Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Home Away From Home!

5 on February 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed from Valentine's Day until today and I almost cried because we had to leave! Keith upgraded us no extra charge to a larger room when they had a cancellation...Valentine's Day was our anniversary...The hospitality and caring way we were treated was outstanding....the breakfasts were fabulous as Ann is a wonderful southern style cook! And she is a DJ! Old school songs...she rescued them from Katrina....I loved being at Creole Gardens...the history of the place is fascinating...and I can't wait to get back down there! Miss you already!


The Staff Nailed It!

4.8 on December 11, 2013

It's difficult for me to explain how wonderfully surprised we were by out stay at Creole Gardens.. Let me clarify that we were most surprised by their overall genuineness. I've traveled to New Orleans many times over the course of the last 10 years and this was my first time staying with the folks at Creole Gardens.. I honestly didn't even want to leave on the day of our departure. Whether it was Annie's amazing breakfasts or Keith's personal knowledge of all the happening events in the city I'm not sure. I've never felt more at home than during my stay with these folks.. I will most certainly come back to visit again! I would suggest giving them a call to book your reservation because they placed us appropriately based on our lodging needs. From the moment I made the reservation I knew we were in good hands! Thanks again guys!


Thanksgiving in New Orleans

4.4 on November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the cottages on an extended weekend road trip through the southern states. We arrived in New Orleans on Thanksgiving day and I had reserved a room at the Creole Gardens on our way in to town. By the time I called, all they had left were one of the more expensive cottages, which costs a little bit more than expected, but it was the only room that could accommodate our small dog. I was pleasantly surprised by the ease of check-in, abundance of free parking, and the size of our room. The location was great - super close to the bus stop that takes you to the French Quarter and just one block away from St Charles Street and many restaurants. My favorite part of the stay was the hot breakfast served in the parlor - I would have spent all morning there if we didn't have to leave so early! Overall, I would definitely stay there again.


Wonderful Trip

5 on June 23, 2012

I travel to New Orleans often and this was my first time staying in the Lower Garden District. Creole Gardens wasn't your typical bed and breakfast, but I believe it's unique character and staff were key elements in making my stay in New Orleans quite Grand! It was only a block from the street car and many unique uptown attractions.. I was about to hope over to the WW2 museum in less than 3 minutes! Im already thinking about booking a stay for Mardi Gras because of it's proximity to the fun! It was also very important to me that I was able to bring my pup lola and only paid a one time $15 fee. Overall my trip was a complete success and I have the staff and location to thank for that!


Friendly staff, convenient location

4.0 on November 23, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Creole Gardens for three days during the off season. The staff was quite friendly and they upgraded my room at no charge. I require a gluten free menu , and they went out of the way to accommodate my needs at breakfast. I was attending a conference on Canal Street, so I appreciated being only one block away from the trolley line. If you are in a mood for a walk through the arts district, you can walk downtown in 10 or 15 minutes. I will say that they have some work to do on the facility. Some parts of the building are in need of repainting, and some of the furniture is noticeably worn. The owners are clearly aware of this, as they were engaged in several small maintenance projects during my visit. I would definitely stay there again.


Fun place to stay.

4.0 on July 31, 2011

Neither too far from nor too closeto the Quarter, Creole Gardens in the Lower Garden District is a fun place to stay. The rooms are certainly not motel-like and the staff is always friendly and helpful. We have stayed three times and visited numerous rooms.


Love, love, love tis place!

4.0 on June 21, 2011

We hadn't visited New Orleans before but our friends had & suggested we stay with Karen & Steve. And we didn't regret their suggestion for one minute. Steve was there to welcome us and our dog and showed us to our room which was delightful. Charming, cool and funky, just as they said in the reviews. We ate breakfast next morning in that lovely dining room and then spent the rest of our time in NOLA exploring all the sights. Creole Gardens is a great location to get to everywhere in the city and we can't praise them highly enough. If you're coming to NOLA, then come & stay here. You won't regret doing so for a minute! Thanks everybody.


