in someones home! We will tell our friends about Magnolia Mansion and we sure hope we will return some day!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your memories of your stay at Magnolia Mansion. We love it when Guests are so comfortable that they want to stay an extra night. I'm thrilled you felt as if you were a Guest in someones home...because you were. This is my home as well as a B&B/Hotel. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others, and we also hope that you return again soon. As Always...Safe Travels.


Large theatrical rooms; great location; lovely management

3.6 on December 17, 2012

Very much enjoyed the quirky theatrical nature of Magnolia Mansion. The bones of the building are lovely and it's in a great location - close to the action but quiet. Large, comfortablr rooms but you have to be able to enjoy or simply go with the flow of the theatrical style, which may not suit those intent on formal elegance. Nice residential area for a walk to view the southern style homes. Your hostess Hollie is lovely and very, very helpful. As a solo travelling female, she organised me everyday, which I really appreciated. I couldnt get my head around the breakfast: plastic cups and paper plates. I can't do that in the morning and suggest you go out for breakfast. Plastic cups are the norm though in New Orleans which does take some getting used to. Two good coffe houses within walking distance if you're an Aussie or European in desperate need for what we'd term "good" coffee (often difficult to find in the US). Tram virtually at door - it was being refurbished when I was there, so better check if you intend to rely on it. Would visit again.


Nice stay in the Garden District

4.2 on December 17, 2012

The Magnolia Mansion is just a quick bus ride (or taxi ride) from the French Quarter and you avoid the noise of the touristy areas. Hollie is really nice and has great recommendations for activities and restaurants. It was fun to stay in a real mansion versus a Holiday Inn or something like that. Highly recommended for couples.


Can't wait to go back to Magnolia Mansion

4.8 on December 17, 2012

I stayed in the vampire room. The bathtub was elegant and amazing. The architecture and ambiance at the mansion are warm, inviting, and full of memories. I'm sure if these walls could talk...I would be hanging on every word. The location is perfect - right next to a trolley stop. I was able to get to all the sites - Tulane in one direction and the French Quarters in the other. I can't wait to return.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience and opinions of Magnolia Mansion. Great description of our location. We can't wait for you to return either. So come on back for Mardi Gras, the parade comes right down St. Charles Avenue, which is just steps away from Magnolia Mansion and the Street Car aka Trolley stop. As Always...Safe Travels.


Amazing hospitality

4.4 on November 06, 2012

We stayed at Magnolia for 7 days and had a great time. The owner Hollie is extremly helpfull and freindly. The building itself, and the rooms are, beutiful and for us it was one of the few times where the actual place exeeded the pictures from the webpage. We had one of the best vacations ever, great city, great B&B All the best Line and Emil


an outstanding B&B

4.8 on October 21, 2012

wonderful, generous house, absolutely clean and quite, fast free internet, rich breakfast buffet, located in the beautiful and safe garden district, nice people!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing Magnolia Mansion. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and your experience with us. Until next time...safe travels.


An absolutely wonderful stay!

4.8 on October 04, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this beautiful B&B in the Garden District and highly recommend it. Hollie was more than helpful and an absolute delight!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We appreciate your business and hope you will return to visit again soon. Until next time...safe travels.


70th Birthday Extravaganza

5 on September 06, 2012

I couldn't have had a nicer birthday. We took our son and saughter in law with us to show them New Orleans. They loved their room at the Magnolia Mansion as much as we loved ours. Tim was in charge the six days we were there and he couldn't have been more helpful and nicer to us. He always steered us in the right direction on where to go and where not to go. He made our reservations for us at the Commanders Palace and let us know other good places to eat and see. It was so relaxing in the mornings around the beakfast table and also enjoying wine and snacks on the veranda in the afternoon. This was our second trip to Magnolia Mansion and won't be our last. We will be back, hopefully soon. Pam and Don Van Oast, Novi, MI Jon and Kymm too!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for making Magnolia Mansion your home away from home when visiting New Orleans. Celebrating your 70th Birthday with loved ones here in New Orleans is definitely the one of the best ways to "Let the Good Times Roll". I'm glad that you took advantage time spent relaxing on the Veranda, as many comment that it is somewhat magical after sunset. We deeply appreciate your business and are happy to hear that you were pleased with our customer service. We look forward to your next visit. Until next time...safe travels.


25th anniversary.

4.4 on August 14, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 25th. We had a great time. Thank you Tim for your hospitality.


Showing off New Orleans to my Wife

4.2 on July 31, 2012

This was my chance to show New Orleans to my Wife. I've stayed in the Garden District before, but not with the Southern Charm of our Host Tim, and the wonderful surroundings of Magnolia Mansion. The proximity to The French Quarter works very well. And Tim helped us with tips about Plantation Tours. (I reccommend renting and driving vs. Bus Touring) We had a fabulous time on Bourbon Street dancing, celebrated a bitrthday at Gallitoires, ate Cajun, ate Creole, and walked forever sightseeing (bring comfortable shoes). One of the highlights was Ms Rau (sp?)Antique shop. More like a museum than shop. And have a drink for us at the Carosel Lounge in Monteleone, Royal St. John Grisham books will never be the same once you've seen New Orleans. Tim, thanks again for a wonderful stay in your city.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing all that the location of Garden District and Magnolia Mansion has to offer. It sounds like you had a wonderful Birthday celebration. I'm so glad you enjoyed your Host and our service. It is very thoughtful that you suggested people bring their walking shoes, because New Orleans is a great city to walk in...especially after all of the gourmet cuisine that is consumed while visiting. Until next time...safe travels.


My favorite haunt in Nawlins!

4.4 on July 21, 2012

We keep coming back! SO much better than a hotel. Quiet, historic, and absolutely beautiful. We love it and will continue to keep visiting as long as we are able to travel. We first stayed for our honeymoon, and have made repeated return trips for anniversary and any other occasion we can think of. Great service, great value.

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that you keep coming back! I'm thankful that you appreciate our service and the peace and quiet. After a long day of sight seeing, shopping or a night on Bourbon Street...everyone deserves peaceful good nights sleep. Until next time...safe travels.


Magnolia Mansion - A Great Stay

3.6 on May 12, 2012

The house is a lovely old mansion filled with beautiful furnishings and loaded with character. The location is probably one of the best in the city for anyone looking to stay outside party central (the French Quarter). The Garden District neighbourhood is filled with gracious homes, great restaurants and fun shopping along Magazine Street. Centrally located along both bus and streetcar routes that took us everywhere we wanted to go. Tim our host was excellent - offering great advice on city restaurants, how to travel around the city, tour information, and constant warm Southern hospitality. Our room was well appointed and comfortable for three people. Breakfast was continental style and always fresh. We would definitely return!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Magnolia Mansion. We find our Guests love this location for all of the very same reason that you mentioned. You summed it up perfectly. We enjoy suggesting tours and restaurants that will make your visit more memorable. We want to help you have the best time possible and always do our best to assist you with your plans once you arrive. We only have a couple of rooms that can accommodate 3 people, otherwise all rooms are single/double occupancy only. This is why I suggest always call the B&B/Hotel direct to ensure you have proper accommodations for your specific needs and/or wants. Until next time...safe travels.


The Honeymoon

4.2 on April 25, 2012

We were running a little late for check-in, and Tim was nice enough to wait for us without charging a late fee. Then, when he heard we were on our Honeymoon, he gave us a FREE upgrade to the Vampire's Lair! We had a really great stay. Tim was so helpful, from recommending restaurants, answering any random questions about the house, to even giving us two sets of batteries for our digital camera because we forgot ours. It was just, all around, a great experience. When we make it back to NOLA, we'll definitely be making our stay with Magnolia Mansion.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for spending your Honeymoon here at Magnolia Mansion in the great city of New Orleans. I'm happy that we were fortunate to have had the opportunity to upgrade you to "The Vampire Lover's Lair" Lux King. This is one of our two Bridal Suites (this one is for those seeking eternal bliss) as well as for our VIP's. This room can only be booked directly with Magnolia Mansion. If we know people are celebrating something special prior to their arrival, we do our best to make them as comfortable as possible, if at all possible. Until next time...safe travels.


Magnificent Magnolia!