They couldn't have been nicer were we family!

5 on January 20, 2011

Unlike the previous reviewer we had no complaints about cleanliness here. We hadn't seen this review before we booked but we loved the place! The common areas AND our cute cottage were very clean, so it looks as though any issues had been licked up on by the owners. The staff there we soooooo much fun! They told us all their favorite laces to eat and listen to music, so we were never at a loss as to what to do. Our room was clean, bright and, thanks to the additional heater, as warm as toast! Would we come back again? Like a shot! would we recommend this to friends? Yup! We already have.


Disappointed

1.8 on January 15, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the Willie K. bordello room. The room was a nice room overall, but a good deal smaller than even your average hotel room. When we arrived, we were allowed to check in early, which was nice. The room is on the front of the building right off the street. It wasn't overly noisy at night. The room itself looked clean overall but was in need of a handyman as the furniture looked worn and hinges were quite loose. There was a hole in the floor near the bathroom. Some repairs had been made to the walls and the paint did not match what was already on the wall. The bathroom floor did not look like it had been swept at all. There was hair all over it and some stuck to the walls above the shower. The sink, toilet and shower looked clean. We thought the room would be cleaned or we would at least be given more towels since we were staying two nights. We had to go ask for more towels when we got in that night. The office was closed but thankfully someone was there to get us some. Apparently, they don't clean the rooms unless you stay more than two nights. There was an iron and ironing board in the room. Room had a small space heater, but it didn't heat the room well at all. The air conditioning unit was supposed to have a heat setting but it didn't work. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Overall, it IS a nice place, but not good enough for the price you pay to stay there. The things that we found to be wrong with it, could be easily fixed.


Disappointing Stay

4.0 on November 19, 2010

The Creole Gardens Guesthouse has so much potential and it is sad that it doesn't live up to the beauty of its photos. My husband and I were greatly disappointed. When we arrived, we saw an unkempt building and grounds - that was the first disappointment. Upon entering, the office area, it was dirty and the walls were dirty and sorely needed painting. When we went into our room there was dust under the furniture; the hardwood floors needed dusting; and the comforter and pillow shams were dirty. We brought this matter to the attention of management - and when our room was tended to the next day - the floors and furniture were dusted - but the bathroom wasn't cleaned. We selected Creole Gardens based upon photos, reviews and convenience (close to St. Charles). However, we learned that photos can be deceiving. Although the staff were very gracious and welcoming we were actually heartbroken by the environment. We have stayed at several B & B's over the years, but this is one that we will not visit again nor will we recommend it to others. Economic challenges are no excuse for lack of cleanliness. We hope the owners recognize that this place is a gem - all it needs is some elbow grease and paint to restore the shine.


great b&b, wonderful service and breakfast

4.4 on January 25, 2010

we stayed two nights on a impulse getaway. the staff was helpful and accommodating. the rooms are clean and quiet. nice courtyard outside and pet friendly. for those looking for a more authentic experience this puts you right in a new orleans neighborhood close to dowontown and the streetcar. definitely don't skip miss annie's home cooking.


Came Back!

5 on October 16, 2009

We were traveling across the south via I-10, our destination being California. Our 1st stop was here and we enjoyed it so much that we left Cal early to come stay for a few more days. The staff and accommodations could not have been better. Everyone went out of their way to see to our needs and wishes. We will come back again!


Walking distance to everything

4.2 on July 05, 2009

My boyfriend and I needed a weekend away and I decided on a bed and breakfast. I made a great choice in chosing the Creole Gardens. I have to say this place is not flashy but the people are great and the location is wonderful. It's 1 block from St. Charles, close to the street car, and the area has alot of dining and bars. We will stay here again on our next trip to New Orleans. Thanks again for a wonderful experience.


Fantastic stay

5 on June 28, 2009

My daughter and I stayed there for 6 days and I can guarantee that when in N'awlings again, this is where we will stay. Everyone was delightful, Annie is a fantastic cook. AC was cold and wonderful after sight-seeing in 96 deg+ all day. Thank you Crewe, you are all wonderful and made us feel very confortable. Just like visiting with family. Again, great place. Jan & Danna


Great Value, but needs new drapes in Room #3

3.8 on June 15, 2009

A very enjoyable stay at cute place w/lots of character. A couple words about the room- Mansion #3- Beautiful , spacious room, huge windows, comfortable king-sized bed, lovely yellow paint, tall ceilings, quiet. There were a couple spots on the ceilling that have water damage- the paint is bulging and peeling- should be patched and repainted. Also, one word of caution- the bright streetlights (placed by the City of New Orleans, I'm told) shine directly into the bedroom, really lighting up the room even in the middle of the night. I'm a light sleeper and even with the drapes pulled, there was too much light coming in the room for me to get a deep sleep. The guesthouse manager had the maid staple blankets over the windows on my second day. This helped a lot, but who wants blankets over your windows? I think thicker, heavier drapes would do the trick. Then at least you can open them during the day. Ms. Annie, the chef is a special lady. She shared lots of stories with me during my delicious breakfast of creole sausage, grits and eggs. A true New Orleans experience!


A Birthday/Reconnect Weekend

5 on May 30, 2009

I wanted to do something special for my boyfriend for his birthday as well as something to help us reconnect since the birth of our son. I came to bedandbreakfast.com and found this little treasure! We stayed during the weeknd of the 15th of May which was also graduation at Tulane. We stayed in the Bordello. It was excellent. We stayed in room #7 Madame Won Ton's Opuim Den. We loved it. It was neat and clean. They had even made sure the room was "chilled" when we arrived. The whole staff was awesome. We had a chance to meet the owner and his father. Very nice people. The faces were friendly and everyone was so pleasant. The breakfast by Miss Annie was out of this world. The sausage she served us were out of this world. I wish we had more time there and we do look forward to coming back again and again! The walk to the main strip for the French Market and Bourbon Street for us was great. it gaves us the chance to see some beautiful architecture. The people were just as friendly. Thank You Creole Gardens for a memorable first tiem trip to New Orleans. Eric and I look forward to seeing yoru smiling faces again!


Amazing & Charming

5 on March 25, 2009

Creole Gardens exceeded my expectations! Breakfast cooked by Annie each morning was amazing and the entire Krewe made us feel right at home. One block from the St. Charles Ave. Streetcar made it more than convenient to see the Garden District and was also a quick ride down to the French Quarter. We will definitely be staying here again


Best B&B ever

5 on March 22, 2009

I stayed at the Creole Gardens with a big group of friends. Most of us are artists and performers, so we can be a pretty rowdy bunch. The staff at the Creole Gardens made us feel right at home, and never blinked at our barefoot antics. The rooms were spacious and sparkling clean, and Miss Annie's breakfasts are the best in the world. We're now planning to make this an annual trip thanks to the hospitality these fine folks have shown us.


Great Stay

4.2 on March 19, 2009

Great location (one block from a streetcar stop) and even better people. John gave us very helpful recommendations and those coupled with the convenience and kitsch-factor combined for a fantastic weekend.


The feeling of home away from home

4.0 on February 06, 2009

I recently stayed here for a company conference and the accomodations were great. I stayed in one of the mansion rooms but saw many of the other rooms and I was impressed by the eclectic decor. They rooms were decorated beautifully and I will be borrowing some of their decorating ideas. OH...and don't even get me started on the stuffed french toast!!! It was love at first bite (I still want the recipe, John!) The crew was great and helpful. I really enjoyed my first trip to NOLA. Thanks for the hospitality!