4.6 on April 22, 2012

I visited New Orleans over St. Patrick's Day weekend and stayed at the Magnolia Mansion. What a great choice for lodging! It is perfectly situated in the Garden District one block from St. Charles Av. and its famous street cars, a mile or so from the French Quarter, and four blocks from Magazine Street, just to name a few. A short walk in any direction will take you past many large, old Southern mansions of which "Nawlins" is known for as well as many shops and restaurants. Tim, the host, was very friendly and shared many stories about growing up in this region and always asked about what we had planned for the day or what we did the day before. He had plenty of recommendations based on being a life-long local and was always a joy to talk to. I would highly recommend the Magnolia Mansion and the Garden District in general when visiting New Orleans. My wonderful trip was no doubt enhanced by my experiences there- I will definitely stay again!


Perfect place to stay

4.4 on April 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Bordello Room. The mansion is awesome, the room was wonderful. It was so quiet the first night, we thought we were the only guests. I recommend staying on the second floor. The location is great - one block from the trolley, few blocks from Magazine - basically 10 minutes to the quarter or some great places in the Garden district. We were allowed to drop our bags off several hours before check in onthe first day and again several hours after check out on the last day - which basically gave us an extra day in NOLA. Tim was amazing. His recommendations for tours, restaurants and bars (especially the po boy at Tracey's) were spot on. Anyone that complains about a stay at Magnolia Mansion are the same people that win the lottery and complain about the taxes -- haters.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your wonderful overview of your stay at Magnolia Mansion. The Bordello Moulin Rouge Guestroom is one of our most popular and most requested rooms. Many of our guests ask us if they are the only ones here, that thrills me. We are surrounded by nonstop noise in our world and it is very healing to be able to have some tranquility in our life. Hopefully, Magnolia Mansion provides that for most of our guests. It is important to mention that travelers should call their B&B/Hotel of choice days prior to their arrival /check in date to confirm check in/ check out hours, so that if at all possible arrangements to hold your bags or arrange early/late check ins can be made. I'm happy to hear you were pleased with your Host and recommendations, we want our guests to have a great time in New Orleans. Until next time...safe travels.


Wonderful Stay

4.0 on March 01, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. We could not have been more pleased with the accomodations or service. Tim was a very helpful host and went beyond average to ensure we were well taken care of. The location was very convenient as it was only a short 2 block walk to the St. Charles Trolley. Very nice area in the heart of the garden district. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing Magnolia Mansion for your wedding anniversary celebration. I also want to thank you for appreciating our location, customer service and appreciate you recommending others stay with us. Until next time...safe travels.


A Magnolia Mardi Gras

3.8 on February 27, 2012

We were lucky to find a last minute opening for Mardi Gras week at Magnolia Mansion. This mid-19th century mansion is spacious and elegant, its stoic whit exterior a great counterbalance to its bright and colorful interior. The rooms were spacious, quiet and comfortable. The mansion is conveniently located on Prytania street near the garden district, walkable and convenient to everywhere. Tim, the house manager was pleasant and very knowledgeable about New Orleans, the neighborhood and much more. Having a child at Tulane we are becoming frequent visitors to New Orleans. Normally we stay at a hotel on Canal street. This was a GRAT change of pace and environment. We would definitely stay here again

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your experience and stay here at Magnolia Mansion. I'm glad you found us, as the Mardi Gras Parade route is just steps from the Mansion. Our Guests love that they can go see the parades for a few hours, take a break, get something to eat and drink, come back to the Mansion to drop off the beads they have collected, freshen up and even take a nap. It is also so convenient to go right back out to watch more parades afterwards, because people don't get so exhausted or uncomfortable with their accommodations so nearby. It is great to also find a home away from home for you to stay while you visit your son (or daughters) at Tulane or Loyola. Many of our guests comment on how much they enjoy our location and the convenience of all this area has to offer. I'm pleased that you were comfortable staying here and that you found our host helpful. Until next time...safe travels.


Great place

4.2 on February 11, 2012

Kind and friendly staff. Amazing old southern mansion. Clean and pleasant. Great Location to transportation. Breakfast was a bit weak but good coffee. I would stay again next visit. Tom 57 M Michigan

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for appreciating our staff, location and cleanliness. I'm glad you enjoyed your coffee. It is unfortunate that our Continental breakfast did not please you. Our Continental Breakfast consists of 3 choices of Bagels & English Muffins, Cream Cheese, Jelly and butter, as well as 3 choices of Cereal, a selection of instant Oatmeal flavors, a selection of packaged Pastries, breakfast bars, Coffee, Hot Teas, Milk and Orange Juice. We also offer a choice of 2 hot Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. Because we do not have a Restaurant or a Restaurant license, by law we cannot serve a hot breakfast. I have found that many people traveling to New Orleans save their calories and appetites for the Gourmet Jazz Brunches, Lunches and Dinners...or sleep past breakfast after a fun night on Burbon Street. However, if one does want a hot breakfast, we have a 24 hour local restaurant within a few steps of Magnolia Mansion. I'm happy to know that even though you were not thrilled about our breakfast, that you would still stay with us in the future. Until next time...safe travels.


Magnolia Mansion Wonderful

4.2 on December 19, 2011

Our stay at the Magnolia Mansion was very pleasant. It was like a calm quiet oasis in the bustle of New Orleans. What was a very pleasant surprise was just how quiet it was, both the neighborhood and the other guests. The room was very comfortable and clean. We would definitely consider returning to the Mansion.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your appreciation for the peaceful atmosphere and the common courtesy & respect shown by other guests. I'm happy to hear you found your room to be comfortable and clean. The Mansion is 14,000 Sq.Ft. and we work very hard to maintain the cleanliness and health of this majestic building. Thank you for appeciating this. Until next time...safe travels.


Good locale, fab host, decent digs

4.0 on November 28, 2011

This is an authentic mansion, high ceilings, grand parlor and ballroom, and creaky stairs. The theme rooms are fun and the upstair rooms are just as cool as the pricey downstairs rooms. The host is fabulous and full of information for your stay. If you are looking for high end digs this is not the place; if you want an authentic stay in a old mansion home, this is it. A bit overpriced, but in a good location for NOLA.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you choosing Magnolia Mansion for your stay in New Orleans. Also we appreciate you sharing your suggestions and opinions with other travelers. I am pleased that you enjoyed our host and the customer service to be helpful, as well as that you pointed out the "fun" aspect of the upstairs themed guestrooms and the Mansion's authenticity. Each of our guestrooms are unique and each with a unique private bathroom. I have traveled a lot in my life and got tired of staying in hotels all over the world that all looked the same. I would wake up and have to ask myself where in the world am I today. Everything was a textbook hotel room. When I decorated Magnolia Mansion, I didn't t want anyone to wake up and wonder where they were staying. It is meant to be a fun, historic and hauntingly romantic experience and as unique as the great city New Orleans. It's not for everyone's taste...I agree, as we step back in time at Magnolia Mansion. However, it is for those like yourself...people looking for something different, yet very quiet and peaceful. This is not a party central, unless that is you rent all 9 of the rooms and rent our event space and staff to have a party. Which is something we also do. The enjoyment of the Mansion is reserved only for our registered guests, so as not to disturb others staying here. Until next time...safe travels.


B&B Review

3.8 on November 22, 2011

Magnolia was a great get a way. The Mardi Gras room was perfect for the three of us girls weekend out. I did here little girls in the hall way playing.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your sharing your experience with us. I'm glad that you Ladies had the right room for you girls getaway weekend. Most of our guestrooms can only accommodate a single/double occupancy. However, we do have 3 guestrooms that can accommodate up to 3 guests. Make sure to call Magnolia Mansion to confirm the occupancy capacity of the room of your choice. Note: There are room descriptions on our website, as well as please be aware that there is an additional charge a 3rd person for all rooms that can accommodate them. In response to the sound of the little girls playing in the hallway, I want to clarify for those who may be reading this... all Guests must be 21 years or older (no children/no pets). After saying that, we have no control over the young resident spirits that reside here at the Mansion. I'm glad the Ladies got to experience this. Until next time...Happy Haunting & safe travels.


The most romantic and relaxing time.

5 on February 26, 2011

My wife and I spent our first weekend together away from our son in almost 3 years. We had a great time exploring the city, but enjoyed returning at the end of the day to the Magnolia Mansion. Tim our host was always around to help with whatever we needed, from a map of a parade route, to great reservations at the Commanders Palace, to a bottle of soap for the huge in room tub. Everything was perfect.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing Magnolia Mansion for your romantic getaway stay in New Orleans. I'm glad that you took some time for yourselves to fall in love all over again. It is important to spend quality time alone away from the kids from time to time. Our adult only policy (must 21 years or older...no children/no pets allowed) provides couples with a quiet atmosphere away from other peoples children as well. I'm glad you received the customer service you desired. We try our best to assist our guests with planning their time in New Orleans, so they return home with many wonderful memories. Time seems to fly by when traveling and we want you to never waste a minute of your day trying to figure out what to do and where to go. Until next time...safe travels


Not as good as we hoped...