Beautiful rooms, great location

5 on January 09, 2009

This dog-friendly hotel has lovely and comfortable rooms, gracious staff, and is located in a safe neighborhood near everything. The park is only 1 block away- loved it!


funky, eclectic

4.2 on December 18, 2008

Personal service was outstanding, including serving us breakfast at 3PM! Some annoyances in the room, no soap, shampoo, or glasses, no remote for TV, non-functioning phone (why have it?!), no heat. Extremely welcoming for our dog. John Dutchear and Miss Annie were delightful. Great location between French Quarter and Garden visit, close to WWII Museum.


New Orleans authentic hospitality

3.6 on November 25, 2008

Conveniently located by St. Charles, for comfort, hospitality, and a mouth-watering breakfast. call this your home for business or pleasure while in the Big Easy


Go breakfast!

3.8 on July 11, 2008

Annie, the breakfast chef, was definitely the best part of the experience! Delicious eats and great fun.


Great Garden District Find

4.0 on July 02, 2008

Take it from this former New Orleanian...I know what it means to miss New Orleans, so when I travel to the Crescent City, I make it a point to stay at the Creole Gardens B&B on Prytania. Located in the Garden District just off of St. Charles, you can't beat the location for easy access to the Expressway (six blocks), the French Quarter (12 blocks) and all of the art galleries, bistros, antique shops and locally-owned, high fashion clothing stores on newly revitalized Magazine St. The neighborhood is safe and off-street parking is plentiful. The B&B's rooms are clean, decorated in shabby chic and have internet access. Don't miss Miss Annie's breakfast...eggs are cooked to order and her homemade biscuits are so light, they float off the plate. Creole Gardens is a great find in a great location...with GREAT VALUE.


Business travel stay

3.6 on May 08, 2008

I stayed two nights during the week. It was a great value. I missed out on breakfast due to early departure each morning--an option for early birds would be appreciated. They let me park my rental car before check in and after check out. Walkable to the convention center. Outstanding value. Thanks!


what a place!

4.4 on May 01, 2008

Loved the ambiance, funky and comfortable. It is close to everything one would want, street car, french dist. and walking distance to many great restaurants, shopping and many art shops. LOVED IT.


I Love Creole Gardens!

4.8 on April 07, 2008

Due to a miscalculation on my part, our reservations with a typical chain hotel in N.O. were scrambled, so with only a couple of weeks before my trip there, I stumbled on your website which led me to Creole Gardens. This was quite a lucky break! It's a gorgeous set of restored buildings with the most wonderful, colorful, eclectic decor. We were in one of the guest cottages and it was adorable, clean, fun furnishings and a great bathroom. Everyone was friendly and Annie, the cook, makes the best biscuits you will ever have. Seriously. Nice location, I was attending a conference close to the Riverwalk and I did not mind the walk. Since I was attending a conference I didn't have a lot of time to see the city, so we are going back later this year and we will definitely stay at Creole Gardens!


Short & Sweet!

5 on September 19, 2007

I took a road trip and stopped into New Orleans for one night. I had never been there and was greeted with superb hospitality and helpful N.O. tour information. The room was FABULOUS and the grounds were warm and welcoming. I had to contain myself from jumping on the bed- it was SO cute! I would do it all over again and stay longer if given the opportunity.


Phenominal stay!

5 on June 26, 2007

For a magical weekend in February 2005, I was treated to the exceptional hospitality of the Creole Gardens. While the room number details escape me, it was on the second level, overlooking the courtyard, and tastefully decorated in a creative jacquard featuring album covers! The food was fabulous, the staff attentive and interesting, the courtyard truly unique with the banana trees, and the guests were fascinating. Rare gems like this are the reason the metrosexual in me seeks out B&Bs instead of high-star hotels. I plan on bringing my gal pal here for a memorable weekend.


Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $89 - $350
  • Reviews (30) 4.4
  • Rooms 24
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5045698700

Visit Website »

View details

Top