1.8 on February 22, 2011

I LOVED the old house..downstairs; however, they have really trashed the upstairs. It is such a beautiful old mansion and they could have made it into such a classy place but they missed the mark. Unfortunely, Tim was not much help when it came to suggestions on places to see and restaurants, etc. Just so you know, the place is up for sale and they are not putting in a lot of effort to bring people back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your opinions. The "old house" that you speak of… is a raised Greek Revival 14,000 Sq. Ft. historic Mansion built in 1857-58, with 11 Corinthian columns supporting an enormous wrap around veranda that Guests can enjoy. I restored, renovated and decorated the Mansion when I purchased the property in 2001, and then opening Magnolia Mansion in July of 2002. Yes, I have the property for currently for sale; however, you are completely incorrect in stating that I have not put any effort into bringing people back. I was one of the first 100 businesses to open post Katrina and I have given it everything I have in me to restore my business post Katrina, as the city continues to rebuild. I keep this building well maintained and clean. As for the décor…historically, in the mid 1800’s, the downstairs parlors, grand hallway and dining rooms were decorated for the purpose of impressing and entertaining others, while the upstairs was used as the living and sleeping area for the family. The upstairs bedrooms, the private family living space, historically are usually not as opulent as the downstairs areas seen by others. When I decorated, I decided to not only make it as authentic as possible, but to also make each uniquely themed Guest room fun and romantic. It is unfortunate this did not appeal to you or your taste. Many of our Guests love that every room has a different theme, and that none of our rooms are the same, like in most chain hotels. As far as our host not lacking in suggestion or assistance, I find that very hard to believe. All of us strive to share information and assist our Guests with making their plans. We can only help those who welcome the suggestions. New Orleans is a colorful fun filled creative city and that is the same feeling I want people to get when entering Magnolia Mansion. It is meant to bring a smile to those who stay here and to create a wonderful, peaceful and romantic memory. Wishing everyone safe travels.


Quiet, historical mansion

3.0 on February 20, 2011

The mansion was beautiful, really like stepping back in time. When we got there, we were handed a few pages of instructions on what we could and couldn't do during our stay, and that created an atmosphere where we were afraid to do the wrong thing, speak to loudly, step on a creaky floorboard too loudly, anything that would disturb the absolute quiet of the place. That made it difficult to describe our stay as "fun" or "enjoyable." The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, not what I would expect from a bed & breakfast. "Home cooking" would have seemed more appropriate in such a place, not frozen Jimmy Dean sandwiches, and then only upon request. We stayed in an upstairs room and there was black mold on the bathroom ceiling, which is extremely harmful to a person's health. The rooms were a decent size, we peeked into a more expensive room and even those were not very big, but still nicely decorated.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your experience. I’m happy that you felt like you had stepped back in time and liked the decor. All of our rooms are unique in size and décor. Regarding our well-advertised Continental Breakfast & our Hot Breakfast sandwiches, courtesy of Jimmy Dean, in place of “Home cooking”, this is all we are allowed to serve by law in New Orleans. Unless you have a restaurant license, you cannot serve a “HOME COOKED “meal, and the restaurant association has made certain of this over the years. These sandwiches are pre-packaged; therefore they can be microwaved and served within our legal guidelines. As far as the bathroom ceiling mildew, which is caused by humidity in bathrooms or a leak in the ceiling from time to time. All has been corrected and/or repaired. A guest should always report anything like this to the person on duty, so the property is aware and can attend to it immediately. It is important that I clarify for travelers what to expect upon arrival and at check in. First we greet our guests at gate & assist them with their luggage into our arrival check in area at the back foyer. We then ask each person for a copy of their Government Issued photo ID & the credit card that they made their reservation with, which is for security & verification purposes, as do other businesses, & to confirm both people are 21 years of age or older (our age restriction policy). Next we give our guest a registration sign in sheet for them to both sign, as all guests staying on property are required to register at check in. We also give them a single sheet of our Mansion policies …the “Ms. Magnolia’s Do’s & Don’ts”. We ask them to read it with a southern accent & sense of humor, & to keep in mind that everything on there has happened at least twice, which is why we find it humorous. These polices are basically common sense and common courtesy towards others and while staying in someone’s home. Until next time…wishing everyone safe travels.


Great place for a honeymoon

4.2 on December 12, 2010

I selected Magnolia Mansion because it appeared to be the most authentically restored B & B of the many I researched. I also liked the historic nature of the Garden District and that it was removed from the Quarter but only a block from the St. Charles Streetcar, which we took everywhere. The house is beautifully restored and looks exactly like the photos on the website. Our room was larger than I expected, the bathroom was huge, and the bed was very comfortable. The furnishings were gorgeous and totally over the top. We had never stayed in a B & B before, because we like our privacy, but it wasn't a problem here. The manager, Tim, was helpful, but not overly so. The owner, Hollie, was in residence on our last day and could not have been more pleasant. I wish she'd been there during our whole stay. The B&B was immaculate - no cleanliness issues at all. The breakfast was just as advertised - bagels, fruit, oatmeal - and the coffee was ready by 7:30, which was all we needed. Finally, we had what may have been a bit of a ghostly experience on our last night there. Noises, lights on that we didn't leave on, etc. Still a little in denial about the whole thing, though. Overall, it was the perfect place for us. I'd recommend it highly. We'll be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing Magnolia Mansion for your Honeymoon celebration and stay while in New Orleans. I'm pleased you appreciated the Mansion and décor and that you enjoyed it being over the top. Thank you for mentioning that the Continental breakfast is just as advertised. When people research their places to stay, and select Magnolia Mansion, they should not expect a Home Cooked Hot Breakfast as this is not what we serve nor advertise. Now...about those "ghostly experiences", I'm thrilled that you had this experience. However, I want to remind future travelers that our Ghosts don’t come with a guarantee. We can't promise that they will make themselves known to you...and we can't promise they won't! :-) As far as our customer service, we like to give everyone as much privacy as possible. We also offer suggestions and assistance in arranging their activities, sightseeing tours, and restaurant reservations to those who welcome our help in doing so. We do hope you return to celebrate your anniversary someday soon. Until next time…safe travels.


Memorable Place to Stay for a few Days

4.8 on April 04, 2010

Thanks to Tim for making our three day stay so memorable. Very nice comfortable room, and especially grand veranda and entrance. Appreciate the guidance on things to see and do, Tim saved us from some wasted time. Sad to say though, we saw no ghosts during our visit, save the one above the front desk!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at Magnolia Mansion and while in New Orleans. I'm happy to hear to took advantage of some relaxing time spent on our Veranda in between city adventures. We do our very best to assist our Guests by offering suggestions of where to go and what to see and do while visiting our great city. We want everyone to have a memorable time here so they will want to return. I encourage travelers to ask for assistance in helping them arrange their time and activities upon their arrival. I'm glad you took the suggestions of our Host and were pleased with the use of your time. Regarding our Ghosts...as we often inform those who inquire, we can't guarantee the spirits will make them selves known...and we can't guarantee that they won't. Until next time...safe travels.


Great trip

4.4 on October 24, 2009

Our site host was there at all times for help. We enjoyed the location on just the edge of the Garden District and the streetcar line was really close by. Parking was just outside the front gate and we just loved New Orleans and had a very ghostly experience. Stayed for four nights and really hated to leave. Sorry we never met the owner but the site host was GREAT. Would recomend this vacation site to our friends and family.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your overall view of the highlights of your stay and our location. I'm glad you enjoyed your Host while I was away and that you got to stay for four nights. This gives you a chance to see more of the many wonderful sights that New Orleans has to offer. Until next time...safe travels.


Romantic Weekend

4.8 on July 22, 2009

Our first visit to New Orleans we stayed at the historic Magnolia Mansion. It was beautiful, clean, and very romantic. The mansion is dressed with historic pieces down to the window treatments. All our arrangements over the course of the weekend were taken care of by Hollie and Tim. They made our stay wonderful!


Southern hospitality

4.8 on June 19, 2009

This place met and went beyond our expectations. The house was so clean and so well designed to the period in which it was built. The history of place was very interesting and so very much work went into restoring it. our host, Tim, was wonderful!


Magnolia Mansion

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $599
  • Reviews (37) 4.3
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5044129500
  • Fax 1-5044129502

Visit Website »

View details

Top